URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=56209
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 2:18pm

Topic: Ballymun Blaze
Subject: Ballymun Blaze
Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:40pm
DFb with a number of units fighting a fire across the upper levels of the Metro Hotel in Ballymun. A lot of families in emergency accomodation here.

Hope to god everyone got out

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:45pm
f**king hell  https://www.pscp.tv/w/1RDxldLXEwNxL" rel="nofollow - https://www.pscp.tv/w/1RDxldLXEwNxL

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:45pm

DFb with a number of units fighting a fire across the upper levels of the Metro Hotel in Ballymun. A lot of families in emergency accomodation here.

Hope to god everyone got out
There is some amount of telecommunications masts gone up on the roof over the last year or so, remember commenting on it with a fella that done some installation on it and he even said it was way to much , hope it is not the cause as greed would be behind it

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:46pm
Reports coming out all got out safe

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:46pm
Is this a relatively new building ? If so then you'd be hoping they would have plans etc for this.
Hope everybody is safe.

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:47pm
Going by the link bhob put up there it looks like a mid floor fire and rising, so not started at roof level

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:50pm

Is this a relatively new building ? If so then you'd be hoping they would have plans etc for this.
Hope everybody is safe.
Nah there a good few years now, it is split in 2 between hotel and apartments

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:50pm

Hope everybody is safe.

It's very modern inside, got redeveloped a few years back AFAIK

I stayed there last winter for my UEFA B Licence, it was extremely tricky to get in and out of (doors wise) so fingers crossed everyone is safe.

Honestly, it was a nightmare getting in and out of the building. 

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 9:57pm
Went up for a gawk there, still blazing away. Fire started on 8th floor & spread quickly to 11th floor.
As was said it’s mostly emergency accommodation in there, no reports of casualties yet so fingers crossed.
Serious amount of emergency services around. Gonna be a long night for them, fair play to em

Edit; no emergency accommodation in the Metro, the homeless families are in the Travel Lodge in ballymun

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 10:31pm
Metro not housing emergency accomadtion families . Not that it matters as people will be displaced nonetheless

Date Posted: 21 Mar 2018 at 10:41pm
DFB confirm they’re fighting it from inside the building fair f**ks to em

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:28am
The reason there fighting it f ok inside is that they don't have a tall enough ladder to reach the fire from the outside...

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 9:41am

The reason there fighting it f ok inside is that they don't have a tall enough ladder to reach the fire from the outside...

Few fire brigades have ladders tall enough to go much above ten stories. London's tallest is around 30m, certainly no more than 40m.

Also, being on a ladder that high is not for the faint hearted either.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 9:44am

Hope everybody is safe.

It's very modern inside, got redeveloped a few years back AFAIK

I stayed there last winter for my UEFA B Licence, it was extremely tricky to get in and out of (doors wise) so fingers crossed everyone is safe.

Honestly, it was a nightmare getting in and out of the building. 

Image result for pushing a pull door

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 10:19am

They should be commended even more so

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 10:34am

Don't worry DFB will have the PR machine out later looking for all their credit

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:17am
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

Oh yeah, the attention seeking fookers. I hate the sort of people who go rushing into burning buildings and putting their lives in danger in the service of others just so they can claim credit for it, the absolute w**kers. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:20am
Yeah not sure what was meant by that post myself

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:28am

Jesus Christ

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:29am
Is your man Trigboy alright in the head?

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:30am
There’s some very strange posters on this forum

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:39am
The DFB they always come out after events looking for credit! They've always did that instead of just saying nothing and moving onto the next job! Everyone seems to think they're great but only a few weeks ago a woman had to call liveline for an ambulance because the DFB controller told her all 12 ambulances in Dublin were unavailable! Yet all the controller had to do was pass the call onto the national ambulance service controller and an ambulance would have been sent but he wouldn't do this as it's a practice in DFB to not pass these calls on so they can keep up their numbers as they're afraid of losing the ambulance service

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:40am

Jaysus Trig,

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:42am
I can see why they call you Trig!

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:44am

The DFB they always come out after events looking for credit! They've always did that instead of just saying nothing and moving onto the next job! Everyone seems to think they're great but only a few weeks ago a woman had to call liveline for an ambulance because the DFB controller told her all 12 ambulances in Dublin were unavailable! Yet all the controller had to do was pass the call onto the national ambulance service controller and an ambulance would have been sent but he wouldn't do this as it's a practice in DFB to not pass these calls on so they can keep up their numbers as they're afraid of losing the ambulance service
Not true. They will pass it on or liaise with the NAS, however on the occasion you reference ( where the daughter of the patient rang Joe Duffy as this was unfolding) the NAS also had nothing available. However they miraculously found an ambulance once it went live on air. DFB had no such luxury as they had nothing available whatsoever. We have a Base radio in work for DFB and you should hear some of the sh*te calls they have to attend to. You should turn your fury to the dopes ringing 999 for a paper cut.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:50am

Talk to Joe.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 11:54am

Not true. They will pass it on or liaise with the NAS, however on the occasion you reference ( where the daughter of the patient rang Joe Duffy as this was unfolding) the NAS also had nothing available. However they miraculously found an ambulance once it went live on air. DFB had no such luxury as they had nothing available whatsoever. We have a Base radio in work for DFB and you should hear some of the sh*te calls they have to attend to. You should turn your fury to the dopes ringing 999 for a paper cut.
ok fair enough didn't know that! The DFB though are always saying how there's only 12 ambulances in Dublin and unfortunately some of the public actually believe this figure when there is also the NAS available in Dublin aswell

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:06pm

ok fair enough didn't know that! The DFB though are always saying how there's only 12 ambulances in Dublin and unfortunately some of the public actually believe this figure when there is also the NAS available in Dublin aswell

And the NAS ambulances based in Dublin can literally be anywhere in the country at any given time. The school bus crash in Limerick earlier in the year was attended by 2 swords based NAS units.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:13pm

As someone who has/had family and friends within the DFB, maybe you should find out a little bit more about what they do before slating what you think they do. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:27pm

As someone who has/had family and friends within the DFB, maybe you should find out a little bit more about what they do before slating what you think they do. Thumbs Up
I've actually got friends in the emergency services and i know quiet well what DFB do and how they operate thanks

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:33pm

Cushty Trig.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:37pm

Know who else I hate? Those poxy organ donors. Walking around thinking they are great just because they are saving lives with their organs that they won't be needing when they die. Bloody do gooders

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:56pm

Know who else I hate? Those poxy organ donors. Walking around thinking they are great just because they are saving lives with their organs that they won't be needing when they die. Bloody do gooders

But you probably know a few of them so it's ok for you to say that because that's what they're really like.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 12:58pm

I will never understand why it isn't mandatory.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:23pm
Trig wins bizarre and groundless rant of the century.......... what did you make of the firefighters at 9/11 then?  Jesus H Christ man.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:35pm

Trig wins bizarre and groundless rant of the century.......... what did you make of the firefighters at 9/11 then?  Jesus H Christ man.
Well obviously 9/11 was shocking what sort of question is that! What i do remember from 9/11 though is that people seemed to mourn the deaths of firefighters more than they did of Paramedics and police officers who were also killed in the building and were killed in the tragedy

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:45pm
Ah here, dig up man. Everyone on the front line who risks their lives for others deserves every bit of credit they get considering the sh*te they have to put up with. Did a fireman ride your bird or something? LOL

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:49pm

Ah here, dig up man. Everyone on the front line who risks their lives for others deserves every bit of credit they get considering the sh*te they have to put up with. Did a fireman ride your bird or something? LOL
That sounds like you really love them anyway!

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:50pm
Bizzare rant LOL

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:51pm
Tom Delonge WTF?

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:53pm

Image result for no more drugs for that man

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 1:56pm

Well obviously 9/11 was shocking what sort of question is that! What i do remember from 9/11 though is that people seemed to mourn the deaths of firefighters more than they did of Paramedics and police officers who were also killed in the building and were killed in the tragedy

Jaysus, keep digging why don't ya?  Shocked

So there was a competition as to who were the best mourners?  Dear me.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:07pm
Leave Trig alone. A fireman must have touched Trig's hose when we has a child or something.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:19pm

Trigs post has actually grown on me. It's like one of my mates who once stated that he hates scenery. I'm not sure how or why but it's mildly amusing. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:23pm

Trigs post has actually grown on me. It's like one of my mates who once stated that he hates scenery. I'm not sure how or why but it's mildly amusing. 

That is just bizarre.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:27pm

That is just bizarre.
If he is from Dublin he might never have seen any.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:51pm

That is just bizarre.

If he is from Dublin he might never have seen any.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 2:56pm

You know what I hate, mountains. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2018 at 3:25pm
Or yer man Keith in The Office..............weaknesses:  Eczema. LOL

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2018 at 2:59pm

Local councillor Noeleen Reilly said it’s “a miracle” no one was injured in the fire.

“The 10th to the 15th floor is gutted and, when you look at it, it is a miracle that everyone got out safe.”

Reilly said DFB “were on the scene within minutes and were phenomenal”, adding that firefighters had saved “countless lives”.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2018 at 3:12pm

Local councillor Noeleen Reilly said it’s “a miracle” no one was injured in the fire.

“The 10th to the 15th floor is gutted and, when you look at it, it is a miracle that everyone got out safe.”

Reilly said DFB “were on the scene within minutes and were phenomenal”, adding that firefighters had saved “countless lives”.

Bloody DFB getting credit wait until Trigs hears about this

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2018 at 5:38pm
F*cking show offs.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2018 at 5:40pm
The title of this thread sounds like a tip for a horse.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2018 at 6:20pm

F*cking show offs.

Desperate carry on this saving lives craic

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 7:44pm
in fairness to Trigbhoy, apart from this fire what else have the firebrigade doine recently? 

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 8:08pm

in fairness to Trigbhoy, apart from this fire what else have the firebrigade doine recently? 

I'm sure they've been doine lots 

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 9:35pm

Lots of showing off.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 10:18pm
Have they said how the fire started yet?

Posted By: whitesideOnside
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 11:22pm

False flag op by DFB.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2018 at 11:27pm
Originally posted by whitesideOnside whitesideOnside wrote:

False flag op by DFB.

Yep to get themsleves praise. Shower of bastards

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 12:24am

Exactly! Sure one of the fire stations in Dublin is nicknamed sleepy hallow!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 1:51am

just home from Turkey and logged on, for a sensible lad Trig, youre making an eejit of yourself. DFB have 17 ambulances on call (yes folks only 17 for the entire county) and they are based at every fire station (some have two but most have one). A lot of times if you put in a 999 call, a fire engine and crew will turn up because the ambulance is on a call already, but theyre all trained paramedics anyway so youre safe.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 5:07am

Jaysis Bob. Do you want them out starting a few fires so they can earn their keep?.

Trig has been shown up to be an ignoramus.

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 8:10am
It's an open secret that Dublin Fire Brigade is full of lazy cowards.  Always hide when there's a big fire going on.  Only turned up in Ballymun cos they thought it was a wheelie bin on fire.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 9:53am
Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

It's an open secret that Dublin Fire Brigade is full of lazy cowards.  Always hide when there's a big fire going on.  Only turned up in Ballymun cos they thought it was a wheelie bin on fire.

Christ almighty, Trig was bad but you’re after trumping him.

Ridiculous post with absolutely nothing to back it up.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 9:59am
Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

You're some f**kin clown

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 10:27am
Honest to Jaysus, WTF did firemen do on some people?  Some bizarre posts unless there WUMming

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 10:30am
I’d presume Lost&Found is on the wind up lads

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 10:38am
I think they're just idiots FW

How anyone can criticise DBF or any fire brigade for that matter is disgraceful. Imagine having the gal to call someone a coward who runs into a burning building to save lives

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 12:52pm
Sarcasm font is definitely needed.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 1:56pm

Jaysis Bob. Do you want them out starting a few fires so they can earn their keep?.

Trig has been shown up to be an ignoramus.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 1:58pm

Well done 9Fingers for pointing out the glaringly obvious. Some of you lads are a bit on the slow side today Sleepy LOL

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 5:39pm

That's a big haul too by the looks of things.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 7:47pm
Saw some lad on a motorbike had been totalled by a car turning right across him on Cork Street earlier. He looked in a bad way. Fire brigade (two trucks) were there long before the ambulance. They do a top job.

Hope your man was alright.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 7:52pm

Saw some lad on a motorbike had been totalled by a car turning right across him on Cork Street earlier. He looked in a bad way. Fire brigade (two trucks) were there long before the ambulance. They do a top job.

Shower of bastards who do they think they are showing off their life saving skills

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 8:19pm

I saw the aftermath driving past. Your man looked okayish going into the ambulance.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 8:45pm
Oh good. I thought I saw them talking to him anyway. Hopefully he's okay. I'm not sure who was to blame: if he was going fast, maybe him, if the car driver didn't look, maybe the car driver.

You have to be so careful on a motorbike.

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 9:38am
Cllr Noeleen Reilly complaining that the residents are not receiving much support and are advised to live in student accommodation paying €205 per week.
The accommodation is available for the next 7 weeks.
Surely this building has a block insurance policy that covers alternative accommodation?

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 9:51am
http://jrnl.ie/3927502f" rel="nofollow - http://jrnl.ie/3927502f

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 10:12am
Link doesn't work.

I'm assuming it's the thing in Cork where they're looking for more pats on the back

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 10:32am

Link doesn't work.

I'm assuming it's the thing in Cork where they're looking for more pats on the back

No

DUBLIN FIREFIGHTERS HAVE passed two motions of no confidence in the National Director for Fire and Emergency Management, Sean Hogan and the Dublin Fire Brigade (DFB) Chief Fire Officer, Pat Fleming.

Siptu said its members in Dublin Fire Brigade voted at an emergency meeting last Saturday in the wake of the high-rise fire

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 11:00am
Here's the one I was talking about so https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/firefighter-hurt-in-traveller-stand-off-468833.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/firefighter-hurt-in-traveller-stand-off-468833.html

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 11:02am
I don't understand why they would want to stop them attending the fire, are they trying to burn their site down?