URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55818
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 1:35pm

Topic: The Preston Lads
Subject: The Preston Lads
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 7:58pm
Alan Browne, Maguire and Andy Boyle all starting tonight vs Villa.

O'Connor and Horgan on the bench 

Posted By: longford claret
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 8:22pm
2-0 down after 35 mins.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 8:29pm
Not great for Boyle, he won't get many opportunities to impress.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 8:44pm
Horgan seems to be gone out of favour there big time.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 8:52pm
O'Connor on now.

Posted By: teevo
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 8:53pm
Hourihane and Whelan in middle for Villas as well. 5 Irish starters tonight.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 9:47pm
Boyle and Browne have declined to wear a poppy and there is a PNE fans meltdown

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 9:57pm
All the Irish lads got on for both sides, by and large they seemed to do fine. Thought O'Connor looked assured in particular, and Maguire should have had a penalty in the 1st half.

Posted By: Gabrieléire
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 9:59pm

Did they, fair play to them

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 10:04pm
The people you are commemorating with a poppy literally died for your right to live free and choose.

It's so brilliantly stoopid.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 10:25pm

The people you are commemorating with a poppy literally died for your right to live free and choose.

Youre usually bang on point SD but i dont agree with that at all.

Cant recall too many wars Britain entered for the noble cause of freedom.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 10:27pm

Fair play to them standing by their principles. On another note how good are these 2. I saw Boyle at Dundalk always liked him. He hasnt done great at PNE though? And Browne is a DM- is he any good?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 10:32pm

Yeah, maybe.... but compared to the tyranny of the opposition the second time around, I suppose it's true.

Point is, the lads who are giving out probably think the army are "defending freedom" even when they aren't.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 10:36pm

Yeah, maybe.... but compared to the tyranny of the opposition the second time around, I suppose it's true.

Point is, the lads who are giving out probably think the army are "defending freedom" even when they aren't.

Aye. Accept those giving out would probably take that narrative and makes it ironically stupid

Posted By: adineen98
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 11:07pm
Just had a quick look on Facebook and saw a few comments slating Boyle's performance

Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 11:37pm

Aren't they from Dublin and Cork? I can totally understand James McClean's stance given the fact he is a Derry man and the history of his city and his people : not sure about the wisdom of the other two going down this route.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 11:49pm

Aren't they from Dublin and Cork? I can totally understand James McClean's stance given the fact he is a Derry man and the history of his city and his people : not sure about the wisdom of the other two going down this route.
Thankfully the British Army never did anything untoward in Dublin or Cork.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 11:52pm
Roy Keanes wearing one on itv now

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 12:02am
QUOTE=pre Madonna]

ClapClap

Posted By: SyMacca
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 12:21am
Brown didn't wear one but addressed it on twitter. There's a pic of Boyle on the Preston Facebook from tonight and he was wearing one.

Poppies aside, thought O'Connor did well for his debut. With all the injuries the Preston backline have picked up, himself and Boyle have a good opportunity to prove themselves

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 12:45am

The same British Army had several hundred thousand Irishmen in its ranks at the same time (and many atrocities were not carried out by the Army at all but by Black and Tans and the RIC).

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 6:34am

The same British Army had several hundred thousand Irishmen in its ranks at the same time (and many atrocities were not carried out by the Army at all but by Black and Tans and the RIC).
St ill the British Army regardless of where they were from.. sure we still have people in Ireland today who are in Brit War machine.. the Britiash Army committed atrocities the length and breadth of this country overseen by their political masters.

Now as this is a thread on the [Irish] Preston lads and not a thread on the history of the British Army’s various rampages on the island, can everyone get back on topic please.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 8:47am

I think you'd need to brush up your history there chief.

Browne came out on Twitter and said that there was no poppy on the shirt he was given.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 9:08am
I like Browne every time I've seen him play albeit only on telly not in person.

Seems a composed on the ball and has a eye for a pass, decent at breaking up game too.

Think he'll start to be drafted into side after WC Campaign

Posted By: SportingRizzlaCF
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2017 at 12:20pm

I like Browne every time I've seen him play albeit only on telly not in person.

Seems a composed on the ball and has a eye for a pass, decent at breaking up game too.

Think he'll start to be drafted into side after WC Campaign

Aye, he's very good for age and looks more experienced than the 100 odd senior matches he's played.

Seamus Coleman is Sligo ONLY

Posted By: Fozzy B
Date Posted: 04 Nov 2017 at 2:19pm
Boyle, O'Conner and Browne all star for Preston. McGoldrick starts for Ipswich.

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2017 at 8:50pm
Haven't seen any of them this season but the lads on Soccer Saturday mentioned they've an awful defensnive record this season. Presume there's going to be some reenforcements there in January

Date Posted: 04 Nov 2017 at 8:56pm

Haven't seen any of them this season but the lads on Soccer Saturday mentioned they've an awful defensnive record this season. Presume there's going to be some reenforcements there in January

Hardly a great barometer with all due respect Dead

They've actually a good record defensively, only conceded 19!

There are countless sides with far worse defensive records. 

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2017 at 12:20pm

Hardly a great barometer with all due respect Dead

They've actually a good record defensively, only conceded 19!
They were stats they were quoting, they're bas stats in my eyes anwyay. Goals against in Oct/Nov....
Ipswich 3
Villa 2
Brentford 3
Wolves 3
Fulham 2

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2017 at 4:44pm
Alan Browne started, great to see Horgan score Thumbs Up

Posted By: adineen98
Date Posted: 09 Dec 2017 at 5:18pm
Kevin O'Connor came off the bench as well. Potential left back option for the upcoming squads, maybe? I'm not saying he should be in the squad, just a thought that occurred to me.

Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2018 at 10:54pm
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2742433/preston-north-end-set-for-major-irish-clearout-with-daryl-horgan-andy-boyle-eoin-doyle-and-kevin-oconnor-allowed-to-leave/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2742433/preston-north-end-set-for-major-irish-clearout-with-daryl-horgan-andy-boyle-eoin-doyle-and-kevin-oconnor-allowed-to-leave/

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2018 at 11:10pm
I thought Horgan was popular and doing well there akthough havent seen him play for them yet

Posted By: amccarten313
Date Posted: 22 Jun 2018 at 6:33pm

I thought Horgan was popular and doing well there akthough havent seen him play for them yet

only 2 starts this past season. fell out of favor

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 12:44am

Under Grayson he done well and played, just doesn't seem to fit into Alex Neil's plans. If they get released I could see Boyle and O'Connor coming home maybe, one of the promoted teams from league 1 or Sunderland should take a punt on Horgan if going cheap.

Posted By: Steve Shrewd
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 9:29am
Would hope Horgan finds another championship club. If given a consistent run of games by a club at that level in order to find his form, I'd say he's very capable of doing quite well 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 1:30pm
Can't see any of them heading home. O'Connor did fine I thought in the few matches he played for Preston, surprised they aren't persevering with him for a while. Boyle is possibly a bit slow for the Championship, a drop to L1 might be best for him.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 2:07pm

Preston fans don't rate O'Connor one bit and then he only played 3 and half games at Fleetwood. Given he was a Grayson signing and Alex Neil loaned him out after only a few months at the club seems he doesn't rate him either.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 2:25pm
Hard to see how they formed that opinion off a handful of appearances. For a young guy getting thrown in at the deep end, he didn't make any mistakes and looked reasonably composed.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 2:30pm
can’t  help but feel Horgan is under appreciated. He would do a great job for a club like Rotherham who have just arrived in the Championship. He’s very effective at creating chances and can provide real composure in the final third

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 3:01pm
Of all of them, Horgan is definitely the pick of the bunch. Undoubtedly he's Championship quality which is something you couldn't say with certainty about the others.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2018 at 3:02pm
It's not looking good for O'Connor, 4 appearances in 6 months for a team who finished in bottom half of League 1.
He's the more likely of the lot to go back home.

Horgan would fit in any Championship side outside the top 6.

Doyle did very well for Oldham despite the nasty blood clot related injury, Oldham were seriously desperate for faces so they kept him on despite the injury and got a hat-full of goals, a team aspiring promotion to Championship will surely look at him.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 12:18pm
Neil O'Riordan (usually reliable) reports Horgan is a target for Neil Lennon at Hibernian. It wouldn't be the worst move for him, he would play every week and there would be more managerial stability at Hibs than most championship clubs. That said, he is capable of playing at a higher (championship) standard too, maybe it would be worth his while to consider other offers (if he has any) first. Either way, think the most important thing from an Irish point of view is that he goes somewhere he will be playing & not sitting on bench.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2018 at 1:06pm
Aye by no means a bad move for him. Regular game time and if he gets himself into serious form no reason why he can't be back in the Championship again  eventually 

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2018 at 5:26pm
PNE fans seem to be impressed with Horgan this preseason. 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2018 at 5:34pm
To be fair though they've played two teams from the 7th and 5th tier leagues In England. You'd hoping that your players are impressing against those teams who are also going through pre season. 

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2018 at 8:41pm
Horgan is a good player. Hope he gets a chance to prove it

Posted By: Fozzy B
Date Posted: 21 Jul 2018 at 2:25pm
preston up against west ham today. browne and horgan start with burke and maguire on the bench . rice starts for west ham with coventry and cullen as subs

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2018 at 2:49pm
Originally posted by Fozzy B Fozzy B wrote:

preston up against west ham today. browne and horgan start with burke and maguire on the bench . rice starts for west ham with coventry and cullen as subs

Callum Robinson also on the bench, can’t be forgetting the new Irish man 

Posted By: Given's zimmerframe
Date Posted: 25 Aug 2018 at 8:08pm
I fear that the preston manager has converted a promotion chasing squad into a mid table squad at best . I would like to be wrong though with maguire coming back soon

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 25 Aug 2018 at 9:43pm
Originally posted by Given's zimmerframe Given's zimmerframe wrote:

I fear that the preston manager has converted a promotion chasing squad into a mid table squad at best . I would like to be wrong though with maguire coming back soon

How do you figure that one? Neil led them to a 7th place finish last season, just 2pts off 6th place playoff place in his first season with the club.

Prior to that under Grayson, they'd 2 consecutive 11th placed finishes since being promoted.

Posted By: Given's zimmerframe
Date Posted: 25 Aug 2018 at 10:47pm
its a gut feeling more than anything,  like when he took norwich down I think a different manager might have kept them up. I hope I'm wrong though 

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2018 at 11:03pm
Was watching a bit of their game with Stoke last week, the commentator mentioned their whole team had been assembled for €5 million. That isn't usually the type of budget that gets promotion out of the championship. Be great to see the Irish lads there achieve promotion, but realistically, having them playing every week & in good form is probably about as much as we can hope for. 

Any news on Andy Boyle or Kevin O'Connor or where they might be off to ? 

Posted By: killer kilbane
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2018 at 3:48pm
Great to see Seani back in the squad

And it's come through now to mackay... and it's there

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 9:08am
They need him badly. Awful start to the season before yesterday 

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 10:22am
They need a defence, not a striker! They score regularly, I think yesterday was their first clean sheet.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 11:34am
I don’t think they scored a league goal in August! But yeah September they were scoring plenty but conceding more! 
I don’t rate Alex Neil if I’m honest, good to see Maguire back, hopefully he can stay fit & we can really judge how good he is at this level. 

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 1:17pm
I agree, I thought Neil was a dreadful choice at the time. In saying that, Grayson worked miracles on their budget.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 1:27pm
Did Burke not make the Preston squad?

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 1:59pm
Injured, maybe? I don't think he is Championship standard, although I hope I am wrong.

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 2:35pm
Think Burke will struggle to get game time now that Seani is fit. 

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2018 at 4:06pm
Seemed to start the season well, but has struggled for game time recently. Barkhuizen is probably his main competition, and is a much more conventional Championship style player.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 10:07am

Seemed to start the season well, but has struggled for game time recently. Barkhuizen is probably his main competition, and is a much more conventional Championship style player.

Burke would better off going to the Dutch league or something. As you said, the championship is such a sloggers domain. 

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 3:15pm
The championship is full of solid international players these days. Sluggers domain it  is not. 

Posted By: CillDara
Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 3:23pm
Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

The championship is full of solid international players these days. Sluggers domain it  is not. 

It is still a very fast paced and physical league though and a lot of pressure on all of the clubs/managers. Graham would be much more suited to a more technical but slower paced league. It's strange that he isn't even making the bench for them now though because he seemed to do okay in his cameo appearances. I wonder if the manager doesn't trust him to do the dirty work required.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 3:26pm
Agreed. I think the overall quality of the division, indeed of the EFL as a whole has gone down, for a variety of reasons, not least the bigger franchises in football having hundreds upon hundreds of players on their books, but there are very, very few sides playing what we would type as long-ball, fight at all costs, Crazy Gang type football.
Millwall being one of the few to maybe do so and, even then it is hardly Pulis's Stoke, who I actually used to enjoy watching!

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 3:28pm
Originally posted by CillDara CillDara wrote:

Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

It is still a very fast paced and physical league though and a lot of pressure on all of the clubs/managers. Graham would be much more suited to a more technical but slower paced league. It's strange that he isn't even making the bench for them now though because he seemed to do okay in his cameo appearances. I wonder if the manager doesn't trust him to do the dirty work required.
Part of his problem at Notts County was his difficulty with the number of matches. I think that is a physical aspect a lot of lads moving from the LOI struggle with.

Posted By: PNE1985
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 8:01am
Morning guys, PNE fan in peace and a follower of this forum for a while....

Watching the last two games, I agree with most on here that MONs tactics are at the very best, bizzare!

Watching last night, the difference in strength of both midfield's was clear to see.  And I wouldnt necessarily put that down to the quality of the players (entirely), but O'Neill playing square pegs in round holes.

You could see last night that there was no-one in that midfield who could put their foot on the ball and dictate play.  Playing Christie in there (right back in centre mid?!) when you have the likes of Browne and Hourihane on the bench is madness.

You boys could have had Ronaldo and Messi up top, and it wouldnt have made a blind bit of difference, there would have been no supply!

The only time anything did look like happening is when our Callum dropped so far deep to get the ball due to lack of service, and try to make things happen himself (dragging him well out of position and alienating Aiden O'Brien even more!).

Madness.

Quick thoughts on our lads.

Callum is a tidy little player.  Definately looked like the bright spark in the last 2 games.  Callum's best position is either side of a main striker (though we have used him up top in the absence of Seani).  Definately has a good eye and likes to run at defenders..... that said, difficult for Ireland at the minute as the midfield is letting the side down.

Maguire has only played 15 mins of football this year due to a bad injury, and we have missed him real bad at PNE. (Glad he only played a bit part for you boys this week).  Having said that, he has pace and is as sharp as an arrow and a top finisher and i'm glad he's back.  In the 15 min cameo he made against Wigan for us last week, he set up Callum Robinson for his goal... these two have a real understanding at PNE, and that could work wonders for Ireland if they get played together.  Seani is a top striker, just needs the run of games with PNE to get back into full stride.  Sure he'll be a big asset up with Robbo for Ireland in the years to come.
Our game at PNE is to take pressure and then hit the opposition with our blistering pace (Robinson, Maguire and Barkhuizen).  Works well (though we have had a shakey start due to injuries this year, but sure this will turn around - we cant go bad over night).

Alan Browne is the one that baffles me.  He is definately one of our better players and scooped all of the POTY trophies last year.  He is a ball winner, calm on the ball, good eye for a pass, and chips in with a good number of goals..... cant understand why Cyrus Christie is preferred to him in the midifeld at all!

Back to Robinson and Maguire..... MON needs to look how they play for PNE and use this to his strength for Ireland.... pace, goals and a general threat that can work wonders for ROI if he uses them..... i'd play Robbo and Maguire either side of a main striker (take your pick), as Robbo and Maguire can both do a good job dropping back when not in possession and then hitting the opposition on the break with pace and creativity.

Cheers guys.

Posted By: belt
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 12:20pm
The reason Browne is not getting a picked is because he has been appalling any chance he has got with us. Would have preferred we stuck with him than put Christie in there though

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 12:22pm
The Preston lads........ are f**king sh*te 

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 12:23pm
Yeah, Browne is way off the standard required.

Posted By: Green rebel
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 12:25pm
they should play him at no 10 ,and give him 3 full games, and a decent chance to prove himself especially with Robinson and Maguire around him,how many games has Steven ward had and he is still shocking

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 12:27pm
Originally posted by Green rebel Green rebel wrote:

they should play him at no 10 ,and give him 3 full games, and a decent chance to prove himself especially with Robinson and Maguire around him,how many games has Steven ward had and he is still shocking

go back to eating the sandwich your nibbling on and prepare for double geography after lunch 

Posted By: JoxerDaly
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2018 at 1:17pm
Brownes played a handfull of games and is still young. Lads writing him off already. This forumLOL TongueConfused