URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57384
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 2:06pm

Topic: Football Documentaries
Subject: Football Documentaries
Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 12:05pm
I was sure there was already a thread on this? Anyway, I couldn't find it. I know the links to the FA Cup and World Cup finals, as well as some documentaries chosen, on the 'Totally Football Show' website and watched, or in some cases rewatched, a few this morning. Is there any other good ones out there that we might not know about? Or even ones we do!

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 12:19pm
The Impossible Job Clap

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 12:38pm
History of football on YouTube. It’s about 5 or 6 hour long episodes. It was on BBC prior to the 2002 World Cup.

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 1:04pm
'The Impossible Job' is great! "Hit Les!"

That sounds great Franko, was it a BBC thing?

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 1:10pm
Donal McIntyre’s documentary from 1998 about the Headhunters is worth a watch. He really did have some guts.

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 1:20pm

'The Impossible Job' is great! "Hit Les!"

That sounds great Franko, was it a BBC thing?
I think it was a BBC production. I’ll try to find a link.

https://youtu.be/4bCGMVF78js" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/4bCGMVF78js

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2020 at 4:43pm
Excellent! I will be want this lockdown to continue to get through everything I want to!

That McIntyre documentary was crazy! He was always a bit sensationalist in his delivery, but he had some balls doing what he did.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 12:10am

Excellent! I will be want this lockdown to continue to get through everything I want to!

That McIntyre documentary was crazy! He was always a bit sensationalist in his delivery, but he had some balls doing what he did.

Anywhere to watch that now???remember it been ground breaking stuff back then.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 12:18am

You’ll get it on YouTube. Coincidentally I watched some of it a few months ago. Yer man Jason Marriner, the Chelsea Headhunter, is some kunt. Seems that he’s fond of a visiting his blues brothers in Belfast still.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 8:16am

You’ll get it on YouTube. Coincidentally I watched some of it a few months ago. Yer man Jason Marriner, the Chelsea Headhunter, is some kunt. Seems that he’s fond of a visiting his blues brothers in Belfast still.
He absolutely loves himself and is great friends with Nacho Novo these days too, they probably met in Belfast.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 8:49am
The documentary about Benzema on Netflix was surprisingly decent.

Next Goal Wins on Netflix is worth a watch. About the American Samoa football team and their attempt to qualify for the 2014 World Cup.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 10:17am
Howard’s Way is top class.Clap

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 10:42am
Started watching the Leeds one on Amazon.
My wife asked me was I enjoying it
I replied that I knew the ending.

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 11:23am
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

Started watching the Leeds one on Amazon.
My wife asked me was I enjoying it
I replied that I knew the ending.

The Sunderland one is pretty good too...........never really got into the Man City version

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 2:08pm
Once in a lift lime about the New York Cosmos,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBR8jN_SyE0" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBR8jN_SyE0

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 2:29pm
Anyone got a link to 89 about arsenal league win or Howard's way 

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 2:39pm
http://123putlocker.me/howards-way/" rel="nofollow - http://123putlocker.me/howards-way/

http://123putlocker.me/89-2/" rel="nofollow - http://123putlocker.me/89-2/

'I Believe in Miracles' is great too.

http://www.putlockers.cr/movie/i-believe-in-miracles-6411.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.putlockers.cr/movie/i-believe-in-miracles-6411.html

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 2:55pm
The Crazy gang

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdU1qUN7LX8

that ending

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 7:59pm
Found this hidden gem on YouTube. Deutschland: ein Sommermärchen is a full-access fly-on-the-wall documentary of the German team at the 2006 World Cup they hosted.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=266Qscc61AY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=266Qscc61AY

With English subtitles Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2020 at 10:27pm
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

Found this hidden gem on YouTube. Deutschland: ein Sommermärchen is a full-access fly-on-the-wall documentary of the German team at the 2006 World Cup they hosted.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=266Qscc61AY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=266Qscc61AY

Well I know how I'm spending my Monday morning in work 

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2020 at 12:24pm

Well I know how I'm spending my Monday morning in work 

Finished this, really good watch. A few things 

1)Klinsmann was a good motivater but Jogi Loew was the real brain clear to see why he took over.

2) also clear to see why him and Ballack eventually fell out, Ballack really was a moany prick.

3.its clear to see how they eventually became world champions albeit 8 years later, the team spirit they created was brilliant 

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2020 at 5:27pm
Strangley enough, there's a similar documentary called Die Mannscaft following the German team in Brazil 2014, where the story had a happier ending.  Here's the trailer:-

https://youtu.be/YCNyabfWiLI" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/YCNyabfWiLI

Can't find the full version with English subtitles anywhere, though.  Also, safe to say there was no sequel following Germany in Russia two years ago...

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2020 at 6:17pm

Strangley enough, there's a similar documentary called Die Mannscaft following the German team in Brazil 2014, where the story had a happier ending.  Here's the trailer:-

https://youtu.be/YCNyabfWiLI" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/YCNyabfWiLI

Can't find the full version with English subtitles anywhere, though.  Also, safe to say there was no sequel following Germany in Russia two years ago...

Fairplay newrynyuk watched the first one and enjoyed it will give this a watch soon too Thumbs Up

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2020 at 7:16pm
Aye, fair play for putting it up, had a watch myself. Thought it was really good, Ballack is a dick by all accounts. Agree with the poster that said you could see why Low stepped into the job, looked a perfect fit.Saying that Klinsmann came across very well too, articulated and natural  leader. Will watch the other if subtitled. 

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2020 at 8:09pm
Would 100% watch the 2014 version mit Subtitles

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2020 at 8:30pm

Watched it last night. Great viewing Clap 

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2020 at 11:57pm
Cheers on the link for Howard’s way.  Excellent documentary. Politics music and football and drinking it has it all. 

Best player in the team.  Sheedy or Southall in my opinion.  

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:10pm
History of footballs South American Superpowers 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxbML7QTI-8" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxbML7QTI-8

It's decent, just under an hour long. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:34pm
Originally posted by cardwizzard cardwizzard wrote:

Aye, fair play for putting it up, had a watch myself. Thought it was really good, Ballack is a dick by all accounts. Agree with the poster that said you could see why Low stepped into the job, looked a perfect fit.Saying that Klinsmann came across very well too, articulated and natural  leader. Will watch the other if subtitled. 

Just to point out I'm not dissing Klinsmann with my comments, above I think he done a fantastic job. if you've ever read(if not I'd recommend) Das Reboot by Rafa Honigstein, he done a fantastic job to rejuvenate the German squad after Euro 2004 failure and how he improved the mood of the nation towards the team.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:35pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxbML7QTI-8" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxbML7QTI-8

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:38pm

It was filmed in the Late 90's/Early 00's, would definitely recommend it Thumbs Up

If anyone has anything on Argentine football please send it in Big smile

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:41pm

It was filmed in the Late 90's/Early 00's, would definitely recommend it Thumbs Up

If anyone has anything on Argentine football please send it in Big smile

I presume you've read "Angels with Dirty Faces" by Jonathan Wilson?

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:50pm
@MC Hammered, no would you believe I was going to buy it last week online but got wrapped up in buying coaching material instead.

Funnily enough, "Angels with Dirty Faces" came up in the above video!

I don't think any country comes close to The Argies passion for football, they're on another level. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:03pm

Yeah I have a gra for Argentina and their football also. I was over there in January for a few weeks. Went to see Racing Club play. 

Boca have banned tourists from the ground which is fair enough. I'd been to the games there in the past though. Even the stadium tour is superb. I can't think of another club globally who invest as much socially into their local area than Boca, it's amazing. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:06pm

Yeah I have a gra for Argentina and their football also. I was over there in January for a few weeks. Went to see Racing Club play. 

Boca have banned tourists from the ground which is fair enough. I'd been to the games there in the past though. Even the stadium tour is superb. I can't think of another club globally who invest as much socially into their local area than Boca, it's amazing. 

Attending football in Argentina is a truly amazing experience. It’s properly fanatical.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:07pm

Is that due to crowd trouble?

worked with a lad who is an Independiante fan has told me some stories of derbies against Racing.
Their stadiums (as you probably seen) are literally across the road from each other

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:19pm

worked with a lad who is an Independiante fan has told me some stories of derbies against Racing.
Their stadiums (as you probably seen) are literally across the road from each other

No, the Boca president is stopping ticket touting and wants to maintain the atmosphere in the ground. He says that tourists can go to the club museum and learn about their history there. He wants real supporters in the Bombonera. They have a huge waiting list of actual fans who can't get into the games so I can't argue with his philosophy at all (although I tried everything I could to get a ticket!).

I got an Uber back into the city after the Racing game and the driver happened to be one of their Ultras. He said he was mates with Lisandro Lopez and was showing me pics of them boozing together at a BBQ. I asked about the Independiente rivalry. He immediately shushed me and said I was not to mention that word in his car Smile  We had ordered the Uber from a petrol station a bit of a walk from the ground, he said if we had been wearing red when he showed up then he would have knocked us down. He was joking. I think. The quality of the game wasn't great but I loved the stadium. It's like a Colosseum with steep seating and a moat around the pitch. Their fans are very passionate. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 5:31pm

No, the Boca president is stopping ticket touting and wants to maintain the atmosphere in the ground. He says that tourists can go to the club museum and learn about their history there. He wants real supporters in the Bombonera. They have a huge waiting list of actual fans who can't get into the games so I can't argue with his philosophy at all (although I tried everything I could to get a ticket!).

I got an Uber back into the city after the Racing game and the driver happened to be one of their Ultras. He said he was mates with Lisandro Lopez and was showing me pics of them boozing together at a BBQ. I asked about the Independiente rivalry. He immediately shushed me and said I was not to mention that word in his car Smile  We had ordered the Uber from a petrol station a bit of a walk from the ground, he said if we had been wearing red when he showed up then he would have knocked us down. He was joking. I think. The quality of the game wasn't great but I loved the stadium. It's like a Colosseum with steep seating and a moat around the pitch. Their fans are very passionate. 

Thats an interesting approach compared to Europes money grabbing elite clubs 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 6:12pm

You could say its kinds like a chocolate box 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 9:41pm
Not a documentary but ITV have put up highlights of the Liverpool Arsenal decider from 1989

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 8:07am

The league hadn't started back when I was there in July but an Argie friend of mine managed to get one of his friends (a season ticket member) to give us a tour around the stadium. Was interesting listening to the stories of the rivalries within Boca between players and managers, and between Riquelme and Maradona.

Can only imagine what it would be like to experience the atmosphere on match days, both outside and inside the ground. It's class the way when you start getting near the ground, everything is just blue and yellow; buildings, electrical boxes, etc.

They are fanatical (the fella who gave us the tour was a doctor but was an Ultra LOL) but my friend reckons the Uruguayans are the most fanatical in SA. Not a place I would have considered tbh.

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 8:45am

The league hadn't started back when I was there in July but an Argie friend of mine managed to get one of his friends (a season ticket member) to give us a tour around the stadium. Was interesting listening to the stories of the rivalries within Boca between players and managers, and between Riquelme and Maradona.

Can only imagine what it would be like to experience the atmosphere on match days, both outside and inside the ground. It's class the way when you start getting near the ground, everything is just blue and yellow; buildings, electrical boxes, etc.

They are fanatical (the fella who gave us the tour was a doctor but was an Ultra LOL) but my friend reckons the Uruguayans are the most fanatical in SA. Not a place I would have considered tbh.
I would love to go and see a game between Penarol and Nacional myself. 

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 1:59pm
Watched the South American one there, very good. Love Maradona taking the piss out of Shilton at the start, and he was 100% right in his claims if he had pulled the ball back from just over the line he would't have rushed to the ref to say nope it was goal

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:33pm

Watched the South American one there, very good. Love Maradona taking the piss out of Shilton at the start, and he was 100% right in his claims if he had pulled the ball back from just over the line he would't have rushed to the ref to say nope it was goal
Owen cheated in '98 and it is hardly mentioned.

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 6:57pm

Cheers on the link for Howard’s way.  Excellent documentary. Politics music and football and drinking it has it all. 

Best player in the team.  Sheedy or Southall in my opinion.  

Thought Kevin Ratcliffe and Paul Power were great that season as well.

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 9:55pm

Owen cheated in '98 and it is hardly mentioned.
Was it 98 or 02 that he dived or both ?

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 10:10pm
Having had another look, it was both. I didn’t remember 2002 being so bad. He was some man for it! England have produced some brilliant cheats over the years! Gerrard was the worst I have seen it for it, but Owen is right up there with him.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 8:37am
Didn’t crouch blatantly yank the ponytail of the Trinidad and Tobago defender when they scored in their opening wc game in Germany I think 

Still T & T were piss poor , the fastest they moved was at full time with 3 or 4 running over to get Beckhams shirt IIRC 

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 10:39am

Didn’t crouch blatantly yank the ponytail of the Trinidad and Tobago defender when they scored in their opening wc game in Germany I think 

Still T & T were piss poor , the fastest they moved was at full time with 3 or 4 running over to get Beckhams shirt IIRC 

As blatant a bit of cheating as you'll ever see LOL

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 10:41am

In my mind, there is good and bad cheating. That falls in the good cheating category. 

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 11:04am
Some decent doc on the FIFA Channel

One about the 2010 WC seems interesting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47yOv3MS20M" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47yOv3MS20M

In terms of Crouch , think he said on his podcast that he never intended or realised he had pulled your mans hair until he seen the replay back , believe what you may

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 11:15am

In my mind, there is good and bad cheating. That falls in the good cheating category. 
It certainly doesn’t feel comparable to diving or feigning injury. 

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2020 at 2:07pm
there was a good documentary on bt sport the other night - it was about the links between corinithians, brazil and the original corinithians in london, who are now a non-league club, worth a watch. 

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2020 at 3:29pm

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2020 at 10:14pm
Probably the most great goals scored at any WC !

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2020 at 4:53pm

I think this is on Amazon prime, might do the free trial for it.
Few other good docs on there too. 

Man City one too

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2020 at 4:55pm

Man City one too
The Stanley Matthews one is decent on there.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2020 at 11:07pm

Man City one too

Yes, Die Mannschaft is indeed on Amazon Prime with English subtitles:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Die-Mannschaft-Franz-Beckenbauer/dp/B07FW6MP2Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=MPVVVOQMXDZB&dchild=1&keywords=die+mannschaft&qid=1586210736&sprefix=die+mannschaft%2Caps%2C136&sr=8-1" rel="nofollow - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Die-Mannschaft-Franz-Beckenbauer/dp/B07FW6MP2Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=MPVVVOQMXDZB&dchild=1&keywords=die+mannschaft&qid=1586210736&sprefix=die+mannschaft%2Caps%2C136&sr=8-1

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 8:28am
I just watched 'One Night in Turin', didn't realise how well done it was. It is very well put together.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 8:29am

Man City one too

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Die-Mannschaft-Franz-Beckenbauer/dp/B07FW6MP2Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=MPVVVOQMXDZB&dchild=1&keywords=die+mannschaft&qid=1586210736&sprefix=die+mannschaft%2Caps%2C136&sr=8-1" rel="nofollow - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Die-Mannschaft-Franz-Beckenbauer/dp/B07FW6MP2Q/ref=sr_1_1?crid=MPVVVOQMXDZB&dchild=1&keywords=die+mannschaft&qid=1586210736&sprefix=die+mannschaft%2Caps%2C136&sr=8-1

Watched this last night, decent viewing but not as good as the 2006 document. Not sure why but I don't think it had the same charm as the 2006 doc. Everything seemed very serious maybe it was the car crash which happened in South Tyrol before they headed to Brazil.

Maybe it was that Jogi Low was a more serious and controlling manager then Klinsmann was or it could just be that they weren't in Germany.

Training camp they made in Bahia was brilliant- away from everything brought get camaraderie in the squad ( think they done the same for Russia and it fell flat on it's face).

Thomas Muller really is a bit of a mad bastard, loves his golf, kind of taken over the class clown role from Schweinsteiger and Podolski who both seem to matured a lot in 8 years since the last document.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 9:04am

Man City one too

Thomas Muller really is a bit of a mad bastard, loves his golf, 

This really tickled me.LOL

Posted By: fr larry duff
Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 10:11am
Been watching the this is football docs on Amazon, quite good so far. 

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 10:39am
anyone have a link for Golazzo football Italian story ? 

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 10:47am
When I type it into Google it is the very first thing that comes up.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 11:06am
Apologies, that was BT's website and you can't actually watch it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vb5zwLbwds" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vb5zwLbwds

Seems to be missing a bit at the start, but nothing major.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 11:41am
Not all football but some good stuff here if anyone hasn't got this on WhatsApp already...

YouTube Sports Documentaries

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5wFpoOYGmY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5wFpoOYGmY   RTE Euro 88 Preview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsTirv1WFw0" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsTirv1WFw0  McCarthy's Park

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PW9oO3pFR78" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PW9oO3pFR78  BBC Italia 90 review

RTE Ireland 1994 quailication review and Charlton Interview  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOFIr51L0nI" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOFIr51L0nI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZu4cbQ8nrY" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZu4cbQ8nrY  The Road to America

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5KKu1_TIRM" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5KKu1_TIRM  BBC USA 94 review

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8FyuCN5Qh8" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8FyuCN5Qh8  The Road to Asia

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ml6Z_acdX-o" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ml6Z_acdX-o  Mick McCarthy's Irish Dream - Ireland World Cup Qualifying 2000/01 - Sky Sports

https://youtu.be/T2byZj3oz3U Rocky and Wrighty

https://youtu.be/MaobwxJuAOs The Brian Clough Story

https://youtu.be/ucHRCmvb5XA Roy Keane My career story

https://youtu.be/zCicVGmdOZs Glen Hoddle Touch of genius

https://youtu.be/kZA2Co91mAQ Paul McGrath Story

https://youtu.be/o5fdhfVrg1I The Brady 6

https://youtu.be/s6J76lX9CZk Jimmy's Winning matches

https://youtu.be/lwy3zl0CzgE Bobby Charlton

https://youtu.be/7fndx5Ks350 Barry McGuigan

https://youtu.be/ZC3DJOsWH10 John Barnes (MMK)

https://youtu.be/EOudh5c2ZA4 Thierry Henry

https://youtu.be/d_PA7YlJAHY Hillsborough 30 for 30

https://youtu.be/DnxrDcpIlnM Keane and Vieria best of enemies

https://youtu.be/joG_RRkqH-w Rebel Rising 2004

https://youtu.be/sNv-yPCtjJ4 Jurgen Klopp

https://youtu.be/idqakIcHp9I DJ Carey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcaB55SdW_4&t=698s" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcaB55SdW_4&t=698s  Italia 90

https://youtu.be/aYyDKlIgrCw Simply Red Cork Hurling

https://youtu.be/L9jYvs3jl-g Christy Ring

https://youtu.be/EElmSxJdyLA George Best

https://youtu.be/qKrX8r-5Nu8 Cruyff

And finally, one we've all seen multiple times!

https://youtu.be/y4OA2Ihm68w Jack Charlton the Irish years

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 12:21pm
Goodness Drums you did very well .Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 12:27pm

Goodness Drums you did very well .Thumbs Up

Are malachy and Frank fields the same person 

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 12:45pm
An awful pity euro 88 doc doesnt have rights to the games 

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 2:10pm

An awful pity euro 88 doc doesnt have rights to the games 

It has rights, they're just spread over the 8 qualified teams. McGrath's goal against Bulgaria is there. Look like a generic package that national broadcasters could tweak and do a voiceover on to me although not watched it all yet.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 3:38pm

I just watched 'One Night in Turin', didn't realise how well done it was. It is very well put together.

Just watched this.

Very good alright, one criticism i'll give it though it seemed to slightly glamorise the hooligan aspect as we weren't as bad as they say we were. 

Also painted the Ireland game as the worst game of football ever played. (obviously they didn't see Ireland vs Egypt).

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2020 at 4:21pm

Just watched this.

Very good alright, one criticism i'll give it though it seemed to slightly glamorise the hooligan aspect as we weren't as bad as they say we were. 

Also painted the Ireland game as the worst game of football ever played. (obviously they didn't see Ireland vs Egypt).
I didn't think they glamourised it at all, I thought it was a realistic appraisal of it. 

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 12:01pm

I seem to be the only one who didn't think much of One Night In Turin.  Archive footage we've all seen before, no new insights or interviews.  The only things shot especially for the movie were the staged close-ups of the ball being place on the centre circle, hitting the back of the net etc.  Nothnig at all like the All Played Out book it was based on, which was the story of author Pete Davies's odyessy through the Italia '90 tournament and full of interviews with the players at the time.

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 12:28pm
I enjoyed the documentary more than the book. I thought the book was massively overrated, and I overpaid for it too! I’m not really sure what you expected from it, it’s England’s story of Italia ‘90!

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 12:49pm
Not so much a documentary, but RTE are showing the "All the goals from World Cup 2018" again Sunday afternoon.

It was on over Christmas, good bit of nostalgia and football fix

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 12:56pm

Not so much a documentary, but RTE are showing the "All the goals from World Cup 2018" again Sunday afternoon.

It was on over Christmas, good bit of nostalgia and football fix
I miss those halcyon days of the summer before last.

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 1:10pm
Nostalgia is indeed not what it used to be   

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 6:01pm

I enjoyed the documentary more than the book. I thought the book was massively overrated, and I overpaid for it too! I’m not really sure what you expected from it, it’s England’s story of Italia ‘90!

That's kind of my point!  At the time here were VHS releases and highlights compilations at Christmas of England at Italia '90.  Did this One Night In Turin movie, released 20+ years later, have anything new to add?  Most emphatically no.

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 6:16pm
The 2 Escobars is very good. 

Documentary about the Colombian footballer Andes Escobar, who was shot and Pablo Escobar. It shows the rise of each men and how their paths cross. 

Posted By: brissy
Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 6:42pm
you might get it on utube, they were silly lads they didn't even know him, mariner and nightmare went to the match with a stranger in a BMW he had rented out, nightmare telling him about clashing a copper and he gets charged for it later

Posted By: brissy
Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 6:42pm
silly boys 

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 9:07pm

That's kind of my point!  At the time here were VHS releases and highlights compilations at Christmas of England at Italia '90.  Did this One Night In Turin movie, released 20+ years later, have anything new to add?  Most emphatically no.

I think the point of it was to remove some of the myths surrounding that tournament and around England’s involvement in particular. I think it did that well and was well put together answer honest.
I think the other compilations fed those myths, albeit not deliberately.

Posted By: SUPERWESLEYHOOLAHAN
Date Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 9:32pm
Decent feature on BBC in regular match of the day slot past few weeks of P. L top ten debates, have done strikers and goalkeepers think its managers tonight, better than most the s*ite on the box lately 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 2:23am
Kevin Allens (brother of actor, Keith) Italia 90 Diary is the best documentary on that world cup. The doc follows him through the tournament supporting England. The whole thing is now on YouTube having previously been in about eleven 10 minute parts. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 7:54am

Kevin Allens (brother of actor, Keith) Italia 90 Diary is the best documentary on that world cup. The doc follows him through the tournament supporting England. The whole thing is now on YouTube having previously been in about eleven 10 minute parts. 

Thumbs UpVery enjoyable documentary gives you a real insight .

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 9:25am

Very well done from the man who also gave us my favourite film. I always found it odd that two Welsh brothers would be such England fans, but I suppose that’s the Welsh for you. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 10:12am

Very well done from the man who also gave us my favourite film. I always found it odd that two Welsh brothers would be such England fans, but I suppose that’s the Welsh for you. 

Kevin was born in England. Think the family is English, spent time at bases in Wales, England and other places as the father was a military man. Settled in Wales then. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 11:03am
Outside of football he is most associated with Wales though. ‘Twin Town’ was written as a homage to his hometown,  ‘Under Milk Wood’ being part of the ‘Cool Cymru’ movement and even running, I think, Swansea’s campaign to be capital of culture. He is a Swansea fan too. Keith supports Fulham.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 11:27am

Outside of football he is most associated with Wales though. ‘Twin Town’ was written as a homage to his hometown,  ‘Under Milk Wood’ being part of the ‘Cool Cymru’ movement and even running, I think, Swansea’s campaign to be capital of culture. He is a Swansea fan too. Keith supports Fulham.

Suited him and suited his career. He was still born in England to an English father and also spent a good chunk of his childhood there so understandable why he'd follow them. Even Keith spent a lot of his childhood in England having been born in Wales. Their mother was Welsh. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 11:33am
They can support who they want, I still find it strange that one of the first people I think of when I think of Swansea supports England.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 11:36am

They can support who they want, I still find it strange that one of the first people I think of when I think of Swansea supports England.

I'm just providing you some context. It's not as if it's someone born into a family that's Welsh on all sides and never lived anywhere else. Man born in England to English father who also lived and went to school there for a good portion of his childhood in following England shocker. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 11:43am
I’m aware of the context, as I said, I am a big fan of his due to ‘Twin Town’, a film I adore.
I knew plenty Londoners who loved London and followed Ireland/Scotland/Wales/Italy/Turkey/Nigeria etc. It just seems weird when the other way around, especially as he identifies so strongly with the place.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 12:31pm

Right, I’m off. Feed Cantona, have a bath..... and leave your fathers glue alone 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 12:37pm
“But your own f**king glue!”

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 1:09pm

I’m aware of the context, as I said, I am a big fan of his due to ‘Twin Town’, a film I adore.
I knew plenty Londoners who loved London and followed Ireland/Scotland/Wales/Italy/Turkey/Nigeria etc. It just seems weird when the other way around, especially as he identifies so strongly with the place.

Yeah, look at the Gallaghers for the other side. Liam wore an Ireland top on stage in the run up to World Cup 94, Oasis turned down the chance to do the English World Cup song and said they'd sooner do the Irish one. Didn't stop Noel sporting a union jack guitar and then embracing the whole Cool Britainia thing. Dual identity can work both ways. 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 1:19pm

Yeah, look at the Gallaghers for the other side. Liam wore an Ireland top on stage in the run up to World Cup 94, Oasis turned down the chance to do the English World Cup song and said they'd sooner do the Irish one. Didn't stop Noel sporting a union jack guitar and then embracing the whole Cool Britainia thing. Dual identity can work both ways. 
Absolutely. And I don’t have a problem with it, it just feels unusual. Normal when you identify more with the smaller country it takes over, but it just shows how complex nationality is and how much we often oversimplify it in football. 

On a side note, I think I will watch ‘Twin Town ‘ again later.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 1:38pm

Kevin was born in England. Think the family is English, spent time at bases in Wales, England and other places as the father was a military man. Settled in Wales then. 

And of course Keith Allen wrote the lyrics to World In Motion

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 4:24pm

Or Tyson Fury who’s walk on song in one of his earlier fights was the Boys of the Old Brigade, and a few years later he’s running about France in an England shirt singing don’t take me home 

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 4:30pm

Or Tyson Fury who’s walk on song in one of his earlier fights was the Boys of the Old Brigade, and a few years later he’s running about France in an England shirt singing don’t take me home 
There’s a lot of people would have been happy if they left him there.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2020 at 4:46pm
Always remember years ago some bint on The Weakest Link from Cardiff shouting out "come on England!" after winning the whole thing

Anne Robinson stole her thunder by ripping the pish clean out of her

They can be a very weird bunch the Welsh