URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57333
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 12:33am

Topic: Foods you have not eaten for years
Subject: Foods you have not eaten for years
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 1:23pm
As it says on the tin .
Now my story is Branston Pickle , i must have walked past this in Dunnes  for 25 years but i was drawn to it on Friday , why not sure but my goodness the pair of us at home have eaten the whole jar, well nearly within in 18 hours .
I am sure i will not go there again just wanted it for some mad reason .
Anyone had the same sort of urge  for foods ?

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 1:25pm
Funny you should mention Brandon Pickle! I hadn’t had in years, walked by it in a supermarket recently and decided to pick it up. Wonderful stuff!

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 1:39pm
Daddies Brown Sauce. Ventured into a new Iceland that opened nearby last week for a nosy. Seen the Daddies and brought me straight back to my thankfully limited time living in Engerland as an 8yr old. Didnt get a bottle at the time but its been on my mind ever since

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 2:16pm
Macaroon bars.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 2:25pm
Balisto bars Clap

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 3:27pm

Daddies Brown Sauce. Ventured into a new Iceland that opened nearby last week for a nosy. Seen the Daddies and brought me straight back to my thankfully limited time living in Engerland as an 8yr old. Didnt get a bottle at the time but its been on my mind ever since

Iceland is great for finding things you haven't tried for years like Vimto, Iron Brew,Dandelion and Burdock, walnut whips, topics, all that kind of stuff.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 3:51pm
Irn Bru is sh*t now.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 4:33pm

Irn Bru is sh*t now.
This. Its a poor imitation of its former self. Used to be great for a hangover

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 4:43pm
Liver

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 5:54pm

Irn Bru is sh*t now.
This. Its a poor imitation of its former self. Used to be great for a hangover
It was the ultimate hangover cure, I tried it recently and couldn’t drink it. 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 5:55pm

It's what I use now as my Chef replacement. At first I thought I have to try a different make but my taste buds adjusted to it quickly enough

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 5:56pm
Random and bland but ate rice krispies for the first time in years this morning. 

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 6:44pm
the only brown sauce worth it is hp, proper sausage sambos!!
Whaddya mean we’re like the English???LOL

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 6:44pm

Irn Bru is sh*t now.

All down to the Sugar Tax, originally repealed by Gladstone in 1874, and then reinstated by fellow liberal, Gideon Osbourne, in 2016.

It's difficult to buy a soft drink without a carcinogenic artificial sweetener nowadays.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 6:50pm

HP is sh*te and tastes pretty much like any cheap brown sauce you get in the condiments in a cafe or whatever. Shame on you

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 7:02pm
Chef brown sauce >>>>> Any other brown sauces 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:13pm

Liver
 Boy there's another , i used to eat liver and onions at least once a week  when i was out of work in Torquay South Devon in the mid 80s as they were a a very cheap meal .

Now one thing i have never eaten and refuse to eat / drink every again is soup as it reminds me of the very dark days when i was penny less and i mean a packet of soup was all i could afford .

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:32pm
Lemon curd, ate it by the bucket when I was a kid can't abide it now

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:49pm
Anyone remember smiley bars, amazing Heart

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:52pm
Originally posted by Patman Scoop Patman Scoop wrote:

Chomps too and Taz Bars, Touchdown's etc ClapClapClap

Could get a load of things all out of a pound. Doubt you could get a similar amount of stuff out of a Euro now 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:55pm

Could get a load of things all out of a pound. Doubt you could get a similar amount of stuff out of a Euro now 

Woppas for 5p and it's much less popular mint woppa. Wink

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 8:59pm
Frosties were 10p IIRC 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 9:17pm
Kelloggs Start cereal
Burger Bites (haven't seen 'em in years)
Desperate Dan bars
Canada Dry
Smithwicks, Bulmers EIRE cider (awful stuff)

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 9:37pm
United bars,Ace bars, Echo bars, Fuse bars, Tiffin, Timeout.

Birds trifle, Angel Delight  and Instant Whip.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 9:43pm

Loved touchdowns . Defo on my list if i could bring back food from my youth 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 9:46pm
Cadburys Top Deck (think that was the name)

Rum and raisin
Rum and butter which was fookin delicious

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 9:47pm

Kelloggs Start cereal
Desperate Dan bars
Canada Dry

Burger bites are still sold in multi packs. Tayto do a big pack too.

Perri French Fries are crisps I miss loads. They were in a purple packet with French cartoon people on it and it said oh la la in small text. 

And the original tayto monster munch before they became mighty munch 

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 10:14pm

Balisto bars Clap

Jasus those were the bomb...green packet,yellow packet and think they had one more....unbelievable with a cup of tea.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 10:36pm
potato waffles (they're waffly versatile)
Mr. Freeze  (beware of grade 1 lacerations to the side of your mouth)

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 10:40pm
umbongo (they drink it in the Congo!)

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2020 at 11:52pm
Baby food 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 12:42am
Frey Bentos Steak and Kidney pie, Campbell's meatballs in onion gravy,Angel Delight and Rissoles......cheap food from the 1970s, you wouldn't feed to a dog nowadays.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 4:31am

Kelloggs Start cereal
Desperate Dan bars
Canada Dry

Unreal stuff. Used to go through the box far too quickly though because it was one of the smaller boxes of cereal.

Chef brown sauce is the king of brown sauces.

For some bizarre reason I used to always eat Angel Delight. Horrid stuff.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:39am
Liga and Farleys Rusks. 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:48am

Liga and Farleys Rusks. 
And the sh*tty nappies they produced

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:49am

HP is sh*te and tastes pretty much like any cheap brown sauce you get in the condiments in a cafe or whatever. Shame on you
A scurrilous slur on my favourite sauce, Yorkshire relish too is magnificent. Having a bacon butty smothered in it now, mmmmm

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:57am
Chef brown sauce is disgusting. Only for Dubs.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 11:41am

Liga and Farleys Rusks. 
And the sh*tty nappies they produced

Never ate them tbf. 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 2:51pm
HP is your only man.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 2:54pm
Tans the lot of ye Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 2:58pm
I'm not really into brown sauce, but HP BBQ sauce is really good.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 9:13pm
Balisto bars. Fcukin hell. I can almost taste them - that milky cream topping Heart
Start only went off the market a year or so ago. Unreal stuff but f**king pricey. 

Billy Roll and Haslet 
Club Shandy with the 0.01% alcohol
Weetos 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 9:29pm
I got a big box of Weetos lately. Top cereal 

Posted By: Americanisms
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 9:40pm
Mars Delights. Absolute disgrace they went off the market, especially given how sh*t Mars bars are

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 9:41pm
Slush puppies

Fat Frogs

Those cheapo soft drinks that used to come in small little plastic bottles. CD Cola or summink

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 9:42pm
Drifter bars. Catch my Drift?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:19pm

Drifter bars. Catch my Drift?

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 10:32pm
Caramac bars
Wham bars
Frosties (the cola flavored sweets)
Curry chip crisps, used to be 20p

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 11:06pm
Findus crispy pancakes
Pop tarts

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2020 at 11:18pm
A pint of Breo.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2020 at 12:58am

Caramac bars
Wham bars
Frosties (the cola flavored sweets)
Curry chip crisps, used to be 20p

Caramac you see pop up the odd time. Got one in newry last year

Posted By: PaddyDaCulchie
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2020 at 2:21am

Slush puppies

Fat Frogs

Those cheapo soft drinks that used to come in small little plastic bottles. CD Cola or summink

Score cola aswell

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2020 at 9:43am
Bikers crisps.
Feast ice cream .

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2020 at 9:56am
A bowl of Frosties heated in the microwave

Posted By: Greenlad11
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2020 at 10:12am
Haven’t had bat soup in ages.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 10:15am
Originally posted by PaddyDaCulchie PaddyDaCulchie wrote:

Slush puppies

Fat Frogs

Score cola aswell

Cadet was another I think.

Haven't had a quarter of sweets in years. Nothing like a few apple drops stuck to the brown paper bag.

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 10:25am
Banshee Bones crisps
Wham bars
Stinger bars

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 11:22am

Originally posted by PaddyDaCulchie PaddyDaCulchie wrote:

Slush puppies

Fat Frogs

Score cola aswell

Cadet was another I think.

Haven't had a quarter of sweets in years. Nothing like a few apple drops stuck to the brown paper bag.
Miget Gems were great also as you had to eat the paper stuck to them .
Friut salads and Black Jacks were my favs .
 I used to buy NR gobstoppers on away trips it still never worked thou Ouch

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 2:04pm
If youre going down the sweets road, how about -

Spangles
Two and Two Bars
Rovels
Whippers
Pink Panther Bars
Nancy (Aniseed) Balls
Bazooka Chewing Gum (Binoculars optional)
Pay Day sweets
Cleeves Toffee
Calders Butterscotch
Rainbow Drops
Wigwams
Dracula Ice Pops

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 2:20pm
Many a tooth lost to this motherf**ker

Image result for Caffreys big time"

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 2:22pm

Many a tooth lost to this motherf**ker

Image result for Caffreys big time"
Their ‘Snowballs’ were delicious, even if their grammar was appalling.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 3:08pm
Jackets Crisps
Johnnies
Aztec Bars
Furry Friend
Beanoes

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 3:40pm
Speaking of crisps... 

Sam Spudz

Captain Crisps

https://ifiplayer.ie/captain-crisps/" rel="nofollow - https://ifiplayer.ie/captain-crisps/

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 3:57pm

Irn Bru is sh*t now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thh5AOJTD-Q" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thh5AOJTD-Q

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 4:31pm
just from an ice pop/cream perspective

Freaky foot
Mario
Fat frog
Golly Bar
Wibbly wobbly wonder

Also McCains micro chips.

and Country Spring American Cream soda

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 5:36pm
Dip Dabs
those love heart sweets
milk teeth
bikers crisps or were they wheelies?
Macaroon bars

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 5:38pm
French bread pizza
Something exotic about it.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 5:43pm
Anyone remember an ice-cream bar called Sky. Probably around late 80's. Loved them

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 5:58pm

Dip Dabs
those love heart sweets
milk teeth
bikers crisps or were they wheelies?
Macaroon bars

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:04pm
There was Wheelies too, in a green packet.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:06pm
Had a packet of Chickatees for the 1st time in ages this afternoon Clap 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:18pm

Anyone remember an ice-cream bar called Sky. Probably around late 80's. Loved them
Think it was vanilla ice cream with like an aero inside it & then wrapped in chocolate 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:25pm
Sky rang a bell and just googled the image. Feckin hell that was lovely but it was relatively dear compared with similar ice creams like Choc Ice. I think it was anyway. 

Would love if it came back. There's a Facebook page dedicated to it. LOL

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:34pm
Orange Twix's ClapClapClap

They were out for a period about 25 years ago. Absolutely delicious 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 6:37pm
Suckla bars - eat 2 of them and your sh*te would turn green.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 7:14pm
dripping and salt sandwiches

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 7:22pm
A bag of batter from the chipper

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 7:43pm

And you lived to tell the story after eating that 3  times a week .

How many Stents do you have Baldie ?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 7:53pm

And you lived to tell the story after eating that 3  times a week .

How many Stents do you have Baldie ?

That was the order back in the 80s in tallaght :).  

Haven’t had it since :) 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 8:07pm
Another one for MAcaroon bars, lovely things.

Pop tarts were a big thing in my house growing up, wouldn't touch he things now

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 8:34pm
Postman Pat sweets.

Posted By: Tippbiffo
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 11:23pm
what the f**k happened to Wibbly Wobbly Wonders!!?? I loved that ice lolly of jelly/ice cream. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2020 at 11:28pm
Originally posted by Tippbiffo Tippbiffo wrote:

what the f**k happened to Wibbly Wobbly Wonders!!?? I loved that ice lolly of jelly/ice cream. 
They were sensational!Clap

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 12:11am

They made a sh*te of them about 15 or so years back and now I am not sure they even exist.  Were absolutely cracking ice creams.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 12:34am
Fat Frog,Loop The Loop, Wibbly Wobbly Wonder, Freaky Foot, Tangle Twister, Spangles, Sky, Maxi twist, Mini Milk, Calippo, Chilly Willy and Feast all gone to the great freezer in the Sky?

Golly bars definitely haven't aged well.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 12:47am
mint feast are savage. They do seem to come and go off the market . Haven’t seen them in ages

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 5:44am
Originally posted by Funsize Crouchy Funsize Crouchy wrote:

just from an ice pop/cream perspective

Freaky foot
Mario
Fat frog
Golly Bar
Wibbly wobbly wonder

Also McCains micro chips.

and Country Spring American Cream soda

McCain Micro Chips were horrendous, always soggy.

Freaky Foot ice cream Clap

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 8:24am
Icebergers and Mint Cornetto's still my go to Ice Creams Clap

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 8:51am

They made a sh*te of them about 15 or so years back and now I am not sure they even exist.  Were absolutely cracking ice creams.

Undisputed King of ice pops. 

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 9:23am
Yeah Wibbly Wobbly Wonders were about as good as it gets in terms of an ice cream if you ask me.

You can still find them in the odd random petrol station around the place but they are a very rare breed these days sadly. As Trap says I think they may have altered the recipe over the years though.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 9:30am
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

Fat Frog,Loop The Loop, Wibbly Wobbly Wonder, Freaky Foot, Tangle Twister, Spangles, Sky, Maxi twist, Mini Milk, Calippo, Chilly Willy and Feast all gone to the great freezer in the Sky?

With their collectable interlocking sticks, the poor man's mecanno set. 

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 10:07am
Some great ice creams there.  Forgot Bonanza.  Tasted like a Snickers ice cream if I remember.  Why did they all disappear??  The ones int he shops now are sh*te.  You have Magnums or Soleros or some poxy yokes.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 11:37am
Does any of the Holmestead products exist anymore?

I remember Holmestead Cola was 25p in the late80s/early 90s. 

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 11:40am
Marathon Bars.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 11:42am
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

The smile on the Golly man LOL

Posted By: Americanisms
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 11:42am

Marathon Bars.

Are they not just what Snickers used to be called, with the exact same ingredients and all?

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2020 at 10:34pm
Had a fry"s peppermint cream for the first time in over 10 years. Delish  

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2023 at 12:15am
Lilt.  Just saw there its to be rebranded as Fanta 

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 14 Feb 2023 at 3:07pm

Lilt.  Just saw there its to be rebranded as Fanta 

Like all softdrinks of yesteryear, it tastes like sh*te since they removed all the sugar and natural fruit juices and replaced it with artificial sweeteners and flavoring.

Used to love an ice cold can of Lilt or Club Shandy on a hot summers day.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 14 Feb 2023 at 10:28pm
Wagon wheel