URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57655
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 2:12pm

Topic: Gerry Peyton
Subject: Gerry Peyton
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:21pm
I never knew he made one appearance at Bolton (on loan from Everton) during the 1991/92 season. Everyday is a school day.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:25pm
Gerry is a massive Hughie Lewis fan if that counts for anything .

Posted By: Rodneytrotter
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:26pm

He’s one cool dude to be fair , looks a bit like the hoff in that one 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:31pm

I never knew he made one appearance at Bolton (on loan from Everton) during the 1991/92 season. Everyday is a school day.
I never even knew he played club football at all

I always assumed the FAI just kept him in a broom cupboard in Merrion Square, only to be used on special occasions

I didn't even believe he was a real person

I thought he was a genetically engineered clone developed by a crack FAI team of scientists in preparation for the rapture, ie. Bonner getting injured

Also to be used as a cuddly team mascot

It's a little known fact that the Irish wolfhound Macúl, who used to dance up and down behind the goal at home matches circa 1990, was actually Peyton, shouting woof woof advice at Bonner

My belief that Peyton had been developed in an FAI lab faded when I found out the FAI had been paying hundreds of thousands of pounds to a tout for tickets which did not exist

I began to realise that they were not the all powerful, all knowing crack team of scientists I thought they were

Posted By: avfc
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:48pm

I never even knew he played club football at all

I always assumed the FAI just kept him in a broom cupboard in Merrion Square, only to be used on special occasions

I didn't even believe he was a real person

I thought he was a genetically engineered clone developed by a crack FAI team of scientists in preparation for the rapture, ie. Bonner getting injured

Also to be used as a cuddly team mascot

It's a little known fact that the Irish wolfhound Macúl, who used to dance up and down behind the goal at home matches circa 1990, was actually Peyton, shouting woof woof advice at Bonner

My belief that Peyton had been developed in an FAI lab faded when I found out the FAI had been paying hundreds of thousands of pounds to a tout for tickets which did not exist

I began to realise that they were not the all powerful, all knowing crack team of scientists I thought they were

The country is coming to the same conclusion about NPHET

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:53pm
In the Italia 90 song give it a lash Jack, up until my adult years I always thought the words of a line were, instead of "take up knitting" -
Take a Peyton, Packie Bonner, Lineker can do that too

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:58pm
about time this legend got his own thread 😀

Far too little is known about him :) 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 1:58pm
Is it true he is a previous Mr Universe and taught Elvis how to play karate? 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 2:05pm

In the Italia 90 song give it a lash Jack, up until my adult years I always thought the words of a line were, instead of "take up knitting" -
Take a Peyton, Packie Bonner, Lineker can do that too

True story

On a train between Salzburg and Munich on July 20th, 1990, on a family holiday, I got talking to a fellow ten year old from a family of American tourists

His name was John and he was from Pennsylvania

He was fascinated about the "Who'll Put The Ball In The English Net" t-shirt I was wearing and the Olé Olés I was singing while messing in the corridor

So I taught him the words of "Give It A Lash Jack"

By the time we got to Munich he had the whole thing learned off

I maintain that this was one of the cornerstone events of the modern rise of interest in sahhhhker in America

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 2:07pm
I also link it to the rise of Trump.  It’s your fault. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 2:09pm

I also link it to the rise of Trump.  It’s your fault. 
Probably Saint and Greavsie's fault

Trump made the draw for the quarter-finals of the 1991-92 Rumbelows Cup on an episode of Saint and Greavsie

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 3:37pm

https://player.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-15-gerry-peyton" rel="nofollow - https://player.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-15-gerry-peyton  

Enjoyable interview.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 3:46pm

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 3:47pm
only on YBIG would we spend a Friday making Gerry bleedin Peyton a topic of discussion LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 5:30pm
Gerry Gerry Gerry 

Posted By: SeanyL
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:18pm
I know for the 90 and 94 world cups we only had two goalkeepers in the squad but if it was three who would the third goalkeeper have been? What other Irish keepers were knocking around back then playing at a decent level?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 5:10pm
Originally posted by SeanyL SeanyL wrote:

I know for the 90 and 94 world cups we only had two goalkeepers in the squad but if it was three who would the third goalkeeper have been? What other Irish keepers were knocking around back then playing at a decent level?

Alan Kelly's bro, Gary maybe. He was in a squad or two but never capped. 

Peyton can stop looking at the phone to ring from Baldrick for now. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 8:47pm
What am I missing in relation to all the Gerry Peyton mentions?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 8:49pm
I posted that if we have a vacancy in the goal keeping coach position we could do worse than Gerry Peyton.  

Posted By: Benhur
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 8:54pm
kelham o Hanlon was about at that time 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 10:21pm

I posted that if we have a vacancy in the goal keeping coach position we could do worse than Gerry Peyton.  

Thats basically like "The last time Fr dunne was here, Fr Jack lost his slippers"

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 11:44pm
Originally posted by Benhur Benhur wrote:

Kelham O'Hanlon would have been third choice around 1990

In 1994 it would have been Keith Branagan of Bolton I think, he was quite prominent in their FA Cup run that year, they were a rising team

Gary Kelly was fairly sh*te from what I recall, I'm sure he played in a televised match for Newcastle against Liverpool when Steve Nicol scored a hat trick, he wasn't very convincing and wasn't heard of much afterwards

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 11:51pm

Originally posted by Benhur Benhur wrote:

Kelham O'Hanlon would have been third choice around 1990

In 1994 it would have been Keith Branagan of Bolton I think, he was quite prominent in their FA Cup run that year, they were a rising team

Gary Kelly was fairly sh*te from what I recall, I'm sure he played in a televised match for Newcastle against Liverpool when Steve Nicol scored a hat trick, he wasn't very convincing and wasn't heard of much afterwards

Swept the boards of awards at Bury and Oldham and was young player of the year at the toon Cool

That puts him above GP for me LOL

A photo of him in an Ireland B game and he looks like part of the brass section in the commitments 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 8:20am
Just checked his wiki page and Gary was on standby for both the 1990 and 1994 World Cup squads. Big Jack decided to take an extra outfield player instead of three goalkeepers. With today’s rules he would have two world cups under his belt! Another interesting snippet on his wiki page is he was on the bench for that famous match in Turkey in 2000. Alan was injured so he was called up. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 10:52am

Mark Beeney.

Well, at least according to the 1994 sticker album.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 12:02pm

Just checked his wiki page and Gary was on standby for both the 1990 and 1994 World Cup squads. Big Jack decided to take an extra outfield player instead of three goalkeepers. With today’s rules he would have two world cups under his belt! Another interesting snippet on his wiki page is he was on the bench for that famous match in Turkey in 2000. Alan was injured so he was called up. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 12:30pm

Mark Beeney.

He was never eligible, although he thought he was.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 2:43pm

Mark Beeney.

Reserve and academy goalkeeping coach at Chelsea since 2001. An option for Ireland if Alan Kelly retires.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:41pm
Wasn't Niall Quinn our official 3rd keeper in 1990 and the rules were changed for 94 that you needed to have 3 x recognised keepers? I'm sure I read that previously, though could have been just a tale.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:48pm
I much preferred it the way it was int he old days.  2 subs in the game and that's that. 
If the keeper gets injured an outfield player goes in goal.  Great craic.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:49pm

I much preferred it the way it was int he old days.  2 subs in the game and that's that. 

You would love the mls playoff last night so. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:56pm

What happened?  I barely watch it these days except saw a bit of Orlando City (who would be my favourite team) v New York City the other night

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:57pm

Wasn't Niall Quinn our official 3rd keeper in 1990 and the rules were changed for 94 that you needed to have 3 x recognised keepers? I'm sure I read that previously, though could have been just a tale.

It was 22 man squad back then so Ireland only took 2 recognised keepers.

Quinn was listed as the 3rd.

In 94 they said the 3 keepers could only play in goal and could not be selected as an outfield player.... or something along those lines. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 3:58pm

What happened?  I barely watch it these days except saw a bit of Orlando City (who would be my favourite team) v New York City the other night

😀😀😀 it was that game ffs it went to a Peno shoot out and the keeper was sent off and a player stepped in and saved a pen and Orlando won.  It went viral. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2020 at 4:05pm

😀😀😀 it was that game ffs it went to a Peno shoot out and the keeper was sent off and a player stepped in and saved a pen and Orlando won.  It went viral. 

Was it? I switched it off early on. 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 9:34am
Scrolling Facebook this morning and spotted this

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 10:14am
ha ha brilliant 😀😀😀😀😀

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 10:17am

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 10:53am

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:09pm
Very good job i have to say , hey Baldie is friends with nobody so has to be false .

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:13pm

Scrolling Facebook this morning and spotted this

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:27pm
I think we should all pair up with a unsung hero of the euro 88 and Italia 90 squads.  

Who is for Bernie Slaven and John Byrne. 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:31pm
Or a member of a coaching team in years gone by.

I bagsy set piece specialist, Steve Guppy. With his tutelage, we scored a total of 2 goals from set pieces Clap

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:40pm

I bagsy set piece specialist, Steve Guppy. With his tutelage, we scored a total of 2 goals from set pieces Clap

Money for nuffink mate

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 2:56pm
do we have any Maurice setters takers 

Or even Alan Kelly Senior or taff evans or TC

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 3:23pm

do we have any Maurice setters takers 

Or even Alan Kelly Senior or taff evans or TC
Maurice Setters RIP.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 3:31pm
Just passed away Shocked
Met him in 1989 at a football summer camp in UCD

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 4:19pm

Just passed away Shocked

Jaysus it was a very slow and painful death so LOLLOL

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 6:26pm

We conceded more from short corners than we scored LOL

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 7:32pm

Duffy against Georgia & Denmark?!

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2020 at 7:34pm

Just passed away Shocked

Jaysus it was a very slow and painful death so LOLLOL

Tongue

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2020 at 6:13am
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

Duffy against Georgia & Denmark?!

2 against Scotland and IIRC Christensen/Christie's OG in the 5-1 game was from a short corner too.

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2020 at 10:27am
I sat next to Gerry Peyton wife on flight from Sicily to Sardinia. A very pretty lady....well she was 30 years ago :)

Date Posted: 20 May 2021 at 12:57pm
HB to Baldricks sugar daddy

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 9:25am
Gerry Peyton oddly just requested to add me to his LinkedIn network LOLConfused

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 9:28am

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 9:52am

Gerry Peyton oddly just requested to add me to his LinkedIn network LOLConfused

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 9:55am
Baldy will be green with envy when seeing this news.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:08am

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:11am
What a man what a coachClap

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:27am
Just messaged him. Says he is online via Mobile -

Hey Gerry, 
  Thanks for the ad. The lads from Ireland supporters group, You Boys In Green say hello.  One particular lad, Baldrick, is a massive, massive fan of yours. He still holds out hope that you will one day return to the Irish senior setup in a goalkeeping coach capacity.  I am sure you have some stories from Giles, Hand and Jack's management days!  Anyway, thanks again and hope you are keeping well!  

McG

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:28am

Just messaged him. Says he is online via Mobile -

Hey Gerry, 
  Thanks for the ad. The lads from Ireland supporters group, You Boys In Green say hello.  One particular lad, Baldrick, is a massive, massive fan of yours. He still holds out hope that you will one day return to the Irish senior setup in a goalkeeping coach capacity.  I am sure you have some stories from Giles, Hand and Jack's management days!  Anyway, thanks again and hope you are keeping well!  

McG

The most professional message you could have sent without asking ASL.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:29am
Top class LOLClap

Hopefully he discusses the role he played in the penalty shootout against Romania.LOL

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:30am
Imagine logging in to see countless new Gerry Peyton posts LOL

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 10:31am

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 12:09pm

Gerry's inspiratonal tip of the day:

''Goalkeepers make sure you dive to the side the penalty taker kicks the ball as they like to kick it the opposite side to which you dive.''

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 14 Jul 2022 at 2:35pm

Anyone north of 60 I fear the worse. Glad to see hes still with us LOL

Posted By: longford claret
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2022 at 11:02am
Remember watching Gerry at Burnley before he went to Fulham. 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2022 at 8:00pm
Originally posted by longford claret longford claret wrote:

Remember watching Gerry at Burnley before he went to Fulham. 
Not the only LC , i remember Peter Mellor before he went to Fulham also .

Posted By: longford claret
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2022 at 7:49pm
I remember Mellor playing, but at Fulham, not really at Burnley. From what I saw Peyton was the far better keeper.