URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57756
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 1:52am

Topic: Under-21 Euro 2023 Qualifying
Posted By: DalyerRegular
Subject: Under-21 Euro 2023 Qualifying
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2021 at 9:24pm
Players born on or after 1 January 2000 are eligible to participate.

The qualifying competition will consist of the following two rounds:

Qualifying group stage: 53 teams are drawn into nine groups: eight groups of six teams and one group of five teams. Each group is played in home-and-away round-robin format. The nine group winners and the best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining eight runners-up advance to the play-offs.

Play-offs: The eight teams are drawn into four ties to play home-and-away two-legged matches to determine the last four qualified teams.

Group F fixtures
3 September, 2021 | Bosnia & Herzegovina v Republic of Ireland 
7 September, 2021 | Luxembourg v Republic of Ireland
8 October, 2021 | Republic of Ireland v Luxembourg
12 October, 2021 | Montenegro v Republic of Ireland
12 November 2021 | Republic of Ireland v Italy
16 November, 2021 | Republic of Ireland v Sweden
29 March, 2022 | Sweden v Republic of Ireland
3 June, 2022 | Republic Ireland v Bosnia & Herzegovina
6 June, 2022 | Republic of Ireland v Montenegro
14 June, 2022 | Italy v Republic of Ireland 

Posted By: DalyerRegular
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2021 at 9:39pm
Fixture | Wales U21 vs Republic of Ireland U21
Date | Friday, March 26
Kick-Off | 1pm
Venue | Colliers Park, Wrexham, Wales
Where to watch | http://www.facebook.com/fawales" rel="nofollow - www.facebook.com/fawales and http://www.youtube.com/fawales" rel="nofollow - www.youtube.com/fawales ;  

Luca Connell, who is on loan at Queen’s Park from Celtic, will join-up with the squad as will Norwich City goalkeeper Sam Blair and Stoke City forward Ethon Varian.

They replace Conor Coventry, Dan Rose and Ademipo Odubeko who aren’t available for Friday’s friendly.

West Ham United’s Conor Coventry was promoted to Stephen Kenny’s senior squad ahead of the World Cup qualifiers with Serbia and Luxembourg and the friendly against Qatar.

Schalke 04’s Dan Rose misses out due to regional COVID-19 travel restrictions in Germany.

Ademipo Odubeko’s withdrawal was agreed between the Football Association of Ireland and West Ham United in the best interest of the player.

He will remain with his club for the international window having only recently returned from injury and, as a result of his busy training and match schedule of late, both parties agreed that it would be beneficial for him to continue working with his club at this time.

Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad
Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (Bray Wanderers), Sam Blair (Norwich)

Defenders: Shane Flynn (Leicester City), Andy Lyons (Bohemians), Mark McGuinness (Ipswich Town on loan from Arsenal), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Lee O’Connor (Tranmere Rovers on loan from Celtic), Mason O’Malley (S****horpe United), Lewis Richards (Wolves).

Midfielders: Luca Connell (Queen’s Park on loan from Celtic) Conor Grant (Rochdale), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Alex Gilbert (Brentford), Conor Noss (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Louie Watson (Derby County).

Forwards: Jonathan Afolabi (Dundee on loan from Celtic), Will Ferry (Southampton), Gavin Kilkenny (Bournemouth), Joshua ‘JJ’ Kayode (Carlisle United on loan from Rotherham United), Ethon Varian (Stoke City), Tyreik Wright (Walsall on loan from Aston Villa).

Posted By: Fozz
Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 10:19am
Even with the withdrawals and injuries, we can put out a good team here.
Looking through who plays where, I'd go with something like:

The area where I am struggling is the centre three but I am thinking Noss is a #10 with Connell behind and Watson looks a real prospect as the lad to take it off the back 4 and progress the play. Coventry would have been a shoe-in there.  This midfield may be a bit light, however...

Ferry and Kilkenny are mobile attacking options and Kayode is a strong #9.

Defensively we look very strong with ball-playing defenders across the park.

If fit, we'd have Smallbone in instead of Noss or Connell.
Obafemi is a tricky one as he plays usually in a two, so am not sure where he'd slot in.
Hodge would be straight in where Watson is.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 10:23am
Kayode had a pretty bad injury for Carlisle, I'm surprised he was named in the squad.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 10:53am

Kayode had a pretty bad injury for Carlisle, I'm surprised he was named in the squad.

Yeah, he was hacked down in his last match for Carlyle two/three weeks ago and went to hospital but not as bad as they thought.
I feel at U21 level he's a lad who can do real damage to any defense so am delighted he's back.

If he's not fit, Afolabi is the obvious replacement but things are stalling a bit for him up in Scotland.

Posted By: cmhoop
Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 1:09pm
Anyone know if there will be a stream for the game  ?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by cmhoop cmhoop wrote:

Welsh FA might have it on their Facebook page. Think they showed an Ireland Wales Underage game on it last year

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 4:46pm

Welsh FA might have it on their Facebook page. Think they showed an Ireland Wales Underage game on it last year

Thanks for that. It would be great to see how the new lads fair out at this level.

Posted By: Howdo
Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 5:09pm

Their you tube channel I think

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 5:25pm
Yeah, I read it will be on the Welsh FA YT channel.

Will get a link thrown up here as KO approaches on Friday Handshake

Posted By: Darren
Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 5:39pm
link on FAI site      https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Ffawales&data=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=XZTFVT4jsdPA5Xjr%2BF%2FFBq1usbrrk7vTaEqlc5gtivg%3D&reserved=0" rel="nofollow - www.facebook.com/fawales  and  https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Ffawales&data=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=XSU6Wetev%2BLstbzPCSAicBtB6Rz2qPaprrlD8btm4ho%3D&reserved=0" rel="nofollow - www.youtube.com/fawales    

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 5:48pm

Fixture | Wales U21 vs Republic of Ireland U21
Date | Friday, March 26
Kick-Off | 1pm
Venue | Colliers Park, Wrexham, Wales
Where to watch |  https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Ffawales&data=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=XZTFVT4jsdPA5Xjr%2BF%2FFBq1usbrrk7vTaEqlc5gtivg%3D&reserved=0" rel="nofollow - www.facebook.com/fawales  and  https://eur03.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Ffawales&data=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=XSU6Wetev%2BLstbzPCSAicBtB6Rz2qPaprrlD8btm4ho%3D&reserved=0" rel="nofollow - www.youtube.com/fawales    

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 7:45pm
Good stuff with the links lads Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2021 at 8:30pm

Fixture | Wales U21 vs Republic of Ireland U21
Date | Friday, March 26
Kick-Off | 1pm
Venue | Colliers Park, Wrexham, Wales
Where to watch |  https://eur03.safes.protection.outlook.com/?=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Ffawales&=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&s=XZTFVT4jsdPA5Xjr%2BF%2FFBq1usbrrk7vTaEqlc5gtivg%3D&reserved=0 - www.facebook.com/fawales and  https://eur03.safes.protection.outlook.com/?=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Ffawales&=04%7C01%7Cadam.thompson%40fai.ie%7Ccc3d11c5e65c4bcef37508d8d9857c7e%7C32c484276c7a4f8db5d750923acc7bb7%7C0%7C0%7C637498514643550108%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&s=XSU6Wetev%2BLstbzPCSAicBtB6Rz2qPaprrlD8btm4ho%3D&reserved=0 - www.youtube.com/fawales   

Brilliant, thanks for that 

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2021 at 3:58am
Tom Cannon (Everton) and Festy Ebosele (Derby) called up to train with the U21s

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2021 at 9:39am

Tom Cannon (Everton) and Festy Ebosele (Derby) called up to train with the U21s

Two good and young additions.
Both 18 I believe and promising to see them being involved.

Odd there's no sign of Bowden (playing regular for Spurs U23 and captaining them too) and less so OkoFlex.

Posted By: aviva8
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 7:40pm
Was Crawford asked or did he make any comment on the situation with mipo odubeko sense he withdrew from the squad?

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2021 at 11:54pm
Originally posted by aviva8 aviva8 wrote:

Was Crawford asked or did he make any comment on the situation with mipo odubeko sense he withdrew from the squad?

Only this:

https://www.the42.ie/highly-rated-west-ham-teens-absence-from-ireland-u21-squad-explained-5391498-Mar2021/" rel="nofollow - https://www.the42.ie/highly-rated-west-ham-teens-absence-from-ireland-u21-squad-explained-5391498-Mar2021/

But nothing really...he's tired?
All he had to do was spin up the motorway and join up and do a few training sessions.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 4:08am
Wondering what line up we’ll see today.

Perhaps ..
                      Maher
O’Connor Omabamidele Lewis Flynn

Watson Noss Connell

Wright       Afolabi          Ferry

Not bad considering the amount of players out injured or in the senior squad

Posted By: RobsYourUncle
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 8:48am
Kayode
Kilkenny   Noss Afolabi
   Connell Watson
Flynn McGuinness McEntee O'Connor
  Maher

At a guess? Have to confess I don't know a huge amount about half the lads in the squad. Coventry really is a huge loss to them, other than O'Connor there really isn't much experience at this level. A very young squad as well with plenty of 18/19 year olds.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 8:53am
This on YouTube today?

Posted By: Loc
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 8:56am
Originally posted by RobsYourUncle RobsYourUncle wrote:

Kayode
Kilkenny   Noss Afolabi
   Connell Watson
  Maher

At a guess? Have to confess I don't know a huge amount about half the lads in the squad. Coventry really is a huge loss to them, other than O'Connor there really isn't much experience at this level. A very young squad as well with plenty of 18/19 year olds.

Kayode is injured I think

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 8:56am
Yes.

https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/1375154331004063744" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/1375154331004063744

Posted By: RobsYourUncle
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 9:01am
Originally posted by Loc Loc wrote:

Kayode
Kilkenny   Noss Afolabi
   Connell Watson
  Maher

Ah, Afolabi up top it is then, probably go for Ferry on the wing. Think Noss can play up front as well? 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 9:05am

Kayode
Kilkenny   Noss Afolabi
   Connell Watson
  Maher

Ah, Afolabi up top it is then, probably go for Ferry on the wing. Think Noss can play up front as well? 

Yea I think that’s pretty much the exact team I’d go for then although can’t say I’ve seen many of them play!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 10:18am

Only this:

https://www.the42.ie/highly-rated-west-ham-teens-absence-from-ireland-u21-squad-explained-5391498-Mar2021/" rel="nofollow - https://www.the42.ie/highly-rated-west-ham-teens-absence-from-ireland-u21-squad-explained-5391498-Mar2021/

All he had to do was spin up the motorway and join up and do a few training sessions.

I have to say, I am getting quite nervous about it.
His links with Ireland are obviously very strong but he is also apparently very determined as we have seen with him leaving good clubs to try and progress his career and his old coaches have said he is so focused on being the best so if this is mindset and he wants to be very successful I just fear with being eligible for England now is there a potential that his head gets turned. 

Posted By: giveittochristie
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 11:34am

Only this:

I have to say, I am getting quite nervous about it.
His links with Ireland are obviously very strong but he is also apparently very determined as we have seen with him leaving good clubs to try and progress his career and his old coaches have said he is so focused on being the best so if this is mindset and he wants to be very successful I just fear with being eligible for England now is there a potential that his head gets turned. 

He's recently followed both the FA and Nigerian FA on his social media - and doesn't follow the FAI at all. I realise its deeply pathetic to look into these things...but there you go. You'd imagine he is (at least thinking about) jumping ship. 

Posted By: Left foot
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 11:44am
We need to give odubeko some benefit of the doubt. Come the competitive u21 games if he feels he doesn't want to play then we can draw a line under it.

Would be quite a thing if England field Odubeko, Grealish, Rice and Keane all in the same team. All of which have played in the green..

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 11:50am
Id say wait and see as poster above said, but I think if goes anywhere its to Nigeria imo and if he does fair play to him, he is Irish Nigerian so cant complain even though id be sick as he looks the goods so far.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:07pm
Kilkenny on the bench...not happy about that but otherwise a good team 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:22pm

Exciting attacking team.
No idea of the formation but assume Afolabi thru the centre with Ferry one side.
Don't know who the other winger woudl be but imagine Connell and Watson midfield anyway.
Noss advanced mid maybe with Gilbert wide?  Or vice versa.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:28pm
O'Malley gets in ahead of Flynn at LB.  I suppose he is playing regularly, albeit at a lower level.

Kilkenny not in is a surprise.
Thought he'd feature wide right.  A good sub if needed.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:35pm
Delighted to see Maher starting, he'll be back between the sticks for us on Sunday. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:37pm
YT link is now live:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkhDBPeyle4" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkhDBPeyle4

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:38pm
Should be an interesting test. We'll be starting games 7 players uncapped at this level, I believe Wales will be a whole new team.

Have never seen some of them play such a noss so it'll be a good watch.

Here's the YouTube link to watch the game  https://t.co/FjwYDif3dy?amp=1" rel="nofollow - https://t.co/FjwYDif3dy?amp=1

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:38pm
Where's Kayode?

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:39pm
Originally posted by Howdo Howdo wrote:

Where's Kayode?

Injured 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:39pm

Where's Kayode?

Injured 

Thanks

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 12:50pm
looking forward to seeing Noss and Ferry. Connell goes from standby to the starting xi. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:04pm

Where's Kayode?

Injured.

It looks like the camera is being held by a Welsh midget. 

Posted By: pateen
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:08pm
Impossible viewing angle, I'll wait for the result

Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:12pm
Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

Welsh commentary done it for me

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:13pm

Where's Kayode?

Injured 

Tried to make himself available, unlike someone else.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Posted By: djhegzy
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:15pm
1-0 wales

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:15pm
1-0 Wales, well taken goal.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:18pm
Ireland look disorganised, difficult to say what the formation is. Definitely 4 at the back 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:19pm

Ireland look disorganised, difficult to say what the formation is. Definitely 4 at the back 

look much much weaker than the previous 21s

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:19pm
Live streamed by an Iphone. Can't see dick all.

Posted By: Green Cockade
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:21pm
This is impossible to watch, it's like a game of Subutteo with a big field populated by unrecognisable midgets, lots of wind noise and crap Welsh commentary. I'll check the result later.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:21pm

Camera angle isn't great.

Posted By: CSCD
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:22pm
Very poor so far tbh.
The commentary isn't helping either, mute!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:25pm
Had to turn that off, the camera angle is shocking and the Welsh accent on commentary is even worse.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:25pm
Terrible camera angle. Commentary a bit annoying. Ireland do indeed look a bit disorganised. Strong wind causing a bit of havoc. 

Posted By: Landsdowne90
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:42pm
I am enjoying the experience a tad better since I muted the audio.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:45pm

Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

Welsh commentary done it for me

Unbearable 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:47pm
Connell and Noss can't really gain a foothold in the centre midfield. Like the looks of Louie Watson. 

Unfortunately, no sign of "that" technically gifted player in the final third we sadly need at senior level. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:50pm
Poor game regardless of camera angle/sh*te commentary. 1 shot on target between both sides in the 1st half I think

Posted By: Frabhoy
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:54pm

Connell and Noss can't really gain a foothold in the centre midfield. Like the looks of Louie Watson. 

Unfortunately, no sign of "that" technically gifted player in the final third we sadly need at senior level. 

Yeah. Think Connell has made a couple of really great incisive passes into Gilbert but caught offside.

Wind looks shocking. Ball went up striaght into the air and took half a minute to come down. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 1:56pm
Camera work done by some pleb on a youth training scheme.

The commentary done by people that are seeing football for the first time.

No clue how Will Ferry played as he was on the horizon.

Football wise ireland were poor, nothing in the Wales final third. I'm not sure afalobi is a player to be honest.

Noss looked more technical than the rest.

Posted By: wexfordman1
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:02pm
Lee o connor reminds me of cesar azpilicueta could be best on the right of three centre halfs

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:05pm
Conditions are terrible in fairness...a gale blowing directly down the field but at least we have it behind us for the 2nd half.
Will learn nothing from this encounter.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:06pm
Originally posted by djhegzy djhegzy wrote:

Might be some truth in that. I understand that this is a first u21 cap for the whole Wales starting 11. 

Other than Keyode I don't think we're missing anyone.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:17pm
Definitely looks like a step back in quality with this crop of 21's.

That said, first game together, a friendly and sh!t conditions.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:18pm

Might be some truth in that. I understand that this is a first u21 cap for the whole Wales starting 11. 

obafemi, smallbone, coventry (mipo if he stays) would be main omissions

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:25pm
Managed to stick with it. Connell the best Irish player on pitch in my eyes. Really seems to have that bit of quality. Hopefully he can get his career back on track. Watson, Noss and Ferry have shown glimpses too. Afolabi a bit disappointing although tough game to be playing up front on your own in.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:30pm
Still 1-0?

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:31pm

Still 1-0?

Yep no real chances of note for either team 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:36pm
That young lad O'Malley seems decent.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:38pm
1-1 Afolabi

1-1 Afolabi

1-1
Afolabi 75

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:39pm
Said he was having a great game 😬

Great work from Conor Noss there for the assist.

1-2 

Misplaced backpass sneaks in

2-1 Ireland

Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Is he no. 11? Thinking I was getting him and Ferry mixed up. Kilkenny and Wright both look good off the bench.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:40pm
2-1 up Smile - what a crazy og

Jaysus 2-1 to Ireland. Shocking back pass og by wales

He’s on fire ll

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:41pm

Is he no. 11? Thinking I was getting him and Ferry mixed up. Kilkenny and Wright both look good off the bench.

No.3

Posted By: CSCD
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:41pm
Excellent!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:42pm
Get Noss capped!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:43pm
Afolabi missing a great chance. Wright looks very good. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:48pm

Get Noss capped!

yes he has been impressive

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:48pm
the og 🙈

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:49pm

Id say Parrott and Bazunu could drop back down and also young John Joe Finn.

Posted By: ChampagneFever
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:49pm
That Louie Watson looks decent as well

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:50pm
Originally posted by ChampagneFever ChampagneFever wrote:

Came of injured by the looks of it.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:53pm
Toss up between Connell and Noss for MOTM. Noss' has a slightly better barnet so would give it to him..

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:57pm
Originally posted by Darren Darren wrote:

Get Noss capped!

Noss seems to have that extra bit of class about him. Was impressed with Watson and connell. Kilkenny should have started. 

Own goal was comical 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 2:59pm
Agreed on Connell. Needs to grow his hair again and get back to peak Nedved look. 

Posted By: Liam Green
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:00pm

Originally posted by ChampagneFever ChampagneFever wrote:

Came of injured by the looks of it.

He looks a good player. Young Norwich centre half looks a great prospect too 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:04pm

Get Noss capped!

He should genuinely be called up for the Qatar game.

Posted By: kevin100
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:05pm
Nice to see them get a win. Omabamidele looks a fine prospect played for Norwich this season would be no harm for him to go out on loan next year like McGuinness did if the manager has no plans to introduce him as a 3rd/4th choice CB. 

Noss showed proper football intelligence too. Be interesting to see will he get a break into the Monchengladbach first team or will he look to get a move somewhere like a Bundesliga 2 team on loan/permanent. Midfield struggled early but got a real foothold as the game went on.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:09pm

Get Noss capped!

Wouldn't object to that.
Showed real ability in gale-force conditions.
And plays regular 1st team football, albeit in the 3rd or 4th tier in Germany.
Hope to see him move up a level next season.

Posted By: Frabhoy
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:14pm

Get Noss capped!

Wouldn't object to that.
Showed real ability in gale-force conditions.
And plays regular 1st team football, albeit in the 3rd or 4th tier in Germany.
Hope to see him move up a level next season.

He'd be going that direction anyway, ach sure we can just drop him home afterwards.

In all seriousness i dont think connolly will be the only drop out after the luxembourg game. So might be an opportumity for a few. 

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:15pm

Collins too.
We're stacked with quality at the CH position for the next generation it seems.
Both lads today looked v good and Collins is a step above them again.

Hodge to come into the squad, and Coventry too most likely.
V strong midfield options when you consider the three lads today were good and you'd expect Smallbone to walk into the starting 11.
Old Coventry too as the most experienced of them all at this level.

I'd have Parrott back down here if he's not going to make matchday 23s.
Afolabi scored and really should have had a 2nd but he's 3rd choice behind..er....Voldemort (if he returns) and Kayode.
And Parrott if he stepped back.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:18pm
A lot of negativity on the first 5 or so pages of this thread! Suprise supprise. Practally a whole brand new 21s team, obviously they were going to struggle a bit to be cohesive right from the off. 

Fair play to them for grinding a win out

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:19pm
It’s testament to the work that has been done in the underage set ups where we can beat Wales 2-1 away from home in what looked like to be one windy hole of a spot and still have played fairly average while missing a good few players. Our last u21 squad was fairly exceptional with 12 already having been part of the senior squad. A lot of them still qualify for this u21 side also. If we got even 3/4 more players to a standard where they could get a place in senior side it would be brilliant. The previous u21 side under Noel King the only members included were O Hara, Manning, Curtis and Cullen. Noss, Connell, McGuinness and Watson seem to be the most promising of today’s group

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2021 at 3:25pm

A lot of negativity on the first 5 or so pages of this thread! Suprise supprise. Practally a whole brand new 21s team, obviously they were going to struggle a bit to be cohesive right from the off. 

Fair play to them for grinding a win out

Just had a look again as I couldn't remember the negativity and after looking at again, I still don't see where you are coming from.