Why is football so boring right now?

Category: International
Forum Name: Rest of The World
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57792
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 4:48am

Topic: Why is football so boring right now?
Subject: Why is football so boring right now?
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 11:01pm
Such a boring season.  I've never been so bored of football.

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 11:21pm
No fans

Too many teams playing out from the back passing 5 yard passes sideways and backwards and thinking its getting them places

Every single PL match on TV. Most of them should only have three minutes highlights at midnight on a Saturday night. 

Players playing every three days and barely had a break in the summer for pre season. Bound to take its toll 

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 11:26pm

No fans

Too many teams playing out from the back passing 5 yard passes sideways and backwards and thinking its getting them places

Every single PL match on TV. Most of them should only have three minutes highlights at midnight on a Saturday night. 

Players playing every three days and barely had a break in the summer for pre season. Bound to take its toll 

Its a crazy tactic.  It costs teams more goals than it creates I'd be fairly sure.

MOTD was on there.  Never even bothered looking up from the computer even for the goals.

MOTD most shocking transfers is a much better watch than the football itself

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 11:49pm

No fans

Its a crazy tactic.  It costs teams more goals than it creates I'd be fairly sure.

MOTD was on there.  Never even bothered looking up from the computer even for the goals.

MOTD most shocking transfers is a much better watch than the football itself

Sheff Utd v Brighton or pornhub 
No contest really 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 1:09am

No fans

All if the above and VAR. VAR so annoying every goal is scrutinised . Offside and goaline technology only please 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 4:02am
VAR simple

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 8:17am

No fans

All if the above and VAR. VAR so annoying every goal is scrutinised . Offside and goaline technology only please 

Too many games on, I know you don’t have to watch them but with lockdown you are at home a lot more.

No premier league title race doesn’t help. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 9:38am
Go easy on the sideways and backwards you could get a ban on here if you say anything negative about it Big smile

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 9:40am
an awful lot of football on tv esp if you have sky.  Tend to limit myself big time.  This weekend just watched a really good game between Bohs and Rovers on Friday night and may watch the league cup final today.  Other than that watched the Bayern v psg games over the last few weeks  which were really enjoyable and MOTD on sky plus so I can fast forward through the rubbish bits.  

Certainly wouldn’t be watching Burnley or Sheff Utd V Brighton. Anyone who watches more than 5 Burnley games a season should qualify for a vaccine or a national front membership card which ever they choose first. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:10am

Go easy on the sideways and backwards you could get a ban on here if you say anything negative about it Big smile
Indeed you could, have a day off to think up some new materialThumbs Up

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:22am
Would happily watch Burnley v Sheff Utd compared to this time last year when everything was stopped.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:40am
The red for the west ham player against Chelsea. Forget the name. Absolutely ridiculous now at this stage.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 12:44pm
Empty stadiums is the biggest problem for me - I have found it hard to get into watching the games as much as I normally would. Looking at stands full of banners covering empty seats just feels so depressing. They might as well be playing on a council pitch. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 4:17pm
I do think the fact that our national team is doing so poorly with no real crunch games to look forward to until the EURO 2024 qualifiers start is part of the lack of enthusiasm for football. I didn't think we could top 2018 in terms of results and a bleak outlook but we were more primarily focused on the manager being the fault rather than not having the players. 

We still had a new manager to look forward to and a new qualifying campaign in only 5 months going into 2019 but this time, it's worse on both the players and manager front. We don't even know when we can next attend a match so it's a dull purgatory like era we're in when it comes to football.  

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 5:04pm
Apart from Ireland games I basically have the laptop on and have the football on as white noise looking up time to time.  Case in point being this league cup final.

I look up if the crowd noise or commentator get excited.  Most games of football are bloody boring.  Was watching a couple of Liverpool v Man Utd games from the late 80s.  Way more entertaining.  More direct, physical and chances galore.

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 9:31pm
Too much maybe? pretty much Christmas day is the only day for a good 9 months straight without a televised game.......and there's not much let up, Euros start not long after the season ends and run into July when pre-season games start

TBH if that was the reason I'm all for it, what else is there to be watching......but no crowds and the ruination by VAR play a big part

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 10:00pm

Apart from Ireland games I basically have the laptop on and have the football on as white noise looking up time to time.  Case in point being this league cup final.

I look up if the crowd noise or commentator get excited.  Most games of football are bloody boring.  Was watching a couple of Liverpool v Man Utd games from the late 80s.  Way more entertaining.  More direct, physical and chances galore.

Has it ever been much different 
During the early days of lockdownthey showed reruns of the Italia 90 games, jaysus they were bad
And that was the most glorious period of Irish sporting history 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 10:14pm

Has it ever been much different 
During the early days of lockdownthey showed reruns of the Italia 90 games, jaysus they were bad
And that was the most glorious period of Irish sporting history 

Some of them were great games.  Ireland v Spain. Ireland v USSR, Ireland v Turkey,  Ireland v England 1991 et al..

Football is not physical enough anymore.  Too much foreign influence has diluted the English game into a tippy tappy fest where the players would go down if a feather touched them.  Embarrassing.

I enjoyed Barca in 2011 and Spain 2012 but the whole world is trying to copy it now and it has gotten very boring.  This ridiculous passing it out from the back from even crap teams is rubbish to watch.  Keeper passing it to a defender near his own corner flag and then getting into trouble.

Its so refreshing to see the old games where the pitches were bumpier, the tackles flew in and nobody complained or dived.  It was less sophisticated but more entertaining.  Players were men. Now they are boys more interested int heir image with sleeve tatoos, social media presence and pepsi ads.  As far removed from normal society as Donald Trump.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:24pm
I was at the game in 89 against Spain and it was far from a great game.   A terrible match but a great occasion and a great atmosphere.  The Spanish folded that day. 

Posted By: Jackal
Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:56pm
I don't think it's too many games, I think the TV companies push too much hype. It's a lovely sunny day and they push Burnley V Watford as not to be missed.

Go out, enjoy the sun, come back to the matches in a week or two,  be grand.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:06am
One live match and match of the day any MOTD2 per weekend is plenty IMO

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:12am

I was at the game in 89 against Spain and it was far from a great game.   A terrible match but a great occasion and a great atmosphere.  The Spanish folded that day. 

It as a great game.  It was not sophisticated and it was on a sh*te pitch but it was good direct football and there were chances created that had the crowd excited.  Certainly wasn't a boring game.  The old back pass rule I think gets unfairly ridiculed.  It was more entertaining when the keeper picked it up and kicjed it from his hands up the pitch and the ball was bouncing around and could go anywhere creating chances.  Ok wasn't great as far as timewasting was concerened but I liked it the way it was tbh.

The problem with modern football I think is all the physicality has disappeared.  A player will go down if he feels as much as a zephyr of wind touch him.  Its pathetic.  Back in the old days they would kick lumps out of each other and nobody went down unless you were actually badly hurt.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:19am
Originally posted by Jackal Jackal wrote:

I don't think it's too many games, I think the TV companies push too much hype. It's a lovely sunny day and they push Burnley V Watford as not to be missed.

I tune on just for the craic and analysis as opposed to the game itself these days. 

Football is far too polished a game nowadays.  Too professional, too manicured, too perfect.  Its very uniform and generic across the board and everyone tries to play Barcelona 2011 football.  The game needs a breath of fresh air.  Something different.  A long ball team that kicks the opposition off the pitch.  Just anything bar boring tippy tappy going nowhere football.  Even if such a ugly long ball team was ridiculed by myself I just want something to watch or hate or make it interesting.

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:14am

It as a great game.  It was not sophisticated and it was on a sh*te pitch but it was good direct football and there were chances created that had the crowd excited.  Certainly wasn't a boring game.  The old back pass rule I think gets unfairly ridiculed.  It was more entertaining when the keeper picked it up and kicjed it from his hands up the pitch and the ball was bouncing around and could go anywhere creating chances.  Ok wasn't great as far as timewasting was concerened but I liked it the way it was tbh.

The grass is always greener, but that is some revisionism of sh*te football. I also watched extended highlights of Liverpool v Man United in the 80s by chance about 6 months ago. The pitch was a mud bath but I was shocked at how terrible the football was, and the players of Dalglish, Robson, McGrath and Lawrenson were playing. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:24am
What was there on back then, one live game a week?
A lot of people would never have watched a full 90 minutes of football. Match of the Day highlights at night

As someone said earlier, now apart from Christmas Day you can watch at least one premier league match a day on TV, most days. 
Any wonder its getting boring

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:27am
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

The grass is always greener, but that is some revisionism of sh*te football. I also watched extended highlights of Liverpool v Man United in the 80s by chance about 6 months ago. The pitch was a mud bath but I was shocked at how terrible the football was, and the players of Dalglish, Robson, McGrath and Lawrenson were playing. 

It was more direct but not hoofball.  Good physical entertaining football.  If God had wanted us to keep the ball on the ground he would have made the ball out of iron young man.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:44am

It was more direct but not hoofball.  Good physical entertaining football.  If God had wanted us to keep the ball on the ground he would have made the ball out of iron young man.

Who do you think you are

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:49am

Who do you think you are

Trap Junior.  Trap fooking Junior.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 11:25am
I just think playing from the back is so in vouge at the moment some team will start with somrthing else soon eoungh , look when you see Luxembourg doing the same then it's time to rethink .

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 11:55am

I just think playing from the back is so in vouge at the moment some team will start with somrthing else soon eoungh , look when you see Luxembourg doing the same then it's time to rethink .
From an Irish international team perspective, we should revert to a nuanced version of JCs philosophy, dont play around the ball in our own half and take unnecessary chances. Play percentages, maximize every set play, organized chaos in the opponents box, put in a few hefty challenges, intimidate the opponents, make them hate to come to play in Dublin. Break their will and that'll allow us to play a bit in the opponents half. A bit revisionist but it's simple to implement and gets results.We can only play a possession based game if we have really good technical players and we dont.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 1:33pm

From an Irish international team perspective, we should revert to a nuanced version of JCs philosophy, dont play around the ball in our own half and take unnecessary chances. Play percentages, maximize every set play, organized chaos in the opponents box, put in a few hefty challenges, intimidate the opponents, make them hate to come to play in Dublin. Break their will and that'll allow us to play a bit in the opponents half. A bit revisionist but it's simple to implement and gets results.We can only play a possession based game if we have really good technical players and we dont.

We did that for years and most people wanted the current manager out for playing like that as we apparently had the players to play a better style

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 1:36pm
the rose tinted glasses of the 80s here is hilarious.  

I think some people should take up watching pinball
If they like random bounces of the ball. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 1:39pm

We did that for years and most people wanted the current manager out for playing like that as we apparently had the players to play a better style
Need to mix things up a bit go long at times and keep it short at others , If i was an Arsenal fan it would turn your hair white over night watching them pass it around at the back , how many goals have they given away this season for doing just that ?

Posted By: Jackal
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 1:42pm

Originally posted by Jackal Jackal wrote:

I tune on just for the craic and analysis as opposed to the game itself these days. 

Football is far too polished a game nowadays.  Too professional, too manicured, too perfect.  Its very uniform and generic across the board and everyone tries to play Barcelona 2011 football.  The game needs a breath of fresh air.  Something different.  A long ball team that kicks the opposition off the pitch.  Just anything bar boring tippy tappy going nowhere football.  Even if such a ugly long ball team was ridiculed by myself I just want something to watch or hate or make it interesting.

It's the reason the lower leagues in England and Scotlans get such big crowds these days.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 1:45pm

Need to mix things up a bit go long at times and keep it short at others , If i was an Arsenal fan it would turn your hair white over night watching them pass it around at the back , how many goals have they given away this season for doing just that ?

How many goals are given away by giving the ball away on purpose time and time again by kicking it up the pitch.  How many teams have won trophies by playing direct Long ball football.  Most trophies are won by those who can keep ball.  This is even more important as the game as become less physical due to rule changes.  If you are turning your possession into 50/50s the chances will tire more quickly and give away more frees.  

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 2:21pm

How many goals are given away by giving the ball away on purpose time and time again by kicking it up the pitch.  How many teams have won trophies by playing direct Long ball football.  Most trophies are won by those who can keep ball.  This is even more important as the game as become less physical due to rule changes.  If you are turning your possession into 50/50s the chances will tire more quickly and give away more frees.  
Was talking about Arsenal and the question still stands .

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 4:51pm

Was talking about Arsenal and the question still stands .

How many goals have west Brom given away by hoofing it.  Any style of football played badly will result in defeats and loss of goals.  Arsenal play the possession game badly and they get beaten as a result.  Leeds play it well and overachieve and have done better than Burnley this year.  Picking one team is a nonsense argument overall keeping the ball means you are more likely to win trophies and matches.  Giving it away needlessly means you are less likely to win matches 

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 4:58pm
Originally posted by Mr Brick Mr Brick wrote:

The hypocrisy surrounding the Charlton years is breathtaking. With Giles and Dunphy the standard bearers, the media battered the early period with hoofball comments not dissimilar to what now dogs the McCarthy, Trap and, to a lesser extent, MON/Keane eras. There was flak about granny-rulers and Maurice Setters and Jack's treatment of Brady/Whelan/O'Leary. 

The current glorification of Wes Hourihane is ironic - he would have been lucky to be on the Charlton-era bench. Many national media columnists and fans had little time for Charlton's tactics and personality - and disappointing results were lambasted. The FAI, until his results brought 1988 Euros qualification, were nervous and testy. Not so long before, these faceless officials had picked the team but now, for the first time, they faced a manager who showed little respect for them.   It's rare to hear a disparaging word about Jack now, but he had lots of critics throughout his reign. Football is the definitive results-based industry irrespective of style of play. Jack was the right man with the right tactics and the right personality at the right time. 

All of which, Cabra Hoop, is a longwinded indulgence to agreeing with your premise - we need a return to being the team others hate facing, a team that will break oppontents' spirit. The fact we're now so bereft of quality makes it even more vital - we cannot hope to compete with better teams unless we drag them down to our level. This is not being defeatist - it's being realistic. Play our way and qualify or play their way and lose. 

All you need with your post is the soundtrack to Put em Under Pressure 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 5:21pm
The tactics being advocated were outdated in 1995. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 5:44pm
Edit - Signing out from this thread. Not engaging in this nonsense.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 7:09pm
Ok Baldie you are talking in general terms , so what i think we would agree on is if you have better players, better manager & better tactics you will get better results , yes ? 

Burnley have a a style of playing as they have poor players and maybe wrong tactics for a Premiership side , If Dyche started to play modern football with the players he has do you think his side would be in the top 7 club ?

Play to your strenghts which is something that you can't grasp ?

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 7:23pm

Ok Baldie you are talking in general terms , so what i think we would agree on is if you have better players, better manager & better tactics you will get better results , yes ? 

Burnley have a a style of playing as they have poor players and maybe wrong tactics for a Premiership side , If Dyche started to play modern football with the players he has do you think his side would be in the top 7 club ?

Play to your strenghts which is something that you can't grasp ?

I agree you should play to your strengths which is why I don’t think city would do well with long ball tactics even though they have brilliant players.  

I don’t think we have players to play long ball football at the moment. Nearly all of our players have been brought up with a view to keeping the ball.  Very few of our players play in 442 direct football systems.  I don’t think we have a good target man and poacher you need.  

I can’t think of one European cup winner that played the long ball game.  Arsenal are probably the only English league winners who did it back in 89.  

Posted By: wexfordman1
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2021 at 10:12am
Big for me is the matches you watch that they have meaning I throw together a list of games worth watching over the weekend. This weekend
Friday 19.30
Wender Bremen vs RB Liepzig Pokal Semi Final
Leipzig have never won a major tournament in a semi final versus Bremen who are in the relegation scrap

Saturday 15.15
Elche vs Atletico Madrid La Liga
Elche in the relegation zone tied on points with Real Valladolid and one behind Deportivo Alaves versus Atletico Madrid who have bottled the title but still top by two points

PSG vs Lens Saturday 16.00
PSG fighting for the league title versus Lens in 5th one point clear of Marseille in the Europa League spot. Lens were only promoted last season

Dortmund vs Holstein Kiel Pokal Semi Final Saturday 19.30
Dortmund looking for there first title since 2017 versus Kiel. Kiel haven't played in the First Division since the 1960s. Played in the 4th division in 2013 now look on track for promotion to Bundesliga but this is still a David vs Goliath clash.

AC Milan vs Benevento Serie A Saturday 19.45
Milan were riding high for most of the season now find themselves 5th on goal difference in a season where European money is crucial. Benevento are 18th on goal difference tied with Cagliari and Torino. Inzaghi coaches Benevento and brought up from Serie B

Real Valladolid vs Real Betis La Liga 13.00 Sunday
Valladolid only outside relegation zone on goal difference versus Betis who have resurged this season under Pelligrini but without key man Fekir. Betis are in Europa League spots one point above Villarreal

Napoli vs Cagliari Sunday 14.00
Napoli have been brilliant this season at times under Gattuso and Lorenzo Insigne unplayable at times. Only 5ft 3 100/1 shot for Euro 2020 Best player has been probably Serie A player of the season, Napoli are third tied points with Milan and Juve. Cagliari tied 18th with Benevento

Monaco vs Lyon 20.00 Sunday
3rd vs 4th. Monaco two points off top and four points clear of Lyon. A real 6 pointer for Champions League football both play nice football as well, agin in the current climate champions league money is massive

Honourable mentions World Snooker Final has full capacity which changes the event on its head and usually is interesting. Celtic Ranagers, Manchester United Liverpool, Valencia Barcelona, Juventus Udinese, Lille Nice, Fulham Chelsea, Besiktas Hatayspor, Real Madrid Osasuna, Sevilla Bilboa, League of Ireland