URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55995
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 5:39am

Topic: Derry Girls
Subject: Derry Girls
Date Posted: 20 Dec 2017 at 11:04pm
Maybe worth watching?

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/news/derry-girls-could-become-tv-hit-if-viewers-can-understand-them-36423218.html&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjMh9-m2ZnYAhVGZFAKHeufBccQqQIIGzAC&usg=AOvVaw3eZ54Yerz4Xw20CVceRi2g" rel="nofollow - Derry Girls could become TV hit - if viewers can understand them

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 21 Dec 2017 at 9:12am
I see they had Nadine Coyle helping the actresses and actors out with the Derry accent LOL

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2017 at 5:27pm

I see they had Nadine Coyle helping the actresses and actors out with the Derry accent LOL

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.irishnews.com/news/2017/12/19/news/derry-girls-actor-turns-to-girls-aloud-nadine-for-accent-1214031/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwj6nO3gzpvYAhWDZFAKHcAfBSkQqQIIKDAE&usg=AOvVaw3ZuCaB4M_CV-8mN6HpaSpQ" rel="nofollow - Derry Girls actor turns to Girls Aloud's Nadine for accent

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2017 at 7:22pm
Really enjoyed London Irish when it was out a few years ago so I'd say this could be good. Was very black comedy. It kind of went by unnoticed when it came out.

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2018 at 6:07am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://inews.co.uk/culture/derry-girls-sometimes-toughest-places-live-also-funniest/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwj7k6nkzLjYAhXOZVAKHe4AAsYQqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw1-85VQAebxuyRyoB7d-OLG" rel="nofollow - Derry Girls: 'Sometimes the toughest places to live are also the funniest'   

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2018 at 9:01am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://inews.co.uk/culture/derry-girls-sometimes-toughest-places-live-also-funniest/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwj7k6nkzLjYAhXOZVAKHe4AAsYQqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw1-85VQAebxuyRyoB7d-OLG" rel="nofollow -

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2018 at 1:38pm
"mainland"

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2018 at 1:44pm
From the Northern Highlands to the Western Islands
From the Hills of Kerry to the streets of Free Derry

....Belfast Girls a lot more loving than Derry Girls Wink

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 4:03pm
on tonight

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 4:27pm

on tonight
Stall the ball.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:15pm
Whys he making that funny noise - he's English that's the way they talk!

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:28pm

any use ?

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:31pm

any use ?

One or two good one liners but it's no Father Ted.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:38pm
The English are savages! It's got potential see what it's like next week.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:41pm
I thought it was very good. For a 1st episode it had some great lines, I often cringe listening to Derry accents on TV but it wasnt really to bad.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:43pm
Thought it was good

Ian McIlhinney's character is great

I'll dig up some dirt on you yet

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 10:46pm
Good enough I thought

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 11:29pm

Good enough I thought
wasnt too bad. Some funny bits in it i thought.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 11:39pm
Good show I thought

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 11:40pm
Has potential not too bad   

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2018 at 11:41pm
http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.telegraph.co.uk/tv/2018/01/04/derry-girls-episode-1-review-much-black-comedy-troubles-teenage/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjT55TYvb_YAhUDJ1AKHTZuDc0QqQIIFzAA&usg=AOvVaw2cVG853d8Eg9Hmc-D31Cnh" rel="nofollow - Derry Girls, episode 1 review: as much a black comedy about the Troubles as a teenage nostalgia fest

Posted By: UCDFAN
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 4:18am
There'd be no Derry Girls without The Inbetweeners.

I am delighted The Cranberries are used as a link, that'll piss off Snow Patrol it was most likely Gary Lightbody who sl*gged off Dolores O'Riordan and The Cranberries that maybe they can write a song about the troubles but Snow Patrol certainly couldn't.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 11:58am
"Are ya sure Kamal's not exaggerating?" LOL

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 12:06pm
"Did you kill that nun ?"
"I didn't!"
"Then why where you pissing on her and making sandwiches"

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 12:59pm
'We're saving for wee Kamal from Ballybofey'

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 1:04pm
Just watched it there while in work. Reasonable enough i suppose.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 1:09pm

I want your job Sham

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 1:14pm

I want your job Sham

he is a Luas driver

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 1:43pm

I want your job Sham

he is a Luas driver

Big smile

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 2:02pm
I enjoyed the bit where one of the mothers called to the school said she begged the Brits to let her take her chances going over the bridge with the bomb scare but they wouldnt let her. The Granda shouts over 'its health and safety gone mad'.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 2:03pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

I enjoyed the bit where one of the mothers called to the school said she begged the Brits to let her take her chances going over the bridge with the bomb scare but they wouldnt let her. The Granda shouts over 'its health and safety gone mad'.

Good one I enjoyed that line.
Big smile

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 6:52pm

I want your job Sham

he is a Luas driver
I wish. I wouldnt be so sure Boggy, spent 3 hours prior to that cleaning up tonnes of rubble that some dope decided to deposit in the Port Tunnel.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 6:47am
The Derry girls are off to Paris for a school trip in tonights show what could possibly go wrong!

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 11:58am
I assumed this was a documentary from scanning the responses, but it's a show from the ad I saw. 

Which station is it on again?

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 11:58am
Channel 4

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 10:29pm
Not even the wee gay fella

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 10:32pm

do ya think we should knock them about a wee bit. Nothing drastic just a few wee slaps... better episode than the first.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 11:16pm
It was good, probably better than last weeks, but the faces the blonde one pulls when she’s on camera and over acting is starting to get very irritating

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 11:34pm

do ya think we should knock them about a wee bit. Nothing drastic just a few wee slaps... better episode than the first.

You mean the dopey wee gay fella - who was using mayonnaise to clean the windows when he thought he was using windowlene.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2018 at 11:38pm
I'm sure I know the blond girl in the lead role from somewhere either that or I know her doppelganger

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:19am
I'm really enjoying this. I wasn't expecting much at the start but it has been very funny.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:30am
This is just wrong

So are those ski pants but it didn't stop ye pulling them over your hole this morning

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 6:18am
The misssus started watching it and wants me to catch up to watch it with here ? Is it any use ?

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 8:26am
The sister in the school hall is this song banned no was the reply.
After hearing it she bans it.
Big smile 

Boring Uncle Colm trying to remember who was the tallest out of his attackers!
Big smile

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 8:29am

The misssus started watching it and wants me to catch up to watch it with here ? Is it any use ?

Its definitely worth watching.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 8:31am
The nun is very funny.

Great sound track too.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 8:42am
A distinct lack of flegs

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 9:14am

Is this defo worth a watch? I had made my mind up that I didn't like this programme based solely on its commendation by a numpty in work. I'll give it a crack if someone credible can stake their reputation on it. 

Posted By: eboue16
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 9:22am

I'm sure I know the blond girl in the lead role from somewhere either that or I know her doppelganger

The head of the frostbit fella

"He f**ked me over and my attitude is an eye for an eye."
Talking about Alf Inge Haaland tackle

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 9:28am
Slainte Muthafukkas

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 9:59am
If only to watch Kevin McAleer as uncle Colm and his ridiculously detailed and boring retelling of how his van was stolen by the IRA then last night was not to be missed Sleepy

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 11:59am
Ill watch it tonight in work...

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:04pm
After getting a second series

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:25pm

Nice one Sham, nothing like being paid to watch tv. Clap

Sounds good, where do you work and are there any jobs going? WinkBig smile

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:29pm

The nun is very funny.

Great sound track too.
'Our school trip this year is to Paris...unfortunately I won't be able to go myself due to the fact that I despise the French' - and with a straight face. LOL

And to the students who had exam resits coming up: 'if you need to talk about it...don't come crying to me'. LOL

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:31pm

Nice one Sham, nothing like being paid to watch tv. Clap

Sounds good, where do you work and are there any jobs going? WinkBig smile
Not the first time ive been asked that

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:34pm
"Do you think we should knock them about a bit? Nothing too drastic like, just a few slaps" LOL

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:24pm
And another one that you could probably only ever hear in this part of the world:

'On a scale of 1 to 10, how dead are we?' when the girls were looking at the fire damage to the chippy owner's flat. LOL

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:54pm
i wouldnt go overboard but there are some v funny parts in it. 

only 25 min episodes without the ads so easy to watch.

michelle has some rack on her btw LOL

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 2:01pm
Originally posted by Il Principe Il Principe wrote:

i wouldnt go overboard but there are some v funny parts in it. 

only 25 min episodes without the ads so easy to watch.

michelle has some rack on her btw LOL

It's not Father Ted or Fawlty Towers but still very enjoyable.  Glad there will be a 2nd series.  

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 5:41am
Not a bad second episode. The boring uncle that had his van robbed, every family Id say has that type of fcuker somewhere in the ranks.

As mentioned, Michelle has a decent rack, and at 26 in real life she’d definately get the trouser snake. The annoying wan, Clare is 31 in real life.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 10:38am
I watched this last night and was pleasantly surprised, some of the acting is a bit suspect from the girls but there are some great responses.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 11:30am

Not a bad second episode. The boring uncle that had his van robbed, every family Id say has that type of fcuker somewhere in the ranks.

As mentioned, Michelle has a decent rack, and at 26 in real life she’d definately get the trouser snake. The annoying wan, Clare is 31 in real life.

Jesus 31...she literally looks the youngest out of them all

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 12:01pm

26 f**kin hell So it's acceptable to perv over her then

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 12:44pm
https://www.buzz.ie/uncategorized/derry-girls-old-really-268701" rel="nofollow - https://www.buzz.ie/uncategorized/derry-girls-old-really-268701

There is something your wan Saoirse Jackson - I was telling myself she is waaay too young.

I thought she was about 16, she's 23.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 2:28pm

26 f**kin hell So it's acceptable to perv over her then
didnt stop me in the first place.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 2:36pm

https://www.buzz.ie/uncategorized/derry-girls-old-really-268701" rel="nofollow - https://www.buzz.ie/uncategorized/derry-girls-old-really-268701

There is something your wan Saoirse Jackson - I was telling myself she is waaay too young.

I thought she was about 16, she's 23.

It might be the way she goes on in the show but I don't think she's great at all.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 9:29am
Watched the 2 episodes the weekend, really enjoyed them, some very funny lines and some cracking tunes. Clap

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 7:52pm
Dolores O'Riordan lead singer of the Cranberries, whose music appears in the programme passed away. RIP

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 8:03pm
Originally posted by UCDFAN UCDFAN wrote:

Dolores O'Riordan lead singer of the Cranberries, whose music appears in the programme passed away. RIP
No way

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2018 at 8:23pm

Originally posted by UCDFAN UCDFAN wrote:

No way

I think I understand. Because you have heard some news, even though it is very recent and a change from before, for you now the situation has always been that way.
I would invite you to put up a picture of a "Titanic Sinks!" headline but that's more appropiate for a 'Belfast Boys' thread.

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2018 at 7:37am
Big exam for the girls tonight some of them take an opportunity to get out of it.

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2018 at 12:15pm
Is it the last episode tonight?

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2018 at 12:17pm
Only the third episode tonight. Another 3 to go after tonight

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2018 at 10:10pm
If you lot had stopped invading us for five f**kan minutes therd be a lot less to wade through English prick!     

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2018 at 10:31pm
"And my tits look amazing in that top"

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 10:12pm
We're the goodies welcome to Derry. (The head sister about the troubles) !

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 10:30pm
That was a cracker tonight. Poor Clive- got on the wrong bus

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 10:32pm
Yer wan keeping him locked up and on a leash because he kept wandering off

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 10:33pm
Surrounded by Fenians and Russians .

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 10:36pm
Tís a great little show in fairness

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 12:28am

Surrounded by Fenians and Russians .

Big smileClapBig smile 

Whatever you do don't sl*g off the Pope we're outnumered.
Big smileBig smileBig smile

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 8:11am

Tís a great little show in fairness

Its quality.

ClapCoolClap

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 8:29am
I did laugh out loud when your one Claire turned up wearing the Butchers Apron

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 10:24am
Brilliant show Clap Only 6 episodes?

Posted By: d-mac
Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 10:32am

They confirmed few weeks back theyre doing a second series.

Poor clive had to many disco biscuits.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 10:49am
Originally posted by d-mac d-mac wrote:

They confirmed few weeks back theyre doing a second series.

Poor clive had to many disco biscuits.

Lovely stuff Thumbs Up

Clive and the disco biscuits LOL

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 10:54am
I think one series might have been enough as it is getting a bit predictable.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:31am

they could prob knock 1 more series out of it id say....

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:36am

I'm not sure they can get one series out of it, never mind two. One dimensional characters and bad acting are not a good combination.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 11:55am

I'm not sure they can get one series out of it, never mind two. One dimensional characters and bad acting are not a good combination.

Well I seems to be quite a hit at the minute so I think you might be in a minority on this one.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 12:46pm
Thought the 3rd episode was the funniest so far.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 1:08pm
I thought the 3rd one was the worst so far and the 4th one was the best

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 2:22pm

I thought the second was the best and last night's by far the worst.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 2:26pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

Well I seems to be quite a hit at the minute so I think you might be in a minority on this one.

I suppose if Mrs. Brown's Boys can be a hit I am probably giving the British public too much respect alright!
It is pretty well written, but it is just getting a bit predictable now. Perhaps the next couple of episodes will be a bit more novel.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 3:59pm

Yeah, last night's was the best episode in my opinion

Posted By: eboue16
Date Posted: 26 Jan 2018 at 4:20pm
That last one was sh*te.

"He f**ked me over and my attitude is an eye for an eye."
Talking about Alf Inge Haaland tackle

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 6:19pm
It's the 12th July tonight and the Quimn family are trying to get out of Derry before the orange marches.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 10:08pm
Orange order "They've been playing them same three songs since 1795 what do they need to rehearse!"

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2018 at 10:12pm
You'll not tell me where to go in my own town ye orange bastards