URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57412
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 2:33pm

Topic: Desert Island Discs
Subject: Desert Island Discs
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 9:23pm
Seeing as it is on Radio Ireland now, and I am bored watching herself do a school reunion on Zoom, we may as well give it a go! 

The format is simple enough: you pick the eight tracks you would take to a desert island and a luxury of your choice . You are normally given the complete works of Shakespeare and the Bible, but, thankfully, you can usually swap these for the works of another writer of importance and another work of philosophy or faith that is important to you.

On ye go, I will keep changing mine until I get respectable drunk enough not to care. Try and give reasons, that's the interest. 

Edit: Drums, regarding our earlier discussion, this is very self-indulgent and almost certainly narcissistic. 

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 10:37pm
I had a go, got lost on Spotify and deleted it by mistake. LOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 10:50am

Seeing as it is on Radio Ireland now, and I am bored watching herself do a school reunion on Zoom, we may as well give it a go! 

The format is simple enough: you pick the eight tracks you would take to a desert island and a luxury of your choice . You are normally given the complete works of Shakespeare and the Bible, but, thankfully, you can usually swap these for the works of another writer of importance and another work of philosophy or faith that is important to you.

On ye go, I will keep changing mine until I get respectable drunk enough not to care. Try and give reasons, that's the interest. 

Edit: Drums, regarding our earlier discussion, this is very self-indulgent and almost certainly narcissistic. 

Rainy Night in Soho  The Pogues 

Motherland Christy Moore 

I wanna be your Lover  Prince 

Sweet Carolina Ryan Adams

Gigantic  The Pixies  

All I Want is You  U2  

The Whole of the Moon   Waterboys 

Gimme Shelter    Rolling Stones  

Luxury would be a photo album of family   (presumably you dont have internet on the island)  

Does a porn mag qualify as a book of faith :)  again no internet:) 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 10:57am
I forgot I put this up. Lockdown drinking is out of hand.LOL
Some great choices there and a porn mag is definitely a book of faith, as long as it has a silly name like 'Razzle'.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 11:11am
Could easily put up another 8 songs.  Tough choices and no Massive attack or Van Morrisson or Neil Young or a classic you got the love by Source ruined by Florence and the Machine.  
Tin Solider by the Small Faces another classic song. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 1:30pm
NWA-Staight outta Compton 
Billy Ocean-Red Light Spells Danger
The Doors-LA Woman
Oasis-Slide Away
Pogues-Rainy Night in Soho 
Springsteen -Racing in the Street(live version)
Paul Weller-Broken Stones
Stevie Wonder-Living in the City

Tough to narrow down!
Any Irvine Welsh book

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 1:32pm
Great choices, but I wasn't expecting Billy Ocean.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 1:49pm
Talk Talk-It's My Life
New Order- True Faith
Thin Lizzy - Yellow Pearl
Thin Lizzy - Dancing In The Moonlight
Eurythmics - Here Comes The Rain Again
Oasis - Live Forever
Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms
Massive Attack - Teardrop

Book- Any of Henning Mankell's Wallander series 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 2:38pm
It's nearly impossible to pick a list of songs but I'll give it a go....

Cast No Shadow - Oasis
The Temptation of Adam - Josh Ritter
Sound of Silence - Disturbed
Never Let Me Down Again (live version) - Depeche Mode
Bad (live version) - U2
Song for Ireland - Luke Kelly
Bloodbuzz Ohio - The National
Thousands are Sailing - The Pogues

The luxury item would be one of those wind up radios that doesn't require a battery, and I'll have to get back to ye on the book.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 2:45pm

Cast No Shadow - Oasis
Bad (live version) - U2

The luxury item would be one of those wind up radios that doesn't require a battery, and I'll have to get back to ye on the book.

Great shout Paulie esp Bloodbuzz Ohio and the radio.  Love the version from Other Voices.  

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 2:49pm

Cast No Shadow - Oasis
Bad (live version) - U2

Great shout Paulie esp Bloodbuzz Ohio and the radio.  Love the version from Other Voices.  

Even though Boxer is my favourite album of theirs, that's my favourite song. Brilliant.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 4:07pm

Favourite song ever.
Meant so much as a teenager in late 70s Dublin

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 6:38pm
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

Favourite song ever.
Meant so much as a teenager in late 70s Dublin

I like Thin Lizzy but I honestly can't stand that song as it's been played to death. Brown Eyed Girl, Sweet Child of Mine are all in that played to death category.

Probably one for the unpopular opinion thread. 

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 7:36pm
I understand what you're saying and songs being played to death. 
However when you associate a song with particular time of your life or event that wins out.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 7:52pm

The Doors-LA Woman
Oasis-Slide Away

Tough to narrow down!
Any Irvine Welsh book

No 'Sir Duke' by Stevie Wonder son? LOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 8:08pm
Tricky to narrow this down but here goes -    1. Joe Smooth - Promised Land.   2. Frankie Knuckles - Your Love     3. Candi Staton - You got the love.    4. The Trammps - Hold back the night.    5. Frankie Valli.  -  The Night.    6. The Blossoms. - That's when the tears start.   7. Sybil - The love I lost.    8.  Inner City - Good Life

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 8:19pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

The Doors-LA Woman
Oasis-Slide Away

Tough to narrow down!
Any Irvine Welsh book

No 'Sir Duke' by Stevie Wonder son? LOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 8:20pm

The Doors-LA Woman
Oasis-Slide Away

Tough to narrow down!
Any Irvine Welsh book
Living for the city. Obvs

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 8:44pm
The C90s - Shine a light
Faith No More - Easy
Clannad and Bono - In a lifetime
Massive Attack - U.S.
Prince - Purple Rain
Oasis - Columbia
The Boss - Tenth Avenue Freeze Out - Live in Madison Square 
Louis Armstrong - All the time in the World

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 10:02pm
Mark McCabe - Maniac 2000
The Vengaboys - The Vengabus Is Coming
Wet Wet Wet - Love Is All Around
The Eagles - Hotel California
Phil Collins - Easy Lover
Frank Sinatra - My Way
Goo Goo Dolls - Iris
The Crazy Frog - The Crazy Frog Song

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2020 at 11:57pm
Queen -Someone to Love 
David Bowie - Starman 
Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Rd 
Thunderclap Newman - Something in the Air. 
Tears for Fears - Sowing the Seeds of Love 
Chas and Dave - There ain't no pleasing you. 
King of the Road - The Proclaimers 
Marvin Gaye - What's goin on. 
Some say the Divil is dead - The Wolftones

Book would be Boat building for dummies

The luxury item would be Marijuana seeds

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2020 at 12:09am

The C90s - Shine a light
Faith No More - Easy
Massive Attack - U.S.
Prince - Purple Rain
Oasis - Columbia

Bono at his peak with clannad for “in a lifetime “....I wouldn’t be his biggest fan but his vocal range on that song is unreal.a hugely underrated song.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2020 at 12:14am

The C90s - Shine a light
Faith No More - Easy
Massive Attack - U.S.
Prince - Purple Rain
Oasis - Columbia

Bono at his peak with clannad for “in a lifetime “....I wouldn’t be his biggest fan but his vocal range on that song is unreal.a hugely underrated song.

Agreed on vocals. Just too damned short. Needed another verse.

Posted By: Gashley Grimes
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2020 at 12:40am

Happy Mondays - Kinky Afro
The Housemartins - Build
Oasis - Round Our Way
Dexys - There There My Dear
The Pogues - Rainy Night in Soho
Mazzy Starr - Fade into You
Radiohead - High & Dry
Primal Scream - Rocks

George Stephenson: The Remarkable Life of the Founder of the Railway - Book

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2020 at 10:00am
Originally posted by Gashley Grimes Gashley Grimes wrote:

The Housemartins - Build
Oasis - Round Our Way
Radiohead - High & Dry
Primal Scream - Rocks

Round ARE way. Dont be correcting them Cool

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2020 at 10:32am

Mark McCabe - Maniac 2000
The Vengaboys - The Vengabus Is Coming
Wet Wet Wet - Love Is All Around
The Eagles - Hotel California
Phil Collins - Easy Lover
Frank Sinatra - My Way
Goo Goo Dolls - Iris
The Crazy Frog - The Crazy Frog Song

♫♪ Welcome to the Hotel California ♫♪

Posted By: Gashley Grimes
Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 1:09am

Originally posted by Gashley Grimes Gashley Grimes wrote:

The Housemartins - Build
Oasis - Round Our Way
Radiohead - High & Dry
Primal Scream - Rocks

Round ARE way. Dont be correcting them Cool

D4 version...

Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 12:45pm
I listened to Christy Moore's piece on this from some years ago this week

Some good insight into his life.

Date Posted: 16 May 2020 at 12:52pm
Forgot about this! To keep myself entertained and quiet, not to mention an excuse to listen to them...

Manics- Motorcycle Emptinesss
Not my favourite song, but it is rightly regarded as their best. Brilliant guitar riff and lyrics disdainful of consumer capitalism from a genius.

Pixies- Debaser
There's only a few bands that I remember hearing for the first time and being blown away. This was the first song I heard from these and it was unbelievable. Who writes a song about a Salvador Dali film? 

Getting Away with it- Johnny Marr
Written for his time in Electronic and about his former mate, but it's all about the guitar solo. Unbelievable.

The River- The Boss
You need a story song on a desert island and this is possibly the best, just ahead of 'Ode to Billy Joe'. Steinbeck in five minutes.

The Sultans- Give him a Ball
Probably my favourite song. Lyrics, mainly, by Brian Howard Clough. Good lad.

R.E.M- Nightswimming
Stipe is a ****, but an unbelievably talented one. Everything he wrote is brilliant, but this is extra special. 

Orbital- Belfast
Reminds me of coming up at dawn. Incredible piece of electronic music. Reminds me of a misspent youth, in the best possible way.

Ralph Vaughan Williams- A Lark Ascending
Came to this lad late. This is incredibly beautiful.

I don't want the bible and Shakespeare can f**k off. A copy of ' What is Property' by Proudhon or Marx's manifesto thing will do.

Luxury would be a record player to play the above! Failing that, a copy of Sweeney's ' There's Only One Red Army' or 'Saturday Night and Sunday Morning'.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 19 May 2020 at 7:09pm
Some quality tracks on this thread, don't know how I can whittle it down to 10 personally.

Posted By: Yiksheemash
Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 9:57am
anyone who have the Beatles or Ed Sheeran in their list should be shot with balls of their own sh*t. 

In my country we fak, my wife she isa dead

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:02am
Originally posted by Mr Brick Mr Brick wrote:

Desert Island Albums

1 On the Beach: Neil Young
2 Dark side of the Moon: Pink Floyd
3 A Tear and a Smile: Tir na nOg
4 On the Boards: Taste
5 Planxty: Planxty
6 Unhalfbricking: Fairport Convention
7 Deguello: ZZ Top
8 Revolver: The Beatles
9 Diamond Dogs: David Bowie
10 Electric Mud:  Muddy Waters

On the bench: Sticky Fingers: Rolling Stones; Slowhand: Eric Clapton; Naturally: JJ Cale.

Eh, what? It is a simple enough idea.LOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:04am
Originally posted by Yiksheemash Yiksheemash wrote:

anyone who have the Beatles or Ed Sheeran in their list should be shot with balls of their own sh*t. 

why?

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:04am
because they are f**king sh*te!

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:06am
They more or less invented modern music, but they are sh*te! Go on ya langer.

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:07am

because they are f**king sh*te!

i knew that's all you'd have in your locker. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:09am
they certainly did influence modern music and modern music is absolutely sh*te. hence my comment about Ed Sheeran. most talentless f**kwit ever to grace the industry  

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:13am

they certainly did influence modern music and modern music is absolutely sh*te. hence my comment about Ed Sheeran. most talentless f**kwit ever to grace the industry  

i thnik by modern music its taking 60s, 70s, 80s and so on into account.

So by that logic, you are into music prior to the 60s if all modern music is sh*te? Do you sit by the gramophone listening to the everly brothers, the drifters and perry como?

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:24am

So by that logic, you are into music prior to the 60s if all modern music is sh*te? Do you sit by the gramophone listening to the everly brothers, the drifters and perry como?

he certainly isn't knowing PM. 

Beatles wouldn't have influenced Thin Lizzy, Rory Gallagher, Eric Clapton, Pearl Jam, Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, The Who, The Doors, Iron Maiden, Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains etc. i could go on!
another point id make is that the Beatles wouldn't lace any of the bands named above boots!they shouldn't even be mentioned in the same sentence! 

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:25am

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:26am

Beatles wouldn't have influenced Thin Lizzy, Rory Gallagher, Eric Clapton, Pearl Jam, Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, The Who, The Doors, Iron Maiden, Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains etc. i could go on!
another point id make is that the Beatles wouldn't lace any of the bands named above boots!they shouldn't even be mentioned in the same sentence! 

ill pick just one LOL

THE BEATLES DIDNT INFLUENCE ERIC CLAPTON? ARE YOU f**kING FOR REAL? LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:28am

There's a thread for favourite albums; this is for Desert island discs. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:29am

I certainly am. Every single one of them was influenced by The Beatles.

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:29am
The above sounds very much like the beatles influenced Dave Grohl of THE FOO FIGHTERS

Im off to try find more to shoot holes in your illogical argument ye dope LOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:32am
f**kin hell lads, i just found this LOL

yeah the beatles didnt influence eddie vedders pearl jam LOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:33am
go away boy your talking sh*te LOL

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 10:33am

go away boy your talking sh*te LOL
You're talking out your hoop.

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 12:07pm
never wrestle with a pig lads 

Date Posted: 24 May 2020 at 2:10pm

f**kin hell lads, i just found this LOL

yeah the beatles didnt influence eddie vedders pearl jam LOL