URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56493
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 1:57am

Topic: English FA Cup 2018/19
Subject: English FA Cup 2018/19
Date Posted: 11 Aug 2018 at 6:28am
Big local derby on tv today if anybody fancies it.
Wink 

Haverhill Rovers v Haverhill Borough
FA Cup Extra Preliminary Round
ko 12.30
BBC Connected TV/BBC Sport Website.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2018 at 8:42pm
One for the diary tomorrow.
Ermm 

Prestwick Heys v Radcliffe Borough
FA Cup Preliminary Round
ko 12.30
BBC Red button/BBC Website.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2018 at 6:11am

Non-league side Litherland Remyca have been thrown out of the FA Cup over an unpaid £10 fine.

The Merseyside club unwittingly fielded a suspended player in the 4-2 win over Charnock Richard in the extra-preliminary round on 11 August.

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2018 at 7:29am

The BBC will broadcast the FA Cup fourth qualifying round tie between Dunston UTS and Gateshead.

The match will be streamed live on the BBC Sport website and app and Connected TV from 12:20 BST on 20 October.

Haddaway man Gazza won't know who to support!

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2018 at 10:29am

The BBC will broadcast the FA Cup fourth qualifying round tie between Dunston UTS and Gateshead.

The match will be streamed live on the BBC Sport website and app and Connected TV from 12:20 BST on 20 October.

Haddaway man Gazza won't know who to support!

Don't hurt me, no more.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2018 at 7:46am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45944527&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwiGpaLY-5veAhUmL8AKHdHBDZAQqQIIFzAB&usg=AOvVaw1l4v4swr8MVd87-LsyQVnX" rel="nofollow - FA Cup first round draw: Non-league Hampton & Richmond Borough face Oldham

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 9:46pm
AFC Wimbledon left it very late with the winner at Haringey Borough no magic of the cup tonight.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:07pm
Did you even see the game. The fact the game went ahead was magical in itself!

The outswinging corner which hit the bar because the winds blowing that hard ontop of the mad rain summed up the game quite well.

The only good thing to say about Haringey is their Manager is also the guy who runs their turnstiles, that's pub level stuff.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:09pm
It would have been a nice evening for a walk, you could have strolled down.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:21pm

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:27pm
Did you mean to type that in the crap joke thread?

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:28pm

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:36pm

Did you even see the game. The fact the game went ahead was magical in itself!

The outswinging corner which hit the bar because the winds blowing that hard ontop of the mad rain summed up the game quite well.

The only good thing to say about Haringey is their Manager is also the guy who runs their turnstiles, that's pub level stuff.

Just the last five minutes I watched the steel derby.

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 5:46pm
Portsmouth -1
Peterborough -1
Newport -1
Maidstone to beat Macclesfield

The easiest 60 notes you’ll find all season

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 5:59pm

Portsmouth -1
Peterborough -1
Newport -1
Maidstone to beat Macclesfield

The easiest 60 notes you’ll find all season

Anyone can say it was "easy money" and post up who they backed after the event, no great skill in that. 

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 6:04pm
Insight is the word you're looking for Thumbs Up

It was easy because this Macclesfield team is perhaps the worst ever team to appear in the EFL and then you combine it with aload of heavy favourites to win by more than 1.

11/1 for that!

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 6:08pm

Insight is the word you're looking for Thumbs Up

It was easy because this Macclesfield team is perhaps the worst ever team to appear in the EFL and then you combine it with aload of heavy favourites to win by more than 1.

11/1 for that!

You're missing my point.

I'm not questioning who you've backed, I'm merely saying anyone there's no skill in letting the world know you've won money after an event.

If you were so confident why didn't you post it up on here before the event and we all could have backed it Wink

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 6:18pm
Where does skill come into play in gambling?!

Honestly right. I only throw 50p on a weekend on a 10 fold or something stupid like that on a Score Win because we all see it on Twitter where some f**k wins 10 grand from a quid. But the 5/2’s on the handicaps caught my eye and just seemed too good to be true so i hoyed a 5 note in 

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2018 at 7:41pm

Where does skill come into play in gambling?!

Honestly right. I only throw 50p on a weekend on a 10 fold or something stupid like that on a Score Win because we all see it on Twitter where some f**k wins 10 grand from a quid. But the 5/2’s on the handicaps caught my eye and just seemed too good to be true so i hoyed a 5 note in 
He's saying anyone could clog up YBIG posting wining bets, we all have them, the only thing worth posting is if you saw it as a banker this morning, and posted it then. Otherwise just keep it to yourself and enjoy the win

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2018 at 10:05pm
Gutted for Hampton and Richmond. 
Deserved to win never mind concede 2.

The only bad thing about them is the fact they had a player called Mambo with the #6 shirt. Missed a trick there Tongue

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2018 at 6:25am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46188081&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjH3fPn3dDeAhVsKsAKHbIqBa4QqQIIFzAB&usg=AOvVaw3FRdP4Fyl-FLQdjjdTb0UU" rel="nofollow - FA Cup second-round draw: Guiseley face Fleetwood, Rochdale meet Portsmouth

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2018 at 1:21pm

Friday 30 November
Solihull Moors vs Blackpool (7.55pm)
BBC Two

Saturday 1 December
Morecambe or FC Halifax v AFC Wimbledon (12.30pm)
Live on BT Sport 1

Wrexham v Newport County (8pm)
Live on BT Sport 1

Monday 3 December
Guiseley vs Fleetwood Town (8pm)
Live on BT Sport 1

Second round matches live on tv.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2018 at 9:58pm

National League Barnet came from a goal down to beat League One Bristol Rovers in their FA Cup first round replay tonight.

The magic of the cup.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2018 at 10:13am
The Third Round FA Cup Draw is on BBC 1 from 19.30 tonight.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2018 at 7:47pm
The 2 non league teams at Home to Premier League opposition.

Delighted for them. Proper cup ties Cool

Date Posted: 07 Dec 2018 at 6:48am

http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.thefa.com/news/2018/dec/06/fa-cup-on-tv-third-round-061218&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjT1deUj43fAhUAQhUIHUrACZIQqQIIHjAB&usg=AOvVaw0GDns5qqoqxkya6NIEMVn_" rel="nofollow - FA Cup on TV
The FA -

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2018 at 6:22pm
https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46607201&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwiU_LnP_6nfAhVC6qQKHQz6AW8QqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw1bTiXjJ4LoAB3AGYEbBtgN" rel="nofollow - FA Cup fifth-round replays abolished to ease fixture congestion

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2018 at 8:13pm

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46607201&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwiU_LnP_6nfAhVC6qQKHQz6AW8QqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw1bTiXjJ4LoAB3AGYEbBtgN" rel="nofollow -

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2018 at 10:13pm

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46607201&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwiU_LnP_6nfAhVC6qQKHQz6AW8QqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw1bTiXjJ4LoAB3AGYEbBtgN" rel="nofollow - FA Cup fifth-round replays abolished to ease fixture congestion
Proper order, all ties should be settled on the day

Agree.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 8:54am
Be interesting to see what kind of team does Liverpool put out v Wolves away. 
Do they go for it or just settle for the league & Champions league double.

Man City can play the 2nd team and still beat Rotherham at home.
It’s probably a competition they can throw as they have a league cup final in the bag and are still in the champions league.

Spurs should beat Tramere tonight with a 2nd string team.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 9:04am
Pep should rest as many key players as possible in the next couple of games against Rotherham and Burton. De Bruyne, Fernandinho, Silva, Silva, Aguero, Sterling, Sane - all should be rested.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 9:05am
Why would KDB rested? Surely he needs games for match fitness

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 9:11am
He hasn't looked right any time he's come back from an injury this season. There were reports he complained about muscle soreness after his last return. He needs an extended rest to be in top condition for the business end of the season I think.
When he came back from his longest spell out this season, in early November, he was kept on for 80 minutes at home to Fulham in a league cup tie that was already won, and that's when he picked up his next injury. I'm just fearful of this happening again in a game where he isn't needed.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 12:45pm

Be interesting to see what kind of team does Liverpool put out v Wolves away. 
Do they go for it or just settle for the league & Champions league double.

Man City can play the 2nd team and still beat Rotherham at home.
It’s probably a competition they can throw as they have a league cup final in the bag and are still in the champions league.

Spurs should beat Tramere tonight with a 2nd string team.
Wolves could rest players too.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 12:48pm
Wolves could play some of their cubs

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 1:02pm

Wolves could play some of their cubs
I miss pM! Big smile

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 9:20pm
6-0 up and spurs bring on Harry Kane. Ermm

Bit of a dick move that. 

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 10:15pm
"It was the plan to give Harry Kane 15-20 minutes to play, he always wants to play. It is important too for the fans here and the opponents to enjoy Harry Kane, he's an icon in England and not everyone can have the opportunity to see him. It was important to show some respect to the people who are here, it was very nice for everyone.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2019 at 10:59pm
I would agree with that sentiment. People are always giving out about reserve teams being put out.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 7:28am

"It was the plan to give Harry Kane 15-20 minutes to play, he always wants to play. It is important too for the fans here and the opponents to enjoy Harry Kane, he's an icon in England and not everyone can have the opportunity to see him. It was important to show some respect to the people who are here, it was very nice for everyone.

When I seen the line up I thought Poch had way over estimated Tranmere.
Son and Dele were not required in the starting line up and I couldn’t believe Kane and Eriksen were in the squad.

On reading this it was a nice touch from Poch...... 

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 10:03am

<span style="color: rgb37, 37, 37; font-family: ReithSans, Arial, Helvetica, freesans, sans-serif; font-size: 16px;">"It was the plan to give Harry Kane 15-20 minutes to play, he always wants to play. It is important too for the fans here and the opponents to enjoy Harry Kane, he's an icon in England and not everyone can have the opportunity to see him. It was important to show some respect to the people who are here, it was very nice for everyone.</span>

He did score a hatrick after all.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 10:05am
I'ts about time Spurs took the FA Cup seriously.
Wink

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 12:55pm
United penalty vs Reading. How did it take that long to award the penalty? It's truly desperate stuff. I'm guessing but I'd say 3 mins or so to get it sorted. It should have taken no more than 30 seconds and I'm not even sure why VAR was needed. The linesman put the flag up, and if the referee needed VAR to see the foul on Mata, then best of luck to him, it should be his last day on the job.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 3:48pm

United penalty vs Reading. How did it take that long to award the penalty? It's truly desperate stuff. I'm guessing but I'd say 3 mins or so to get it sorted. It should have taken no more than 30 seconds and I'm not even sure why VAR was needed. The linesman put the flag up, and if the referee needed VAR to see the foul on Mata, then best of luck to him, it should be his last day on the job.
At Turf Moor the pen was given and we were just about to take it then they decided if was offside and not a pen . Far too long .

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 10:40pm
Even the MOTD pundits attire disrespects the FA Cup

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 11:05pm

Even the MOTD pundits attire disrespects the FA Cup

Lineker, Shearer and Wright go on holiday while the smart shirts and trousers go to the dry cleaners.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 11:19pm
The most overrated date on the football calendar, even more so than deadline day even.

The only thing to come out of today was the Ipswich are 1 game away (2 if they get relegated) from going a full decade without winning an FA cup match.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 9:05am
I don’t mind the FA cup weekends for the 3rd (didn’t watch any) and the 4th round as there is loads of games to get through.

But after that they should be moved to midweek games until the 1/2 finals IMO.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:18pm
What's the 4th round draw?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:21pm

What's the 4th round draw?
I think it’s a draw for teams in the 4th round but I could be wrong

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:22pm
ha. Oops!
When's the 4th round draw!?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:22pm
Tomorrow before the Liverpool game I think I heard

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:24pm
Edit - it’s after the pool match

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:24pm
Barnet beating sheff utd the biggest upset id say this weekend

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:25pm

Tomorrow before the Liverpool game I think I heard
Think it is actually after the game 10pm mentioned I heard

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 5:41pm

Managerless League 2 side beating a Premier League Club......

If this all happened yesterday when they should be played it would of made a decent round. But the scattered KO times to suit Broadcasters have annihilated the fun of the cup

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:15pm
Cool peno from Padraig Amond.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:16pm

Did the crowd go nuts?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:18pm

Did the crowd go nuts?
 Big smile

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:23pm
Clap Well done Newport the magic of the cup.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:28pm

If this all happened yesterday when they should be played it would of made a decent round. But the scattered KO times to suit Broadcasters have annihilated the fun of the cup

Who?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:29pm
Between don’t take me home, allez allez, discoland and the Icelandic clap, Newport fans certainly went through the full repertoire of popular generic football chants 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:29pm
Delighted for Podge to score the winner Clap

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 6:35pm

Delighted for Podge to score the winner Clap
 Cool

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 10:36pm

Who?

Only seeing yesterdays results Shocked

That was some upset! Fulham are desperate.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 10:50pm
Still has to be barnet over sheff utd. National league side. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 11:06pm
Dunno. Oldham are a rancid club. They haven’t had a recognised Striker since Eoin Doyle and that was last year, they signed Patrick McEleney but he was out for 4 months and when he finally became fit he was like f**k this I’m out LOL
And on top of that they don’t even have a Manager!
When a Premier League club loses to that sort of calibre it’s desperate.

From yesterday’s post what’s the record for the most consecutive FA cup losses? Ipswich haven’t won since January 2010. They have tovhe close 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 5:50am

Dunno. Oldham are a rancid club. They haven’t had a recognised Striker since Eoin Doyle and that was last year, they signed Patrick McEleney but he was out for 4 months and when he finally became fit he was like f**k this I’m out LOL
And on top of that they don’t even have a Manager!
When a Premier League club loses to that sort of calibre it’s desperate.

From yesterday’s post what’s the record for the most consecutive FA cup losses? Ipswich haven’t won since January 2010. They have tovhe close 

Its a question of when not if Ipswich go down they should never have got rid of Mick Mac.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 12:00pm

The most overrated date on the football calendar, even more so than deadline day even.

The only thing to come out of today was the Ipswich are 1 game away (2 if they get relegated) from going a full decade without winning an FA cup match.

I had to double check it was you, after reading these comments, but confirmed that it was there by doing a search.
This time last year whenever I described an early round of the cup as very dull you were telling people not to rise to me and described it as the best cup competition in the world.

Do you suffer from memory loss?

Seems your opinion on the comptetition has turned full circle in the last twelve months.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 12:22pm

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 1:19pm

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 1:53pm

I had to double check it was you, after reading these comments, but confirmed that it was there by doing a search.
This time last year whenever I described an early round of the cup as very dull you were telling people not to rise to me and described it as the best cup competition in the world.

Do you suffer from memory loss?

Seems your opinion on the comptetition has turned full circle in the last twelve months.

Even the early rounds have been sh*t this year which sums up how bad this years competition has been. I can only name 1 good thing and that was Slough Town.

Oldham and Barnet saved the supposed best weekend in the football calendar from being an absolute borefest and the games have traditionally been a 3pm Saturday KO but this year we’v had instead a 7:45 on a Friday, 12:30 on Saturday, 5:30 on Saturday, 1pm on Sunday, 4pm on Sunday and a 7:45 on a Monday.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 2:04pm
This is nothing new - I’m sure over the last 5 years we have had games on Fri/Sat/Sun/Mon for the 3rd round.
For some of the smaller teams that TV money is like winning the lottery.

Like most other competitions, it only gets interesting until the business end. 
Be thankful it’s not seeded!

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 2:20pm

I don’t mind the FA cup weekends for the 3rd (didn’t watch any) and the 4th round as there is loads of games to get through.

why would they do that, after the 4th round there is premier league games on Saturdays anyway for teams out of the cup and concentrating on the big prize of money and staying up

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 2:24pm
It’s nothing new but its a big factor  why the competition is in a dreadful state. 
It never got this bad when ITV had it and it was just Saturday/Sunday.

The small teams make the competition, it gets worse as it progresses, if it wasn’t for the small teams it would be another League Cup. 
The hype surrounding Sutton Utd and that overweight 45 year old keeper might sound very amateur but the 16/17 season is the most watched FA Cup year of all time as the following round you also had Lincoln City, still a non league side at the time still in it. It was genuinely fun to watch even if you had zero association with either team.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 2:32pm

Its was probably a better 3rd round this year than the last few years. Gillingham, Barnet, Newport and Oldham were good giantkilling stories.

Agree with you on the kick off times. What was the idea with so many 12.30 and 5.30 kick offs on the Saturday and so many 2pm games on the Sunday, that weren't televised.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 2:37pm
Heard a clip of an interview with the young fella Gibbs White from Wolves there about tonight's match with Liverpool. He said "we played them recently and that didn't end goodly for us" LOL

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 3:20pm
Originally posted by mandrake mandrake wrote:

why would they do that, after the 4th round there is premier league games on Saturdays anyway for teams out of the cup and concentrating on the big prize of money and staying up

If it was mid week on its own it would get more attention/headlines.
Playing it alongside other EPL devalues it.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 3:29pm

So shaft the Football League teams who actually make the competition what it is as they still play League games midweek throughout the season?

It’s an idea so bad not even the very incompetent FA have suggested yet

Posted By: Twoinarow
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 3:49pm

Its was probably a better 3rd round this year than the last few years. Gillingham, Barnet, Newport and Oldham were good giantkilling stories.

Agree with you on the kick off times. What was the idea with so many 12.30 and 5.30 kick offs on the Saturday and so many 2pm games on the Sunday, that weren't televised.

They were all moved for TV coverage in America/Asia etc...

2 in a row and we won it in Tallaght

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 5:10pm

Heard a clip of an interview with the young fella Gibbs White from Wolves there about tonight's match with Liverpool. He said "we played them recently and that didn't end goodly for us" LOL

It reminds me of that fookin eejit in the white house describing his supposedly powerful belief in God as 'Big League' LOL

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 5:32pm

So shaft the Football League teams who actually make the competition what it is as they still play League games midweek throughout the season?

It’s an idea so bad not even the very incompetent FA have suggested yet

Eh the football league wanted it to happen 

Google “Shaun Harvey (football league chief executive) and midweek FA Cup” 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 6:52pm
Klopp not bothered much by the Cup it seems looking at that team selection

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 7:07pm

Can't blame him really as they have bigger fish to fry .

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 7:09pm
Agree
It’s all about the league for them this season. Even the CL would
take a back seat to it

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:09pm
Lovren off injures early on 
Replaced by a 16 year old

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:12pm

The magic of the Cup.  This is the one everyone goes all out to win.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:12pm
Do the linesmen not know to let the play go on close off sides and it will be reviewed by VAR? Looks like a few decisions wrong so far in this game, when they could easily let them run and have it over turned later on.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:14pm

Do the linesmen not know to let the play go on close off sides and it will be reviewed by VAR? Looks like a few decisions wrong so far in this game, when they could easily let them run and have it over turned later on.

sexist pigThumbs Down

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:23pm
sh*te game so far.

Good finish by Jiminez.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:24pm
That Wolves player Vinagre needs to start to pepper the Liverpool goal 
Although he’d probably be good at scoring a chip

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:31pm

sexist pigThumbs Down

How?

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:37pm

sexist pigThumbs Down

How?

They are called referee's assistants now or flag angels.

What would Sian Massey and Alex Scott say?

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:47pm

sexist pigThumbs Down

How?

They are called referee's assistants now or flag angels.

What would Sian Massey and Alex Scott say?

Are they officiating in the match?

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:47pm
No they’re at home doing the dishes 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 8:48pm
Shocking attitude.  So it's ok to be sexist if no women are there to hear it?Shocked
Also did you just ASSUME the referee's assistant's gender?Shocked

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 9:05pm
You should have taken D-Macs advise from the other day 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 9:06pm
These managers don’t look overly happy tonight when their teams score

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 9:07pm

It's 'advice'.

The sexist illiterate bully just showing himself up further.Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2019 at 9:08pm

It's 'advice'.

The sexist illiterate bully just showing himself up further.Thumbs Down