URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56577
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 5:46am

Topic: Football Commentary
Subject: Football Commentary
Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:02pm
I have an idea.  Why do channels bother with boring commentators such as Martin 'pallbearer' Tyler and his ilk?

Far better just have the lads back in the studio discussing the game  I reckon with the live feed of the game simultaneously. Gives a much better insight than just the 'expert analysis' for 2 mins at half time then a break then a bit after the match. 

Have Souness, Andrews, Kerr and Tommy Presenter discussing it. Gives a 'watching it live with experts' or a  down the pub feel to it.   Get better interaction that way than just some boring commentator with an ex player co-commentator.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:04pm
I miss David Pleat.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:34pm

I have an idea.  Why do channels bother with boring commentators such as Martin 'pallbearer' Tyler and his ilk?

But who would shout AND ITS LIIIIIVE before the ad break before kick off?

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:38pm

But who would shout AND ITS LIIIIIVE before the ad break before kick off?

What's the point of him saying that every game 30 seconds before kick off?  I know Martin.  I've tuned in because I know its fooking live plus if I am in any doubt (which I'm not) it has 'live' written in the corner of the screen under Sky Sports.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:39pm
I’ve no idea
Its become a catchphrase for him 

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 7:53pm

I’ve no idea
Its become a catchphrase for him 

Catchphrase? Say what you see. Well I see a useless commentator.  Should we expect a 'Cant touch this' type novelty record from him any month now with 'And it's live!' replacing ''Can't touch this''.  Also a sitcom where situations arise where he can trot out his catchphrase? 

''Hi Dad.  Me and Alison want to go see Britney Spears at the NEC Birmingham tonight.''
''Oh wow. Can I come?''
''Oh dad you wouldn't like it.''
''I actually like her music. I bought a CD of hers back in the day.''
''Really?!''
''Yes! I've always wanted to see her in person. And it's LIVE!!!!!!!!''

(cue coughing from the live studio audience)

or

ESB adverts warning children of the dangers of touching electricity wires like they used to show back in the 80's when children were thick as sh*t and had to be told not to put their hands in fire etc..

Martin Tyler pops up to warn a child retrieving a football from a power line. 

''No son you don't want to do that!''
''Why is that Mr. Tyler?''
''Because its LIVE!''

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2018 at 9:22pm
Souness on the analysis on virgin media at half time there kept refer to "our teams" and "our style" in Europe, talking about (presumably) English (maybe British generally) teams in Europe.

Eh yeah, except you're on Irish TV, you f**king gobsh*te.

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:21am
Hamilton & Houghton were as dull as fook last night on RTE. Even with an injury time winner they couldn't sound a bit excited, boring coonts

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:23am
Was out watching Liverpool v West Ham the other week in a boozer here : the channel they had it on had an issue with the commentary so for the first 20 minutes it was just the stadium noise and nothing else. It was glorious !

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:24am
You were lucky, I had to listen to Steve McManaman

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:43am

Souness on the analysis on virgin media at half time there kept refer to "our teams" and "our style" in Europe, talking about (presumably) English (maybe British generally) teams in Europe.
Eh yeah, except you're on Irish TV, you f**king gobsh*te.
At least he's British and played for English teams.

What excuse do Tommo and Anto down the pub have talking in their fake Scouse or Manc accents calling the players by their first name ?

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:44am
Commentators talk way way too much.

Back to the days of David Coleman - "Toshack, Keegan, one nil".

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:50am

Was out watching Liverpool v West Ham the other week in a boozer here : the channel they had it on had an issue with the commentary so for the first 20 minutes it was just the stadium noise and nothing else. It was glorious !

This is exactly what should be offered by channels giving live coverage. It surely couldn't be that hard to have an option to turn George Hamilton or whoever off, but still get all the pitch side sounds.

99 percent of commentary now is poison. The constant need to talk is painful. They simply can't let there be dead air for any moment. Then you have the likes of Hamilton who confuses half a football team in every game ' and that's Mane on the ball now. He passes it to Mane out wide who takes on the full back. He pulls it back to Mane on the edge of the box and what a shot, off the bar!!' It's totally shameful at this point that lads like him are still getting paid for this level of work.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:51am

Commentators talk way way too much.

Back to the days of David Coleman - "Toshack, Keegan, one nil".

Clap Clap Clap

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:04am

This is exactly what should be offered by channels giving live coverage. It surely couldn't be that hard to have an option to turn George Hamilton or whoever off, but still get all the pitch side sounds.

99 percent of commentary now is poison. The constant need to talk is painful. They simply can't let there be dead air for any moment. Then you have the likes of Hamilton who confuses half a football team in every game ' and that's Mane on the ball now. He passes it to Mane out wide who takes on the full back. He pulls it back to Mane on the edge of the box and what a shot, off the bar!!' It's totally shameful at this point that lads like him are still getting paid for this level of work.
Ffs, he called Mane's name for Liverpool's 1st goal and had to correct himself to say it was Daniel Sturridge. LOL

And he didn't start getting confused yesterday either - I still remember him commenting on Spain's goal against Ireland in that 2nd round match of the 2002 world cup 'it's Luis Enrique'. No it wasn't George, it was Fernando Morientes. EmbarrassedLOL

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:10am

And he didn't start getting confused yesterday either - I still remember him commenting on Spain's goal against Ireland in that 2nd round match of the 2002 world cup 'it's Luis Enrique'. No it wasn't George, it was Fernando Morientes. EmbarrassedLOL
And the infamous Baggio brothers at USA94.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:15am

Ah jaysus how could I forget those gems. He's just truly awful LOL

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:17am

'Who, of course, are not related'. LOL

Despite those blunders, I still found myself switching over to RTE from BT Sport.  I just couldn't stick listening to Darren Fletcher's voice any longer. Dead

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:18am
The Baggio one is a classic. I always liked George, I do think an element of that is simply down to nostalgia. I think we all have a soft spot for the commentator who seemed to be always there in our childhood.
I also think the compulsory addition of a 'colour commentator', most of whom add nothing of value and the fact many commentators now skip radio entirely have damaged the craft.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:22am

'Who, of course, are not related'. LOL
Despite those blunders, I still found myself switching over to RTE from BT Sport.  I just couldn't stick listening to Darren Fletcher's voice any longer. Dead
At least you didn't have to look at him!

BT and their need for two 'colour commentators', an interjcting referee and a whole team of pundits in the studio, have a lot to answer for. I'm not sure if they still do this, maybe they've learned, but it was farcical.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:23am
Wait...Dino and Roberto Baggio aren't related?

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:33am

You'd be hard pushed finding a match with any stadium noise most weeks.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:46am

You always bring City into the conversation !!!

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 11:43am

Was thinking more about Liverpool fans last night, and their "famous atmosphere"

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 12:54pm

Was thinking more about Liverpool fans last night, and their "famous atmosphere"
The PSG fans made plenty of noise, so what? Added to the whole occasion and fair play to them. Doesn't mean the home support was any less vocal than usual. Those at the game said the atmosphere was electric so yeah, another great Anfield european night with the "famous atmosphere". Don't be jealous of it

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 1:42pm

The Liverpool fans sounded very quiet on the TV. Could only hear the PSG fans for the vast majority. Maybe was different if being there in person.

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 3:14pm
Fairness to the PSG fans, they were mental and created some noise.

Posted By: mbyrne15
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 4:56pm
Originally posted by Carmody 10 Carmody 10 wrote:

Fairness to the PSG fans, they were mental and created some noise.

With three lads stood at the front with mega-phones and their backs to the match it's a lot easier to get the fans going collectively.

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 9:20pm
Hamilton has had some awful commentary over the years. He got excited one time during a game and said "He's given a penalty!" when the ref had actually given a goal-kick.

But his worst moment had to be in Paris when he called the Henry double hand ball and Gallas goal as a Paul McShane OG!

Overall modern commentators all sound the same. And if they try to be different they are just annoyingly shouty or use obviously pre-prepared snippets, often based around matching players names with awful puns.

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2018 at 10:00pm
The worst commentary is when they just name the player on the ball.   ''Keita to Salah and now Firmino, back to Salah''

I know FFS I can see it and who cares anyway?  Say something of interest.

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 16 Oct 2018 at 3:40pm
A bit of a shock to see that Peter Brackley has passed away.

Did the commentary on Channel 4 when Serie A was at its height.

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2018 at 4:03pm
The Titanic has sunk too did you hear?

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 16 Oct 2018 at 4:07pm

The Titanic has sunk too did you hear?

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2018 at 6:54pm

I can't believe he was only 67, he sounded that old when he doing Football Italia.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2018 at 2:33pm
Martin Tyler in the Liverpool game just there LOL

Turned full Michael Owen nearly.

"Full time is 4-0. It wasn't deserved as 1 was offside and the other was an own goal"
"David Brooks, the Englishman playing for Wales"
"Fabinho's shot is rubbish, it was more Inho than Fab"

Dead

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2018 at 9:35am

Martin Tyler in the Liverpool game just there LOL

Turned full Michael Owen nearly.

"Full time is 4-0. It wasn't deserved as 1 was offside and the other was an own goal"
"David Brooks, the Englishman playing for Wales"
"Fabinho's shot is rubbish, it was more Inho than Fab"

Dead
Tyler's a knob

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 2:42pm
Quit my job last May to go full time at the voice acting which has been going great and about 6 months ago I started doing football commentary voice overs in different accents and languages - Hard to believe but it really took off ! Doing weekly Premier league remote commentary for an Asian firm and have just been offered a job commentating on the amputee World cup in Istanbul which starts at the end of the month - Flights and accom included - Buzzing !

Usually voice in an English or Irish accent and add in a few Andy Gray style comments in a Scottish accent for the co commentary or "Goal" commentary in Spanish /German.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kWYqKbxCos&t=32s" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kWYqKbxCos&t=32s

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 3:21pm
fixed your link SL, great workThumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 4:00pm

Quit my job last May to go full time at the voice acting which has been going great and about 6 months ago I started doing football commentary voice overs in different accents and languages - Hard to believe but it really took off ! Doing weekly Premier league remote commentary for an Asian firm and have just been offered a job commentating on the amputee World cup in Istanbul which starts at the end of the month - Flights and accom included - Buzzing !

Usually voice in an English or Irish accent and add in a few Andy Gray style comments in a Scottish accent for the co commentary or "Goal" commentary in Spanish /German.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kWYqKbxCos&t=32s" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kWYqKbxCos&t=32s

Fair play JP, delighted for you 

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 4:19pm

fair playClap

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 5:00pm
Thanks lads! (Appreciate it Sham)

I started during the first lockdown when the pub was shut and did it for the craic and a few extra quid . By the time the second lockdown was finished I was doing well enough to go full time and did some huge jobs for a Katie Taylor fight on Sky ,The NHL , Netflix documentary and a load of video games etc.

Probably one of the few positive stories to come out of the Pandemic Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 5:18pm
Jesus JP what occupation do you have in your passport 

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 7:27pm

LOL Good question !

Hope we can catch up for a pint in Scotland .

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 7:55pm

Thanks lads! (Appreciate it Sham)

I started during the first lockdown when the pub was shut and did it for the craic and a few extra quid . By the time the second lockdown was finished I was doing well enough to go full time and did some huge jobs for a Katie Taylor fight on Sky ,The NHL , Netflix documentary and a load of video games etc.

Probably one of the few positive stories to come out of the Pandemic Thumbs Up

Wow , outstanding Clap

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 7:56pm
I watched some of the other clips you had posted on youtube and I thought they were very good. Fair play to you Clap

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 8:14pm

LOL Good question !

Hope we can catch up for a pint in Scotland .

👍

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 10:08pm
JP
Have you mastered the local Donegal accent yet ?
Well done

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2022 at 10:30pm
I enjoyed your commentation

Date Posted: 07 Sep 2022 at 6:50am
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

JP
Have you mastered the local Donegal accent yet ?
Well done

Didn't get that far (Literally ) !

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2022 at 11:36am
https://www.irishcentral.com/culture/craic/voice-actor-irish-accents?fbclid=IwAR0myFKrlfmCFHtr26grVxrZVMxzb4_aXEinG_YV3H_5bWzEgCCZB4raw4Y" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishcentral.com/culture/craic/voice-actor-irish-accents?fbclid=IwAR0myFKrlfmCFHtr26grVxrZVMxzb4_aXEinG_YV3H_5bWzEgCCZB4raw4Y