URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56602
Printed Date: 16 Apr 2024 at 7:10am

Topic: **The Annual YBIG QUIZ'18 RESCHEDULED*FRI 8TH FEB*
Subject: **The Annual YBIG QUIZ'18 RESCHEDULED*FRI 8TH FEB*
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 12:23am

ClapClapClapClapIt's that time of year again ClapClapClapClapClapClap****

At 19:30 on Friday night (the 30th November  ** we know poster says 28th but thats wrong) we are running the yearly YBIG Quiz fundraiser and YBIG Christmas Party in our HQ at Slatterys. Clap Same as last few years format, with a quiz / raffle / spot prizes and all that lark!

All the money raised on the night will go towards YBIG's charity and friends at Aoibheann's Pink Tie.

As always, it would be great for all YBIG'ers to get involved and come along on the night as its all your very generous donations that is helping this very worthy cause. Thumbs Up Also its always a brilliant night!

Help stop team 'As you were' winning their 3rd title in a row! Cry

More info to follow.......

** Like last time if lads have any prizes (no matter how big or small) they can donate towards the raffle it would all be very much appreciated. Let me know by PM

Also if anyone wants to volunteer to help out on the night send me a PM.

19:45pm'ish KO, teams of four, 10'er per person.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 12:25am
from YBIG quiz 2017.....

An absolute fantastic night last night, as always! Thanks to everyone who made the journey. A brilliant €1095 raised last night, which will be added to the €2765 that was also presented to our pal Jimmy Norman and all the heros at Aoibheanns Pink Tie. ClapClapClapClap

Big congrats to team 'As you were' for winning the back to back quizes, and also to nvidic who got the winning bid of €100 in the Auction for the YBIG mystery box. **But then proceeded to drop it on his way back to his seat and smash open the can of tennants that was inside it, pics to follow Big smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smileBig smile

Also well done to the Angries Nordies who narrowly missed out on the 'No Limits' tie breaker. However on a positive note,  SuperDave made up for the humiliation of getting his mastermind chosen subject wrong last year, as was the only one who got the train question right last night!
Also big congrats to NewryRep who celebrated his raffle win with 50 lads singing depeche mode in his face while sporting his knock off YBIG cap. Quote from Mrs NewryRep "Ive never seen him as happy in my whole life"

A special thanks to all the following people for helping out or donating prizes as a lot of work goes into organising these nights to make them successful and fun for everyone there...

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap
Gash for doing a top job MC'ing
Sham
Shoveonyournicks
Mayo Mark
Steve Amsterdam for supplying about 500 quizes for us to use!
Sligo Hornet
Drog Addict
Colum
Saint Tom
McG
Nvidic
Redladd
Bob Hoskins
Slatterys
Lifestyle sports
Carrolls Irish Gifts

and everyone who bought raffle tickets on the night!

Sorry if I left anyone out Embarrassed
ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 8:03am
great night last year though the tie breaker result was a travesty looking forward to it 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 8:58am
Here we go, 3 in a row. ClapClapClap

Looking forward to this. 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 9:04am
Thumbs Up Have to actually try to attend one of these. I say every year I'll go but never do LOL

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 9:10am

Looking forward to this. 

Cool

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 9:37am
I'll be thereThumbs Up

Back working in public service so nothing I can donate to the raffle this year and no €100 bids for the secret boxOuch

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 11:55am
The secret box, an assortment of crap landed on my kitchen table from DrogsAddict - a few additions of more tat in my gaff and a can of Carling added kindly by PhillyK, ladies and gentlemen you have one fine secret box LOL LOL LOL LOL 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 12:32pm
this year's surprise  prize box is gonna be classic

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 4:14pm

Looking forward to this. 

Cool

Booooooooooo

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 4:17pm
should make it this year

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 4:18pm
ClapFlights booked there.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 4:28pm

It’s not the flights it’s the accommodation that can be steep

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 4:33pm
Mikey is sorting that.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 5:20pm

I thought you hated Dublin 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 5:26pm
LOLThat sarcasm font is definitely needed!

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 5:33pm

LOLThat sarcasm font is definitely needed!

So you're not coming over LOL

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 11:36am
ahhhh we were gonna bake PM a Dublin YBIG cake too

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 11:50am
That would definitely have had cocaine in it!

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 11:56am

That would definitely have had cocaine in it!

We use it instead of flour

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 3:23pm
Bake with cocaine: the cake mightn't rise, but you'll still get high.

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 3:45pm

Bake with cocaine: the cake mightn't rise, but you'll still get high.

That's our motto

Date Posted: 05 Oct 2018 at 5:02pm
Heroin would have been more accurate, but cocaine kept the reference.
I'd be all over cakaine!

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 9:28pm
Wil miss this again this year Cry

Will get a few raffle tickets in advance lads.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 12:24pm

** Like last time if lads have any prizes (no matter how big or small) they can donate towards the raffle it would all be very much appreciated. Let me know by PM

Bump lads re prizes and help Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 12:42pm
No problem with prize this end Count

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 12:43pm
mystery box from me plus any other sh*t I manage to pick up on the way

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 2:26pm
I think the pub quiz should go on the road, killing us culchies.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2018 at 3:06pm

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2018 at 4:12pm
I'll bring some ybig clothing 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 11:53am
Apologies all, but due to unforeseen circumstances we are postponing the quiz for a few weeks, will rearrange for end of Jan and will post up details soon Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 11:55am
Related image

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:17pm
Hope nothing bad behind the postponement.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:17pm
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOBYRNE

I was saying the above

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:18pm

Nothing more than The Count is a lazy pig Thumbs Up 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:23pm
Boo-urns!

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:37pm
  Ok I have a two Gobus tickets for the Friday going spare and a night in Sandymount hotel that I need to shift .
Hey don't worry the lads from Dublin forget about the rest of the country .
Heart

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 12:37pm
Hope everything's alright Count. 

Will have to wait until January for 3 in a row. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 3:15pm

Nothing more than The Count is a lazy pig Thumbs Up 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 3:26pm
Works out well really. Wasn't going go so I would have money on Sunday for the draw.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 3:31pm

Works out well really. Wasn't going go so I would have money on Sunday for the draw.

You don't have to pay for the draw

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 3:41pm
Good planning here...Have the 2018 & 2019 quiz on the same night.
Trapped to be quizmaster for the 2018 quiz, with Sham correcting.
Then when the 2018 quiz is over, Trapped steps aside and Sham becomes the quizmaster chair for 2019 questions.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 3:53pm
Originally posted by whitesideOnside whitesideOnside wrote:

Then when the 2018 quiz is over, Trapped steps aside and Sham becomes the quizmaster chair for 2019 questions.

Just make sure Sham has it as part of his contract Wink

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2018 at 11:35pm

I was all set to do it as Gaz is away, but with the new date Gaz is back in the frame Clap

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2018 at 8:10am
Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

I was all set to do it as Gaz is away, but with the new date Gaz is back in the frame Clap

So are you saying the plying you with drink in arhaus on Tuesday in a bid to get the questions has been a waste of my time and money ? 

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2018 at 4:55pm

Originally posted by Trapped Trapped wrote:

So are you saying the plying you with drink in arhaus on Tuesday in a bid to get the questions has been a waste of my time and money ? 
That's exactly what I'm saying LOL

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2018 at 11:30pm
MASSIVE thanks to Mayo Mark for sorting the trophies again this year ClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2018 at 4:48am
Rescheduled date ?

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2018 at 8:42am

MASSIVE thanks to Mayo Mark for sorting the trophies again this year ClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

prob should be 2019 if your having it in January LOL

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 9:56pm

Rescheduled date ?

Bump

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2018 at 11:26pm

Rescheduled date ?

Bump
Any update on this?

Date Posted: 22 Dec 2018 at 9:42am
Likewise, can we set a date? 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2019 at 11:34pm

Rescheduled date ?

Bump

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapRESCHEDULED FOR FRIDAY 8TH FEB ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2019 at 11:57pm
Try again Count, im working

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 12:03am

ffs, send me on your work roster LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 12:04am

ffs, send me on your work roster LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 1:43pm
Well done Count ( not a phrase you hear that often)

Hotel booked and 5 euro drinking money already set aside

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2019 at 11:47am

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapRESCHEDULED FOR FRIDAY 8TH FEB ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Bumpity Bump Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2019 at 12:48pm
Tried to move things around but cant make this Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2019 at 9:44am

Sorry to hear McG 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2019 at 9:52am

CryCryCry

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2019 at 12:16pm
Count re-edit the ad and I'll send it around to some more people 

Date Posted: 28 Jan 2019 at 11:51pm

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapRESCHEDULED FOR FRIDAY 8TH FEB ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Bumpity Bump Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Jan 2019 at 6:52am
Out of date bottle of Blue Nun as discussed Count

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 2:46pm

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 3:05pm
ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap4 days to go ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 5:13pm
Count, stick me down for a prize and I will send to winner.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 5:20pm
Likewise Count, I won't make it on thee night but the company will cover a €50 one for all. Can make arrangements to get it the winner after. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 11:11pm

Count, stick me down for a prize and I will send to winner.

Likewise Count, I won't make it on thee night but the company will cover a €50 one for all. Can make arrangements to get it the winner after. 

great, thanks lads ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 12:26pm
Any spares looking to join teams? There is usually a three legged table on the night so just turn and we can sort something 

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 2:10pm
Looking like I'll only have 3.

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 4:34pm
Might have a spare for you Franko as three different groups are coming along with odd numbers or they might need a spare LOL 

Anyway, can sort it out tomorrow 

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 4:34pm
who else is entering a team?

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 4:38pm

Might have a spare for you Franko as three different groups are coming along with odd numbers or they might need a spare LOL 

Anyway, can sort it out tomorrow 

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2019 at 4:44pm

who else is entering a team?

We are looking for revenge for last year 

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 9:55am
ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap10 hours till KO ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 4:03pm
ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap3.75 hours till KO ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 4:22pm

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap3.75 hours till KO ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

What sort of clown uses decimal for time :). 

Posted By: OohAah...
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2019 at 7:33pm
we've a team on the way, may be a bit after 7:45

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 12:19am
Three in a row CoolCool

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 9:31am
No questions about nazis 

No questions on the eastern front 1941  - 1945

No questions on classic rock  1978 - 1984 

Who the fuk runs a quiz without those staples ? 

Great night well done to all concerned ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 12:04pm

Three in a row CoolCool

That your mob beside us?  Very obtuse.

Great night. Fair play Count and Hoskins. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 12:17pm

Three in a row CoolCool

Top top domination.  McG with ye again last night?

Posted By: OohAah...
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 12:40pm
good night alright. Congrats to the winners. Think we had a solid mid table finish. Anyone have the final scores?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 2:34pm

Three in a row CoolCool

Top top domination.  McG with ye again last night?
Unfortunatly not. Had to draft in the wife as a sub.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 2:34pm

Three in a row CoolCool

That your mob beside us?  Very obtuse.

Great night. Fair play Count and Hoskins. 
That was us alright. Straight out of Compton.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 7:40pm

Three in a row CoolCool
Time to update the signature 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 10:54pm
A brilliant night again last night, with the 'Former champions' coming out on top again to make it 3 in a rowClapClapClapClapClapClap. No Mcg on their team either last night so wondering is he the Phill Babb to Paul 'Frankosherenow' McGrath on the team Shocked

A great amount raised of €560 on the night with a further €750 raised with http://www.inter7s.com" rel="nofollow - inter 7s.com, so a fantastic amount again to give to our great friends and very worthy cause at Aoibheann's Pink Tie ClapClapClapClapClapClap

Few call outs from last night
Trapped the Quizmaster making an absolute fool out of the Gerk on his Dublin GAA knowledge EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed
SuperDave for getting his first train question right in 3 years ClapClapClap
NewryRep for getting a 7 euro hotel for himself and the missus for the night
Question on Chinese football for nVidic who wasnt there Cry
Trapped for calling out Cyprus as the Capital of the Bahamas Embarrassed
The Rocky music round ClapClapClapClapClapClap

A MASSIVE thanks as always to everyone who helped with prizes, donations and help on the night
StarStarStarStarStarClapClapClapStarStarStarStarStarClapClapClap
Trapped
Lorcan from Carrolls
Gasch
Mayo Mark
OohAah...
Saint Tom
McG
and Slatterys of course
StarStarStarStarStarClapClapClapStarStarStarStarStarClapClapClap

Congrats the Current Champs

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 10:57pm
Heres the questions Thumbs Up

Round 1

Questions:

1. Which two body parts continue to grow throughout your entire lifetime?

2. Who founded Amazon?

3. What was the name of the Category 5 hurricane that caused devastation from central Florida to eastern Texas in 2005?

4.What is the most common blood type?

5.What is the best-selling copyrighted book of all time?

6. Who were the last prisoners ever to be locked within the walls of the Tower of London?

7. What is the only nation to use six colours in their primary flag?

8. what are groove jam, electro swing and llama bell?

Round 2

Questions:

1. Stephen Hillenburg, who died in 2018 was the creator of what famous long running cartoon series?

2. Who stars as Mary Poppins in the 2018 'Mary Poppins Returns'?

3. Which planet, and its moons, was the unmanned NASA spacecraft 'Galileo' sent to study?

4. Over 99 percent of the world's what comes from Hevea brasiliensis?

5. Name the 4 semi finalists in last years  world cup?

6. What is a Class 17 Clayton D8568?

7. Can you name two American states consisting of only four letters?

8. What was created by William Hanna and Josephn Barbera in 1940?

Round 3

Questions:

1. In wwf/wwe, what was Jake the Snakes snake called?

2. Which footballer stars in a BBC popular podcast, called after his own name?

3. Termonfeckin is a village in which Irish county?

4. In what year was the Battle of Clontarf??

5. What is the easternmost country in the European Union?

6. What is the capital of The Bahamas?

7. What was the first country to win the World Cup twice?

8. What angle is formed by the hands of a clock at 4 o'clock?

Round 4 - Picture Round

Round 5

Questions:

1. What word links the “Wizard of Oz” with the top goal-scorer in the 1990 World Cup finals?

2. One of the biggest selling singles of the year was the song 'God's Plan' by which Canadian rapper?

3. In which year did Michael Flatley and Jean Butler stun the continent with their Eurovision Riverdance performance?       a) 1992 b) 1994 c) 1996

4. Which famous nightclub owner passed away in July 2018, having had a controversial club closing after only 6 months in Dublin in 2006?

5. In what month was the referendum held on whether to repeal a ban on abortion in Ireland?

6. The 2018 FIFA World Cup was the first world cup to use what?

7. Who is Real Madrid's all-time top goalscorer?

8. What number is positioned between numbers 2 and 3 on a dartboard?

Round 6

Questions:

1. What is the capital of New Zealand?

2. What is the largest island in the world?

3. In Creed 2, the eighth installment of the Rocky franchise, what are Apollo Creeds and Ivan Drago kids names who fight?

4. Question: Rachel and Steve / Steve and Rachel have the same amount of sweets each. How many sweets should Rachel give Steve so that she has four sweets more?

5. What occurs once in a minute, twice in a week and once in a year?

6. What is a liger?

7. What stadium will Ireland play Gilbratar in next month?

8. What is the biggest manmade structure on Earth?

Round 7

Music Round

Round 8

Questions:

1. What was the name of the character that Kylie Minogue played in the Aussie soap opera 'Neighbours'? (need to have surname)

2. Which iconic bridge is located at Dawes Point in The Rocks area for the south end, and the northern end is at Milsons Point.

3. Which lake holds by far the largest volume of water in the UK?

4. What was the name of the FBI Director dismissed by Donald Trump in 2017?

5. This ones for Daryl…. In 2018, Cédric Bakambu left Spanish side Villareal to join which club in a £65 million deal?

6. Roy Chipolina has captained which international football team?

7. What movie finishes with the quote…” I do wish we could chat longer, but... I'm having an old friend for dinner. Bye."”

8.  What was the Manhattan Project?

Bonus Round

One member of each team up to bar

1.       Tiebreaker: According to the lyrics, in Surfin bird, how many times is the word ‘Bird’ said

https://youtu.be/9Gc4QTqslN4" rel="nofollow -

https://youtu.be/QXLqMB6vBic" rel="nofollow -

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 11:01pm
Music Round

What Rocky movie did the following come from?

https://youtu.be/btPJPFnesV4" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/btPJPFnesV4
Rocky 3

https://youtu.be/sMpONc6n3x8" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/sMpONc6n3x8
Creed2

https://youtu.be/ioE_O7Lm0I4" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/ioE_O7Lm0I4
Rocky 1

4. https://youtu.be/5NwBucXbRa8" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/5NwBucXbRa8
Rocky 4

What TV programme/movie are these themes from?

https://youtu.be/GWbz_mIAShM" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/GWbz_mIAShM
The golden girls

https://youtu.be/V4kWpi2HnPU" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/V4kWpi2HnPU
Beverly Hills cop 1

https://youtu.be/jY9xZoKiBgU" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/jY9xZoKiBgU
Vacation

https://youtu.be/mrMLMV6E4CM?t=42" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/mrMLMV6E4CM?t=42
lost boys

https://youtu.be/vZFibw4SXIM" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/vZFibw4SXIM
the goonies

https://youtu.be/3mqhwhSerAw" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/3mqhwhSerAw
Friday

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 11:07pm

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2019 at 8:17am
Would've been guessing, would've went for Beijing Guoan, which I see is right, would've been a fluke though! 

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 11:38am
Some great questions there.

Out of curiosity

What did you have as the answer for the Largest Island ?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 11:50am

Out of curiosity

Greenland is the only acceptable answer, is it not?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 11:57am

Out of curiosity

Correct but I can just imagine people being annoyed if they had put Australia which while surrounded by water and not connected to any significant landmass and bigger than Greenland is not geographically considered an island.

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 11:58am
Nice ybig mugs.  I actually collect mugs as I am an avid tea drinkerCool

You facking mugs!

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 11:58am

Out of curiosity

Correct but I can just imagine people being annoyed if they had put Australia which while surrounded by water and not connected to any significant landmass and bigger than Greenland is not geographically considered an island.
But Australia is considered a continental landmass, or a ****inental one. Nobody should get annoyed with facts.

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 12:38pm
What about the answers :P

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2019 at 1:08pm

Out of curiosity

But Australia is considered a continental landmass, or a ****inental one. Nobody should get annoyed with facts.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2019 at 12:20am
Chinese football questions Thumbs UpThumbs Up
And, bizarrely, I’m dat here reading the questions at one of the places mentioned in the questions !

Well done everyone on the amount raised.