URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55866
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 2:47pm

Topic: Liam Miller
Posted By: schillaci
Subject: Liam Miller
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 7:54pm
Anyone heard any rumours about his health ? Saw something on another forum and it doesnt look good.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 7:55pm
Jaysus just had a look at twitter. Hope it's not true and just unfounded rumours

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 7:59pm
Whats it saying??

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:00pm
Just read it there. That’s desperate

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:01pm

Whats it saying??

Rumours about that Liam Miller is in a hospice in Cork and doesn't have long left to live. 36. Regardless of his past with us, that is all kinds of tragic for him and his family.

Taken direct from twitter

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:02pm
Link? I'm not on twitter

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:05pm

Link? I'm not on twitter

You don't need to be

https://twitter.com/search" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/search

Posted By: Dano
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:06pm
Heard the rumors, really hope it's not true. Word is he has terminal cancer  and he's back home to spend the remainder of his time with family. I'm hoping it's just a dickhead talking bollocks 

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:07pm
Words fail me at times . Sad news if it is true

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:10pm
Jesus

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:11pm
God love if him if that is true.

Posted By: Icy Bread People
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:12pm
I'll always remember that goal he scored against Sweden in the old Lansdowne, I think it was Stan's first game and we all thought it was the start of a new golden era!

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:16pm
f**king hell thats desperate if true.

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 8:19pm
This is terrible. I really hope it isn't true

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 9:31pm
There's a bit of substance to the story alright it seems.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 9:35pm
Terribly sad news. Goes to show that neither money or fame can help you against this terrible disease.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 9:44pm

There's a bit of substance to the story alright it seems.

Ah bollix. Presuming you've heard stuff to corroborate this Sham ?

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 9:47pm
Awful news. A man not much older than myself which is scary. It does seem like there is substance to it. Few Celtic forums have guys on talking about it. Absolutely terrible. Brings home our own mortality. Cancer is a real bastard of a disease.

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 9:48pm
Awful news this, poor fella

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:04pm
Can't be true surely? Not in any news outlet, just a few twitter handles, all unverified and all referencing reports without actually linking to them.

Posted By: TonyGawks
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:05pm

Can't be true surely? Not in any news outlet, just a few twitter handles.

Heard it from a person who is from the same village as him during the week, heartbreaking

Posted By: PaulB
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:08pm
I thought he was still playing in America in the Lower leagues. nearly sure I read something on him a few weeks back. hopefully not true. If it is absolutely devastating a man so young.

Posted By: adineen98
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:16pm
Few whispers about it on the Cork City forum. Hope to f**k it isn't true and he's alright.

Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:16pm
Growing legs on twitter now. St Ledger tweeted about it.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:19pm
Originally posted by PaulB PaulB wrote:

I thought he was still playing in America in the Lower leagues. nearly sure I read something on him a few weeks back. hopefully not true. If it is absolutely devastating a man so young.

Saw Tam McManus ex footballer and now bbc pundit tweeting that he is praying for Miller. He was in America for treatment this month and flies home tomorrow for chemo. Saying he hopes he somehow pulls through. So maybe not as bad as feared? Here is hoping please God.

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:20pm
https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/929832947246600192" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/929832947246600192

Yep, definitely seems true.

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:26pm
former Hibs player Tam McManus just tweeted this :

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:28pm
Hope that's the case and he batters the f**k out of cancer

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:32pm
@Noelhunt20
Such sad news about my old Room mate Liam Miller, Pray to God he pulls through this battle with Cancer, my thoughts and prayers are with him and his family

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:35pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

Originally posted by PaulB PaulB wrote:

Saw Tam McManus ex footballer and now bbc pundit tweeting that he is praying for Miller. He was in America for treatment this month and flies home tomorrow for chemo. Saying he hopes he somehow pulls through. So maybe not as bad as feared? Here is hoping please God.

Yes just seen that now mate. Seems hes going to be receiving treatment here so hopefully the days to live part was a mis quote somewhere. sad at such a young age with so much more to live for. really sent a chill down my spine reading that. I remember being a young lad and hearing all the hype about Miller and his utd move and thinking what a life this lad has ahead of him great to see an Irish man doing so well at that stage of his life. took a bit of inspiration from that. More to life than fame and fortune. Really hope he gets better.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:37pm
It seems he's 'fighting' cancer and not in a hospice which, despite being still awful and serious, is better news than was rumoured earlier. Good luck Liam, this is the biggest match you'll ever play.

Posted By: TheFieldsOfAthenry
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:56pm
Surely something can be arranged for Tuesday night, a banner to send support to Liam and his family?

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2017 at 10:59pm
Hopefully the lads will be able to give him a bit of a lift on Tuesday night

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 6:23am
Originally posted by TheFieldsOfAthenry TheFieldsOfAthenry wrote:

Surely something can be arranged for Tuesday night, a banner to send support to Liam and his family?

Cracking idea I hope Liam pulls through.

Posted By: Fintan
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 7:37am
Hasty but minutes applause in the 36th minute and "one Liam Miller theres only one Liam Miller" chant?

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 8:12am
Hope he pulls through, keep fighting Liam

Posted By: Standup
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 8:44am
Terrible news, doesn't seem to be a lot out there other than on twitter, not that its something the family want broadcasted.

Was a great talent and at one stage could have had the world at his feet except for injuries.

Hope he pulls through it!

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 8:48am
In the papers this morning. Hope he gets through it. Brutal news. 

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:05am
Young child too.

Keep fighting Liam

Skip to 2:27....

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:50am
I remember that goal like it was yesterday,Brilliant,
Were all routing for you Liam,Get well soon.

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:52am
Lads as a lad that lives very near me, it's very sad. 

It is said to be terminal with only a matter of days. Young super fit man with kids. Awful stuff. 

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:54am
Originally posted by TheFieldsOfAthenry TheFieldsOfAthenry wrote:

+1 this would be a really nice gesture,

I was hoping that wasn't the case kearney,devastating stuff.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:59am
Brought a tear to my eye this morning. So sad.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:00am

It is said to be terminal with only a matter of days. Young super fit man with kids. Awful stuff. 

Has he been sick? Any more on it?
Just seems so sudden but probably only because we don’t know circumstances.

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:01am

Pancreatic I believe which would appear to show why it's so sudden and so serious

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:03am
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Pancreatic I believe which would appear to show why it's so sudden and so serious

Terminal so. Gutting CryCryCry

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:04am
Awful to hear this. So sad. 

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:06am
Pancreatic ? Jesus possibly one of the worst cancers to get.

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 10:11am
Pancreatic cancer usually doesn't show symptoms until it is far too late. Sad news

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:01pm

Extremely sudden. 

Decided to come home because of it. One of the fittest lads around, broke records at Celtic. 

I heard he is in a hospice. So that would be a matter of time. 

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:08pm
He's not in a hospice according to one of his ex team mates at Hibs. He's getting Chemo here though

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:11pm

He's not in a hospice according to one of his ex team mates at Hibs. He's getting Chemo here though

Is this teammate in contact with him now? 

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:14pm
http://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Cork-football-star-Liam-Miller-in-cancer-battle-aec00aa2-d180-4f41-85d5-70a632829564-ds" rel="nofollow - http://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Cork-football-star-Liam-Miller-in-cancer-battle-aec00aa2-d180-4f41-85d5-70a632829564-ds

This would be the most accurate update of the situation.

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:43pm
I forgot it was O'Neill who gave him his debut at Celtic. 

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1113/919565-liam-miller/" rel="nofollow - https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1113/919565-liam-miller/

Fingers crossed he pulls through...

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 1:55pm

http://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Cork-football-star-Liam-Miller-in-cancer-battle-aec00aa2-d180-4f41-85d5-70a632829564-ds" rel="nofollow - http://www.eveningecho.ie/corknews/Cork-football-star-Liam-Miller-in-cancer-battle-aec00aa2-d180-4f41-85d5-70a632829564-ds

This would be the most accurate update of the situation.

I know he is home but these legs get stories. I heard he is in a hospice, hope it's not true but I can confirm later. Don't want to be spreading false news. Hope it's not as serious as I'm hearing.

Posted By: devondudley
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 2:05pm
He isn’t in Marymount that’s all made up. What is true is it’s not looking good, getting chemo done more of a pain prevention and prolonging his life, pancreatic cancer Is the worst

But fumble in a greasy till

And add the halfpence to the pence

And pray to shivering prayer, until

You have dried the marrow from the bone.

W. B. Yeats, September 1913

Posted By: houghton88
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by KING-CON KING-CON wrote:

I forgot it was O'Neill who gave him his debut at Celtic. 

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1113/919565-liam-miller/" rel="nofollow - https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1113/919565-liam-miller/

Fingers crossed he pulls through...

And Keane signed him for Sunderland then aswell so big connection to the management team. 

To alcohol!!!! The cause of and solution to all lifes problems.

Posted By: stokeirish
Date Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 5:38pm
Thoughts and prayers with him and his family

Posted By: viduka9aus
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:51am
We all need to blast out a chant or two in his name tonight

--
Ooohh, Aaaahh, Paul McGrath, Say Ooh Ah Paul McGrath, Ooohh Aaaahh!!!

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:59am
Really so sad to hear. Thoughts prayers and well wishes for the family and anyone connected to Liam. A disease that now affects someone one way or another.

Posted By: eboue16
Date Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 11:20am
https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnHartson10/status/943068842846314496" rel="nofollow - https://mobile.twitter.com/JohnHartson10/status/943068842846314496

"He f**ked me over and my attitude is an eye for an eye."
Talking about Alf Inge Haaland tackle

Date Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 11:39am
This sounds like there is the possibility of some light at the end of the tunnel for Liam - Hopefully that is the case.

Date Posted: 19 Dec 2017 at 10:45pm

This sounds like there is the possibility of some light at the end of the tunnel for Liam - Hopefully that is the case.

Hope Liam can show some of that Cork spirit.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 10:46pm
Cork Schoolboys League twitter page has just tweeted that Liam has passed away.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 10:50pm
sh*te

RIP Liam

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 10:55pm
Just seen it on twitter. Heartbreaking to happen to such a young lad- RIP. Feel for his missus and family as well it really is terrible.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 10:56pm
Life can be so so cruel . Rip Liam

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 10:58pm
Nothing official yet. Incredibly sad if true.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:15pm
RIP Liam Unhappy

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:16pm
Confirmed it there. It's true alright unfortunately.

RIP Liam. 36 is no age to die.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:17pm
Ah f**k

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:19pm
Desperate stuff.

RIP Liam

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:21pm
Hope he is at peace now. God love him.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:22pm
Getting taken by Cancer at just 36 years of age, the world can be a cruel place.

It's his birthday in 4 days too, feel so sorry for his family. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:24pm
Tam McManus one of Liam's best mates has confirmed it.

Posted By: adineen98
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:27pm
Rest in peace Liam. You'll be missed.

Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Posted By: nordlingen
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:36pm
RIP Liam.....

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:39pm
Terrible to hear, may he rest in peace.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:40pm
RIP Liam

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:43pm
Simply heartbreaking.  God Bless you Liam.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:51pm
@GD I get ya mate

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2018 at 11:53pm
RIP Liam

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:01am
RIP Liam so sad got some greateat memories of him playing for Ireland Celtic and Sunderland.

Puts life into perpective.

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:01am
So sad. Rip

alive and kicking

Posted By: depechemode
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:07am
https://youtu.be/ZcFyXKwQBnI" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/ZcFyXKwQBnI

Wonderful goal by Liam . Despite a friendly it was an emotional night with the reaction to Mick Byrne and Stan after the goals

Rip Liam .

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:09am
RIP liam. heart breaking reading of someone so young that brought a lot of joy to us all pass away to this horrible illness. my thoughts are with your family and friends. god bless them all.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 12:23am
He lived every young lads dream. Played for Man Utd and Celtic as well as being capped internationally. Growing up in Cork he was a role model to many.

You look at that Celtic team he was on and the impact cancer had it would frighten you. John Hartson, Liam, Stan Petrov, MONs wife. All suffered with it and you could even add in Colin Healys wife to the list.

Terrible Sleep well.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 1:43am
Finding the news very hard to digest, very young and fit as a fiddle and now dead, difficult to comprehend.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 2:11am
Awful news. Terrible to hear a lad so young going to cancer. Thanks for all the great memories Liam. That breakthrough season at Celtic was incredible to watch at the time. RIP

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 7:55am
So young. RIP Liam

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 8:06am
Tragic news, far too young.

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 8:20am
Rest In Peace . Too young

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 8:29am
Desperately sad news....RIP

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 8:54am
Awful news
The Lyon game where Liam scored a header was one of the best games I was ever at. I remember the buzz and excitement when he broke onto the scene that season
RIP

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 8:59am

Awful news
The Lyon game where Liam scored a header was one of the best games I was ever at. I remember the buzz and excitement when he broke onto the scene that season
RIP

I remember it well Liam was quality that night he scored some cracking goals for Sunderland too.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 9:03am
RIP. So tragic for any young father to die so young and leave behind his family like that.

Remember that Lyon game and the excitement after. Amazing performance, Fergie leaving as soon as he was subbed. Larson saying after the game he is the best in the world for his age. Remember reading all of the stories on teletext and the praise he was getting from all over. There was pure excitement that we had a new superstar.

Ok, for whatever reason it didn't reach the level that was expected, maybe the early injuries limited his physical potential.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 9:04am
Condolences to family and friends

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 9:18am
its a bit mad when you think of players who had cancer in the uk you think about Stubbs, Hartson, Petrov and now tragically our own Liam Miller. They all played for Celtic. I can't really think of anyone else in British football who had cancer during their playing career. Strange coincidence.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 9:23am
Very sad news. And makes you realise how lucky we all are once you have your health. RIP.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2018 at 9:25am
Terrible news. RIP Liam .