URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=54807
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 10:37am

Topic: Ryan Manning (QPR)
Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Subject: Ryan Manning (QPR)
Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 2:06pm
Galway lad Ryan Manning starts for QPR today vs Wolves. Another Irish youngster breaking through, great to see

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 2:34pm
Be interesting to see how he gets on in the rest of the season. Good to see another young Irish player breaking through

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 3:54pm
A very proud day as Ryan Manning starts for my beloved Hoops against Wolves away . From the maroon and white to the blue and white.

Congrats Phelim Manning Bernie Manning

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 4:05pm
Am I right in saying this lad is a striker? Best of luck to him...we need good quality young lads coming through

Posted By: Fozzy B
Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 5:14pm
played the full 90 mins and got booked for his troubles on his debut. great to see another Irish prospect making the breakthroughClap 

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 6:03pm
At last he gets a start , very happy for him i must say Thumbs Up

Posted By: Cathalthesmart
Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 10:16pm
How did he play?

Hi Lads

Posted By: LHurlz
Date Posted: 31 Dec 2016 at 11:52pm
Ian Holloway said he "absolutely outstanding".  Not seen any negative comments from fans either.  That being said, you rarely see fans criticising youngsters on their debuts.

Date Posted: 01 Jan 2017 at 3:39am
Been named as man of the match in all qpr forums took him about 20 mins to settle but brilliant after that . Huge pride Ryan .

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 01 Jan 2017 at 4:49am
Ian Holloway hailed Ryan Manning after the Irish youngster made his senior debut for QPR in their 2-1 victory at Wolves.

Injury-hit and having lost six games in a row, Rangers snatched victory with a late goal from Pawel Wszolek.

Holloway, whose second spell as Rangers manager has so far been a struggle, praised his players for their battling spirit and was delighted with Manning's contribution.

"I think Ryan Manning was absolutely outstanding and epitomised what my QPR was before and what I want it to be in the future," he said.

"Fight and heart comes above the fancy stuff. We've played some wonderful football in other games and got nothing.

Posted By: pateen
Date Posted: 01 Jan 2017 at 7:54pm
Fair play to Ryan. Ex Galway United too

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2017 at 2:57pm
gets another start for QPR against Ipswich 

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2017 at 3:39pm
Good to hear.  Hopefully he can be an option for the Republic in the next few years.

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2017 at 5:26pm
Played 69 mins 2 games 2 wins and his family at the game today dreamland for Ryan one sound lad.

Date Posted: 02 Jan 2017 at 7:25pm
Not a great performance today from him by the looks of things. 'Found out', 'lightweight' 'needs support' are words used on QPR forum. Subbed with 20 to go. QPR still won though

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2017 at 11:56am
http://www.westlondonsport.com/qpr/qpr-v-ipswich-town-player-ratings-03012017He%20tired%20in%20the%202nd%20half%20but%20Id%20ignore%20QPR%20Forums%20as%20their%20notorious%20for%20knocking%20their%20own%20although%20those%20lads%20have%20disappeared%20since%20Friday." rel="nofollow - http://www.westlondonsport.com/qpr/qpr-v-ipswich-town-player-ratings-03012017

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2017 at 12:29am
http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2017/01/03/queens-park-rangers-fans-react-on-twitter-to-ryan-mannings-perfo/" rel="nofollow - http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2017/01/03/queens-park-rangers-fans-react-on-twitter-to-ryan-mannings-perfo/

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 10:31am
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/everyones-raving-galway-man-taking-qpr-storm/108453" rel="nofollow - https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/everyones-raving-galway-man-taking-qpr-storm/108453

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 10:39am
Will be at Reading v  QPR next week - Keen to have a look at Ryan and seeing how he gets on.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 11:11am

Will be at Reading v  QPR next week - Keen to have a look at Ryan and seeing how he gets on.

Looking forward to see what you think of him Thumbs Up don't forget to tell us all .

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 11:12am

Looking forward to see what you think of him Thumbs Up don't forget to tell us all .

LOL Like I actually know what I am talking about !!!

Have seen Liam Kelly get a couple of minutes here and there but hopefully he might get a decent run out also. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 12:39pm
And keep an eye on young Liam Kelly Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2017 at 1:36pm
Great Interview with Ryan in todays star.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2017 at 3:10pm
Losing 1-0 to Blackburn so hopefully Holloway brings him on

Posted By: Territorial
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2017 at 8:47pm

Probably better for the lad that he didn't:

QPR boss Ian Holloway:
"That team, who haven't played before, will never be picked again. Simple as that.
"I wanted that team to fight and do it for each other. Unfortunately they couldn't do it.
"Simple things we don't do well enough as a group. It's very disappointing.
"There will be changes.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 2:50am

Probably better for the lad that he didn't:

QPR boss Ian Holloway:
"That team, who haven't played before, will never be picked again. Simple as that.
"I wanted that team to fight and do it for each other. Unfortunately they couldn't do it.
"Simple things we don't do well enough as a group. It's very disappointing.
"There will be changes.

Hopefully he didn't come on if that's what Coach Holloway said

Posted By: GreenRoots
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 7:06pm
Starts for QPR tonight against Reading, Kelly also starts, looking forward very much to this.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 7:14pm
Starts tonight vs Reading

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 8:30pm
Gets the assist for QPR's first

Posted By: dubstep
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 8:35pm
That pass was outrageous. Messi esque .

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 8:35pm
Fantastic assist!

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 8:41pm
Got stuck at work and couldn't make the game tonight - Well annoyed. 

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 9:07pm
He takes all QPR's corners

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 9:49pm
Lads was that an assist or a shot that didnt go to plan. Only he will know for sure. Either way holloways seems to like him. We have a few prospect popping up these days.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 9:58pm
Nice assist for the goal tonight, I reckon he meant it.  Solid performance

Posted By: 10 Box
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:05pm
Defo meant it..had a look to see where Mackie was a few yards before he hit the pass.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:32pm
QPR were excellent from start to finish, Ryan done really well to very encouraging! 

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:51pm
Excellent prospect, prospering in the Championship that should be the standard (and above) for a call up, nothing less. 

QPR also have Shodipo, and we've Kelly at Reading also.. a new generation seems to be coming, brilliant. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:56pm
What a shame Noel King remains in charge of the u21's. So much talent that you'd expect to qualify for underage tournaments

Posted By: Peter Stöger
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 10:59pm
Originally posted by GUFC_Andy GUFC_Andy wrote:

What a shame Noel King remains in charge of the u21's. So much talent that you'd expect to qualify for underage tournaments

Don't worry mate, he's being replaced soon by Don Givens...

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 11:02pm

I am no fan of King but I wouldn't be 'expecting' us to qualify. There were only 11 qualification spots for this year's Euros in Poland, I don't think a few championship lads showing potential would have seen us overtake Italy and Serbia.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 11:11pm

the problem with the u21s is we seem to expect not to qualify. Why dont we get a half decent manager in sometime and have a right crack at one of these. Why are we neglecting this grade with z list managers.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 12:08am
I only saw the second half but I have to say I wouldn't be getting overly carried away with him just yet. He seemed very hard working and committed without a doubt but I didn't think he offered a huge amount on the ball. His set-pieces were largely poor too, just floated in with no real pace. Kelly looked the more talented of the two I thought.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 12:35am
Kelly was a shadow of the player he was at old Trafford last week. Ryan was brilliant tonight and his pass for the goal was sublime. He even had the qpr fans chanting his name and was praised on all reports on the game. You must have been watching a different game 😜

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 1:13am

Kelly was a shadow of the player he was at old Trafford last week. Ryan was brilliant tonight and his pass for the goal was sublime. He even had the qpr fans chanting his name and was praised on all reports on the game. You must have been watching a different game 😜

He was committed and all action, he probably had a better game than Kelly but I just didn't think he looked to have the same potential. Kelly had a midldling game but there were certain things he did that made me think he had a bit of class about him. I just didn't get that sense from Manning despite him putting in a solid performance.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 9:17am
Quality assist. He definitely meant it

Date Posted: 20 Jan 2017 at 6:34pm
Signed a two and half year extension to his contract today

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 12:12pm
Starts again today and his new contract shows where hard work and a belief in your own talent will lead you.A few of our more hyped young talents could learn a thing or two from him.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 12:33pm
it just goes to show what a fine line it is for young players. If Hassilbank was still manager he would probably have been released at the end of the season. Hollaway comes in, spots him on the first day of training and now its onward and upwards for young Ryan. And Hassilbank is now on the dole talking sh*te on football focusLOL 

Posted By: longford claret
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 12:59pm
Just scored for QPR

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 12:59pm
Scores

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:00pm
What was the goal like lads?  Watching Liverpool

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:02pm
Intercepted a bad pass across the penalty area and tucked it under the advancing goalie.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:05pm
Seems like a similar player to Brady.
Sweet left foot.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:06pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-ZRjZ8MwyY" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-ZRjZ8MwyY

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:07pm
https://twitter.com/SkySportsEFL/status/822790806272495616%20" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/SkySportsEFL/status/822790806272495616

Goal here on QPR twitter. Good run to chase it down, but it looked like it was supposed to be a back pass that went totally wrong.

Posted By: Fanny MaGee
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:22pm
They all count! Delighted for him.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 1:27pm
Happy days, hopefully he kicks on

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 2:19pm
Has played pretty well. Full of energy.
Worth a shot in the squad. Can't really see signs that he would be able to bring
more to the team than McClean, Brady or Horgan who can play the same position

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 2:30pm
Got man of the match

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 2:31pm
Sky's man of the match today.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 4:33pm
Motm on all qpr forums put in a great shift qpr haven't lost in the 4 games he played after losing 6 on the bounce

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 4:41pm
My cousin presented him with the man of the match award today as the sponsor. Said he was savage today. First man of the match award he has gotten in pro football i beleive. Lolking firward to Heading to the qpr v cardiff game in march now.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 4:58pm
Great stuff. Might be a meteoric rise to the international team if he can keep doing what he's doing.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 9:03pm

My cousin presented him with the man of the match award today as the sponsor. Said he was savage today. First man of the match award he has gotten in pro football i beleive. Lolking firward to Heading to the qpr v cardiff game in march now.

He got motm off a Fulham player! Was live on sky

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 9:26pm

He got motm off a Fulham player! Was live on sky

Sorry, he was match sponsor and he sent me a picture of him with Manning and the motm award. Thought he gave it too him.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2017 at 9:36pm
Ah dunno why I even said that, only a TV thing, pretty slick for him getting to do that given the day he's had and the future he could have

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2017 at 8:15am
A selection of comments from The 1-1 game v Fulham from the QPR forum;

Thought Manning was great today, my MOM

If the club wanted to go out and buy manning now (3 years left on contract) he would probably cost £5 mil in the current market.

Ollie has saved us big money in promoting Manning. Kid is a class act and plays like he gives a damn. Invaluable to us. Set pieces better than Chery as well.

Very very brave player when you see some balls he goes in for.

Fearless... a real warrior...who can pass and score!

He covered so much ground to today. Tackled when it was needed aswell.

Lad doesn't even have a wiki page  LOL

He can afford to get his eyebrows done now  LOLLOL

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2017 at 3:03pm
Interview with him here.
Didnt take long picking up the London twang. LOL
Hope he gets a call up for the Iceland friendly

https://www.balls.ie/football/ryan-manning-man-of-the-match-357222

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 10:57am
Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

Interview with him here.

Great to see him doing well but i think he's a bit off being called up to international squad. Give him a chance, see how he develops.

It's not me it's you:-)

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 11:15am
If Noel King didn't select him for the u21's !!!!

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 2:48pm

Interview with him here.

yeah whats the story with that ffs?LOL

Its like lads from the country who start college in UCD and then come back talking talking Ross O'Carroll-Kelly at halloween

Even talking about a senior international call up now is ridiculous imo. 

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 5:10pm

Interview with him here.

ya when i heard him on sky aftet the fulham game i was like how long has he been in england. Defo thought he sounded a little english. Cone on man.

Posted By: SportingRizlaCF
Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 9:34am
Saw that this lad got MOTM v Fuham on Saturday, was at the match myself, didn't think he did anything outstanding - played well in a decent QPR bus parking . Fulham were muck to be fair though, we gifted him the chance, but fair play to the lad he was cool with the finish.

Posted By: DalyerRegular
Date Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 11:25pm
Good interview with Ryan on Off the Ball earlier

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 11:07am
very grounded young man and  555 pts in his leaving.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 1:43pm

He must have been good at languages .........he seems to have picked up the local twang in no timeLamp

Posted By: 10 Box
Date Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 1:47pm
Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

He must have been good at languages .........he seems to have picked up the local twang in no timeLamp

Smile

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 2:52pm
Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

Been from Galway maybe he's just a seriously good trad musician

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 9:15pm
Not his best game tonight but not as bad as the SS commentator made out. Hit a few lovely passes in the first half but gave the ball away a few times after that.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2017 at 9:58pm
There's something slightly awkward about his style, his striking of the ball in particular. He seems to really struggle to get any power into it, everything is just kind of looped up in the air. I wouldn't expect him to remain in QPR's starting lineup for too much longer, I think he's just going to be one of those guys who gets a chance under a new manager, gives it his all for a while but ultimately isn't quite good enough to push on.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 12:07am
I think you will find most qpr fans wouldn't agree with you. He won the club player of the month for January and had a storming first half and knocked four brilliant passes . Didn't play as well 2nd half but qpr didn't play well either and the player who replaced him freeman did absolutely nothing .

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 12:31am

I think you will find most qpr fans wouldn't agree with you. He won the club player of the month for January and had a storming first half and knocked four brilliant passes . Didn't play as well 2nd half but qpr didn't play well either and the player who replaced him freeman did absolutely nothing .

As I said, he was given a chance, performed tenaciously in a QPR team that had been lacking spirit, and made an impact. It's something you see over and over again when a new manager comes into a club. I'm just not convinced he's actually got the skill to consolidate his position; he doesn't have a very fluid style, everything looks forced.

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 4:30pm
Colin o brien has named ronan manning ( galway united) in his squad for 2 games in spain next week. Is he a brother of ryans

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2017 at 4:37pm
Yeah, Ronan is his younger brother. Already an Ireland U16 international

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 8:10pm
A few comments from the QPR forum on his performance today. (B'Ham 1  QPR 4)

Just thinking how well Ryan Manning has played since he's been in the team. From the brink of getting released to probably our first choice CM. Keep it up lad.

First choice outfield player currently. A lot like Ollie himself, breaks up play and makes a pass.

To think they would've had Manning out the door....

Date Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 10:44pm
Ryan has been unreal for qpr the forums have been buzzing after every game. If it was jack Byrne the children on here would be creaming themselves.

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2017 at 10:40pm
hope he bypasses the u21's and goes straight into the senior squad. the less time he spends around the bluffer king, the better.

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2017 at 9:17pm
Incredible today, best player on the pitch, his passing is immaculate, he had Horgan and others in his pocket all match, played a sweeper role in the old Keane mould and did it exceptionally complete player based on what we saw today and could be future Irish captain

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 12:49pm
Was talking to a few Irish rrrsss who said he was the best player on the pitch and is the first name on the team sheet for Holloway . Is definitely the breakthrough Irish player this year.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2017 at 1:52pm

Incredible today, best player on the pitch, his passing is immaculate, he had Horgan and others in his pocket all match, played a sweeper role in the old Keane mould and did it exceptionally complete player based on what we saw today and could be future Irish captain

Played against his next door neighbour from Galway too.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2017 at 2:12pm
Over to Loftus Rd on Saturday. Looking forward to seeing all the hype about this lad.

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2017 at 1:38pm
Watched a few games he played in. Lots of effort, few good passes but not on the ball too much. Looks ok player with potential, hopefully will develop now that he is getting games. But a long way off senior team at moment.

Posted By: djhegzy
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 2:05pm
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/its-only-a-matter-of-time-before-he-gets-into-the-international-team-qpr-boss-has-high-hopes-for-young-irish-star-35518493.html%20" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/its-only-a-matter-of-time-before-he-gets-into-the-international-team-qpr-boss-has-high-hopes-for-young-irish-star-35518493.html

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 2:57pm
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/the-dream-life-of-ryan-35516829.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/the-dream-life-of-ryan-35516829.html

The fans love him in Shepherds Bush.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 6:33pm
Let's give the lad time, too many Liam Millers and Colin Healys and such in recent years. He is doing great but only a dozen Championship games so don't be judging him positively or negatively yet

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 6:52pm

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 6:55pm

Let's give the lad time, too many Liam Millers and Colin Healys and such in recent years. He is doing great but only a dozen Championship games so don't be judging him positively or negatively yet

He's not from Cork so he has a chance!

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2017 at 7:55pm
Was over last weekend, he was benched which was a pity. Qpr lads are very impressed with him.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 7:55pm
http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/verdict-ryan-manning-bright-future-12865288" rel="nofollow - http://www.getwestlondon.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/verdict-ryan-manning-bright-future-12865288