Single storey extension - How much?

Category: Other Forums
Forum Name: Whatever!
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57698
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 2:41pm

Topic: Single storey extension - How much?
Subject: Single storey extension - How much?
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:02pm
Hoping to get extension this year and currently costing it up. 
Anyone with experience have an idea of what is a good price?

Quick summary:
40 square meters
Pitched roof
Open plan
French sliding doors
Complete to high spec finish. 

Prices so far - 75k (Excluding Vat) which includes everything (Flooring, painting etc) except the kitchen
Another couple of prices were 80k without VAT (And not including floors, painting etc)

YBIG's resident expert The Scientist reckons these prices are very much on the steep side. 

Anyone build something similar recently?
Anyone have thoughts on these prices?

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:22pm

Quick summary:
40 square meters
Pitched roof
Open plan
French sliding doors

Prices so far - 75k (Excluding Vat) which includes everything (Flooring, painting etc) except the kitchen
Another couple of prices were 80k without VAT (And not including floors, painting etc)

YBIG's resident expert The Scientist reckons these prices are very much on the steep side. 

I assume you are in Dublin given those prices. In Dundalk you would be ripped off but in Dublin that’s probably reasonable. 

I would definitely get 5/6 quotes and try to get personal recommendations. Ask to speak to previous clients etc 

Whatever you do, make sure you pay the final 10-20% after all the work is done. A lot of cowboys out there. 

Paying in cash can help with the VAT. 

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:26pm
Built 30square metre kitchen extension in 2016 and done to a very tight budget, I think if you’re going 40m, open plan & high standard you’re doing ok @75k 

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:34pm

Quick summary:
40 square meters
Pitched roof
Open plan
French sliding doors

I assume you are in Dublin given those prices. In Dundalk you would be ripped off but in Dublin that’s probably reasonable. 

I would definitely get 5/6 quotes and try to get personal recommendations. Ask to speak to previous clients etc 

Whatever you do, make sure you pay the final 10-20% after all the work is done. A lot of cowboys out there. 

Paying in cash can help with the VAT. 

Based in Leixlip

Have seen his work and he is highly recommended 

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:39pm
All you can do is get as many quotes as you can, go by any references you can get yourself from friends etc and value it in comparison to the rest of your house. 

Built a single storey play room when my young lad arrived years ago, much smaller than what you're looking to do, and it paid me to use a builder I knew from Monaghan to come down and do it to the tune of 5k.

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:42pm
Yea will be getting at least three more quotes. The 75 one is cheapest so far and supposed to be a top operator

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:45pm
once you settle on the builder, then bring cash into it. If its 75k he may do a portion for cash. He wont do it all for cash though. If you got 60kex vat and 15k cash its a good start

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 10:54pm

once you settle on the builder, then bring cash into it. If its 75k he may do a portion for cash. He wont do it all for cash though. If you got 60kex vat and 15k cash its a good start

The builder will need VAT added to cover the materials he purchases - probably around 25-35% of the total.

Push for as much cash the builder will allow. Some like the cash and will do extra bits for free. 

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 11:01pm

The builder will need VAT added to cover the materials he purchases - probably around 25-35% of the total.

Push for as much cash the builder will allow. Some like the cash and will do extra bits for free. 

Exactly what I was getting atLOL

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 11:23pm

Built 30square metre kitchen extension in 2016 and done to a very tight budget, I think if you’re going 40m, open plan & high standard you’re doing ok @75k 

I’m starting the ball rolling on getting a 50sq meter open plan extension going....and was hoping to come in at around 70/75k....so he might be a little high but if his work is top notch and he’s available it’ll be worth the money.

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 11:36pm

Quick summary:
40 square meters
Pitched roof
Open plan
French sliding doors

We got basically same job as you are looking for 2 years ago, more or less (should be on my Facebook history somewhere). 
Got it off my brother in law so obviously he done us a good deal as possible. I did a bit of the clearing out labour myself to save a few quid. 
We also had the added complication that we had no side entrance so everything had to come through the house.

I believe in the end, it was around the 75000 mark after VAT after all the little add ons that came. Started off around the 70000 mark as target (remortgage added 63k so made up rest myself).  But I'd say its in the range you were quoted anyway considering building materials have gone up in price. 

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2021 at 11:47pm
remember a builder telling me they add between 3-5 grand extra on the price if they have to come through the house because no side access.

Did you stay in the house while they did the job t-rAndy???and how long did it take to finish??

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 12:25am

remember a builder telling me they add between 3-5 grand extra on the price if they have to come through the house because no side access.

Did you stay in the house while they did the job t-rAndy???and how long did it take to finish??

We did. It was tough. The whole of downstairs was a building site.
Was 16 weeks. It probably could have been quicker but he wasn't always on site himself, if there was labour work to be done then he would leave the easier stuff to his labourer and go off doing other jobs here and there.  

We had an advantage that our parents live close so we could make our dinner in either of their places. Brother in law built us temporary unit to put the microwave and kettle on. Fridge at the bottom of stairs in the hall then. 
Plenty of takeaways too though!

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 7:00am
Gerk - are you adding a nightclub to the bar 😂

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 7:02am
Depending on your house and circumstances it’s worth doing everything possible at once and moving out. Building work is an absolute pain. 

If you are looking to do a large rear/side extension you should look to do a loft extension too if you can.

My sister got a loft extension done recently for about 40k. 
Then you have maximised all the planning permission in one go and you never have to do it again. 

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 8:40am
Jesus Dermot Bannon would get it done for less than 75k 

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 8:54am
Doing a bit of work ourselves at the moment. Attic conversion and also a small extension to the kitchen (about 20sqm).

Both are working out about €35k each so €35k for our half sized extension. 

Getting quotes has been an awful pain. Loads of lads not returning calls or emails, had 3 of them over to the house and walked them through the idea and they still were taking ages for quotes.

Anecdotally I was told to expect to pay €1k=€1.5k per 1sqm, but the quotes we got were above that.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 9:15am
I got an extension about 5 years ago - the initial figure was 36k but that grew as we got a lot other stuff done. The total was 50+

The builder did an incredible job, he did a massive job on my mates house and it was very impressive. My mate went out and viewed the builders last 5 jobs, so he did his home work and was happy with it.

As was said above - draw out your plans on paper in detail - get 5/6 builders to come out and discuss the job, they'll give advise on your plans - so you may adjust this accordingly. 

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2021 at 7:37pm
My extension is 7x5, pitched roof and includes utility room.
All for €25k cash.

I supplied the new boiler at cost.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 2:00am
35k for an attic conversion 😳😳😳

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 8:31am

We're only just starting to look at this, seems very high! 

What was included for that, Shedite? 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 9:05am

My sister paid something similar in Dundalk.
That includes a fully fitted out bathroom (walk in shower, free standing bath etc) and a separate storage room.

Obviously take away the bathroom and you will pay a lot less. 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 9:20am

Doing a bit of work ourselves at the moment. Attic conversion and also a small extension to the kitchen (about 20sqm).

Both are working out about €35k each so €35k for our half sized extension. 

Getting quotes has been an awful pain. Loads of lads not returning calls or emails, had 3 of them over to the house and walked them through the idea and they still were taking ages for quotes.

Anecdotally I was told to expect to pay €1k=€1.5k per 1sqm, but the quotes we got were above that.

Got quoted in that range ourself, looking to get the attic done later in the year. Was surprised by how much it going to cost.

Also thinking of getting a 'seomra' out the back garden. Does anyone have one of these PODS? Are they worth it?

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 9:32am

That includes a fully fitted out bathroom (walk in shower, free standing bath etc) and a separate storage room.

Cheers, wouldn't be getting a bathroom so that should help costs! 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 9:44am

Sounds like a fancy arse bathroom! Walk in shower and a free standing bath! 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 10:40am

Stairs up, big bedroom to the front with a new dormer window, ensuite. Then to the rear another room that'll be used as an office/storage. Just velux windows to that. Gains us about 50sqm. I was told one of the trickiest bits is relocating the water tank from the current attic floor (and future bedroom floor) up to a higher level. Our house is currently A2 also, we stipulate that it has to remain A2 so that ruled out some lower builds that were using cheaper materials.

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 10:45am

I believe it only costs about 5k if you just want stairs, flooring and electrics put in.

All the extras are number of windows, plumbing, fixture and fittings etc
Depends on what you want to use it for. 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 10:53am

The. Boom. Is. Back. 

Wasn’t that long ago when many people in Ireland were lucky to have a toilet out in the garden. They were the posh ones!

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 11:10am

Stairs up, big bedroom to the front with a new dormer window, ensuite. Then to the rear another room that'll be used as an office/storage. Just velux windows to that. Gains us about 50sqm. I was told one of the trickiest bits is relocating the water tank from the current attic floor (and future bedroom floor) up to a higher level. Our house is currently A2 also, we stipulate that it has to remain A2 so that ruled out some lower builds that were using cheaper materials.

Cheers! We'll be doing a lot less than that, we have A3 though so will want to keep that as well

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 11:18am

Reckon the bathroom and kitchen are the two most important rooms in a house to get right. 

Had a walk in shower in the states and it was the business. Hard to come back to a bath doubling as a shower.  

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 11:51am

Reckon the bathroom and kitchen are the two most important rooms in a house to get right. 

Had a walk in shower in the states and it was the business. Hard to come back to a bath doubling as a shower.  
Dont know how you manage with that hun

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 12:05pm

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 12:23pm

I know #pray4baldrick 

😀😀😀

Pain in the hoop with a gimpy leg as the scientist would say. 

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 12:27pm

I know #pray4baldrick 

😀😀😀

Pain in the hoop with a gimp as the scientist would say. 
Not sure i need to ask really .

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2021 at 1:19pm
I basically just have to do the attic, small upgrade of living room to add my mini bar and new fireplace and storage and upgrade the bathroom and then I'm done. So probably 50k all in. Will take a good few years to get it all finished off. Probably another 5 or 6. 

There is a house for sale nearby with everything done to high spec, bigger house and garden (room to build a home bar/home office). Not as good road though, undesirables hanging around and back garden wall exposed to a big field beside a walkway. 
Its probably going to sell for 50k more than I would get for mine house if I were to sell. My house is worth about 130k more than my mortgage amount. 

Would be nearly tempted to try and trade up but the hassle of trying to sell your own before buying the other would put me off. 

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2021 at 1:19am
Suppose it’s the curse of the do’er upper....you never have the money at the right time when you should be doing it up.

I would of thought a basics attic conversion would be between 10/12 grand?

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2021 at 8:16pm
Yeah, I would have thought the same. I'm hoping to convert the attic, put a winding stairs in and extend the roof at gable end for some more space. Hoped I'd get it all for 20-25k but looking at some of these posts, I'll be way off.

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 4:03pm

Is underfloor heating worth it? 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 4:16pm
Did up my own place. Didn’t bother with it. Packed out place with insulation. Not something I look back and said I should have put it in. 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 4:24pm

I have it in my house all downstairs. It can be slow to heat up the place so you really need to give it a blast in advance but once it does, it's the business. Hot tiles in the bathroom and heated wooden floors underfoot Heart plus, obviously no poxy rads. 

Place is like a sauna the next morning too (with the heating off). 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 4:48pm
Anyone changed to the air to heat system? 
The heating in my gaff has never worked properly (as babbs will testify to) so much so that the entire ground level rads never heat up. Not too much of an issue as most of the living is done on the second and third storey but Im toying now between selling up or doing up the place.

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 5:00pm
The servants on ground floor yeah

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 5:23pm
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

The servants on ground floor yeah
of course. 

Posted By: Fruice
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 6:43pm

The heating in my gaff has never worked properly (as babbs will testify to) so much so that the entire ground level rads never heat up. Not too much of an issue as most of the living is done on the second and third storey but Im toying now between selling up or doing up the place.
I have it since we built the house it’s excellent mine is air to water so I have no boost option.
I don’t find I need to put it on up stairs as I find the heat rises from down stairs.
It also ensures you have hot water all the time.
My only down side is you become used to the constant temperature and even though it’s lovely and warm you can find it a bit chilly at times and if you want to increase the temperature it takes about 24 hours in this situation I just put on the fire rather than turn it up.

It’s when I go to someone else’s house I really appreciate how good it is as you can find the house quite cold when the heating isn’t on especially when you wake in the morning 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 6:54pm
Originally posted by Fruice Fruice wrote:

I have it since we built the house it’s excellent mine is air to water so I have no boost option.
I don’t find I need to put it on up stairs as I find the heat rises from down stairs.
My only down side is you become used to the constant temperature and even though it’s lovely and warm you can find it a bit chilly at times and if you want to increase the temperature it takes about 24 hours in this situation I just put on the fire rather than turn it up.

It’s when I go to someone else’s house I really appreciate how good it is as you can find the house quite cold when the heating isn’t on especially when you wake in the morning 
so if it gets a bit chilly you have to wait until this time tomorrow to heat up? Or does it keep the temp constant regardless pf the temp outside? 

Oh and as an edit, any f**ker on here in this line willing to give a completely non committal qoute, let me know.

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 6:55pm

I have it in my house all downstairs. It can be slow to heat up the place so you really need to give it a blast in advance but once it does, it's the business. Hot tiles in the bathroom and heated wooden floors underfoot Heart plus, obviously no poxy rads. 

Yer we have it also and much the same as you really . 
To be honest takes about 90 minutes to really heat up then that's it for the day and like you said come down in the morning after the heating has been off for 12 hours and it's still warm . 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 6:59pm

Thanks for the feedback lads

Posted By: Fruice
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 7:16pm

Originally posted by Fruice Fruice wrote:

so if it gets a bit chilly you have to wait until this time tomorrow to heat up? Or does it keep the temp constant regardless pf the temp outside? 

Oh and as an edit, any f**ker on here in this line willing to give a completely non committal qoute, let me know.

Just to be clear I find it excellent when it feels chilly in reality it’s not chilly it’s just I’m used to it the temperature is at around 19 or 20 degrees inside.
It’s keeps it constant it only kicks in if it knows the temperature is below the required temperature that is set on the thermostat.
There is an external thermostat that speaks to the system.

But if you do feel it’s chilly it takes about 24 hours to notice the difference in my house ( 3500 sq foot for a reference)and mine is air to water not oil.

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 7:56pm
Have oil myself. But still prefer lighting the stove. 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 8:27pm
I had underfloor heating running off geothermal in my house back home. It was an excellent system and I only used to adjust the temperature twice a year max. I also got an air to water system including underfloor installed in another house I built. Great system also

What I would be wary about is installing underfloor heating in a house that's not adequately insulated as its being mentioned that you wont feel instant heat off underfloor heating. This isn't a flaw in underfloor heating as if your home is insulated & ventilated appropriately it wins everyday for me

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 9:48pm
Panteira you sound like Fr Purcell in Heffs profile photo there 😀

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2021 at 10:39pm

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 7:22am

Same - have it all downstairs in the basement.
It’s the absolute business in the mornings getting out of bed and in the bathroom.

Just have it on low for 8 months of the year and it heats the whole house.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 8:12am

LOL you can consider it payback then 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 9:04am

LOL  Yeah bit of a cross between Fr Noel Furlong and Father Fitzgerald here 😀

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 9:45am

I would have said that description would fit The Scientist perfectly. 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 10:26am

I would have said that description would fit The Scientist perfectly. 

Nah thats I have no willy Eoin Mc Love 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2021 at 10:30am

Date Posted: 23 Apr 2021 at 11:57pm
when you apply for planning permission for an extension how long does it last for??

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 2:04am

i'm a QS so i'll throw in my tuppence.

a fabric first approach is recommended before anyone considers installing a heat pump in their home. consider maximising insulation, see if you can improve air tightness and then look at the possibility of upgrading your windows and doors if needed. this is the best way to improve comfort in a home.

assuming you have the space, a quick win would be to pack the attic with as much insulation as you can (4 to 500mm of loft insulation would be ideal - considerably cheaper when bought from our brethen in the north), if you have them look at filling cavity walls with bead insulation which is not overally expensive. basically try and improve the thermal efficiency (heat leakage) of the home as much as you can before splashing out on a heat pump. windows and doors are the expensive part but worth looking into if your current windows are over 10 years old. my building is 15 years old with the seals in the double glazing having already failed - you can really feel the draft coming through the french doors. 

carrying out the above upgrades could potentially mean a smaller heat pump is required - saving you money on that front (given your home is a 3 storey you'll possibly be looking at a 12kw or larger heat pump - these babys are not cheap).

put it another way, a large % of the above outlay would be offset by the saving made in needing a smaller heat pump. another plus is you'll have a much more comfortable home to live in compared to a home where you didn't carry out the upgrades and opted for a larger heat pump. another benefit is you'll have a cheaper electricity bill as homes which are better insulated naturally lose heat at a slower rate which results in less work for the heat pump to do.

word of warning with heat pumps btw. because the water runs at a lower temperature larger rads may be required (extra surface area is needed to heat the room to the same level). something to bear in mind.

another warning. sizing the heat pump is crucial. too large and the heat pump will switch on and off all the time which will reduce its lifecycle significantly. too small and the bloody thing will be on non-stop driving the electricity bill through the roof. be sure whoever sizes and installs it has a track record in doing so.

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 2:06am

when you apply for planning permission for an extension how long does it last for??
normally 5 years i.e. the works need to be finished within 5 years.

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 9:19pm
Mrs on to me about getting a top up mortgage to build an extension. If any experts on here or if anyone has any advice before I get the pros in to have a look, I'd appreciate it!

Have a detached house with a "play room" on the side. Mrs wants to build another story above the playroom and create 2 bedrooms. 2 doors will have to be "knocked in" from the landing if you get me.

Any advice?

Any ballpark figures? (Would be looking for turn key finish!). Is it a case how long is a piece of string and hope for the best!

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 10:14pm
You need planning permission for that don't ya? 
What size is play room? Like a garage?

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 10:19pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

Mrs on to me about getting a top up mortgage to build an extension. If any experts on here or if anyone has any advice before I get the pros in to have a look, I'd appreciate it!

Have a detached house with a "play room" on the side. Mrs wants to build another story above the playroom and create 2 bedrooms. 2 doors will have to be "knocked in" from the landing if you get me.

Any advice?

Any ballpark figures? (Would be looking for turn key finish!). Is it a case how long is a piece of string and hope for the best!
Id suggest if you want a ball park then post up sizes etc but I doubt anyone will be in a position to even give anywhere near an accurate ballpark. Best bet would be to just get a few different builders to look at it. Planning permission will be required so thats Architects fees too amongst others.

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 10:20pm
In regards to top up, my bank have been pretty easy to deal with. I'm currently in the process myself and almost felt like they were asking me 'how much do do you want'.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 9:13am

In regards to top up, my bank have been pretty easy to deal with. I'm currently in the process myself and almost felt like they were asking me 'how much do do you want'.

i got the same with regards to the amount, but the actually process was a pin in the hole. Ridiculous amount of paperwork, surveys etc to get the cash released, and even at that they’ll only release the second half of the funds when it’s “complete”, so we have to wait for them to do that before we can buy floors, paints, cabinets, patio etc

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 9:57am
Thanks for all the replies.

Yeah planning permission shouldn’t be a problem hopefully as loads of houses were originally built with the 2 storeys. 

Mrs is talking mental money but I was hoping about 25/30k. Will obviously get it properly priced so was just wondering what ballparks people think it could be if they got something similar done.

Will be getting at least 3 reputable builders in to price anyway!

Here’s a picture of one of houses in my estate as mine:

https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-17-five-oaks-village-drogheda-co-louth/2926327" rel="nofollow - https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-17-five-oaks-village-drogheda-co-louth/2926327

We’d be building above the playroom/utility.

Measurements in similar house as per above are but it would go above part of kitchen too:

Family Room/Bed. 4 4.84 x 2.39. Utility 1.55 x 2.48. WC 1.55 x 0.95.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 10:48am

Yeah planning permission shouldn’t be a problem hopefully as loads of houses were originally built with the 2 storeys. 

Mrs is talking mental money but I was hoping about 25/30k. Will obviously get it properly priced so was just wondering what ballparks people think it could be if they got something similar done.

https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-17-five-oaks-village-drogheda-co-louth/2926327" rel="nofollow - https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-17-five-oaks-village-drogheda-co-louth/2926327

Measurements in similar house as per above are but it would go above part of kitchen too:

I wish you the best of luck!!! 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:16am
If you get that for €30k ill buy a hat and eat it. Id say double or almost double. I built a single storey extension, just a playroom back in 2008 and its roughly around 3.2 x 2.5 and it was almost €25k. Think you’re in for a shock.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 11:57am

If you get that for €30k ill buy a hat and eat it. Id say double or almost double. I built a single storey extension, just a playroom back in 2008 and its roughly around 3.2 x 2.5 and it was almost €25k. Think you’re in for a shock.

Double would’ve been my guess based on work I’ve had done & friends have had done. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 12:04pm

Building work is a pain so if there is anything else you are thinking of getting done, loft conversion, rear extension etc. Do it all at once if you can.

At the end of the day, the value of your house will increase the same amount so technically it doesn’t cost you anything (assume the housing market doesn’t crash again).

A good architect will be able to show you what’s possible and the relevant costs. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 1:55pm
Prices for construction work in the home has gone through the roof, with the lock down, people not being able to travel are spending the money on their home improvements etc....

My sister in law was about to get an extension done and the prices they were quoted were nearly as high as the price of the house!. 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 2:24pm
Thanks for all the comments.

Mrs was budgeting 50k and I thought she was off her rocker - looks like it’s similar to what’s suggested on here. 

I think that’s mental money - serious profit must be made on that surely!

Anyway, once the mrs wants something, it’s obvious what way this is going to end for me Cry

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 7:19pm
Easily 50k. Prob closer to 60k as that’s just the way the market is right now.

I looked into releasing equity but was put off due to some quotes for works. 

I’ll hold off til the country cops on to f**k

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 7:52pm
Price of focking everything is gone up

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 8:21pm

I’ll hold off til the country cops on to f**k

That's what I have in my mind- and I'm a very principled fella when it comes to life and football. But my weakness - like most lads - is when the mrs says its happening, its happening 😭😭 (but I've still persuaded her over last 15 years that paying for tv ain't happening - but unfortunately I'll have to give way on this one and let bob the builder have a sh*t on his gold plated Jack's at my expense 😟)

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 8:22pm
Working in construction,  an average attic conversion will set you back 25k , for what your looking to build id be looking to at least budget 50K

What ever you do dont go direct labor get a contractor in to do it all 

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2021 at 8:42pm
Echoing the comments from others, I've done 2 extensions recently, attic conversion and then a single storey extension similar in size to what you're looking at. Both were about 50k by the time you get "turn key". Carpets, Wardrobes, Paint, Blinds could be 5k for ya, Architect/Engineer could be another 5k, and be surprised if the build is getting you quotes under 30.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:08am

100%......no way that work is anything less than €50/55k

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:30am

i got the same with regards to the amount, but the actually process was a pin in the hole. Ridiculous amount of paperwork, surveys etc to get the cash released, and even at that they’ll only release the second half of the funds when it’s “complete”, so we have to wait for them to do that before we can buy floors, paints, cabinets, patio etc

Yeah I know. This is my second top up now. Last one was a bit more, big extension and also adding my now wife to mortgage so was basically like doing it all again like the first mortgage, was pain in hole with how they release the money. Thankfully the builder was a family member so could work together to get what needed to be done.
New top up is just for attic conversion and bathrooms so not as much. Hoping it’s not as complicated. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 12:35am
what’s the most a bank/credit union will give you for a home improvement loan....70/75000 over 10yrs???

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:26am

what’s the most a bank/credit union will give you for a home improvement loan....70/75000 over 10yrs???

Lads are on about equity releases and not loans. Basically the term can be anything up to what is left on the mortgage so it reduces the monthly repayments a lot.

In terms of straight forward loans then each bank will be different on how much they'll offer unsecured but generally it would be about €65k and up to 7 years.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 10:29am

Staged drawdowns/payments are the norm for a lot of builds. Obviously an extension is different to a new build in terms of amounts but it is very common. If a builder was involved they would get all materials on credit and have enough cash to cover wages etc until the equity release money comes through, just a pain when doing it yourself. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2021 at 2:39pm

Staged drawdowns/payments are the norm for a lot of builds. Obviously an extension is different to a new build in terms of amounts but it is very common. If a builder was involved they would get all materials on credit and have enough cash to cover wages etc until the equity release money comes through, just a pain when doing it yourself. 
Yeah the builder is grand, it's all the other bits that are annoying. I'm ready to get carpets, showers, painters in for the first part of my extension now, but can't do that until the second part of it is complete

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2021 at 2:07pm
In relation to attic conversions. 

When you convert the attic in a two storey house you are changing it to a three storey house, obvious enough. However there is a big difference in what is required for 'fire safety' in the Irish building regaulations. 

A three storey house needs fire doors, fire rated walls to the stairs, fire rated ceilings firestopping, upgraded alarm system, escape windows. I have seen some videos on FB of attic conversions and I'd be surprised if they are fire safety compliant. 

People need to be careful, apart from the obvious one of people getting hurt in a fire, the owner and builder are responsible for the construction works, whether they know that or not. Best advice is to get an Architect, Building Surveyor or somebody to review the attic conversion. It might cost more to employ them but there is piece of mind in getting works signed off by such people. 

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2021 at 2:43pm

In relation to attic conversions. 

When you convert the attic in a two storey house you are changing it to a three storey house, obvious enough. However there is a big difference in what is required for 'fire safety' in the Irish building regaulations. 

A three storey house needs fire doors, fire rated walls to the stairs, fire rated ceilings firestopping, upgraded alarm system, escape windows. I have seen some videos on FB of attic conversions and I'd be surprised if they are fire safety compliant. 

People need to be careful, apart from the obvious one of people getting hurt in a fire, the owner and builder are responsible for the construction works, whether they know that or not. Best advice is to get an Architect, Building Surveyor or somebody to review the attic conversion. It might cost more to employ them but there is piece of mind in getting works signed off by such people. 

GTS makes a very good point.

I've not read the entire thread but I haven't seen any mention of Project Supervisor Design Process (PSDP) and Project Supervisor Construction Stage (PSCS) which are required by Law under The Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (Construction) regulations. it is your responsibility as client to appoint these people. 

The PSDP can be your architect and the PSCS can be your main contractor however failure to put in place either of the above in the correct manner could land you in serious legal jeopardy and all sorts of monetary pain.