URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57339
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 9:27pm

Topic: New rte documentary
Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Subject: New rte documentary
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2020 at 8:45pm
anyone see the advert for the new documentary on rte. Saw it last week and was sure it said part 1 was on this Monday at 9.30. Can’t fond it on the listings. Think it was called ‘you boys in green’. Anyone have any info ???

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 9:23am
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

anyone see the advert for the new documentary on rte. Saw it last week and was sure it said part 1 was on this Monday at 9.30. Can’t fond it on the listings. Think it was called ‘you boys in green’. Anyone have any info ???
Saw the ad too. It was due to be 11:35 tonight but looks like it got trumped for a Seamus Mallon tribute. Here's the description according to the RTE website

The Boys in Green
Episode 1
Part one of two. The story of how Ireland came of age both on the football field and off it, with contributions by former players including Tony Cascarino, John Aldridge, Mick McCarthy, Ronnie Whelan, David O'Leary, Jason McAteer, Kevin Sheedy and Stephen Staunton.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 10:52am
So it isn't on tonight then?

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 11:53am

Saw the ad too. It was due to be 11:35 tonight but looks like it got trumped for a Seamus Mallon tribute. Here's the description according to the RTE website

The Boys in Green
Episode 1
Part one of two. The story of how Ireland came of age both on the football field and off it, with contributions by former players including Tony Cascarino, John Aldridge, Mick McCarthy, Ronnie Whelan, David O'Leary, Jason McAteer, Kevin Sheedy and Stephen Staunton.

That’s the one. Any idea when it is to air. Was nearly sure it was originally listed for 9.30 tonight. The election probably has it knocked back 

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2020 at 11:56am

The Boys in Green
Episode 1

That’s the one. Any idea when it is to air. Was nearly sure it was originally listed for 9.30 tonight. The election probably has it knocked back 

Probably put back to next week I'd say

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 4:02pm
Was this on ??

Cant find it on the player

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2020 at 5:43pm

Was this on ??

No was advertised to be on a couple of weeks ago but wasn’t listed for the date that was on the advert. No sign of it since. A two part. 

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2020 at 8:44pm

Was this on ??

No was advertised to be on a couple of weeks ago but wasn’t listed for the date that was on the advert. No sign of it since. A two part. 

Any more on this? The filmmaker, Ross Whittaker (not the whistling guy), mentioned a possible broadcast date of mid-March on Twitter, but that was a while back.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2020 at 10:28pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

Was this on ??

Any more on this? The filmmaker, Ross Whittaker (not the whistling guy), mentioned a possible broadcast date of mid-March on Twitter, but that was a while back.

The night of the Slovakia game ???

Add to more misery 

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2020 at 1:35pm
This is back in the schedule for 9th March

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2020 at 1:52pm

This has prompted me to rewatch The Charlton Years

Part 1 here.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpOYoaRCB9w" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpOYoaRCB9w

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2020 at 12:49pm
Another Documentary about a QF Exit are we trying to be like the Rugby Team? 

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 04 Mar 2020 at 12:56pm
ahhh managers smoking cigars on the bench, proper

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2020 at 9:31pm
Trailer for the upcoming documentary

https://twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/1236322328570744833" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/1236322328570744833

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2020 at 10:03pm

Another Documentary about a QF Exit are we trying to be like the Rugby Team? 

I believe at the time we were the smallest  country go get that far other than Uruguay. 

Costa Rica and Croatia have since done it with croatia getting to.the final 

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2020 at 10:16pm
The north and Wales got to the quarters in 1958.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2020 at 10:39pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

The north and Wales got to the quarters in 1958.

Totally different competitions then to be fair. 

Posted By: Rodneytrotter
Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:10pm
really good so far - Jesus , Kevin sheedy is twice the man now 

The saved header by Packie was phenomenal against England 

The miss by Aldo  on the volly v USSR was a terrible miss 
Robbed that day , and Galvin was taken down in box for a penalty never given 

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:13pm
It's good but nothing really new in it so far.  

Not sure the point of it.  No real new insight and the same people who have said the same.stuff before with.the same footage. 

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:35pm
Jaysus Aldridge would be done for assault if that tackle on Hagi was in this era 

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:37pm
Sweaty palms still watching the shoot outLOL
I enjoyed it. Great days.  Never see the likes again.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:38pm
Originally posted by Rodneytrotter Rodneytrotter wrote:

The saved header by Packie was phenomenal against England 

The miss by Aldo  on the volly v USSR was a terrible miss 
Robbed that day , and Galvin was taken down in box for a penalty never given 

That USSR game reminds me of Paris 2009.  We had them for the taking and just didn't have the ruthlessness of mind and belief to do it.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:43pm

Sure it's been flogged to death but its still great LOL

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:51pm
Still a few bits I hadn’t seen , the interviews are great though .
Ironically I remember most of jacks match’s including friendlies like a photographic memory infact - new ones can’t remember to f**k 

Was gas really  going to Ireland match’s in middle of day on a Wednesday 

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 10:52pm

Sure it's been flogged to death but its still great LOL

Jasus they done some boozing between games in 88 and 90....I know it was the done thing with teams from UK and Ireland at the time but surely Charlton would of toned in down in 1990 after coming so close in 88????

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:03pm
I remember Aldo saying the day before they played turkey jack let them have a couple of pints each.
The next day they went out and won 5-0 with himself scoring 3 . He said it relaxed them and let off some tension 
Unfortunately Paul McGrath didn’t get off the bus the next day after more than a couple 

https://youtu.be/Bf_jBe2TeKU" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/Bf_jBe2TeKU

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:16pm
 Was lucky enough to travel to all the big games and still get goosebumps seeing them all again. Irish people became proud of their country and boy did we party.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:25pm
Don’t remember that boot from Aldo on Hagi LOLLOL

Fckin hell, straight red now, not even a doubt. Great times, great memories. Can’t ever see anything like that happening again.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:35pm

Fckin hell, straight red now, not even a doubt. Great times, great memories. Can’t ever see anything like that happening again.
I think it is unlikely but not impossible. It would need Hagi to say something about Klopp in a pub Aldridge was drinking in though.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:45pm

I think it is unlikely but not impossible. It would need Hagi to say something about Klopp in a pub Aldridge was drinking in though.

Posted By: ProudAndLoud
Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:46pm
Great memories. Think I look better with hair :)

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2020 at 11:48pm
Great show, enjoyed watching the goals from the qualifiers for 1990 again as you don’t see them much. 

Did we ever concede a good goal in a tournament. 

Great days, they’ll never be repeated sadly 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:09am
The one thing that stood out was the players boozing at every possible opportunity.

How far would a sober Ireland team gone?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:11am
The greatest time in the history of the state in my opinion.  

Any time you have lads in the boot of the car going through the main streets of your capital street, has to be good.  

Neil 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:29am
Any idea when Part 2 is?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:37am

Any idea when Part 2 is?
Next Monday night I think it said.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:41am

Any idea when Part 2 is?
Next Monday night I think it said.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:42am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

Wonder what happens next. 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:05am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

The nation stopped holding its breath............

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:09am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

It will be cancelled because of the no gatherings rule LOL

Posted By: tapfit2004
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:16am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

Bertie tried to start a 2nd peace process but that ended badly, we ended up with the genesis report and we all lived happily ever after. 

Let Christy Take It.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:24am

Great show, enjoyed watching the goals from the qualifiers for 1990 again as you don’t see them much. 

I'm going to be pedantic and answer what was probably a rhetorical question. 

We didn't concede a decent one in 1988. 

We only conceded three in 1990 in total. Linekers was poxy. 
Gullits goal was good. Lovely one two on the edge of our area, burst of pace and neat finish. 
You could make an argument for the Italian goal being a decent flowing move but Packie's poor parry from Donadoni's shot categorizes it as a defensive error.  

Both Mexican goals in '94 were excellent finishes but the second one came from Irwin letting the ball bounce in the box so we'll rule that one out also. Hard to argue too much against the first one though. The less said the better about the Dutch goals in the last 16.

That's it for Charlton years in terms of goals against in major tournaments. 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:37am

He's what I'd imagine Louis Walsh would have aged into without the botox

What was the craic with games back then? I remember getting out of school and games being on, were they always Wednesday's at 3pm?
Were there a lot of half days being taken for games or did offices just close early for games?
Was it just one game per international break? Or were they just one offs sandwiched between weekends of domestic leagues?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:41am

What was the craic with games back then? I remember getting out of school and games being on, were they always Wednesday's at 3pm?
Were there a lot of half days being taken for games or did offices just close early for games?
Was it just one game per international break? Or were they just one offs sandwiched between weekends of domestic leagues?

Lansdowne didn't have floodlights  until 1993

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:45am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

It will be cancelled because of the no gatherings rule LOL
Mick Byrne's mush in every TV shot. Jaysus there's a man who loved attention. Poxy physio though, hot & cold was the treatment given for all injuries. If your leg was in bits, he'd be the last man I'd want attending me.

Anyone remember the Howard Johnson hotel in Orlando for the Dutch game in '94 ( I stand corrected if wrong). That's where we had to get the tickets for that game I'm sure.Well there was a certain person's father in charge of selling the tickets... the rest is historyWink 

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:30am
Shocked

Games were on Wednesdays with league games the previous weekend.  We had no floodlights. People had to take leave to watch them.  away trips often required a Saturday night stay to get reasonable flights.

Tickets for home games were really scarce although Belgium selling out in April 87 was a huge shock to me and others.  Luckily for me I block booked immediately after that.  

The finals were amazing.  Fantastic atmosphere and walking on air the whole time.  Went a little sour after Orlando in 94.  The abject humiliation of losing to the Dutch.  ShockedShockedShocked

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:32am

I'm going to be pedantic and answer what was probably a rhetorical question. 

We didn't concede a decent one in 1988. 

We only conceded three in 1990 in total. Linekers was poxy. 
Gullits goal was good. Lovely one two on the edge of our area, burst of pace and neat finish. 
You could make an argument for the Italian goal being a decent flowing move but Packie's poor parry from Donadoni's shot categorizes it as a defensive error.  

Both Mexican goals in '94 were excellent finishes but the second one came from Irwin letting the ball bounce in the box so we'll rule that one out also. Hard to argue too much against the first one though. The less said the better about the Dutch goals in the last 16.

That's it for Charlton years in terms of goals against in major tournaments. 

I was just really talking about those two championships sorry. Some poxy luck with richochets, deflections and balls taking all sorts of deviations leading to goals

Was Dunphy actually crying before the Egypt game because of how much it meant to him with the GAA men all tuning in?
Always found it funny that noise he makes when he throws the pen down after the game

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:36am

Shocked

Games were on Wednesdays with league games the previous weekend.  We had no floodlights. People had to take leave to watch them.  away trips often required a Saturday night stay to get reasonable flights.

Tickets for home games were really scarce although Belgium selling out in April 87 was a huge shock to me and others.  Luckily for me I block booked immediately after that.  

The finals were amazing.  Fantastic atmosphere and walking on air the whole time.  Went a little sour after Orlando in 94.  The abject humiliation of losing to the Dutch.  ShockedShockedShocked

What was the weather like against the Dutch? 

I remember the Mexico game being like being in an oven, something like 120F at pitch level.

Watched the Charlton years yesterday and a lot of people saying that he should have left after the World Cup.

We actually started decently in the 96 qualifiers too but then from June 95 onwards it just went downhill drawing with Liechtenstein and losing to Austria twice 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:44am

We actually started decently in the 96 qualifiers too but then from June 95 onwards it just went downhill drawing with Liechtenstein and losing to Austria twice 

Yeah it all went sour very quickly really. It was very much an aging team by that point.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:18am
Ahhhhh Italia 90 , majic times and never to be forgotten .

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:43am

Yeah it all went sour very quickly really. It was very much an aging team by that point.

Aye really was, Think Aldridge was about 35 or 36 at the time of playoff.

Looking at the 94 squad we had 4 players (outfield players) under 25 
Roy Keane (22), Phil Babb (23) Gary Kelly (19) and Jason McAteer (22).

Was one the big things Mick had to deal with when he took over was the amount of players over 30

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:43am
Italia 90 got me hooked and USA 94 is the best tournament I’ve ever seen.
Great times. Ireland was really innocent back then.

Posted By: forza trapp
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:11pm
Great memories indeed, remember being grumpy that our game was hijacked by the likes of Pat Kenny and Gay Byrne, everyone where suddenly supporters.
Afternoon games on a sh*te pitch, magic ! They really where mad innocent times 😃

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:25pm
Mick Byrne's "We'll do them for yiz today", a timeless line Clap

I can only imagine what it was like to be in Stuttgart that day.

Also, it never fails to amaze me how bad Cascarino's peno was LOL

That's an interesting stat about the age of our player at USA '94, no wonder the collapse in the following qualifying campaign was so dramatic.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:42pm

Mick Byrne's "We'll do them for yiz today", a timeless line Clap

I can only imagine what it was like to be in Stuttgart that day.

Also, it never fails to amaze me how bad Cascarino's peno was LOL

That's an interesting stat about the age of our player at USA '94, no wonder the collapse in the following qualifying campaign was so dramatic.

One those that the pace beat the keeper more than anything else

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:56pm
Average age of the squad was 28.5

Sure we had an injured 38 year old kevin moran.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:56pm

Happy Times indeed. The day/night in Hannover was my best day following the team.

Couldnt help noticing in some of the 88 pictures a future FAI Cup-Final referree decked out in green, pint glass in hand.

And the other thing was the point made by Declan Lynch where he said that this period was the first time ordinary people actully borrrowed money to spend on themselves rather than out of necessity. Id imagine the younger generation might find that difficult to imagine a time when credit/credit cards were only available to a small cohort of the public.

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 1:10pm
Originally posted by forza trapp forza trapp wrote:

Great memories indeed, remember being grumpy that our game was hijacked by the likes of Pat Kenny and Gay Byrne, everyone where suddenly supporters.
Afternoon games on a sh*te pitch, magic ! They really where mad innocent times 😃

yeah i remember the 'late late show' he says the fai have employed jack charlton as new manager , if that means anything to anyone.....i hated him after that...last night he did say before an interview 'i;ve never met the man'....then the GAA men all over the country couldnt wait to book flights to italy 

good program.... i was i germany, great memories

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 1:18pm

Shocked

What was the weather like against the Dutch? 

I remember the Mexico game being like being in an oven, something like 120F at pitch level.

Watched the Charlton years yesterday and a lot of people saying that he should have left after the World Cup.

Weather wasn't the issue v the Dutch.  It was significantly cooler.  Mexico game was insane even sitting in the crowd was tough.  Had to sit in the dark at half time.  Dutch game was just very pleasant weather wise.  We were making plans to get to Dallas for the quarter final.      

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 1:41pm

Weather wasn't the issue v the Dutch.  It was significantly cooler.  Mexico game was insane even sitting in the crowd was tough.  Had to sit in the dark at half time.  Dutch game was just very pleasant weather wise.  We were making plans to get to Dallas for the quarter final.      

I was at the Mexico game myself so I remember that really well. IFIRC the seats were metal or at least a form of plastic which just absorbed the heat.

Will the documentary continue past Charltons time?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 1:46pm

And the other thing was the point made by Declan Lynch where he said that this period was the first time ordinary people actully borrrowed money to spend on themselves rather than out of necessity. Id imagine the younger generation might find that difficult to imagine a time when credit/credit cards were only available to a small cohort of the public.

And none of this Campervan champagne travellers.

I love the stories of lads driving all the way to Italy and sleeping in the car. Calling home for more money to be sent over and telling work they will be away for another week! 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 1:52pm

And none of this Campervan champagne travellers.

I love the stories of lads driving all the way to Italy and sleeping in the car. Calling home for more money to be sent over and telling work they will be away for another week! 

Yep.

Dun Laoghaire - Holyhead - London - Folkstone - Ostend - Brussels - Milan - Rome - Cittavecchi - Cagliari. Inter Rail all the way......

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 2:05pm
We had some team of leaders in that period 

Was it aldridge that took a dump in o Leary’s shoe ?

Posted By: StayPuft
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 3:03pm
Lads, how can I watch this from the UK?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 3:04pm
Originally posted by StayPuft StayPuft wrote:

Binoculars 

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:17pm

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:44pm
anytime I look at it the more I think Bonner should of done much better with Schillacis shot in 1990....it really was bad goalkeeping.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:46pm

anytime I look at it the more I think Bonner should of done much better with Schillacis shot in 1990....it really was bad goalkeeping.

Was absolutely shockin!  Not to mention Jonk's goal in 1994.

Still I suppose we have to give him credit for Romania.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:50pm

Was absolutely shockin!  Not to mention Jonk's goal in 1994.

Still I suppose we have to give him credit for Romania.

The jonk one I can give him...he was finished at that time and the back pass rules had him screwed...but the schillaci one was awful,straight at him,mid drift,near postish...he could of palmed it down and collected it or push it out for a corner.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:55pm

He somehow managed to stumble way out of the goal too so had no chance for the rebound.

The ball fell nicely for toto.
I’m fairness the goal was in the first half so we had plenty of time to get back into it. Beaten by the better team on the day. 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:11pm
Bonner had a nasty habit of parrying the ball rather than catching it or pushing it away from goal. Scottish-based goalkeepers had a terrible reputation in those days, and small wonder.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:42pm
Some gas when both us and Holland were guaranteed to be the 1990 WC 2nd round and they played a pass the ball around game. I reckon if someone from either our team or Holland who decided to score a winner would of been decapitated ha 

Any of our players today should take encouragement from Aldridge and do whatever star player Slovakia have ha 

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:50pm
Nothing really too new from the Charlton years VHS or reeling in the years so far apart from up to date interviews. Was good to hear lineker's take on it all. Was enjoyable all the same. You still get goosebumps but also think how fine the margins were, especially in euro 88, in making a semi.

Any ybiggers spot themselves from back in the day?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:59pm

Confused Scillachi scored, it was Donadoni’s shot.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 12:06am
Originally posted by StayPuft StayPuft wrote:

Get a vpn set it to Ireland and go to the rte player 

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 1:14am

Nothing really too new from the Charlton years VHS or reeling in the years so far apart from up to date interviews. Was good to hear lineker's take on it all. Was enjoyable all the same. You still get goosebumps but also think how fine the margins were, especially in euro 88, in making a semi.

Any ybiggers spot themselves from back in the day?
A young Proud and Loud was on it twice. It was probably the last time he was seen with a head of hair.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 1:22am

Some gas when both us and Holland were guaranteed to be the 1990 WC 2nd round and they played a pass the ball around game. I reckon if someone from either our team or Holland who decided to score a winner would of been decapitated ha 

Any of our players today should take encouragement from Aldridge and do whatever star player Slovakia have ha 

I'd take a guess that Scotland still bear a grudge over that. If either us or the Dutch had scored a winner and it had finished 2-1, there'd have been a three way draw between Austria, Scotland and either us or the Dutch to see who got the single last 16 spot remaining, because all three would have had identical records. But because of the luck of drawing into the group that played last, we knew we were grand with a draw, so that's the way it ended.

Of course, if Egypt had equalised against England, all four teams would have been together on exactly the same record, across the board. Then all four places would have been determined by random draw. At least now they use fair play points.

Posted By: Gabrieléire
Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 6:00am
Anyone know where i could find a link to this or watch it from Australia? 

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 7:23am

Now may have been pass the ball around near the end but goodness the mother of all parties after the game .
Was on a camp site where it was half and half with the Dutch now fair play to the owers they had it all set up food and drink and loads of it and one hell of a night and morning .

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 8:20am

Now may have been pass the ball around near the end but goodness the mother of all parties after the game .
Was on a camp site where it was half and half with the Dutch now fair play to the owers they had it all set up food and drink and loads of it and one hell of a night and morning .

Campsite in Cefalu ?

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:08am
Was there a team song before Euro 88?

At the start of the show it showed the team singing on the late late show, we are the boys in green, but pretty sure that was before Italia 90.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:19am

At the start of the show it showed the team singing on the late late show, we are the boys in green, but pretty sure that was before Italia 90.

Michael Carwood and Boys in Green was the Euro88 song.  Still my favourite football song.  There was a version for Italy as well.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:22am
That musta been it, the line - "we're going to Italy" must have been changed from Germany

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:37am

Michael Carwood and Boys in Green was the Euro88 song.  Still my favourite football song.  There was a version for Italy as well.
Even as a child, obsessed with all things football, it made me cringe in a way that has never been equalled. I’m sure it would have been used in Guantanamo.

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:40am

Why would offices close early for games! Back then most of the fans didn’t work in offices. Games were played at 2.30pm.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 9:53am

Even as a child, obsessed with all things football, it made me cringe in a way that has never been equalled. I’m sure it would have been used in Guantanamo.

I'm sure you loved this one. The greatest football song, no actually, THE GREATEST SONG EVER COMPOSED. 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxD0qAe2dUU" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxD0qAe2dUU

Johnny Aldridge, showed the Maltese
That he hasn't lost his touch
He's holding back now
For the craic now
Until the day we get revenge on the Dutch

Ronnie Whelan, Had them reelin'
The Russians have confirmed it as a fact
To ensure that they don't meet Ireland
They're trying to change the Warsaw pact

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 10:09am
It wasn’t as bad as the aforementioned though.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 10:25am
It was good to see that Egypt side finally get a bit of long overdue praise. Lot of people back in the day thinking they were total jokers and drawing with them was a disgrace. It was also interesting to hear Aldridge claim they basically gave us a serving of our own medicine - i.e happy to cede possession and apply constant pressure.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 10:37am

It was good to see that Egypt side finally get a bit of long overdue praise. Lot of people back in the day thinking they were total jokers and drawing with them was a disgrace. It was also interesting to hear Aldridge claim they basically gave us a serving of our own medicine - i.e happy to cede possession and apply constant pressure.

I don't think it's possible to cede possession and also apply constant pressure. Unless you're happy to frantically chase and harry your opponent all over the pitch without any intention of actually winning the ball. 

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 10:43am

I don't think it's possible to cede possession and also apply constant pressure. Unless you're happy to frantically chase and harry your opponent all over the pitch without any intention of actually winning the ball. 

Eh? That was our game plan under Charlton for the guts of a decade! Boot the ball up into the corner (cede possession) and then chase after it (applying pressure). I believe there may even have been a technical term for it, what was it again, oh yeah, 'putting 'em under pressure'!

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 10:48am

Eh? That was our game plan under Charlton for the guts of a decade! Boot the ball up into the corner (cede possession) and then chase after it (applying pressure). I believe there may even have been a technical term for it, what was it again, oh yeah, 'putting 'em under pressure'!

Yeah I think I'll have to take that one on the chin. That's what I get for being needlessly pedantic. 

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 11:00am

I'm sure you loved this one. The greatest football song, no actually, THE GREATEST SONG EVER COMPOSED. 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxD0qAe2dUU" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxD0qAe2dUU

He's holding back now
For the craic now

Always thought that line was - daddy hasn't lost his touch Embarrassed

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 11:09am

He's holding back now
For the craic now

Sounds like a line Jimmy Saville would write

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 11:26am

He's holding back now
For the craic now

Sounds like a line Jimmy Saville would write
We were a more catholic country then.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 11:42am
Another favourite of mine

https://www.dailyedge.ie/video-we-didnt-start-the-fire-italia-90-style-922315-May2013/" rel="nofollow - https://www.dailyedge.ie/video-we-didnt-start-the-fire-italia-90-style-922315-May2013/

We drove over 10K Kms around Italy along in the month and had all the WC songs blaring. Started in Cagliari and finished in at the final in Rome.  Only one song for Euro88 but quite a few for Italia90.  Still have the tapes somewhere.  Michael Carwood's was on vinyl.  

Two very different tournaments in many ways.  Euro88 was one for the football people of the country.  The rest of the country didn't realise it was on until the England game.  Italia90 was for everyone.  Loads who had never been to Lansdowne Road travelled to Italy.      

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 11:51am

https://www.dailyedge.ie/video-we-didnt-start-the-fire-italia-90-style-922315-May2013/" rel="nofollow - https://www.dailyedge.ie/video-we-didnt-start-the-fire-italia-90-style-922315-May2013/

We drove over 10K Kms around Italy along in the month and had all the WC songs blaring. Started in Cagliari and finished in at the final in Rome.  Only one song for Euro88 but quite a few for Italia90.  Still have the tapes somewhere.  Michael Carwood's was on vinyl.  

Two very different tournaments in many ways.  Euro88 was one for the football people of the country.  The rest of the country didn't realise it was on until the England game.  Italia90 was for everyone.  Loads who had never been to Lansdowne Road travelled to Italy.      

The idea of 88 being for football people may seem odd to the younger generation considering how the game has grown nationwide over the past 30 odd years. I do know what you mean though. Nearly ever person i knew who was in Germany in 88 was a LOI regular. By 94 the majority of them had fallen away from the international team but stayed with the LOI, some of them became and remain hostile to the international team. Meant to add that the manner in which tickets for the Wembley game in 91 were distributed caused a lot to turn away.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 1:30pm

Meant to add that the manner in which tickets for the Wembley game in 91 were distributed caused a lot to turn away.
Football family alive and well back then?

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 1:38pm

The idea of 88 being for football people may seem odd to the younger generation considering how the game has grown nationwide over the past 30 odd years. I do know what you mean though. Nearly ever person i knew who was in Germany in 88 was a LOI regular. By 94 the majority of them had fallen away from the international team but stayed with the LOI, some of them became and remain hostile to the international team. Meant to add that the manner in which tickets for the Wembley game in 91 were distributed caused a lot to turn away.

Not just the LoI though.  People in rural Ireland involved in junior clubs some of whom had picked broken glass out of goalmouths not too long before that.  I got the impression that almost everyone in Germany was either part of the football community or part of the massive diaspora that had followed us away for many years before that.

The bandwagon was rolling for Italy.  There were thousands locked out of the Egypt and Netherlands games.

Tickets became a huge issue then.  There were block bookings for years beforehand but no need for them.  My Dad had let our lapse in the early 80's as often different numbers at games.  After  a scare re Belgium 87 secured mine for Italia90 campaign.  Spain 89 was on general sale but loads of regulars missed out and Malta & Hungary were really tough.  After that it took years to get in (opened up briefly in 92  IIRC).  Huge issues with Wembley in 91 as you say all right the other away games were ok from what I recall.     

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 2:54pm

Meant to add that the manner in which tickets for the Wembley game in 91 were distributed caused a lot to turn away.
Football family alive and well back then?

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2020 at 7:57pm

Campsite in Cefalu ?

Don't think so CH from what i remember it was an inner city campsite