URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55246
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 11:35am

Topic: Ye Olde Ulster-Scots Thread
Subject: Ye Olde Ulster-Scots Thread
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 5:48pm
Wat ye tink boot de Olshter Scats den?  Ye speek it pal?  I teech it to ma bairns as want dem ta be multilingual lake.   Ye boys all fenians heer? Naybady spake Olshter Scats yon south I faynd. Dats coz yeer al papist bastayrds.  Ye holy fooks. Me and ma bairns dinnae gave a sh*t boot yon south.  Aye luv tae morch if yinnay whatae meen. Ma pals bangs de drums.  Let de feens knoe we are dare superior lake. Aye seen Orlene Faster went tae see some feen language skool taday. Fackin traytor. Its ore Olshter Scats dats a praper language nat dat taig tongue. Let me know wat ye taigs tink boot dat.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 5:50pm
Muff will be all over this.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 6:47pm
Isn't the word for vacuum cleaner in Ulster- Scots a 'suckerupper', this was told to me by a fella in the pub and I have no interest in verifying it, I really want it to be true.

It may be the Ulster-Scots verion of 'popty ping' which, unfortunately, is not the Welsh word for microwave.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 7:04pm

Isn't the word for vacuum cleaner in Ulster- Scots a 'suckerupper', this was told to me by a fella in the pub and I have no interest in verifying it, I really want it to be true.

It may be the Ulster-Scots verion of 'popty ping' which, unfortunately, is not the Welsh word for microwave.

Sounds make uppy ( a bit like the language )

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 7:13pm

I thought Hoover was flure sucker in Ulster Scots but I don't know any native speakers to clarify

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 7:17pm
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

I thought Hoover was flure sucker in Ulster Scots but I don't know any native speakers to clarify
I think that might be even better!LOL

Posted By: GB 1HughJarse
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 7:59pm

Wat ye tink boot de Olshter Scats den?  Ye speek it pal?  I teech it to ma bairns as want dem ta be multilingual lake.   Ye boys all fenians heer? Naybady spake Olshter Scats yon south I faynd. Dats coz yeer al papist bastayrds.  Ye holy fooks. Me and ma bairns dinnae gave a sh*t boot yon south.  Aye luv tae morch if yinnay whatae meen. Ma pals bangs de drums.  Let de feens knoe we are dare superior lake. Aye seen Orlene Faster went tae see some feen language skool taday. Fackin traytor. Its ore Olshter Scats dats a praper language nat dat taig tongue. Let me know wat ye taigs tink boot dat.

Scats

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 8:00pm
I forgot to point out the obvious one TJ, Tonyjaa is fluent in Ulster-Scots!

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 9:39pm
Olshter Scats is nat a makey uppy speek ma wee pals. Its pure jenuine. Shure have a gawk at dis wee here jenuine internet paige fa examples hay tae speek ore linguage der.

http://northantrimulsterscots.blogspot.ie/2010/05/useful-phrases.html" rel="nofollow - http://northantrimulsterscots.blogspot.ie/2010/05/useful-phrases.html

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 9:43pm
Ulster Scots word for 'retard'= 'a wee daftie'LOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 10:53pm

no its not

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 11:04pm

no its not

Wat is it den? Aim a scholar da Olshter Scats.

Cordin ta ma research "a wee daftie" = 'special needs child' in ma language

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 11:06pm
Isn't it just Scots lang for a person who is daft?  Most of what I have read of it is somewhere between Robbie Burns and Irvine Welsh, though rarely of the same quality!

Your man Tim McGarry, the annoying comedian from 'Give My Head Peace' and the 'Blame Game' did a show on it last year, it was as much about the ,ahem, cultural links as the language itself and was pretty decent. He is actually a lot more likeable when not forcing himself to be funny, it is worth trying to track down online if you are even remotely interested.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 11:19pm

no its not

Wat is it den? Aim a scholar da Olshter Scats.

Cordin ta ma research "a wee daftie" = 'special needs child' in ma language

Don't know and don't care there is enough ammo to take the piss outa Ulster Scots without people (not you) making stuff up

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2017 at 11:24pm
"Wee dafty wains" also acceptad ma feen pal

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 12:49am
Bairn fluterer - peado

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 9:21am
Who let Nelson McCausland on this forum?

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 9:40am

Bairn fluterer - peado

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 10:11am

Bairn fluterer - peado

When i first heard this i remember saying that you couldn't make this sh*t up but obviously somebody did.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 10:19am

A few crackers here. In all seriousness it's more of a dialect then a language.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 10:46am
I don't know why but 'fash', 'watter'  and 'banes'just cracked me up, it even looks aggressive written down.

Chookie shank too.LOL

There are clearly interesting historical reasons for some words and then there is obviously some mad sheep botherer outside Ballymena making up words and terms like 'chookie shank' to try and get this madness passed off as a language.

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 11:02am
Build the Wall instantly! Strange people up there. 

Bairn fluterer made me do a genuine LOL. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjp1WFdrW8A" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjp1WFdrW8A

The Masons apron hahahah. Ulster Scots what a load of nonsense. Bomb Ayrshire and the Ards Peninsula

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 11:05am

If themmuns hae one, ussuns hae ta hae one.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 11:32am

Bairn fluterer - peado

When i first heard this i remember saying that you couldn't make this sh*t up but obviously somebody did.

You could make this all up in your own dialect no matter where you are from, dublin and cork easily.
Someone give it a lash.

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2017 at 11:46am
Gimme a sassitch and banes Sammy and a tinnae Coke

Posted By: Grubar
Date Posted: 01 May 2017 at 10:34pm
It's a language that only the chip bloated can understand ....there's an interpreter service available in cardiac and stroke units.

Date Posted: 01 May 2017 at 11:01pm

Date Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:21pm
Chicken Goujons.....Chookie Good yins

Date Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:49pm
a brisselt chooky collop in a bap LOL ah come of it

surely this is the work of some lads after a nights smoking session. 

not having this as a dialect or a language. 

Date Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:52pm
Get tae fuk. Ore kulchure and langwage is jen urine ye durty taig

Date Posted: 03 May 2017 at 11:46pm
Sam f**ker huz mud aal that sh*te up...thurs nae chookie good yins on the menye in the chup shap whur I cum frae....sum ****'s tryin tae make us luk bakkward

Date Posted: 04 May 2017 at 3:34am
f**kit...me no bin ibel tae spel rite disney halp...I shud hae süd BAAKWERD...taakin and ritin rite zno zeezy it luks..G.A.W.A 'n' f**k yirsil!..up the CHOOKS!

Date Posted: 04 May 2017 at 1:12pm
A'll bait yer wains inta thon shough i' tha' dun howl thar whisht.

Translates as:

I will beat your children into that ditch if they don't keep quiet.

Date Posted: 04 May 2017 at 2:17pm

A'll bait yer wains inta thon shough i' tha' dun howl thar whisht.

Translates as:

I will beat your children into that ditch if they don't keep quiet.

Wee dafties?

Date Posted: 04 May 2017 at 6:14pm
6. Whit schuil did ye go tae? I am trying to ascertain your religion by deducing it from the school you attended.

Well at least they're up front about their bigotry - sticking that into their useful phrases website

Posted By: Saipan Judas
Date Posted: 05 May 2017 at 12:05am
Is chookie ar lá on the menu?
Is it fack. Nae surrender!

Date Posted: 05 May 2017 at 9:25am
Is this a rural thing Ulster Scots??

Most people i have met from Belfast Republican and Loyalist sound exactly the same

Ominous!

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 12:27pm
http://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Scots_leid" rel="nofollow - http://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Scots_leid

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 12:34pm

The featured article on the Ulster Scots Wikipedia front page is on insects. Here's some of it:

The life cycles o insects vary but maist hatch frae https://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egg" rel="nofollow - - exoskeleton an development involves a series o https://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moutin" rel="nofollow - - pupal stage in thae groups that unnergae 4-stage metamorphosis (see https://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holometabolism" rel="nofollow -

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 12:38pm
You should add Olshter Scats to your languages you speak on your CV

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 2:09pm

http://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Scots_leid" rel="nofollow - http://sco.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Scots_leid

If you were to write any English language the way it's spoken by the locals, you'd have a similar language to this. Any Irvine Welsh book for example, I somehow doubt the good folk of Leith would want that as their new cultural language. 

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 2:17pm

If you were to write any English language the way it's spoken by the locals, you'd have a similar language to this. Any Irvine Welsh book for example, I somehow doubt the good folk of Leith would want that as their new cultural language. 
You mean Scots? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_language" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_language  It is just a dialect, same as in Nordyland, there are just more heid the baws there.

Date Posted: 09 May 2017 at 2:21pm
the wiki page. hahahahaha

BUILD THE WALL!!

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 9:15am

The "Ulster Scots" for Waterways Ireland is just somebody saying Waterways Ireland in a Northern Ireland accent LOL

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 9:42am

The "Ulster Scots" for Waterways Ireland is just somebody saying Waterways Ireland in a Northern Ireland accent LOL

Yer ony a wee bitter themmun. Aye been byelingual sence 1990 when ore langauage wor invented ye fenian filistine.

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 10:16am
Ulster Scot Clap

https://twitter.com/piarais91/status/920754348279427073?lang=en" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/piarais91/status/920754348279427073?lang=en

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 12:29pm

Ulster Scot Clap

https://twitter.com/piarais91/status/920754348279427073?lang=en" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/piarais91/status/920754348279427073?lang=en

I can underatand it perfectly. Think I was born a genius.
I will add it to the list of languages I spake.

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 5:04pm
Derry Cittie and Strabane Destrick Cooncil

Can anybody translate ?

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 5:36pm

Can anybody translate ?

Derry City & Strabane District Council. 

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 5:38pm
Always a lot of needle in this thread....

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 5:44pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Can anybody translate ?

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 6:12pm
Listened to the Ulster Scots hour on Radio Ulster while passing through the north last year. Some laugh..Just English with a few words picked up from Trainspotting thrown in...I saw my bairn thru the windee

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2023 at 6:29pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Can anybody translate ?

Ah heor! How did you come to that conclusion!

Its translated as ''Londonderry and Strabane District Council'' ya wee daftie

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2023 at 8:10pm

Can anybody translate ?

Uncle Albert and Grandad speaking German springs to mind 

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2023 at 9:56am
Hoys aboot ye?  I hear dat local priest was a bairn fluterer.  Tuk advantage o a few wee dafties.

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2023 at 4:24pm