Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 7:38am

Topic: Champions league 20/21
Subject: Champions league 20/21
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 4:04pm
Tournament kicks off tonight

Semi-finals (25 June)

https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2020/matches/round=2001134/match=2026929/?iv=true" rel="nofollow - Feronikeli (KOS) v Lincoln Red Imps (GIB)
https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2020/matches/round=2001134/match=2026930/?iv=true" rel="nofollow - Tre Penne (SMR) v FC Santa Coloma (AND)

Final (28 June)

Feronikeli/Lincoln v Tre Penne/Santa Coloma

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 4:42pm
Didn't those dastardly imps get a draw against Celtic in Rodgers first game????

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 4:44pm

Didn't those dastardly imps get a draw against Celtic in Rodgers first game????

Nope! They beat Celtic.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2019 at 4:47pm
haha it was a win!!

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 5:02pm
Patizani (Alb) currently playing Qarabag (kzk) The winners face Dundalk / Riga. Game is on skorolive

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:22pm
Qarabaq are Azeri not Kazak.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 8:37pm
Porto are heading out 

3-0 down at home to Krasnodar
1-3 on aggregate

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 8:47pm
Basel too.

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 9:18pm
Celtic too?

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2019 at 12:28pm
Watched Cluj at home to Slavia Prague last night, how the f¿¢K did they beat Celtic, I mean there was pandemonium in the cluj defence everytime Slavia were awarded a corner kick. Anyway I hope Slavia progress as I'd have a soft spot for them as had a great trip in the europa league in 2005 with City. Cork have actually drawn Slavia twice in European competition in the past. 

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2019 at 12:52pm
I thought Cluj played very well on the break against Celtic.

They looked a half decent side at home, I think they'll do well in the EL.

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 9:54pm
Club Brugge fans singing that nonsense Welsh "don't take me home, please don't me home" chant, in English, as they are about to go into the CL group stages. Utter nonsense:

1) they are literally already playing at home and will presumably almost all go home and sleep in their own beds tonight;
2) they were guaranteed six more European matches regardless of the result tonight so weren't going out of Europe no matter;
3) they are a f**king Belgian club - there is no reason for the singing in English.

Utter, utter sh*t chanting.

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 9:57pm
One of the worst chants of all time. I know all humour and originality has been sucked out of the game, but even in these times that chant is appalling. It makes me want to buy Will Grigg a pint. 

The only time it was acceptable was after McClean scored the winner in Cardiff. That was funny.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 9:03am
Personal fav of mine was Cork City away to Rovers a few years back, City fans at the final whistle
"Don't take me home"....
next song
"Dublin's a sh*thole, I want to go home"

Cop on lads!

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 11:55am

One of the worst chants of all time. I know all humour and originality has been sucked out of the game, but even in these times that chant is appalling. It makes me want to buy Will Grigg a pint. 

The only time it was acceptable was after McClean scored the winner in Cardiff. That was funny.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 5:24pm
Eric CantonaEric CantonaEric Cantonahttps://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/624/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2019/8/29/64a0acd1-a4d1-4aa3-9b42-63662c5fa52c.jpg

Suave Cantona! LOL

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 6:00pm
Cantona Clap

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2019 at 2:36pm

thats was fun.. well we were taking the piss...

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 3:53pm

Napoli v Liverpool

Shakhtar v City

A few repeat ties from last year's group stages in the opening week this year.

Will be interesting to see how Salzburg and Leipzig get on tonight, two teams that were in Celtic's EL group last year.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 4:05pm
Some good ties over the next two nights. The group stages are a lot better than they're given credit for. Both finalists scraped through the groups last season. Barca, Dortmund, Inter & Slavia as a brilliant group. Chelsea's should be interesting as well, Ajax and Valencia will be tough.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 4:10pm
Chelseas group will be very interesting. Ajax are a different outfit minus De Jong and De Ligt. Have Valencia appointed a new manager yet?

Would agree the group stages are actually very interesting the last few years. The repeat ties is a bit of a nuisance but in general a lot of the groups go to the wire.

If Dortmund beat Barca tonight that group will be blown wide open. 3 teams with aspirations to go along way this season.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:23pm
Slavia Praha deservedly 1 up against Inter Milan at the san Siro. 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:29pm
Well deserved, not even a little lucky.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:46pm

1-1 harsh on Slavia 93 min. (8 minutes added on) 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:52pm

Slavia Praha deservedly 1 up against Inter Milan at the san Siro. 

Inter stole a point in the end. Lukaku looks like a lad who won a raffle to appear in an Inter shirt.

Posted By: Territorial
Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:59pm

1-1 harsh on Slavia 93 min. (8 minutes added on) 

Yep, a (suspiciously long) few minutes from getting their second ever CL Group victory.

The first was in 2007. 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 7:59pm
That’s Inter f**ked already.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 8:09pm
Why all the empty seats at the San Paulo?
I know there usually are plenty, but why is that?

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 8:14pm
Don't uefa normally require a few rows to be empty? Seems to be a good few of those lower rows on the opposite side empty alright. 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 8:14pm

The spectators saw Naples and died

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 8:18pm

Don't uefa normally require a few rows to be empty? Seems to be a good few of those lower rows on the opposite side empty alright. 

LOL They don’t need half the stadium to be empty though

Insert Man City joke here I suppose. No mention if its other clubs 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 8:41pm

Nearly always empty, can barely see over the advertising boards from the lower tier.
You could have 50,000 in there and the lower tier would still be empty

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 9:19pm
What a save by Ter Stegen there from the penalty 

Not many goals about tonight

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 9:48pm
Barkley was always missing that after arguing with Willian to take it

Posted By: McCarthyy21
Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:00pm
Dont know why the f**k Barkely was allowed to take that, been absolute crap ever since the season started, group will go down to the wire now, hope Mount isn't too badly injured

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:02pm
Camera was on Willian talking to Barkley saying he was taking it but is Jorginho not the penalty taker?

Either way it cost me a goals galore bet ffs

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:16pm
Won’t be the same media scramble that there was for the Pogba penalty scenario 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:48pm

Won’t be the same media scramble that there was for the Pogba penalty scenario 

This is the champions league thread.

Please keep all circus related issues to the relevant circus thread. 

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:49pm
Ross Barkley is a load of sh*te. What a fckin clown.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:50pm

Ross Barkley is a load of sh*te. What a fckin clown.
Relevant circus thread?

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 10:52pm
I never ever got the Barkley thing. Why was he ever rated?

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2019 at 11:08pm
Ter Stegen was excellent tonight, but Dortmund really should have won that game. I don't know what the ref was looking at when that penalty was taken though, keeper well off his line and 3 players encroaching, doesn't bother his arse ordering a re-take despite that....

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 1:27pm
It’s a shame PSG and Real are missing so many players tonight.

Mbappe / Neymar and Cavani all out

Ramos, Modric, Isco, Marcelo, Asencio all out

Bale and Hazard should start. 

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 2:06pm

Ter Stegen was excellent tonight, but Dortmund really should have won that game. I don't know what the ref was looking at when that penalty was taken though, keeper well off his line and 3 players encroaching, doesn't bother his arse ordering a re-take despite that....
Can't say I'm surprised about that ref, Ovidiu Hategan from Romania - he was the muppet who refused to give Ireland a nailed-on penalty shortly before half-time in the Euro 2016 match v Italy in Lille. Clown

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 8:34pm
Top quality stuff from Di Maria.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 8:35pm
Bale getting in on the act as well.

ClapClapClapClap

Edit - VAR disallowed. Fantastic goal though.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 8:50pm
Gulf in class in Donetsk
Mahrez playing well

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 8:58pm

Gulf in class in Donetsk
Mahrez playing well
Not watching it but Shakhtar seem to have seriously regressed the last couple of seasons.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 9:10pm

Gulf in class in Donetsk
Mahrez playing well

You must be watching a different game from me.

Because the Shakhtar Donetsk v Man City game is being played in Kharkiv, where Shakhtar have been playing for a few years now.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 9:12pm

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 9:17pm

Bale getting in on the act as well.

ClapClapClapClap

Edit - VAR disallowed. Fantastic goal though.

Fantastic goal but BT chaps saying it wasn’t deliberate handball. Confused
It totally was and Bale didn’t complain about it.

Hazard having a quiet game.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 9:20pm
Gareth Bale!? Cheating!? Never!

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 9:50pm
Mendy’s back
Looks built like a cruiserweight boxer

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2019 at 11:32pm
The 2nd half of the Atletico Juve game was excellent. 2 desperate goals for Juve to give away, but overall probably a fair result.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2019 at 9:06am

Gulf in class in Donetsk
Mahrez playing well
Not watching it but Shakhtar seem to have seriously regressed the last couple of seasons.
Haven't played a home game in years since the Russians invaded. Impacted their ability to attract foreign players too

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2019 at 9:09am
What was the story with PSG and Real Madrid wearing each other colours last night?

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2019 at 9:24am

What was the story with PSG and Real Madrid wearing each other colours last night?

Cross dressing

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2019 at 12:27pm

PSG have listed their white kit as their home kit. They did the same about 88-92 so they're selling it as a throwback thing. But yeah, money.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2019 at 1:44pm

Real Madrid also had more French players starting for them than PSG, whilst PSG had more Spanish players starting for them than Real Madrid. It was all a bit confusing.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 7:05pm
What's the story with Madrid tonight 2 down to Club  Brugge. 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 7:06pm
They were very average in the first half but have started the 2nd on the front foot

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 7:11pm
Every Liverpool fans favorite player Sergio Ramos has just brought them back into it

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 7:18pm
How’s Hazard done so far this season

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 7:48pm
Who is yer wan on rte2?

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 8:05pm
I don't know, but she was doing my head in.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 8:15pm
What’s Tolisso at there? Was he actually looking for a free?

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 8:55pm
Decent game between spurs and Bayern

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:12pm
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

I don't know, but she was doing my head in.

Women analysts all over the sports broadcasts these days, whether it be soccer, rugby or what have you.
With women officials in the men’s game also, I think it’s a great thing the world is progressing in it’s inclusion of women into what was previously a male dominated area. 

I’m really forward to the day when each men’s soccer team needs to play with a minimum quota of female players in the starting XI. 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:48pm

I expected a lot of goals but 7-2!!!!
Spurs having a shocker 

Posted By: AonSceal19
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:54pm
Great decision by Arsenal to let Gnabry go. Sure they have Pepe!

“Randolph sends it long…and Shane Long is in behind the German defence… Shane Long against Neuer…. 1-0!.. What a moment!”

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:57pm
Never would have happened at the lane. Away teams seem to like playing there.

Eriksen's face when number 7 went in. LOL

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:57pm

I expected a lot of goals but 7-2!!!!
Spurs having a shocker 
Spurs becoming like certain players wives, getting rightly fcked 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 9:59pm
Originally posted by AonSceal19 AonSceal19 wrote:

Arsenal weren’t even playing tonight and you’re talking about them in a thread of a tournament they aren’t even in 

Hated adored but never ignored 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:00pm

Arsenal weren’t even playing tonight and you’re talking about them in a thread of a tournament they aren’t even in 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:01pm

I was looking for the Arsenal thread to post it in!

“Randolph sends it long…and Shane Long is in behind the German defence… Shane Long against Neuer…. 1-0!.. What a moment!”

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:04pm

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:05pm
Pochetino might have stayed on a season too long. Real Madrid might still come calling but if the season gets worse his stock may drop. Football is a fickle business.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:08pm

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 10:28pm
Turned the spurs game off at half time to watch the bbc documentary about The Troubles.  7 focking 2!!

Poch is having a Klopp last season at Dortmund season . Well sort of.    Can see him leaving real soon. Wink

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2019 at 11:26pm

Turned the spurs game off at half time to watch the bbc documentary about The Troubles.  7 focking 2!!

Which bomb was that? 

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 7:35am
In my opinion Bayern Munich are the strongest side in Europe, they have the best number 9 in the world in Lewandowski, the best CM in the world in Thiago and the best right back in the world in Kimmich.

Coutinho will be a great signing for them and Neuer looks back to his best.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 8:49am

In my opinion Bayern Munich are the strongest side in Europe, they have the best number 9 in the world in Lewandowski, the best CM in the world in Thiago and the best right back in the world in Kimmich.

Have they overtaken PSG then?

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 10:12am

They look very good but stronger than Liverpool, the team who knocked them out last year? Stronger than City with the players they have? Not sure. Can't stand Lewandowski, biggest diving coont around

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 10:14am
They were brilliant last night, loved the second Gnabry goal where he took the long pass while running at high speed.
Some of Spurs' defending was shocking mind. Thought Lloris could have got to a few of the goals as well

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 11:04am
It was Spurs. 

I will certainly make no judegements on how good Bayern are this season based on watching that game. Some cracking goals by Gnabry, for a player never to have scored in the Champions League before 

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 11:55am
The mad thing is, Spurs were the better side for the first half hour. Son missed a scoreable (word?) chance early on and attempted another while Kane was waiting for a tap-in, even before he got his goal.

Kimmich's equaliser was a fabulous break - it happens - and Bayern came back strongly for the last 15 mins of the half. Of course, Spurs should have just held on to go in level at H-T, but a calamitous bit of defending at a corner presented BM with, well, a present.

Second half started, Aurier made a horrible mistake, bang, goal.

Then Winks made another, bang, goal.

BM then made a mistake of their own, a penalty conceded on the hour, Kane scores (obv) and even at 4-2 you thought Spurs might still claw something back somehow, a la Ajax away.

Then another feckin mistake (Toby?), and another, and another (probably, I was watching through my fingers) and it was one almighty WTF! Ouch

After the Soton game, I had thought things were getting back on track, but last night reflected Wenger's observation that while it can take months to build confidence, you can lose it in an evening (or somesuch).

So minor changes won't be enough, there needs to be a big clear-out in January - Eriksen, Aurier, Wanyama, maybe Rose - and some quality replacements signed, esp a RB.

Then get Lo Celso, Sessegnon and Ndembele (esp) properly fit and integrated into the team, and concentrate on finishing Top Four at all costs.

Of course this is now a huge ask, but I believe as much as ever that's there's no better man for the job than Poch, meaning Levy's first priority must be giving him whatever he wants to keep him.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:20pm

Have they overtaken PSG then?

Yes.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:21pm

They look very good but stronger than Liverpool, the team who knocked them out last year? Stronger than City with the players they have? Not sure. Can't stand Lewandowski, biggest diving coont around

In my opinion yes.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:35pm

In my opinion yes.

Surprising
I thought you only dealt in fact

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:43pm

In my opinion yes.

Surprising
I thought you only dealt in fact

touché LOL

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:49pm

Wouldn't like to judge BM on the evidence of one game, but what most impressed me about last night was the way they demonstrated perfectly all the old cliches about German football: ruthless, efficient, professional, battle-hardened etc.

Of course, the first half hour showed how a top team might still get amongst them if they press them hard up front from the very beginning, Which should offer hope to Liverpool (esp) and City.

But for me, the key to them is not Lewandowski, fine player though he obviously is, but Gnabry, who was absolutely unstoppable on the break last night (same for the NT in Belfast last month Ouch)

Either way, they should be strong contenders for the CL again this season, possibly more so than recent seasons.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:53pm
Baggio’s fuming a non EPL team is getting praised

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 12:59pm

Wouldn't like to judge BM on the evidence of one game, but what most impressed me about last night was the way they demonstrated perfectly all the old cliches about German football: ruthless, efficient, professional, battle-hardened etc.

Of course, the first half hour showed how a top team might still get amongst them if they press them hard up front from the very beginning, Which should offer hope to Liverpool (esp) and City.

But for me, the key to them is not Lewandowski, fine player though he obviously is, but Gnabry, who was absolutely unstoppable on the break last night (same for the NT in Belfast last month Ouch)

Either way, they should be strong contenders for the CL again this season, possibly more so than recent seasons.

I would say Thiago is their main man. Spurs had success in the first half when he wasn't on the pitch, the second half he dictated the game and like most games rarely lost the ball! His assist for Gnabry was unreal, the complete midfielder Clap

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 1:15pm

I would say Thiago is their main man. Spurs had success in the first half when he wasn't on the pitch, the second half he dictated the game and like most games rarely lost the ball! His assist for Gnabry was unreal, the complete midfielder Clap
Great player. Still can't beleive Barca let him go.

If the draw is favourable, Bayern should get to the Semis. I'd fancy them to beat most teams.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 1:17pm

Fair point - I guess you always need someone to load the gun, as well as someone to fire it.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 1:37pm

Baggio’s fuming a non EPL team is getting praised

Yeah i'm fuming Confused

They were brilliant, as I've already said if you cared to read. I praised them myself already this morning. Why would I have been on for Tottenham?

Only saw the highlights but they seemed a joy to watch. On the week that some on here were bemoaning the demise of many big clubs around Europe, Bayern put in that performance. Absolutely clinical.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 6:01pm
Was fuming when Wenger let Gnabry leave. Everyone could see how talented he was, and he wasn't getting enough time on the pitch to show it. Now it's possible that he wanted to return to Germany anyway, but can't help feel more should have been done to keep him.

Would agree with Terri about Spurs being the better side in the first half. Absolute capitulation in the 2nd half though.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 8:28pm
Just turned on Barcelona vs Inter Milan and my first reaction was... clive tyldesley oh how I’ve missed your commentary!

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 8:39pm
Liverpool are going to lose 3-8

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2019 at 8:41pm

Just turned on Barcelona vs Inter Milan and my first reaction was... clive tyldesley oh how I’ve missed your commentary!
I thought he would turn up with Tommy Robinson! Where is he these days? Apart from Barcelona in 1999...