URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57473
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 3:56pm

Topic: Stuff that 'was cool' back in the day
Subject: Stuff that 'was cool' back in the day
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 9:11pm
Lads who used to wear their runners without tying the laces so they were loose like a pair of slippers.  What was that about?  Walking around and your shoes almost falling off.  Kick a ball and their shoe went 20 yds into somebody's back garden.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 9:13pm
Going outside without looking like an extra in an Altern 8 video.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 9:26pm

Lads who used to wear their runners without tying the laces so they were loose like a pair of slippers.  What was that about?  Walking around and your shoes almost falling off.  Kick a ball and their shoe went 20 yds into somebody's back garden.

remember that

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:06pm
There's a mate of mine that still wears his runners like that.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:07pm
Could never understand that, got called loops for years because I actually tied my laces 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:37pm
I got my left ear pierced when I was 10, as was the style at the time.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:42pm
Lads used to get that 'undercut' haircut and wear them NAFFCO 54 jackets

NAFF co 54 Jackets (With images) | My childhood memories, Baby ...

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:48pm

Also, tying an onion to one's belt 

Posted By: Green Cockade
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:50pm
Long hair, beards, tank tops, loon pants, denim jackets, prog rock, pretending to think that drugs are fashionable, demos for whatever. If the lockdown lasts long enough, we'll be back in the 70s without noticing.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 10:54pm

Also, tying an onion to one's belt 

Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. Give me five bees for a quarter, you'd say. 

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 11:00pm

Lads used to get that 'undercut' haircut and wear them NAFFCO 54 jackets

NAFF co 54 Jackets (With images) | My childhood memories, Baby ...
Haha! Nacker ask for food Caravan 54

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 11:08pm
remember those Adidas button tracksuit bottoms? The ‘IN’ thing for one year about 20 years ago

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 11:16pm
Remember those kicker shoes people wore to school
Had a green bit on the side and sole of one and red on the other 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 11:22pm

Don't remember them but LA Lights were all the rage in 1992

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2020 at 11:50pm

Yeah remember kickers were a huge thing going into secondary school. All of us cool kids had them CoolCool

Posted By: nordlingen
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:16am
Walking down the main street with Tubular Bells album under yer oxter...........LOL

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:24am
Those mad jeans with big loops hanging out of them with the stupid names..xworx or something.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:26am
Step Cuts 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:29am
bit after my time but lads thinking they were Tony Montana by shaving a line through their eyebrow

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:30am
drinking southern comfort and reds....

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:40am

still a thing isnt it.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:49am
Blonde hair dye. Hands up who rocked that one summer Embarrassed

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:54am

Blonde hair dye. Hands up who rocked that one summer Embarrassed
Bleached hair Hair do you mean? Yeah loads of lads got it done. Almost succumbed myself on a family holiday in Tenerife back in the 90s but chickened outEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 1:04am
Had the bleached hair as well. Bald now Cry

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 1:07am

I didnt and im near baldLOL

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 1:25am

Plus WanCry

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 8:05am

Could never understand that, got called loops for years because I actually tied my laces 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 8:06am
Tucking the ends of tracksuit bottoms into socks.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 8:17am
Thinking about what i wore in the 70s , hummmm better leave that unsaid .

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 8:59am
The brown adidas torsion runners from 1990

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 9:00am

Was reading on social media that some guys nickname is spider, because he went into town and bought 4 pairs of jeans.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 9:11am

Growing up in Dundalk in the 80’s....
A local woman used to make tracksuits at home and sell them to the neighbours.
Horrible but everybody had them! 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 9:13am

Was reading on social media that some guys nickname is spider, because he went into town and bought 4 pairs of jeans.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:19am

I remember when i came back from Travelling in Asia and just about everyone in the UK were wearing Shell suits LOL . I did wonder what the hell was going on .

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:46am
Fingerless gloves. 

Most impractical. 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:26am
Wearing PLO scarves in school.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:28am

Never got it bleached but always got the hi-lights in.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 12:18pm
George Webbs.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 1:18pm

Guilty LOL

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 1:49pm

George Webbs.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 2:34pm
And loafers

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 2:40pm
Leather ties. 

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 2:41pm
Canterbury Tracksuit bottoms during the early to mid 2000's

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 2:45pm

I remember when i came back from Travelling in Asia and just about everyone in the UK were wearing Shell suits LOL . I did wonder what the hell was going on .

we had them for italia 90 LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 3:43pm

only changing me boxers on Fridays so I would be fresh for the weekendThumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 6:49pm
Only using 1 strap of the schoolbag

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 6:53pm

One must never double strap.

Double strap is just code for kick me please.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:00pm

still a thing isnt it.

I've been drinking it during lockdown so definitely still a thing but is harder to get red lemonade these days could only get it in Super Value last few times

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:01pm

TrueLOL

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:18pm
those stretchable keyring yokes. Everyone had their locker key on one in school, usually a bright colour too.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:27pm

And it had to be on the right shoulder or something didn’t it?

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:28pm
Having football boots with a big overhanging tongue

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:37pm

Goalkeeper bags and goalkeeper towels.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:45pm

Went back to college in my late 20's, couldn't believe it that two-strapping had replaced the one-strap. 

You'd have been considered an absolute loser in school if you had two-strapped in the mid 00's.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 7:53pm

Went back to college in my late 20's, couldn't believe it that two-strapping had replaced the one-strap. 

You'd have been considered an absolute loser in school if you had two-strapped in the mid 00's.

I remember Noel Gallagher arrived back from an Oasis disaster tour of the US and on the news they showed him walking through the airport double strapping a schoolbag type bag on his back shocked that he would do such a thing.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 8:18pm

Speaking of schoolbags, anyone have those military style ones that you could write all over. All sorts of Oasis, Pulp etc written on every blank space.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 9:42pm
BMX bikes (I had a Raleigh Bomber myself. Brilliant bike)

Those American high school jackets with the black body and white arms.

Zombie movies (Slow zombies, not the quick ones)

The entire works of Arnold Schwarzenegger

Cola cubes

Slush puppies

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:01pm
Double strapping meant you could be dragged down from behind and battered. In Dublin anyway.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:34pm
One lad in our school made it cool to double strap your bag on to your back. Then everyone did it

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:37pm

Speaking of schoolbags, anyone have those military style ones that you could write all over. All sorts of Oasis, Pulp etc written on every blank space.

Yeah the khaki yokes

All the hippy lads had them along with the matching jacket with the German flag on the arm 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:39pm
Remember yo-yos were cool in school for a while
Coca-Cola and fanta ones

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:39pm

Coca-Cola and fanta ones

And skittle wans 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:52pm
Pepe Jeans
Them shoes with the buckle on the front instead of laces
Eskimo jackets (late 80's)
Coca Cola pencil case after a trip to the coca cola factory

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 10:55pm

Pepe Jeans
Them shoes with the buckle on the front instead of laces
Eskimo jackets (late 80's)
Coca Cola pencil case after a trip to the coca cola factory

Give that boy  a can of coke Clap

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:08pm
lethal weapon 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:34pm
Gary Glitter 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:43pm
Marital rape

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:46pm
A trip to the Coca-Cola factory! Give that man a can of Coke!

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2020 at 11:54pm
Editing every post.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 12:23am

Editing every post.
Yes and will continue to do so.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 12:57am
Shoes from Simon Hart - Loafers, Suede Slip-ons, Shoes with sideways laces all worn with with pristine white towel socks. Spent many a Saturday evening with steam from the kettle getting a shine on the suede slip-ons before a night in The Harp or Rainbows. Chunky knit jumpers in pastel colours worn inside your jeans. And not forgetting the stone or snow washed jeans. Mullets, pencil moustaches and hoop earrings. Thin leather ties and button down shirts, mock tweed sports jackets and navy blazers, and full length wool coats. Pints of Furstenberg and Steiger, Pernod and Black, Malibu and Pineapple. 12 inch picture disc singles and ting the charts off the Radio..

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 1:11am
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

A trip to the Coca-Cola factory! Give that man a can of Coke!

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 1:14am

Shoes from Simon Hart - Loafers, Suede Slip-ons, Shoes with sideways laces all worn with with pristine white towel socks. Spent many a Saturday evening with steam from the kettle getting a shine on the suede slip-ons before a night in The Harp or Rainbows. Chunky knit jumpers in pastel colours worn inside your jeans. And not forgetting the stone or snow washed jeans. Mullets, pencil moustaches and hoop earrings. Thin leather ties and button down shirts, mock tweed sports jackets and navy blazers, and full length wool coats. Pints of Furstenberg and Steiger, Pernod and Black, Malibu and Pineapple. 12 inch picture disc singles and ting the charts off the Radio..

That made for some pretty grim reading

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 1:23am
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

Editing every post.
Yes and will continue to do so.
glad to read it.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 2:14am
Is there any player to have 1 cap and 1 goal to his name for us?

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 7:52am

Coca-Cola and fanta ones

And skittle wans 

Remember them alright. Remember 2 people promoting the yo-yo's showing up to our primary school teaching us how to do the tricks.

Pogs are another. Everyone having a bumbag full of them.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 8:20am

Goalkeeper bags and goalkeeper towels.
Maybe in the Premier League on their carpeted pitches but any amatuer goalie worth his salt should still be using a towel.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:19am
Conkers
Marbles
Pogs
Premier League sticker albums
Top Trumps

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:55am
Those tracksuit pants with the poppers on the side. Some **** would always get them ripped off.
Reebok pump shoes.
WWF during the attitude era.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 11:35am
Sitting up the front = nerd

Getting on a bus you had to go down the back.  Upper deck front seat = a bating

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 11:40am

Sitting up the front = nerd

Getting on a bus you had to go down the back.  Upper deck front seat = a bating
Smoking on the Nitelink. Last few times I’ve been on one, nobody smokes anymore.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 11:48am
LA Gear lights shoes Cool

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 12:36pm

Most of this. LOLLOL, old mate of mine used to manage Simon Hart on Talbot Street so always got a few pound off the oul loafers/George Webbs......chunky knit jumpers also from Talbot Street and the white socks, Jaysus we were the biz.  Said no young wan ever. 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 3:34pm

Lads  Dyeing your hair or even worse getting highlights was never cool FFS 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 3:43pm
Who was that sh1te band that tried to make wearing jeans back to front cool? 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 3:55pm
Limewire

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 3:56pm

Kriss Kross. Again though, never remotely cool. 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 4:57pm

Hey, you just don’t know what cool is.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 6:37pm

Kriss Kross. Again though, never remotely cool. 

I saw them live They played support to Michael Jackson in Lansdowne in the early 90's. I've no idea which year specifically. I think it was the Dangerous tour.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 8:58pm

Easy , he did have hair once well a very long time ago Big smile

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 9:25pm
Harp Lager

Posted By: Green Cockade
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 9:32pm
Some of us still drink it. Still popular in the north.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 9:34pm
and it parts of south west too. Would murder a cold pint of it now

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 9:36pm
Originally posted by Green Cockade Green Cockade wrote:

So do I, when I can find it!

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:15pm

I know what isn’t LOLLOLLOL

Murph is right though I don’t trouble the barbers these days and you didn’t get highlights/hair dye at the barbers LOLLOL

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:20pm

Had a pint in Derry a couple of years ago- a blast from the past decent pint Tbf ordinary harp not the harp ice muck 

Would of been a pint bottle of harp man as my local was a bass pub and had tennents on draft and sure you wouldn’t wash your feet in tennents 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:44pm

Had a pint in Derry a couple of years ago- a blast from the past decent pint Tbf ordinary harp not the harp ice muck 

Would of been a pint bottle of harp man as my local was a bass pub and had tennents on draft and sure you wouldn’t wash your feet in tennents 

Some line up of sh*te beer up north 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 10:48pm
Liverpool winning the league

It went out for a while, but like all the coolest things, it's come back, baby

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2020 at 11:43pm

Liverpool winning the league

It went out for a while, but like all the coolest things, it's come back, baby
LOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2020 at 8:42am

Is the two Harps very different ? Just thinking Ice Harp would be colder ?