URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57495
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 7:45am

Topic: FAI Cup 2020
Subject: FAI Cup 2020
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2020 at 7:10pm
Finn Harps v Pats, Dundalk v Waterford, Cork City v Longford
The remaining league clubs getting a bye to the next round. 
Final to be played in Tallaght which is disappointing as it takes away from the occasion and probably be excluded from the next fai season ticket. 

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2020 at 7:56pm

Where ye seeing cup final is in tallaght? 

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2020 at 10:18pm
where are ya thinking fans will be allowed into it anyway?

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2020 at 10:31pm

where are ya thinking fans will be allowed into it anyway?

I was hoping by November we would have been able to get a limited crowd into LR for this anyway 

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2020 at 11:01pm
Originally posted by saintjoey saintjoey wrote:

Where ye seeing cup final is in tallaght? 
https://extra.ie/2020/07/01/sport/soccernews/sligo-rovers-league-of-ireland-format" rel="nofollow - https://extra.ie/2020/07/01/sport/soccernews/sligo-rovers-league-of-ireland-format

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2020 at 7:30am
Missed the draw, was it pot luck who got to play in the first round and who got a bye?

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2020 at 7:46am

Missed the draw, was it pot luck who got to play in the first round and who got a bye?
First names out got the byes

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 11:58am
Doesn't seem to be much buzz about this at all.

Harps will be a good test for Bray, see how we stack up against a potential play off team 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 2:08pm
Fancy a shock at Terryland tonight .

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 9:26pm
Anyone watching tonight had to give up the stream was so bad with lag, only match its been like that. 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 9:32pm
Played fine for me must be your end. 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 10:49pm
was perfect for me.

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2020 at 11:31pm
Sound . Must of been my end, first time ive had snags.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2020 at 8:45pm

Doesn't seem to be much buzz about this at all.

Harps will be a good test for Bray, see how we stack up against a potential play off team 

Not well, on the basis of the first half 

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2020 at 7:04pm
Step 2 taken in our unrelenting march to cup success

Posted By: Southstandman
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2020 at 12:26pm
QUARTER FINALS . 

Bohs V Dundalk 
Finn Harps V Shamrock Rovers 
Sligo Rovers V Derry City 
Athlone Town V Shelbourne. 
Cant see any dates . 

We are Shamrock Rovers we"re Irelands number 1 .

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2020 at 12:30pm
Whats another year LOL

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2020 at 1:49pm
going to be a bohs/shams final for the first time since the forties, in a year when no crowds are allowed. You know this will happen.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2020 at 3:24pm
Would not surprise me . Demand for a full house and we get covid . Not the same without a full des kellier or 1100 of yous on the east stand but at least we are in our natural habitat - battling one another . 

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2020 at 5:43pm
Whens the final?  The QF seem very late in the year 

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2020 at 5:45pm
Semi draw keeps Rovers and Bohs apart. It would be cruel irony if the did meet in the final in the one year where no fans could attend. Some result in Athlone today..

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2020 at 6:52pm
an Athlone-Harps final it is so

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2020 at 7:49pm

Semi draw keeps Rovers and Bohs apart. It would be cruel irony if the did meet in the final in the one year where no fans could attend. Some result in Athlone today..

CH
In that case they should postpone the final till we can all go Beer

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 5:51pm
Gowan harps!!
Rofuss falling over now

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 5:52pm
hahahahahahaha,Ollie you beauty!

Posted By: triggs1993
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 5:55pm
Hon the harps!! Shackles are off. Long way to go yet

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:08pm
Are we under strength for tonight ?
Bookies have us at 2/1, 11/5 draw and 5/4 Dundalk ?

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:09pm
Steady down..very early in the evening.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:42pm
Game on

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:43pm
jesus 3 pens in 5 minutesOuch

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:44pm
That looked some dive 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 6:53pm
From what I am reading FH should have been out of sight by HT. More to come I bet . Mon Rovers . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:06pm
you not watching?

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:07pm
my cash out at ht is working well.....

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:26pm
How did harps not get a penalty for handball with about 10 to go?

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:26pm

you not watching?

Nah , I aint got that channel . Believe we were blessed but ya take the luck when it comes your way. Hard luck Harps ; 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:27pm
To be fair some poor refereeing there tonight. Rovers do have that look of champions coming back like that. I wasn't altogether confident at half time even with a 2 goal lead

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:31pm
blessed? No you were handed a win courtesy of yet another appalling ref. Poor old harps that was a shocker. I’d say our game will be likewise ruined by a clown performing for the tv too, how I’m wrong, don’t like losing but if it’s a square deal then fine but you never can tell in this league.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:34pm
I think thats what ya call hedging your bets LOL . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:40pm
Just saw the goals . First two pens were legit , the third could not see re the keeper . Burkey poking in the winner . Way it goes sometimes and Harps live to fight another day . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:42pm
Absolute joke that is. Ronan Finn handball was up there with that of Henry’s he held onto it that long. Hennessy was a prick

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:43pm
Originally posted by Southstandman Southstandman wrote:

Just saw the goals . First two pens were legit , the third could not see re the keeper . Burkey poking in the winner . Way it goes sometimes and Harps live to fight another day . 
what two were you watching? The first was never a penalty he threw himself in a heap with feck all contact

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:45pm

blessed? No you were handed a win courtesy of yet another appalling ref. Poor old harps that was a shocker. I’d say our game will be likewise ruined by a clown performing for the tv too, how I’m wrong, don’t like losing but if it’s a square deal then fine but you never can tell in this league.
Methinks your mood has changed since 5.52pm.LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:49pm

what two were you watching? The first was never a penalty he threw himself in a heap with feck all contact

Way I saw it . The lino looked certain the second was a handball ??. Can understand your disappointment , you should have been home and hosed at half time . Hard luck. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:51pm
Hold me now  LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:51pm
Ripped open there . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:54pm
Second was a pen, don't think first and third were, looked a clear handball, nearly Henryesque with the two touches, down the other end 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 7:55pm

Way I saw it . The lino looked certain the second was a handball ??. Can understand your disappointment , you should have been home and hosed at half time . Hard luck. 
If any of the 3 were penalties it was the 2nd as they linesman seemed sure but replays were far from conclusive. Absolutely shocking refereeing

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:01pm

If any of the 3 were penalties it was the 2nd as they linesman seemed sure but replays were far from conclusive. Absolutely shocking refereeing
The finn handball topped it off. Officiating in this league is the pits

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:06pm

Well ya cant blame Rovers for refereeing decisions . Happens tho , ball to upper arm there V Shields and bohs get a pen . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:13pm
ehhh upper arm counts no? Also jumped with both arms raised blocking a shot? 
Watched the other pens back and the foul on Burke and the one for handball were good calls. But Ronan Finns gaa wing back impression ? Jesus. We’ve got another beaut in Harvey tonight mind.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:16pm
Plenty of "stewards" in the Jodi Wink.  I wonder did Dundallk get their full allocation. Enjoyable game tho.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:17pm
Official stewardsWink

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:18pm

Second was a pen, don't think first and third were, looked a clear handball, nearly Henryesque with the two touches, down the other end 

Would agree with this synopsis 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:18pm
I’m on the tramway btw,f**kin freezing up hereLOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:19pm
Ah these are split decisions made in an instant - always evens itself out . This is a good game . Had that ball not hit shields it looked like it was going way over the bar. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:23pm
grant just got done for pushing over fatheadLOL
Feckin bus wouldn’t knock him over

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:24pm
Bohs were robbed ,,,,happy days LOL . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:25pm
Oops, penalty bonanza tonight
That was poor from bucko but what a turn from Duffy.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:28pm
Robbed again there , ball out of play . Fkucin lovin this Big smile

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:29pm
I thought he kept it in, just.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:32pm
Duffy is our problem, young Promise can’t hack it,have to get in at ht and change it.
This nutter will red someone though.

The ball was in the Hut ffs . 

I thought he kept it in, just.

Me too 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:33pm
That ball was over the line too.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:35pm
QUOTE=oldbilly]I’m on the tramway btw,f**kin freezing up hereLOLBilly, Billy give us a wave...

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:35pm
shields is a lucky man

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:42pm
If ya get cold Billy got some birdy to hold you now LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 8:46pm
Really enjoyable first half that. More of the same in the second

Also nice of the FAI to move the cup final date to 3 days after we play in Norway...

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:16pm
What a few saves there by Rogers . 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:19pm
No malice there by bohs , unlucky 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:21pm
told you, this clown is a joke ref. Red card for a sliding tackle?

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:42pm
Rob Harvey is a Bohs fan too LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:42pm
And all things worked out well in the end...KOH

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:48pm
Best we’ve played since the restart. Rest has done the lads good too. Macmillan looked sharp with no Hoban for the rest of the season.

8 semis in the last 9 seasons

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:50pm

told you, this clown is a joke ref. Red card for a sliding tackle?
Yellow card for the challenge. Pity he had a yellow already.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 9:58pm

I’m on the tramway btw,f**kin freezing up hereLOL
You are in your hole LOLLOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2020 at 11:03pm
decent game but the scoreline flattered Dundalk just a bit.thought Bohs were set up all wrong and should of gone two up top.wrights chance of the line by Boyle was a huge moment,going in at 3-2 would of made a tighter second half.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 12:31am
Its a disgrace that that kip Finn Park is allowed to even be open never mind football allowed to be played on it. State of it. Embarrasing that a place like that exists in 2020.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 1:18am

Its a disgrace that that kip Finn Park is allowed to even be open never mind football allowed to be played on it. State of it. Embarrasing that a place like that exists in 2020.
LOLwill you stop ffs, give me Finn Park over modern soulless kips anyday. 

Posted By: Jackal
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 2:50am

The non kip stadiums are not owned by the clubs. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 9:24am

You not a Dundalk fan? LOL

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 10:16am
Harps are where they are because the funding for stranorlar hasn’t come through.Despite every gaa club and golf club and tennis club in the f**king world getting taxpayers loot, and don’t even start on how much dog racing pulls in ffs.
Have a feeling we’re going to wait just as long on dalymount too, sadly.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 3:09pm

Well if the powers that be got the finger out we would be in a new stadium now but not much we can do about that....Still gutted over that. Second was a peno, first was so soft, my friend who was in the shed said the 3rd was one of the worst dives he seen. The Finn hand ball was the clearest of the lot. Rob Hennessy is a disgrace of a ref and should hang his head in shame after that

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2020 at 3:10pm

LOLwill you stop ffs, give me Finn Park over modern soulless kips anyday. 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2020 at 8:23pm
H-T at the Showgrounds. 0-0 . 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2020 at 9:23pm
0-0 , on to extra time . 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2020 at 10:04pm
0-0 after extra time ..pens ?? . 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2020 at 10:06pm
Yeh, its gonna be decided by pens . 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2020 at 10:14pm
Rovers will play Shamrock this Sunday for a place in the Cup Final. In Tallaght 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2020 at 5:23am
That last peno Derry missed is one of the worst attempts you'll see. It's almost like it was his bad foot he hit it with.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2020 at 1:27pm
Just seen that on the news at one . good fook LOL . 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2020 at 2:16pm
Usually the goalkeeper is the centre of celebrations after victory in a penalty shootout, Ed McGinty was almost embarrassed when his team mates ran towards him as the look in his face read "I'd fook all to do".

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2020 at 3:44pm
We discovered stage fright in 2010 when we played Sligo in the final . Dont think we scored one pen . 

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2020 at 7:55pm
At least they were all on target 

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 7:19pm
Dundalk 3-0 up after 13 mins. Going to be a long aul night for Athlone

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 7:29pm

Dundalk 3-0 up after 13 mins. Going to be a long aul night for Athlone
Just sat down with a cuppa and a coffee slice, turned on the match as third goal went in. That's that so. You have to get sorry for Athlone, first big for years, lot of positive media coverage and then 4 down after half an hour.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 8:41pm
10 nil now and 15 mins still to go

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 9:29pm
I thought RTE had started giving the score in roman numerals

II-0

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2020 at 9:34pm
well that was easier than expected. Pretty sh*t for Athlone the way all these fixtures have worked out, no game for 29 days then coming up against a fully professional team. Was always gonna be tough even without that.

So 6 finals in a row for us, hard to get excited for this one though.
Since I’ve started going to Dundalk games I’ve been to 5 cup finals going back to 93, we lost 4 of them. I missed two and we won both, I’ll take that as a good omen for next week!