URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57006
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 1:07pm

Topic: Luca Connell
Posted By: Luis Amor Rodriguez
Subject: Luca Connell
Date Posted: 20 May 2019 at 8:37pm
Great to see this lad picked in our senior squad and that we're looking to getting some of the next generation involved.  A good step for the future:

https://www.balls.ie/football/ireland-squad-denmark-gibraltar-410891 " rel="nofollow - https://www.balls.ie/football/ireland-squad-denmark-gibraltar-410891  ;

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 7:06am
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/luca-connell-s-granny-would-stop-him-abandoning-ireland-1.3901056?mode=amp&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/luca-connell-s-granny-would-stop-him-abandoning-ireland-1.3901056?mode=amp&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 7:25am
We've heard it all before, unfortunately.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 8:06am
Yeah. Unfortunately now I won't be taking any interest in 2nd or 3rd gen players until they are tied to us.

Posted By: ChesterCopperpot
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 9:56am
Would give him game time against Gibraltar, which Mick inexplicably seems against

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 11:40am
Does Luca love the EIRE?

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 11:43am
Originally posted by ChesterCopperpot ChesterCopperpot wrote:

Would give him game time against Gibraltar, which Mick inexplicably seems against

How is it inexplicable? I would say it is fairly explicable. There are loads of reasons for not capping somebody for the sake of it.

Posted By: musicinmouth
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 12:00pm
I hope he commits to us, but it doesn't sound very promising https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/luca-connell-not-planning-to-follow-declan-rice-by-turning-his-back-on-ireland-xjpq7jn7d?shareToken=2c2304223e87795289e610808ce4372c" rel="nofollow - here , despite the title of the article ("Luca Connell not planning to follow Declan Rice by turning his back on Ireland.")

------

“I’ve read the speculation [about England] but haven’t had any direct contact.”

For all the assurance those words provide, Rice uttered similar sentiments before being eventually being prised away by Gareth Southgate earlier this year.

“I’m happy where I am at the minute,” was his response to the notion of an invitation being tabled for talks by the England manager.

“I’ll go and see what happens over next few months.”

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 12:24pm
Originally posted by musicinmouth musicinmouth wrote:

I hope he commits to us, but it doesn't sound very promising https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/luca-connell-not-planning-to-follow-declan-rice-by-turning-his-back-on-ireland-xjpq7jn7d?shareToken=2c2304223e87795289e610808ce4372c" rel="nofollow - here , despite the title of the article ("Luca Connell not planning to follow Declan Rice by turning his back on Ireland.")

------

For all the assurance those words provide, Rice uttered similar sentiments before being eventually being prised away by Gareth Southgate earlier this year.

“I’m happy where I am at the minute,” was his response to the notion of an invitation being tabled for talks by the England manager.

Sounds like a come and get me plea . Wouldn’t be surprised if he drops out with injury ahead of the Gibraltar game

Posted By: Scissors Kick
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:18pm
Article also quotes this though

'' “I wouldn’t hold back from the chance to play for Ireland in the qualifiers because it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity,” Connell said ''

Posted By: Scissors Kick
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 1:20pm
So if we want to get this done, he's ok with it.
He's dual, he feels both, he's ours if we chose to get it done now.
So, get it done is what we should do. 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:20pm

How is it inexplicable? I would say it is fairly explicable. There are loads of reasons for not capping somebody for the sake of it.

We've been bitten twice, Rice and to a lesser extent Grealish
There's nothing to say that Connell will turn out a top player, but give him 15 minutes at the end of the Gibraltar game to avoid any ifs, buts or maybes.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:29pm
15 seconds would do the trick just as thoroughly. It doesn't matter how long it is really, the reality is that we simply need to stop being stupid. Pride and stupidity are the sole reasons we've been reluctant to do this in the past with talented dual nationals, and we've paid a heavy price for it.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:29pm

We've been bitten twice, Rice and to a lesser extent Grealish
There's nothing to say that Connell will turn out a top player, but give him 15 minutes at the end of the Gibraltar game to avoid any ifs, buts or maybes.

So he should get a cap ahead of better players in the hope he might be a better player? I have never seen him play and know very little about him, I would see that  the majority on here would be the seem. If he is good enough and is a genuine talent, then he certainly should be capped, but throwing players in for the sake of it has potential to backfire terribly.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:46pm
And I'll hold my hand up and say I haven't seen him myself, but the reviews I've read have been very promising.
Based on that, and yes he could turn into another Paddy Lee or Joe Lapira, but I would put him on ahead of some of the other player if the game, as it should be, safe.
Hindsight is a great thing, but a lot are saying it should have been done with Rice against Moldova, ahead of I think it was McGeady was the last sub

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 2:54pm
I just find the clamour over lads nobody has seen play to be baffling. We are a strange little nation.

Posted By: DangerHere
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:00pm
Lads he's gone just accept it. A mate of mine who is very connected with his family said he is going to represent England. He should have been capped against Denmark in the nations league. Having never seen him play I can confidently say he would walk right into the England starting 11...Ireland aren't good enough for him.

I think I have covered everything

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:03pm
Originally posted by DangerHere DangerHere wrote:

Lads he's gone just accept it. A mate of mine who is very connected with his family said he is going to represent England. He should have been capped against Denmark in the nations league. Having never seen him play I can confidently say he would walk right into the England starting 11...Ireland aren't good enough for him.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:04pm

I just find the clamour over lads nobody has seen play to be baffling. We are a strange little nation.

I think it's a case of better the devil you don't know.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:06pm
Originally posted by DangerHere DangerHere wrote:

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:07pm

I think it's a case of better the devil you don't know.
Yep! Look how our players improve drastically the less they play for us.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:12pm
Originally posted by musicinmouth musicinmouth wrote:

------

I’m happy where I am at the minute,” was his response to the notion of an invitation being tabled for talks by the England manager.

He can fook off. It's clear he doesn't love the EIRE.  Its exactly wha Grealish's brother said on here about Union Jack.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:32pm
going to be nervy when he is let go after the training camp and the agents start talking too him 

Sounds like he wont be in the final squad no matter what he does at the camp

wait and see i suppose

getting burnt three times would be terrible 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:34pm

getting burnt three times would be terrible

It would be braindead stuff from us if we get burned again especially when the opportunity is there to throw him on against Gibraltar.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:43pm
Mick has already said he won't be capping players just for the sake of it

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:46pm
I love the way people are saying throw him on against Gibraltar, the same team only for a magnificent Randolf save we would have dropped points against. Is it more likely that we could throw him on against Denmark in stoppage time when we are two goals down. If he's not going to be in the squad he can go to Toulon or is he eligible for the u19's. 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:47pm

I love the way people are saying throw him on against Gibraltar, the same team only for a magnificent Randolf save we would have dropped points against. Is it more likely that we could throw him on against Denmark in stoppage time when we are two goals down. If he's not going to be in the squad he can go to Toulon or is he eligible for the u19's. 

Ah come on, it'll surely be a non contest in Dublin

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 3:48pm

Mick has already said he won't be capping players just for the sake of it

In fairness to him, he's hardly going to go around saying he is going to cap players just to tie them down!

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:01pm
we shouldn’t be capping people for the sake of it and I don’t give a fuk if other countries do it 

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:10pm

we shouldn’t be capping people for the sake of it and I don’t give a fuk if other countries do it 
Correct. I don’t think anybody else does it anyway.
The majority of those the Welsh have capped have proved they have potential, as well as Wales having a smaller playing pool. It certainly isn’t as flagrant as implied on here.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:21pm
I can imagine certain individuals howling with laughter at St. Georges Park at our stupidity if we don't cap him. England have shown at numerous age groups that they're willing to take on anyone, even if they aren't yet eligible!! Wales have capped guys with fewer senior appearances than Connell, and have called up players with no senior appearances at all! We are so far behind the curve it's unbelievable. We've certainly lost 1 top player in the recent past because of it, possibly 2.

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:30pm

Plus wan.

Posted By: Gerry Geary
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:50pm
Sadly he should cap him

Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 4:51pm
Both. Him and cullen to out a make up

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 6:47pm
To clarify, 'for the sake of it' is an idiomatic expression meaning to something that is essentially pointless, to do something 'for no particular reason':  http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/for%20the%20sake%20of%20it" rel="nofollow - http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/for the sake of it

People are calling for Connell to be awarded a cap in the upcoming matches not for no particular reason - 'for the sake of it' -  but rather because of his talent, the form he's shown for Bolton and, by general consensus, his great potential, and to avoid the endless speculative nonsense that surrounded the will-he-won't-he Rice saga.

Posted By: Gashley Grimes
Date Posted: 23 May 2019 at 11:23pm
Looks like a young Stan Bowles...with that lovely gruaig. 

Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 8:47am
If Gary McKay says he's with us, then I'm happy enough with that.

Posted By: 50%lesssugar&salt
Date Posted: 24 May 2019 at 10:13am

If Gary McKay says he's with us, then I'm happy enough with that.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 5:08pm
I see Wales have called up Terry Taylor (Wolves U-18 midfielder born in Scotland), and Dylan Levitt (Man United U-18 from England). Kind of says everything you need to know about how international football is developing, and illustrates why the likes of Connell have to be integrated quickly.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 6:04pm
Levitt is well regarded and has loads of caps for their under-19s. Again, their lack of depth is as much an issue as anything else. Hence why we have Connell in our squad.

Taylor's call-up does seem like politicking, especially as he was recently called-up bu both Wles and Scotland at underage level and chose Scotland.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 8:04pm
With respect PM, you're off there; and O'Shea is spot-on.  

Wales aren't picking these lads because of lack of depth - they're picking them to make sure they don't lose them in the future, similar to capping Harry Wilson 6 years ago at 16 when he was playing for Liverpool's academy side, many years before making a senior club appearance in the championship: what a player he's turning out to be.  

Wales actually, sadly for us and unusually, have greater depth than us at the moment - the following players would be well ahead of Taylor or Levitt in (current) ability and experience and yet weren't picked (most of whom are available):

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goalkeeper_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - GK https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Ward_%28footballer,_born_1993%29" rel="nofollow - Danny Ward 22 June 1993 (age 25)60 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_City_F.C." rel="nofollow - Leicester City v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Davies_%28footballer,_born_1993%29" rel="nofollow - Ben Davies 24 April 1993 (age 26)440 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tottenham_Hotspur_F.C." rel="nofollow - Tottenham Hotspur v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Declan_John" rel="nofollow - Declan John 30 June 1995 (age 23)70 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wales" rel="nofollow">Wales   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swansea_City_A.F.C." rel="nofollow - Swansea City v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Dummett" rel="nofollow - Paul Dummett 26 September 1991 (age 27)50 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newcastle_United_F.C." rel="nofollow - Newcastle United v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kieron_Freeman" rel="nofollow - Kieron Freeman 21 March 1992 (age 27)10 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheffield_United_F.C." rel="nofollow - Sheffield United v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albania_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Albania , 20 November 2018
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Chester" rel="nofollow - James Chester 23 January 1989 (age 30)350 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aston_Villa_F.C." rel="nofollow - Aston Villa v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denmark_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Denmark , 16 November 2018
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Defender_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - DF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jazz_Richards" rel="nofollow - Jazz Richards 12 April 1991 (age 28)140 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wales" rel="nofollow">Wales   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiff_City_F.C." rel="nofollow - Cardiff City v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Republic of Ireland , 16 October 2018

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aaron_Ramsey" rel="nofollow - Aaron Ramsey 26 December 1990 (age 28)5814 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C." rel="nofollow - Arsenal v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019 WD
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Evans_%28footballer%29" rel="nofollow - Lee Evans 24 July 1994 (age 24)40 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wigan_Athletic_F.C." rel="nofollow - Wigan Athletic v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019 PRE
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethan_Ampadu" rel="nofollow - Ethan Ampadu 14 September 2000 (age 18)60 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chelsea_F.C." rel="nofollow - Chelsea v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinidad_and_Tobago_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Trinidad and Tobago , 20 March 2019 WD
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_King_%28footballer,_born_1988%29" rel="nofollow - Andy King 29 October 1988 (age 30)502 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_City_F.C." rel="nofollow - Leicester City v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albania_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Albania , 20 November 2018
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gwion_Edwards" rel="nofollow - Gwion Edwards 1 March 1993 (age 26)00 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ipswich_Town_F.C." rel="nofollow - Ipswich Town v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Republic of Ireland , 16 October 2018
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midfielder" rel="nofollow - MF https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Ledley" rel="nofollow - Joe Ledley 23 January 1987 (age 32)774Unattachedv.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denmark_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Denmark , 9 September 2018

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - FW https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Woodburn" rel="nofollow - Ben Woodburn 15 October 1999 (age 19)102 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liverpool_F.C." rel="nofollow - Liverpool v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - FW https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyler_Roberts" rel="nofollow - Tyler Roberts 12 January 1999 (age 20)60 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leeds_United_F.C." rel="nofollow - Leeds United v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Slovakia , 24 March 2019
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forward_%28association_football%29" rel="nofollow - FW https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Lawrence" rel="nofollow - Tom Lawrence 13 January 1994 (age 25)183 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England" rel="nofollow">England   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derby_County_F.C." rel="nofollow - Derby County v.   https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinidad_and_Tobago_national_football_team" rel="nofollow - Trinidad and Tobago , 20 March 2019 WD

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 8:34pm
With no respect whatsoever, why the f**k would they pick a goalkeeper ahead of a midfielder? Or a defender, etc.

And why are only most of them available? Surely all of them should be available, otherwise you are  only undermining your own argument twice!

Ledley's career, for Wales at least, is over. Gwion Edwards is sh*te, and Lee Evans was never funny. I would imagine the others have a reason for not being in the squad, he is hardly being called up ahead of Ramsey, for example, hence why they have given one of their more promising young fellas a call-up. A quick look at the Welsh forum and there wasn't a huge amount of surprise about his call-up. There is a lot more about Taylor, who it appears has split loyalties between his Welsh mother and Scottish father.

Anyway, how many of the young Welsh players that they have capped to tie-down have not proved to be good enough for them? If they were just doing it to tie players down they would have a few flops? I am sure I remember people on here  saying they only capped Tom Lawrence to tie him down, despite the fact he wasn't eligible for anybody else, or at least he is Welsh and had no interest in playing for anybody else!
 I would say the opinion passed as fact on here, that the Welsh are just  capping lads to tie them down and we are stupid not to be doing the same, is greatly exaggerated. I would say it is as much to do with their ability and, as I mentioned, Wales' lack of depth.
In a year or so, we may well be in a similar situation as our younger players mature. Connell could be seen as an early example. He probably isn't ready, but our lack of midfielders means he may get a chance.

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 8:52pm
Wales don't have a lot of depth, but you're deluding yourself if you think that's why they've called those lads up. It's blatently a continuation of a policy Wales have been executing for 5/6 years now. Calling up Levitt is a bit like if we called up Louie Barry, and there's not a chance in hell you'd be arguing that is a "justified" call up....

Date Posted: 27 May 2019 at 9:03pm

Wales don't have a lot of depth, but you're deluding yourself if you think that's why they've called those lads up. It's blatently a continuation of a policy Wales have been executing for 5/6 years now. Calling up Levitt is a bit like if we called up Louie Barry, and there's not a chance in hell you'd be arguing that is a "justified" call up....
How many of the young players they have capped  haven't adapted to international football? They certainly have a policy of giving youth a chance and  it is nearly always been justified with hindsight. I certainly wouldn't be assuming they called Levitt up to cap him. It is most likely to give him experience as he seems to be one of the standouts of their next generation.
Taylor might be the same, although there is at least some evidence to the contrary, given he has been called up by Scotland too.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 12:25am
Grand so PM, with no respect if you prefer (just trying to avoid the trolling tenor that sometimes passes for chat on here) - but you're totally off.  

Loads of the dual and tri-nationality players Wales have capped as teens when they were playing youth are reserve football have (already) gone on to prove their worth.  

e.g.: David Brooks, now a £20 million regular in the PL and still 19/20; Ampadu, an amazing prospect and played our "experienced" boys off the pitch in Cardiff; Chris Mepham, PL regular with Bournemouth at 21; Ben Woodburn, played PL and Championship; Tyler Roberts at Leeds; Matondo, regular for Schalke in the Bundesliga; Matthew Smith, regular for Twente, rated highly by City.  Nearly all those lads are still teenagers, so will only get better.  I could go on.   Most of these would get have a good chance of getting into our 11.  

What do those lads have in common?  
- None of them are born in Wales.   
- They were all capped at senior level as teens whilst still in reserve and youth teams (Mepham at 20 in the Championship, exceptionally), and 
- they've all, already turned out to be either good, or excellent players, with loads of room to improve even further. 

If you don't think Wales don't have a clearly thought out policy here (Harry Wilson being capped at 16 with one minute to go in a game while in Liverpool's academy!), you're deluded.  

And furthermore, now, as a result of that policy, they have more depth nowadays than we do, a huge change from decades gone by.  

They certainly would not have lost the likes of Rice, Grealish and (Michael) Keane.  

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:04am
We didnt lose them ffs they defected for the pound signs. This bollix about capping ****s for the sake of it is just that, bollix. If they want to play for us and are good enough then they will win their caps. Capping players for the sake of it is Pathetic. If we ‘lose’ more players then let them f**k off, they didn't really give a sh*t in the first place. Dont give a rats what Wales or anyone else do. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:36am

We didnt lose them ffs they defected for the pound signs. This bollix about capping ****s for the sake of it is just that, bollix. If they want to play for us and are good enough then they will win their caps. Capping players for the sake of it is Pathetic. If we ‘lose’ more players then let them f**k off, they didn't really give a sh*t in the first place. Dont give a rats what Wales or anyone else do. 
HEY man get real. I think Wales policy is justified and terrific. We need a mixture of it but 5/6 new players should be capped each year. For the sake of it. International football is today's exposure and recognition.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:40am
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

PM, you're totally off.  

Loads of the dual and tri-nationality players Wales have capped as teens when they were playing youth are reserve football have (already) gone on to prove their worth.  

e.g.: David Brooks, now a £20 million regular in the PL and still 19/20; Ampadu, an amazing prospect and played our "experienced" boys off the pitch in Cardiff; Chris Mepham, PL regular with Bournemouth at 21; Ben Woodburn, played PL and Championship; Tyler Roberts at Leeds; Matondo, regular for Schalke in the Bundesliga; Matthew Smith, regular for Twente, rated highly by City.  Nearly all those lads are still teenagers, so will only get better.  I could go on.   Most of these would get have a good chance of getting into our 11.  

What do those lads have in common?  
- None of them are born in Wales.   
- They were all capped at senior level as teens (Mepham at 20) whilst still in reserve and youth teams, and 
- they've all, already turned out to be either good, or excellent players, with loads of room to improve even further. 

If you don't think Wales don't have a clearly thought out policy here (Harry Wilson being capped at 16 with one minute to go in a game while in Liverpool's academy!), you're deluded.  

And furthermore, now, as a result of that policy, they have more depth nowadays than we do.  

They certainly would not have lost the likes of Rice, Grealish and (Michael) Keane.  
I’m not sure what I am arguing against here as nearly all of that backs up my point! They are all very good footballers, that’s why they were capped. What Wales clearly have is a very good link between their youth and senior teams, something we need to address.The fact remains that all of those players mentioned, as well as the other young players not mentioned becaused they weren’t dual nationals, immediately became squad regulars. If they capped Wilson at 16 and we didn’t hear of him for a few years, you would have more of an argument. Wales have a history of capping players young, something that has become more apparent in recent years, largely as they got results from it in France. Most of that group came through together, many of them capped at seventeen, so they are going to try and repeat it and, given some of the talent mentioned, they might. 

I have no problem with us trying to follow that blueprint, but we need to have the players coming through( it looks like we will in a year or two) for that. I also think people are deliberately misunderstanding it, and exaggerating that, to suit their own ‘football manager’ type agendas of ‘losing’ players.  I have no problem capping young lads, no matter who else they are eligible for, once they are good enough or going to be good enough.

The problem, with Grealish at least, was identification and connection between the seniors and underage teams. He was clearly good enough. In the end though, he didn’t want to play for us.
Keane never wanted to play for us, so it is irrelevant.
Rice was a bit of a freak occurrence. People can talk about capping him against Moldova, but the reality is even Rice had no intention of playing for anybody else until Southgate called him up. He also seems to have been something of a late developer.

The most important thing here should always be ability and potential, not just getting them tied down.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:40am
I have absolutely no problem with throwing young dual-national players with potential on with a few minutes to go to tie them and avoid this 'will he or won't he' BS down the line. We've been far too naive with our previous policy but surely the lesson is now learned.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 4:23am
Surprised the Welsh youth go along with this cap tie business and don’t wait things out another year or two like our youth do. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 5:59am
Originally posted by cildaratown cildaratown wrote:

Surprised the Welsh youth go along with this cap tie business and don’t wait things out another year or two like our youth do. 

It's understandable. Rice played for Ireland (cause let's be honest) he didn't know how good he himself was going to be and how soon that talent would suddenly attract attention. 

I'm sure there are plenty of talented under age dual players who think that an Irish international call up will be as good as it gets. Maybe Connell is committed, but let's give him another before capping him. Let's see where his stance is if he has joined an new club and is playing a blinder. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:27am

It's understandable. Rice played for Ireland (cause let's be honest) he didn't know how good he himself was going to be and how soon that talent would suddenly attract attention. 

I'm sure there are plenty of talented under age dual players who think that an Irish international call up will be as good as it gets. Maybe Connell is committed, but let's give him another before capping him. Let's see where his stance is if he has joined an new club and is playing a blinder. 

Why wait? Then if he does defect we've completely wasted our time and a squad place that could have been used to integrate some other young player. Some people seem to think competitively capping a player like Connell would devalue the Irish shirt, but surely there can be no bigger waste and devaluation of the shirt than the time spent on and caps handed out to Rice...

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:49am
Capping him doesn't "tie" him to us. It just stops him playing for anybody else. There is no obligation for them to play for us again.

They should be capped on merit, not eligibility.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:59am

Clap as Tony Greene would say ”in one”

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:07am

Absolutely. And I don’t believe for one second or will it cross Mick’s mind in the next 2 weeks and rightly so.

We rarely beat teams convincingly enough to be taking liberties and capping them for the sake of it? We scraped by Gibraltar 2 months ago. Yes we hammered them in the past but I don’t think that’s going to happen this time.

If Connell is good enough and interested he’ll get capped in time. And that’s a big if

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:29am
Every chance Connell will be capped regardless of whether we’re trying to stop him playing for England or not. 

Whelan is needed for the full 90 vs Denmark, Josh Cullen a possible starter vs Gibraltar. An injury to either of those players and Connell is the next defensive midfielder in the team. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:44am

Every chance Connell will be capped regardless of whether we’re trying to stop him playing for England or not. 

Whelan is needed for the full 90 vs Denmark, Josh Cullen a possible starter vs Gibraltar. An injury to either of those players and Connell is the next defensive midfielder in the team. 

If Connell is still in the panel for the games, he'll be capped. As mentioned above, Whelan plays 90 mins against Denmark, I expect Cullen to start against Gibraltar. Had we gone 3 nil up against Gibraltar last time, I'd say both Byrne and Cullen would have got debuts. Not to be.

This time around, the match will be put to bed within 60 mins and Connell will then be capped.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:48am

Capping him doesn't "tie" him to us. It just stops him playing for anybody else. There is no obligation for them to play for us again.

Yes, I think you'll find that by definition, it does. If we cap him, he cannot play for any other nation, therefore he is "tied" to us. Now he could refuse to ever play for us again (which technically is a breach of FIFA rules that we could seek punishment against him for, so again you're incorrect to say no "obligation" exists), but exactly how likely is that? Stephen Ireland is the only player I can think of that has put himself into a long-term international exile having been capped, and he's from Cork! 

Even discussing "merit", it's so subjective. What sort of merit? Merit over the past month? Merit over the last year? Merit over the last decade? Merit over the week training camp...... Capping Connell and players like him could be "merited" for any number of reasons, none less so than in helping to secure the future of our national. The general consensus on here seems to be that 95% of English born players do not have Ireland as their first choice anyway, so why exactly does it matter if we cap them after 15 club appearances or 50? We are not going to be anymore their first choice after 100 club appearances than we are after 1, so all we're doing is taking the risk that England come sniffing around them.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:55am

Yes, I think you'll find that by definition, it does. If we cap him, he cannot play for any other nation, therefore he is "tied" to us. Now he could refuse to ever play for us again (which technically is a breach of FIFA rules that we could seek punishment against him for, so again you're incorrect to say no "obligation" exists), but exactly how likely is that? Stephen Ireland is the only player I can think of that has put himself into a long-term international exile having been capped, and he's from Cork! 

Even discussing "merit", it's so subjective. What sort of merit? Merit over the past month? Merit over the last year? Merit over the last decade? Merit over the week training camp...... Capping Connell and players like him could be "merited" for any number of reasons, none less so than in helping to secure the future of our national. The general consensus on here seems to be that 95% of English born players do not have Ireland as their first choice anyway, so why exactly does it matter if we cap them after 15 club appearances or 50? We are not going to be anymore their first choice after 100 club appearances than we are after 1, so all we're doing is taking the risk that England come sniffing around them.

Absolutely spot on. Connell needs to be capped against the Gib to avoid another Rice saga dragging on for 6 months. I don't think I have the patience to deal with that nonsense again. He clearly wants to be there so cap him and he'll feel part of the squad going forward.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 11:19am

Ya i agree with this thinking. If i was manager id take this type of stance. I actually think its not right to tie a young guy down just because we want him to play for us. If they want to play for us they will. If they dont or are "thinking" about it well then let them fcuk right off. Bucks like bamford i wouldnt let near the squad even. 

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 11:23am
Cap him and it’s a closed issue - no agent in his ear, no club exec thinking about his value, no PPTs from the FA.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 12:49pm

Maybe Connell is committed, but let's give him another before capping him. Let's see where his stance is if he has joined an new club and is playing a blinder.

To me that would be silly. We have the perfect scenario against Gibraltar to cap him competitively. Wasting this opportunity would be ridiculous altogether. Get it over and done with.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:05pm
Originally posted by Gerry Geary Gerry Geary wrote:

HEY man get real. I think Wales policy is justified and terrific. We need a mixture of it but 5/6 new players should be capped each year. For the sake of it. International football is today's exposure and recognition.
5/6 players each year for the sake of it? Ive always known you're on another planer but fcuk me dead you're nuts. You do realise we only play 5/6 times a year and pretty much all of those are crucial games against decent opposition. So you want to cap lads to tie them to us just in case they defect..and do it in important games? Stick to the oul racism Javier, you were actually better at it.

Posted By: JohnSwift
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:13pm
Originally posted by Mikeire Mikeire wrote:

it seems from here that we should look to cap Connell in much the same way we did with Obafemi and put this to bed.

Going forward it’s then up to the player if he wishes to play. 

I don’t think we can judge based on the limited information we have on players 

Stephen Ireland - from Cork, capped and couldn’t be bothered.
Cascarino - not even eligable, capped and wore the shirt with pride.

Rice - had he been capped competitively, who knows.

That's a myth. Cascarino was eligible.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:25pm
Mick has already stated he won't be capping for the sake of it. Which is the correct attitude

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:38pm
When do we find out if he's sticking about with the squad?

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 1:39pm
Originally posted by JohnSwift JohnSwift wrote:

it seems from here that we should look to cap Connell in much the same way we did with Obafemi and put this to bed.

Going forward it’s then up to the player if he wishes to play. 

I don’t think we can judge based on the limited information we have on players 

Stephen Ireland - from Cork, capped and couldn’t be bothered.
Cascarino - not even eligable, capped and wore the shirt with pride.

Rice - had he been capped competitively, who knows.

That's a myth. Cascarino was eligible.

Why do people still think this? Although they did sell the serialisation of the book on it to a degree. But even in the book it's made clear he was eligible. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 2:17pm

Originally posted by Gerry Geary Gerry Geary wrote:

5/6 players each year for the sake of it? Ive always known you're on another planer but fcuk me dead you're nuts. You do realise we only play 5/6 times a year and pretty much all of those are crucial games against decent opposition. So you want to cap lads to tie them to us just in case they defect..and do it in important games? Stick to the oul racism Javier, you were actually better at it.
Listen Shame...you dont know a bit...a bit....about football and England is taking your player Just for fun. You have to be proactive. MON was great and smart to cap Michael obafemi. But Rugby is sport waiting for you follow it is less complicated than football. We have to cap 5/6 Young players per year to have some depth. Gibraltar. Moldavia etc are the best scenario . Or you can stay with helping England out

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 2:18pm
Shame LOLLOL

Javier Clap

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 2:40pm
When are we playing Moldavia?

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 2:55pm
Shame LOL

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 3:32pm
Originally posted by JohnSwift JohnSwift wrote:

When are we playing Moldavia?
No we are not this term. But our strategy must be to cap one or two when we Play the minnows. FIFA is going to protect the big country. Argentina is not a big country its like Australia. Ireland are still seen as the socialists Catholics of Europe and that's not gonna change either. I mean the Basques are the same as the Irish, but they ain't a republic yet. 

sensible football says bring both Cullen and Connell in vs the rock. I will start Cullen and replace him.with Connell with 15 to go.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 4:11pm
'Socialists Catholics of Europe', I nearly choked on my f**king Hobnob. LOL

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 4:23pm

'Socialists Catholics of Europe', I nearly choked on my f**king Hobnob. LOL
space cadetLOL

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 4:26pm

Mick has already stated he won't be capping for the sake of it. Which is the correct attitude

This is bull... we’re capping players early to see if they’re serious about playing for us. 

We now know Obafemi is serious! 

5 mins at the end of a game and no more tiresome drama, the player gets international experience.

Ah stop ffs. Cap should be earned not just thrown out like confetti. (Joe Lapria)

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 4:27pm

This is bull... we’re capping players early to see if they’re serious about playing for us. 

We now know Obafemi is serious! 

5 mins at the end of a game and no more tiresome drama, the player gets international experience.

if they genuinely want to play for us they will. Jesus wept.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 5:06pm
They have to be good enough. No guarantee that Connell, or any other young English born player, are going to develop in to top players.

Willo Flood and Sean Thornton showed loads of promise. Had they been English born and only bursting on the scene now, there'd be lads calling for them to starters. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 5:20pm
QUOTE - PM "I’m not sure what I am arguing against here as nearly all of that backs up my point! They are all very good footballers, that’s why they were capped. What Wales clearly have is a very good link between their youth and senior teams, something we need to address."

PM, Harry Wilson wasn't picked at 16 to play 25 seconds for Wales at the end of a meaningless qualifier "on merit". He was picked because he had the potential to one day (not in 2013 mind) be a fantastic senior footballer (which he now is).  When he was 16, the height of his experience was the Liverpool kids side.  And that wouldn't change for a few years.  There were far better senior players "on merit" in Wales' squad.  They capped him to tie him down and avoid the loss and palaver we have.  The fact he only played for 25 seconds shows even the Welsh management weren't relying on him to do anything - they were just tying him.

It's beyond obvious PM.  

Incidentally had Rice been capped against Moldova (as he should have been) or Grealish been capped in the 8-0 comedy cake-walk against Gibralter (as he should have been), I have no doubt they would have played their hearts out for us and not looked back.  Rice is correct when he says that there is such thing as dual-heritage and those lads are proud of their Irish heritage.  It's not a question of "their hearts not in it".  It's just a new proposition came on the table that didn't exist before (i.e.: do you want to play for the WC semi-finalists who are also the country you were born in).  

Btw: we will beat Gibraltar comfortably in Dublin - it will be a very different game to the plastic-pitch airport wind-tunnel fiasco out there.  These are the games to get your Rices, Grealishs and Keanes involved in so that we're not some kind of feeder team for England. 

Other than that, your point about having a better link between our junior and senior teams is well-made.  Both MON and Trap suffered from failing to integrate fresh blood into the squad when given the opportunity.  Personally, I think there should be up to three spots in the senior squads for developmental players - lads who mightn't be good enough right now, but will be soon.  Good to see Mick do that with players like Kelleher and Connell, as he did over 20 years ago for a critical game in Bucharest with a fresh faced teenager who had yet to play senior football called Richard Dunne.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 5:21pm

They have to be good enough. No guarantee that Connell, or any other young English born player, are going to develop in to top players.

Willo Flood and Sean Thornton showed loads of promise. Had they been English born and only bursting on the scene now, there'd be lads calling for them to starters. 
now now Lenny, no common sense on here please. Instead cap everyone, caps everywhere for everyone. To get everyone capped that lads have been waxing lyrical about the last while, I propose 125 subs per game but the last 122 can only come on in the last 5 mins.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 5:45pm
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

QUOTE - PM "I’m not sure what I am arguing against here as nearly all of that backs up my point! They are all very good footballers, that’s why they were capped. What Wales clearly have is a very good link between their youth and senior teams, something we need to address."

PM, Harry Wilson wasn't picked at 16 to play 25 seconds for Wales at the end of a meaningless qualifier "on merit". He was picked because he had the potential to one day (not in 2013 mind) be a fantastic senior footballer (which he now is).  When he was 16, the height of his experience was the Liverpool kids side.  And that wouldn't change for a few years.  There were far better senior players "on merit" in Wales' squad.  They capped him to tie him down and avoid the loss and palaver we have.  The fact he only played for 25 seconds shows even the Welsh management weren't relying on him to do anything - they were just tying him.

It's beyond obvious PM.  

Incidentally had Rice been capped against Moldova (as he should have been) or Grealish been capped in the 8-0 comedy cake-walk against Gibralter (as he should have been), I have no doubt they would have played their hearts out for us and not looked back.  Rice is correct when he says that there is such thing as dual-heritage and those lads are proud of their Irish heritage.  It's not a question of "their hearts not in it".  It's just a new proposition came on the table that didn't exist before (i.e.: do you want to play for the WC semi-finalists who are also the country you were born in).  

Btw: we will beat Gibraltar comfortably in Dublin - it will be a very different game to the plastic-pitch airport wind-tunnel fiasco out there.  These are the games to get your Rices, Grealishs and Keanes involved in so that we're not some kind of feeder team for England. 

Firstly, and I can't emphasis this enough, the bit in bold needs stamping out. It's f**king ridiculous!!LOL

I think my own posting history attests to my knowledge of 'such thing' quite well. It  isn't in doubt anywhere. It also doesn't change the fact that players have a choice to make. From an ideological point of view, and if I am honest that is my sole point of view, I don't agree with capping them to tie them down. It seems unjust and reflects badly on us and our own respect for our team. I understand that other people are less moralistic in these matters.

Lets just say Wilson is an example that backs up your case, it doesn't change the fact that you are exaggerating Wales' policy to suit your argument that we should cap everybody who looks remotely capable. They may do it, but largely they have had some excellent players coming through, recent history of success in bringing young players through together and a lack of depth that makes it easier to do so.

You also have no idea of how the players themselves feel now about their decisions, or would have if they stayed,  despite claiming to understand 'dual-heritage', nobody has.It would be the same if they remained with us.  It will be as unique to them as my view of Irishness is to me or yours is to you. It is also liable to change, my view of Ireland and Irishness is different from when I was 25 and that is different from when I was 25. You have no idea if Rice would or wouldn't have regretted playing for us in five years time. All we can do is surmise. I do think it is fair to say that if Rice continued with us he would have given his all, but what would his thoughts be if he continued to develop into a top player and England won the next World Cup?
I also think I was one of the few people on here who understood and respected his decision(not looking for f**king kudos or anything there, merely saying) and pointed out it wasn't contradictory for him to care about playing for us and then choosing England. I think players should be allowed make the decision themselves without having their heads turned when they are barely old enough to vote. We will lose some, we will gain more, but it would reflect far better on us as a footballing nation.

If the players have shown the potential and ability they should be picked on those two requirements only.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 6:46pm
Not sure Cullen is good enough to get an English cap and he’s already 23. Not sure I’m worried about him. I’d cap Connell though just in case. 

With the whole Rice fiasco, it does make you think about what if the team beat Denmark at the Aviva and went to Russia. Rice is probably an Ireland player if that happened. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 7:00pm

Not sure Cullen is good enough to get an English cap and he’s already 23. Not sure I’m worried about him. I’d cap Connell though just in case. 

With the whole Rice fiasco, it does make you think about what if the team beat Denmark at the Aviva and went to Russia. Rice is probably an Ireland player if that happened. 

If Rice gets capped, I'd bet my house Luca does not get picked for the Portugal camp. He then continues his fine form post Bolton and gets called up by England and goes on to be the greatest sitting midfielder of a generation.

It's all if and buts. 

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 7:20pm
To all the Irish football masterminds here...if England Germany Scotland Portugal la France LA Suisse belgium Spain (remember bojan Bosnian) are doing so . why wouldn't little old Éire? I was against it but then I grew up with the FREAKISH GREALISH/RAW RICE 🍚 SAGA. wounded twice!
I remember when the Great magic Liam Brady was moving to Italy Juventus from Arsenal and the chairman said to Liam" r u ready to go to a different hostile country a living abroad ?" And Liam replied something like " sir I'm already in a hostile foreign country!"...thats how patronizing the English are on behalf of you...and me too

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 7:38pm
May as well start him against Denmark, many on here have stated we have next to no chance of qualifying via the group anyway! Nothing to lose.

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:21pm
FREAKISH GREALISH/RAW RICE LOLLOLLOL

I nearly spat out my dinner

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:45pm
He's heading to Dublin anyway according to his social media, so you'd imagine that means he'll be in the 23.

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:55pm
i actually think Mick is playing this one very well, not making a fuss about it but will end up capping him. the way it should be done really

Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 9:19pm
Originally posted by mully_85 mully_85 wrote:

i actually think Mick is playing this one very well, not making a fuss about it but will end up capping him. the way it should be done really

straight from the brian clough school of management 

Shocked

Posted By: eddiebro
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 7:11am
Anybody suggesting any of our second or third generation English born players wouldn’t be screaming god save the Queen if they were good enough are delusional. Cap Connell, he seems keen now, it’s within both our interest and his career now. The days of republican like loyalty are over, so outdated.

Posted By: Gabrieléire
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 7:28am
Originally posted by eddiebro eddiebro wrote:

Anybody suggesting any of our second or third generation English born players wouldn’t be screaming god save the Queen if they were good enough are delusional. Cap Connell, he seems keen now, it’s within both our interest and his career now. The days of republican like loyalty are over, so outdated.

Are you sure? Callum O'Dowda, Aiden O'Brien, Ronan Curtis? 

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 8:20am
Originally posted by Gabrieléire Gabrieléire wrote:

Yea im with Gabrieleire on this . theirs plenty of players who wouldn't have a second thought about playing for anyone else. 

Posted By: Gabrieléire
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 8:25am
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Originally posted by Gabrieléire Gabrieléire wrote:

Yea im with Gabrieleire on this . theirs plenty of players who wouldn't have a second thought about playing for anyone else. 

I can understand where people come from regarding some 2nd gen and 3rd, but to say all of them is ridiculous. Richard Keogh too is another one. 

Sean Maguire was born in Luton, anyone know how long he lived their for? I don't even consider him as a 2nd gen player for us. 

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 8:43am
He should be nowhere near a senior cap lads. Capping him for the sake of it isn't the way to go

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 9:48am
Cap him to put the discussion to bed or this thread will be lighting up like a Christmas tree until September Dead

Posted By: Ecumenical Matter
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 10:27am
I would cap Connell against Gib. At the moment we are the only country to have given him a taste of international football so its entirely legitimate to secure him for the future. If he turns out to be good enough for England then we will have got ourselves a really good player. If he turns out not to be then he is losing nothing.  If he ends up not being good enough for Ireland either, he will at least have a cap.  

One way or the other we can’t go through another grealish or rice saga. 

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 11:13am
Originally posted by Ecumenical Matter Ecumenical Matter wrote:

I would cap Connell against Gib. At the moment we are the only country to have given him a taste of international football so its entirely legitimate to secure him for the future. If he turns out to be good enough for England then we will have got ourselves a really good player. If he turns out not to be then he is losing nothing.  If he ends up not being good enough for Ireland either, he will at least have a cap.  

One way or the other we can’t go through another grealish or rice saga. 

I have to agree with you. If Connell gets a big move during the summer, the speculation will gather pace that he might defect to England (irrespective of whether there is any truth in it).  The four competitive games in the autumn are going to be extremely challenging (Swiss at home, Georgia and Swiss away, and then the Danes at home).  There won't be much scope to cap him then. Why not take the pragmatic approach and cap him against Gibraltar and avoid the endless speculation that we endured in the cases of Grealish and Rice.

Posted By: howieb
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 11:47am
Cap him end of.  Can't afford to keep losing these players . There will be no discussion after next week if we cap him . 

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 12:13pm
Bring him on for Cullen / Whelan vs Gibraltar, last 15/20 mins when the game is put to bed imo

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 12:21pm
Would be my way of looking at it.
Cap him in a game when the 3points are secured and safe
If he turns into a world beater great, if not, feck all lost

Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 12:22pm
With his locks Ithink he would be foolish to take a cap.