URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55646
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 1:36pm

Topic: Paul Heaton
Subject: Paul Heaton
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 6:11am
Any Beautiful South fans on here?

Paul and Jacqui Abbott are touring in Ireland and the UK from next month.

Irish dates include Cork Belfast Derry Dublin Galway Limerick and Wexford.

I've got a ticket for their Sunderland gig should be a good night.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 10:40am

They skipped Cambridge, the bastards! It should be a good night alright, enjoy DM.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 12:22pm

They skipped Cambridge, the bastards! It should be a good night alright, enjoy DM.
Really enjoy Beautiful South but haven't listened to his other stuff!

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 12:56pm

The Housemartins were better than Beautiful South! He has a pub in Salford I want to visit.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 3:18pm

The Housemartins were better than Beautiful South! He has a pub in Salford I want to visit.
No way! What's it called? Yeah any housemartins songs I know are quality.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 3:31pm
The King's Arms, it is near the station. It seems to have a lot of decent music, including himself on occasion.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 5:19pm
I'll be going to their Olympia gig in Dublin. The setlists from their previous gigs seem to be about 60% Housemartins and Beautiful South stuff so it should be a great night.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 5:43pm
 Clambering men in big bad boots, dug up my den, dug up my roots.....

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 9:18pm

The King's Arms, it is near the station. It seems to have a lot of decent music, including himself on occasion.
20 minute walk from the gaff...nice one

EDIT: Just read that it got taken over by someone else in 2015, still looks a cool spot

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 11:01pm

I'll be going to their Olympia gig in Dublin. The setlists from their previous gigs seem to be about 60% Housemartins and Beautiful South stuff so it should be a great night.

Good man be good to hear what they play?

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2017 at 11:40pm

Good man be god to hear what they play?

Here's the setlist from a    https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/paul-heaton-and-jacqui-abbott/2017/escot-park-devon-england-33e554a1.html" rel="nofollow - gig they played last month. I'd love to get Woman in the Wall as well but I'd be well happy if that lot was played.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 7:33am

Good man be good to hear what they play?

Here's the setlist from a    https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/paul-heaton-and-jacqui-abbott/2017/escot-park-devon-england-33e554a1.html" rel="nofollow - gig they played last month. I'd love to get Woman in the Wall as well but I'd be well happy if that lot was played.

Thanks bud I'm looking forward to the gig.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2017 at 2:59pm

Clambering men in big bad boots, dug up my den, dug up my roots.....

Quality tune.

Posted By: sweeper
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2017 at 10:49am
Anyone got a spare ticket for this Saturday at the Limelight, Belfast- please?

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2017 at 7:05pm
Is it Paul Heaton or Jacqui Abbott have the Irish roots?

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2017 at 9:21am
My mate saw Paul and Jacqui at Cork Opera House in concert recently and said the music and the craic were quality.              

Posted By: heppies
Date Posted: 24 Oct 2017 at 2:51pm

Is this a sell out.

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2017 at 3:53pm
Seen he was down at Rovers this afternoon

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2017 at 6:08pm
Originally posted by heppies heppies wrote:

Is this a sell out.

Afraid so. Tbey are playing other gigs around the country later this week though so if you're prepared to travel you could probably get a ticket for one of those.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 12:02am

Quality gig in Sunderland tonight Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott were in top form.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 9:36am

Quality gig in Sunderland tonight Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott were in top form.

Good stuff. I meant to post here after their Dublin gig which was terrific. It was a good mix of older and newer stuff which kept the crowd happy. Very impressed with the harmonies.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 12:39pm

Good stuff. I meant to post here after their Dublin gig which was terrific. It was a good mix of older and newer stuff which kept the crowd happy. Very impressed with the harmonies.

They played a lot of songs from the current album last night together with Happy Hour from the Housemartins and Beautiful South songs Song for Whoever Don't Marry Her A Little Time Perfect 10 Old Red Eyes and Rotterdam.

Did they play Blackwater Banks at the Dublin gig?

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 1:11pm
Reflecting on last night got me thinking about a gig back in 2009 in Sunderland when Dave Hemingway Alison Wheeler and co played a largely Beautiful South set the support band were Baby Jenx from Dublin who were excellent its a shame they didn't make it.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 2:28pm

Reflecting on last night got me thinking about a gig back in 2009 in Sunderland when Dave Hemingway Alison Wheeler and co played a largely Beautiful South set the support band were Baby Jenx from Dublin who were excellent its a shame they didn't make it.

Yeah they played it alright. Went down very well as did most of the new stuff (She Got the Garden is a great tune). Your setlist from last night sounds pretty similar to the Dublin setlist to be fair. All round a very enjoyable gig. I'm off the Queens of the Stone Age tonight which is a different ball game altogether!

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 2:33pm

Yeah they played it alright. Went down very well as did most of the new stuff (She Got the Garden is a great tune). Your setlist from last night sounds pretty similar to the Dublin setlist to be fair. All round a very enjoyable gig. I'm off the Queens of the Stone Age tonight which is a different ball game altogether!

I really like Blackwater Banks but they didn't play it last night.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 4:19pm

They must have just made a point of playing it at the Irish gigs on account of all it's Irish references.

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2017 at 10:01pm

They must have just made a point of playing it at the Irish gigs on account of all it's Irish references.

Exactly what I was thinking bud.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 8:13am
Playing July 6th in Trinity College. Tickets on sale on Friday.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 8:44am

Sure to be a cracking gig.

Cool

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 8:51am

Cool

How much for tickets?

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 9:16am

Cool

How much for tickets?

€39. They go on sale on Friday.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 9:22am

Cool

How much for tickets?

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 9:30am

Cool

How much for tickets?

The €6 per ticket Ticketmaster charge has to be added as well, but if you work in Dublin city centre you can buy concert tickets in either the Ticketmaster booth in St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, or the Sound Cellar, where no extra charge is applied.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 9:55am

Cool

How much for tickets?

The €6 per ticket Ticketmaster charge has to be added as well, but if you work in Dublin city centre you can buy concert tickets in either the Ticketmaster booth in St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, or the Sound Cellar, where no extra charge is applied.
Do you have to work in Dublin city to avail of this offer?

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 10:04am
Lovely will try make it up for this, reckon it could be a sell out i see they sold out two dates in the same venue is Scotland very quickly. Haven't a clue what trinity is like for a concert.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 10:42am

Cool

How much for tickets?

Do you have to work in Dublin city to avail of this offer?

Yes. Yes you do. You also need a reference from your employer when buying a ticket.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 10:43am

Lovely will try make it up for this, reckon it could be a sell out i see they sold out two dates in the same venue is Scotland very quickly. Haven't a clue what trinity is like for a concert.

No idea myself. I think the gigs are in the courtyard but I'm not entirely sure.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 12:40pm

Cool

How much for tickets?

Unless you are paying by card and then there's a charge for that.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 12:48pm
Ah sh*te...the day I go on holidays

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 1:30pm

Cool

How much for tickets?

Unless you are paying by card and then there's a charge for that.

Good man. I didn't know that.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 3:00pm

No idea myself. I think the gigs are in the courtyard but I'm not entirely sure.

The twitter video from Jacqui brought a few new fans i'd imagine.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 3:06pm

What's this?

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 3:15pm

What's this?

I'm not on Twitter but I was sent a clip which I think is the one being referred to. It was the band in a hotel room warming up for a gig by doing an acoustic version of Happy Hour. It's worth a look if you're a fan, although I still prefer the original.

Date Posted: 30 Jan 2019 at 3:19pm
https://twitter.com/jamajestical/status/1088551745100435456" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/jamajestical/status/1088551745100435456

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 10:20am
Anything on in dublin that night? Hotel prices are the worst ive ever seen and the usual cheap ones on Harcourt St are sold out.

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 10:24am

Anything on in dublin that night? Hotel prices are the worst ive ever seen and the usual cheap ones on Harcourt St are sold out.

Paul Heaton 

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 10:29am
Knew that was coming LOL

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 11:19am

Paul Heaton 

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 1:06pm

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 1:10pm
Still a few tickets available. Might go, just need a little time to think it over...

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 12:47pm
Westlife and Longitude on the same night, no wonder hotels are ridiculous! not sure i fancy the 3 hour bus back that night

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 1:02pm
I went to stop off at the kiosk at St. Stephen's Green to get our tickets on the the way into work, only to be confronted by a horde of teenagers (ugh) queuing for Longitude (possibly the worst line up in the history of music?). It was the longest 20 minutes of my life and that includes the time I was trapped in a lift with Aido.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 1:28pm

Westlife and Longitude on the same night, no wonder hotels are ridiculous! not sure i fancy the 3 hour bus back that night

There are a couple of places which are about 11km from the city centre on booking.com which are priced in the €100 - €140 range. Alternatively, depending on where you're living, it may be handy enough to get somewhere in the likes of Drogheda or Maynooth.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 1:41pm
Got my ticket Clap

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 1:43pm
Down in Shannon so haven't many options, might stay at one of the places a bit out if there's a few grand pubs around, still a lot to pay for 11 KM outside the city..  

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 2:30pm

I went to stop off at the kiosk at St. Stephen's Green to get our tickets on the the way into work, only to be confronted by a horde of teenagers (ugh) queuing for Longitude (possibly the worst line up in the history of music?). It was the longest 20 minutes of my life and that includes the time I was trapped in a lift with Aido.
I think Aido M has a different version of the lift story LOL

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 2:41pm

There are a couple of places which are about 11km from the city centre on booking.com which are priced in the €100 - €140 range. Alternatively, depending on where you're living, it may be handy enough to get somewhere in the likes of Drogheda or Maynooth.

at least it was only 20 minutes. i had the worst 2 hours of my life sitting beside you to Warsaw a few years back and you continued to sing the same song over and over again Ouch

what was the song again LOL

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 4:41pm

at least it was only 20 minutes. i had the worst 2 hours of my life sitting beside you to Warsaw a few years back and you continued to sing the same song over and over again Ouch

Was that the Dionne Warwick mixed medley?

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2019 at 4:46pm

I think Aido M has a different version of the lift story LOL

Most likely the longer one! Ah, I was only joking about being stuck in the lift with Aido. If that really happened it'd be a hari kari job.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 7:59am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DnNpRKbeNEhc&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjG69PRzaHgAhVdRhUIHSoZDxcQtwIILDAF&usg=AOvVaw2k-wFmHNdto0q2IdhFt148" rel="nofollow - Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott Sunderland Empire "Happy Hour ...

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DnNpRKbeNEhc&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjG69PRzaHgAhVdRhUIHSoZDxcQuAIILTAFUAE&usg=AOvVaw11agj_ZO3fL7g4OcdAkgKp" rel="nofollow">
Video for paul heaton songs sunderland empire
► 2:15
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNpRKbeNEhc23 Nov 2017 - 2 min - Uploaded by saint afford
Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott Sunderland Empire "Happy Hour" 23/11/17.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 9:15am

it was mixed all right LOL

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:29pm

Why Do You Have To Be A Heartbreaker is a 20th century classic! Are you going to be making an appearance in Gib?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 12:35pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--bV6itzHDM" rel="nofollow - - Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott-the Lord is a white con Sunderland empire 23/11/17 - Duration: 3:53.

Not full song due to the Sunderland empire view on no videos or photography or even standing

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 1:05pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--bV6itzHDM" rel="nofollow - - Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott-the Lord is a white con Sunderland empire 23/11/17 - Duration: 3:53.

Not full song due to the Sunderland empire view on no videos or photography or even standing
I can't applaud that view enough. Drives me f**king simple! Pay forty quid for a ticket and have to watch it through some gobsh*te's phone! 
All the ones who want to take a bad quality video of the event should have a meeting place outside, set up a WhatsApp group, agree which dickhead is going to do it and share it.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 2:29pm

Why Do You Have To Be A Heartbreaker is a 20th century classic! Are you going to be making an appearance in Gib?

im looking into it. have denmark and switzerland booked. need to keep a few days also for europa league. looking at flying in sat and out sunday but its the bones of 300 odd quid so kinda going against it at present. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 3:08pm

im looking into it. have denmark and switzerland booked. need to keep a few days also for europa league. looking at flying in sat and out sunday but its the bones of 300 odd quid so kinda going against it at present. 

Fly out on the Friday. C'mon ta f**k!

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 8:35am
In the style of Double Maxim...

Looking forward to seeing Paul Heaton tonight as part of the Trinity College summer series.

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 8:37am

Looking forward to seeing Paul Heaton tonight as part of the Trinity College summer series.
Sure it will be a cracking night. Cool

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 9:27am
Heading in as well, really looking forward to it, A sell out I believe

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 10:01am
Hall and Oates would be far superior up in Iveagh gardens tonight

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 10:11am

Yeah I’m raging I’m missing that one.

Was thinking of doing a Mrs Doubtfire for it.

Race to Iveagh for Out of Touch and back down Trinity for Song for Whoever.

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 10:30am

Full of Scrotes up in the Church would be more your thing Wink

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 10:44am
Was at Trinity on Monday for Vampire Weekend. Good venue for a gig. Drink stands and toilets are right there and don't have to go miles for them.
Going to Hall and Oates tonight as well.

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 2:19pm

Yeah, I'm heading along too. They were great in the Olympia a year or so ago so I'm expecting a good night. Then it's Stevie Wonder on Tuesday and Idles on Thursday. Bring it on

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 5:54pm
That’s a great week! 

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 7:31pm

That’s a great week! 

You do realise all gigs are In dublin :) 

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 7:38pm

That’s a great week! 

The poor ****! The one time old  Stevie is better off blind, he will wish he is deaf too!

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2019 at 7:40pm

That’s a great week! 

The poor ****! The one time old  Stevie is better off blind, he will wish he is deaf too!

Hey Stevie You can shove your superstition up your hole.  And she is in her Hole lovely.  Stop wrecking me head calling me at all hours to say you love me, ya pox bottle 

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 2:07pm
Cracking gig last night. We were towards the back of the crowd for the first 3 or 4 songs but the people around us were wrecking our heads with their constant yammering. We moved half way up the crowd though and it was much better. As to why some people fork out for gig tickets and then cannot be arsed to even face the stage, is beyond me.

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 2:59pm
A serious bug bear at gigs and concerts. Going for the selfie and the 30 sec video and a heap of likes on Facebook. Sorry I missed that gig. Saw the Beautiful South in the Olympia about 14 years ago and it was also a cracking gig. 

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 4:37pm
Phones should be banned at the things. I would gladly pay extra to go to a phone free gig.

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 4:42pm

Phones should be banned at the things. I would gladly pay extra to go to a phone free gig.
Was at a show in The Point last november. This yoke in the row in front was having video call with I assume her daughter and her son for almost the entirety of the show while holding the phone up so they could also see the stage. If there is indeed a hell, there is a special area reserved for ****s like this

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:08pm
These people weren't taking photos or making videos. They were just constantly talking. Completely head wrecking.

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:27pm

These people weren't taki
 photos or making videos. They were just constantly talking. Completely head wrecking.

You should have just stood in front of them.

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:31pm

photos or making videos. They were just constantly talking. Completely head wrecking.

not fair on everyone else there

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:53pm

They wouldn't have given a sh*te

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:54pm

Says short arse!

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 5:55pm

These people weren't taking photos or making videos. They were just constantly talking. Completely head wrecking.

You know there problem, is they didn’t keep it all in. 

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 6:08pm

You know there problem, is they didn’t keep it all in. 
their

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2019 at 6:09pm

Says short arse!
Cry

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2019 at 12:20pm
Great gig; great venue.

The Last King of Pop Cool

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2019 at 12:22pm

Great gig; great venue.

The Last King of Pop Cool
One of the best gigs I've ever seen when PH  played at Sunderland Empire.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2021 at 7:10pm

Cracking interview with Paul Heaton on this podcast.

https://shows.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-61-paul-heaton" rel="nofollow - https://shows.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-61-paul-heaton

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2021 at 7:16pm

Cracking interview with Paul Heaton on this podcast.

https://shows.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-61-paul-heaton" rel="nofollow - https://shows.acast.com/celtic-soul-podcast/episodes/celtic-soul-podcast-episode-61-paul-heaton
Class.Clap

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2021 at 8:16pm

Very much looking forward to part two of the interview next week.

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2021 at 8:40pm
Good reference to the lyrics in this superb song in the above interview.

https://youtu.be/5pXlQitfMZg" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/5pXlQitfMZg

Date Posted: 16 Apr 2021 at 9:56pm
His Dublin gig has been rescheduled for a 4th time to next January if anybody has tickets. 

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2021 at 9:13pm
http://https://open.spotify.com/album/6KAJNoi7chqjEHaIe1Q8cS?si=pW0Tw-QSTpKaBdKyzreIsw&utm_source=copy-link" rel="nofollow - http://https://open.spotify.com/album/6KAJNoi7chqjEHaIe1Q8cS?si=pW0Tw-QSTpKaBdKyzreIsw&utm_source=copy-link

One of my favourites on Spotify Clap

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2021 at 9:37pm

http://https://open.spotify.com/album/6KAJNoi7chqjEHaIe1Q8cS?si=pW0Tw-QSTpKaBdKyzreIsw&utm_source=copy-link" rel="nofollow - http://https://open.spotify.com/album/6KAJNoi7chqjEHaIe1Q8cS?si=pW0Tw-QSTpKaBdKyzreIsw&utm_source=copy-link

One of my favourites on Spotify Clap
Link isn't working. 

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 6:15am
Quality tune 

https://youtu.be/E6Qxu6E7eOI" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/E6Qxu6E7eOI