URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56846
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 3:13pm

Topic: Nottingham Forest under Martin O-Nil / Fallout Boy
Subject: Nottingham Forest under Martin O-Nil / Fallout Boy
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 7:36pm
Preparing this thread for the train wreck that will occur down the tracks for the gruesome twosome.

On Live on Sky tonight away to West Brom. 8pm KO.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 7:52pm
Think they could be in for a hammering tonight

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 8:10pm
Martin O’Neill football genius

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 8:10pm
Winning 1 nil LOLLOLLOL there’s already a Martin O Neill thread. Embarrassed

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 8:35pm
but, wait If MON is a genius that means we're ....................................complete and other sh1tttttShocked

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:20pm
1-1 currently

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:21pm

Forest got a poxy O.G.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:24pm

Forest got a poxy O.G. Yeah an when I posted there some people were moanin it was in the ROI section

Arrgh Forest 2-1 up now.  Shoddy shoddy shoddy workmanship.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:52pm
2-2 FT

You’re one sad f**k LOL

2-2 FT

Don't quit the day job TJ 

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:53pm

2-2 FT

Never a penalty.Terrible decision.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 9:55pm

You’re one sad f**k LOL

Yes.  My sole purpose is to see that villain MON brought to justice for his sh*te football.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 10:15pm
The thread title Embarrassed

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 4:15pm
Had a look at their recent results a mixed bag but wasn't sure of which one was his first game? 

How's the O'Neill and Keane reunion gone down with Forest fans?

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 5:20pm

Had a look at their recent results a mixed bag but wasn't sure of which one was his first game? 

How's the O'Neill and Keane reunion gone down with Forest fans?

Most are hopeful that they will do well under MON.   Most willing to give him a chance. Already a few giving out about the style of play being industrious and so far MON has failed to pick their most creative midfield player in any of his 4 games which has gone down with bemusement.  They seemed happy enough with their last performance against West Brom. Thei roevious game against Birmingham was meant to have been a sh*t show though.  They lost that 2-0.

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 5:22pm
Martin O'Nil ffs LOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2019 at 12:35pm
only noticed the 0-Nil just thought it was a typo, brilliant LOL LOL

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 6:04pm

Living up to his name. Stalemate today for Martin O-Nil

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 6:59pm

A good point given Preston's form. Cost me a nice bet too.

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:12pm

Particularly as Forest don't have the players they used to, and haven't for quite some considerable time you know. A young Nigel Clough would be a huge benefit to scoring goals, huge.

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:16pm

Now now PM don't be upsetting TJ's narrative LOL 

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:23pm
Originally posted by whitesideOnside whitesideOnside wrote:

Particularly as Forest don't have the players they used to, and haven't for quite some considerable time you know. A young Nigel Clough would be a huge benefit to scoring goals, huge.

Yes they haven't the players.  He's working miracles with them really.  If only he had a young Nigel Clough and Franz Carr. 

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:28pm

Now now PM don't be upsetting TJ's narrative LOL 

These wild accusations that I am somehow anti MON are both hurtful and wide of the mark given how I have always stood up for him when he was EIRE manager

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:39pm
It seems they had a good goal disallowed too.

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:44pm
Happy Days...

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2019 at 7:48pm

It seems they had a good goal disallowed too.

Shane Duffy header?

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2019 at 12:32am
2 wins, 2 draws, 2 defeats, mid table mediocrity. 

Suits him down to the ground.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2019 at 2:20am

2 wins, 2 draws, 2 defeats, mid table mediocrity. 

Suits him down to the ground.
Think its only 1 win

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 7:27pm
Martin O-Nil's Nottingham Forest playing Frank Lampard's Derby County live on Sky Sports Hoofball at 7.45pm.

Trap Junior's Score prediction:   0-0

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 7:59pm
That prediction lasted long
Forest scored in the first minute 

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:00pm

That prediction lasted long
Forest scored in the first minute 

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:03pm
Martin Clap

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:12pm
Forest are looking very well motivated, classic stage 1.

Stage 2 : more motivation

Stage 3 : some more............motivation

Stage 4 : Roy Keane calls someone a coont.

Stage 5 : Does the emperor have no clothes? 

Stage 6 : wheels come off/pay off...they're off

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:17pm
Forest with 27% possession at homeCool

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:27pm
At this moment in time they are 3 points from a playoff spot. I wouldn't be surprised if this cowboy gets them promoted.

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:29pm

At this moment in time they are 3 points from a playoff spot. I wouldn't be surprised if this cowboy gets them promoted.

The meltdown from TJ would be something else LOL

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 8:38pm

Karanka had them in the top 6.  They have regressed under Radioactive Man and Fallout Boy

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:10pm

Karanka had them in the top 6.  They have regressed under Radioactive Man and Fallout Boy

He may have but they are currently 1 point closer to the playoffs than they were when Karanka left them Big smile

According to wiki...

Nottingham Forest

On 8 January 2018, Karanka returned to the Championship after being appointed as manager of https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nottingham_Forest_F.C." rel="nofollow - Nottingham Forest . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aitor_Karanka#cite_note-ForestIn-28" rel="nofollow - [28] One year and three days later, he departed the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_Ground" rel="nofollow - City Ground after having asked to be released from his contract; he left the team in seventh position, four points behind the play-off places. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aitor_Karanka#cite_note-29" rel="nofollow - [29]

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:21pm
I see that Waghorn coont is still a sneaky little rat

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:47pm
That Lolly lad looks a decent player

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:51pm

That Lolly lad looks a decent player

He hasn't a lick of pace

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 9:59pm
Gets himself out of some sticky situations sweet right foot too

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:00pm

Gets himself out of some sticky situations sweet right foot too

Was getting plenty of stick off the Derby fans

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:05pm

Karanka was sacked for not being in the playoff positions!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:05pm
Well not to sugar coat it but he is loved by the merrymen anyway he seems to get plenty of confection of them

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2019 at 10:42pm

Well not to sugar coat it but he is loved by the merrymen anyway he seems to get plenty of confection of them

Rumour has it the toffees are after him

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2019 at 4:54pm
Lost 2-0 to Stoke today who are barootal!   Where is that clown UWally today?LOL

Played absolutely turgid stuff according to their fans forum.  Most of their performances have been under the gruesome twosome.  Puts their 'big win' against Derby into some context today who are getting hammered 4-0 by Villa.

Default Re: MATCHDAY 35: Stoke City v Nottingham Forest

This is turgid.

This is dog sh*t.

Need to change things up and try and grasp the opportunity.

Please don't leave it too late.....

Game over. If there was ever evidence that our season is over it's today.. wind behind us and we created nothing at all. Second half much the same. Stoke on a crap run of form yet we allow them all the time in the world and a chance to gain confidence. Tactics, players, selection whatever the reason, today has been lacklustre mid- table sh*te

We'll lose this 3-0.

Turgid football - check
No creativity - check
No possession - check
Interviews that say 'we need to hold onto the ball better' - check
Roy Keane getting in trouble already - check

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2019 at 12:59pm
Its all gone very quiet from my forum friends

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2019 at 1:17pm
LOL some slithers on here alright TJ

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2019 at 4:52pm
Stunning performance today Clap

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2019 at 5:19pm
I just got word that Hull City had a swine flu epidemic and had to field their U-12s to avoid being docked points for a no show

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2019 at 5:21pm
MON Clap

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 8:18pm
2-1 down currently.  Agent Marty winning the fans over though

Default Re: Matchday 37: Nottingham Forest vs Aston Villa

What the f**k have we been working on in training we could get hammered here!

Literally can't string 2 passes together

This is proper hoofball nonsense

Only one of these teams looks like they've played together before.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 8:53pm

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 8:58pm
TJ posting on the Forest boards now.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 9:05pm
3-1 to Villa currently

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 9:07pm

TJ posting on the Forest boards now.

They will all be TJs after a few more games of hoofball

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 9:11pm

3-1 to Villa currently
DM?

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2019 at 9:17pm
2 points dropped today against bottom of the table Ipswich.  Absailing down the league table.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2019 at 11:26am
Oh dear.  The Forest fans just seem to be realising now that MON isn't all that he is made out to be by the British media.  All the articulation and tipping the glasses up the bridge of the nose portrayed the image of intelligence and sophistication.  Underneath it all beats the heart of a neanderthal.

Default Re: It's Martin !

How do you reckon O'Neill's interview went where he "blew away" Marinakis? I think I've unearthed a transcript:

EM: Welcome, Martin. What is your plan to get this club promoted? I just fired the guy who had us in seventh, so you need to give a detailed plan on how you will improve on that. I'm only offering you an 18-month contract so you need to deliver this immediately.

MON: Well, you know that record signing you just spent £13m on? I'm going to stick him on the bench. And that £6m club top scorer? Him too. Murphy is the complete player and should play over him.

EM: OK, tell me more.

MON: What this club needs to be is more ruthless and dispatch the weaker sides consistently. I'm going to do this by playing three defensive midfielders against the team that's bottom of the league and tell the full backs not to go beyond the half way line as well.

EM: Genius! We'll be in the big league in no time!

MON: One last thing. I've taken a look at the data you sent over and I see the squad has been moulded by the last two managers to play 4-2-3-1 and focus on a possession game. I'm going to immediately switch to 4-4-2 because it worked in the 90s and get them all to lump the ball up to the pacy Irishman we've got up top.

EM: Hired!

Quote Originally Posted by Gingers Across the Midfield http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2960507#post2960507" rel="nofollow">View Post
I suspect a change in the summer if we continue this wimper. Which tbf I wouldn’t really be arsed about.

Speaking very passionately on Radio Nottm now
He does speak very well. But what he says seems to contradict what he serves out on the field.

He started talking about needing wins and to ride the crest of a wave, then he proceeded to put teams out that are set up to sit in and not give anything away, as opposed to go for wins and build momentum.

He's got it all so wrong.

http://www.forestforum.co.uk/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=2960511" rel="nofollow">Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Stone's Mullet http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2960511#post2960511" rel="nofollow">View Post
He does speak very well. But what he says seems to contradict what he serves out on the field.

He started talking about needing wins and to ride the crest of a wave, then he proceeded to put teams out that are set up to sit in and not give anything away, as opposed to go for wins and build momentum.

He's got it all so wrong.
I agree to an extent, I didn't particularly like his appointment, which is probably colouring my bias, his insistence on playing with 3 sitters in midfield is maddening, none of those 3 are attacking in nature, its unnecessary, especially when we have gifted attacking midfielders like Carvalho riding the bench every week, I would like MoN to be successful, but I just don't see it with the tactics hes been using, we were playing better under Karanka and I think if Marinakis has been watching the games, he would realise we have taken a step back in terms of performances on the pitch, whilst we werent brilliant under AK, we were pretty good, with the only bad run of form coming with major personnel issues in defence, due to injuries and suspension

One line of defence that I keep reading is that O'Neill does not have the players he needs for his style of football and that, if he is properly backed he will perform miracles. That defence begs two sets of questions, however:

a) What exactly is that style of football?
b) Is that style more suited to a promotion push? Is it pleasing to the eye? Both? Neither?

It's a bit too easy to blame it all on recruitment, I'm afraid.

Quote Originally Posted by GreeksBearingGifts http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2960848#post2960848" rel="nofollow">View Post
One line of defence that I keep reading is that O'Neill does not have the players he needs for his style of football and that, if he is properly backed he will perform miracles. That defence begs two sets of questions, however:

a) What exactly is that style of football?
b) Is that style more suited to a promotion push? Is it pleasing to the eye? Both? Neither?

It's a bit too easy to blame it all on recruitment, I'm afraid.
Yeah it's wishful thinking, people want him to be successful because he's a very likeable person and maybe assume that because he took Leicester out of this league 20 odd years ago he's better suited than others to do it again now, perhaps he is? But I don't think so, I see no evidence that the style will change from anything other than it was at Ireland, despite people arguing that Ireland only played that way due to the players they had at their disposal.

The style can only really be judged subjectively but I can't really understand why anyone would enjoy watching it, it's not entertaining or pleasing on the eye and given the amount of times you see people quote Clough's "if God had wanted us to play football in the clouds he'd have put grass up there." and how often people said how sh*t it'd be to watch Warnock or Rowett football I can only assume people are putting their opinions on style aside because its Martin O'Neill. If it was Gary Rowett in the hot seat there'd be a lot more on here criticising the play style.

It's not more suited to a promotion push either, not with the players we have. It's taken a squad that was assembled for one thing and asking it to do something completely different.

The recruitment is to blame but not the recruitment of players, the recruitment of the manager.

Last edited by Heffing Psycho!; Today at 11:44.
http://www.forestforum.co.uk/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=2960910" rel="nofollow">Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Default Re: Matchday 38: Ipswich Town vs Nottingham Forest

Quote Originally Posted by eugenboppboppbopp http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2960707#post2960707" rel="nofollow">View Post
We were hardly playing champagne football under AK.

You cretin

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Certainly not champagne football but you can't really argue that it wasn't considerably easier on the eye than our current agricultural hoofball.

Unless you're .........a cretin?

http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=47546&page=85

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 7:33pm
Another outstanding comeback today. Martin Clap

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2019 at 8:46pm

Just some posts from a long line of complaints from Forest fans about MON and his hoofball.  Fluked a win today playing absolute Dinoball.  And they were so positive about his appointment only a month ago and now its full scale outrage at this dinosaur.LOL

Default Re: Matchday 39: Nottingham Forest vs Swansea City

Quote Originally Posted by Harvey http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964789#post2964789" rel="nofollow">View Post
We were sh*t and got lucky. Not that I mind.
This.

Deliberately boring, negative football for 70mins to stifle the opposition and set up our own limited but effective goal scoring talent is at least a plan.

Today Forest looked flat flooted and confused as to what they were meant to do for most the game. We controlled nothing.

Beni2 did well. Lolls for the corners. Pants made a save 2nd half. The rest of the starting XI were awful.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Stone's Mullet http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964796#post2964796" rel="nofollow">View Post
Can't believe the lack of faith he has in pro footballers to pass the ball to each other to be honest.

He was talking like these lads don't have the ability to pass and move, and until then, you need to be over 6'0 to have a ride. Someone want to post that goal again where everyone passed the ball in the team for about 23 passes and show it to him?
That seems like years ago. We are the antithesis of that now.

Just heard MON interview were he says we need more physicality. Jesus wept. The reason we won today is because, compared to Swansea, we are a big physical team who outmuscled them at set pieces. Sounds like we’re going full hoof.

Quote Originally Posted by gamble http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964826#post2964826" rel="nofollow">View Post
Can you not remeber games like Rotherham at home, Millwall, Birmingham we've been awful at home this season and the results have shown it, we've scored 1 goal this season where we've been playing lovely football every other game we relied on an individual moment of brilliance from Lolley, Cash, Carvalho and Grabban.

Even away from home where performances were far better we didn't play nice passing football it was well planned counter attacking football, the Leeds and Boro games classic examples of this, we took the lead and then stopped the opposition playing which is exactly what MON is doing at home and surprise surprise its working.
We're not awful at home now? We're still just hanging around outside the playoffs, there's a clear different style of play which is bloody awful and earning similar amount of points per game to karanka. I'm not saying MoN is doing badly, he's doing fine but i don't buy into this whole mentality that he's getting anything extra out of this team than Karanka did.

That was piss poor, only when Carvalho & Pele came on we looked like we attempted to pass the ball.

We have quality players Martin, use them FFS. Even if you don't rate Carvalho, he should be in this bloody team. EVERYBODY can see it (even the ones that for some reason hate him). He makes those around him much better too, you can see as soon as Carvalho comes on a weight is lifted off Lolley's shoulders and we have some attacking intent - the same happened against Preston.

We should be playing 4-2-3-1 with Pele & Colback sitting and Carvalho ahead of them as 1st choice. Enough with the tinkering of midfielders, play your best ones. I like Yates but he's not going to win us any matches at the moment, and Watson is Watson (who I didn't even think was bad today, but he's just unnessesery in there, we don't need him).

But by luck or judgement a win is a win and that's all you want at this stage of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by gamble http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964826#post2964826" rel="nofollow">View Post
Can you not remeber games like Rotherham at home, Millwall, Birmingham we've been awful at home this season and the results have shown it, we've scored 1 goal this season where we've been playing lovely football every other game we relied on an individual moment of brilliance from Lolley, Cash, Carvalho and Grabban.

Even away from home where performances were far better we didn't play nice passing football it was well planned counter attacking football, the Leeds and Boro games classic examples of this, we took the lead and then stopped the opposition playing which is exactly what MON is doing at home and surprise surprise its working.
The difference is we tried to play football and pass the ball in those games. Poor performances yes, strong defending yes, but not the cynical and destructive anti football we’re having to endure now. I just felt angry after the first half today, even though I consoled myself by watching Swansea who were trying to make a game of it and played some good stuff.

I know we say that results are everything, but in reality it can’t be at all costs. There has to be some set of values and a sense of soul to watching a football club, otherwise what’s the point.

We were awful for 80 minutes against a good footballing side. The positives are we are scoring goals again from corners, under MON, we do defend better too....we need to find a winger like the Swansea number 20, he was very good all afternoon.

Anyway did anybody hear MON's post match interview on BBC Radio Nottingham? Very honest and very positive. He accepted we weren't good today but said he knows what's doing and we will get better. His post match interviews are so good.

MON has been employed to get results and maybe build for next season
The future of MON is in MONs hands.

I’m happy with the direction of the club, not happy with the continued negative frankly sh*t football we are watching. Swansea are leap years ahead in terms of football

Quote Originally Posted by OLDMANRED http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964888#post2964888" rel="nofollow">View Post
It's quite likely the fans will have MON redundant.
And AK can stand proudly at the side of the other 2.
I think you've either misread what ive said at some point or i don't know. I want MoN to succeed, i really do. But this plan of grinding out matches consistently when the team is capable of alot more is f**king frustrating.
I like that we can score from set pieces, i like that we can defend, but not at the cost of all the other improvements we made.

Poor Ryan Yates. He lost his mojo today and why? Because he’s playing with Ben Watson. Ben has qualities but there’s no way this pair should ever be on the same pitch

Not liking MONs approach it’s needlessly depressing and It has a sell by date

Quote Originally Posted by Berkshire Red http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2964737#post2964737" rel="nofollow">View Post
Not surprisingly we didn’t score without him on the pitch. Play your best players. MON doesn’t do that. That’s why we won’t get anywhere, You’re too busy w**king off over a scabby victory over a sh*t Swansea side in 14th place.
Did you see the game? Swansea played very well. I believe they were in the Premiership not long ago, but as always fans who don't like a manager will dismiss a win by saying the opposition were poor.

Strange one today

3 points is 3 points but it was horrible to watch

Season ticket already renewed but hope MON is true to his interview and will get us playing as I really can’t watch that week in week out

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2019 at 3:11am
Martin Clap

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 9:24am
Sounds familiar alright 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 10:46am
TJ he's gone from the Ireland job
McCarthy had us playing nice football against Georgia 
You have to let go...

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 10:54am

TJ he's gone from the Ireland job
McCarthy had us playing nice football against Georgia 
You have to let go...

The amount of lives irreparably damaged by his reign will last forever.  Martin moves on. Ireland can't.  I have PTSD from it. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2019 at 12:19pm

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 3:46pm

The excuses being trotted out already

Quote Originally Posted by MASE http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2967005#post2967005" rel="nofollow">View Post
Falling over himself trying to defend MON, Taylor does talk some gash though. Tempted to duck out when he proclaimed Yates as a dynamic, energetic carrier of the football in posession, the f**ks this guy watching.

Theres a ton of input on there about the quality of the football, with Taylors inference being we're not capable of taking anything beyond hoofball to the top six sides, does that argument really stack up given our record against the better sides this season?

If we continue to pick the players that bearly give us a pulse in midfield fair enough, but there is better players in the wings.
His inference that we’re saddled with a bunch of Sunday league cloggers who can’t pass a ball ten yards is pure nonsense. Boro away, Leeds home and away, Derby away, Villa away, Norwich away, WBA home... all games where we went toe to toe, at least, in games of football against the top teams. Suddenly our players are nowhere near good enough and can’t be trusted to go out and pass a football...

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 3:52pm
Martin O-Nil LOL superb

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 4:57pm
That's an awful result for them today. The play-offs look beyond them now when a win would have kept them right in the mix.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 4:59pm
Another defeat today to bottom 3 side Rotherham.  Oh dear.   A load of fans want him out already due to his bizarre team selections and hoofball.

Fallout Boy is due a high profile row with one of the players any time now.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 5:03pm
  1. Default Re: It's Martin !

Don't think I could accept MO'N being manager next season.

Can't accept what he's putting together. Can't only try and win games in the final 20 minutes.

It's turgid, ugly, 1990's football that if it produces results people will tolerate it. But it's not producing results.

http://www.forestforum.co.uk/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=2967563" rel="nofollow">Reply With Quote Reply With Quote
  2. Today, 16:59 http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=47546&p=2967608&viewfull=1#post2967608" rel="nofollow - #2814
    http://www.forestforum.co.uk/member.php?u=22772" rel="nofollow - Heffing Psycho!
    http://www.forestforum.co.uk/member.php?u=22772" rel="nofollow"> Heffing Psycho!s Avatar

Said at the time it was the wrong choice from the board, PR stunt gone wrong. It isn't getting better despite being told it would. If he stays next season I don't want to think how much damage he'll do to this team.

http://www.forestforum.co.uk/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=2967608" rel="nofollow">Reply With Quote Reply With Quote
  3. http://www.forestforum.co.uk/member.php?u=3831" rel="nofollow - tomw94

Terrible football every match under MON to be honest. Never once looked like the better side

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 5:03pm
Rotherham are the "Moldova" of that league. Tough game.

It's their first league win against Forest since 1956. I think it was during Brian Clough's playing days. 

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 5:08pm

Default Re: Matchday 40: Rotherham United Vs Nottingham Forest

Quote Originally Posted by FrustratedRed http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2967601#post2967601" rel="nofollow">View Post
f**king garbage.
I`ll say what most of you are scared to say.
Sack the twat before we start next season.
Absolutely confused football
No I have said call for his head already

Please I really don’t want him here next season please for God’s sake

Quote Originally Posted by CommonTree http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2967592#post2967592" rel="nofollow">View Post
Would presumably be quite expensive to pay off yet another management team. How much is Roy on the same page as MON? Would it help if MON stepped down and let Roy take over?
No they can both get f**ked.

Martin O’Neill please leave.

Quote Originally Posted by FrustratedRed http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?p=2967601#post2967601" rel="nofollow">View Post
f**king garbage.
Still losing games and now producing some of the worst football I've watched in over 40 years supporting the club, and I've seen some crap!! Bye bye Martin, loved you as a player but f**k your a sh*t manager these days!

Walking back to the car and what can you say. Poor poor football against a poor side so what does that say about us? We can’t pass the ball hopeless anti football hoofs dreadful just dreadful.

Well. Thank god for that, lets not pretend we are anywhere near a fluent team..totally inconsistent, and we are a very poor away from home, and simply lucky at home.
For MON, what can you say..I don't want the owner to give him any money whatsoever, he's not worth the risk, and importantly the type of football witnessed has been simply disgraceful at times
Do we want a new manager? is it worth it?
At least it's not a relegation fight! LOL

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 5:09pm

Rotherham are the "Moldova" of that league. Tough game.

It's their first league win against Forest since 1956. I think it was during Brian Clough's playing days. 
Clough's debut season (I think) at his hometown club. He never played for Forest though, or had any connection to the club or city prior to 1975.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 5:19pm
Just goes to show how sh*t the Scottish League is.  MON was considered a genius based on a few good seasons up there.  He has always been totally overhyped and a false myth built around him hence why I was against his appointment.  In fact I'd say he is almost a spoofer.  Talks articulately and tips his glasses and looks like he's smart but is just a dinosaur with no idea about tactics or how to play football.

Fair enough we beat Italy at Euro 2016 but it was a Hail Mary effort of changing the team up and had the luck of playing Italy B with nothing to play for.  He kept throwing sh*t at the wall hoping something would stick.

All the bullsh*t about 'we dont have the players to even attempt to roll a ball 10 yds along the ground to one another' was trotted out to protect his 'messiah' image amongst celtic die hards and IRA sympathisers.  He had an inordinate amount of luck that kept him going way longer than he should have in the EIRE hotseat.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 6:06pm

Just goes to show how sh*t the Scottish League is.  MON was considered a genius based on a few good seasons up there.  He has always been totally overhyped and a false myth built around him hence why I was against his appointment.  In fact I'd say he is almost a spoofer.  Talks articulately and tips his glasses and looks like he's smart but is just a dinosaur with no idea about tactics or how to play football.

Fair enough we beat Italy at Euro 2016 but it was a Hail Mary effort of changing the team up and had the luck of playing Italy B with nothing to play for.  He kept throwing sh*t at the wall hoping something would stick.

All the bullsh*t about 'we dont have the players to even attempt to roll a ball 10 yds along the ground to one another' was trotted out to protect his 'messiah' image amongst celtic die hards and IRA sympathisers.  He had an inordinate amount of luck that kept him going way longer than he should have in the EIRE hotseat.

You don't half talk some bollocks! As I have said to you before, you undermine your own arguments by taking them to illogical lengths. "False myth"! What's a true myth? MON being passed his sell by date goes to show nothing but that.

MON was considered a good manager because he took Leicester up and established them as an upper mid-table EPL side. Leicester have won 4 major domestic trophies, MON was in charge for two of them. He then went to a Celtic side that had finished 21 points behind Rangers the previous season and finished 15 points ahead of them. On its own that would be considered impressive, the fact it was proved that Rangers were cheating with EBTs, to the point where Stefan Klos was earning he same at Rangers as David Beckham was at Madrid, gives you an idea of the achievement. 
Now, I am not sure that makes him a footballing genius, even with Seville thrown in, but he does mean he was a very good manager at the time. I think it is unquestionable that his ideas on the game have become outdated, he isn't the only manager that has happened to, but it is silly to rewrite the past based solely on the present.

As for his time with Ireland, it was certainly a mixed bag. I think everyone of us could see he should have gone after the Denmark debacle and there was a lot of evidence to suggest that his ideas were outdated during the Euro '16 campaign. He did get a lot of luck, but he still probably overachieved with the players we had available. 

I can understand why people don't like him, he is a bristly character and his attitude towards the press, TOD in particular, was often unnecessary. There is even more reasons not to like Keane, in fact I think MON's biggest mistake was appointing Keane. There is absolutely no doubt that MON was a better manager with John Robertson beside him. I think Robertson nullified the most arrogant edges of his personality too. 
As much as I admired Keane as a player and enjoy his sense of humour that seems to fly over a lot of people's heads, particularly in England, he shouldn't be allowed manage or coach players. At this stage his reputation alone is toxic enough, even if he doesn't actually do anything wrong, which he usually seems to. 

There are loads of sticks you can beat both of them with, which is why I find it so odd that you pick the most ineffective ones to try and  beat him with.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 6:39pm

You don't half talk some bollocks! As I have said to you before, you undermine your own arguments by taking them to illogical lengths. "False myth"! What's a true myth? MON being passed his sell by date goes to show nothing but that.

MON was considered a good manager because he took Leicester up and established them as an upper mid-table EPL side. Leicester have won 4 major domestic trophies, MON was in charge for two of them. He then went to a Celtic side that had finished 21 points behind Rangers the previous season and finished 15 points ahead of them. On its own that would be considered impressive, the fact it was proved that Rangers were cheating with EBTs, to the point where Stefan Klos was earning he same at Rangers as David Beckham was at Madrid, gives you an idea of the achievement. 
Now, I am not sure that makes him a footballing genius, even with Seville thrown in, but he does mean he was a very good manager at the time. I think it is unquestionable that his ideas on the game have become outdated, he isn't the only manager that has happened to, but it is silly to rewrite the past based solely on the present.

As for his time with Ireland, it was certainly a mixed bag. I think everyone of us could see he should have gone after the Denmark debacle and there was a lot of evidence to suggest that his ideas were outdated during the Euro '16 campaign. He did get a lot of luck, but he still probably overachieved with the players we had available. 

I can understand why people don't like him, he is a bristly character and his attitude towards the press, TOD in particular, was often unnecessary. There is even more reasons not to like Keane, in fact I think MON's biggest mistake was appointing Keane. There is absolutely no doubt that MON was a better manager with John Robertson beside him. I think Robertson nullified the most arrogant edges of his personality too. 
As much as I admired Keane as a player and enjoy his sense of humour that seems to fly over a lot of people's heads, particularly in England, he shouldn't be allowed manage or coach players. At this stage his reputation alone is toxic enough, even if he doesn't actually do anything wrong, which he usually seems to. 

There are loads of sticks you can beat both of them with, which is why I find it so odd that you pick the most ineffective ones to try and  beat him with.

It's not bollocks at all.  Firstly John Barnes was the manager the previous season who wasa  total novice and never managed before or after.  He did however sign Petrov who MON didn't sign but a lot of people assume he did.  Neither did he sign Larsson who was the most influential player in that period.  Wim Jansen broke Rangers dominance.  Barnes hadn't a clue.  MON was subsequently bankrolled by an unprecedented amount upon his arrival.  And for Scotland that was huge. Celtic were already ready to break Rangers.  They just needed any sort of manager who had some sort of competency.
Like I keep repeating if his time there was so special it wouldn't have been repeated by Lennon and Strachan who lets be fair are mediocre managers.  If MON was such a good manager at the time those achievements would not have been repeated in his lifetime.
As for his time at Leicester.  2 league cups. Can you tell me why that is anything to be in awe of?  How many other jokers won the league cup in that era?  Spurs won it when they were sh*te, villa won it twice.  Brian Little was the messiah who achieved that feat.  What about Sheffield Wednesday, or Spurs who were useless back then.  Souness won it with Blackburn in that era also.  None of them I assume you hold in the same regard as MON.
As for undermining your own arguments, you are anti-racist, anti discrimination, and promote PC culture.  Yet you support Celtic who are involved in sectarianism and whose fans sing IRA songs, who the club owners allowed the Wolfe Tones sing IRA songs on their pitch for their official video at a time the IRA were killing innocent civilians nothing to do with the struggle.  You hate Australians and South Africans.  What's the story with that sort of inconsistency?

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 7:14pm

It's not bollocks at all.  Firstly John Barnes was the manager the previous season who wasa  total novice and never managed before or after.  He did however sign Petrov who MON didn't sign but a lot of people assume he did.  Neither did he sign Larsson who was the most influential player in that period.  Wim Jansen broke Rangers dominance.  Barnes hadn't a clue.  MON was subsequently bankrolled by an unprecedented amount upon his arrival.  And for Scotland that was huge. Celtic were already ready to break Rangers.  They just needed any sort of manager who had some sort of competency.
Like I keep repeating if his time there was so special it wouldn't have been repeated by Lennon and Strachan who lets be fair are mediocre managers.  If MON was such a good manager at the time those achievements would not have been repeated in his lifetime.
As for his time at Leicester.  2 league cups. Can you tell me why that is anything to be in awe of?  How many other jokers won the league cup in that era?  Spurs won it when they were sh*te, villa won it twice.  Brian Little was the messiah who achieved that feat.  What about Sheffield Wednesday, or Spurs who were useless back then.  Souness won it with Blackburn in that era also.  None of them I assume you hold in the same regard as MON.
As for undermining your own arguments, you are anti-racist, anti discrimination, and promote PC culture.  Yet you support Celtic who are involved in sectarianism and whose fans sing IRA songs, who the club owners allowed the Wolfe Tones sing IRA songs on their pitch for their official video at a time the IRA were killing innocent civilians nothing to do with the struggle.  You hate Australians and South Africans.  What's the story with that sort of inconsistency?
That's brilliant.

Strachan was a very good manager, actually.He is another one whose ideas became outdated. The reason MON's achievements are considered better is because of the financial cheating that Rangers were involved in was at its highest during his time at Celtic. Rangers were on their way down during Lennon's period, they were financially f**ked.
I never said it was anything to be in awe of, I merely said it showed that the 2 league cups, along with taking them from the second tier to being a good top division side showed he did a very good job there. I think it is pretty much universally accepted, except by you, that he did a good job at both Leicester and Celtic.

As for your bizarre and unrelated rant at me, well there aren't enough smiley faces that can be shown. 
I don't promote "PC culture", I don't even know what it is. I can be considered  anti-racist and anti-discrimination,in a way, but I fail to see how supporting Celtic is contradictory to that. I think you don't see that either, but I touched a nerve about your hatred for MON, which I have to say is a little irrational and unsettling.
I have also never claimed to be a pacifist. I believe in armed insurrection and revolution. I may be drifting more and more towards pacifism as I get older, but an oxymoron I hold dear is that true peace has to be fought for. I don't think that the peace that is being enjoyed in Ireland today could have been achieved without the IRA. I think an awful lot of their individual actions were unnecessary, but bad decisions are regularly made in any war. I do understand the counterarguments and why people are sensitive about it, but I  would say that the British, and to a lesser extent Irish, governments have to take a lot of responsibility for that.
Again, I fail to see what that has to do with me thinking you repeatedly  pick the wrong arguments when debating MON.

The hatred of South Africans is a new one, especially as the girl I live with and am in love with is proud of her SAfrikaner heritage, even though parts of that heritage cause her embarrassment. That's a true contradiction, like most people have.

As for my dislike of Australians, I hold my hands up.It is probably a  contradiction. I have loads,like most humans.  Anyway, if hating a nation for its refusal to address its racism, one that manifests itself so regularly in its citizens, makes me racist I don't really care. Which is why I clarified above that I am anti-racist 'in a way'. What I actually am in favour of is human advancement and progression, genuine societal change and improvement. Australia seems to be seriously struggling with that. 
That and I have met loads of them and struggled with them all, but then I dislike lots of people.
Again,I fail to see the connection between this and me saying some of your dislike of MON is irrational and you pick the wrong arguments.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 7:56pm
Just derailing the thread from MON's inadequacies but you have always been pro PC culture on here and said that political correctness is a good thing.  But you are politically incorrect when its suits you.  If you believe in armed struggles and revolution what is your views on Jihadism?  I'm sure they feel their cause is just. That the west bombed their kids and exploited their countries.  I'm not sure where you can draw a line and say this is a just war, but this isn't.  

I thought you hated white South Africans. I don't see why you don't considering they are as racist as you get and are at least on a par with Australians. Why one and not the other?  Slightly contradictory.

As for human advancement that you are in favour of:  Why do you like football considering a lot of fans are racist, bigoted, narrow minded ultra nationalists especially the fans in the country that you live? They wouldn't exactly be Charles Darwen's choice for natural selection and advance the species from.   For a man in favour of inteleectulism, societal improvement and progression to like football could be likened to a black man saying he hates racism and the KKK but loves to turn up to see the burning crosses.

As for MON I never said he did a bad job at Celtic or even Leicester.  I merely pointed out that any manager with any bit of competency could have achieved similar things up there with the squad he had inherited and was allowed to add to with millions from the owners that was unavailable to his predecessors until Jansen. Had Jansen stayed he could have achieved as much or more.

His time with Leicester was good but again nothing out of the ordinary.  Nothing that would make him stand out against say Gareth Southgate, Brian Little, Souness et al.   Little and Souness got Leicester and Blackburn promoted and subsequently won a league cup.   I'm just pointing out nobody in these islands lauded these managers as messiahs like MON was lauded.  Souness won everything in Scotland.  I disliked he was put on a pedestal by many (usually Celtic fans) as some great manager.  He was no more than a middle of the road manager who played ugly bully type football.  It was disguised at Celtic because they were playing absolute useless competition week in week out..  It was like the Harlem Globetrotters playing Knocknagoshel Harriers.

I was dead against his appointment and took flak on here for saying how crap a job he was doing and for ages people were saying it was the players.  He is destroying Nottingham Forest since he took over.  The posts on their forum have turned from ultra welcoming and positive at his arrival to outrage in what 2 months or so?  All the stuff I was saying they are now saying.  The wins were undeserved flukes where they were outplayed and had luck on their side and the outrage of his team selections and football are there even when they win.  If you read their forum now they pretty much all want him out.  They can't put up with watching Wimbledon 1987 week in week out even winning which they are not most weeks. 

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 8:02pm

Just derailing the thread from MON's inadequacies but you have always been pro PC culture on here and said that political correctness is a good thing.  But you are politically incorrect when its suits you.  If you believe in armed struggles and revolution what is your views on Jihadism?  I'm sure they feel their cause is just. That the west bombed their kids and exploited their countries.  I'm not sure where you can draw a line and say this is a just war, but this isn't.  

I thought you hated white South Africans. I don't see why you don't considering they are as racist as you get and are at least on a par with Australians. Why one and not the other?  Slightly contradictory.

As for human advancement that you are in favour of:  Why do you like football considering a lot of fans are racist, bigoted, narrow minded ultra nationalists especially the fans in the country that you live? They wouldn't exactly be Charles Darwen's choice for natural selection and advance the species from.   For a man in favour of inteleectulism, societal improvement and progression to like football could be likened to a black man saying he hates racism and the KKK but loves to turn up to see the burning crosses.

As for MON I never said he did a bad job at Celtic or even Leicester.  I merely pointed out that any manager with any bit of competency could have achieved similar things up there with the squad he had inherited and was allowed to add to with millions from the owners that was unavailable to his predecessors until Jansen. Had Jansen stayed he could have achieved as much or more.

His time with Leicester was good but again nothing out of the ordinary.  Nothing that would make him stand out against say Gareth Southgate, Brian Little, Souness et al.   Little and Souness got Leicester and Blackburn promoted and subsequently won a league cup.   I'm just pointing out nobody in these islands lauded these managers as messiahs like MON was lauded.  Souness won everything in Scotland.  I disliked he was put on a pedestal by many (usually Celtic fans) as some great manager.  He was no more than a middle of the road manager who played ugly bully type football.  It was disguised at Celtic because they were playing absolute useless competition week in week out..  It was like the Harlem Globetrotters playing Knocknagoshel Harriers.

I was dead against his appointment and took flak on here for saying how crap a job he was doing and for ages people were saying it was the players.  He is destroying Nottingham Forest since he took over.  The posts on their forum have turned from ultra welcoming and positive at his arrival to outrage in what 2 months or so?  All the stuff I was saying they are now saying.  The wins were undeserved flukes where they were outplayed and had luck on their side and the outrage of his team selections and football are there even when they win.  If you read their forum now they pretty much all want him out.  They can't put up with watching Wimbledon 1987 week in week out even winning which they are not most weeks. 

Go and have a glass of water and a run around in the backyard. Also, see a psychiatrist, I can recommend a couple! LOL

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 8:08pm
Well I am going for a game of snooker soon and a few pints.  MON can't play snooker as he hits the cue ball into the air.  Its supposed to be rolled around the playing surface.

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 8:12pm

Well I am going for a game of snooker soon and a few pints.  MON can't play snooker as he hits the cue ball into the air.  Its supposed to be rolled around the playing surface.
Stick to the minerals, for the love of superman! If you are that addled before the pints it can't end well.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2019 at 3:14pm
TJ rewriting history LOLLOL

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2019 at 4:18pm

TJ rewriting history LOLLOL

I'm a historian.  For you see I've always had a special interest in dinosaursClap

Related image

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 4:34pm
Well this thread went up a notch but not in a good way. There is some amount of craziness on this forum  LOL

Posted By: amccarten313
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 6:16pm
i know he always complained about the lack of time w the squad as an international manager compared to club but I think that actually suited MON more given the way the game has evolved. as discussed extensively on here and in the press seems like he didn't really devote much time to detailed tactical planning or anything like that. if anything, to me that would seemingly be more exacerbated at club level. I don't wish him failure he brought us some good moments but by the end the football was so horrible and the atmosphere was toxic he should've been gone earlier. since taking over at forest hes won 5, drawn 3, lost 5

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 9:22pm
MON working his magic again.  3-0 down to Sheffield Wednesday.

MON promised to bring the good old days back to Forest.  The 1880's.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 9:41pm

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 9:59pm
Will be amazed if they aren't sacked the minute the season ends. Horrendous appointment. 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:04pm
Contracted for remainder of season only no?

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:06pm

Will be amazed if they aren't sacked the minute the season ends. Horrendous appointment. 
as we know they didn’t come cheap so it would be very costly to get rid.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:13pm
I don't think details of the length of their Forest contract were revealed, I always assumed it was until the end of the season.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:16pm
I thought they had next season in their contract, no? 

If they do, it will be far more costly to leave them there. Pay them off or spend years repairing the damage done from the kind of transfer business I can only imagine they would do LOL

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:20pm

I thought they had next season in their contract, no? 

If they do, it will be far more costly to leave them there. Pay them off or spend years repairing the damage done from the kind of transfer business I can only imagine they would do LOL
Possibly, it was all hush and hush when it was announced. The Forest owner is a lunatic, so a ten year deal isn't unlikely.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:25pm
I'd imagine there was a non-playoff f**k off clause.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 11:37pm
I await a Roy Keane in incident with (insert Forest player name here) any time now

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 11:42pm
some bluffers!!! lol keep them in action please, absolute comedy just thank fook it isnt Ireland any more

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2019 at 12:07am
I think Royston, at some point in the not too distant future, will regret hitching his career ambitions to MON's. When the Ireland role came up, he hadn't too much of a choice, but he'll have even less of a choice now whenever they get the road at Forest- he should have taken his chances elsewhere, anywhere.  

Doesn't say an awful lot for his judgement of football or indeed MON as a manager if he thought that MON could make a success out of the same tripe he played with Ireland at Forest. Maybe Royston himself is stuck in the same timewarp.

The Greek lad could easily fire them before the end of the season, a big enough defeat at home in one of the remaining games would likely bring a similar to Denmark away type protest from the natives, club legends or not.