URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56871
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 11:12pm

Topic: Little Things That Make Life Better
Subject: Little Things That Make Life Better
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 1:16am
The antithesis to the 'trivial things that annoy you' thread! What little things make life more enjoyable?

The return of the black squirrel after hibernation brightened my day today. I love the little buggers.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 1:19am
That’s a new name for man united fans, black squirrels

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 6:44am

Big smileBig smileBig smile

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 8:37am
A freshly ironed shirt and a laundered slack

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 8:42am
A packet of baby wipes beside you after a good heavy dump

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 8:48am
Sticking on new socks.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 8:56am

Sticking on new socks.

very strange ........why stick them , surely better to put them on ? Confused

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 9:24am
Freshly cut grass
A shower and fresh clothes
Nottingham Forest being beaten
Tea
Randomly coming across a late night film on tv and getting absorbed in it.  TRON.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 9:26am

Freshly cut grass
A shower and fresh clothes
Nottingham Forest being beaten
Tea
Randomly coming across a late night film on tv and getting absorbed in it.  TRON.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 9:49am
I have about a half hour drive home from work from about 5pm and I genuinely love this time of year seeing the evenings getting longer. Looking forward to the long nights from April!

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:01am
Empty public transport on the way home from work.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:05am
Leaves just coming through on the trees at this time of year . Good bye Winter hello Spring .

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:10am
The cold side of the pillow and a perfectly cooked pot noodle

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:12am
The smell of a turf fire on the breeze when your heading out to the sticks for a few days off Clap

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:13am
Having just read this page, I had to double check the url to make sure this is actually ybig.  

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:15am
Having a laugh

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:18am
When the bottom of the Cornetto doesn’t break before you open it,
or while you open it.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:23am

Classic Vaggio.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:24am
When you let a really smelly fart and you sniff it before you walk away proudly and watch people's reaction.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:33am
Sitting in a nice warm living room with your feet up watching TV with a cup of tea and the rain beating against the window

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:50am
When you wake up and go to make coffee and you Mother in Law tells you she’s made it already.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 10:57am
Pints

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:10am

When you wake up and go to make coffee and you Mother in Law tells you she’s made it already.

The mother in law lives with you?
How the hell does that make life better.....

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:10am
Having a wank in the office 

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:12am
The dog greeting you in the morning. He wags his tail so much his whole arse is goes from side to side.
Get the same reaction if you leave the room for 2 minutes.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:13am

Nah, just when she visits. And I like my MIL!

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:19am

You like her enough to throw wan into her ?

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:28am
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

a perfectly cooked pot noodle

LOL LOL LOL LOL

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:30am

MILILF 

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 11:48am

Having a wank in the office 

The dole office? 

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2019 at 12:50pm
Lo Scienziato, you spelt that wrong. It's 'orifice'.

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2019 at 6:29am
Getting into a cold bed.

The late sunsets in the Irish summer. Havent been home for a summer in a few years and you'd definitely miss the late sunsets.

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 1:50pm
This thread proves bad news is far more enjoyable, and will die a fast death. While the things that annoyt the fook thread will last the ages

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 2:56pm
The smell of freshly cut grass

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 2:58pm

The spell of freshly cut grass
You don’t have hay fever, do you? 

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 3:52pm

The spell of freshly cut grass
You don’t have hay fever, do you? 

Grr predictive text on phones meant smell.

And no I don't have hayfever I'd imagine it's hell for sufferers

Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 4:17pm
I'd imagine it's hay myself

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 9:12pm
Turning over in the bed. You put it off cause yer too lazy, but once youve acconplushed it: bliss 

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 11:08am
The w**kers shouting at the BBC in Westminster, it is both amusing and reassuring at the same time.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 10:40pm
The sound of the tide drifting in and out 

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 10:51pm
Frankie Boyle.

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:07pm
a cold Irn Blu
a good book
Laurel & Hardy
long walks in the countryside
old photographs
Runrig
the stillness of a forest
Mhairi Black
big sexy Mick McCarthy

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:12pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

a cold Irn Blu
a good book
Laurel & Hardy
old photographs
Runrig
Mhairi Black
big sexy Mick McCarthy

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:20pm

If Big Mick and I were coal miners together in the 1920s, the roof gave in and we were trapped underground certain to die, I wouldn't be scared at all. 

Not with Mick's big safe, strong arms wrapped round me and him whispering in my ear "ssshhh it's alright lad, it's alright" Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:37pm

a cold Irn Blu
a good book
Laurel & Hardy
old photographs
Runrig
Mhairi Black
big sexy Mick McCarthy
It's sh*te now.

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:40pm

If Big Mick and I were coal miners together in the 1920s, the roof gave in and we were trapped underground certain to die, I wouldn't be scared at all. 

Not with Mick's big safe, strong arms wrapped round me and him whispering in my ear "ssshhh it's alright lad, it's alright" Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:41pm

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 11:50pm

It's sh*te now.

It's probably just me but I don't think the "new flavour" is that bad if you have it with some ice. That really improves it I find.

Saying that, I would gladly pay more for it if they re-introduced the old formula again. 

There's actually a wee black market going where people have got their hands on the "pre-sugar tax" stuff and are selling it at good profit !

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 8:36am
Does Irn-Bru taste anything like Lucozade? 

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 9:48am

Frankie Boyle.

Is he still mocking disabled kids?

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 10:21am

Frankie Boyle.

Is he still mocking disabled kids?
Does Michael Gove count?

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 10:21am
yokes

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 11:10am

Hard to describe the taste.  Some say its like licking sh*te off your dogs arse. Others say it tastes like bubblegum. 

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 11:32am

yokes

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 1:39pm
Putting in the leccy code right first time on a baltic night Clap

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 2:50pm
Picking up your coat to get your keys from the pocket and they’re in the first pocket you try Clap

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 3:14pm
The Marx brothers.
Youtube. For all its faults almost whatever you look up however obscure is there.
Woody Allen's early films. Pre Annie Hall.They're hilarious.
The music of Kate Bush circa 1978-85.
Chocolate.
Humphrey Bogart's best films.
Seinfeld. Seasons 3-8.
The first taste of a freezing cold coca cola when you're very thirsty on a hot day.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 7:29pm
Originally posted by TonyNotJack TonyNotJack wrote:

The Marx brothers.
Youtube. For all its faults almost whatever you look up however obscure is there.
Chocolate.
Seinfeld. Seasons 3-8.
The first taste of a freezing cold coca cola when you're very thirsty on a hot day.
There are some fine suggestions there. I think Woody's great films didn't stop at Annie Hall, itself a fine film. I loved 'Manhattan', 'Purple Rose of Cairo'  and 'Scenes From a Mall', the last one in particular.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 7:53pm
Jesus I destest Woody Allen.
Cant watch a minute of his films with his whiny voice.

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 8:02pm

The Marx brothers.
Chocolate.
Seinfeld. Seasons 3-8.
There are some fine suggestions there. I think Woody's great films didn't stop at Annie Hall, itself a fine film. I loved 'Manhattan', 'Purple Rose of Cairo'  and 'Scenes From a Mall', the last one in particular.

I agree, PM. He did a lot of great films including and after that, but none of them were as out and out funny as the early ones. I think that's why he put that scene in Stardust Memories where the guy says to him "I preferred your earlier funny films." He definitely, I'd say had that encounter more than once in real life. As great as some of his later ones were none were as hilarious as 'Bananas' 'Love And Death' 'Sleeper' 'Play It again, Sam' and 'Take The Money And Run'.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 10:00pm

Nah , more like red lemonade.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 11:12pm
Fleetwood Mac especially after Buckingham and Nicks joined

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 6:27am

Nah , more like red lemonade.

It tastes more like Cream Soda. 

Can you even get that drink now?  Haven't seen it in years.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 7:37am

Barr's - the company that makes Irn-Bru - still make cream soda. Most newsagents and supermarkets in the West of Scotland stock it if your ever interested in trying a can.

On the subject of people and things that make life better I greatly enjoyed the Dave Allen highlights and documentary last night. What a wonderfully funny man and a great storyteller, suave as hell too. A great Irishman Clap

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 11:40am
A perfect pint of the black stuff when you are really looking forward for a sup

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 11:50am

Barr's - the company that makes Irn-Bru - still make cream soda. Most newsagents and supermarkets in the West of Scotland stock it if your ever interested in trying a can.

On the subject of people and things that make life better I greatly enjoyed the Dave Allen highlights and documentary last night. What a wonderfully funny man and a great storyteller, suave as hell too. A great Irishman Clap
Lots of small newsagents across the south of England still stock the full Barr's range. There seems to be a correlation between them stocking porn magazines and having a full range of soft drinks. I suppose it is thirsty work, especially if you haven't found the internet. Those magazines may be making a comeback though!

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 12:00pm

Lots of small newsagents across the south of England still stock the full Barr's range. There seems to be a correlation between them stocking porn magazines and having a full range of soft drinks. I suppose it is thirsty work, especially if you haven't found the internet. Those magazines may be making a comeback though!

So you could call them soft-porn shops?

Speaking of these types of shops in England, who buys porn anymore??  Magazines are dead.  Even Eason's have a small magazine section now.  I'd be surprised if Eason's survive the next decade.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 3:23pm

Speaking of these types of shops in England, who buys porn anymore??  Magazines are dead.  Even Eason's have a small magazine section now.  I'd be surprised if Eason's survive the next decade.

I hear ya and unless they're savvy they could be fcuked. But fact is, people still love physical books. 

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 3:29pm
AFAIK Easons still have the agency for distributing English newspapers in Ireland.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 4:49pm

I hear ya and unless they're savvy they could be fcuked. But fact is, people still love physical books. 
If the proposed new laws come into force here a lot more people will be having a hidden stash of magazines.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 5:47pm
Kerry losing football matches Clap

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 9:20pm

The Marx brothers.
Chocolate.
Seinfeld. Seasons 3-8.

If you've a can in the fridge, put it in the freezer for about 25 minutes. You want to get it until *just* before it starts to get even a bit slushy. I find about 20 minutes is grand, over 30 is risky. 25 is usually good.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 11:10am

Good stuff !

Barr's own brand of lemonade is delicious too.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 11:17am
A proper good shoite, I don’t mean the morning after Guinness wan, Just the good oul healthy solid wan that doesn’t cause a fuss just takes a few flushes to clear off

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 3:30pm
A proper pint of stout.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 4:10pm
When the fella’s in Wuhan don’t order the bat burger after a night out on the sauce 

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 4:23pm

A proper pint of stout.

8 proper pints of stout.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 5:16pm

When the fella’s in Wuhan don’t order the bat burger after a night out on the sauce 
Apart from the awful misuse of the apostrophe, this is dangerous nonsense to keep spreading. It is very unlikely that it came from someone eating a bat, as funny as it seems to some people. This has lead to an increase of racism against people of Chinese and East Asian background.

https://www.livescience.com/covid-19-did-not-start-at-wuhan-wet-market.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.livescience.com/covid-19-did-not-start-at-wuhan-wet-market.html

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-must-not-let-fear-of-covid-19-turn-us-against-our-asian-community-1.4216977" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-must-not-let-fear-of-covid-19-turn-us-against-our-asian-community-1.4216977

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 7:01pm

Apart from the awful misuse of the apostrophe, this is dangerous nonsense to keep spreading. It is very unlikely that it came from someone eating a bat, as funny as it seems to some people. This has lead to an increase of racism against people of Chinese and East Asian background.

https://www.livescience.com/covid-19-did-not-start-at-wuhan-wet-market.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.livescience.com/covid-19-did-not-start-at-wuhan-wet-market.html

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-must-not-let-fear-of-covid-19-turn-us-against-our-asian-community-1.4216977" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-must-not-let-fear-of-covid-19-turn-us-against-our-asian-community-1.4216977

Welcome back PM. 

It’s hardly ‘dangerous’ to throw up a joke on YBIG. 

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 8:21pm

Welcome back PM. 

Maybe so. An abberant apostrophe, however; that's a whole other matter...

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2020 at 8:44pm
There's a lit of things that could go on this list that you wouldn't have considered 6 months ago.

Going to work on a Monday morning would nearly go on this list at this stage

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2020 at 12:17am
Being Irish makes everything better. Were a great tribe. Go home yank 😂

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2020 at 7:26am

Welcome back PM. 

I would disagree. Continuously perpetuating something that has no basis in truth, that leads to racis attacks, regardless of the platform, can only be described as dangerous. 
In many ways this is a perfect analogy for racism as a whole: the Wuhan story, like race, was constructed on underdeveloped pseudoscience as a narrative that suited powerful people in the West and is now believed to be true. It is like why you had some f**king idiot on here last week claiming the Irish weren't a race so McClean couldn't get racist abuse.

Again, that's without mentioning that the joke was sh*te or the f**king apostrophe. 

Posted By: WillieB
Date Posted: 22 Jul 2020 at 9:15am
her armpit between her legs LOL

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2020 at 12:40pm
Chilli Cashews, unbelievable Clap

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2020 at 8:14pm
I mean this is so little its almost insignificant but so rewarding at the same time.

When you're looking for something in your jacket thats hung up and find it in the first pocket you try Embarrassed

Posted By: Olaf
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2020 at 8:43pm
The first bit of air you breath in after removing your face mask after shopping. 

Some people are worth melting for.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2020 at 10:56pm
Originally posted by Olaf Olaf wrote:

The first bit of air you breath in after removing your face mask after shopping. 
Are you using a cellophane bag?

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2020 at 5:35pm
Wore a mask to the shop earlier and had the stuff put away before I realised it was still in. There are some snowflakes out there!

Posted By: Olaf
Date Posted: 02 Aug 2020 at 8:18pm

Wore a mask to the shop earlier and had the stuff put away before I realised it was still in. There are some snowflakes out there!

Try wearing it all day... not simply a 15 minute jaunt  around the shop.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2020 at 8:50pm

I do when I'm  in work. I really don't understand how anyone could have a problem. If you have a problem wearing a mask you probably should be getting medical attention, with exceptions for those with autism and other mental health conditions. 

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2020 at 9:06pm
Sachets of vinegar

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2020 at 9:07pm
As a crack formula 1 driver I don't like being told to wear a helmet all day so I race without one.  I'll take my chances if I hit a concrete wall at 250mph thank you very much

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2020 at 9:14am

As a crack formula 1 driver I don't like being told to wear a helmet all day so I race without one.  I'll take my chances if I hit a concrete wall at 250mph thank you very much
If people genuinely can't breathe or feel restricted from wearing a mask then they really need the help of healthcare professionals! I would rather not wear one, of course, but the mindset behind this is absolutely f**king mental. Even if you don't believe anyone at all has ever had Covid, or that it was caused by Huawei 5G and chemtrails, and if you do you also need help from the same professionals, it's just basic respect to other people. 
How f**king sensitive do you have to be to be put out by a strip of cloth? f**king snowflakes!

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2020 at 9:33am

But you have always worn a mask at work

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2020 at 11:28am

I do when I'm  in work. I really don't understand how anyone could have a problem. If you have a problem wearing a mask you probably should be getting medical attention, with exceptions for those with autism and other mental health conditions. 

I don't mind wearing a mask to the shops at all. I thought the little fella my be scared but he thinks it is funny.

My wife has to wear a mask for her 12.5hr shifts in the hospital and she says it's lovely taking it off after a shift. It is warm in the labour ward though so that might be why.

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2020 at 1:05pm
I bet it is! But the fact that she can do it for 12.5 hours without much complaint shows what we are up against. Most of these eejits are probably anti-vaccination too! Or as I recently saw them called: pro-death.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2020 at 5:11pm
Picking up the phone and pretending your on a call when you see someone coming towards you in work that you think is a w**ker, just so you don't have to make small talk Clap

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2020 at 7:16pm

Picking up the phone and pretending your on a call when you see someone coming towards you in work that you think is a w**ker, just so you don't have to make small talk Clap

Unless it rings 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2020 at 10:11pm
Cup of tea and a bit of chocolate when watching tv. 

Feeling fresh after a shower.

Putting on a new pair of socks.

Feeling slightly sore after exercising or gym