URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56622
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 4:59am

Topic: Troy Parrott
Posted By: Luis Amor Rodriguez
Subject: Troy Parrott
Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 3:26am
Great peno for the U19s yesterday.  He's clearly got a lot of confidence.  

You'd think with him, Idah, McAuley and Ronan Hale coming through, we'll get at least one gem of a striker for the senior team in years to come.  

Hopefully Irish strikers are like Irish buses in one respect: you wait for ages for one to turn up, and then four come at the same time.  

As opposed to just big, dirty, slow and likely to break down.  

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 9:01am
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

Great peno for the U19s yesterday.  He's clearly got a lot of confidence.  

You'd think with him, Idah, McAuley and Ronan Hale coming through, we'll get at least one gem of a striker for the senior team in years to come.  

Hopefully Irish strikers are like Irish buses in one respect: you wait for ages for one to turn up, and then four come at the same time.  

As opposed to just big, dirty, slow and likely to break down.  
Or a manager who plays them on the wing.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 11:52am
Owl big nose waistcoat baxtard will prob be sniffing around looking for him now after his recent excellent displays 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:11pm

Owl big nose waistcoat baxtard will prob be sniffing around looking for him now after his recent excellent displays 

Troy was born and raised in Dublin Confused

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:13pm
Armstrong Okoflex was born and bred in Dublin and now plays for England. How? I've no idea!.

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:13pm
still think he is eligible for engurland. Doubt he’d declare for them but you never know . Wasn’t Michael Owen brought up in Wales??

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:18pm
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

still think he is eligible for engurland. Doubt he’d declare for them but you never know . Wasn’t Michael Owen brought up in Wales??
Dont see a lad born and reared in Summerhill turning out for England 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:19pm

Armstrong Okoflex was born and bred in Dublin and now plays for England. How? I've no idea!.
yeah that’s a strange one

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:19pm

It’s a bit different comparing a player born in Ireland who’s parents aren’t from here though.

He was also eligible to play for England.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:24pm

My Cologne's dad played underage for Wales and Everton, imagine the disappointment he feels every time Mickey opens his mouth.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:30pm

No, but he will be captain of the prison team

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:32pm

No, but he will be captain of the prison team

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 12:34pm

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:06am
looks like he could develop nicely in the new Football Manager.

11 finishing- for 16 year old that's pretty good
15 Determination- This is the key one alongside his Fairly Determined personality he could be trained to be future star.

https://i.gyazo.com/b81e80164932723803418236a053fac2.png

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:13am

Wasn’t Michael Owen brought up in Wales??
Yes Owen played for Welsh Schools team as that's where he lived.
Same as Giggs played for English Schools team.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:20am

15 Determination- This is the key one alongside his Fairly Determined personality he could be trained to be future star.

110 quid a week! That sort of money would certainly focus the mind on trying to get a pro contract LOL

Posted By: Conan
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:22am

Wasn’t Michael Owen brought up in Wales??
Yes Owen played for Welsh Schools team as that's where he lived.
Same as Giggs played for English Schools team.

Owen never played for Wales at any level, I think that rule changed shortly after Giggs played for England. Otherwise we wouldn't be able to pick the English players we do at under-15 and under-16 level.

If I was on 110 quid a week at his age I would have been completely wrote off. That's a lot of cider and Lynx.

Posted By: kearney304

Is this a legit post?

Where is Freddy Adu

LOL  Didn't notice that, I'd say he is on more then that.

But saying that 110£ a week while 16 is alright

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:32am

Is this a legit post?

Where is Freddy Adu

Yeah poor Freddy Adu got over hyped.
I was just curious to how he was portrayed in the latest game I'm not stating that he will turn into a world beater just because he has good potential on a game.

But as I said with the right coaching he could become a decent player in Fm19 (anyway)

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 10:55am
He is without a doubt on at least four figures a week. 

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 11:02am

Which is why most of them turn out like ****s.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 11:14am

Not to name names, but there is a young Irish lad at Liverpool and his social media is full of Rolex watches and brand new Audi’s. 

Why on earth would you push yourself to succeed when you can play for Liverpool under 23s for 4/5 years and still make a fortune? 

Posted By: Dr. Pat
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 12:03pm

Not to name names, but there is a young Irish lad at Liverpool and his social media is full of Rolex watches and brand new Audi’s. 

Why on earth would you push yourself to succeed when you can play for Liverpool under 23s for 4/5 years and still make a fortune? 

I've seen his account. It's bad alright. Fairly clear where his focus is.

Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 12:14pm
It is really difficult to blame the players themselves. I know that I wouldn't have been able to handle all that at 17, most of us wouldn't. The clubs have to take huge responsibility in developing human beings as well as footballers, something the English(Abu Dhabi, Russian, American ) almost deliberately ignore, especially at the richest teams . This is one of the hundreds of reasons we need them to stop stockpiling players at the richest franchises there. They only need a couple to be sold on, not to even make it at their team, and they will have made a profit and stopped another club that will get them. The whole system is sick.

Anyway, rant over! It is unfair to be discussing this on the Parrott thread, there has been no rumours that he is anything other than a well behaved young lad with a promising future filled with bird jokes.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2018 at 12:45pm
A come on lads if any of us made 1k a week while we were 16 we'd be no different

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2018 at 2:25pm
Scored in a 2-0 win over PSV in UEFA Youth League today, Spurs currently second to Barca in that group by four points

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2018 at 2:31pm
how many other young strikers are there at spurs i wonder. they only really have Kane at senior level. Llorente cant even get a look in. wonder is he on anyone's radar in the senior set up there?

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2018 at 4:22pm
The probability of him getting into the Spurs first team is highly unlikely so his loan moves will be crucial in his development.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 1:55pm
Parrott has scored in the 1st half for Spurs U19 vs Inter U19. Hopefully Nolan is playing too. The game is live on one of the BT Sports channels for any of ye that have access.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 2:23pm
Lovely goal as well

Nolan started and is captain.

Posted By: Fozzy B
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 2:24pm
ryan nolan is captaining the inter side. balls.ie just posted troys goal up on their site. some strike.

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 2:36pm
http://cricfree.live/watchfeeds/index/19%20" rel="nofollow - http://cricfree.live/watchfeeds/index/19

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 2:55pm
Hit the post after sending Nolan for a Herald on the edge of the box,  would of been a cracker and missed a very good chance just before that aswel. 

Hard to belive he is only 16 .

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 2:56pm
Parrot wants a cracker alright.  I can only parrott what everyone else has said and wush him the best of luck in his career.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 3:00pm
Can see this lad getting a senior cap next year, Mick has never been afraid to throw the young lads in.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 3:20pm

Can see this lad getting a senior cap next year, Mick has never been afraid to throw the young lads in.

It might be a tad early for him. Mind  you getting him into an Irish squad of any sort would be a good start.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 3:24pm

It might be a tad early for him. Mind  you getting him into an Irish squad of any sort would be a good start.

He'll be 17 by the time out next games. If he continues to bang in the goals at Spurs then he has to be at considered I'm not saying he should be starting for us next year but I can see him being in a squad if he continues his form and perhaps given a run out against a 5/6th seed

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 3:45pm
I think he is very young yet but if he can get out on loan or a few league cup games maybe. What age level is he playing with Spurs? Is he with their U23s? or U19s? Hopefully himself and Idah and a few others will be integrated upwards.

It's not me it's you:-)

Posted By: Dr. Pat
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 4:08pm

Great goal. He's a very exciting prospect. Not sure about a senior call up soon though. Let him keep working and improving. Also, I remember Jack Byrne banging in goals in the UEFA Youth League. Warming Kilmarnock's bench now

Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 4:12pm
Christ almighty - I'm going to start a petition that says we can only cap players with "regular names. 

Rice, Parrott, Sammon - You can all declare for England !

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 4:26pm
Any link for goal?

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 4:44pm

He'll be 17 by the time out next games. If he continues to bang in the goals at Spurs then he has to be at considered I'm not saying he should be starting for us next year but I can see him being in a squad if he continues his form and perhaps given a run out against a 5/6th seed

Mea culpa...I had Ryan Nolan in my head when typed the above. Still I think the u21 level would possibly be a better fit for Troy. 

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 8:24pm
Castor Troy Clap

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 8:41pm

Castor Troy Clap
Is he from Limerick? I was full sure he was a Dub.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 8:52pm
He is a horse of a man.  We should wheel him out at the Aviva

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 9:42pm
great to see him kicking on! Might try get him in to talk to the lads I'm the school. Certainly another positive story from the area and an aspirational figure for the kids, some of whom were in the school when he was there

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 10:01pm

He is a horse of a man.  We should wheel him out at the Aviva

Ffs LOL

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 10:12pm

Posted By: DalyerRegular
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 11:32pm
Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

I think he is very young yet but if he can get out on loan or a few league cup games maybe. What age level is he playing with Spurs? Is he with their U23s? or U19s? Hopefully himself and Idah and a few others will be integrated upwards.
He's played 5 league games (7 goals) for the u18s and 5 league games for the u23s (0 goals).

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 3:49am
Great finish. But let's not get ahead of ourselves with bringing him in to senior squads yet. He's 16, let him develop a bit more and hopefully he can make an impact at first team level, with loan moves or cup appearances etc.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 6:13am
Originally posted by DalyerRegular DalyerRegular wrote:

Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

He's played 5 league games (7 goals) for the u18s and 5 league games for the u23s (0 goals).

He’s only 16 so I’d rather let him develop more before putting him into the senior team. 
He is one of the youngest player for the Ireland U19 team.

17 in Feb 2019.
Hopefully he makes it.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 8:57am

I was full sure he was a Dub.
Very much so.
And the not so nice part of Dubland.

(I know you'll say its all a kip, but its not really, only most of it)

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 9:12am
Grew up on one of the estates around Buckingham street i think.

As did Wessi

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 9:55am

I was full sure he was a Dub.
Very much so.
And the not so nice part of Dubland.

(I know you'll say its all a kip, but its not really, only most of it)

Whereabouts he from?

I know he played for Belvedere

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 9:56am
Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

Grew up on one of the estates around Buckingham street i think.

As did Wessi

Sorry didn't see the above

Ignore my previous question

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 11:16am

great to see him kicking on! Might try get him in to talk to the lads in the school. Certainly another positive story from the area and an aspirational figure for the kids, some of whom were in the school when he was there

LOL I read this one twice and couldn't work out the puns for the life of me.

Then I realised it was just a normal post Embarrassed

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 11:56am

I hear he repeats himself a lot
A bit like the puns on here.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 11:58am

I hear he repeats himself a lot
A bit like the puns on here.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2018 at 9:57pm
Hard not to get carried away with this fella but then I think of Jack Byrne and Terdy Dixon.

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 30 Nov 2018 at 12:05am
He's the spit of Griezmanm

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2018 at 8:32am
Add Conor Clifford, Graham Barrett, Sean Thornton, Keith O'Neill and Paul McShane to the list Ouch

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2018 at 8:43am
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

Add Conor Clifford, Graham Barrett, Sean Thornton, Keith O'Neill and Paul McShane to the list Ouch

Alex O'Hanlon, Ronnie O'Brien, John Paul Kelly and many more.

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 30 Nov 2018 at 10:07am
Originally posted by JoxerDaly JoxerDaly wrote:

were all of these people as promising as Parrott?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2018 at 10:29am
Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

I'd say that Jack Byrne and Conor Clifford certainly got as much and more positive press. Don't forget that this is only Parrotts first season in England. I'm hating joining the pun gang here but he is flying. 

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 8:42am
https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/rising-star-parrott-travels-with-spurs-first-team-37606170.html?__twitter_impression=true" rel="nofollow - https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/rising-star-parrott-travels-with-spurs-first-team-37606170.html?__twitter_impression=true

Parrott travelling with first team today.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 10:55am

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/rising-star-parrott-travels-with-spurs-first-team-37606170.html?__twitter_impression=true" rel="nofollow - https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/rising-star-parrott-travels-with-spurs-first-team-37606170.html?__twitter_impression=true

Parrott travelling with first team today.

Thats great news for him. Shows hes in their thoughts at least.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 12:37pm
Future is looking a little brighter for us, hope Kenny is up to managing this group of players. 

Posted By: BippityBoop
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 7:42pm
Didn't make the bench in the end, but it's still great news to hear.

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 9:45pm
Originally posted by BippityBoop BippityBoop wrote:

Yeah 18 year old English striker Oliver Skipp made it instead I see, encouraging all the same that he was at least considered.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 9:49pm

Future is looking a little brighter for us, hope Kenny is up to managing this group of players. 

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 9:59pm
Originally posted by valo88 valo88 wrote:

Originally posted by BippityBoop BippityBoop wrote:

Yeah 18 year old English striker Oliver Skipp made it instead I see, encouraging all the same that he was at least considered.

He's still only 16 and he's obviously still got some physical development to do, but that's a very promising sign.

I wonder if Mick might do something similar and call him up and allow him to train with the seniors as Lee O'Connor did recently. Terry Dixon, also of Spurs, was called up by Stan when he was still 16 and actually made the bench for the match against Chile.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 12:17pm
Encouraging words from Poch

. All the players that we have in the squad, the younger ones like Oliver Skipp or Troy Parrott, who was involved today for the first time, it's because they're involved in the first team during days, during weeks, during months, and it's only to give the possibility to play. I don't doubt and I am not worried about players who are injured or don't perform in their best, because we have another who can replace them.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 1:05pm
I know we have been down this road with the likes of Jack Byrne etc before, but Parrott’s only 16, a lot of our other prospects might get the chance to train with the senior squad when they are 18/19 etc.

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 5:31pm
As many have mentioned we have been down this road many times.  He needs a little luck, a lot of hard work and dedication and a good attitude if he wants to make it.  

It's not me it's you:-)

Posted By: bundy
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 9:27pm

If social media had been around when Paul McShane was 18 he’d have been the most hyped player to come out of Ireland for years. McShane was exceptional in his late teens. A mate of mine played with him and said he was the best player he’s ever played with. As far as I know, McShane made a mess of his career with United by taking on Ferguson - a battle he came out the wrong side of.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 10:37pm
Originally posted by bundy bundy wrote:

If social media had been around when Paul McShane was 18 he’d have been the most hyped player to come out of Ireland for years. McShane was exceptional in his late teens. A mate of mine played with him and said he was the best player he’s ever played with. As far as I know, McShane made a mess of his career with United by taking on Ferguson - a battle he came out the wrong side of.

Bit of hyperbole there... McShane came through around the same time as Stokes, Stokes was far more hyped even though there was "no social media". I don't think McShane was ever that highly rated.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 10:43pm
Ah he was. The fact that he was with Man United was a big deal. I also recall a story doing the rounds when we were 1 up at home to Czech Republic at half time after getting jockeyed in Cyprus the previous week. Some of the players were high fiving each other and apparently McShane, despite only being one of his first appearances, went bananas in the dressing room telling the lads to cop on as there were 45 minutes to go.

He then went and gave Janker too much space and they got a draw out of us but the feeling at the time was that he would be a big star for us.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 10:46pm
I'll rephrase; he may have been regarded as a good prospect, but not as a potential superstar, like Stokes and now Parrot were/are.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 11:06pm

Ah he was. The fact that he was with Man United was a big deal. I also recall a story doing the rounds when we were 1 up at home to Czech Republic at half time after getting jockeyed in Cyprus the previous week. Some of the players were high fiving each other and apparently McShane, despite only being one of his first appearances, went bananas in the dressing room telling the lads to cop on as there were 45 minutes to go.

He then went and gave Janker too much space and they got a draw out of us but the feeling at the time was that he would be a big star for us.
It was Koller, not Jancker. I do remember comparisons with Kevin Moran at the time, but he certainly was never as hyped up as Stokes or even Partridge. I'm guessing the position he plays would have had some impact too.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 11:14pm

It was 0-0 at HT and I’m pretty sure Koller equalised within 5 minutes of Kilbane scoring.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 11:17pm
Also, Jancker played for Germany.

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2018 at 11:19pm
My memory is not what it used to be but I still recall a lot of hype around him. Less so than a goalscorer as PM pointed out, which is standard.

Posted By: Scissors Kick
Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 1:09am

My memory is not what it used to be but I still recall a lot of hype around him. Less so than a goalscorer as PM pointed out, which is standard.

You are indeed correct Lenny, there were men with hard ons about him, grown men. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 8:27am

I recall McShane taking the ball from our penalty box and going on a mazey run, taking the ball past players and attempting a shot????

I remember thinking, hol-ee f**k... baller. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 5:20pm
Notable mention to terry Dixon

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 7:49pm
Trained with Spurs at Nou Camp tonight. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 9:18pm
Start him in Gibraltar Mick

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 9:41pm
I thought something happened. 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 10:06pm

Is he in their champions league squad? 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 10:21pm
I think that in a few years, we should play Alan Browne in the hole behind our young front two.

It will remind me of my first pet, but I think our attack should be Idah Browne Parrott 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 10:23pm

I think that in a few years, we should play Alan Browne in the hole behind our young front two.

It will remind me of my first pet, but I think our attack should be Idah Browne Parrott 

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 10:29pm

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 11:43pm

He doesnt have to be, hes u21.

Wont be in it anyway, he'll be needed for the u19s must win game.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 9:34am

No he is not.

Here is Tottenham’s 25-man ‘A list’ squad for the group stage...

Hugo Lloris

Michel Vorm

Paulo Gazzaniga

Kieran Trippier

Danny Rose

Toby Alderweireld

Jan Vertonghen

Davinson Sanchez

Eric Dier

Serge Aurier

Ben Davies

Son Heung-min

Harry Winks

Erik Lamela

Victor Wanyama

Moussa Sissoko

Dele Alli

Christian Eriksen

Lucas Moura

Harry Kane

Fernando Llorente

Mousa Dembele

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 10:12am

of course, forgot about both of those facts.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 10:29am

of course, forgot about both of those facts.

He cant be involved ,hes not eligible for the senior team in CL games.

Date Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 3:22pm
Just scored to put Spurs u19 1 nil up aginst Barca.

Posted By: RobsYourUncle
Date Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 3:22pm
Just scored for the 19s v Barcelona Clap