URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=54838
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 12:20pm

Topic: Cheltenham Festival 2017
Subject: Cheltenham Festival 2017
Date Posted: 09 Jan 2017 at 11:02pm
Coneygree out of this years Gold cup injured.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2017 at 12:37pm
Shame about Don Cossack retiring

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2017 at 12:56pm
On the face of it, it doesn't look a very competitive Gold Cup this year. 

Posted By: alihau41
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2017 at 1:25pm
GC coming down to whether or not thistlecrack will last the distance. jumping fences certainly won't be the issue. but agree, could be a fairly tame fixture this year

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2017 at 10:23pm

Plenty of other races at the festival bud.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 9:03am
COLIN TIZZARD said it was hard to know who could beat Thistlecrack at his King George-winning best, but revealed that Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup dark horse Alary is "bloody good" from what he had seen at home.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:26am

Of course - It doesn't bother me. I'll still be there on the Friday and if Thistlecrack bolts up then I'll be there cheering on a champion !

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 12:16pm

Of course - It doesn't bother me. I'll still be there on the Friday and if Thistlecrack bolts up then I'll be there cheering on a champion !
Good man I've never been to Cheltenham must be class.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 12:24pm

Moved to the UK in 2001 - No festival that year because of the foot and mouth.
Been to the festival every year since (as I've somehow managed to find myself still leaving over here!). Would never want to miss it ! Am fortunate, it's only 90 mins by train from where I am. 

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 1:16pm
Obviously a bit early to be doing antepost bets for some, but Finian's Oscar looks a great bet at 4s in the Neptune

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 1:29pm

Obviously a bit early to be doing antepost bets for some, but Finian's Oscar looks a great bet at 4s in the Neptune

I backed him last Saturday and was impressed - The Tizzards obviously think a lot of him.
But he's short enough for me - Have to bear in mind that in the novice hurdle category, there are a number of horses who are yet to run over hurdles that could still very well have a say. 

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 1:33pm

Go most years myself personally don't think you can beat the Tuesday and Wednesday! My favourite races would be the champion hurdle and the bumper!

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 1:43pm

I backed him last Saturday and was impressed - The Tizzards obviously think a lot of him.
But he's short enough for me - Have to bear in mind that in the novice hurdle category, there are a number of horses who are yet to run over hurdles that could still very well have a say. 

Oh of course ya,far from a banker. But as you say, the Tizzards do rate him highly, the yard is in form, the horse himself has looked very impressive so far. Could be worth a few bob anyway

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 2:07pm

backed him last Saturday and then took the 8s on offer in the Neptune.Didnt realise he was into 4s already.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

Go most years myself personally don't think you can beat the Tuesday and Wednesday! My favourite races would be the champion hurdle and the bumper!

They are the 2 best days.Its way too packed on GC day.Can barely f**king move.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 2:10pm
I wasn't that taken by Finians Oscar on Saturday. I think something in Ireland could beat it.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 2:12pm

Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

They are the 2 best days.Its way too packed on GC day.Can barely f**king move.

It's got a lot better the last 2 years - 3 years ago I didn't go on Gold Cup day because it had got far too busy but they've got a bit more sensible in terms of the number of tickets they sell and also the new stand helps a lot. Haven't struggled to get a beer and a bet the past 2 years. 

Posted By: Dino Baggio
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 3:59pm

think he's a terrible price myself, won a nothing Grade 1 and Tizzard horses seem to have the bookies running so they've gone over short on him, i'd be surprised if there's not something better in Ireland to beat him

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 4:29pm

I wasn't that taken by Finians Oscar on Saturday. I think something in Ireland could beat it.

I took the 8s to lay off later .

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 4:31pm
Well I'd be happy if I was on at 8s like, just think he's beatable.
Novice form is very fragile, and don't think he beat much on Saturday.

Posted By: heppies
Date Posted: 17 Jan 2017 at 11:12am
More to the point how much is a pint of Guinness in the Guinness tent at Cheltenham.

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 11:22am
Annie Power out - Looks like Faugheen for the Champion, VV Mag for the mares race so !

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 2:05pm
Something not quite right with Mullins stable this season for me.
The Gigginstown split, hardly any runners in October or November, only one runner in England so far this season, Vautour's retirement, no sign of Faugheen yet, and now Annie Power possibly finished.

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 2:12pm

Something not quite right with Mullins stable this season for me.
The Gigginstown split, hardly any runners in October or November, only one runner in England so far this season, Vautour's retirement, no sign of Faugheen yet, and now Annie Power possibly finished.

And banging in winners left, right and centre over Christmas !!

Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 2:46pm
Well that is true LOL

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 3:49pm
Min and Faugheen out now too of Cheltenham

Rich Ricci's potential winners are dwindling by the week.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 4:07pm
Altior looks nailed on for the Arkle now.Petit Mouchoir could be a good bet in the Champion Hurdle,still around 5s I think

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 9:16pm
Any of ye lads that much into the horses that you take a week off work ? I know plenty of lads who have done so for years . I guess it's a buzz and you are either into or not

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 9:25pm

Any of ye lads that much into the horses that you take a week off work ? I know plenty of lads who have done so for years . I guess it's a buzz and you are either into or not

Have done a week of half days before for Cheltenham. Short on holidays this year so just have the Friday off to head down there.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 9:28pm

Have done a week of half days before for Cheltenham. Short on holidays this year so just have the Friday off to head down there.

Best of luck with your bets !

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 9:33pm

[QUOTE=Butch]Any of ye lads that much into the horses that you take a week off work ? I know plenty of lads who have done so for years . I guess it's a buzz and you are either into or not

Best of luck with your bets ! [/QUOTE

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 11:37pm

I'd usually take the week off or at least the 3 and a half days .
Its grand this year with Paddy's day on Friday,work Monday and just need 3 days leave to have the rest of the week off.

Still half tempted to go over for a day or 2 this year but hard go everywhere .

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 12:25am
Wouldn't take a week off for it as it can be very draining! Always go for the Tuesday and Wednesday as feel they're the best days racing and also think the atmosphere is best at the start!

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 6:56am
Heading up myself for the Tuesday & Wednesday and have the Thursday off work. Have normally went to GC day in the past.

Neon Wolf is my horse for the festival 👍🏻

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 7:14am
Coincidentally off work for the festival so will enjoy it. Would've taken the Thursday off tho, had I not already been off.
It's a great week in fairness, and it's only once a year

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2017 at 11:37am
Am I totally mad in thinking that Sizing John might be worth an outside bet for the Gold Cup (NRNB) ?
Being continually second to Douvan is pretty decent form and won at Gowran after stepping up to 2 mile 4 on pretty soft ground last month. Obviously, Sunday will tell a tale but assuming he runs into the places then maybe a case could be made for him each way at a big price for the Cheltenham GC (Potts could have alternatives for the Ryanair and Alary might not be the gold cup horse they thought he would be). 

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 7:32am

Cheltenham to target drunks and street sellers

By Bruce Jackson  

SAFETY and security is being stepped up for the Cheltenham Festival next month with the local council introducing new measures to clamp down on drunken behaviour, touts and street sellers around the town and racecourse.

Anyone thinking of selling scarves and hats in Rich Ricci, JP McManus, Jean Bishop or Brocade Racing colours around Cheltenham during the festival will need to think again.

For the first time anybody distributing free promotional material - including flyers, newspapers, stickers, scarves and hats - during the course of festival week must apply for a permit.

Cheltenham council and the police will also be cracking down on ticket touts operating on public land and the sale of counterfeit tickets.

This year police will not be the only authority able to deal with drunken behaviour in the town as celebrations or drowning sorrows continues into the night.

Council officers will be empowered to issue on-the-spot fines to anybody who refuses to cease consuming alcohol if asked to stop and/or refuses to surrender a container with alcohol.

Ian Renton, managing director of Cheltenham, said: "We're very pleased to have a strong relationship with the police and council that has enabled us to work together on the areas around touts, excessive drinking, illegal taxi activity and commercial flyering.

We recognise the importance of all parties working together to minimise the disruption to local residents during the festival, while at the same time providing a safe and enjoyable week for our 260,000 customers."

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 10:50am
On the fringe for the foxhunter. Nap

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 12:19pm
What does nap mean? I had always assume dit meant a bit of an underdog that someone fancied, but see more and more where tipsters are napping the favourite.

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 1:31pm
Means most confident pick of the festival/day. Then you'd see NB which means next best

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 2:13pm

What does nap mean? I had always assume dit meant a bit of an underdog that someone fancied, but see more and more where tipsters are napping the favourite.

Best bet of the meeting/day,called NAP after the card game.

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:40pm
Thistlecrack out of the gold cup....

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:49pm

Ffs Angry

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:50pm
Originally posted by Patman Scoop Patman Scoop wrote:

Ffs Angry

Are you over with the lads ??

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:50pm
Bookies are delighted

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:51pm

Am I totally mad in thinking that Sizing John might be worth an outside bet for the Gold Cup (NRNB) ?
Being continually second to Douvan is pretty decent form and won at Gowran after stepping up to 2 mile 4 on pretty soft ground last month. Obviously, Sunday will tell a tale but assuming he runs into the places then maybe a case could be made for him each way at a big price for the Cheltenham GC (Potts could have alternatives for the Ryanair and Alary might not be the gold cup horse they thought he would be). 

Now 8/1 4th in the market.

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 12:58pm
Thought Native River might have shortened a bit more

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 1:02pm

Ffs Angry

Yep Thumbs Up

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 1:09pm

Ffs Angry

Yep Thumbs Up
See you for a beer so !

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 1:25pm
Might as well postpone the festival this year the way horses are dropping out

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 1:26pm

Ffs Angry

Yep Thumbs Up

See you for a beer so !

Surely a chance for the runing of a YBIG Hurdle   

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 2:04pm
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Ffs Angry

Yep Thumbs Up

See you for a beer so !

Surely a chance for the runing of a YBIG Hurdle   

I forsee many fallers and quite a few who might have stamina issues !

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 5:55am

https://www.google.co.uk/url?url=https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2017/feb/25/barry-geraghty-fall-cheltenham-festival-kempton-nicky-henderson-horse-racing-tips&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjiz5jRia3SAhXsIMAKHUVTANUQqQIILTAE&usg=AFQjCNH7ACSW5OPc_W02F1lY9vJkzzfHag" rel="nofollow - Barry Geraghty in race to be fit for Cheltenham Festival after Kempton fall
-

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 5:33pm
Geraghty misses the festival

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 7:46pm
This is great news for a really up and coming young jockey who really should shine giving the chance, step forward M P Walsh

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2017 at 4:14pm

This is great news for a really up and coming young jockey who really should shine giving the chance, step forward M P Walsh
12/1 to be top jockey. Could be worth a shot

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 7:55am
http://www.google.co.uk/url?url=http://www.telegraph.co.uk/racing/2017/03/04/henry-de-bromhead-taking-aim-cheltenham-festivals-biggest-prizes/&rct=j&frm=1&q=&esrc=s&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwjLo6r1ssHSAhWMAcAKHXsdBBkQqQIIJjAC&usg=AFQjCNEkjaD7tMtmyTJJtlDV6ojQQvMlCA" rel="nofollow - Henry de Bromhead is taking aim at Cheltenham Festival's biggest prizes

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 7:20pm

12/1 to be top jockey. Could be worth a shot

Lot of money coming in for him, he's 6s in places now

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 11:40pm
8s in LADS

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2017 at 10:15am
The price reflects the book of rides he has now picked up but I'd still be surprised if he came out as top jockey. 

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2017 at 6:32pm
Looking forward to this now. Heading up after work from London on Monday night. Heading to the first two days racing.

Many making the trip from on here??

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2017 at 10:48pm
Just heading up there on Friday myself. March is the end of my holiday year at work and I've only one day left!

Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 12:18am
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

Looking forward to this now. Heading up after work from London on Monday night. Heading to the first two days racing.

Many making the trip from on here??
A few of us from here going on the Tuesday! Hoping to go the Wednesday aswell! will see how we are from the night before though!

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2017 at 3:01pm
https://lapoftheodds.com/cheltenham-festival-guide-2017/%20" rel="nofollow - https://lapoftheodds.com/cheltenham-festival-guide-2017/

check this out

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2017 at 8:26pm
http://blog.paddypower.com/horse-racing/cheltenham-festival-2017/2017/03/09/rubys-revenge-ruby-walsh-teaches-twitter-troll-a-lesson/" rel="nofollow - http://blog.paddypower.com/horse-racing/cheltenham-festival-2017/2017/03/09/rubys-revenge-ruby-walsh-teaches-twitter-troll-a-lesson/

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2017 at 8:53pm
Ruby being on the payroll with powers doesn't sit very well

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 7:41am

Ruby being on the payroll with powers doesn't sit very well

But he's a diamond geezer.
Big smile

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 7:42pm
What are people's best bets for the week? Think Empire of Dirt is a very good shout in the Ryanair

Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 8:10pm
Douvan and Aitor to both win by 6 lengths or more 5/1

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 8:27pm
Singlefarmpayment tomorrow and forge meadow for the mares novice on Thursday. 8/1 and 6/1

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 8:31pm
My tent or yours and edwulf are my e.w bet tomorrow, 2 single e.w bets and an e.w double

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 8:42pm

Singlefarmpayment tomorrow and forge meadow for the mares novice on Thursday. 8/1 and 6/1

Have it backed myself, seen it tipped absolutely everywhere. Gonna take a chance on Petit Mouchoir in the Champion Hurdle, and Ballyandy in the opener. Skybet are doing money back on losers in the first race each day for bets up to 20 quid

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 8:52pm
What's going on with the mares? Will he run the 2 in it? Backed limini last week and evens like a gobsh*te as I didn't think vvm would rock up here

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 7:18am
Might have an each way bet on Ballyandy in the 13.30 today?

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 9:38am
Ballyandy today and More of That in the Gold Cup are my best ones
Champers on Ice today and maybe Royal Caviar without Altior

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:11pm
Originally posted by GUFC_Andy GUFC_Andy wrote:

What bookie is giving this price???

Same bet is 5/4 with PP

Posted By: ccfcmurphy
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:22pm
20 on Melon 3/1 , money back as a free bet when he looses

There's no point being the richest man in the graveyard

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:28pm
Someone has 400k on altior

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:29pm
I just seen that , The Boom is back !!!

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:38pm
Great start for the bookies.
Heard that being tipped on a preview night too

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:46pm
Jack Kennedy Dingles finest.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 1:58pm
JJ Codd gave that horse a few times - Said if he lined up and jumped off, he'd have a chance.
You would want to have been backing him with one of the bookies doing a special if you were going to back him.

Am I the only one that wouldn't fancy that Douvan and Altior distance double ??

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 2:00pm

JJ Codd gave that horse a few times - Said if he lined up and jumped off, he'd have a chance.
You would want to have been backing him with one of the bookies doing a special if you were going to back him.

Am I the only one that wouldn't fancy that Douvan and Altior distance double ??
yeah wouldn't be running to back that myself. 5/4 is a brutal brutal price

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 2:18pm
Anyone else still waiting on their free bets from Skybet?

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 2:20pm
Someone gave me a tip earlier, E/W on Altior LOL

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 2:26pm

Got mine back a few mins ago.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 2:38pm

Still haven't got mine

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 3:00pm
Singlefarmpayment misses out by a nose

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 3:11pm
Heskin should have done better there I thought in final few furlongs, his horse was going the better, some ride by Scudamore though
anyone know who got 5th there?

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 3:17pm
5th was Go Conquer. Had Singlefarmpayment too, sick Cry

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 4:07pm
Bookies will be up a fortune if Limini doesn't win , im chancing Apples jade in this one

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 4:25pm
Originally posted by ccfcmurphy ccfcmurphy wrote:

Bookies will be up a fortune if Limini doesn't win , im chancing Apples jade in this one

Was with you there,put the free bet from the opener on her,nice winner at 4s.F*ckin needed it too

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 5:06pm
Disaster of a day

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 5:07pm
Not having much joy myself.

Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 5:09pm
Originally posted by keitho5 keitho5 wrote:

Originally posted by GUFC_Andy GUFC_Andy wrote:

What bookie is giving this price???

Same bet is 5/4 with PP
William Hill, was about 4 days ago so it's obviously changed

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 5:48pm

Not having much joy myself.

I know the feeling.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 6:01pm
Tully East in the last saved the day for me. €30 up today.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 6:20pm
A good friend of mine had €30,000 on Altior at 1/3, nice €10,000 profit for him tonight.

He's a lunatic though, it's impossible to keep that level of punting up for too long before it starts crashing down. 

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 6:23pm
Nothing at all for me today. Would have loved to have seen Neon Wolf run the Supreme. Never really fancied much else today

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 6:26pm
I backed two horses Nobel Endeavour E/W and Brain Power (to finish in the top 3)

No damage done thankfully, even for the day.

Had over €300 on Douvan this time last year, no Ante Post bet at all this year!