URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57849
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 11:24am

Topic: Euro 2020: Group F GER, FRA, HUN, POR
Subject: Euro 2020: Group F GER, FRA, HUN, POR
Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 7:59am
Brilliant group. I expect the winners of the tournament to come from here and possibly 2 finalists. 

Can Hungry better Ireland’s record from 2012???  

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 8:22am
Was looking at this group the other day thinking "how the hell did this happen in the draw". 

Pity 3 teams go through, would have been a great fight other than that. 

Prediction: All 3 teams to batter Hungary and a series of draws between the rest.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 11:03am
Because its the 4 best 3rd place teams that go through I wouldn't necessarily assume that all 3 of these will qualify. If anyone slips up against Hungary and loses to the other 2, I'm looking at Germany for this, then it's curtains.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 1:13pm
The old catchphrase "NEVER RIGHT OFF THE GERMANS"

I think they'll finish 2nd and then hopefully knock out the English, if they manage to top the group

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 1:30pm
Can’t trust Jogi Loew to get it right.

Reckon they will go with a back five with Goosens and Kimmich as wing backs, Kimmich is one of the best midfielders in the world but he’s brilliantly versatile so will free up room for Kroos and either Gundogan/Goretzka in midfield.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 2:37pm
Ah I thought only the top 2 went through (shows how much attention I was paying).
I think Die Mannschaft will be in a win or bust vs Hungary in the last game.

Got ticket for the game on Tuesday so there will be a least one Irish fan in with the Germans. Didn't bring them any luck in Moscow vs Mexico

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2021 at 12:54pm
Cancelo has covid and is replaced in the squad by Diogo Dalot
Does that mean he’s out of the tournament?

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2021 at 1:44pm

Yes 

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2021 at 1:54pm

Yes 

Ffs I hope this is a one off and doesn’t keep happening throughout the tournament.

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2021 at 2:35pm
Not ideal for my Portugal bet.

Will be a big miss.

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2021 at 4:17pm
cancelo's defensive qualities are suspect so might not be as big a loss in that department as some think. offensively portugal have enough quality to make up for his loss.  

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:03am
Looking forward to tonight’s games.

Portugal should beat Hungry by a few goals. I want to see Bruno will a penalty and then fight Ronnie to take it. 

Let’s see how good France are. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 1:23pm
You get a 30 minute slot to be in the stadium.
Playing havoc with our pre match planning as our slot is 8 - 30 but other lads 6 to 6.30
Luckily we can stay in the biergarten rather than hrs of alcohol free Heino

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 3:37pm
2-2 tonight 🇩🇪

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:04pm
Anyone got a stream that isn't RTE Player?

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:25pm
Great to see a full house in Budapest. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:25pm
Surprised Portugal have went with two defensive midfielders, would have like to have seen Renato Sanches in for Carvalho and Joao Felix for Jota.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:30pm

Surprised Portugal have went with two defensive midfielders, would have like to have seen Renato Sanches in for Carvalho and Joao Felix for Jota.
I  assume they want to have their system in place for games against France & Germany, and later in competition. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:38pm
Ronaldo quiet so far.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:40pm

I  assume they want to have their system in place for games against France & Germany, and later in competition. 

This is the must win game! Drop points here they are in serious trouble, still should have enough to get the win mind.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:41pm
Bernardo Silva and Nelson Semedo having good games. Most of the action coming down that side.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:54pm
Jota and Ronaldo have been poor! No chance them taking Ronaldo off.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:22pm
Is there any need for Danilo Pereira and William Carvalho when Hungary are restricted to speculative efforts?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:22pm
Ronaldo playing alongside Jota with the annoyance of someone whose Mam has made them bring along their younger brother to hang around with their mates.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:28pm
It would be good for the group if Portugal draw this as then they would need to beat one of France or Germany. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:30pm

cancelo's defensive qualities are suspect so might not be as big a loss in that department as some think. offensively portugal have enough quality to make up for his loss.  

He’s been a huge miss! Semedo is a massive downgrade.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:50pm
Ronaldo does feck all all game scores two goals in 5 minutes 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:51pm
That's goal of the tournament so far.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:52pm

Lovely goal in fairness. On course for his best Euros in terms of goals scored already.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:52pm
Big Ron ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:54pm

You seen Yarmolenko and Schick goals right? 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:56pm
Portugal a much better side with Renato Sanches in the team, Rafa Silva excellent too! Jota shouldn’t start the next game he was hopeless and that’s why you don’t sub Ronaldo off LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:05pm

You seen Yarmolenko and Schick goals right? 

I have. I prefer team goals. Both of those goals had an element of hit and hope about them.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:16pm

Lovely goal in fairness. On course for his best Euros in terms of goals scored already.

He is also the overall top Euro goal scorer with 11 goals.
Surprised it was only 9 (Platini - all in one tournament). 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:22pm

He is also the overall top Euro goal scorer with 11 goals.
Surprised it was only 9 (Platini - all in one tournament). 

I suppose every 4 years and up used to be only 8 and 16 teams(ie only best teams there) . Platini record is crazy when you consider it was from 1 alright tournament. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:31pm
Don't think we'll be getting a repeat of this incident somehow tonight

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:47pm
Sneaky feeling the Germans will win this tonight 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:56pm
Two of the great national anthems ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 8:49pm
Germans don't get something from Hungary they'll be going out in the Group stage. France so much better and Portugal will be a tough ask

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 8:55pm

Germans don't get something from Hungary they'll be going out in the Group stage. France so much better and Portugal will be a tough ask

Die Mannschaft are good at battering the weak teams.
They’ll beat Hungary. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 8:59pm

Did you not just say they would win tonight 😀😀

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:03pm

I did but I expected more from them, they've been shocking, France dont look like they've broken sweat 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:04pm
20:48

Get Involved

Tweet #bbcfootball

John Shaw: This bloke Pogba playing for France, is he any relation to the Pogba that plays for Manchester United?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:09pm

I did but I expected more from them, they've been shocking, France dont look like they've broken sweat 

Did you not hear they lost 6-0 to
Spain there recently 😀😀

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:23pm
Such a pity that was offside.  Great finish. 

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:25pm

Such a pity that was offside.  Great finish. 

A fantastic goal. And he hadn't gained any advantage from being offside. But the rules are the rules. 

Goals like that against the big teams could win tournaments. 

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:27pm
Werner coming on to miss an open goal

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:30pm
Rüdiger has played his last game in this Tournament, Gosen is lucky he was not sent off imo, jaysus he gave Pavard some clatterLOL

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:47pm
France look a level above everything so far and will take all the beating 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:48pm
Mbappes pace is frightening 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:49pm

Tbh I don't think they've even been close to their best 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:51pm

Tbh I don't think they've even been close to their best 

I agree, but in the flashes they have been they’ve looked special

Wouldn’t say any side was at their best in their first game. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 9:55pm
England won't be fearing Germany or Portugal based on today

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:00pm

Die Mannschaft are good at battering the weak teams.
They’ll beat Hungary. 
But they could be out before that game kicks off. Finland, Slovakia and Czechs all winning and only 2 draws so far means they’ll probably need 4 points.

Posted By: djhegzy
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:07pm
Just dont like france, sit back take pressure play in the counter. Really dont enjoy watching that. Their defence looks so so solid though

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:12pm
France did enough which is all you can expect in a tough opening game. The look very solid at the back and frightening on the counter. I don't think they barely got out second gear here which will worry the other contenders

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:49pm
Pogba was class Clap

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:55pm

Pogba was class Clap

Mbappe triple world class

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 10:56pm

Pogba was class Clap

he could learn to head the BallThumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:04pm

Pogba was class Clap

Class for France. different player.

For Man U he just collect £350k a week. Not one F given. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:11pm

Pogba was class Clap

he could learn to head the BallThumbs Up

Neil, this is international football, could you put your Liverpool/Anti United obsession aside to appreciate a great footballer please.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:19pm
Pogba’s always been good for France 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:25pm
Pity Kroos is getting on a bit. Class player. Very elegant. Just keep it all ticking over with no huge fuss. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:32pm

Pity Kroos is getting on a bit. Class player. Very elegant. Just keep it all ticking over with no huge fuss. 

He's only 31, though I'd say he might retire after this tournament to concentrate on club football 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:41pm
Ya i know hes not too old..i did say a bit LOL he seems like hes been round a lot longer. Great to watch i think.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:41pm
Rudiger will surely get a ban for the bite

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:45pm

He did WHAT HE FELT LIKE.  We should all be like little Rudiger.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:46pm

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 10:05am

Pogba was class Clap

Class for France. different player.

For Man U he just collect £350k a week. Not one F given. 
Pogba is world class at France/Juventus and pants at Untied
Lukaku is world class at Belgium/Inter and pants at United

Something wrong with the culture at United?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 11:21am

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 12:51pm
The French fans made most of the noise - we were at their end.
VAR is worse experience in real - The French fans & team were going nuts after Benzema's goal only for it to be disallowed. There was no indication that I remember that there was an issue.
With the 1st disallowed goal the linesman had his flag up.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 1:27pm
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

VAR is worse experience in real - The French fans & team were going nuts after Benzema's goal only for it to be disallowed. There was no indication that I remember that there was an issue.
Must have been good to be at a live game BIM ?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 4:42pm
CM
Absolutely. Last match was Feb 2020.

Glorious sunshine . biergarten pre match. Went with my sun & his mate and a friend of mine was going to the game as well so joined us. The others had earlier entry times. The lads were nervous for the game :-> That was the only bit missing for me as I didn't really care who won (preference for the Germans) but wanted loads of goals

Had our biers standing outside the stadium entrance as normal on a match day chatting with people hanging around. Getting in and looking for your spot. The French fans were making the noise.

Don't miss going to the Allianz. Soulless place. Even more so yesterday with only 14K.

Walk back to u bahn and into the bar before they close for a last drink and final post match analysis.My son really wants to get to more games and was checking the UEFA portal (remember those days :-<) from the train as he went on holidays .

I have to try and get tickets for him for the remaining Munich games if poss, so if anyone comes across some let me know.

Will try the Portal again later

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 5:23pm

Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

Must have been good to be at a live game BIM ?

Jesus that’s Ryan Tubridy/Ray D’Arcy level of questions there Murph. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 4:39pm
France obviously thinking they'd rather finish 2nd and play England in the next round 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 4:44pm
Can we add France to the sh*t teams list along with Spain because they drew a match?

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 4:58pm
I love the German anthem. Hug

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 4:58pm

Can we add France to the sh*t teams list along with Spain because they drew a match?

Meow LOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:18pm
The speed on Ronaldo for a 36 year old when he made the run for a goal was something else. He's unbelievable. 

Would like to see Germany get something out of the match. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:29pm

The speed on Ronaldo for a 36 year old when he made the run for a goal was something else. He's unbelievable. 

Would like to see Germany get something out of the match. 
Ronaldo was brilliant for that goal.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:40pm
Deutschland ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:45pm
Been a great first half, plenty of chances.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:53pm
The Portugal goal was against the run of play
They’re in trouble in this group now I think 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 5:59pm

The Portugal goal was against the run of play
They’re in trouble in this group now I think 

They've taken the one chance they've had though, and it was well worked. Germany are relentless. Its easy to forget that Loew is a world class manager who has a list of achievements as he leaves. He has drilled them like their lives depend on it, and Portugal are doing what they can and probably have done well, under the circumstances.

Don't worry though, if the Portuguese think this is tough just wait until they come up against the Green wall in September.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:00pm
Random question : Can you bet own goal would be top scorer? (ie more own goals scored then highest goalscorer in tournament)

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:01pm
Certainly wouldn’t class Jogi Loew as a world class manager, Germany will be in a much better place when Flick takes over.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:01pm

Random question : Can you bet own goal would be top scorer? (ie more own goals scored then highest goalscorer in tournament)

Nope.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:04pm

Certainly wouldn’t class Jogi Loew as a world class manager, Germany will be in a much better place when Flick takes over.

Fair enough. But he does leave with a decent slate of achievement. Flick will fit easily. Totally agree with you there.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:10pm
Feared for Portugal when Cancelo was ruled out, Semedo has been shocking! Gosens has him tortured.

Posted By: E2016
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:11pm
Gosens at left back is going to get hovered up by one of the elite clubs surely. He has been very good in both games.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:12pm
Fernandes anonymous here so far

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:18pm
Originally posted by E2016 E2016 wrote:

Gosens at left back is going to get hovered up by one of the elite clubs surely. He has been very good in both games.

Supposedly Barcelona have a bid on the table for him

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:19pm
Deutschland ClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:21pm

Aren’t they skint?

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:27pm

Aren’t they skint?

Yeah but they'll find 30m from somewhere, probably include a few players as part of the deal too

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:28pm
Game of the tournament for me

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:34pm

100%

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:37pm

And England think its coming home LOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:39pm
I would be surprised if Fernandes and Bernardo Silva started against France, both were shocking! Renato Sanches has to start.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 6:39pm

And England think its coming home LOL

Germany England in the 2nd round at Wembley. Would be something if the Germans did a Munich 2001 on them