URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55438
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 10:18pm

Topic: Champions League 17/18
Subject: Champions League 17/18
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 11:22am
The road to Kyiv begins tonight, bit of uk interest with Hibernian at home to Infonet Tallinn and TNS at home to Europa FC.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 11:30am

The road to Kyiv begins tonight, bit of uk interest with Hibernian at home to Infonet Tallinn and TNS at home to Europa FC.
Hibernians of Malta, called after a British Army regiment that was based there.

Is the TNS game on S4C?

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 12:16pm

Hibernians of Malta, called after a British Army regiment that was based there.

Is the TNS game on S4C?

ffs the site i was looking at had the Hibs of scotland logo, should have copped it though.
No live games on TV which is strange as its down for live tv coverage on estonian tv afaik

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 2:08pm
BET365 have a couple of the CL qualifiers on.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 2:16pm
I know we miss football and all, but you'd have to be really stuck for something to do on a Tuesday evening to watch one of those qualifiers on a betting app

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 2:28pm
Well, I'll be watching Spain v Italy in the U21's. Should be a good game

Don't shoot the messenger. 

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 2:30pm

Not the TNS one though, nor is it on S4C.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 3:54pm

I know we miss football and all, but you'd have to be really stuck for something to do on a Tuesday evening to watch one of those qualifiers on a betting app

Yep. Let's all watch Love Island instead LOL

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 3:56pm

It sure beats watching a Maltese team vs an Estonian team in a champions league qualifier on your iphone

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 4:24pm

It sure beats watching a Maltese team vs an Estonian team in a champions league qualifier on your iphone
Each to their own and everything but it doesn't, I can't think of a worse show ever put on tv and I include The Big Bow Wow in that.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 4:31pm

Each to their own and everything but it doesn't, I can't think of a worse show ever put on tv and I include The Big Bow Wow in that.

And "Here Comes Honey Boo Boo" 

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 4:43pm

Christ! You'd need to be seriously bored (or perhaps under the thumb!) to watch that muck. LOL

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 4:59pm

http://www.xbiz.com/news/188954" rel="nofollow - http://www.xbiz.com/news/188954  

Back on topic I did all four home teams and Spain to beat Italy at just over 12s. Gives the evening a bit of an interest, there is absolutely no real yardstick to measure the Kosovans against though.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 7:02pm

TNS are live onBBC Wales.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 8:46pm

TNS are live onBBC Wales.
And are worse than I thought! Going to cost me my bet. They fully deserve to lose, they have so many donkeys.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 9:27pm
i enjoy putting a few bets on in the early rounds in europe. unders/overs market.

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 11:42am
Tough draws for both liverpool and celtic, liverpool v hoffenhein and celtic v Astana

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 1:31pm
Both will be grand. Celtic just about overcame Astana last year too, Hoffenheim's first ever time in Europe

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 1:48pm
Think Hoffenheim are a bit overrated. No doubt a Manager taking them from relegation playoffs to Champions League at the age of 29/30 is an extraordinary achievement but would they be in this position if the likes of Wolfsburg didn't have a terrible season? Most likely not!

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 1:56pm
Surely if they're from the super dooper Bundesliga then Liverpool are in big trouble

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 2:22pm
I'd imagine that Liverpool or Napoli were the teams that everybody else wanted to avoid. As tough as Liverpool could have got but you still have to fancy them to go through.

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 3:36pm

Surely if they're from the super dooper Bundesliga then Liverpool are in big trouble
Predictable.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 8:12pm
Hoffenheim and Liverpool 0 0 about right.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 8:16pm

Hoffenheim and Liverpool 0 0 about right.
Terrible penalty miss by Hoffenheim

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 8:21pm
Liverpool 1 up.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 9:20pm
2 0 Liverpool.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 9:32pm
2 1 now.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 8:00pm
Liverpool 1 up.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 9:53pm
Quarabag become the firs Azerbaijan team in the Group Stage 

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 10:04pm

Quarabag become the firs Azerbaijan team in the Group Stage 
I watched the last half an hour, with Azerbaijani commentary, as I was waiting on it for a bet. A mad game of football, Qarabag score and you think they are through, Copenhagen get one straight back and you feel full sure they are going to score again, but they seemed to completely lose their heads after it. As did Qarabag and the game descends into schoolboy stuff.
I don't know how there was only two minutes of injury time though.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 10:13pm
How are Barcelona, PSG and in pot 2 and Donetsk and Spartak in pot1?

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 10:15pm

The defending champions and the winners of the highest ranked leagues are automatically in pot 1.

Posted By: alihau41
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 9:26am

same as how Leicester were top pot last season. have to give benefit to league winners. also makes for better groups. you wouldn't bat an eyelid if pot2 was actually pot1 with the teams that are in there

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 10:48am
Could be some tasty groups alright.

Monaco, Barcelona, Liverpool, Celtic

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 10:55am
Would be happy with

Spartak
United
Anderlecht
Maribor

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 11:14am
Originally posted by alihau41 alihau41 wrote:

same as how Leicester were top pot last season. have to give benefit to league winners. also makes for better groups. you wouldn't bat an eyelid if pot2 was actually pot1 with the teams that are in there

I think it's a good rule change - could be some big namea gone in the group stages which is good 

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 11:16am
So do I. Good reward for domestic champions, and will make for a few interesting matchups in the group stages hopefully.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 11:45am

AFAIK dont think Liverpool can draw another British team ladThumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 12:08pm

Know more.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 12:14pm
Liverpool can get Celtic, they're not from the same country nor in the same pot

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 12:34pm
Bad state of affairs when the draw is more exciting than the bulk of the group stage matches

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 1:43pm

Since when was Scotland and England the same country you dope

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 2:52pm

Since 1707.

Posted By: HelloBarry
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 4:42pm

Since 1707.

Quit while you are ahead.
All the best gamblers do.

http://blog.sbobet.com/tips

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 5:48pm
Basle and Benfica so far for United. Spurs got f**ked over Real and Dortmund so far

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 5:50pm
Celtic still available to join that group too. It's gonna happen innit LOL

Great draw for Utd and Liverpool.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 6:11pm
Group A and G are the most boring groups ever

Posted By: HelloBarry
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 7:03pm

Basle and Benfica so far for United. Spurs got f**ked over Real and Dortmund so far

Wonder how they will play against them.

Quit while you are ahead.
All the best gamblers do.

http://blog.sbobet.com/tips

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 7:26pm
Last year all but 1 of the bottom team in each group got over 3 points.
I can see something similar this year.

Some teams will get battered.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2017 at 11:23pm

United second seeds and Spurs third seeds.

If they'd taken the Europa League a bit more seriously over the last few years, they wouldn't be in this position.

Hell slap it up them.

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 7:56am

Group A and G are the most boring groups ever

lucky there are 6 other groups for you to watch, although I somewhat think you'll still watch united so you can have a moan about jose

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 10:00am
Actually think Group G will be a brilliant group four very evenly matched teams. Should be some great tactical battles in those games

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 10:03am
Good draws for the English clubs. At least 4 of them should be getting to the last 16

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 10:29am

Good draws for the English clubs. At least 4 of them should be getting to the last 16

city, united and pool should be topping their groups without much issue. expect pool to get revenge over sevilla after they bottled the EL two years ago. Chelsea will certainly qualify, but will come down to GD with atleti for top spot as I can't see anything other than two 0-0s between them. media seem pessimistic about spurs but think that's due to the love-in with the hipster Dortmund. it'll be nice to see spurs put in some effort in Europe, haven't done so since 'Arry was in charge. it'll be a good test for them to see how good alli, dier, kane etc are considering the price tags that the media associate them with

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 2:29pm

Do you think any of them with get to the semi finals?
I think Man U have the best chance due to Maureen.

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 2:33pm
Depends on the luck of the draw. Leiceter got to the quarters last season after a couple of favourable draws, and aren't a good side.
If any of them meet Real Madrid before the semis then no, if they meet Bayern probably not as well. Real are a level ahead of the rest of Europe at present. In the next bracket is Bayern, Barca and Juve, and then the rest. Its unclear whether City, Chelsea or United are at the second level yet, based on last year then they aren't.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2017 at 2:01pm
As per betfair

Top 10 favs
Real Madrid
Bayern Munich
PSG
Barcelona
Man City
Man U
Juve
Chelsea
Atletico Madrid
Liverpool

I really cant see anybody beating Real Madrid. They seem to be getting stronger and stronger each season and this is the trophy they want the most.

Barca v Juve tonight looks good. 
Celtic v PSG

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2017 at 2:50pm
Dybala 16/1 with Stanjames FGS tonight, unbelievable odds.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2017 at 9:14pm
Barca in crisis.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2017 at 8:28pm
Three ridiculous tackles in two minutes by Feyenoord on City players there
Will be lucky to get out of here with no injuries

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2017 at 10:37pm
Asensio missed Madrid's game tonight due to an infected pimple caused by shaving his legs. So painful he couldnt pull his socks up

Bless him.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2017 at 10:38pm

Asensio missed Madrid's game tonight due to an infected pimple caused by shaving his legs. So painful he couldnt pull his socks up

Bless him.

Oh to hear the opinion of someone like Brian Clough

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:02pm
Cracking match in Dortmund. Clap

Should've been a penalty to Dortmund with that blatant handball.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:05pm
An absolute stunner from Bale ShockedClap

Randolph would've saved it easily though

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:07pm
Didn't realise both Liverpool and Man U were in Moscow this week.
And I assume CSKA and Spartak are not pals either.

I assume fans have stayed away.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:10pm
Liverpool 1 down

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:13pm
Crazy high line defending from Dortmund making for a great game. Fair play to TV3 for showing the best game of the night rather than showing United or Liverpool too.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 8:13pm

Didn't realise both Liverpool and Man U were in Moscow this week.
And I assume CSKA and Spartak are not pals either.

I assume fans have stayed away.

I think they were warned by the authorities to behave but United and Liverpool would still take a good number of away fans.

If they put a foot wrong on Putin's doorstep, they'll be doing it in the wrong country. 

Madrid beating Dortmund would be an excellent result for Spurs if the beat APOEL. 

6 point cushion over Dortmund would be perfect going into the Real double header Clap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 9:05pm
Spurs 2-0 up... Harry with both.
Missing 5 first team players so the performance is not great but need the result.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 9:08pm
Dortmund have had no luck with refs in the opening two games in fairness. 

Definitely one of the most exciting champions league groups with three good attacking sides. 

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2017 at 10:42pm
Originally posted by max max wrote:

Crazy high line defending from Dortmund making for a great game. Fair play to TV3 for showing the best game of the night rather than showing United or Liverpool too.

Well Utd were not playing tonight

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 12:28am

Have you anything original to add apart from parroting what the tv3 commentary said? 

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 12:39am

Have you anything original to add apart from parroting what the tv3 commentary said? 

Coming from the man who posted 'Randolph would have saved it' which was pretty pointless, yet you're picking up Max on a valid point regarding Dortmund Confused

Dortmund do play a very high line, it was very evident at Wembley two weeks ago and you would have thought they would have learned their lesson, obviously not hence why Max made his point I'd imagine.

You're turning into an awful grump around here lately Ouch

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 12:58am

Coming from the man who posted 'Randolph would have saved it' which was pretty pointless, yet you're picking up Max on a valid point regarding Dortmund Confused Pointless?! I was taking the piss. What's the correlation between my point (not even a point btw) 'in jest' and another poster who was just repeating what the commentary said. 

Dortmund do play a very high line, it was very evident at Wembley two weeks ago and you would have thought they would have learned their lesson, obviously not hence why Max made his point I'd imagine.

My argument is Max was repeating what he heard on tv and nothing to do with Dortmund's high line (which I couldn't give bollocks about anyway)

You're turning into an awful grump around here lately Ouch Boo fookin hoo

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 1:05am
'In jest' and it was about as funny as AIDS.

Or maybe being the keen football fan that Max is and an avid fan of German football given his strong German roots that he had the same observation as many of us who watch Dortmund regularly and decided he wanted to make a point! 

Given this is a football forum after all.

You were just being petty for the sake of it. 

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 1:16am
Anyhow back to the football, while I've never had any great love for Spurs I must say I really do hope that they make it past the group stage as I really like their brand of football.

Harry Kane could end up at Real Madrid with the rate he's going at, I believe that when Benzema starts getting phased out (in a season or two) he could become the perfect number 9 for Real. 

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 8:58am

Anyhow back to the football, while I've never had any great love for Spurs I must say I really do hope that they make it past the group stage as I really like their brand of football.

Harry Kane could end up at Real Madrid with the rate he's going at, I believe that when Benzema starts getting phased out (in a season or two) he could become the perfect number 9 for Real. 

He will, on match week 4

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 10:02am

Or maybe being the keen football fan that Max is and an avid fan of German football given his strong German roots that he had the same observation as many of us who watch Dortmund regularly and decided he wanted to make a point! 

AIDS ffs

Are you his PR man? I'm sure he can answer for himself.

He was making that sounded like he took it straight from tv3. I highlighted that.

Big deal. It is a football forum after all

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 11:14am

AIDS ffs

Are you his PR man? I'm sure he can answer for himself.

He was making that sounded like he took it straight from tv3. I highlighted that.

Big deal. It is a football forum after all

Why the f**k would you bother though?! This forum is hard work sometimes

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 11:32am
Timo Werner asked to subbed off early last night because the Besiktas fans were too loud apparently, the poor fella

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 11:43am

I caught he last few mins and was pleasantly surprised at their choice, was that just an editorial choice or was there a different reason?? 

I remember reading RTE's response to only showing the English clubs games even if it was a dead rubber and they said it was down to viewership figures would drop hugely if they didn't show those games, so I'd be certain TV 3 would do the same.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 12:15pm

I caught he last few mins and was pleasantly surprised at their choice, was that just an editorial choice or was there a different reason?? 

I remember reading RTE's response to only showing the English clubs games even if it was a dead rubber and they said it was down to viewership figures would drop hugely if they didn't show those games, so I'd be certain TV 3 would do the same.
Those TV3 dickheads showed Man United v Basel instead of Barcelona v Juventus a couple of weeks ago. I was glad to see they finally used some sense last night.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 1:17pm

Those TV3 dickheads showed Man United v Basel instead of Barcelona v Juventus a couple of weeks ago. I was glad to see they finally used some sense last night.

Why do think they showed United Franko?

MUFC
Hated.Adored. Never ignored

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 2:03pm

MUFC

Except of course for the last five or so years so where they've been more or less an irrelevance in the larger scheme of things.

Frank's right - it was a crime screening that filth the other week ahead of some of the other ties.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 2:51pm

MUFC

Except of course for the last five or so years so where they've been more or less an irrelevance in the larger scheme of things.

Frank's right - it was a crime screening that filth the other week ahead of some of the other ties.

Screening that filth

It might something to do with the fact United are arguably the most popular English club side in Ireland and most of the football tv public whether you like or hate them would rather watch one of the English sides in Europe. The demand is obviously there in comparison to Juventus.

That's why I was surprised Liverpool's game wasn't shown over Dortmund's last night on tv3 as they'd also have a big fanbase in Ireland.

You can call them an irrelevance all you want but their popularity was always there during the Moyes/Van Gaal years.

What club team do you follow Devrorex out of curiousity? I genuinely don't know.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 3:33pm

What club team do you follow Devrorex out of curiousity? I genuinely don't know.

I don't really follow a club side to be honest, although I do watch a fair bit of the Prem. I have always found it an enjoyable league to follow despite not supporting any one team from it.

And I understand why the likes of TV3 and RTE do it but on certain occasions like that it can be particularly annoying. United at home to Basle is never going to be a classic.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 7:57pm
Remember when Akinfeev was the next best thing

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 9:42pm
Diego CostaLOL

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 9:46pm
What happened?

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2017 at 11:24pm

What happened?

Late winner right on full time 90+3 a sickener!

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 1:52pm
The Atletico v Chelsea game looked a good one from the highlights. Serious statement sent out from Chelsea and Psg with their results.

As much as one dislikes Chelsea, you have to admire Conte 

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 1:57pm

The Atletico v Chelsea game looked a good one from the highlights. Serious statement sent out from Chelsea and Psg with their results.

Beating AM away is a massive result.
I expect all 5 English teams to get through but don't see any of them getting to the final.

Still behind the very top teams.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 2:10pm

I expect all 5 English teams to get through but don't see any of them getting to the final.

I don't think City, Chelsea and to a lesser extent United are that far behind the very top teams. I'm assuming the very top teams are Real Madrid, Barca, Bayern & PSG.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 2:14pm

I don't think City, Chelsea and to a lesser extent United are that far behind the very top teams. I'm assuming the very top teams are Real Madrid, Barca, Bayern & PSG.

Plus Juve.
I think the gap has closed a bit but Real in particular look really strong (again).

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 2:19pm

Plus Juve.
I think the gap has closed a bit but Real in particular look really strong (again).
Real drew at home to Levante and lost at home to Real Betis. The big 3 in England are significantly better then than those 2 but Chelsea did lose at home to Burnley. From what I've seen of Chelsea and City in particular this season, they've massively improved from previous years. Last night I thought Chelsea were excellent. Atletico at home are so tough to play against although I will concede that it was only their second match in that ground.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 2:23pm
Early days of course, but I would have Real a level above the rest of Europe, and I think the closest team to them at the minute are PSG

I think Barca and Bayern have regressed a little and are now almost on a similar level with Chelsea, City and possibly United, with Juve there or thereabouts.

I may be reading too much in to United's start or PSG's start to this season with these rankings of course, but the English clubs all have big powerful squads now. If Barca got a few injuries to a few key men I think they would really struggle

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 3:54pm

Early days of course, but I would have Real a level above the rest of Europe, and I think the closest team to them at the minute are PSG

I think Barca and Bayern have regressed a little and are now almost on a similar level with Chelsea, City and possibly United, with Juve there or thereabouts.

I may be reading too much in to United's start or PSG's start to this season with these rankings of course, but the English clubs all have big powerful squads now. If Barca got a few injuries to a few key men I think they would really struggle

Agree with that, I knew somebody was going to bring up their recent league results but they absolutely blew Juve away in the final not that long ago. Also beat Bayern and AM en route to the final.
They battered Man U in the super cup too. On the big stage they have delivered.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 4:05pm

Agree with that, I knew somebody was going to bring up their recent league results but they absolutely blew Juve away in the final not that long ago. Also beat Bayern and AM en route to the final.
They battered Man U in the super cup too. On the big stage they have delivered.

LOL I only brought it up because you said they look particularly strong. I would take that as you mean they're stronger than last season. From what I've seen, they're not. They were mediocre at best against Levante, poor against Betis (even with Ronaldo back) and Valencia could have beaten them. 

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 4:14pm
I still fancy Real to win the league. Strongest squad

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2017 at 4:46pm
Yeah if any of the English teams drew one of Barca/Real/Bayern/Juve/PSG in the QF they'll be underdogs.