URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57848
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 8:13pm

Topic: Euro 2020: Group E POL, SLV, SPA, SWE
Subject: Euro 2020: Group E POL, SLV, SPA, SWE
Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 7:57am
I’d like to see Lewandowski have a good tournament. Has been on fire the last few seasons. 

Spain on decline but should top the group. 

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 8:23am
All team here are on the decline. Not expecting much from any of them

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 10:55am
Very open group, I can see them all taking points off each other, but between Spains quality and Lewandoski, they'll be the 2 to get out of the group. 

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 1:09pm
Yeah, fairly open alright, Can see Slovakia being the whipping boys of the group but they could spring a surprise or two aswell.

Both Sweden and Spain having issues with Covid too could effect them.

Poland have Lewandowski of course but they do have some good players aside from him too Zielinski, Kilch, Linetty for example the loss of both Milik and Piatek though could be their underdoing if Lewandowski doesn't come up with the goods

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2021 at 1:28pm
Will be cheering on Poland just for Lewandowski.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 4:49pm
doyle and duff very good in the studio today. itv and bbc serving up absolute dross.

poland v slovakia should be a good game. i expect the poles to win this by a couple of goals.

Posted By: Declanus
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 4:56pm
This is one of the games to be played in Dublin. Would have been a great buzz around the place.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 5:19pm
ah jaysus szcesney

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 5:37pm
For a team that both ourselves and the North arguably should've beaten, Slovakia play some decent football. 

Poland would've ran us ragged tbh and beaten us. 

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 5:41pm

ah jaysus szcesney

Not a lot Szcesney could have done about it.  Ball hit the post and went in off the back of him.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 5:47pm
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

ah jaysus szcesney

Not a lot Szcesney could have done about it.  Ball hit the post and went in off the back of him.

Ah he was at fault, should be tipping that round the post.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 5:50pm

For a team that both ourselves and the North arguably should've beaten, Slovakia play some decent football. 

They've set up perfectly, basically nullifying anything the Polish do by getting numbers around the ball and forcing the play out wide. Let's see if they can maintain the intensity for the second half. Did I hear somewhere that Lewandoski only has 2 major tournament goals in 11

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 6:03pm

ah jaysus szcesney

Sent off in the first game in 2012.

Went off injured in the first game in 2016.

OG in the first game of 2021.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 6:29pm
Poland doing Poland things again 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 6:33pm
Never a red card....disgrace.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 6:39pm

Never a red card....disgrace.

First booking was a booking pulled his man back when he got away from him, second booking while I agree is slightly harsh if you've already been booked and warned a minute before hand for another challenge you're going to be booked and hence sent off

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 6:59pm
Really disappointing from Poland! Lewandowski couldn’t get into the game at all, always thought it must be extremely frustrating for superstars to play with such quality at their club level and to then go off to a relatively weak international side! A bit like Roy Keane in the late 90s early 2000s.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:00pm
never a yellow nevermind a second yellow. the ref made a bollocks of it.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:16pm
Same Ref that f**ked over Tuisceart Eireann against Switzerland in the WC Playoff

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:22pm
a decent skin so...

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:24pm
Scotland pull a Scotland, Poland do a Poland, next logical step today would be for Sweden to do a Sweden and make you wonder how they consistently qualify for these tournaments but do absolutely nothing of note when they get to the finals.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:44pm
How the f**k is Sebastian Larsson still starting for Sweden?

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 7:47pm
Viva España.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:06pm

They missed a lot of players that night because of Covid. Looks like their first XI would have won handy judging by what we saw today

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:31pm
Spain totally dominating. Should be ahead by now.

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:36pm

Spain totally dominating. Should be ahead by now.

81% possession (was 86% a few minutes ago). Sweden can barely even get out of their own third of the pitch.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:40pm
FFS Morata

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:42pm
Rodri and Torres have been really poor! Morata works hard but is f**king useless in front of goal which isn’t great when you’re a striker.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:43pm

Rodri and Torres have been really poor! Morata works hard but is f**king useless in front of goal which isn’t great when you’re a striker.
Gerard Moreno scores that.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:43pm
Its an absolute crime to sport that Isco isnt not only in the spanish squad he should be in this team ffs. I feel i should write to Uefa to complain. Im disgusted hes not at this tournament.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:45pm
I think this Spanish team will do well to get to the quarter final.  A shadow of their former shadow. 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:46pm

I think this Spanish team will do well to get to the quarter final.  A shadow of their former shadow. 
They beat Germany 6-0 a few months ago.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:47pm

Its an absolute crime to sport that Isco isnt not only in the spanish squad he should be in this team ffs. I feel i should write to Uefa to complain. Im disgusted hes not at this tournament.

Take it you haven’t watched Isco the last 18months?

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:48pm

Yea but Baldrick has watched 45mins of their opening match, he’s in a better position to judge where they are at.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:50pm

Take it you haven’t watched Isco the last 18months?

Be hard enough when Zidane wouldnt hardly play him. I dont need Zidanes opinion.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:53pm

Yea but Baldrick has watched 45mins of their opening match, he’s in a better position to judge where they are at.

Jesus lads aren’t allowed to have football opinions anymore then.  I don’t think Spain will be winning this tournament or will be in the semi final as I don’t think they have the fire power against the top teams.  That’s my call.  The Spanish public themselves don’t expect much from this team.  Just my call. 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:53pm
Unimpressive in that half Spain 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:55pm

Jesus lads aren’t allowed to have football opinions anymore then.  I don’t think Spain will be winning this tournament or will be in the semi final as I don’t think they have the fire power against the top teams.  That’s my call.  The Spanish public themselves don’t expect much from this team.  Just my call. 

You doing surveys in Spain during the COVID lock down?

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:55pm
They’re not up to the level of the ‘08 to ‘12 squad but I think that’s the greatest team of all time. There’s a lot of talent in that squad. I’d say behind France and Belgium but that’s it.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 8:59pm
I dont think Spain are contenders for the tournament. Id be close enough to Baldrick on his opinion on thos one.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:07pm

They’re not up to the level of the ‘08 to ‘12 squad but I think that’s the greatest team of all time. There’s a lot of talent in that squad. I’d say behind France and Belgium but that’s it.

Portugal Germany and England would be ahead of them for me

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:09pm
Italy probably aswel

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:11pm
QF's be the end the end of the road for Spain probably. Winners of this group will play 3rd from A,B,C, or D. Then a QF against England, France or Portugal

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:13pm

You doing surveys in Spain during the COVID lock down?

No I was listening to a couple of Spanish based journalists on a few podcasts prior to the euros who said the Spanish public are not confident of this team at the euros.  In addition a mate of mine is based in spain and he was telling me the same.  So not exactly bullet proof evidence but enough for a football forum in my opinion. 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:14pm

QF's be the end the end of the road for Spain probably. Winners of this group will play 3rd from A,B,C, or D. Then a QF against Probably England or France/Portugal

Which is what I was saying but lads on here seem to think that’s some sort of mad opinion 😀😀😀

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:18pm
Even finishing as runners up(unlikely). They probably still run into France or Portugal in the QF's

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:22pm
A sitter from Berg
Brilliant play by Isak

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:23pm
Bringing on ThiagoThumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:24pm

Really? Ah jeez.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:26pm

Really? Ah jeez.

Yes 
This is pretty poor from Spain. Might improve now Thiago is on 
Their front 3 isn’t near good enough 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:36pm
Celtics Lustig gone off ...

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:38pm
Game is crying out for Isco. Or a olayer like Asensio. Direct winger type player.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:48pm

Game is crying out for Isco. Or a olayer like Asensio. Direct winger type player.
Isco is finished.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:53pm

Isco is finished.

Hahahaaaa LOL see what Anchelotti has to say on that.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:54pm
Call up Julio Salinas then.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:56pm

Now there's a blast from the past

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 9:59pm
Sweden probably securing at least 3rd place in the group there 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:01pm
Had a no 0-0 bet in the group stages bet that I forgot about. FFS

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:05pm

Wouldn’t be sure of that. Both Slovakia and Poland are capable of
beating them.  

Group is wide open. 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:07pm
Massive point for Sweden, 15% possession, 4 shots 1 on target and 1 corner! Clap

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:08pm
Poland Spain be interesting on Sat night. Must win for both 

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:12pm

Massive point for Sweden, 15% possession, 4 shots 1 on target and 1 corner! Clap

We could only dream of stats like that a while ago LOLLOL

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:22pm

Now there's a blast from the past

He was great in the Crying game.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:24pm

Wouldn’t be sure of that. Both Slovakia and Poland are capable of
beating them.  

Group is wide open. 

I said probably Wink

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2021 at 10:53pm

It was a very Irish performance alright 😂

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 5:50am

Gerard Moreno scores that.

How is he starting ahead of Moreno in fairness. It's not as if Moreno is lazy on the pitch, never mind he scored 10 more goals than Morata this season.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 6:56am
What’s the deal with Diego Costa? Why isn’t he playing for any club…

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 7:50am

The kings of Tippy Tappy = no goals

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 11:34am
Thought Spain were pretty poor TBH. All that possession and Sweden had almost as many clear-cut chances. It was a bit strange taking Isak off when they did. Spanish defense was still struggling to handle him.

Spain looked a lot better when Gerard and Thiago came on but Sweden still looked relatively comfortable.

Lustig, Larsson and Berg all old men and Danielsson a 32 year old rookie in defense. Not good optics for Spain that they struggled to play through this lot.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:07pm

What’s the deal with Diego Costa? Why isn’t he playing for any club…
Because he’s a kunt LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:12pm
https://mobile.twitter.com/swearimnotpaul" rel="nofollow -
-
WHAT A RESULT FOR IRELAND! Spain have broken their own passing record at the European Championship, beating the tally the set against Ireland in 2012

At least the Swedes avoided a hiding and came away with a point

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:12pm

Thought Spain were pretty poor TBH. All that possession and Sweden had almost as many clear-cut chances. It was a bit strange taking Isak off when they did. Spanish defense was still struggling to handle him.

Spain looked a lot better when Gerard and Thiago came on but Sweden still looked relatively comfortable.

Lustig, Larsson and Berg all old men and Danielsson a 32 year old rookie in defense. Not good optics for Spain that they struggled to play through this lot.

Yeah but they beat Germany 6-0 don’t you know. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:15pm
You’ll be glad to know that Spain didn’t win their opening game in 2010 or 2012 either. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:44pm
Just seeing the highlights now. That chance that Morata missed after the defender missed the ball in the first half, is exactly the type of chance I'd expect Morata to miss.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 12:54pm

Just seeing the highlights now. That chance that Morata missed after the defender missed the ball in the first half, is exactly the type of chance I'd expect Morata to miss.

When he was one on one I expected him to hit it straight at the keeper, definitely didn’t fancy him to score it.

Spain will look better against the better sides who will be more open! Hopefully Pedri and Thiago both start next game.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 1:13pm

When he was one on one I expected him to hit it straight at the keeper, definitely didn’t fancy him to score it.

Spain will look better against the better sides who will be more open! Hopefully Pedri and Thiago both start next game.
Clearly this approach doesn’t work. What they need to do is launch long aimless balls up the pitch and surrender as much territory and possession as possible. Then they’ll score loads of goals. Like we used to, all the time.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2021 at 1:16pm

Clearly this approach doesn’t work. What they need to do is launch long aimless balls up the pitch and surrender as much territory and possession as possible. Then they’ll score loads of goals. Like we used to, all the time.

The tippy tappy stuff has never worked before.

Launch it long to Morata oh and recall Isco to the squad too. 

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2021 at 4:36pm
Well the reward for the worst game goes to... 

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2021 at 4:43pm
developing into a very interesting group.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 8:27pm
Morata ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 8:34pm
Look much better with Moreno in the team.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 8:49pm
Lewandowski should have buried that chance. Spain need a second goal.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:00pm
Stonewall penalty for Poland... Why wasn't it called back by VAR? 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:07pm

Stonewall penalty for Poland... Why wasn't it called back by VAR? 

It was a dive.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:13pm
1-1 

Could only be one man

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:16pm
Danny Murphy doesn’t think that’s a penalty LOL

Awful  rebound

That's a potential ankle breaker ffs LOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:17pm
Morata FFS 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:19pm

Unreal ffs LOL

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:20pm
I can’t understand how Iago Aspas isn’t in the Spanish squad.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:21pm

Unreal ffs LOL

If that had happened to Harry Kane he'd be screaming for it

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:24pm
Murphy was wrong but then wouldn’t admit it despite the later replays that they showed conclusively proving it was the correct decision
He wouldn’t let it go either 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:26pm
Very weak defending from Laporte for the goal

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:27pm

Welcome to Isco's world

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:28pm

Very weak defending from Laporte for the goal
Really poor, live I thought he fouled him but watching the replay I couldn’t believe who weak Laporte was 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:29pm

Welcome to Isco's world
Aspas still performing week in week out for Celta. Isco looks like he drinks cans by the canal 4 nights a week.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:34pm

Welcome to Isco's world
Aspas still performing week in week out for Celta. Isco looks like he drinks cans by the canal 4 nights a week.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:34pm

Welcome to Isco's world

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2021 at 9:45pm
Rodri has been terrible both games so far! Thiago HAS to start against Slovakia.