URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=54436
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 3:52am

Topic: Bundesliga 2016/17
Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Subject: Bundesliga 2016/17
Date Posted: 27 Aug 2016 at 9:10am
Looking forward to seeing the 'Gladbach-Leverkusen game today. 'Gladbach looked very good in their 6-1 win against Berne midweek, Raffael and Hazard in particular. Leverkusen have bought/sold a lot over the summer, be interested to see if they can improve this season.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 12:09am
Good home win to get you started.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:04am
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

Good home win to get you started.

A very good win for 'Gladbach, think they are going to have a very good season.
Wish I could say the same for Schalke, the managed decline continues.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:09am
What are the expectations like for Leipzig lads?I see they're not afraid to spend,is it just a matter of staying up this season for them,or are they aiming higher?

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 11:12am
Julian Draxler on his way to PSG supposedly 75m fee

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 11:36am

What are the expectations like for Leipzig lads?I see they're not afraid to spend,is it just a matter of staying up this season for them,or are they aiming higher?

I expect RB Leipzig to finish somewhere between 7th and 12th place.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 12:58pm
Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

Leipzig is Redbulls main club in terms of the future they have a massive stadium also not sure what the training facilities are like mind. Joshua Kimmich was developed by them, I expect them to be playing in Europe regualrly in the coming seasons.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:21pm
Darmstadt favs for relegation
RB would be most fans choice as love to see them relegated
Pretty sure I read BvB ultra fans are boycotting the away game in Leipzeig

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:28pm

Leipzig is Redbulls main club in terms of the future they have a massive stadium also not sure what the training facilities are like mind. Joshua Kimmich was developed by them, I expect them to be playing in Europe regualrly in the coming seasons.

They've come a long way in 7 years, as Byrne says they will be well funded, they seems to bringing in a lot of young players, Burke for example, Timo Werner,David Selke for example.

Think they'll stay up this season Could probably see them competing for CL places in next 2-3 years too.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:42pm

Darmstadt favs for relegation
RB would be most fans choice as love to see them relegated
Pretty sure I read BvB ultra fans are boycotting the away game in Leipzeig

I saw the Hoffenheim fans banner
Spending over 13m on a lad from Forest is a bit of a statement,I haven't seen him play so I can't say if it's a good one!

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 3:46pm
What did the Hoffenheim banner say?

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 4:47pm

What did the Hoffenheim banner say?

Something about them not being the most hated club in the league now

Posted By: covershadow100
Date Posted: 03 Sep 2016 at 8:24am

Looking forward to seeing the 'Gladbach-Leverkusen game today. 'Gladbach looked very good in their 6-1 win against Berne midweek, Raffael and Hazard in particular. Leverkusen have bought/sold a lot over the summer, be interested to see if they can improve this season.

Raffel absolutely one of the underrated out there. His ball retention, technique, etc just crucial for BMG's attacking phase. The likes of Chicarito, I guess'd be ideal partner with him.

Football analysis

Date Posted: 06 Sep 2016 at 10:18am
Clap Darmstadt

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37277425

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2016 at 6:16pm
Dieter Hecking sacked by Vfl Wolfsburg. A mighty fall from 18 months ago when Wolfsburg were Bundesliga runners up and German Cup winners. Kevin DeBruyne left but Julian Draxler and Max Kruse were signed and Wolfsburg finished a disappointing 8th. Kruse left this summer and Draxler badly wanted out, hard to believe that the VW crisis last winter has not played a part in Vfl Wolfburg's rapid decline.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2016 at 8:46pm
Leverkusen out of the Pokal at Lotte on penalties.

1860 also march on on penalties after 120 minutes of goal free chances. Their goalie got something on 4 of our 5 penalties but only kept 1 out.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:20pm
Happy Birthday to Der Bomber

http://www.abendzeitung-muenchen.de/inhalt.gerd-mueller-hat-geburtstag-71-jahre-bomber-der-nation.3fd64cc7-2e0f-44ba-b9fc-24d36290198b.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.abendzeitung-muenchen.de/inhalt.gerd-mueller-hat-geburtstag-71-jahre-bomber-der-nation.3fd64cc7-2e0f-44ba-b9fc-24d36290198b.html

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:23pm
Didn't know he was a forum member

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 9:51pm
I haven't been posting near enough this year!

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2016 at 2:56pm
HSV 2 down after 20+ mins at home to BvB so look certain to stay at the bottom of the table.
At the top Bayern are 0-1 at home to Hoffenheim.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2016 at 3:33pm

HSV 2 down after 20+ mins at home to BvB so look certain to stay at the bottom of the table.

Auba with a hattrick in 23 minutes after being suspended by Dortmund midweek and sitting out the Sporting game.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2016 at 3:46pm
Uwe Seeler, the captain of the West Germany team in the 1966 World Cup final, is 80 today. Made his West Germany debut in 1954 at 17 and was still playing for West Germany when they played England in the World Cup semi final game in Mexico in 1970.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2016 at 5:51pm

Auba with a hattrick in 23 minutes after being suspended by Dortmund midweek and sitting out the Sporting game.

Only finishes up with the 4 goals and 1 assist,not a bad return!

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2016 at 4:27pm
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/its-official-usain-bolt-has-started-his-soccer-career-with-borussia-dortmund-35213923.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/its-official-usain-bolt-has-started-his-soccer-career-with-borussia-dortmund-35213923.html

Usain Bolt is going to train with Dortmund

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2016 at 9:31pm
Dortmund playing Bayern on Saturday evening .
Followed by the Madrid derby

Posted By: HelloBarry
Date Posted: 15 Nov 2016 at 3:33pm

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/its-official-usain-bolt-has-started-his-soccer-career-with-borussia-dortmund-35213923.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/its-official-usain-bolt-has-started-his-soccer-career-with-borussia-dortmund-35213923.html

Any update on this? Is he going to play football soon? or is it for fun?

Quit while you are ahead.
All the best gamblers do.

http://blog.sbobet.com/tips

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2016 at 3:37pm

Didn't Ben Johnson nearly sign for Foggia in the 90s? Or was it a weird dream?

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2016 at 9:38pm
Red Bull top of the league.... I didn't honestly believe they'd be our nearest challengers this season. It's nothing sort of remarkable what they've been able to achieve in a matter of a few seasons without any real huge names either.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 9:23am
The North Rhein Derby 'Gladbach - 1FC Koeln followed by Der Klassiker BVB - FC Bayern.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 12:56pm
Tough match for us, extremely tough. We were piss poor v Hoffenhein, while Dortmund rattled in 5.. hopefully the Polish hero does it again

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 3:26pm
Very good 1st half in the 'Gladbach-1FC Koeln derby game, lovely one and two touch football by 'Gladbach, Andre Schubert has done a great coaching job there. Raffael and Hazard improving on their match fitness, I expect 'Gladbach to give Man City a good game midweek.
Koeln relying on Modeste to snatch a goal, would not be surprised to see them finish with 10 or even 9 players the way they have been hacking in the 1st half. Great atmosphere as always at Borussia Park

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 6:33pm
The first half of the Dortmund Bayern game is the best half of football I'v possibly seen all year. Hopefully the second half can back it up. Currently 1 nil Dortmund.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 6:33pm
Ffs I may cry before tonight's out ireland and Bayern.

We need a goal ASAP.

And Rolo this is the best league in the world.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2016 at 7:40pm
Originally posted by HelloBarry HelloBarry wrote:

Any update on this? Is he going to play football soon? or is it for fun?

Scored against Bayern tonight

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2016 at 8:55pm
Red Boll ix currently win 3 1 away at Freiburg . Would give them a 6 point lead.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2016 at 6:31pm
Appears to be a good first half for Bayern, anything is an improvement.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Posted By: HelloBarry
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2016 at 10:40pm
Bayern is unacceptably bad this season Ermm

Quit while you are ahead.
All the best gamblers do.

http://blog.sbobet.com/tips

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2016 at 10:42pm
Originally posted by HelloBarry HelloBarry wrote:

Bayern is unacceptably bad this season Ermm

I don't even want to discuss it, I'm watching the game from earlier now i recorded it. I, like most had huge aspirations for Carlo Ancelotti... I'm not giving up on him either, we can't get much worse thats for certain even today that was poor, the result was an improvement. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2016 at 2:17pm
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2016/nov/26/rb-leipzig-bundesliga-ralph-hasenhuttl" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2016/nov/26/rb-leipzig-bundesliga-ralph-hasenhuttl

Date Posted: 02 Dec 2016 at 10:48pm
FC Bayern back top after grinding out a win at Mainz 05.
On the form of the last 2 months (10 wins and 2 draws) Schalke are capable of getting at least a point at Dead Bull Leipzig tomorrow evening.

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2017 at 2:23pm
Would anybody know when they are likely to announce the schedule for the next bunch of games.
Thinking of doing a trip over at Easter but the fixture days still not yet announced.

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2017 at 4:02pm
B
According to Bundesliga website it says 13th March

http://www.bundesliga.de/de/bundesliga/spieltag/?d=29" rel="nofollow - http://www.bundesliga.de/de/bundesliga/spieltag/?d=29

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2017 at 4:20pm

B
According to Bundesliga website it says 13th March

http://www.bundesliga.de/de/bundesliga/spieltag/?d=29" rel="nofollow - http://www.bundesliga.de/de/bundesliga/spieltag/?d=29

Cheers !

Not giving people much time to plan there !

Posted By: fr larry duff
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 8:15am
anyone any experience in getting tickets for Dortmund games, i.e. how likely it is for Dortmund tickets to go on general sale? heading over to Germany paddies weekend and am planning to take in the Dortmund v inglostadt game on paddies day and then cologne v hertha the next day.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 10:28am
Originally posted by fr larry duff fr larry duff wrote:

anyone any experience in getting tickets for Dortmund games, i.e. how likely it is for Dortmund tickets to go on general sale? heading over to Germany paddies weekend and am planning to take in the Dortmund v inglostadt game on paddies day and then cologne v hertha the next day.

It varies from game to game - I would drop the ticket office an email and see. They do hold some tickets back for foreign visiting fans for most games so you might get lucky.
Failing that, you should be able to get sorted on the day. There will always be touts but they last time I was there we picked up the spare we needed from fans in one of the bars before the game

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 10:34am
Quite unlikely. There are a small number that do but you need to be online about 45 minutes beforehand on the morning they go on sale, if not longer. I did it that way a couple of years ago and got one.

You'll get tickets to Schalke, Leverkusen, Moenchengladbach and Cologne games easily enough, though. They're all close enough by. Schalke may be a bit trickier but they are all possibilities. See if any of the other three are at home (obv Cologne are).

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 10:38am
We actually got tickets from a tout on the afternoon for not that much. I think we paid 70 euro each for 50 euro tickets, which wasn't a bad deal. It was Dortmund v Hamburg and it finished 6-2.

Didn't realise you could email the ticket office or that they held tickets back for foreign fans.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 11:07am
Cheers lads, I've emailed the ticket office and they just said to look out for the general sale. I'm hoping as it's only inglostadt and it's a Friday night there might be a few spares knocking about on the day.Reluctant to go down the tout route.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 1:38pm
Likely that Ingolstadt would have spares ..
8.30pm kick off on a Friday plus a long hike back afterwards (500+KM)

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2017 at 5:25pm
Bundesliga back again this weekend after the winter break (lots of snow and bloody freezing at the moment)
Surprise "top" game is Red Bollix vs Frankfurt

Friday January 20

• 19:30 SC Freiburg  Bayern Munich

Saturday January 21

• 14:30 FC Augsburg Hoffenheim
  • 14:30 SV Darmstadt 98 M'gladbach
  • 14:30 Schalke FC Ingolstadt 04
  • 14:30 Werder Bremen B Dortmund
  • 14:30 Wolfsburg Hamburg
  • 17:30 RB Leipzig Frankfurt

Sunday January 22

• 14:30 Bayer Leverkusen Hertha Berlin
  • 16:30 Mainz Cologne

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 12:45pm
This weekend sees (I believe) the only unbeaten team in any Euro major league travel to Leipzeig

Posted By: ccfcmurphy
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2017 at 9:44am

Im in a similar situation , trying to head over early March for Dortmund v Benfica , Cant seem to find info on a general sale but Viagogo are selling tickets for 70.

Id be happy to pay 70 but don't want to give Viagogo a cent , any suggestions ? Would mid week games be less popular by any chance

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2017 at 11:11am
70 isn't too bad, try the facebook group 'ticketborse borussia Dortmund'. its a buy and sell page for Dortmund fans to sell and exchange tickets at face value, something could pop up on it closer to the time.

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2017 at 1:07pm
Cheers ill keep an eye out , The stadium capacity is reduced for champions league games so I might just take whats there now Thumbs Up

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2017 at 2:36pm
You can get tickets for Dortmund home games from their online ticket shop for face value plus booking fee. postage etc.:-

https://www.eventimsports.de/ols/bvb/en" rel="nofollow - https://www.eventimsports.de/ols/bvb/en

They go quickly though.  So keep chcking back for tickets for the games you want.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 4:54pm
Settled for 5 tickets 75euro each , well above face value but I don't mind when its a once off ,

Must sort accommodation now , any suggestions ... there's a nice AirBnb about a 5 minute drive from the stadium 15 from the city , just worried that getting a taxi or bus could be a nightmare over there

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 4:58pm
Originally posted by ccfcmurphy ccfcmurphy wrote:

Settled for 5 tickets 75euro each , well above face value but I don't mind when its a once off ,

Must sort accommodation now , any suggestions ... there's a nice AirBnb about a 5 minute drive from the stadium 15 from the city , just worried that getting a taxi or bus could be a nightmare over there

If you are only going over for one night for the game then it makes sense to stay in Dortmund but there really isn't too much to the city. If you are going over for a few days then I'd be tempted to stay in Dusseldorf or Cologne. 

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 5:09pm

If you are only going over for one night for the game then it makes sense to stay in Dortmund but there really isn't too much to the city. If you are going over for a few days then I'd be tempted to stay in Dusseldorf or Cologne. 

Flying to Cologne on the Tuesday will be there for around 6pm , Flying back Thursday at 7.30pm so its a short enough trip,

Maybe spending the first night in Cologne would make sense alright and head to Dortmund early on the Wednesday for the game Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2017 at 5:34pm

Flying to Cologne on the Tuesday will be there for around 6pm , Flying back Thursday at 7.30pm so its a short enough trip,

Maybe spending the first night in Cologne would make sense alright and head to Dortmund early on the Wednesday for the game Thumbs Up

Can't go far wrong in Cologne - Couple of Irish bars there if that is your thing and some good local places to have some food and a few drinks also. 

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 1:34pm
Dortmund will be in trouble after the behaviour of their fans at the home game against RD.
Reports that women and children were subjected to abuse as well as attacks.

http://www.welt.de/sport/fussball/article161821382/Dortmunder-Fans-schmeissen-Steine-auf-Kinder-und-Frauen.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.welt.de/sport/fussball/article161821382/Dortmunder-Fans-schmeissen-Steine-auf-Kinder-und-Frauen.html

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 1:41pm
Also
http://www.dw.com/en/dortmund-fans-attack-leipzig-supporters-ahead-of-tense-match-police/a-37421717" rel="nofollow - http://www.dw.com/en/dortmund-fans-attack-leipzig-supporters-ahead-of-tense-match-police/a-37421717

Apparently the German FA will "only" be concerned with the banners on display in the stadium as incidents outside the stadium are a police matter

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 2:16pm

Also
http://www.dw.com/en/dortmund-fans-attack-leipzig-supporters-ahead-of-tense-match-police/a-37421717" rel="nofollow - http://www.dw.com/en/dortmund-fans-attack-leipzig-supporters-ahead-of-tense-match-police/a-37421717

Apparently the German FA will "only" be concerned with the banners on display in the stadium as incidents outside the stadium are a police matter

Dortmund did come out and criticise those who were violent saying they had no place as part of the club etc. Police should be able to identify most of these I would imagine. 

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 2:18pm
http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2017/feb/06/dortmund-rb-leipzig-and-the-bundesligas-newest-grudge-match" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2017/feb/06/dortmund-rb-leipzig-and-the-bundesligas-newest-grudge-match
Piece in English on the game here from the excellent Andy Brassell.

Dortmund Clap
cops Pig
Red Bull Angry

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 2:29pm
Whether you like Energy Drink FC or not, there's no place in the game for violence against supporters.

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 2:44pm

Whether you like Energy Drink FC or not, there's no place in the game for violence against supporters.

I agree, especially against women and children

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 3:01pm

I agree, especially against women and children
And the disabled.

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2017 at 3:02pm
Massive blow for Leverkusen losing Calhanoglu for the rest of the season.Its crazy that his case has dragged on for this long

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:08am

Massive blow for Leverkusen losing Calhanoglu for the rest of the season.Its crazy that his case has dragged on for this long

He has come out and waived his wages for the next 4 months, Says it is unfair on Leverkusen as they had nothing to do with the case and they shouldn't have to pay him for it.

Rumours that he will join Chelsea in the summer so he may also have played his last game for them.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 12:44pm
Philipp Lahm announced his retirement at the season.
Bayern big wigs are upset that he made the announcement alone and not in a joint statement.
They had offered him the position of Sports Director which he declined

http://www.abendzeitung-muenchen.de/inhalt.nach-oeffentlichem-ruecktritt-fc-bayern-watscht-lahm-ab.96a82894-fe8a-4c94-a5ab-9d8afd78872f.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.abendzeitung-muenchen.de/inhalt.nach-oeffentlichem-ruecktritt-fc-bayern-watscht-lahm-ab.96a82894-fe8a-4c94-a5ab-9d8afd78872f.html

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:27pm

In Dortmund, there is the German Football Museum right outside the Hauptbahnhof.  An absolutte must for any football fan.  Everyrthing is in English as well as German

http://www.fussballmuseum.de/en.htm" rel="nofollow - http://www.fussballmuseum.de/en.htm

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:48pm

Used to stay once a month at the Mercure on Kampstrasse in Dortmund city center, usually paid 50 for a Friday or Saturday night.

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2017 at 12:03am
Caught the end of the Hertha-Bayern game earlier. The Hertha lads must be absolutely sickened, all that time wasting at the end and still get caught at the death

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2017 at 11:03pm
Ancelotti apparently will be in trouble for giving the finger to Hertha fans after the game at the weekend. He was spat at by the home fans. Several trainers have spoken out in his defence.
Haven't seen the coverage

http://www.kicker.de/news/fussball/bundesliga/startseite/671616/artikel_drei-gruende_dfb-ermittelt-auch-gegen-hertha-bsc.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.kicker.de/news/fussball/bundesliga/startseite/671616/artikel_drei-gruende_dfb-ermittelt-auch-gegen-hertha-bsc.html

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2017 at 1:17pm
Gotze out for an indefinite period with a metabolic issue.

Sounds very serious, I suppose it explains why he kept breaking down.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 9:33am

got sorted in the general sale for the Dortmund tickets and have ended up with 2 spares! hopefully get them shifted over there but on the unlikely chance anyone needs 2 tickets, I'm your man Smile

Gladbach v Schalke in the europa league on the 16th March now too, staying in dusseldorf on that night. might go for the 3 games in 3 days if I can source tickets for this one too. was impressed by the gladbach supporters at celtic park, heard they create a good atmosphere at home too.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 4:49pm
Kevin Großkreutz has been released by Stuttgart after supposedly getting in a fight with u17 players he brought out on the lash which included bringing them to the red light district

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 5:23pm

'Kin hell what a way to get sacked

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 12:58pm
Alright lads,  
Im going to Dortmund vs Benfica Wednesday and just wondering can anyone recommend the best spots for a few drinks , Staying in Cologne tomorrow and Dortmund Wednesday for one night.

All help is appreciated Thumbs Up

There's no point being the richest man in the graveyard

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 2:12pm

Alright lads,  
Im going to Dortmund vs Benfica Wednesday and just wondering can anyone recommend the best spots for a few drinks , Staying in Cologne tomorrow and Dortmund Wednesday for one night.

In terms of Dortmund, I'd get up there early and then walk out from town to the ground. You'll find a couple of small bars on the way that will have fans in them and most are happy to have a chat !
In terms of Cologne, depends what you are after. There are a couple of Irish Bars in the Altstadt that will have the Champions League games on (Corkonian, Barney Valley's). If you are looking for some local stuff then the Fruh Brauhaus near the cathedral is worth a visit. Close to Neumarkt you'll find a bar called "Thiebold'e Eck". It's a nice little "Lokal" bar that lots of FC Koeln fans drink in. Something a bit different !

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 2:57pm

Alright lads,  

In terms of Dortmund, I'd get up there early and then walk out from town to the ground. You'll find a couple of small bars on the way that will have fans in them and most are happy to have a chat !
In terms of Cologne, depends what you are after. There are a couple of Irish Bars in the Altstadt that will have the Champions League games on (Corkonian, Barney Valley's). If you are looking for some local stuff then the Fruh Brauhaus near the cathedral is worth a visit. Close to Neumarkt you'll find a bar called "Thiebold'e Eck". It's a nice little "Lokal" bar that lots of FC Koeln fans drink in. Something a bit different !

Cheers Borussia , Corkconian for the champions league sounds good alright , and we'll be in Dortmund for around 12 the next day so I good early start is in order Thumbs Up 

Any idea what happens the stading section on champions league nights ? is there temporary seats or is it just empty

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 3:06pm

Alright lads,  

Cheers Borussia , Corkconian for the champions league sounds good alright , and we'll be in Dortmund for around 12 the next day so I good early start is in order Thumbs Up 

Any idea what happens the stading section on champions league nights ? is there temporary seats or is it just empty

Think it was Hohestrasse we walked out from town on the last time - Just bar hopped with the locals on the way !
The Sudtribune has flip down seats : They are folded up for normal BL games, and down as seats for the CL games so the place will be full.

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 3:31pm
From what I've seen on tv though, most in the Sudtribune just stand anyway on CL nights.

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 3:33pm
Always One though

https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder685/69193685.jpg

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 5:14pm
Cheers lads unfortunately im a north stander on Wednesday but at least ill be able to get a few pictures of this famous Wall in the south stand , Cant wait

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 5:19pm

Cheers lads unfortunately im a north stander on Wednesday but at least ill be able to get a few pictures of this famous Wall in the south stand , Cant wait
I have saved you the effort.
http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sudtribune+dortmund&rlz=1C1CHBF_en-GBGB700GB700&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=638&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwizjIaqscLSAhXpDMAKHZ_JBnsQ_AUIBigB" rel="nofollow - http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sudtribune+dortmund&rlz=1C1CHBF_en-GBGB700GB700&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=638&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwizjIaqscLSAhXpDMAKHZ_JBnsQ_AUIBigB

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 5:24pm

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sudtribune+dortmund&rlz=1C1CHBF_en-GBGB700GB700&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=638&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwizjIaqscLSAhXpDMAKHZ_JBnsQ_AUIBigB" rel="nofollow - http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=sudtribune+dortmund&rlz=1C1CHBF_en-GBGB700GB700&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=638&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwizjIaqscLSAhXpDMAKHZ_JBnsQ_AUIBigB
Unfortunately im a selfie man , Have to get my fat head next to famous things Embarrassed

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 5:28pm
Queue pm rant about selfie culture

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 5:28pm

Unfortunately im a selfie man , Have to get my fat head next to famous things Embarrassed

To the gulag with you.

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 6:11pm

CC
Wouldn't be a huge fan of Köln bier .. Kölsch
Fine for a few but not for a long night.
It is served in small glasses (really horrid in .5l glasses).
They will refresh your glass unless you put your hand over it
The "biermuseum" bar had a good selection of beers
Only spent any time in one Irish bar, Jamesons and it was fine.

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 6:17pm
Good tips Borussia, will be taking advantage of them next week. got sorted with tickets for gladbach v schalke too, 3 games in 3 days. have tickets for the north terrace for the Dortmund game, do people just stand anywhere or do you have to go to your 'seat'? don't want to encounter any seat Nazi's, enough of them following Ireland sometimes   

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 7:02pm

To the gulag with you.

Give me your snap chat and I'll be sure to sent you a few pint snaps

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 7:26pm

To the gulag with you.

Give me your snap chat and I'll be sure to sent you a few pint snaps
Don't do social media, thanks though! Be sure to film everything you can and annoy the fellas sitting behind.LOL

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2017 at 10:42pm

Good tips Borussia, will be taking advantage of them next week. got sorted with tickets for gladbach v schalke too, 3 games in 3 days. have tickets for the north terrace for the Dortmund game, do people just stand anywhere or do you have to go to your 'seat'? don't want to encounter any seat Nazi's, enough of them following Ireland sometimes   

Last 2 times I've been over I've had both: Second time my mate stood in beside me, time before nobody was having it. 
Really hate the German stereotypes about being organised and liking rules but it's probably more the case at a game than not.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2017 at 4:09pm
How did your trips to Germany go folks ??

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 8:13am

I'm not off till Thursday, would I be right in saying that my match ticket would cover the train from Dusseldorf to Monchengladbach?

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 10:33am

I'm not off till Thursday, would I be right in saying that my match ticket would cover the train from Dusseldorf to Monchengladbach?

It does cover matchday travel - I'm fairly sure it would extend as far as Dusseldorf but I wouldn't be 100% sure.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 10:45am

Duesseldorf is covered on Gladbach tickets.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2017 at 10:48am

Loved every minute of it , Spent to first night in the Jameson for the champions league and went on a bit of a crawl after that.

Couldn't get over how cheap the train was to Dortmund 46 euro for a group ticket (5 of us). Went beering in a few supporters bars before the game great atmosphere between the Dortmund and Benfica fans.

Closer to the stadium the prices get cheaper 1 Euro programme 2 euro beers and 2 euro hotdogs (imagine what that would cost outside the Aviva) 

Them Germans know how to treat the fans Clap

Atmosphere in the ground was the best iv come across and the result more or less paid for our match tickets and beers Big smile Will visit again

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2017 at 12:03am
Bayern actually lose a Bundesliga match
Kudos for Hoffenheim who I think head into the top 3

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 10:26am
Top match today is Bayern at home to Dortmund (kick off 5.30 Irish)