Forum Description: All League Of Ireland Teams Forum
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57426
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 8:10am

Topic: Survey on how LOI football should return
Subject: Survey on how LOI football should return
Date Posted: 04 May 2020 at 2:07pm
There's been plenty of talk between clubs and the league about how best to return but supporters have not really been part of that discussion so far. 

Our colleagues in Irish Supporters Network have put together a survey to gauge the level of support for LOI football returning behind closed doors / in front of socially distanced crowds etc. 

Will only take a couple of minutes and all responses and shares are welcome.

https://t.co/AMrwc1JAaJ" rel="nofollow - https://t.co/AMrwc1JAaJ

Date Posted: 04 May 2020 at 3:41pm
Social distancing isn't feasible at a football match, even at Tolka.

Date Posted: 04 May 2020 at 3:48pm
The league should continue with social distancing enforced for the short term at least.

Attendances should be limited for home\away fans and could possibly be increased on how the fans respect the rules above and over time.

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 04 May 2020 at 5:08pm
And what about the players ?? Very hard to play football and social distance at same time ??
It's going to be a disaster and not worth the risk. More money lost

Date Posted: 13 May 2020 at 11:18am
Only seeing this now - filled it in Thumbs Up

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 13 May 2020 at 3:03pm
Don't think the league should go ahead behind closed doors myself.

Don't get me wrong, I am missing football more than anyone but with it being only 4/5 games in, if the season cant go ahead with fans it should be voided in my opinion.

The league has been improving steadily over the last few years and I feel a year without revenue gate receipts would only send it back in the wrong direction.

Of course there is the mention of a paid streaming service but in reality I don't feel this will attract the part-time occasional fans which you get on any given week and that teams would be relying on their small hardcore who already have season tickets or memberships and may be due some discount on any streaming of matches which only further cuts the stream of revenue.

As well as that you lose out on programmes, merchandise sales, bar takes, food sales/burger van fees, etc.

I just don't see how it would be feasible to pay players and any other match day expenses when there is very little coming in and feel that it would start to undo most of the good work of the last few years.

Maybe Im wrong and would be interested to hear any counter argument on the matter.

Date Posted: 13 May 2020 at 3:37pm
YES

Date Posted: 13 May 2020 at 4:37pm
could a switch back from Summer football to a traditional season be an option and then a condensed season next year before back to Summer football in 2022.

Posted By: Daragho
Date Posted: 14 May 2020 at 4:41pm
I'm very worried for the domestic league. With no crowds permitted for quite a while (if there's no vaccine that could be into 2022) where is any revenue going to come from? Streaming is unlikely to plug the gap. So without almost full financial support from government, UEFA or FIFA how can you run any competition?

I really can't see a way around this if there are no spectators allowed.

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 15 May 2020 at 3:58pm
Most leagues across Europe must be in a similar situation. So I guess there will be some Europe-wide attempt to save the clubs.

When a disaster like this strikes you might even get some kind of radical solution. A European Super League, conglomeration of smaller leagues or, in our case, the fabled All-Ireland league.

Date Posted: 15 May 2020 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by Terzino Terzino wrote:

Most leagues across Europe must be in a similar situation. So I guess there will be some Europe-wide attempt to save the clubs.

When a disaster like this strikes you might even get some kind of radical solution. A European Super League, conglomeration of smaller leagues or, in our case, the fabled All-Ireland league.

Belgian/Dutch league has been mooted previously. Think a Scandinavian one has been as well 

Date Posted: 15 May 2020 at 4:36pm
Celtic have been linked with a north Atlantic league more often than with EPL. It would certainly be the preferred option of the two, seeing as football can't be run as a sport anymore.Cry

Posted By: Jackal
Date Posted: 15 May 2020 at 6:55pm

The All Ireland league is not happening anyway. The Northern Clubs made that clear.

Date Posted: 15 May 2020 at 7:11pm
Originally posted by Jackal Jackal wrote:

The All Ireland league is not happening anyway. The Northern Clubs made that clear.

Where is that now?

Posted previously -

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/irish-league/crusaders-chief-eager-to-see-the-plans-for-all-island-football-revolution-38626251.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/irish-league/crusaders-chief-eager-to-see-the-plans-for-all-island-football-revolution-38626251.html

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/linfield-and-glentoran-open-to-further-cross-border-league-talks-after-groundbreaking-dundalk-summit-38629875.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/linfield-and-glentoran-open-to-further-cross-border-league-talks-after-groundbreaking-dundalk-summit-38629875.html

Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 4:55pm
I heard Niall Quinn on the LoI Weekly podcast. In fairness, from listening to him there seems to be a real concerted effort by himself and the FAI to put in place a structure and, more importantly, the finances to get the league up and running again. 

It has given me a bit more optimism. If there is to be streaming of all games in a concentrated season I hope enough fans pay to watch. After all, we'd be contributing to the survival of our clubs, not just to see a few matches behind closed doors (which isn't all that exciting, to be honest).

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 4:59pm
Under normal circumstances the All-Ireland league probably wouldn't happen, but "social distancing" is going to drive clubs to the wall, even if the players are given the all clear to play.

Something will have to emerge from the ruins.

For an Atlantic League type thing, the problem is not the pandemic but our lack of infrastructure. Dundalk would need a brand new stadium.

Or if you really wanted to take advantage of bigger clubs coming into the country, you'd need to use Lansdowne.

So Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers doing a ground share in Lansdowne?

Until the clubs get their own modern grounds it doesn't look a runner. And they can't afford that, so it means the government building multi-use municipal stadiums.

We just need to elect a sports-mad, socialist Taoiseach.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 10:27pm
when is the earliest that the league would come back? 

Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 11:02pm
on a lower level...the lenister senior league want to finish the season out...with games taking place on 28th August and clubs available to train from 10th August.problem is that I’m hearing a lot of the mid table teams (in the top intermediate league) with nothing to play for can’t get lads to go back for the remaining 9 games.

Date Posted: 21 May 2020 at 5:10pm
The results of that survey are available below for those interested.

http://irishsupportersnetwork.ie/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Behind-Closed-Door-findings.pptx" rel="nofollow - http://irishsupportersnetwork.ie/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Behind-Closed-Door-findings.pptx

Supporters have mixed views on how the League of Ireland should proceed in 2020 but are supportive of measures to help their clubs through the Covid-19 pandemic, a new survey by the Irish Supporters Network (ISN) has found.

Asked if they support ‘Behind Closed Doors’ for the League, 52.7% of participants said they were in favour with 47.3% against the idea. Feedback from individual supporters on this specific question included statements of support for their club’s long-term viability as well as a desire for supporters’ well being, both physical and mental, to be acknowledged and recognised in discussions.

Asked how supporters should be kept involved if closed games do proceed, a third (33.5%) of respondents stated a preference for a Fully Paid streaming service where everyone pays a fee followed by a service that would be available free to certain groups within the supporter base i.e. season ticket holders or club members (31.1%). A total of 27.3% stated a preference for the option: If it’s not safe for supporters, it’s not safe for anyone else. Just 8.7% of people stated a preference for a lottery-type system that would allow some fans to attend in small numbers while socially distancing inside the ground.

Asked if they would support measures to not allow away fans in grounds until social distancing measures are lifted, 65% of people were in favour, with 35% against.

An overwhelming majority of respondents were in favour of supporters being involved with the ongoing planning and discussions being held regularly at a national level – 81.5% saying fans should be involved, with 18.5% saying otherwise.

Demonstrating their understanding of how precarious finances are for many clubs at the moment, a majority of participants (58.7%) stated a preference for some level of consideration for their 2021 season ticket renewal as the top remedy in the event of Closed Games going ahead. Second was an exclusive club event for season ticket holders (21.3%), 17.6% said they would be satisfied with a voucher or other non-monetary compensation while 16.4% of respondents believe an option for a partial refund is needed.

Finally, when asked if their club had engaged with supporters on this topic, 63.8% said No with 36.2% saying Yes. Again, feedback included sympathy that clubs are also working in unchartered territory at present alongside a desire to be included and acknowledged.

Comment:
The findings of the survey reflect the ongoing discussion and debate seen right across the league at the moment – confusion, uncertainty, anxiety for the future. Supporters are key stakeholders in the League of Ireland and our clubs, literally, would not survive without the financial and volunteering contributions made right throughout the year and not just at grounds on match night.

ISN is fully supportive of efforts to try and find the safest way back to playing football but we would like to see discussion and planning around a pathway for supporters to return to grounds in due course alongside the other considerations being worked through by clubs, the PFAI and the FAI at present. If League of Ireland fixtures become something supporters are excluded from – for whatever reason – without any consultation, the ‘loss of habit’ could have a permanent and devastating effect. And that’s something no one wants to see.

The full survey results can be downloaded  http://irishsupportersnetwork.ie/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Behind-Closed-Door-findings.pptx" rel="nofollow - Behind Closed Door findings .

ISN wishes to highlight and acknowledge the support of our fellow supporters’ organisations – CRISC and YBIG Mandate – in sharing the survey. All three groups have continued to work together to improve the experiences of all supporters in Irish football since being included on FAI Council for the first time last summer.

For further information, contact: info@irishsupportersnetwork.ie

Background:  The Irish Supporters Network (ISN) first came together in 2013 as a way for League of Ireland supporters and supporter-owned clubs to cooperate. Founded as a federal cooperative in 2016, it advocates for community ownership and supporter involvement in Irish football. Since May 2019, it has worked closely with CRISC and YBIG Mandate on topics that affect all supporters in Irish Football.

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2020 at 6:08pm
Rumours from today’s meeting don’t sound good at all. We’ll be lucky to see league football this calendar year 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 8:45am
So basically the FAI's financial plan to get the league going is for the Euro clubs to give up 100k each.
Joke shop.

Niall Quinn is an absolute spoofer

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 10:12am

So basically the FAI's financial plan to get the league going is for the Euro clubs to give up 100k each.
Joke shop.

The place was on the brink before Covid. None of the normal income streams such as TV money and decent prize money were ever in place for the league. Plus the solidarity money has already been cashed in  and spent by JD. 

UEFA and government already provided more money to keep the lights on back in January before the shutters came down. Hard to see how this moves forward when the majority of clubs don't want to play behind closed doors and can't afford to. Where do you see the money coming from? Can't just pluck it out of thin air. Broke clubs, broke association and UEFA and the government facing an unprecedented crisis. 

Posted By: Twoinarow
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 10:36am

Joke shop.

The place was on the brink before Covid. None of the normal income streams such as TV money and decent prize money were ever in place for the league. Plus the solidarity money has already been cashed in  and spent by JD. 

UEFA and government already provided more money to keep the lights on back in January before the shutters came down. Hard to see how this moves forward when the majority of clubs don't want to play behind closed doors and can't afford to. Where do you see the money coming from? Can't just pluck it out of thin air. Broke clubs, broke association and UEFA and the government facing an unprecedented crisis. 

If the LOI does not start back up then its finished, many clubs will never return.

Say goodbye to a National Team for a while

The FAI are still a shambles from top to bottom 

2 in a row and we won it in Tallaght

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 11:37am
Good honest post Drumcondra69er and it's a reality. I would have a fair idea of what's going on and for now fai at absolute rock bottom finance wise with no funds coming in.
Niall Quinn means well and ye he is bluffing a bit hoping fifa give funds soon but it's only a gloss over. COVID couldn't have came at a worse time for fai or LOI. Just as season starts ! And dont be under any illusion that the top four clubs are financially safe either.
My feeling is that a government loan will be made available to LOI but if the FAI old guard hang in then ????

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 11:45am

Joke shop.

None of which is the fault of the European clubs. How can they even give 100k when there is no time line for next season qualifiers? When will the clubs be receive the money for next seasons qualifiers?

Has your Bohs got 100k lying around to give away?

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 11:49am

Joke shop.

What would you do if you were in Quinns shoes now in regard a financial plan? The Fai needed a bail out before he even got the job it is hardly afloat with cash atm that he can magically throw at clubs to get the league underway. It’s current state is down to years of negligence under Delaney and we are still seeing the full effects of his reign. If the 4.5 million wasn’t already drawn down by Delaney previously then the league would be back up and running.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 12:06pm

Joke shop.

None of which is the fault of the European clubs. How can they even give 100k when there is no time line for next season qualifiers? When will the clubs be receive the money for next seasons qualifiers?

I'm not suggesting that's the solution. I don't know what is. There was €4.3m of UEFA  emergency money from the hat-trick fund supposed to be coming in only it was discovered JD had already cashed it in. That's the root of the problem here. I wish there was a money tree we could shake. There was due to be an injection of cash into the association once the Euros happened whether we qualified or not. That's gone for a year. There were supposed to be a number of internationals from Sept through autumn. Gone as well. Where do you suggest the money comes from? I'm out of ideas. Only 5 clubs want to play, that's down to the clubs. It's a perfect storm and very worrying. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 12:15pm

Joke shop.

I'm not suggesting that's the solution. I don't know what is. There was €4.3m of UEFA  emergency money from the hat-trick fund supposed to be coming in only it was discovered JD had already cashed it in. That's the root of the problem here. I wish there was a money tree we could shake. There was due to be an injection of cash into the association once the Euros happened whether we qualified or not. That's gone for a year. There were supposed to be a number of internationals from Sept through autumn. Gone as well. Where do you suggest the money comes from? I'm out of ideas. Only 5 clubs want to play, that's down to the clubs. It's a perfect storm and very worrying. 

I don't know where it comes from, thats the FAI's job to figure out.
So far they have come up with the idea of taking money of clubs!! it's laughable
Quin also suggested the idea in his meeting with the PFAI that maybe players will have to take pay cuts, yet half the players in the league are currently not even being paid!!

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 12:26pm

Joke shop.

I don't know where it comes from, thats the FAI's job to figure out.
So far they have come up with the idea of taking money of clubs!! it's laughable
Quin also suggested the idea in his meeting with the PFAI that maybe players will have to take pay cuts, yet half the players in the league are currently not even being paid!!

Can't simply point the finger of blame at the current board for the majority of clubs in the country being appallingly run, it comes from years of neglect. It needed a huge amount of work before Covid, let alone now. I see a number going to the wall unfortunately.

The European money clubs were due has been used to plug holes for years in an undercover manner as Dundalk can vouch for. That's what started all this unravelling with the €100k loan. I don't know the details of what was suggested last night. What was the comeback on it? What if it was a loan to be repaid with interest when things level out? Clubs are going to have to take a hit somewhere and there's little appetite to. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 12:59pm
Could some kind of allowance be given to the clubs from the FAI to come up with some sort of business plan to get out of this?

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 1:21pm

Years of LOI internal mismanagement combined with an administering governing body led by a Kleptocrat was never going to work out well. 

Looks like we need a wealthy benefactor, or a few of them, to bail the league out. Someone ask the multinational companies to sponsor a team each. We might even pick up a few new supporters along the way. 

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 3:06pm

Could some kind of allowance be given to the clubs from the FAI to come up with some sort of business plan to get out of this?
A meaty enough igh €5k should sort it out.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 3:30pm
I think all players are going to be laid off. The league could struggle to have any full time professional players next season.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 3:59pm
most clubs will lose a large chunk of sponsors due to businesses closing and not having any spare money due to the pandemic and they need this in normal times to keep them going never mind now when their expected to play with no match revenue.

Posted By: Twoinarow
Date Posted: 12 Jun 2020 at 4:40pm

I think all players are going to be laid off. The league could struggle to have any full time professional players next season.

Unless its sorted say goodbye to LOI and National Team 

2 in a row and we won it in Tallaght

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 12:29am
Originally posted by Twoinarow Twoinarow wrote:

Unless its sorted say goodbye to LOI and National Team 

Players were getting laid off 2/3 weeks into  the virus (along with most staff at some clubs).....the writing was on the wall weeks ago.

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 8:56am
and the FAI think the 4 euro clubs should bail out the league?
Bohs should hand over money to the likes of pats and Derry to pay players wages , full time players, while we continue to be part time and live within our means?? f**k off.

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 1:25pm

and the FAI think the 4 euro clubs should bail out the league?
Bohs should hand over money to the likes of pats and Derry to pay players wages , full time players, while we continue to be part time and live within our means?? f**k off.

Not paying a cent to teams who had several times our budget and failed to spend their way to the top. We've earned our euro money by living within our means. 

The money will always be found for the national team. 

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2020 at 6:55pm
Just say no. Cork City are in debt because numptys elected their buddies. The other clubs should not have to give them money.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2020 at 3:14pm
It's a non-story, won't be happening. I'd be angry enough if I was a Dundalk fan and the FAI were trying to shovel their sh*t downstream, even angrier that clubs can waste years upon years of euro money and then come looking to leech off our hard work. 

This isn't a serious proposal. The FAI will get the league restarted, as time goes on UEFA will be looking at the situation and we'll get into the question  again of whether we should be allowed to field a national team without a functioning league. They tried to dump the league before and realised that UEFA won't let them do it without sacrificing their cash cow national side. The money will eventually turn up from the Mick and Robbie fund. What's happening now is they're trying to paint a picture of a poor damsel in distress league, in the hope that someone in Leinster House will pick up the tab. 

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 2:59pm
So, league is back at the end of July. Hopefully there might be an option to pay and watch your team online while crowds are still not allowed in. 

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 3:16pm
Just continuing on from where it was left and only playing 2 rounds, so only 13 games is a bit crap. Really should have tried and had 3 rounds and a proper season or at least come back and play 2 full rounds.

But at least it's a plan but should not have taken this long, Euro clubs will get some games before the Euro campaign.

League finished in Oct 2019.
3 1/2 month break to the new season.
4 1/2 month break for covid 19
back for 3-4 months to finish season before another long break

Seems like a write off of a year

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 4:17pm
Count yourselves lucky being in the premier we had a 6 months break and haven’t had a home game since 15th September 2019.

Great to see common sense being applied by the fai and all teams being treated equally.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 5:50pm

Just continuing on from where it was left and only playing 2 rounds, so only 13 games is a bit crap. Really should have tried and had 3 rounds and a proper season or at least come back and play 2 full rounds.

But at least it's a plan but should not have taken this long, Euro clubs will get some games before the Euro campaign.

League finished in Oct 2019.
3 1/2 month break to the new season.
4 1/2 month break for covid 19
back for 3-4 months to finish season before another long break

Seems like a write off of a year
Yeah seems like a season just thrown together to give the European teams some practice and have us ready for next year.

Can't see many of the non-European team getting much of a squad together. They won't have the cash without crowds. Probably better off leaving the players on unemployment payments and going part time. 

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 8:52pm
I doubt they can do that if the players have contracts. The fact there will be relegation means it would be a big risk.

I do feel that’s what some of the clubs wanted to do though

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 11:23am

So, league is back at the end of July. Hopefully there might be an option to pay and watch your team online while crowds are still not allowed in. 

Crowds of 500 allowed outdoors from 1 August so there should be crowds allowed in. Shels CEO said we've sold approx 500 season tickets so they could be allowed in depending on government advice

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 11:41am

Crowds of 500 allowed outdoors from 1 August so there should be crowds allowed in. Shels CEO said we've sold approx 500 season tickets so they could be allowed in depending on government advice
The 500 might include the teams, reporters, club officials etc.

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 11:52am

The 500 might include the teams, reporters, club officials etc.

Even if it did, you'd still get a few hundred fans in fingers crossed

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 12:02pm
Happy with the outcome, every game will matter now

I'm hoping Bray let their season ticket holders back in, don't see why they wouldn't 

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 2:10pm

I'm hoping Bray let their season ticket holders back in, don't see why they wouldn't 

This could get tricky. Probably gonna be 400ish fans by the time players, management, stewards, medical staff, sponsors, etc are catered for first. 

Are season ticket holders more deserving that fans who pay full whack every home game. I know lads who pay every game and have been doing that for years. 

We have about 600 season ticket holders, so probably have to do a draw for each game if its limited numbers in. 

The main concern for clubs that only let in season ticket holders is that a club are not getting any gate receipts because they have paid their money already. And the gate receipts could be the difference between breaking even or making a big loss this season. 

Its a balls. 

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 2:15pm
Can't think of any fairer way than allowing season ticket holders in tbh. They've already vastly overpaid for the handful of games they're allowed in to, and I could see a lot of anger brewing if non ST holders are allowed in ahead of them

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 4:22pm
League is off again?

Date Posted: 01 Jul 2020 at 4:44pm

This could get tricky. Probably gonna be 400ish fans by the time players, management, stewards, medical staff, sponsors, etc are catered for first. 

Are season ticket holders more deserving that fans who pay full whack every home game. I know lads who pay every game and have been doing that for years. 

We have about 600 season ticket holders, so probably have to do a draw for each game if its limited numbers in. 

The main concern for clubs that only let in season ticket holders is that a club are not getting any gate receipts because they have paid their money already. And the gate receipts could be the difference between breaking even or making a big loss this season. 

Its a balls. 

So your saying the clubs should hold on to the money that's already been paid for season tickets, then not let the people with season ticketsin to the games but rather make other people pay in?

How does that make any sense? Can Sligo afford to refund season ticket sales if they want pay at the gate only?

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2020 at 11:04am
Do Sligo withdraw their objection to playing now they've raised all that money? If they don't play, do they intend refunding everyone?

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2020 at 12:06pm
Season Ticket holders get first option on tickets, no question about it.

Although it doesn't look like this saga is concluded yet.

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 03 Jul 2020 at 10:36pm
We had already said we were returning to play before this fundraising started and no one would want their donation back if we didn’t play. We’re regularly fundraising just this one seems to have gotten a lot more attention.  

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2020 at 12:06pm
This money generated by LOI Go - Anybody know where this will be going??

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2020 at 1:05pm

This money generated by LOI Go - Anybody know where this will be going??
Back to the clubs according to http://https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0722/1154815-new-streaming-service-for-league-of-ireland-announced/" rel="nofollow - the press release :

Revenue will go to each club from streaming sales.