URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57007
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 7:26pm

Topic: European Elections 2019
Subject: European Elections 2019
Date Posted: 21 May 2019 at 11:33pm
Saoirse McHugh was totes amazeballs on tonight's RTE Prime Time debate

"Go on Dancing With The Stars if you're so desperate for attention, Peter" LOLClap

This young lady could be Ireland's Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

She's a self declared democratic socialist - she's Green and she's red and she's from Mayo

And she's a surfer

I'm voting Green

Date Posted: 21 May 2019 at 11:36pm
Excellent LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:36am
she did a great job and made a fool of yer man 

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:37am
Working at our local poll station tomorrow. A handy enough day but quite long

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:40am

Not that Casey needs  much help. Does plenty of it to himself. f**kin clown 

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:44am

he might get a seat though , clown that he is 

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:51am

he might get a seat though , clown that he is 

Transfers from McGuinness and probably FF will be crucial. Casey won't be transfer friendly I reckon. Walsh will probably just about take the last seat.

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:53am
Is Durkan going to get a seat in Dublin for FG?

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 10:57am

Nope.

Fitzgerald and Andrews will take 2 of the seats. The other 2 including the 4th Brexit releated seat will go to 2 of Boylan, Cuffe, Daly and White

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 11:18am
Durkan has more of a chance than White I would have thought. 

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:06pm

https://twitter.com/DollardJohn/status/1130814903743406081" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/DollardJohn/status/1130814903743406081

He is a loud and annoying empty head. The very worst kind. 

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:32pm
be some craic having Ming, Daly and Wallace in Europe LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:45pm
After Saoirse Ocasio-Cortez McHugh (Vote Green!) destroyed him last night, the racist old fool stayed up and got drunk and replied to six year old tweets from an obvious parody account LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:51pm

After Saoirse Ocasio-Cortez McHugh (Vote Green!) destroyed him last night, the racist old fool stayed up and got drunk and replied to six year old tweets from an obvious parody account LOL

Also getting upset at foul language yet has no issues with dabbling in the aul racism LOL

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:54pm
How do you know he was drunk? 

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 12:56pm

How do you know he was drunk? 
He's drunk most of the time

Maybe he went home and got sober

Maybe getting sober is to him what getting drunk is to most people

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:00pm
Is he? That explains some things, but not all.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:02pm

Is he? That explains some things, but not all.
I suppose it doesn't explain how he's a racist **** but it would explain him replying to six year old tweets from a parody account

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:08pm

Nope.

Fitzgerald and Andrews will take 2 of the seats. The other 2 including the 4th Brexit releated seat will go to 2 of Boylan, Cuffe, Daly and White

The latest polls have Fitzgerald at 17%, Boylan at 13%, Andrews at 12%, Cuffe at 11%, Daly at 9%, Durkan at 8% and White at 5%, with the remainder being the likes of PBP, Social Democrats and the assorted nutters like Kelly and Gilroy all polling below 5%.

With transfers from the left leaning candidates eliminated early likely to favour Daly and to a lesser extent Boylan, Cuffe is fighting an uphill battle for fourth spot, never mind third. There is a chance he could defeat Andrews but on polling last week with the Times, Andrews was on 18% and Cuffe on 9%, so it's hard to say. I really don't think White has a strong chance, on those numbers. I'd guess it will be Fitzgerald, Boylan, Andrews (I think he's more likely to poll around 15%) and the fourth seat to Daly/Cuffe.

Incidentally, there will only be one count, based on it being a four member constituency, not two counts. The quota will thus be 20%+1 in Dublin, not 25%+1. There had been some talk that the count could be split in two, due to the extra Brexit seat, but they've decided to go with one count only. I'm not sure the difference it will make but that's the way it's going to be counted.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:19pm

Nope.

The latest polls have Fitzgerald at 17%, Boylan at 13%, Andrews at 12%, Cuffe at 11%, Daly at 9%, Durkan at 8% and White at 5%, with the remainder being the likes of PBP, Social Democrats and the assorted nutters like Kelly and Gilroy all polling below 5%.

With transfers from the left leaning candidates eliminated early likely to favour Daly and to a lesser extent Boylan, Cuffe is fighting an uphill battle for fourth spot, never mind third. There is a chance he could defeat Andrews but on polling last week with the Times, Andrews was on 18% and Cuffe on 9%, so it's hard to say. I really don't think White has a strong chance, on those numbers. I'd guess it will be Fitzgerald, Boylan, Andrews (I think he's more likely to poll around 15%) and the fourth seat to Daly/Cuffe.

Incidentally, there will only be one count, based on it being a four member constituency, not two counts. The quota will thus be 20%+1 in Dublin, not 25%+1. There had been some talk that the count could be split in two, due to the extra Brexit seat, but they've decided to go with one count only. I'm not sure the difference it will make but that's the way it's going to be counted.

I'm not so sure. Given SF tend not to be hugely transfer friendly I think Andrews might sneak the 2nd seat ahead of her if he's ahead on 1st preferences. 

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:21pm

Nope.

I expect Greens to be very transfer friendly and that will secure the second seat for Cuffe

I think both Andrews and Boylan will not do well on transfers 

I could foresee a three way battle for the last two seats between Andrews, Boylan and Daly

I will be giving my number 2 vote to Gary Gannon

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 1:53pm
I’d agree Cuffe should make the cut. Gannon will poll best of the also rans (ie those currently polling around 5% or lower)

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 2:27pm
Gannon was reasonably impressive the other night, as was Alice Mary Higgins.

I still don't think either will get a seat, of course.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 2:48pm
In most constituencies there are seats that are simply not up for grabs. That’s where the transfers at the foot of the results will make all the difference. I hope Cuffe is transfer friendly enough to secure a seat, and my preference is for the other pro-EU parties to pick up the rest. The problem is, the Dublin ballot is full of eurocritic-eurosceptic- europhobic candidates who might well push somebody over the line as such voters might lend their vote in order to ensure a eurosceptic is elected, or indeed people who just aren’t aware their candidate is a eurosceptic. Another and different interesting facet is whether somebody like Alice Mary Higgins could pull off a Nessa Childers style surprise, as a transfer friendly independent. This could equally benefit Claire Daly, who could squeeze the third seat.

NW I think is reasonably easy to call for the first three seats, as McGuinness will probably get her seat back, as will Ming and Carthy. After that it is up to FF to transfer properly amongst each other. Casey’s vote could be interesting, as that side of the country has happily voted for conservative independents before, and FF are just not assured.  although I can’t help but feel Harkin’s Seat is available for a pro-EU moderate, which could give rise to the unlikely situation of FG returning two MEPs, but that is also contingent on transfers.

The South will see Kelly and Ni Riada returned, and FF should take something. Kelly’s transfers down, and the lowest FG candidate’s up could also make it a happy hunting ground for FG here too. Mick Wallace is also in play for this one, and perhaps Labour and Green transfers might help him, along with a swath of transfers which may come from home turf.

I’m not factoring in the “Brexit seats”. In reality, they don’t yet exist.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 2:49pm

Gannon was reasonably impressive the other night, as was Alice Mary Higgins.

I still don't think either will get a seat, of course.

Gannon wont. I would like to see if the political force that elected Childers in 2014 could work for Higgins.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 3:05pm
Daly will get the last seat. she will have a massive transfer allocation. She will pull another Joe Higgins and gain a seat for the left Clap

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 6:11pm
Video doing the rounds of Casey with a soap box type set up today 

'some people say I'm racist, OF COURSE I'm a racist'

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 6:20pm

Video doing the rounds of Casey with a soap box type set up today 

'some people say I'm racist, OF COURSE I'm a racist'
That was yesterday

It's probably the first time in his life he's told the truth about anything

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 6:27pm
SNP for me. Hope to see Alyn Smith, Christian Allard and Aileen McLeod elected Thumbs Up

I'd never heard of that Peter Casey chap before so looked him up on wikipedia, seems an interesting sort of right wing lunatic .....

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 6:39pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

SNP for me. Hope to see Alyn Smith, Christian Allard and Aileen McLeod elected Thumbs Up

The SNP winning big would be a good thing. The more unequivocally pro-remain the winners are, the better. The Tories are making a mess, Labour have no position and have failed on Brexit, and the bulk of the fringe are leave.

Date Posted: 22 May 2019 at 6:40pm

I'd never heard of that Peter Casey chap before so looked him up on wikipedia, seems an interesting sort of right wing lunatic .....
He's not in any way interesting

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 10:53am
Ben Gilroy has came from 150/1 into 10/1 with pp to get elected. Does he have a squeak? Gonna back saoirse mchugh in midlands at 4/1

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 10:56am

Gonna back saoirse mchugh in midlands at 4/1

i asked all my family to vote for her , i like her style 

i'll vote green myself here in germany 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 11:04am

Ben Gilroy has came from 150/1 into 10/1 with pp to get elected. Does he have a squeak? Gonna back saoirse mchugh in midlands at 4/1

Wouldn't take much to move a market like that I'd have thought

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 11:10am

Wouldn't take much to move a market like that I'd have thought

Bating sh*t with a hurl has done him wonders

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:39pm
McHugh for me 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:43pm
2 votes for Diarmuid O Flynn for me and will give Wallace No.2 

f**k them green ****s. they all sit centre of right 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:53pm

2 votes for Diarmuid O Flynn for me and will give Wallace No.2 

Diarmuid O'Flynn is anti-choice and pro-Gemma O'Doherty

Two good reasons not to vote for him

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:55pm
McHugh’s betting odds were slashed, but if Gilroy’s were too I wouldn’t read much into it.

I also feel that for a GP member to make the required leap you’d need an unprecedented voting change in a region where the Greens generally struggle to make an impact and often don’t don’t stand candidates.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:56pm

What’s it with this desire on this forum to out left the left?

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:05pm

What’s it with this desire on this forum to out left the left?
Because a lot of parties and politicians have a history of posing a certain way to gain support when the reality is often quite different.
The Irish 'new Labour Party being a fantastic example. I think it is a little harsh on the Greens, but I can certainly understand how someone could feel that way given their history.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 6:59pm
To hell with the Green Party, they done nothing when in power. Labour always sell out to FG.

Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 8:37am

To hell with the Green Party, they done nothing when in power. Labour always sell out to FG.

The junior coalition party rarely does much when in power to be fair.

In Europe the Greens can be more effective as they would form part of the Greens-European Free Alliance group. I think the group currently only comprises of about 7% of the European Parliament but presently Ireland's contribution to the group is 0.0%, so we can't really complain too much about how poor the government is on environmental issues.

Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 8:53am
Gannon 1, Cuffe 2 for me 

Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 9:06am

Gannon 1, Cuffe 2 for me 

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 9:13am
Haven’t read up too much about the Divorce amendment today.
Can someone please tell me which way the Iona Institute want us to vote......and I’ll vote the opposite way.
Haven’t seen their Maria Steen at all.......she was such a roaring success for the marriage and abortion referendums/a

Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 11:49am
first vote of the day done. 

Diarmuid O'Flynn No.1
Mick Wallace No.2

and Yes to Mayor and Divorce. 

Will pop down after work again with my polling card this time and probably head to Waterford to vote again with another polling card in my name. great little country this! 

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 12:28am
We are Green
We are fookin' dynamite

La la la la la la la la la la la

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 3:52am
Fantastic prospects for the GP tomorrow. Given the history of the party which struggled to gain any traction outside of Dublin this is a remarkable achievement. Poll seems to suggest 4% margin of error, but that at least assures Cuffe.

Even better if it displaces the likes of Ming and some Shinners.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 9:03am
TD Maria Bailey (the lady who fell off a swing and is looking for €60,000 compensation) ran a 10km race, three weeks after her fall.
In a time of 54 minutes.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 9:10am
Can anyone point me to an easy example of how PR STV works.
I used to think that all the No.1’s were counted, then all the ballot papers were put back in and all the No.2’s were counted, and so on.

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 9:31am

Fantastic prospects for the GP tomorrow. Given the history of the party which struggled to gain any traction outside of Dublin this is a remarkable achievement. Poll seems to suggest 4% margin of error, but that at least assures Cuffe.

Seems to a trend across Europe - part of the push against the climate change deniers on the right / Trump as much as a vote for the Green Party.
People also observing what their kids are learning in school.
Hopefully bring green deal topics more to the forefront.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 9:39am

I used to think that all the No.1’s were counted, then all the ballot papers were put back in and all the No.2’s were counted, and so on.

They'll mix the ballot papers first before counting. 

Say you need 1000 to get elected and the first in the pool gets 1200 votes, they'll disregard the first 1000 and then distribute the #2s, if they're there, from the other 200. 

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 10:02am
Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

Seems to a trend across Europe - part of the push against the climate change deniers on the right / Trump as much as a vote for the Green Party.
People also observing what their kids are learning in school.
Hopefully bring green deal topics more to the forefront.

I give out about kids attitudes these days and how they are so mollycoddled now but my experience since going back teaching is how much they care now about environmental issues when a few years ago they didn't give a fiddlers. Refreshing to see!if I could get them more interested in English and Irish now id be on to a winner!

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 10:08am

TD Maria Bailey (the lady who fell off a swing and is looking for €60,000 compensation) ran a 10km race, three weeks after her fall.
In a time of 54 minutes.

She has made an absolute bollix of herself bringing this to court.

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 11:28am

Say you need 1000 to get elected and the first in the pool gets 1200 votes, they'll disregard the first 1000 and then distribute the #2s, if they're there, from the other 200. 

so some peoples votes are worth more than others and it relies on randomness. that doesn't seem right.

in above example (simplified) if FG got 1200 no 1's, and the 200 surplus has 200 GP no 2's, what about the 1000 ballots not selected that had IND as no 2, are they just disregarded

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 11:29am
Hermann Kelly (Farage's former CoS) on 0% in Dublin ClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 11:39am
Local elections exit poll has Aontu on 1% and Renua on 0%

These are the parties that the right-wing media have been telling us for years that there was a serious gap in the market for

How out of touch can they can be

Very, is the answer

Lovely stuff

A lot of left transfers to go around in Dublin

I think it will be 
1 Cuffe
2 Fitzgerald 
3 Daly
4 Boylan
5 Andrews

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 11:53am
Originally posted by Il Principe Il Principe wrote:

so some peoples votes are worth more than others and it relies on randomness. that doesn't seem right.

in above example (simplified) if FG got 1200 no 1's, and the 200 surplus has 200 GP no 2's, what about the 1000 ballots not selected that had IND as no 2, are they just disregarded

Pretty much but the chance of mixing them and ending up like that are pretty much zero, should be broadly representative of the overall vote 

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 2:23pm
Hopefully Andrews gets it. A full slate of europhiles.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 2:35pm

No thanks

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael sit with climate dinosaurs in the European Parliament

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 3:48pm

Fianna Fail is Mayor Quimby.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 5:32pm

No thanks

FF are with ALDE. Not a dinosaur grouping at all.

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 6:51pm

No thanks

Read Fintan O'Toole's article in last Saturday's Irish Times

They are

Date Posted: 25 May 2019 at 7:00pm

No thanks

They are

ALDE are not dinosaurs at all on the issue. I know that for a fact.

Date Posted: 26 May 2019 at 7:20am

No thanks

They are

ALDE are not dinosaurs at all on the issue. I know that for a fact.

Some great bargains, never know what you'd find in that middle aisle 

Date Posted: 26 May 2019 at 12:28pm

Doing the local count and got this wrong, the votes are distributed pro rata as a percentage of the preferences.

So if someone got 1000 votes and surplus was 100, everyone would get 10% of their second preference votes added.

Date Posted: 26 May 2019 at 10:23pm
Some result for the Greens. Just looking at 2nd pref tallies and Mchugh doesn’t seem to be transfer friendly in the West and will be a close call in the South. I think O Sullivan will shade it - and hope so as have her backed!

Date Posted: 26 May 2019 at 11:37pm
Interesting potential result in Dublin. There's a chance the final five could be:

Cuffe / FitzGerald / Andrews / Daly / Boylan

But this is interesting, because in that event, the four elected would be Cuffe, FitzGerald, Andrews and Daly, with Daly as the fourth, Brexit MEP.... despite the fact if it was a three seater, you'd expect Boylan's transfers to go disproportionately to Daly over Andrews, such that if it was a three seater, the result could be Cuffe, FitzGerald, Daly. I'm not sure they'll be that close but there is a chance that the way the electoral system works, that could be the result.

I'm not sure you can necessarily blame the Taoiseach for this or that it was designed to work in a way that favoured one party over the other; there were far too many moving parts and it seems it was designed to make the count easier rather than for any purpose nefarious.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 7:20am
Good to see the 200 tonnes of paper used by canvassers from the Green Party came to good use Clap

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 8:51am

I'm not sure you can necessarily blame the Taoiseach for this or that it was designed to work in a way that favoured one party over the other; there were far too many moving parts and it seems it was designed to make the count easier rather than for any purpose nefarious.
Politics if very scientific these days, they'd definitely have done the analysis and gone with the approach they thought gave them any advantage.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 8:57am
what a f**ked up country we are for voting these green ****s! policies are absolute septic i.e carbon tax to increase from €10 per tonne to €30 per tonne etc etc. 20% of capital transport funding to go on cycling and walking. tell that to someone in rural ireland LOL

people have short memories also. wasn't even 10 years ago they f**ked this country up along with Fianna Scum and then all of a sudden all is forgiven. generation emigration my bollox 

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 1:20pm

Mission accomplished. Big smile

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 1:41pm
As Scientist alludes to above, this green wave as its being called has now given the green light to FG to increase taxes such as carbon taxes. They also want property tax to be linked to your BER rating so retrofitting homes with insulation and other ‘money saving energy conservation measures’ that will cost up to €70k per home. Of course FGs buddies in big business will be protected and assisted as companies clean up as people feel forced to cough up whilst we are all bombarded by media spin that yet again blames Joe Soap for everything. 

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 2:14pm
https://www.thejournal.ie/maria-bailey-interview-4655365-May2019/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thejournal.ie/maria-bailey-interview-4655365-May2019/

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 3:07pm
Dont think Saoirse McHugh will be elected with that 1st pref total. 56k votes for Peter Casey Ouch

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 3:12pm
Sinn Fein's vote will improve when they get rid of that embarrassment Gerry Adams as President, they said.....

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 5:00pm
Naomi Long basically certain to get the third seat in the North now. She could even finish second above Anderson, although that's not certain. If Allister is eliminated next (not impossible on current figures - although you'd have to imagine he'll get a good number of surplus transfers from Diane Dodds and overtake Eastwood as a result), you'd imagine he would have virtually no transfers to Anderson, whereas there should be a decent number to Long, in preference to the other remaining candidates of Eastwood and Anderson. If Eastwood goes, his transfers may first go to Anderson rather than Long, pushing her over a quota before Long, but either way, Long will get the third seat, because there won't be many transfers from Allister to Eastwood or vice versa. That being the case, even if they are close to tied, there'll be no recount, because the tallies will show that neither have a chance of catching Long.

The count isn't finished but the outcome is a foregone conclusion. The only interesting thing is whether Long is elected ahead of Anderson, which remains a distinct possibility.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 5:32pm
https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/mcguinness-taking-nothing-for-granted-as-she-tops-exit-poll-in-constituency-38150429.html%20" rel="nofollow - https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/mcguinness-taking-nothing-for-granted-as-she-tops-exit-poll-in-constituency-38150429.html

Mairead McGuinness first MEP to be elected says she would rather eat razor blades than work with the Brexit Party leader and now MEP Nigel Farage! 

When asked about how she felt about the possibility of heading back to Brussels to “hang around” with Nigel Farage, Ms McGuinness said she would rather “eat razor blades” than work with the Brexit Party leader.
Now thats a great attitude to have why is she out their? kop on herself!

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 5:45pm
Ah, Eastwood eliminated before Allister. Still doesn't matter; Eastwood will not have 35,000 transfers for Allister. He'll probably not have f**ing 350!

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 5:51pm
It is still frightening to think 125,000 people gave Diane Dodds their number one. 

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 6:13pm
Peter Casey might get the Brexit seat.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 6:14pm
Well if that's not a reason to revoke article 50, I don't know what is!

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 6:53pm

There's  no Brexit seat in Midlands North West.  Only in Dublin and Ireland South

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 7:22pm

There's  no Brexit seat in Midlands North West.  Only in Dublin and Ireland South
Ah I see.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 12:24am
Interesting shenanigans for the last seat in Dublin. It looks like there could well be a legal battle over who gets the fourth seat and who gets the third seat. It'll be Daly and Andrews but the order is crucial, given the fact the fourth seat will not be filled for some time (Brexit dependent).

My reading of the legislation (and having spent the last hour discussing it on the twitter machine) is that Boylan's votes should be distributed to Andrews and Daly, as neither is currently deemed elected. I could explain it in detail but it would take too long and I'm not particularly confident that I'm correct.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 12:52am
Even with the apparent overestimation in the polls, the Greens have done remarkably well. FF will also be generally pleased with the local result.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:30am

Interesting shenanigans for the last seat in Dublin. It looks like there could well be a legal battle over who gets the fourth seat and who gets the third seat. It'll be Daly and Andrews but the order is crucial, given the fact the fourth seat will not be filled for some time (Brexit dependent).

My reading of the legislation (and having spent the last hour discussing it on the twitter machine) is that Boylan's votes should be distributed to Andrews and Daly, as neither is currently deemed elected. I could explain it in detail but it would take too long and I'm not particularly confident that I'm correct.
The votes of the highest unelected candidate are never distributed. 

That's why the question of whether this is a three seater or a four seater constituency is so key - though it beggars belief that there are arguments over it now as the count nears its end - something like this was entirely foreseeable - seat 4 may well turn out to be a dud as the Brits may yet not leave at all. 

In any event, I think controversy will probably be avoided, and Daly will take seat 3. 

She has a deficit of 3,867 to make up on Andrews, off the distribution of Gary Gannon's 29,720 votes.

I think she'll do that. 

Even if Boylan's vote of 46k odd were to then be distributed as would happen in a normal three seater constituency, it would only push Daly much further ahead. 

Andrews could expect to gain a bit from Frances Fitzgerald's surplus of 5790, but he'd only be pissing in the wind at that stage. 

I think either way, Daly has seat 3, and Andrews will be the one playing the game of Waiting for Brexit.

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 11:04pm
Full recount in Ireland South. It looked like Ni Riada was about to lose her seat by about 300 votes but the returning officer has ordered a full recount, from the start.

Kelly, Kelleher and Wallace should still be safe but there'll be an argument over the fourth / fifth breakdown in the end no matter what, even if Ni Riada misses out, because of the Brexit seat issue.

It'll be another four days before this is decided!

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 11:05pm

Full recount in Ireland South. It looked like Ni Riada was about to lose her seat by about 200 votes but the returning officer has ordered a full recount, from the start.

It'll be another four days before this is decided!

f**king hell LOL

Poor f**kers 

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 10:42pm
Four by elections to be held in the next six months.

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 10:46pm
Wouldn't be surprised if we just have a GE instead.

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 10:50pm

Possibly.

However, I’m not sure what difference it would make. I suspect no party has a chance of an overall majority, and the smaller parties apart from the Greens and SDs won’t want one.

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 11:07pm

We'll have one, Fianna Fail will pick something that they say they can't go along with. 

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 11:10pm

We'll have one, Fianna Fail will pick something that they say they can't go along with. 

More likely Leo will go for it more than anything else I reckon. FF be content to hold off until next summer. 

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 11:17pm
I still can’t figure out what is to be gained? After a good showing in the  Euros would FG think they can win extra seats? The locals weren’t exceptionally kind.

Date Posted: 31 May 2019 at 11:28pm

I still can’t figure out what is to be gained? After a good showing in the  Euros would FG think they can win extra seats? The locals weren’t exceptionally kind.

They're probably going to the polls next summer anyway. Might as well go in September/October rather than forking out for 4 by-elections and then having a GE 6/7 months later.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2019 at 6:33pm
Small debate re-emerging about e-voting.

16 years on it’s a debate worth revisiting.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2019 at 7:37pm
You shouldn’t have to leave your house. It should save money and be more secure. Although I would miss the thrill of the count, I’m a bit geeky in that regard. 

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2019 at 4:31am

Small debate re-emerging about e-voting.

16 years on it’s a debate worth revisiting.

A rare Bertie misstep when he was Tee-Shock & flying in the polls. Machines still stored in a warehouse in Johnstown, Waterford (someone with FF connections owns the warehouse) all these years later.