URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56835
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 12:40pm

Topic: Washing Machine Leak
Subject: Washing Machine Leak
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 11:49am
Just wondering if anyone has had anything similar happen and how it all played out. Had a washing machine delivered and it was installed by the lads from Harvey Norman. Everything seemed grand and I'm just in the sitting room playing the Playstation when I notice water coming through the wall of the kitchen into the sitting room. The washing machine was leaking and there was water everywhere. Sitting room absolutely destroyed and I'm worried about mould and stuff like that. The lads from Harvey Norman came back and disconnected it. They said it was a fault with the machine. The manufacturer is sending out an engineer this evening to confirm if it was a fault with the machine. 

I'm just wondering in situations like this are these fellas easy enough to deal with? It surely can't be the first time that they have dealt with a situation like this. If they confirm that the machine was faulty will I constantly need to be chasing them to get everything sorted?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:00pm
As long as you didn't buy it from Darmack you should be grand  Tongue

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:00pm
phone Joe 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:50pm
put it in the fridge

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:53pm
Joking aside, you will be entitled to compensation one way or another, the fitters either made a balls up or the fault lies with the manufacturer of machine, 1 of them will have to foot the bill for the damage done, if all else fails get on to your own house insurer to see what the Craic is 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 1:18pm

Joking aside, you will be entitled to compensation one way or another, the fitters either made a balls up or the fault lies with the manufacturer of machine, 1 of them will have to foot the bill for the damage done, if all else fails get on to your own house insurer to see what the Craic is 

No harm talking to your insurer anyway, they could potentially cover it and then chase the manufacturer / installer for the recovery on it. Might save you additional ballache.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 3:36pm
The only issue with going through your own insurance is the no claims issue - it might be better to see if Harvey Norman or the manufacturer will cover it first. There's no point claiming €300 from your insurance if it means you have to pay an extra €50 for the next eight years.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 4:10pm
If the lads f**ked up installing a washing machine they should be sent to hatch 13. Couldnt be easier to connect up ffs.

Hope you got a good deal initially anyway from Harvey Norman, theyre always a lot dearer for everything ive ever price checked from electronics to bloody photo paper. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 5:15pm

If the lads f**ked up installing a washing machine they should be sent to hatch 13. Couldnt be easier to connect up ffs.

I was surprised when Walls said he had them install it LOL

Has to be a faulty drum.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 8:40pm
You bought from Harvey Norman?  Were they Aussie installers?  They probably installed it upside down.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2019 at 8:06am
The engineer from the manufacturer came out and confirmed it was a fault with the machine so they will be ringing me at some stage this morning to go through what work needs to be done. Apparently it was an issue with a valve not being fully tightened. So far so good with them not acting the bollocks anyway. 

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2019 at 9:16am

You bought from Harvey Norman?  Were they Aussie installers?  They probably installed it upside down.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2019 at 10:19am

As long as you didn't buy it from Darmack you should be grand  Tongue

Mine was a dishwasher, God I'd never do that with a washing machine.

Saying that, about 2 weeks later the central locking went in my car. So either karma or the guy came back to pay me a visit.