URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55542
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 1:43pm

Topic: Installing a bar in your house
Subject: Installing a bar in your house
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:31pm
We are building a bar in our shed. We want taps, kegs etc. Has anyone done this before? What kinda gear do you need for a working tap etc. Where can one buy kegs? Bit clueless when it comes to it but would love to do it properly.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:46pm

We are building a bar in our shed. We want taps, kegs etc. Has anyone done this before? What kinda gear do you need for a working tap etc. Where can one buy kegs? Bit clueless when it comes to it but would love to do it properly.

Just put in a bar but no kegs / unless you are turning over a high volume (raging alcoholics) the kegs will be sat there only used for the craic and the taste will be horrible. Also you will need refrigeration for the kegs . Better off with a bottle bar . Under counter glass door fridges filled with your favourite tippple And pour it into a Glass

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:49pm

Just put in a bar but no kegs / unless you are turning over a high volume (raging alcoholics) the kegs will be sat there only used for the craic and the taste will be horrible. Also you will need refrigeration for the kegs . Better off with a bottle bar . Under counter glass door fridges filled with your favourite tippple And pour it into a Glass

....or buy a pub ....that way you can still keep your lawn mower in the shed

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:50pm
Yeah we thought about that but we are having a few big parties next year in the house and want proper kegs and taps etc. Any idea where you can buy all the stuff for it?

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:57pm

Yeah we thought about that but we are having a few big parties next year in the house and want proper kegs and taps etc. Any idea where you can buy all the stuff for it?

https://www.brewcrew.ie/

I now expect an invite to one of these parties Wink

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:58pm

I think you can hire most of that stuff from "prop me up".

Posted By: Mr Stupid
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:58pm
Just rent the gear for the parties ? We used to do that all the time. Most good pubs with off licences will rent you the taps and coolers and you buy a keg or two. They'll even come and install it in your gaff and pick it up the next day. One place in Galway even asked us if we wanted our own barman for the night ! It's not a bad idea as there is a lot of waste if you get lads that can't pull a pint and especially when everyone is bananas.

Stupid like a fox

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:15pm
Can't wait

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:19pm

Can't wait

You can come but the other neighbour we know is barred LOL

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:20pm
Originally posted by Mr Stupid Mr Stupid wrote:

Just rent the gear for the parties ? We used to do that all the time. Most good pubs with off licences will rent you the taps and coolers and you buy a keg or two. They'll even come and install it in your gaff and pick it up the next day. One place in Galway even asked us if we wanted our own barman for the night ! It's not a bad idea as there is a lot of waste if you get lads that can't pull a pint and especially when everyone is bananas.

Never actually knew you could rent them tbh. Thanks for that. Still would like to buy our own though I think.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:20pm

Think that site only allows you to rent them?

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:35pm
Lad in work done similar few years back, I'll ask him the craic when he's back from travelling around Croatia

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:53pm

Lad in work done similar few years back, I'll ask him the craic when he's back from travelling around Croatia

Thanks Heart

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:57pm

Can't wait

You can come but the other neighbour we know is barred LOL

Derek Devoy? Won't be a party without him

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 11:55pm
Sasa's gaff for pre and post match pints from now on

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 12:30am

Think that site only allows you to rent them?

Nope they sell stuff too, you may need to contact them though

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 3:27am
Any excuse to post this Chewin the Fat sketch I love:

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 8:54am

Big mistake that, place is gonna be wrecked by YBIG, old and new.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 9:59am

Can't wait
this

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 12:56pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

Any excuse to post this Chewin the Fat sketch I love:

A brilliant show in its own right, but it spawned an even better one.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 1:12pm

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 1:21pm

Also good venue for YBIG Christmas Party Wink

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 1:27pm
Just rent the stuff, don't install one.

Far too much cleaning and maintenance needed to install one. 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 5:17pm
What are you calling your bar ??? Reckon it needs a name.
Would advise you to start considering door staff now - A lot of riff-raff on here !

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 6:33pm
Will you have a cloak room for trapped

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 6:46pm

Would advise you to start considering door staff now - A lot of riff-raff on here !

The Grass Sprayers has a good ring to it

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 6:49pm

The Grass Sprayers has a good ring to it

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 7:04pm
The Stab and Thug Hut

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 2:10am
Bit pissed now at the moment to Be honest but you actually can paint your grass a different colour. I didn't actually make that up off the top of my head 🤔

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2017 at 10:47pm
Defo needs a name before any kegs and that lark.

My friend's bar was Tropical Murphy's 

Posted By: ABFC
Date Posted: 21 Aug 2017 at 9:10am
Sasa Bowsie has her heart on installing one despite it laying idle for most of the year. Trust most people on here Bowsie and rent one for the 4 or 5 parties you'll have unless your a raging alcoholic and need to pull your own pint on a random Tuesday afternoon

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2017 at 9:12am

Defo needs a name before any kegs and that lark.

My friend's bar was Tropical Murphy's 

Sasa 'SGB' Bowsie's bar will be called 'The Green Green Painted Grass of Home'

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2017 at 9:16am
How about

"The Glass is always Greener on the other side"

A bit long winded but you could definitely come up with a class Cheers type theme song

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2017 at 9:19am
I can only imagine the sort that bar will attract. The likes of Sono and trAndy out of their bins thinking they're hilarious

Posted By: deebee
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2017 at 8:28pm

A 2 tap beer cooler will cost you between 50 and 150.You'll still need the gas but easy to get.beer tap will set you back between 20 and 50 depending on what type your after.Kegs can be got at cash and carry.Decide on a brand and stick to it as the tapping heads are different from keg to cooler.Everything you need can be got on adverts.ie 

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 8:37am
Does it have to be cleaned often. Say if you had a party and there was some left in the keg, how long would it last? Are they hard systems to clean?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 8:50am
Every 2-3 Weeks you should clean it.  Below you'll find how to do it.

https://beerandbrewing.com/keep-your-draft-lines-clean/" rel="nofollow - https://beerandbrewing.com/keep-your-draft-lines-clean/

A keg if stored correctly should last about 2-3 months

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 9:38am
Confused pretty much everybody is telling you its a bad idea unless you are a raging alco so either
stick to bottles in a refrigerator or hire the equipement for the evening

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 10:12am

Confused pretty much everybody is telling you its a bad idea unless you are a raging alco so either
stick to bottles in a refrigerator or hire the equipement for the evening

Em okay dad 😂