Topic: GAA Football 2017
Posted By: eire77
Subject: GAA Football 2017
Date Posted: 01 Oct 2016 at 6:45pm
Mayo for Sam?

Congratulations to Mayo.

All Ireland champions....

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2016 at 6:49pm
The Mayo players were not brave enough to win. They passed the buck whenever they got into the final 3rd by passing it to somebody else to shoot.

The guy at end choked with the wide free kick.

I don't know why the players were crying at the end. They didn't deserve it due to their own mental weaknesses.

The Dublin team are vermin.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2016 at 6:49pm

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 3:13pm
Michael Lundy back for Galway in 2017

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 10:16am
All 3 Kildare selectors gone for 2017

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 10:32am
Be interesting to see the retirements from Dublin. Bastick a dead cert. Expect Clucko to go too

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 12:31pm

Be interesting to see the retirements from Dublin. Bastick a dead cert. Expect Clucko to go too
The carrot of 3 in a row will likely prevent any retirements, bar maybe Bastick. 

Don't see Cluxton going at all.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 12:55pm

In fact, I would say the pool of players is liable to swell, as opposed to contract. O'Carroll and McCaffrey are likely to be back in contention, which will in turn open up huge competition with Cooper and Small. If it continues, the development of Cormac Costello will also provide important back-up, whether he is in the starting line-up or sprung from the bench.

The only area that I would be slightly concerned about is if Bastick goes, there will need to be a slight re-calibration in order to beef up the midfield. However, Both O'Sullivan and Flynn can play there, the former's return to midfield would allow Cooper to return to Centre-Half. Perhaps Shane Carthy will make the step-up next year, or Emmett O'Conghaile?

A full panel, with a re-newed vigour, will render this Dublin team exceptionally hard to beat.

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 1:23pm
It's Leinster v Ulster and Connacht v Munster in the semi-finals next year so Dublin v whoever wins between Mayo and Kerry, baring a massive shock in the provincials. I can see a repeat of this years final. Mayo have waited 65 years, one more isn't going to kill them at this stage.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 1:26pm
2017 All Ireland Football:

Dubs v Tyrone & Mayo v Kerry will be the semis

Dublin v Kerry Final.

Dublin win again.

Anything other than the above scenario will be a shock.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 3:29pm

2017 All Ireland Football:

Dubs v Tyrone & Mayo v Kerry will be the semis

Dublin v Kerry Final.

Dublin win again.

Anything other than the above scenario will be a shock.

Mayo beating Kerry will be a shock?

Hell Mayo beating Dublin will be a shock? What with replays having to separate them this year and last year and one kick of a football between the two sides this year after nearly 160 minutes of football?

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 3:37pm
Mayo are more than capable of beating Kerry. I think a lot of people are looking too much into a Stephen Cluxton inspired crazy 10-15 minutes for Kerry in the semi-final.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 3:38pm
I think Dublin will actually be galvanised by this season. It took some pretty impressive resilience to win this year's title, and it will stand Dublin in good stead for next season. I think at the initial stage it is fair to say that Dublin retaining the title is the only real position one can take with serious strength.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 3:40pm
What I actually meant as a shock would be if they werent the 4 in the semis

Rest of it is just how I see it going

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2016 at 3:55pm
Fair enough

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2016 at 10:45pm
Carlow or Wexford up first for Dublin

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2016 at 10:45pm
Dublin Meath final I reckon

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 13 Oct 2016 at 11:18pm
I can see Sligo being beaten in New York.
Be some crack if NY have to come to Ireland.
The majority of the panel don't have visas.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 12:46am
Got the best draw possible in a first round game at home vs Antrim. Then it's on to a semi final against Tyrone (I'm predicting they will beat derry in 1st round)

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 6:47am
Originally posted by Bitored Bitored wrote:

I can see Sligo being beaten in New York.
Be some crack if NY have to come to Ireland.
The majority of the panel don't have visas.

Think your right if they manage to keep the majority of last years squad together they could definitely turn over Sligo . I wouldn't be surprised if we had both New York and London win there championship games in Connaught this year

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 6:52am

I'd say Bastick will hang on for one more year . The opportunity to win 3 in a row will probably be too big a pull. Cluxton will be around for a few more years can't see no reason for him to pack it in

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 8:47am
Marty Morrisey's jeans Dead

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 9:40am
Que a second mass exodus from the Derry panel after that draw! Happy enough with it, be a tough semi final v Donegal

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 11:19am
I see the mighty Dubs got a bye into the All Ireland Quarter final.....!!!

Seriously though, have got to home that some of the other Leinster teams kick on and make the Provincial championship more competitive : Better for everyone that way. Not sure where it might come from though (Kiladare maybe ?).
Some good competitive draws in the other provinces though. 

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:09pm
Extracts from Cathal McCarrons autobiography in The Irish News today.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:14pm

Extracts from Cathal McCarrons autobiography in The Irish News today.
page 3?

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:20pm
f**k sake PM thought you'd come up with something better than that

Better be careful what ye say though Topper knows him

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:23pm

didn't realise it was such a Tinder issue.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:25pm
http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2016/10/14/news/tyrone-gaa-s-cathal-mccarron-tells-how-met-with-girl-15-on-tinder-736199/" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2016/10/14/news/tyrone-gaa-s-cathal-mccarron-tells-how-met-with-girl-15-on-tinder-736199/
http://www.irishnews.com/news/2016/10/14/news/tyrone-gaa-s-cathal-mccarron-i-gambled-gay-porn-cash-in-two-days-736196/" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishnews.com/news/2016/10/14/news/tyrone-gaa-s-cathal-mccarron-i-gambled-gay-porn-cash-in-two-days-736196/

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 2:28pm

didn't realise it was such a Tinder issue.

Much better

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 11:27pm
Kevin McStay given another 2 years in Roscommon

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 10:24am

Anything that keeps that absolute dope off tv is to be welcomed.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 10:46am

LOL LOL Touche! Just need someone to take on Tommy Carr now!

In other news Cathal McCarron to break Tyrone snub of RTE to appear on The Late Late tonight. I can see Micky Harte suddenly becoming 'unavailable' to attend his book launch

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 11:39am

In other news Cathal McCarron to break Tyrone snub of RTE to appear on The Late Late tonight. I can see Micky Harte suddenly becoming 'unavailable' to attend his book launch

No doubt playing the victim with his big sob story.

Will his good pal SByrne be on with him?

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 1:58pm

never in doubt,no one else wanted the job bar Dineen,who made a show of himself for a few weeks.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 2:08pm
Christ Roscommon must be in a bad way if McStay is the best/only option

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 9:55pm

Christ Roscommon must be in a bad way if McStay is the best/only option

infairness there wasn't really any appetite to change again and it was only really county chairman being a clown that meant it was open again but every knew it was McStay's job again for the year.

Why would anyone go for it knowing they had no real chance?

good cash on offer as well from what I'm told.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 10:18pm
The Rossies are back, 
The Rossies are back
HELLO HELLO
The Rossies are back

LOLLOLClapClap

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 1:36am
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

No doubt playing the victim with his big sob story.

Will his good pal SByrne be on with him?
exactly. Very hypocritical going on to talk to RTÉ now for self gain. Also shows how far the late late has slipped back when they have this lad on

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 9:20am
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/exclusive-late-late-with-controversial-tyrone-star-must-not-go-ahead-father-of-girl-15-who-met-gaa-player-after-tinder-match-35150212.html%20" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/exclusive-late-late-with-controversial-tyrone-star-must-not-go-ahead-father-of-girl-15-who-met-gaa-player-after-tinder-match-35150212.html

Its next Friday he is on

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 11:58am
A new low for the Late Late if that vermin appears on it.

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:02pm

They had Gay Byrne for forty years, they set the bar low.

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:06pm

Pathetic. 

Fairplay to Cathal McCarron going on the Late Late show, many a man would of dodged that due to pathetic ridiculous and outdated comments like that. He plays a big role in suicide awareness, an example of a man who can turn his life around when he wanted to end it, there will be no mention of Tyrone GAA either. RTE don't deserve to hear about Tyrone GAA but the people of Ireland deserve to hear Cathals story, those who are sitting in their home contemplating ending their lifes, particularly young men who are currently in Cathals shoes who see no light at the end of the tunnel may see what is possible with the right guidance and councilling. 

It's 2016, men are 4/5 times more likely to end their life compared to females in Ireland we have a particularly high rate in general. 

Disgusting comment. The only vermin here, is you.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:10pm
Maybe he could give them tips on how to steal and attack bar staff too while hes at it. Maybe he dould give some sex ed while at it or a dummies guide how to rob from your oul lad. Man of many talents

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:10pm

They had Gay Byrne for forty years, they set the bar low.
indeed and says it all

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:14pm

Maybe he could give them tips on how to steal and attack bar staff too while hes at it. Maybe he dould give some sex ed while at it or a dummies guide how to rob from your oul lad. Man of many talents

Well done, you read the newspapers. Congratulations. 

Maybe he could tell them how he overcame a gambling addiction, how about that. Another major issue we have in this country, never mind suicide for a minute. Maybe he can be an example of what is possible, happily settled down with a missus now. This is an individual who has been on the brink of suicide and came back from it, but just you ignore that like everyone else as he doesn't suit the agenda of the Irish press. 

He is a man of many talents, one of those talents is shutting down the best forwards in the country, your own native county know all about him as a footballer as none of their forwards can get by him. When'd you last beat us with Cathal in the team... jaysus I forget Embarrassed

We have a stigma of mental health on this Island, people like Cathal McCarron who is role a model to many young GAA players on how to defend (He is undoubtably one of the best defenders in the country) and secondly in the public eye need to speak up. Kill the stigma, its Ok to admit you have an issue. People like you, and particularly your comments is what makes individuals afraid to come forward and get the help they badly need be that from addictions, depression or from feeling suicidal.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:30pm
He might explain why he met a 15 year old girl off tinder while his girlfriend was expecting their child.

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 12:38pm
Nonsense. There are many people out there who have gone through similar mental issues such as suicide but didnt revert to being pure scum while doing it. Many people also who have had gambling issues, lads on here to mention a few. Great he overcame those demons it really is, but to label him as some shining linght just makes little of his overall behaviour up until recently. No doubt there is more to come from him in being a bold boy stakes.

Maybe that doesnt suit your agneda what with him being from your native Tyrone...oh wait.......... Trying to muddy the waters here by suggesting its people like me that make people afraid to come forward is ridiculous but not surprising from you. Liek I said, fair play to him overcoming that side of thing, but my issue is his other behaviour and im not the only one. Its telling that there has been a few comments on him appearing yet youre selective on whow you reply to.

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 1:18pm

Pathetic. 

Fairplay to Cathal McCarron going on the Late Late show, many a man would of dodged that due to pathetic ridiculous and outdated comments like that. He plays a big role in suicide awareness, an example of a man who can turn his life around when he wanted to end it, there will be no mention of Tyrone GAA either. RTE don't deserve to hear about Tyrone GAA but the people of Ireland deserve to hear Cathals story, those who are sitting in their home contemplating ending their lifes, particularly young men who are currently in Cathals shoes who see no light at the end of the tunnel may see what is possible with the right guidance and councilling. 

It's 2016, men are 4/5 times more likely to end their life compared to females in Ireland we have a particularly high rate in general. 

Disgusting comment. The only vermin here, is you.

he is going on the late late for self gain by promoting his book. If he was serious about doing his bit for suicide awareness he would have donated the profits to a suicide charity. He is a scumbag

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 1:22pm

We have a stigma of mental health on this Island, people like Cathal McCarron who is role a model to many young GAA players on how to defend (He is undoubtably one of the best defenders in the country) and secondly in the public eye need to speak up. Kill the stigma, its Ok to admit you have an issue. People like you, and particularly your comments is what makes individuals afraid to come forward and get the help they badly need be that from addictions, depression or from feeling suicidal.

You have said some amount of rubbish on this forum in the past but think this has to be the worst yet. To say people like sham are the reason people don't seek the help they need is just disgraceful

I myself suffered with a serious gambling addition and the people on here where a great help too me during it and that includes sham. He'd still be asking how things are going when see him at games etc

You praise cathal McCarron as some great hero which he's not he did some terrible things when he suffered from the illness that is gambling and he also had the best possible help provided to him that he turned down (help that ordinary folk suffering like him can only dream off). It's great that he's now got back on the right path but please stop lording him as this great role model because he isn't, yes he's a good gaa player but that doesn't mean things he's done in the past should be just forgotten about

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 1:33pm

You have said some amount of rubbish on this forum in the past but think this has to be the worst yet. To say people like sham are the reason people don't seek the help they need is just disgraceful

I myself suffered with a serious gambling addition and the people on here where a great help too me during it and that includes sham. He'd still be asking how things are going when see him at games etc

You praise cathal McCarron as some great hero which he's not he did some terrible things when he suffered from the illness that is gambling and he also had the best possible help provided to him that he turned down (help that ordinary folk suffering like him can only dream off). It's great that he's now got back on the right path but please stop lording him as this great role model because he isn't, yes he's a good gaa player but that doesn't mean things he's done in the past should be just forgotten about

I said 'In particular comments' and it is i don't care who the person is in particular, that is were peoples stigma comes from comments along those lines creates a stigma. 

No one in sane mind does the things Cathal did, I don't need to the psychiatrist to know that. The man f**ked up, he's trying to right the wrongs he did. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 11:27am

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/exclusive-late-late-with-controversial-tyrone-star-must-not-go-ahead-father-of-girl-15-who-met-gaa-player-after-tinder-match-35150212.html%20" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/exclusive-late-late-with-controversial-tyrone-star-must-not-go-ahead-father-of-girl-15-who-met-gaa-player-after-tinder-match-35150212.html

Its next Friday he is on

Won't be on it anymore independent saying rte have cancelled his appearance on the show

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 1:29pm

Its next Friday he is on

Won't be on it anymore independent saying rte have cancelled his appearance on the show

Proper order

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 1:47pm

Its next Friday he is on

Proper order
common sense prevails Wont be long til hes back on RTE anyway, next months Crime Call is in production as we speak.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 2:17pm

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 3:20pm
Yer Sunday is complete .Ros county final live and exclusive on TG4Clap

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2016 at 9:52am
Was at the Tyrone county final replay on Friday night. Killycloher overcame Coalisland 20 points to 6, match was more or less over by half time with Killyclogher with Dom Corrigan over them, getting the first 8 points of the game. Everything possible went right for Killyclogher, Coalisland hit post twice and had few bad wides early on but Killyclogher then took over. Mark Bradley was absolutely unmarkable and after a quiet day in the drawn game, he slotted over 8 points with both feet-he was outstanding. Cargin in the first round of Ulster next week, hard to know how they will do, Tyrone teams tend to struggle in Ulster probably due to the effort it takes to win Tyrone. Should be an interesting game

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2016 at 9:20pm
Leinster Council have said Dublin's Championship opener will be in Wexford Park if Wexford beat Carlow or O'Moore Park if Carlow win. Would have to think Wexford will probably get past Carlow. Sat Evening game in Wexford would be nice

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2016 at 12:01am
Rory Gallagher has appointed a new goal keeper coach and a new trainer to his backroom team here in donegal

Also Karl lacey and Frank mcglynn have said they staying on another year. This good for experience around the squad but personally feel in terms of Karl lacey he best suited to the role of impact sub if needed as don't think he's got the physical fitness levels to play full 70 minutes for us anymore

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2016 at 11:00pm

Rory Gallagher has appointed a new goal keeper coach and a new trainer to his backroom team here in donegal

Also Karl lacey and Frank mcglynn have said they staying on another year. This good for experience around the squad but personally feel in terms of Karl lacey he best suited to the role of impact sub if needed as don't think he's got the physical fitness levels to play full 70 minutes for us anymore

Good news for you the 2 lads staying on. Who is the new trainer?

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2016 at 11:36pm
Donegal could bring back Jimmy and it still wouldn't make them win Ulster next season LOLLOLLOLLOL

HON TYRONE Clap

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2016 at 11:45pm
And if you continue with the same shyte as you were spouting in the 2016 version of this thread you can stay well clear of the 2017 thread

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2016 at 11:55pm

And if you continue with the same shyte as you were spouting in the 2016 version of this thread you can stay well clear of the 2017 thread

sh*te, you mean claiming my county will win Sam. We weren't doing bad until the player of the year cheated Sean Cavanagh of the pitch. 

Remind me, who won Ulster? It's not Monaghan or Donegal I know that much. 

If you continue to abuse my friends and family I will continue to defend them, infact you're the one who spouts nonsense here with your biased hatred of the hailing champions of Ulster. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 12:11am

sh*te, you mean claiming my county will win Sam. We weren't doing bad until the player of the year cheated Sean Cavanagh of the pitch. 

Remind me, who won Ulster? It's not Monaghan or Donegal I know that much. 

If you continue to abuse my friends and family I will continue to defend them, infact you're the one who spouts nonsense here with your biased hatred of the hailing champions of Ulster. 

i didnt say a thing about your last post in this thread. I was clear in referencing the shyte you spouted in another thread, and my pont remains. The only person I remember saying anything about lately at least, is that cretin McCarron, and I wasnt on my own, but of course I and everybody else are wrong and you are right. Now enjoy that last little meagre effort at explaining myself to you, because it wont happen again. You either post and discuss/debate rationally in here for the coming season or you stay out. Your constant wumming in the 2016 thread wont happen again in the 2017 thread. You are of course free to dislike what im saying, thats your perogative. I believe the Hogan Stand site has a forum so feel free to bring your crap over there. Its really up to you.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 7:03am
ShamClap

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 7:11am
Sham

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 8:28am

Richard Thornton the new trainer, wouldn't know much about him just know he involved in the club scene in Tyrone recently

Is good news about the lads staying on but the older lads need to be used right this season and let Rory use the younger lads more (even know a certain down man on here doesn't think these exist in the county)

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 9:06am
Go easy on him Sham. He means no harm, he's everyones favourite Tyrone, Celtic, Bayern Munich, Man United, Ulster Rugby, Ireland Rugby, Tyson Fury, Sinn Fein, Conservative Party & Donald Trump fan.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 9:36am

Richard Thornton the new trainer, wouldn't know much about him just know he involved in the club scene in Tyrone recently

Is good news about the lads staying on but the older lads need to be used right this season and let Rory use the younger lads more (even know a certain down man on here doesn't think these exist in the county)

That name still sends shivers down my spine. 2002 Ulster Championship First round Tyrone v Armagh, Tyrone come back late on with a goal from Sean Cavanagh (18 at the time) to draw level. Last attack of the game Tyrone work a scoring opportunity, ball popped back to Richard Thornton inside the D, scuffs it wide, ends in a draw. Armagh win replay and go on to win All Ireland Sick

Him and Brian McGuckin took Coalisland last year and he trained Loup this year. Loup beaten by Slaughtneill in county final

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 11:03am
Happy McGlynn is back, still offers a hell of a lot. Probably our must unsung player of the past five year. I'm not too sure on Lacey. His legs looked to be gone. Remember watching him in the Monaghan replay match. Made a great lung bursting run early on but then his energy seemed to be sapped. Did little else throughout the championship. Impact sub maybe at best for me

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 3:37pm
The mark being introduced from January 1st

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 3:41pm

The mark being introduced from January 1st

A decision I would have been highly supportive of when it was tested in the league in 2010 or 2011. I was concerned with the manner in which players who were actually winning the ball in central midfield were receiving little protection and teams were preferring to force the foul than actually compete for the high ball.

Im not sure how I feel about it now, especially as teams are now looking more and more to retain the ball from their own kick out.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 3:55pm
Will they be using the "metric" system for this mark

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 3:58pm

Dont quit the day job.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 4:05pm

Dont quit the day job.
You have mentioned metrics so much on here i am sure you have a foot in your mouth Wink

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 4:07pm

You have mentioned metrics so much on here i am sure you have your foot in your mouth Wink[/QUOTE]

Nah, i'm doing fine thanks!

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 4:08pm
Is it gonna be rolled out across all forms of the game? County, club, underage?

Posted By: bannerboy95
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2016 at 5:02pm
Podge has confirmed he is only playing Hurling for this coming season big loss for our footballers

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2016 at 5:14pm
This Motion is not in yet but already theres a loop hole more money for GAA I say!

A motion from Central Council to replace the quarter-finals with two groups of four teams - each playing one game at home, one away and one at Croke Park - will go before Congress in February.

However, if Dublin make the last eight, as they have done every year since the introduction of quarter-finals except 2003, they will likely play a second game in Croker - county ground Parnell Park has just 10% of the capacity of the Jones' Road venue.

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2016 at 5:22pm

This Motion is not in yet but already theres a loop hole more money for GAA I say!

<span style="color: rgb10, 10, 10; font-family: 'PT Sans', sans-serif; font-size: 1.1rem; line-height: 1.9rem;">A motion from Central Council to replace the quarter-finals with two groups of four teams - each playing one game at home, one away and one at Croke Park - will go before Congress in February.</span><p style="-sizing: inherit; font-size: 1.1rem; line-height: 1.9rem; margin: 2.2rem 0px; color: rgb10, 10, 10; font-family: 'PT Sans', sans-serif;">However, if Dublin make the last eight, as they have done every year since the introduction of quarter-finals except 2003, they will likely play a second game in Croker - county ground Parnell Park has just 10% of the capacity of the Jones' Road venue.

Just a coincidental loophole I'd say nothing deliberate whatsoever

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2016 at 5:39pm
In fairness, can you imagine the ticket demand if they played it in Parnell Park ? Would be stupid and dangerous to do that. 

Date Posted: 05 Dec 2016 at 9:42pm
Yeah I wouldn't have a problem with it. It would be retarded forcing them to play in Parnell Park.

Date Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 2:22pm
Jack McCaffrey confirms he's available for selection again

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 10:32am
Sean Armstrong and Johnny Duane will be back with Galway next year Clap

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 3:56pm
We lost to uuj today is 1st game of the mckenna cup. They have taken the decision this year to field the u21s in the competition to give them preparation for their own championship as well as giving the senior management the opportunity to see how the young lads perform in these games

Would say they were impressed with some of the performances today with Michael Carroll definitely doing himself no harm with his performance.

Final score was 4:13 to 2:20 with paddy mcbearty kicking 7 points for uuj and Ryan mchugh got their winning goal in injury time

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 4:12pm
Dubs beat DCU 1-15 to 0-11.

2nd/3rd string XV out for Dublin. Paul Clarke in charge.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 10:18pm

Dubs beat DCU 1-15 to 0-11.

2nd/3rd string XV out for Dublin. Paul Clarke in charge.

Had DCU to beat the dubs in my accumulator knowing they were all in Jamaica! Also had Tyrone to beat Cavan, not only where we beat but Conor McAliskey may have done his cruciate

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 10:20pm

We lost to uuj today is 1st game of the mckenna cup. They have taken the decision this year to field the u21s in the competition to give them preparation for their own championship as well as giving the senior management the opportunity to see how the young lads perform in these games

Would say they were impressed with some of the performances today with Michael Carroll definitely doing himself no harm with his performance.

Final score was 4:13 to 2:20 with paddy mcbearty kicking 7 points for uuj and Ryan mchugh got their winning goal in injury time

I'd say they were happy enough with that ringer, even though the poly had a few changes in their starting lineup it was still a pretty strong team backboned by few Donegal lads

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2017 at 10:38pm

I'd say they were happy enough with that ringer, even though the poly had a few changes in their starting lineup it was still a pretty strong team backboned by few Donegal lads

Yeah can't really complain about the performance today if you were going to complain it would be that we should of been ahead by more before uuj came back to win.

They had a strong team out and even though we played the u21s we were missing few of their big players (stephen mcbearty, ciaran Thompson) so be happy enough

Hope Rory was watching it closer as few players looked well able for step up to senior team. Will see if anymore impress next Sunday against cavan

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2017 at 7:12pm
Micky Harte names a strong lineup against your u21s tonight ringer, needs a big scoring difference to make semi finals

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2017 at 8:56pm

Micky Harte names a strong lineup against your u21s tonight ringer, needs a big scoring difference to make semi finals

Currently giving our u21s a good beating 12 points up at half time. Wonder will Micky be complaining about us playing the u21s tonight like he was doing at the weekend

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 9:39am

Currently giving our u21s a good beating 12 points up at half time. Wonder will Micky be complaining about us playing the u21s tonight like he was doing at the weekend

They ran up a big score alright. Still worried about our quality of forwards for the year ahead, especially with McAliskey being sidelined for the year. Rony O'Neill comes across as just a bit too lazy and cold and if Mark Bradley isn't played closer to the posts then id have reservations about where the scores are going to come from.

Gone are the days when our forward line had the likes of McGuigan, Peter, O'Neill, Mugsy, Dooher, McGinley and Cavlan to choose from Unhappy

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 9:51am
Dublin on the verge of tying up a deal to build a 25k seater stadium at the old Spawell complex in Templeogue. Will be 6/7 years before it's up and running.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 10:11am

Dublin on the verge of tying up a deal to build a 25k seater stadium at the old Spawell complex in Templeogue. Will be 6/7 years before it's up and running.

Oh dear. RTID isn't going to be happy about that.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 10:15am
At least the DCB won't be relying on SDCC to build it for them

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 1:11pm

They ran up a big score alright. Still worried about our quality of forwards for the year ahead, especially with McAliskey being sidelined for the year. Rony O'Neill comes across as just a bit too lazy and cold and if Mark Bradley isn't played closer to the posts then id have reservations about where the scores are going to come from.

Gone are the days when our forward line had the likes of McGuigan, Peter, O'Neill, Mugsy, Dooher, McGinley and Cavlan to choose from Unhappy

Ran up a big score alright winning by 23 points in the end but don't know what either team but especially Tyrone will have learnt from it. Surely a game against an u21 side would of been ideal time to try alot more new faces to see what they made of but instead Micky harte named this team

Comórtas: Corn an Dr Mhic Cionnaith
Cluiche: Dún na nGall v Tír Eoghain
Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, an Omaigh
Dáta: 18 Eanáir 2017

County Senior Appearances in brackets
1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc (54)
2 - Pádraig Hampsey - Oileán a'Ghuail (10)
3 - Justin McMahon - An Omaigh (102)
4 - Cathal McCarron - An Droim Mór (88)
5 - Ronan McNabb - An Droim Mhór (51)
6 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair (45)
7 - Jonathan Monroe - An Charraig Mhór (14)
8 - Matthew Donnelly - Trí Leac (82)
9 - Padraig McNulty - Dún Geanainn (32)
10 - Declan McClure - Cluain Eo (2)
11 - Ronan O’Neill - An Omaigh (56)
12 - Niall McKenna - Domhnach Mór (41)
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadan na dTorc (63)
14 - Cahir McCullagh - An Caisleán Glas (2)
15 - Ronan McHugh - Achadh Uí Aráin (2)

16 - Mickey O’Neill - Cluain Eo (19)
17 - Lee Brennan - Trí Leac (9)
18 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh (124)
19 - Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh (225)
20 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin (106)
21 - Niall Sludden - An Droim Mhór (19)

So in the total squad he had 3 new players involved. If that was donegal in a game they were always going to win I'd like to see alot more untried players in the team

As for donegal the u21s were played in the competition as senior side were missing so many players to college commitments and it also allows the older players more rest time before league and championship. Disappointed to lose by big scores to both cavan and Tyrone but it wasn't a total waste of time playing this side. It's gave the 21s 3 good game as they prepare for game against Tyrone in 1st round of ulster u21 championship in March and it's also allowed the senior management to get a look at these players to see who's ready to make the step up.

I'd hope to see the following get game time with senior side this year
Ciaran Gillespie
Eoghan ban Gallagher
Ciaran Thompson
Tony mccleneghan
Michael Carroll
Stephen mcbearty

*niall odonnell and Jason mcgee are 2 names to look out for in future of donegal football but think this year might be too soon to push them into starting for senior side

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 1:18pm
I suspect Harte has concluded that the best way to earn his extension is to do as clean a sweep of all competitions. Leave nothing to chance.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 3:07pm

Oh dear. RTID isn't going to be happy about that.
No but not for the reasons you think. I have no problem with the Duds building a venue,they have long outgrown Parnell Park and would be good to move mid level games to the capital.

However what is wrong with a greenfield? There are pitches right across the road. Instead they are going to knock a whole complex of sporting, cultural and retail facilities the whole area use. This is a significant resource the area loses and at least 50 jobs will go.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 3:40pm
9m for the site?!?!?!

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 3:48pm

However what is wrong with a greenfield? There are pitches right across the road. Instead they are going to knock a whole complex of sporting, cultural and retail facilities the whole area use. This is a significant resource the area loses and at least 50 jobs will go.

Surely though plenty of jobs will be created as a result of the rebuild?