Forum Description: All League Of Ireland Teams Forum
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57054
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 6:30pm

Topic: LOI in Europe
Subject: LOI in Europe
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 9:32pm
The first draw takes place tomorrow, with the exception of the Polish champions you would have to say the regionalisation has been good to us.

Prelim winners
PIAST
VALUR
LINFIELD
HB
RIGA

Draw at 13:30 Irish time tomorrow

Posted By: adineen98
Date Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 9:47pm

Group 1 (seeded sides in bold)

Vaduz (LIE)
Kilmarnock (SCO)
Brann (NOR)
Vitebsk (BLR)
Malmö (SWE)
Shamrock Rovers (IRL)
Ballymena (NIR)/NSÍ (FRO)
Connah's Quay Nomads (WAL)
KuPS Kuopio (FIN)
Breidablik (ISL)

Group 4 (seeded sides in bold)

Rangers (SCO)
Brøndby (DEN)
Cork (IRL)
Molde (NOR)
Crusaders (NIR)
Progrès Niederkorn (LUX)/Cardiff Metropolitan University (WAL)
B36 (FRO)
Inter Turku (FIN)
KR (ISL)
Prishtina (KOS)/St Joseph's (GIB)

Group 8 (seeded sides in bold)

Haugesund (NOR)
Aberdeen (SCO)
Stjarnan (ISL)
Norrköping (SWE)
Dinamo Minsk (BLR)
Riteriai (LTU)
Liepāja (LVA)
Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Barry Town (WAL)/Cliftonville (NIR)
Saint Patrick's (IRL)
RoPS Rovaniemi (FIN)
KÍ (FRO)/Tre Fiori (SMR)

Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 10:19pm

The first draw takes place tomorrow, with the exception of the Polish champions you would have to say the regionalisation has been good to us.

Prelim winners
PIAST
VALUR
LINFIELD
HB
RIGA

Want to avoid the polish defo.

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 10:22pm

Prelim winners
PIAST
VALUR
LINFIELD
HB
RIGA

That’s quite a pledge. 

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 10:34pm

Prelim winners
PIAST
VALUR
LINFIELD
HB
RIGA

That’s quite a pledge. 

We'll soon find out if Dundalk have lost their sheen 

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 8:23am
few gobsh*tes on the Waterford Supporters Club page still giving Pat's abuse over replacing us. We f**ked up just like our backing of John Delaney but yet these lemmings don't see this. 

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 8:52am
Don’t think you f**ked up scientist, I would imagine the robber Delaney gave power and wfc guarantees about Europe and they took him at his word,foolish I suppose. Agree it’s hard to blame pats though, sure we did the same to Derry because they rebooted as well. A lot of loi clubs fall down on governance like this it’s an area we should all be tighter on really.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 9:07am

Don’t think you f**ked up scientist, I would imagine the robber Delaney gave power and wfc guarantees about Europe and they took him at his word,foolish I suppose. Agree it’s hard to blame pats though, sure we did the same to Derry because they rebooted as well. A lot of loi clubs fall down on governance like this it’s an area we should all be tighter on really.

you just contradicted yourself in the one sentence but i get what your saying Billy. the statement our club released was utter dogsh*t in support of JD but yet the lemmings on the committee on the Supporters Club just sat there and kept nodding like lapping dogs! When all this broke Lee Power said his legal team were on it! i'd say they told him to cop on fairly quick. We are f**ked this season. not within an asses roar of qualifying for Europe. our on loan signings have all gone back, some were either our best players or not utilized (Keto).

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 1:52pm
dundalk get Riga. should be looking to get past them i suspect.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 9:45pm
Dundalk V Riga (Lat)
Rover V Brann (Nor)
Cork City V Progres Niederkorn (Lux)
Pats V Norrkorping (Swe)

Dundalk would be the only one of those I'd be confident of. Tough set of draws.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 9:53pm
happy enough with that, probably won’t be a lot in it but looking forward to it.

Tomorrow’s draw should be fun too

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 10:06pm

Dundalk V Riga (Lat)
Rover V Brann (Nor)
Cork City V Progres Niederkorn (Lux)
Pats V Norrkorping (Swe)

Dundalk would be the only one of those I'd be confident of. Tough set of draws.

Cork shud have a fair chance also. Playing in europe might suit them. Rovers and pats have tough draws but one of them might spring a surprise. If rovers could play like malmo away last year then they have a chance.

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 10:24pm
Progres beat Honved last year and went out to Ufa after a 4-3 defeat. It’s a very tough draw.
You would have to imagine that the Shams tie will be all Brann. 

Dundalk are the only ones you would be backing.

Posted By: Nah Nah Nah Nah
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 8:36am
How are Progres playing in the preliminary round seeing as they seem to have won quite a few games recently

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 8:39am
Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

How are Progres playing in the preliminary round seeing as they seem to have won quite a few games recently
Sure Celtic are in the prelims.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 10:18am
If we get through to the second round, theres a possibility of a tie with Roma or Rangers (provided that they beat either Prishtina of Kosovo or St. Joseph's of Gibraltar). Luzern, Hajduk Split and Gzira Utd of Malta are also potential opponents.

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 11:35am

Originally posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah Nah wrote:

Sure Celtic are in the prelims.

They aren't, the preliminary round is another round before the first qualifying round. Niederkorn are playing Cardiff MU there because they came fourth in the Lux league which only get's them to that round being one of the worst ranked leagues. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 1:44pm
City to play Rangers if we both get through our 1st QR ties.

Posted By: eireland
Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 1:46pm
Imagine the scenes if cork beat rangers. 

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 2:04pm
Surely the guards would never go for that being played in Turners Cross?

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 2:08pm

Imagine a horde of Rangers fans taking over Cork! 

Would they move it to Dublin? Or maybe England? Personally I don't see why it can't be played in Cork. If Rangers fans be trusted to behave themselves then ban away fans. Didn't Cletic play Linfield last year in Belfast and there was no issue

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 3:54pm

Would they move it to Dublin? Or maybe England? Personally I don't see why it can't be played in Cork. If Rangers fans be trusted to behave themselves then ban away fans. Didn't Cletic play Linfield last year in Belfast and there was no issue

Wasn’t many Celtic fans at that game. Think the club advised fans not to attend.

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 3:59pm

The locals can dust off the Union Jacks they were waving for the Queen to welcome Rangers and their fans.  

Date Posted: 19 Jun 2019 at 5:59pm
imagine the tweets the cork city account would be sending to rangers!!

Bit of a crap draw for us should we progress to the next round.

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2019 at 8:54am
Originally posted by adineen98 adineen98 wrote:

City to play Rangers if we both get through our 1st QR ties.

2 new clubs playing in Europe already. Roy of the Rovers stuff Clap

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2019 at 8:56am

The locals can dust off the Union Jacks they were waving for the Queen to welcome Rangers and their fans.  

there won't be a sausage left in the English Market 

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 12:58pm
Buzzing for tonight's game, counting down the minutes til I finish work.

Don't know much about them but see they have a number of internationals, still we've played better teams over the years.

Match is on RTE

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 1:56pm

Buzzing for tonight's game, counting down the minutes til I finish work.

Don't know much about them but see they have a number of internationals, still we've played better teams over the years.

Match is on RTE

yep looking forward to watching it myself. dundalk should have enough to come through over the 2 legs hopefully. clean shhet tonight and you would fancy them to score at least once away. will hoban start tonight?

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 2:37pm
There's no reason to think he won't start

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 2:47pm
Yep sat in front of the box tonight hoping Dundalk win Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 4:59pm
Qarabag are currently being held by patizani in Albania but are totally dominating the game, so as expected they look likely to meet the winners of Dundalk and Riga. Must be said Patizani are utter rubbish. 

Posted By: engpad
Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:08pm
Any links for this match for UK viewers?

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:14pm
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/49511/Dundalk_vs_Riga.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.hesgoal.com/news/49511/Dundalk_vs_Riga.html

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:35pm
Coach Vince Perth surprise selection

Posted By: engpad
Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:37pm

http://www.hesgoal.com/news/49511/Dundalk_vs_Riga.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.hesgoal.com/news/49511/Dundalk_vs_Riga.html

Nice one 

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:48pm
Pat Hooban and the Hoobanotes. A song for Norway 1976.. stolen by Fr. Ted Crilly.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 7:59pm

Pat Hooban and the Hoobanotes. A song for Norway 1976.. stolen by Fr. Ted Crilly.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 9:03pm

Thought I was hearing things when he said 'Hooban' for that chance.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 9:16pm
Dundalk playing with a lot of the ball without doing a lot with it unfortunately. I'm not sure they've had a shot on target yet.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 9:32pm
Duffy has wasted a couple of opportunities once he did the hard bit and got into good positions. 

His crossing has been poor. 

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 10:07pm
I though dundalk played ok. Some passes were close to sticking just didnt come together tonight. Needed to bring on another forward i thought. Benson made a big difference when he came on. Still have a good chance in the 2nd leg.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 10:52pm

I though dundalk played ok. Some passes were close to sticking just didnt come together tonight. Needed to bring on another forward i thought. Benson made a big difference when he came on. Still have a good chance in the 2nd leg.

Definitely. 

There's a lot less pressure on Dundalk now given they haven't conceded an away goal. 

Tie is still 50/50 though.  

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 10:58pm
very frustrating night, a bit like a lot of our games this season, just doesn’t seem to be clicking upfront.

I imagine they will be a better team at home next week, still if shields is fit, benson starting and pushing fats further forward should give a bit more creativity

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 10:59pm
0-0 at home is a good result but I just have a feeling Riga will win 1-0 over there

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 11:01pm
Yeah possibly, but they will have to push out a bit more, hopefully give us a bit more space as we have the players to hurt them. Did get the feeling they were just susing us out a bit this evening

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2019 at 11:06pm
Im not sure they can improve that much more. There decent but dundalk should get a few chances. Just need to take them. Hoban for me just has not got the quality to step up from LOI to european level games. Dundalk really need a couple of quality strikers to kick on to the next level. Easier said than done i know but they dont have enough up top to trouble a really good side. Might be enough to get past riga. Might not.

Posted By: pateen
Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 5:47pm
Any link for the Rovers game ... for those based overseas

Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 7:52pm
Get fcking in. Rovers 2-2. Byrnes delivery is quality all night. 

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 8:13pm
Can’t beat a last minute goal

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 8:35pm
Pats on top here, final ball just lacking a bit of quality. IFK looking very dangerous from set pieces, few monsters on the team! 

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 8:49pm
Cork 2-0 down

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 8:55pm

Cork 2-0 down
Have you moved to Sunderland?

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 8:57pm

Cork 2-0 down
Have you moved to Sunderland?

No thankfully 

Posted By: UCDFAN
Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 9:09pm
Simon Thern , son of Jonas, with the opening goal of the tie at Richer.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 10:10pm
good result for the shamrockers 

Didn’t expect too much from pats, seen the second half but the Swedes looked much better

Cork are just an embarrassment 

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 11:49pm
Good away result from the Talla mob 

Posted By: Reildogg
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 12:44am
Geuinely!?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 12:13pm
RTE not showing the return leg of the Dundalk match? Doesn't seem to beon the tv listings for Wednesday. 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 12:18pm
Eir Sport showing it. Rovers on Thursday night as well.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 3:06pm

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2019 at 11:53am

RTE not showing the return leg of the Dundalk match? Doesn't seem to beon the tv listings for Wednesday. 

good, i dont have to watch it now, the first leg was sh1te

Come on Irelind

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2019 at 3:30pm

Its on Eir Sport 1. Early kick off 5:30pm

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 5:34pm
Any working streams lads? 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 6:17pm
Good half from Dundalk, just need to watch the counter attack. 

Posted By: culliano
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 6:21pm
skorlive 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 6:35pm
Originally posted by culliano culliano wrote:

skorlive 

Cheers. Never heard of that site. Thumbs Up

Have it bookmarked for again. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 7:02pm
Riga getting stronger over the last 10 minutes. Dundalk have been better overall.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 7:04pm
That riga team is sh1te.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 7:49pm
10 minutes to make the extra man count. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 7:58pm
Penalties. Dundalk should have won that.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:08pm
Great save from Rogers

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:10pm
Ffs just blast it. Fcked this up id say.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:12pm
Another great save from Rogers Clap

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:13pm
Get in

Made f**king hard work of it though LOL

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:13pm
Get in there

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:14pm
Great stuff Clap

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:14pm
who have we got in the next round?

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:16pm

Qarabag from Azerbijan 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:16pm
Get in you beauty!

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 8:38pm

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 9:39pm
If Dundalk lose to Qarabag in the next round, do they still get to play in the Europa League qualifiers or are they completely out? 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 9:45pm

If Dundalk lose to Qarabag in the next round, do they still get to play in the Europa League qualifiers or are they completely out? 

They drop into the 3rd round of Europa League qualifying 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 9:52pm

They drop into the 3rd round of Europa League qualifying 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 9:54pm
Just catching the result, 4 penos missed in a row must be some sort of record.

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 9:58pm
Do they have to play the next round in Tallaght?

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:19pm
Originally posted by max max wrote:

They will play qarabag in oriel. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:23pm

Hopefully the surroundings will scare the sh1te outa them. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:27pm

Hopefully the surroundings will scare the sh1te outa them. 
It will be the same for the Azerbaijanis.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:37pm
Well done Dundalk

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:37pm
That was some hammering for Lingfield, and they'd be the best of the nordie end of the all Ireland league.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2019 at 10:43pm
Expensive trip to Baku for anyone thinking of making the trip, won't have much change out of €700 for flights. 

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 12:01am
Decent chance Dundalk could be back in Europa group stage at the very least. 

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 6:57am
Fair play , very happy for them Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 7:04am
Deighted for Dundalk.

Cool

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 8:56am
i'd say Blueman was on skype to Dermo in Lanzarote congratulating him at full time last night 

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 9:40am
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

That was some hammering for Lingfield, and they'd be the best of the nordie end of the all Ireland league.

Was always a one horse race.

Posted By: eireland
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 1:01pm
Just what the doctor ordered. That prize money will go a long way for Dundalk. If they can get another run going this year I can see them dominating ireland for years to come. 

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 2:31pm

Just what the doctor ordered. That prize money will go a long way for Dundalk. If they can get another run going this year I can see them dominating ireland for years to come. 

Yep and some people this would be good for Irish football. Banter 

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 3:23pm

went into JD's offshore account long ago Wink

Posted By: brissy
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2019 at 4:25pm
well done dundalk