How many away games have you been to?

Category: International
Forum Name: Away days + World Cup 2022 Accommodation and Travel
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57405
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 6:19pm

Topic: How many away games have you been to?
Posted By: Gabrieléire
Subject: How many away games have you been to?
Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 4:20pm
Just curious as to how many people have done over how many years? My first was Poland 2015. Think I’ve did 12 altogether, been away for a year and a half now so missed a few. Miss the craic and the mates I’ve made through them, looking forward to my next one whenever that is! 

If there’s already a similar thread feel free to lock and point me in the direction of it Smile

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 4:55pm
Probably 10 or so since the last time this was discussedThumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 5:05pm
35. Could be a while before we get to add to it again. Always said that there will be times in your life when you can't travel. In my case as the kids were younger and financial circumstances I used to do 1 away per campaign then  it went to one a year and the past decade I've probably missed only about four. Roll on the good times again.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:03pm
45 at this stage including tournaments. Italy at Giants Stadium was the first. Switzerland last year the last. Would kill for the chance to add to it.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:26pm
41 Scotland away was my first, first game under Brian Kerr. 

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:30pm

45 at this stage including tournaments. Italy at Giants Stadium was the first. Switzerland last year the last. Would kill for the chance to add to it.
Also counting tournament matches, only 11 for me so far (my debut was Germany in 2014) so I clearly have some catching up to do. LOL

In normal times I would have added Slovakia last month to my most recent trip to Geneva. Like yourself, I'd love to at least know when and where our next one will be seeing as everything is up in the air atm. Cry

Posted By: Jackal
Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:35pm
11. I use it as an excuse to see countries I've never been to. That's always an incentive when the team might be cat to watch.

Posted By: JohnSwift
Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:42pm
25 including tournaments. First was Paris in 2004, the last was Geneva.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:44pm
Have 16 done. First was Bordeaux in 2016 and got seriously hooked since then. Had Bratislava booked so that would have been another and have Sofia and Cardiff sorted already and plans for Finland so here’s hoping they go ahead but hard to know what will happen at this stage.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 6:59pm
Had a count there. I'm at 64 aways.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 7:01pm
Odds on GSpain hitting the hundred?

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 7:07pm

Odds on GSpain hitting the hundred?

U 21 northern ireland women's games not included 

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 7:55pm
14 since 2010. First away was Slovakia. 

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 8:26pm
20 including the Euros in 2012 & 2016. 

First away game was San Marino in 2007 and most recent (excluding the Euros) was Poland away in Warsaw in 2015 Shocking 

Best trip either Georgia away in 2014 or “its Rome” 2009 

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 8:54pm
34 for me, first one was Cyprus in 2005. Some great memories

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 9:04pm

First away game was San Marino in 2007 and most recent (excluding the Euros) was Poland away in Warsaw in 2015 Shocking 

Not surprised by that when you got to meet the handsome Mayo contingent on route. LOL

Posted By: CaroG
Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 10:06pm
66 for me including tournament games. Have got worse in recent times and won’t miss a game for anything

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 10:13pm
First was 1985, have missed a handful since thenLOL, but this thread reminds me of being on a train from Aarhauus to Copenhagen with Aido, listening to Pipkin on Liveline

Joe,,,,, So Z..., your an accountant, How much do you reckon you have spent watching Ireland on away Trips

Z..., Well Joe, I might be an Accountant, but I am not that good of an Accountant

Classic

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 10:30pm
177 Republic of Ireland aways at all levels incl women and neutral venues incl major tournaments.  Need to work out senior men only but over 100 I expect.  

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 10:44pm

First was 1985, have missed a handful since thenLOL, but this thread reminds me of being on a train from Aarhauus to Copenhagen with Aido, listening to Pipkin on Liveline

Joe,,,,, So Z..., your an accountant, How much do you reckon you have spent watching Ireland on away Trips

Z..., Well Joe, I might be an Accountant, but I am not that good of an Accountant

Classic

Haha was sitting across the carriage from ye with my young lad. Went over and listened to interview with ya, cracking line in fairness LOL

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2020 at 10:48pm
Originally posted by cardwizzard cardwizzard wrote:

Classic

Haha was sitting across the carriage from ye with my young lad. Went over and listened to interview with ya, cracking line in fairness LOL
Remember you knowClap

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 12:23am
From my counting I'm on 27 (should be 28 only for late cancellation to Sweden in 2013). All really started at euro 2012, performances might of been poor at it but still got hooked and been going to games since. 

Circumstances have changed over the years which allowed me to go from picking 1 or 2 games a campaign to going to all competitive games and the odd away friendly (even the 1s I've no memory of attending aka France 2018 LOL) who knows what the future holds now though even if international football returns in the autumn im not sure when I will next be able to attend due to personal circumstancesCry

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:25am
The next one will be my favourite Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:31am
First away 1987 1-0 win in Hamden park missed a couple along the way, never bothered counting though

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:38am

First away 1987 1-0 win in Hamden park missed a couple along the way, never bothered counting though

Not a bad one to start with daithi.   Probably our best starting 11 ever 

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:58am

Not a bad one to start with daithi.   Probably our best starting 11 ever 
It was a super trip baldrick and a great team, I had the pleasure of staying with a family in east sterling at the time, the father was a top union man for the miners at that time who brought me around various places it was mad he was like royalty anywhere we went, I have great memories of that match and trip I suppose it’s what really got me hooked

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 2:19am
82 Holland
88 Stuttgart
88 Hanover
88 Gelsenkirchen
91 England
94 West Ham
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
95 Anfield
07 Slovakia
07 Czech
09 France
12 Poznan

So 15, I think. And about ten Rovers away games.

Posted By: fr larry duff
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 8:28am
32 counting tournaments. Paris 2009 was the first, but would say my second, Macedonia in 2011 was the one that got me hooked!

Posted By: Fanny MaGee
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 8:58am

Ask MaGee

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 9:04am

82 Holland
88 Stuttgart
88 Hanover
88 Gelsenkirchen
91 England
94 West Ham
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
95 Anfield
07 Slovakia
07 Czech
09 France
12 Poznan

Talk about picking your games 😀😀😀😀

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 9:25am
Scraped into double figures with 10:

Italy 2009
Brazil 2010
Slovakia 2011
Andorra 2011
Estonia 2011
Euros x 3 (Croatia, Spain, Italy) 2012
Scotland 2014
Euros x 1 (Sweden) 2016

Posted By: Scamper
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 9:56am
31 since 2012

====#Everywhere you play, We'll Follow====

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:00am
Originally posted by Fanny MaGee Fanny MaGee wrote:

Id say you will be stuck on that

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:10am
5 @ World Cup
10 @ Euros
18 Others

Posted By: Fanny MaGee
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:11am

Originally posted by Fanny MaGee Fanny MaGee wrote:

Id say you will be stuck on that

Happy enough with that.

Ask MaGee

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:12am

Not surprised by that when you got to meet the handsome Mayo contingent on route. LOL
The pleasure was all ours LOL

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:48am

I must say Yeravan had everything .
40c , Hotel with a pool , cheap food and drink , super locals and we won also .
I would go back in a heartbeat Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 10:59am
16 I think. I think its more though.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 11:10am
24 since my first which was Macedonia away in 2011

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 11:14am
Originally posted by Scamper Scamper wrote:

31 since 2012

27Cry but 19 togetherHeartDead

Posted By: Scamper
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 11:28am
Some craic in those 19 pal. Many more to come hopefully

====#Everywhere you play, We'll Follow====

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 11:31am

34 I think. But I missed of missed the one where Sham got drunk and ignorant Beer

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 11:59am

34 I think. But I missed of missed the one where Sham got drunk and ignorant Beer

You drunk now?

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:12pm

You drunk now?

maybe

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 1:25pm

Would've loved to have gone on that trip. 

Posted By: wicklowrunner
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 2:46pm

Great almost 100 degrees by the pool - Koytak Gold
Podgorica and Skopje great trips too.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 2:59pm

You drunk now?

maybe

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 3:31pm
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

5 @ World Cup
10 @ Euros
18 Others

3 @ World Cup
5 @ Euro
7 Others 

Looking back and especially now in lockdown wish I went to more.

Best has to be the 1-1 against the Germans in the World Cup.

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 3:59pm

82 Holland
88 Stuttgart
88 Hanover
88 Gelsenkirchen
91 England
94 West Ham
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
95 Anfield
07 Slovakia
07 Czech
09 France
12 Poznan

big time charley

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 6:13pm

5 @ World Cup
10 @ Euros
18 Others

3 @ World Cup
5 @ Euro
7 Others 

By a mile. Greatest sporting moment I've been at. Houghton and Brady v Italy probably next in terms of Ireland away. 

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 7:18pm
75 altogether including all the championship games bar Italy in Rome 1990 which was the worst decision ever but we had been away for 3 weeks!!!

Houghton 1988, Packie 1990, Houghton 1994, Robbie 2002 and Brady 2016 stand out but every away game for the people you travel with and met over 33yrs of away games.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 7:35pm
We have a winner . Congrats Beer

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 7:36pm
Though what a game to miss.Charlie and Chris De Buggy coming out to wave to the fans after the game. I think Charlie won on the boo count

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 8:11pm

Though what a game to miss.Charlie and Chris De Buggy coming out to wave to the fans after the game. I think Charlie won on the boo count

Few of the lads that went to Euro 16 with me had to manage their time with work and kids and decided to miss the third group game and come back for the last 16 game if we qualified. Said it was weird as fcuk celebrating when Brady's goal went in, pub going mental, them jumping around delighted they'd be going back but also thinking what the f**k have we missed! The fact that we all thought the win was gone after Wes' miss added a lot to it tbf. Special moment. 

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 8:13pm

Few of the lads that went to Euro 16 with me had to manage their time with work and kids and decided to miss the third group game and come back for the last 16 game if we qualified. Said it was weird as fcuk celebrating when Brady's goal went in, pub going mental, them jumping around delighted they'd be going back but also thinking what the f**k have we missed! The fact that we all thought the win was gone after Wes' miss added a lot to it tbf. Special moment. 

D69,
Not the Lille game but Rome back in 1990

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2020 at 9:17pm

D69,
Not the Lille game but Rome back in 1990

I know, just swapping missed games stories! 

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 3:23am

5 @ World Cup
10 @ Euros
18 Others

3 @ World Cup
5 @ Euro
7 Others 

By a mile. Greatest sporting moment I've been at. Houghton and Brady v Italy probably next in terms of Ireland away. 

I’m surprised this wasn’t your top.
I’ve watched that match back more than any other Ireland match.

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 4:48am
My favourite away game was when we beat Wales 1-0 in Cardiff to advance to the play-off against the Danes. Tops Brady against Italy in the Euros. The noise in our end that night was on another level. If I had any footage Id make a documentary called something like, One night in Wales 

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 9:44am

5 @ World Cup
10 @ Euros
18 Others

3 @ World Cup
5 @ Euro
7 Others 

I’m surprised this wasn’t your top.
I’ve watched that match back more than any other Ireland match.

I was in the end behind the goal for both. With Razor's it was so early that it was celebrate then the realisation that we had the guts of 80 minutes to hold out, although we ended up doing that comfortably and I ended up disappointed we didn't get a second. Sheridan really should have scored. As it transpired we'd have topped the group if he had and stayed in New York for a tie against Bulgaria rather than back to bloody Orlando and Holland. But anyway, the celebration for the goal definitely had an element of there's a long way to go. Plus it was ah early kick off and first game of the tournament for us as well. 

With Robbie, it was stoppage time and we were looking at being on one point from our first two games which would have had us in trouble. It would have meant a draw between Germany and Cameron in the final game would have put both through and taken it out of our hands. We'd played so well but looked like we'd not get what we deserved. So the mixture of joy, relief and then elation was something else. Night time game under lights added something as well as did the whole experience with the locals compared to the yanks who just didn't embrace the tournament or even realise it was on in a lot of cases. Germany goal well ahead for me. Even the celebration for Bradys goal were more full on than for Razor's because of the circumstances. Late goal, do or die, night time game etc. That said, 94 was a far more impressive win against their top string and better side in general. 

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 10:28am
Nothing in football comes close to last minute winners and equalisers. You have given up all hope, accepted the lads you have been roaring at for 90 minutes gave it their all and are fully resigned to a few beers to take the edge off when, out of what feels like nowhere, it happens. Even as a neutral they are special.
Keane against Germany was one of the finest examples of it. The whole thing seemed to happen in slow motion. I remember watching it in a small pub at home and there was a split second before the realisation kicked in and all hell breaking loose. I can only imagine what it was like in the stadium.

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 11:17am
John o sheas last gasp equalizer away to Germany on his 100 th cap was special

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 12:08pm
That was great alright. 3rd minute of injury time and home fans whistling for full time. Went bananas that night. 

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 2:05pm
15, 16 if you count that trip down to Cork for the game vs Belarus LOL

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 2:30pm

15, 16 if you count that trip down to Cork for the game vs Belarus LOL
Great night in reardens afterwards. Pity we didn't have bigger numbers just the hardcore usual suspects.

Posted By: SuperDub
Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 5:08pm
87 for me since my first away game against Hungary played in Budapest back in 1989.

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 6:49pm
First away was v Holland in amsterdam in 2000. So in 19 years I’ve 59 aways of which 7 are Euro Championship tournament games.

Posted By: SUPERWESLEYHOOLAHAN
Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 7:45pm
Been to 14 aways including Brown testimonial 
First away v England in 2013, Vienna and Tbilisi favourite trips, Vienna for the performance and result, Tbilisi terrible on the pitch and unreal off it

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 9:03pm

First away was v Holland in amsterdam in 2000. So in 19 years I’ve 59 aways of which 7 are Euro Championship tournament games.
My first away too. Some trip that 

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 9:20pm
Even thou it was at home Long's  goal against the Germans was something special .
Mad house when it hit the back of the net in the SS .

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 10:16pm

Savage trip. Entire Irish end baked. Even old lads sucking on weed lollipops, was hilarious to watch. LOL

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 10:30pm

Savage trip. Entire Irish end baked. Even old lads sucking on weed lollipops, was hilarious to watch. LOL
Remember walking down canal Street after the game and there was queues of Irish fans at some of the establishments along the street literally stirring each others porridge.

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 11:46pm

Remember walking down canal Street after the game and there was queues of Irish fans at some of the establishments along the street literally stirring each others porridge.

We stayed till the Monday so did the dog on it all day Sunday again. Drinking on a terrace table outside some boozer in the red light when this bloke comes up and says his mate had just snuck off into one of the windows over the road and they'd spotted him and knew which one. Got the whole crowd to wait for him to come out and give a huge roar and round of applause when he tried to sneak back out. Lad was scarlet, was absolutely comical! Still dunno if that was the only clap he got that afternoon... 

Date Posted: 19 Apr 2020 at 3:00pm

82 Holland
88 Stuttgart
88 Hanover
88 Gelsenkirchen
91 England
94 West Ham
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
95 Anfield
07 Slovakia
07 Czech
09 France
12 Poznan

And EVERY home game from 1979-2012.

I maybe would have attended more away games if I wasnt too busy bringing grassroots kids teams away to tournaments all over Europe over the past twenty years you fcuking smug arsehole LOL

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 5:26am
Did a quick tally up there and got 26.
Can only imagine that this roughly breaks down as 10 trips to Georgia, 10 trips to Denmark and the rest being Wales.

Date Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 11:45am
37 incl 7 tournament games

Posted By: Deco
Date Posted: 21 Apr 2020 at 10:16pm
Been going to home games since the early 2000's, but away games took a little longer to come.

2013: London
2014: Glasgow
2015: Gibraltar via Portugal
Euro 2016: Paris, Bordeaux and Lille
2017: Wales
2018: Paris again
2019: Geneva

9 away trips (3 in the Euros) not a bad tally.

Let the Games begin ...

Posted By: Tyronebhoy
Date Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 6:22pm
33 including five tournament games and an U21 game. First was Malta in 1999. Longest trip, New York in 2013 for Spain friendly.

Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Date Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 7:16pm

82 Holland
88 Stuttgart
88 Hanover
88 Gelsenkirchen
91 England
94 West Ham
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
94 NY/NJ
94 Orlando
95 Anfield
07 Slovakia
07 Czech
09 France
12 Poznan

And EVERY home game from 1979-2012.

I maybe would have attended more away games if I wasnt too busy bringing grassroots kids teams away to tournaments all over Europe over the past twenty years you fcuking smug arsehole LOL

You forgot.riding all the milfs  and producing a steady stream of players . :)   

A bit touchy there gary :) 

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 12:40am
Had to delve into the memory a bit there. 
But 43 away games for Ireland since I broke my duck in Paris '04

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 4:25pm
18 I reckon since 2012, that's including the euro finals

Posted By: mouldymould
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2020 at 4:48pm
First away was Paris '09 and most recent was Geneva last year, 13 aways in total including three matches at Euro 2012  and one at Euro 2016.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 4:22pm
Just seen a clip on FAI FB of Robinsons goal in Rotterdam in 1981. Seemed to be a large Irish crowd in De Kuip that night. Anyone there from here?

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 6:31pm

Just seen a clip on FAI FB of Robinsons goal in Rotterdam in 1981. Seemed to be a large Irish crowd in De Kuip that night. Anyone there from here?

My first away game.  I reckon about 5,000 and about half of that came from London (and other English cities).  Emigration was huge in those days.

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 9:08pm

My first away game.  I reckon about 5,000 and about half of that came from London (and other English cities).  Emigration was huge in those days.
decent away crowd soClap

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 10:10pm

Classic

Only responded how anyone here would Tongue

Some great memories reading this thread. My favourite trip was France 2016. It had everything including probably the 2 and a half best games of football we played in the decade. Great viewing the Two Shades RTÉ documentary on Sunday.

Plenty more to look forward to after this pandemic

Date Posted: 28 Apr 2020 at 10:21pm

Was chatting to two auld fellas who were at it and they reckoned there was around 6k away Irish fans at it. I was surprised at that high of a number for Irish away fans especially before the Charlton glory years. 

Would most of them been day trips or Irish working on the continent at the time? I assume flights would've been expensive enough.

Posted By: Yiksheemash
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 10:06am

Was chatting to two auld fellas who were at it and they reckoned there was around 6k away Irish fans at it. I was surprised at that high of a number for Irish away fans especially before the Charlton glory years. 

Would most of them been day trips or Irish working on the continent at the time? I assume flights would've been expensive enough.

auld fans and exaggerations eh? have you ever heard auld lads talk about Football or the GAA in the 60,70 and 80s? when you look back now the standard was donkey piss

In my country we fak, my wife she isa dead

Posted By: SeanPeadir
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 12:22pm
Originally posted by Pipkin Pipkin wrote:

Some great memories reading this thread. My favourite trip was France 2016. It had everything including probably the 2 and a half best games of football we played in the decade. Great viewing the Two Shades RTÉ documentary on Sunday.

France was class. Good football memories, great weather, easy travel and big Irish crowds having the craic. 

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 12:54pm
Originally posted by SeanPeadir SeanPeadir wrote:

Originally posted by Pipkin Pipkin wrote:

France was class. Good football memories, great weather, easy travel and big Irish crowds having the craic. 

Confused weather was sh*t

Paris - meh
Bordeuax sh*t bar matchday - note - the glorious sunshine the preceeding 2 weeks
Lille - sh*t
Lyon - decent

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 2:39pm
I got burnt alive in Lyon!

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 2:59pm

first was stutgart 88, then nothing til latvia lithuania  93 two weeks there and in russia mad...then loads for jack and macarthy first time...only paris for kerr. wales away in 2007 only one for staunton.,, a couple for trap. good few trips for the dream team..france 2016 was great i thought... 

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 3:46pm
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Cracking sunshine in Lyon alright but the weather was garbage for most of the trip. 

Same in Poland bar a few days. Went to Sopot with the missus to unwind for five days after the Italy game as payment for going to Berlin and the first Poznan game with the lads and it p1ssed it down for the five days before finally turning on the day we were leaving!

Not as if you're going for the weather anyway. 

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 3:50pm
Originally posted by mandrake mandrake wrote:

first was stutgart 88, then nothing til latvia lithuania  93 two weeks there and in russia mad...then loads for jack and macarthy first time...only paris for kerr. wales away in 2007 only one for staunton.,, a couple for trap. good few trips for the dream team..france 2016 was great i thought... 

Wasn't Stan gone before the Wales game? Think Givens was in charge for it. 

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 7:11pm
Wembley under Giles,lost 0-2,sh*te trip loads of w**kers following us and them.
Then under Hand Brussels 0-1 robbed,Paris 0-2 robbed again, Rotterdam twice 1-2, good game,2-2 great game,Malta 1-0 we robbed them lol,went to all Hand era homes plus  all charlton era homes but gave up on aways .88 was unemployed and had just started a new job in 90 so missed the two biggies,had become a bit jaded after that tbh and been to very few internationals since.

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 7:29pm
I was on all the 80/81 trips as went with my Dad I was 13 then. It's in back of my mind so definitely happened .... does anyone recall some trouble with Irish fans on one of them trips. I think it was Brussels. It's in my head that police with dogs went at Irish fans and from memory Irish Shepherds Bush Flag, probably QPR. I think the paddies did nothing  but police trying provoke them. 
Anyone recall this ??
Mad trips then. Met up at Funtrek on Sunday night then into bus, onto ferry down through England then Mon night in London then ferry across to Zeebrugge then Brussels then match Wed night then back Thurs stopping in London then onto Manchester for Sat match Man U V Everton and back Sunday :) 7 day trip !!!! No Ryanair then. I think whole trip 130 punts

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 7:29pm
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

So was shane duffy 

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 7:54pm
89 away trips with first in Paris 1980 and last in Geneva 2019. Hope to make the century soon !
Without doubt Windsor Park 93 the most hostile atmosphere ever. Got piss thrown down on us from stand above in Istanbul but the hate and venom from Northies that night was vicious.
I'm glad times have changed.

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 8:27pm
Originally posted by ProudAndLoud ProudAndLoud wrote:

89 way trips with first in Paris 1980 and last in Geneva 2019. Hope to make the century soon !
Without doubt Windsor Park 93 the most hostile atmosphere ever. Got piss thrown down on us from stand above in Istanbul but the hate and venom from Northies that night was vicious.
I'm glad times have changed.
Was that the play off game in Bursa?

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 8:37pm
No Kevin match in 1991 Euro qualifier we won 3-1

Date Posted: 29 Apr 2020 at 8:50pm