URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57826
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 5:21pm

Topic: Eurovision 2021
Subject: Eurovision 2021
Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:10am
It’s back! Ireland are in the first Semi Final tonight. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:13am
Hummmmm where to i put the rope Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:21am

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:24am
Do yiz only have the one channel in Galway, Murph Big smile

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:59am

Do yiz only have the one channel in Galway, Murph Big smile
Not sure as i don't have a TV Tongue

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 11:23am

Murph and Trig belong together I feel.  They both like firemen. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 11:33am
La Liga have made the smart move to play their matches at 18:00 CET so it doesn’t clash with Eurovision.

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 11:52am

Murph and Trig belong together I feel.  They both like firemen. 
Are you saying it's over between us ShockedShockedShockedShockedShocked

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 12:57pm
Ireland haven't hope this year. Had a good chance last year with the song they had. This year... First plane home

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 1:10pm

It’s back! Ireland are in the first Semi Final tonight. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 1:38pm
I think Iceland will win, they had by far the best song last year and would have won. Their song for this year I don't think is as good but I think they'll still have the popularity and momentum from last year to win it. 

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 2:38pm

Ireland haven't hope this year. Had a good chance last year with the song they had. This year... First plane home

Was it cancelled last year, and they went with a new song for this year

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 2:53pm
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

They have to enter a new song. Rules don't allow them to enter last years one even though it was cancelled Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 3:18pm
I have last years Iceland one on a few play lists, made no sense everyone had to enter new songs again. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 4:04pm
French wan has a chance

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 4:26pm
Lost all respect for the eurovision when Australia were allowed in! Never mind the block voting, terrible acts, it being a very slight bit camp, but Australia??

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Lost all respect for the eurovision when Australia were allowed in! Never mind the block voting, terrible acts, it being a very slight bit camp, but Australia??

Agreed letting Australia in was a step too far regardless of how much revenue it brought in.

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 4:52pm

Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

They have to enter a new song. Rules don't allow them to enter last years one even though it was cancelled Thumbs Down

Ouch very harsh on the class of 2020 

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:05pm

I think Iceland will win, they had by far the best song last year and would have won. Their song for this year I don't think is as good but I think they'll still have the popularity and momentum from last year to win it. 

I was planning on seeing them in Dublin before covid ruined that. Gonna get tickets for their next show. But unfortunately they're under pressure to perform as one of their crew tested positive for covid 😕

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:34pm
That Macedonian song is absolutely awful.

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:38pm
G'wan Lesley ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:44pm
Well...that sucked balls. Sounded very hollow. Not sure if she had audio issues, but didn't sound great. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:44pm
Ted and dougal would get more points than we will get from that effort 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:50pm
Shocking performance. Kenny has to go!

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 8:55pm
The FAI must somehow be involved with that effort. Looking at the Two next songs on after, our yoke looked and sounded so amateurish..

I say it every year, why don't we just send a trad band and do what we do best

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 9:04pm

The FAI must somehow be involved with that effort. Looking at the Two next songs on after, our yoke looked and sounded so amateurish..

Didn't we not try that a few years back with Kíla? 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 9:27pm

She was wearing an Umbro Ireland jacket in her interview with the Dutch host, and was waving it around a minute ago too when they showed all contestants. FAI getting some free publicity LOL

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 9:47pm

Nah that was Dervish

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:05pm

Nah that was Dervish

That was a bad effort though if I remember. 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:07pm
Just send U2 

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:08pm

Just send U2 

Johnny Logan ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:11pm
Surely we could send a better entry than that. 

I backed Azerbaijan to win 300/1.

Date Posted: 18 May 2021 at 10:11pm
Send Whose Eddie ?

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 19 May 2021 at 12:46am

That was a bad effort though if I remember. 

Finished last in 2007. The next year the Dublinese turkey was sent to Belgrade, in order to be booed off the stage. 

I voted for Cyprus and Azerbaijan. Both made it through safely. Thumbs Up We can't vote in the other semi final, but I'm looking out for Moldova and Serbia to join them. 

Date Posted: 19 May 2021 at 1:04am
Absolutely woeful staging. Ruined any chance the song had. Didnt sing well either. Didn't deserve to go thru. Norway a contender. Malta too.

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 7:48pm
Very tough week for me personally so I’m looking forward to this for a bit of escapism tonight. 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 7:54pm
Graham Norton's commentary always does it for me LOL

I only found out today that James Newman is representing the UK - How's he gone from International #1 hits to this?! 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 7:55pm

Very tough week for me personally so I’m looking forward to this for a bit of escapism tonight. 
The Serbian performance should perk you up..

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:04pm
I have only heard the songs from the Irish qualifier night where the Belgium song was the best . The Ukraine song could be a dark horse, I think they would need a better stage performance to get the crowd to go wild for it to get the most out of it's techno blast. 

There was some ugly lad in wings, the song was actually very good too, so with it been Eurovision who knows 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:17pm

Greece for me ❤️❤️

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:18pm
Albania wan even giving Graham Norton a horn LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:40pm

Holy Jaysus Heart

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:41pm
I don't think I've ever gotten horny over Eurovision up until now.

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:49pm
James Newman's song isn't bad at all LOL

I'm genuinely surprised. Bit of a banger in a club.

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:49pm
Newman at the end of his song: "We love you Europe"

Marty: I think that ship has sailed

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 8:51pm
Some body on the Greek wan Heart

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:01pm
Iceland ClapClapCool

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:03pm
How are Iceland 1 of the favourites.

Felt like a time capsule to the 70's

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:05pm

How are Iceland 1 of the favourites.

Felt like a time capsule to the 70's
Ja Ja Ding Dong

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:09pm
Moldova is a scuffed Ulrika Johnson.

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:14pm
Alright, Germany wins.

He's just too happy to knock him.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:31pm
Ukrainian doll sounds like a banshee!

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:32pm

Some body on the Greek wan Heart

Serbia Heart

So come on, be loco loco!
And I'm cute and nice
And you are alone
And I know I know I know
That there will be a break a break a break
So come on, be loco loco!

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:34pm
Ukraine is like some sort of voodoo ritual, she's definitely not one to pick a fight with LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:42pm
Those Azerbaijani lasses... That's convinced me when Ireland play later in the year... And it's not for the football 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:45pm

Those Azerbaijani lasses... That's convinced me when Ireland play later in the year... And it's not for the football 
We need to be able to travel there first...Cry

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:46pm

We need to be able to travel there first...Cry

I'll do 1 of my famous walks and climb over the border wall if I have to if they all look like them Clap

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 9:49pm
I'm rooting for the Azerbaijan girls. 200/1 3 euro each way. Its a good song in terms of being very Arianna grande like so might have lots of young fans 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:07pm

I only found out today that James Newman is representing the UK - How's he gone from International #1 hits to this?! 
Are you thinking of John Newman? 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:08pm
Greek one is amazing if a little young LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:10pm

Greek one is amazing if a little young LOL

Actually googled her after my post. So f**king relieved to see that she was 18 and not younger LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:11pm

I just had to Google if they were the same people and only just found out they're not !! LOL

I was thinking to myself he looks alot fatter than usual also LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:22pm
Im saying France or Norway to win

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:41pm

I just had to Google if they were the same people and only just found out they're not !! LOL

I was thinking to myself he looks alot fatter than usual also LOL
Brothers I think 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 10:44pm
Holy f**k Lordi was 15 years ago Shocked

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:03pm
France and Switzerland two front runners at the moment

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:13pm
Brexit bounce, Youd be sick if you got any points now. 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:18pm

Brexit bounce, Youd be sick if you got any points now. 

Have everything crossed they don't get anything. But reckon they'll get some points through the phone votes at least

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:19pm
The Icelandic lad giving their results LOL  

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:22pm

I've bad news for you. The girls are from the Netherlands LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:25pm
The Russian Presenter Heart

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:28pm
None of the Juries gave the Brits points LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:32pm
Hope Liberace junior doesn't win..

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:34pm

None of the Juries gave the Brits points LOL
No points from the public vote either. Holy fook. LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:34pm
LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Royaume-Uni  Nil Points

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:35pm
Thought your man was going to throw his bottle of beer and burst into 12 german bombers 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:47pm
Rome it is next year then

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:49pm

Bari

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:51pm
Go on the Italian Jane's addiction 

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:51pm

Bari

Came into my mind as soon as I posted it

Date Posted: 22 May 2021 at 11:58pm
It's total sh*t but its the best craic I've had in a while Clap

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:01am
The rest of Europe to the Brits after a year of belligerent Brexit bollox from them: 

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:02am
The Commitments on  RTE One in a min Clap

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:07am

It's total sh*t but its the best craic I've had in a while Clap
I enjoyed it. First time watching in a good few years  

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:11am
Voting is the best part of it. Bringing back the juries alongside the public vote has helped immensely and cut down on all the Eastern European and Balkan shenanigans  

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:26am

The rest of Europe to the Brits after a year of belligerent Brexit bollox from them: 

LOLLOLLOLLOLClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 12:52am
As usual, the best night of the year. Few drinks, few laughs, perfect. Hopefully try to get to it next year. The wife is already looking for hotels in Rome. Probably end up being in Turin or something.

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 2:28am

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 4:00am

That's a way to get me hopes down! Disapprove

I don't think James Newman knows about the result, everytime the camera was on him he was holding 2 pints in his hand, he was definitely there for an excuse for a massive bender.

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 9:24am

As usual, the best night of the year. Few drinks, few laughs, perfect. Hopefully try to get to it next year. The wife is already looking for hotels in Rome. Probably end up being in Turin or something.

I'd hold off if I was you. Videos surfacing of the Italian bucko snorting Charlie and a bag of the stuff on their table. How dumb would you have to be... Shocked

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 1:30pm

I don't think James Newman knows about the result, everytime the camera was on him he was holding 2 pints in his hand, he was definitely there for an excuse for a massive bender.
In common with a good few Irish fans at Euro 2012 then. LOL

Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 2:48pm

In common with a good few Irish fans at Euro 2012 then. LOL

http://twitter.com/emilyhewertson/status/1396235216382046208" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/emilyhewertson/status/1396235216382046208

I think this video supports the fact Newman was only there for the craic LOLClap

James Newman, take a bow lad. 

Posted By: RandomCritic
Date Posted: 23 May 2021 at 6:54pm
Congrats to Italy. Rock is Back!!

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 27 May 2021 at 1:53pm

I'll do 1 of my famous walks and climb over the border wall if I have to if they all look like them Clap

They're probably all Muslim. They got 2 points from the Irish jury. Because of last year's cancellation, all performers were at least 18 years old this year. 

I didn't watch the Brits on stage, as male performers are no interest to me. But the high point of the night was when it was announced they got 0 points from the public. It's the first time since the change in how the votes were  announced in 2016, that a nation got 0 points from both the public and jury votes. So it must have been truly awful. 

Italy won for the first time since 1990, when they edged us out late in the voting. That was a song back then, but if the reprize is anything to go by, this  was basically a three minute version of Lordi, without all the gear. Not my cup of tea. Ireland got 4 points from the European public, and 20 points in total, finishing last in the semi final for the second time running, 95 points away from 10th place Norway. Malta won that semi final. 

The announcement of the public votes is incredibly tense. Maybe it's time to extend that to the jury votes also. They are the opposite of exciting and they take too long to go through them all, especially when they come from Greece and Cyprus and all the "thanks for a wonderful show" comments. We know it's a wonderful show, that's why people watch it, but it's gone midnight or even 1am at the venue, just give them the votes asap so they can all go home for another year.