URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57734
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 11:55pm

Topic: The ybig nostalgia thread
Subject: The ybig nostalgia thread
Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:38pm
A thread for remembering the good old days. Whatever section used to be full of good humour. Bring back the scientist, bring back Qman, bring back Justice. 

Dodgy hollister tops for sale, people walking around slattery's with RISSCW branded tops or heading down to irishtown stadium for a fans game used to be the call of the day. 

Triablarmy too with his great football insights on South America. 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:40pm
Good times.
Some great posters throughout the years, some great threads too.

You should start a best thread list 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:40pm
Angry Man United fans leaving the site after their teams form took a nosedive

Siralex's nephew

Moleman and Siralex being exposed as the same person

Landon Donovan

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:42pm
The_walls offering someone a fight because of what happened in Copper Jacks the previous night.

My all-time favourite thread.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:44pm

Siralex's nephew

Landon Donovan

Really?

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:45pm

The_walls offering someone a fight because of what happened in Copper Jacks the previous night.

Thats not what happened at all, opposite way around in that wallsy was offered/told he would be in a fight and im sure it was Diceys not coppers 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:46pm

Thats not what happened at all, opposite way around in that wallsy was offered and im sure it was Diceys not coppers 

Fair enough. Thumbs Up

But it's still legendary. LOL

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:47pm
Keitho! A great baller but nobody compares to the boy z. 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:47pm

Siralex's nephew

Landon Donovan

Really?
No but some lads ran with it no matter how many times we stated they were not the same person. It was a big conspiracy to some posters too at the time...lads thinking we were involved in a major cover upShocked

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:48pm

Thats not what happened at all, opposite way around in that wallsy was offered and im sure it was Diceys not coppers 

Fair enough. Thumbs Up

was very amusing alrightLOL

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:48pm

Siralex's nephew

Landon Donovan

Really?

Well, there seemed to be a slip up in one post when one of them posted and forgot to change accounts, but then Moleman was claiming Siralex was winding people up by faking that. 

They did have the same IP address though the mods confirmed?

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:49pm

Fair enough. Thumbs Up

Was that when the OP (might have been KeithO) on that thread used Walls' real name and there was a load of puns about it? LOL

what was the video that was doing the rounds and green tribe thought it was really sono  Classic thread but I may have it slightly wrong 

Siralex's nephew

Landon Donovan

Really?

Well, there seemed to be a slip up in one post when one of them posted and forgot to change accounts, but then Moleman was claiming Siralex was winding people up by faking that. 

They did have the same IP address though the mods confirmed?

Nope, we confirmed the opposite. Alex did have another account around the same time that I called out though. 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:51pm
There was a thread in the ROI section some time back where some guy was having an argument with Greenforevers signature.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:51pm
Moleman going missing when United finished in the top 4  after predicting for months that they wouldn't 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:52pm

There was a thread in the ROI section some time back where some guy was having an argument with Greenforevers signature.

Forgot about that one LOL

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:52pm
Carmodys thread when he found out his missus was playing away games

Rangers Billy catching Doyler hook line and sinker

The NPF

The takeover.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:54pm

what was the video that was doing the rounds and green tribe thought it was really soon.  Classic thread but I may have it slightly wrong 

Vaguely recall that LOL 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:55pm

Forgot about that one LOL

LOL That was a classic 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:56pm
vicky

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 8:58pm
Tr Andy’s lothario days were truly brilliant. Updates on how his weekend went and how he needed new clobber to impress the women. 

Moleman going missing when United finished in the top 4  after predicting for months that they wouldn't 

Was it not this time a year ago he went missing when he said he'd a massive bet on Liverpool qualifying for the CL quarters after the first leg against Atletico

Tr Andy’s lothario days were truly brilliant. Updates on how his weekend went and how he needed new clobber to impress the women. 

Smart casual

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:01pm
Was Javier really Argentinian?

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:02pm

That was quality 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:03pm

Didn't he spell his name wrong when he tried to change his username? Philly has his spelt wrong too 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:04pm

aye 

The Yacht club ‘‘twas a classic”

Didn't he spell his name wrong when he tried to change his username? Philly has his spelt wrong too 
spelt his username backwards othiek

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:05pm

Did he try and change it to Keitho though and spelt it wrong? 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:06pm

Was it not this time a year ago he went missing when he said he'd a massive bet on Liverpool qualifying for the CL quarters after the first leg against Atletico

Yes. But it was winning the whole thing. 4/1 was printing free money was the words used. Some say he's still waiting outside PaddyPower to cash it in right now.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:08pm

Nope, we confirmed the opposite. Alex did have another account around the same time that I called out though. 
Yes the time he was arguing with his alter ego and made a mistake ‘quoting’ a comment.

would have been a new account if he changed, only admins can change usernames so maybe count the thick spelt it wrong for himLOL

Phillyk another poster I forgot. Wonder why the founding father's of ybig never post here anymore. The count always reminded me of rats from the flats in paths to freedom. 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:09pm
Andorra thread part 1 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:10pm

Yes the time he was arguing with his alter ego and made a mistake ‘quoting’ a comment.
yep. We can see the ip on every post so it didn’t exactly take a CSI skillset to out himLOL

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:12pm
Got that wrong, went back and see he changed to Keitho5

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:14pm
What happened to Dublin Doc?!

I thought he was hilarious.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:18pm

Must have died from exhaustion from riding the quare wan

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:20pm
When I first joined around 2015 SByrne used to be causing havoc on the forum with some mad posts used to absolutely ruin some threads but he posted some mad things of how he was going to protect himself from possible terror attacks in France. 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:25pm

He was an absolute predictable bore. Sleepy

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:26pm

Must have died from exhaustion from riding the quare wan his right hand
fixed 

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:28pm
Top 3 posters who have left this Parish 

Q Man
Sligo Hornet
Trap Junior

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:32pm
Sorrec too! He knew what was what. Probably the worst thing that happened to the site was euro 2012.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:35pm
Rostrevor fan was a top poster too.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 9:45pm

When I first joined around 2015 SByrne used to be causing havoc on the forum with some mad posts used to absolutely ruin some threads but he posted some mad things of how he was going to protect himself from possible terror attacks in France. 
There was one currently active poster here who was genuinely having panic attacks getting on the Metro

He thought the thing was going to blow up any second

It was very funny pointing out people to him in the carriage who looked like they might be Muslim

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 10:27pm

There was one currently active poster here who was genuinely having panic attacks getting on the Metro

It was very funny pointing out people to him in the carriage who looked like they might be Muslim

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 10:35pm

He's migrated to Foot.ie.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 10:41pm

I remember there was a Dudnalk around for a while tooLOL

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 10:53pm
Can't believe the propaghandi meltdown thread wasn't mentioned yet

Johnny ccfc.the passwords kid! 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:54am

Phillyk another poster I forgot. Wonder why the founding father's of ybig never post here anymore. The count always reminded me of rats from the flats in paths to freedom. 

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL Jayzus, bit harsh Seany

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:36am

Rangers Billy catching Doyler hook line and sinker

The NPF

The takeover.

Obviously a sh*t situation, but one of the all-time great threads. "Option D; ride the brother" LOL

Keitho recalling the events with the walls; "Grabbing her arse and diddies" LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 7:35am
I did like Topper i must say Clap

Fly me to the moon .

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 7:42am

Obviously a sh*t situation, but one of the all-time great threads. "Option D; ride the brother" LOL

Always remember this wan 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 8:26am
When they used to be list for everything. 

Good oul days of meet ups in Scruffys. 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 8:44am

When they used to be list for everything. 

Good oul days of meet ups in Scruffys. 

Mandatory name tags.

Who was it that was apprehensive about wearing a name tag as he thought he was getting the piss ripped out of him.
Might have been Doyler.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 8:55am
It's rome (2009)LOLConfusedLOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 8:58am

It's rome (2009)LOLConfusedLOL

Pepsi gets engaged Big smileConfusedLOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 9:06am
ybig blind date with your mans sister and even before that. 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 9:18am

Sorrec too! He knew what was what. Probably the worst thing that happened to the site was euro 2012.
SoccerC ? 
Roger Milla & more recently Freewheeler have disappeared 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 9:30am

I did like Topper i must say Clap

Fly me to the moon .
He was fookin wired to it! LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 10:07am
Not sure whether it's age, change in work or home situation, personal differences from outside the forum or that whatsapp groups have taken over. But sadly a lot of great posters have left or post very infrequently. Which in turn means others post less too. 

Joined January 2009 after the fanzines got me hooked. And I have to say that the banter online was brilliant. My work at the time gave me loads of time to spend dossing online. And YBIG was perfect for that!

Great memories. 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 10:18am

Andorra thread part 1 
That was quality LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 10:48am

Andorra thread part 1 
That was quality LOL
It was part 'Its Rome' (Barcalona) 

and part the Fr Ted episode on the plane

'I should get a ticket because...……...' 

( was a great trip as well)

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 10:56am
Coyne’s 60km pub crawl along a Polish motorway 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 11:04am

Coyne’s 60km pub crawl along a Polish motorway 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 11:11am
Crazy to think Bari (Rome) is 12 years ago next month Shocked

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 11:16am

That is mad alright, means my 12yr anniversary of losing my finger is coming up soon LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 11:45am

Always remember this wan 

Can someone please Bump that thread?

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 11:49am

A Taste of Italy on CH4 yesterday was from Bari - looked a lot nicer than I remember though we got in late the night before the match  and didn't really see a lot

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:16pm

A Taste of Italy on CH4 yesterday was from Bari - looked a lot nicer than I remember though we got in late the night before the match  and didn't really see a lot

Apart from the square and the craic, it was a fairly rundown depressing spot i found. A city time had forgot. 

The booze ban LOL 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:16pm

Niamh wasn't it?

Yacht club Christmas party threads were always enjoyable for most.

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:21pm
anyone remember the E? 
He was trying to start a coup at one stage. 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:38pm

Niamh wasn't it?

What did she call everyone on the site before she agreed to blind date? 

Fudge packing mongo's was it?LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:40pm

Niamh wasn't it?

What did she call everyone on the site before she agreed to blind date? 

Fudge packing mongo's was it?LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:45pm

who was it that lived in Bari organised the buses to the ground for a fee which it turned out were actually up against free city buses?

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 12:56pm

who was it that lived in Bari organised the buses to the ground for a fee which it turned out were actually up against free city buses?

Helen was it?

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 1:02pm

Helen was it?

Ah forgot all about her - the Bari tour guide LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 2:10pm

Helen was it?

That's the one yeah. Cowboys Ted, cowboys. It's a cutthroat business the ol' buses...LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 2:25pm

Helen was it?

That's the one yeah. Cowboys Ted, cowboys. It's a cutthroat business the ol' buses...LOL

She had a huge tash also much better than mine i must say Embarrassed

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 3:41pm
Nobody has a better tash than you Murph. Task Kent would be the only one even close. 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 3:48pm
Remember when Stiofain (regular poster for a few years) stopped posting on the forum, and people got worried about him? Seaniemac ended up finding out where he lived in London, knocked in to his gaf to see if all was ok and his brother answered the door:

Seaniemac: 'Eh, howya. My name is Sean, I post on a forum that you're brother used to post on. He hasn't been online in a while. Just checking he's alright?'

Brother: 'Eh yeah he's grand. He's just been busy'

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 3:54pm
Forgot about that LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 3:58pm

Remember when Stiofain (regular poster for a few years) stopped posting on the forum, and people got worried about him? Seaniemac ended up finding out where he lived in London, knocked in to his gaf to see if all was ok and his brother answered the door:

Seaniemac: 'Eh, howya. My name is Sean, I post on a forum that you're brother used to post on. He hasn't been online in a while. Just checking he's alright?'

Still convinced more went on. He made some good pals and just dropped off face of the earth. 

@Seanie, any chance you can ding dong on the door again?

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:00pm

Seaniemac also fingered his brothers sister and then stuck his fingers in the brothers mouth.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:03pm

Seaniemac also fingered his brothers sister and then stuck his fingers in the brothers mouth.

"Smell my fingers" LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:06pm

I got off with my mates sister one night at a party, he didn't know so when I came back downstairs, he handed me a can and I got him to smell my fingers and said 'guess what that smell is'...he was NOT happy with me for ages after that.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:07pm
Bari is a fantastic city we’ve been back a good few times and spent our honeymoon in puglia an absolute undiscovered jewel. The people actually make the place as their a wonderfully warm and friendly people.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:38pm

Helen was it?

Yeah she was on the TAMB doing something similar  - think she died since

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:47pm

aye 
Should have listened to that fella and got Biesla!! 

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:50pm

aye 
Should have listened to that fella and got Biesla!! 
We've no excuse really, we couldn't not listen to him, THE WAY HE USUALLY POSTED!!!! LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 4:54pm

Nobody has a better tash than you Murph. Task Kent would be the only one even close. 
Tash Kent

Wasn't she a character in Dream Team

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:00pm

Not to mention Pere Lachaise LOL

Another active poster on here dismissed my irrational ISIS concerns as we walked through the world famous cemetary with his Northsider drawl "Who the fcuk would wanna blow up a f**kin graaaveyard?!" LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:04pm

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:43pm

Still convinced more went on. He made some good pals and just dropped off face of the earth. 

@Seanie, any chance you can ding dong on the door again?

Met him in Aarhus a few years back when over there for the 4-0 friendly win. Nice lad but it was a little odd how he basically disappeared. It wasn't just from here. I wouldn't pay that any heed. It was more that he seemed to instantly stop all contact with people that he was fairly friendly with.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:47pm

Helen was it?

Goodness she wasnt that old either . 

Another one , who was the dude on here who threw up in his hat on the bus ?

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:48pm

Helen was it?

Remember the palm tree man LOL

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2021 at 6:48pm

Helen was it?

Percy threw up into his wig LOL