URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56594
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 11:02pm

Topic: Ireland v Wales
Subject: Ireland v Wales
Date Posted: 29 Sep 2018 at 10:16pm
Apologies if I missed a thread here but couldn't see one.

Bale went off injured at ht today, apparently not too serious but game is close enough.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2018 at 5:51am
Ah fcuk, do you mean to tell me we have to play these fellas again ? 

Posted By: Fatnacho
Date Posted: 30 Sep 2018 at 9:42am
Groin strain apparently.Out 2/3 weeks. Doubt they”ll rush him back for this.

Posted By: Ballycastle
Date Posted: 30 Sep 2018 at 2:33pm

Posted By: Jimmy Raggatip
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 3:02am
Bale will be touch and go

however the rest of their side that were confidently written off on here last time will still be available

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 7:04am
I'd imagine the squad will be announced today?

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 7:12am
anyone know when squad is set to be announced 

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 7:34am
just saw there it’s being announced Thursday 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 8:00am
Strange normally get something around this far out from the game with a provisional squad 

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 8:57am
He's mulling over his pick for 7th choice keeper.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 9:11am

He's mulling over his pick for 7th choice keeper.
I have my phone right beside me (although he'll need to look elsewhere for a GK)... LOL

Posted By: Rockyb81
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 2:06pm
Bale injury not as bad as 1st feared,due back in training on Thursday.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2018 at 8:24pm
Originally posted by Rockyb81 Rockyb81 wrote:

Bale injury not as bad as 1st feared,due back in training on Thursday.

Ah gick!!!

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 10:32am
Wales squad:

Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Danny Ward (Leicester City), Adam Davies (Barnsley).

Ashley Williams (Stoke City, on loan from Everton), James Chester (Aston Villa), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Gunter (Reading), Connor Roberts (Swansea City), Christopher Mepham (Brentford), Jazz Richards (Cardiff City), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Paul Dummett (Newcastle United), Declan John (Swansea City).

Joe Allen (Stoke City), Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal), Andy King (Leicester City), David Brooks (Bournemouth), Matthew Smith (FC Twente, on loan from Manchester City).

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Ben Woodburn (Sheffield United, on loan from Liverpool), Harry Wilson (Derby County), Tom Lawrence (Derby County), Sam Vokes (Burnley), George Thomas (S****horpe United, on loan from Leicester City), Tyler Roberts (Leeds United).

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 10:36am
If you take all their good players out of that,their sh*t players are no better than our sh*t players...

Posted By: manulike
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2018 at 2:28pm

If you take all their good players out of that,their sh*t players are no better than our sh*t players...

LIKE ;-)

Posted By: eboue16
Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 2:08pm
Bale off injured again in 80th min last night...

"He f**ked me over and my attitude is an eye for an eye."
Talking about Alf Inge Haaland tackle

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 11:17pm
Originally posted by eboue16 eboue16 wrote:

Any update on his injury?

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 11:47pm

Seems it could be a hamstring problem and not the groin problem he had recently, would imagine Real would be very reluctant to release him with the accumulation of these recent couple of injuries

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 7:59am

Seems it could be a hamstring problem and not the groin problem he had recently, would imagine Real would be very reluctant to release him with the accumulation of these recent couple of injuries

Real have no choice but to release him FIFA/UEFA Rules

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 8:40am

He joined the Wales squad yesterday, they'll assess him and decide 

Posted By: Borusse1982
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 11:50am
Do anyone know, if they offer beer at aviva Stadium at the umpcoming games of the Nation league? Last time i visited a qualification game the kiosks were closed, but the UEFA canceled the alcohol ban this summer. Will be at the game on tuesday vs. wales. I downloaded the rapidq app but there isnt any inofmratio yet, greets from germany

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 12:59pm
Denmark play off game gargle was available IIRC

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 1:54pm
Originally posted by Borusse1982 Borusse1982 wrote:

Do anyone know, if they offer beer at aviva Stadium at the umpcoming games of the Nation league? Last time i visited a qualification game the kiosks were closed, but the UEFA canceled the alcohol ban this summer. Will be at the game on tuesday vs. wales. I downloaded the rapidq app but there isnt any inofmratio yet, greets from germany

Get your priorties right, beer to numb the pain of watching the game 

Posted By: Rockyb81
Date Posted: 10 Oct 2018 at 2:20pm
Giggs confirms that Bale is 50/50 for Ireland game

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2018 at 4:25pm

Also said he was suffering was 'muscle fatigue', I'd imagine it's closer to 90/10.

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2018 at 4:49pm

Originally posted by Borusse1982 Borusse1982 wrote:

Get your priorties right, beer to numb the pain of watching the game 

There's always the Irish whiskey hip flask option.

Cool

Posted By: inlikeflynn
Date Posted: 10 Oct 2018 at 5:10pm

Also said he was suffering was 'muscle fatigue', I'd imagine it's closer to 90/10.

It’s easy to call it that way when you don’t say which way is 90!

Whatever happens you’re in the right now. Genius. 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:08pm
Wales 2-0 down to Spain after 20 minutes. Second goal was abysmal defending from a set piece think that may be our best chance of getting a goal 

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:12pm

Wales 2-0 down to Spain after 20 minutes. Second goal was abysmal defending from a set piece think that may be our best chance of getting a goal 
Step forward Shane Duffy

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:13pm

Get the corners over to the Duffers head.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:17pm
3-0 Spain

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:21pm
If we had a striker who could score goals we might give them a game this time 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:33pm

Which is basically the norm, no matter who we play.

It makes no difference if we're playing Wales or Slovenia or Brazil etc we are predictable and easy to play against!

The fact we've a few physical 6ft+ players who can get on the end of our unimaginative set pieces always offer a glimmer of hope. 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:51pm
We should all strive to be Wales

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 8:57pm

Iceland are beating France, so we will be striving to be them again.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 9:07pm

Iceland are beating France, so we will be striving to be them again.

Strive to have a plan at least.

Words Martin has never uttered....

Ma

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 9:37pm
Wales played some very good football at times. Second goal was brutal defending and 3 & 4 they were leaving emselves far too open. 
Going forward tho they did well, Brooks looks so comfortable running with the ball second half. 
That Spain team would destroy our over 30s defensive bullsh*t

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 9:47pm

Wales played some very good football at times. Second goal was brutal defending and 3 & 4 they were leaving emselves far too open. 
Going forward tho they did well, Brooks looks so comfortable running with the ball second half. 
That Spain team would destroy our over 30s defensive bullsh*t

So you're saying there's a chance. 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:14pm
I long for the glory days under Trap when only top class sides likes of Spain and Germany hammered us. Cool

Now bog standard sides like Wales and Denmark hammer usThumbs Down

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:20pm
That was Spain’s second team too.

God knows how many they’ll beat us by when we play them in the Euro 2020 group stages... in the unlikely event that we qualify. 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:22pm

That was Spain’s second team too.

God knows how many they’ll beat us by when we play them in the Euro 2020 group stages... in the unlikely event that we qualify. 
Until there is a 48 team Euros, we'll be safe enough!

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:23pm
Bale out for Tuesday. 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:23pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 

Who’s going to bail Ireland out though 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:24pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 
We haven't recovered from the last one!

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:26pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 
Ah fck would have loved to see the chimp try Cup his ears in landsdowne coont 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:28pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 
It's spelt 'road'.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:30pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 
It's spelt 'road'.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2018 at 10:47pm

Bale out for Tuesday. 
It's spelt 'road'.

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 12:00am
That is still annoying me. There was no reason for him to do it. Yet he ran towards us cupping his ears.

The f**king c*nt.

Posted By: manulike
Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 12:21am
Yes.
Sadly, Giggs saying that Bale is "very doubtful" for Tuesday and so is Ampadu.
God only knows why Ramsey played the full 90 minutes. He ran himself into the ground ;-(

Some sparks of talent in the last 30 minutes for Wales, but shambolic defending.

At least we may well have some goals on Tuesday instead of the dire 0-0 last year.

Good luck Saturday!

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 12:49am
Originally posted by manulike manulike wrote:

Yes.
God only knows why Ramsey played the full 90 minutes. He ran himself into the ground ;-(

Some sparks of talent in the last 30 minutes for Wales, but shambolic defending.

At least we may well have some goals on Tuesday instead of the dire 0-0 last year.

Good luck Saturday!

Seems like the honeymoon period is already over for Giggs. Brilliant opener against Ireland but the last two performances have been way below par and raise far more questions about the Welsh side than answering any.

It's anyone's guess how Ireland - Wales pans out on Tueday. Perhaps the Danish game might give us some sort of indicator of where Ireland are at (or not at).

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 8:35am

Originally posted by manulike manulike wrote:

Yes.

Good luck Saturday!

Seems like the honeymoon period is already over for Giggs. Brilliant opener against Ireland but the last two performances have been way below par and raise far more questions about the Welsh side than answering any.

It's anyone's guess how Ireland - Wales pans out on Tueday. Perhaps the Danish game might give us some sort of indicator of where Ireland are at (or not at).

His brother should be very afraid then

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 8:42am

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 9:59am

As I said before the game in Cardiff, if he can't beat this Irish team he should resign.

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 10:04am
The Welsh Steve Staunton will flop but he is still more clued in than Mr. Motivator

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 11:22am
Ampadu a doubt for Tuesday.  MON's luck is in again.

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 11:25am

Amapadu has been woeful in both Wales games since we gave him the freedom of Cardiff. 

He also hasn’t kicked a ball for his club. I think we made him look better than he is. 

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 11:27am

Amapadu has been woeful in both Wales games since we gave him the freedom of Cardiff. 

He also hasn’t kicked a ball for his club. I think we made him look better than he is. 

Shameful Paddies make average Welsh player look like I N  I  E  S T A

Posted By: FatFreddyMax
Date Posted: 12 Oct 2018 at 5:05pm
MON, should be trying new things in these matches.

Opportunity to play O'Brien again who has earned his spot as has Williams who I'd like to see slot in with Arter.

Doherty needs to start with Robinson and Egan also.

Hogan, O'Brien would be interesting. Perhaps Maguire with Hogan, little and large partnership. At 31 barely getting game time for Southampton its very hard to excited about the prospect of a fit Shane Long, I'm more excited about an English born L1 striker in Curtis who, if current form continues looks likely to be playing in the Championship who needs some game time over the next 2 games.

The continued absence of Rice has left a sour note in my mouth personally. The lose of Grealish, and the lack lustre approach to attract any English born player to join the fold. It's only a matter of time before Brendan Hines-Ike declares for the USA, Ryan Nolan declares for Spain... Ryan Johannsson declared for Luxembourg..... I need not to continue. Awful approach.

Ampadu is 18, and has played more senior games for Wales then Chelsea. As an association we really need to learn. Who knows what position we'd be in now if we'd tagged Grealish, Rice among a list that goes on for a decade as soon as their potential was discovered.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 4:55pm
Bale officially ruled out

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 5:41pm

Bale officially ruled out

Mepham and Ampadu are out too. This really is there for the taking but I suspect MON will go for a 0-0 draw and stink the place out of it like never seen before.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 6:06pm
Worst thing for Ireland is us winning. 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 6:14pm
Thankfully, that's unlikely to happen. Nil all draw/1 nil loss is likely if we play the same way as last night.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 6:25pm
Originally posted by FatFreddyMax FatFreddyMax wrote:

Opportunity to play O'Brien again who has earned his spot as has Williams who I'd like to see slot in with Arter.

Hogan, O'Brien would be interesting. Perhaps Maguire with Hogan, little and large partnership. At 31 barely getting game time for Southampton its very hard to excited about the prospect of a fit Shane Long, I'm more excited about an English born L1 striker in Curtis who, if current form continues looks likely to be playing in the Championship who needs some game time over the next 2 games.

The continued absence of Rice has left a sour note in my mouth personally. The lose of Grealish, and the lack lustre approach to attract any English born player to join the fold. It's only a matter of time before Brendan Hines-Ike declares for the USA, Ryan Nolan declares for Spain... Ryan Johannsson declared for Luxembourg..... I need not to continue. Awful approach.

Ampadu is 18, and has played more senior games for Wales then Chelsea. As an association we really need to learn. Who knows what position we'd be in now if we'd tagged Grealish, Rice among a list that goes on for a decade as soon as their potential was discovered.

Again, people are comparing the likes of Ampadu who actually WANTED to play for Wales with Grealish who decided he wanted to play for England and Rice who is on the fence.

If Grealish's heart wasn't in it, even if he did declare for us what good is he to us?

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 6:41pm

Originally posted by FatFreddyMax FatFreddyMax wrote:

Again, people are comparing the likes of Ampadu who actually WANTED to play for Wales with Grealish who decided he wanted to play for England and Rice who is on the fence.

If Grealish's heart wasn't in it, even if he did declare for us what good is he to us?

Perhaps when Grealish was Ampadu's age, he would have jumped at the opportunity to play for us. Similarly, if Wales had failed to call up Ampadu until he was 19/20 (like we did with Grealish), then perhaps he'd have been more drawn to England. Who knows..

Posted By: Luis Amor Rodriguez
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 7:30pm
Yep, think that's probably likely.  The Scots are now experiencing the situation with McTominay and Cairney.  

Posted By: Luis Amor Rodriguez
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 7:32pm
Would have zero worries re Ronan Curtis though - born in England presumably because of parents' work, but basically from Donegal as lived there all his life, played for Derry etc.  Very different to a lad born in England to English parents and lives in London all his life with English friends. 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 7:33pm
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

Yep, think that's probably likely.  The Scots are now experiencing the situation with McTominay and Cairney.  

Again like I said on another thread, no they're not he played against Albania.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2018 at 8:06pm
Bale is a major loss.

I also feel time has changed the outlook for this wales team. The defeat to Denmark and the hammering from Spain, coupled with our win against them a year ago would suggest they are not yet a team of status. Ramsey, Allen and Brooks will all play an important role, but their defence remains suspect, and while they potentially have better forward option than they did in October 2017, it’s not by much.

I think Wales flatter to deceive and Bale makes an insane difference. In reality we can get something from this.  

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 8:23am
I don't know I can stand through another 90 tomorrow of the same rubbish as Saturday. I know MON is a mad man but is there any chance he set himself a target for these 2 home games. A point against the Danes and all out to beat the Welsh. If we play like that again for another 90 then he should be sacked. 

Just on Christie's interview, I know there might some noise in the press but I don't we have ever got on his back. Seems to feel a bit of a scapegoat. 

On a side note, great craic at HT Clap

Posted By: CillDara
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 9:52am

Just on Christie's interview, I know there might some noise in the press but I don't we have ever got on his back. Seems to feel a bit of a scapegoat. 

Yeah it definitely seemed like that in his interview he felt as if he was being criticized unfairly or felt like a scapegoat. I don't recall the fans ever really giving him a hard time but I do feel bad for him in a way, without really ever playing badly for us everyone would rather see Matt Doherty in the team. It is unfortunate that of the limited number of players we have playing in the PL, 3 of them are right backs.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 9:59am

I don't know I can stand through another 90 tomorrow of the same rubbish as Saturday. I know MON is a mad man but is there any chance he set himself a target for these 2 home games. A point against the Danes and all out to beat the Welsh. If we play like that again for another 90 then he should be sacked. 

On a side note, great craic at HT Clap

His target will have been not to lose either game. If you offered him a nil all tomorrow right now he'd snap your hand off.

I think Christie was more referring to criticism he's taken at club level. 

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:13am
Ramsey out:  https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/45861244?n" rel="nofollow - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/45861244?n

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:16am
Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

Ramsey out:  https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/45861244?n" rel="nofollow - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/45861244?n
Do his family start dying when he scores now?

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:16am
Was there an altercation between Keane and McClean?

They were showing something on the TV when I was in the pub but couldn't make it out.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:18am
Another rub of the green for MON 

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:18am

Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

Do his family start dying when he scores now?

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:25am
We'll be playing for a 0-0 again I would say

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:28am
Even with Bale and Ramsey out I still don’t fancy us to win 

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:31am
An absolute must win tomorrow. They're completely there for the taking. 
A win tomorrow and we'll be going to denmark with a chance of topping the group. Wacko

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:42am
2 best players out. No excuses now 

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:51am
3-0 win to nullify their head to head advantage would be great can't see it happening though

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 10:54am
Lads honestly now, we have to win this game. If we don't win, he should be sacked. What's the f**king point of another 0-0?. 

If we don't f**king press and go for them then he should go. Even if we give it a go and lose I wouldn't be too annoyed. I can't do another 90 like Saturday. The first XI needs to be positive from the off. We need to have pace in the team. Play the lads that will run at you and keep you on your toes. Callum Robinson should start, Seanie should get 45. 

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:10am
This is our best chance of winning a game in the nations league,  Should we fail I feel the bed sheets will be out in force in Äarhus and rightly so.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:10am

3-0 win to nullify their head to head advantage would be great can't see it happening though

Would they still not be ahead of us on goals scored ? 

Posted By: Bogumit
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:12am
Better win 4-0 to be safe

Steady lads, we can’t even score one

http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/products/textiles-rugs/bedlinen/knoppa-fitted-sheet-white-art-40142738/?cid=gb%7Cps%7Cpla%7C%7C%7C%7C&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImJ6wwJqI3gIVzJPtCh28XwBiEAQYASABEgIli_D_BwE" rel="nofollow - http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/products/textiles-rugs/bedlinen/knoppa-fitted-sheet-white-art-40142738/?cid=gb%7Cps%7Cpla%7C%7C%7C%7C&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImJ6wwJqI3gIVzJPtCh28XwBiEAQYASABEgIli_D_BwE

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:13am

Steady lads, we can’t even score one
Exactly. 3-0LOL

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:15am
5/1 for the 0-0 draw could be the bet tomorrow night.

Posted By: niallmc
Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:15am
Surely we have to win with two of their better players not playing. But stranger things have happened.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:16am
Originally posted by niallmc niallmc wrote:

Surely we have to win with two of their better players not playing. But stranger things have happened.

Reckon they’ll still be stronger in areas than us 

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:16am
Odd thing is if we sneak a 1-0 tomorrow night - we go to Aarhus next month with a chance of winning the group.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:17am

Odd thing is if we sneak a 1-0 tomorrow night - we go to Aarhus next month with a chance of winning the group.

It’s written in the stars LOL

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:18am

Reckon they’ll still be stronger in areas than us 
They will only be stronger in one area; the big green one.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:18am

It all depends what it says on page 67 of Brian Clough's Guide to Management (1972-1991).

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:23am

Would they still not be ahead of us on goals scored ? 

That's the tie breakers,
  1. Higher number of points obtained in the matches played among the teams in question-We'd be ahead on points anyway if we win
  2. Superior goal difference in matches played among the teams in question;- if we were to win 3-0 we'd both have scored 4 goals over the two games hence our goal difference will be 0
  3. Higher number of goals scored in the matches played among the teams in question;-similar to above
  4. Higher number of goals scored away from home in the matches played among the teams in question;-we'd have scored 1 away to their 0
  5. If, after having applied criteria 1 to 4, teams still have an equal ranking, criteria 1 to 4 are reapplied exclusively to the matches between the teams in question to determine their final rankings If this procedure does not lead to a decision, criteria 6 to 10 apply;
  6. Superior goal difference in all group matches;
  7. Higher number of goals scored in all group matches;
  8. Higher number of away goals scored in all group matches;
  9. Higher number of wins in all group matches;
  10. Higher number of away wins in all group matches;
  11. Disciplinary points in all group matches (1 point for a single yellow card, 3 points for a red card as a consequence of two yellow cards, 3 points for a direct red card, 4 points for a yellow card followed by a direct red card);
  12. Position in the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_national_team_coefficient" rel="nofollow - UEFA national team coefficient ranking system.
FYI I'm not saying we are going to win 3-0, I'd take a 1-0 off the arse of Joe Allen.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:24am

It’s written in the stars LOL

Wouldn't f**king surprise me if we actually did LOL

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2018 at 11:26am

It all depends what it says on page 67 of Brian Clough's Guide to Management (1972-1991).

Page 67 is his 44 days at Elland Road..........