Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 12:40am

Topic: Phrases people get wrong
Subject: Phrases people get wrong
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 1:46pm
''I could care less''

It's ''I couldn't care less'' FFS.

Now make like a tree and get outta here.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 1:48pm
"For all intensive purposes"
"Play it by year"

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 1:49pm

"Play it by year"

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 1:51pm

"Play it by year"

A friend of mine constantly says this in text messages. Always assumed it was predictive text LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 1:53pm
A damp squid =  a damp squib (thank you IT Crowd)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnXKVY-_i2c" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnXKVY-_i2c

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:04pm
Should of, would of.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:10pm
"blessing in the skies" and "allied wheels" always crack me up.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:14pm

A damp squid =  a damp squib (thank you IT Crowd)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnXKVY-_i2c" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnXKVY-_i2c

that ep was just on the other night.Pedalstool

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:16pm

Allied wheels?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:17pm

Allied wheels?
Alloy !!

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:19pm

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 2:55pm
Catholic converter
Catalytic converter

I scored a 'gold'.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:03pm
"We should have winning the match" instead of "we should have won the match"

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:19pm
You're sprouting some sh*te

Instead of You're spouting some sh*te.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:30pm
Stocks instead of socks.

S*****rs instead of snickers.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:33pm
Laxadaisical, it's lackadaisical.

He's aemic, I've heard people say that without knowing an is part of the noun anaemic, I hadn't the heart to correct them.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:37pm
Packet of 'crips'

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:39pm

Packet of 'crips'
It's a package of crips you fool.

And a club odange.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:40pm
The use of the word Ye as a plural for you.

Gombeen Muldoon Yokels........

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:41pm
"suicide bombers should be locked up for life"
* didnt a politician actually say this ?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:42pm
My Mrs always corrects me when I say "I don't rate him at all", she maintains I should say "I don't rate him highly/very much/whatever the rating may be"...........Baldrick would probably agree with me Mrs.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 3:46pm
on route instead of en route

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:20pm
Imperient - a Dub classic.
"That imperient little bollox".........
"Will you ever shur up. If you wanna play, your the goldie"......

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:21pm
Good God, there's some stuff I'm reading here on this thread that wouldn't be tolerated from children. LOL

Are you lads actually saying there are adults coming out with some of this guff? LOLEmbarrassed

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:26pm
"" It runs in the family"". Two wimmin sitting on a bus . One says to the other my husband is crippled with a bone wasting disease - and so is his brothers , sister and parents . The other replies it runs in the family . In that scenario its a bit of a crap phrase huh???. Would"nt ya have thought the laddy who came up with the phrase would have done a little more home work before attacking the world with it. Then there"s hair ,,,,same two wimmin - one says to the other  my husband and his family all have red hair . Her mate replies with ""it runs in the family "". When ???? While being rinsed in hot water ?? . Food for thought is all men .....

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:27pm

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:29pm

I remember it now, it was - suicide bombers should get the death penalty !!!

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 4:32pm

I remember it now, it was - suicide bombers should get the death penalty !!!

Even better

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 6:14pm
Not a phrase but a noun ...but very irritating nonetheless....well before it was more relevant to me

"sorry to hear you have prostrate cancer"
....it's ProsTATE!!! .....you f***ing c**t

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 6:31pm

Not a phrase but a noun ...but very irritating nonetheless....well before it was more relevant to me

"sorry to hear you have prostrate cancer"
....it's ProsTATE!!! .....you f***ing c**t
Being a bit anal there man.

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 6:40pm
"If you build it they will come"

If you're quoting the movie its:

"If you build it, he will come"

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 6:56pm
Pre Madonna

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 6:58pm

Pre Madonna
And I can never even remember who it was!LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2016 at 7:48pm
Afraird instead of afraid.

Serious instead of series .

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 12:16am
Originally posted by EastStandMan EastStandMan wrote:

"" It runs in the family"". Two wimmin sitting on a bus . One says to the other my husband is crippled with a bone wasting disease - and so is his brothers , sister and parents . The other replies it runs in the family . In that scenario its a bit of a crap phrase huh???. Would"nt ya have thought the laddy who came up with the phrase would have done a little more home work before attacking the world with it. Then there"s hair ,,,,same two wimmin - one says to the other  my husband and his family all have red hair . Her mate replies with ""it runs in the family "". When ???? While being rinsed in hot water ?? . Food for thought is all men .....

Haaaa? What the hell are you jiving about?

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 4:37am
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Do you hang around with idiots?

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 9:45am

Packet of 'crips'

It's a package of crips you fool.

And a club odange.

It's a Padgett of crimps and and also a borrel of warrer

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 11:34am
Originally posted by eire77 eire77 wrote:

Originally posted by EastStandMan EastStandMan wrote:

Haaaa? What the hell are you jiving about?

Someone has to throw a bit of cockology into the mix LOL . 

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 2:42pm
Died in the wool.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 2:51pm
tender hooks 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 3:18pm
64 million dollar question

Posted By: BagOfArse
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 8:11pm
"He/She wouldnt say boo to a ghost"

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 10:16pm
It is "i am afraid not"  and not as some culchies say "a frayed knot"

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 10:56pm
Parnell parking
The roads are tetris out there

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 11:50pm
''Dreams can come through''

instead of:

''dreams can come true''

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:12am
Just spotted a new one,"boogie team"

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 1:38am

Just spotted a new one,"boogie team"

ClapLOL

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 8:03am
Of instead of have my biggest annoyance. How some people even think this is correct is beyond me.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 8:26am
alot
yous
yis
yisser
yissest

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 8:59am
Had a parent of a kid in my class who spent the year telling me he "He's the vein of my life"

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 9:48am
People who say literally when they really mean figuratively.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 11:45am

alot
yous
yis
yisser
yissest

Yisser is a fantastic word.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by JH91 JH91 wrote:

A few

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:18pm

Originally posted by JH91 JH91 wrote:

A few

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:19pm

alot
yous
yis
yisser
yissest

Yisser is a fantastic word.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:24pm
Anyways.

Not sure that there is such a word? And its also very annoying.

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:47pm
Dubs putting the word 'But' at the end of a sentance instead of the beginning.

'it was a great score but'

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 12:48pm

Anyways.

Also 'inanyways'

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 1:08pm
Pacifically instead of specifically - 2 lads in work always at this. 'I don't mean that item pacifically, just the entire lot'

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 1:23pm

Anyways.

Also 'inanyways'
"inallinanyways"

Another I hate is ;

"he/she turned around and said to me"
Did he/she have their backs to you while you were talking to them ?

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 1:24pm

Pacifically instead of specifically - 2 lads in work always at this. 'I don't mean that item pacifically, just the entire lot'
DelBoy used that - "Rodney, at this pacific moment in time..."

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 3:00pm
For the years that I was living in London I thought Westminster was called Westminister, because that's where all the ministers worked.  

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 3:09pm

For the years that I was living in London I thought Westminster was called Westminister, because that's where all the ministers worked.  

One of my teachers at school also kept referring to it as "Westminister" - Given that she was out history teacher, we probably should have been a tad more concerned than we were !

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 3:28pm

"Play it by year"

I must admit that I thought it was "play it by air" for years Embarrassed

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 4:52pm
First line of the Bon Jovi song - "Tommy used to work on the Dart".

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 5:04pm
Medsin when pronouncing medicine

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 5:05pm

LOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2016 at 8:48am

Yeah hear this a lot and another i hear regularly is flustrated instead of frustrated Cry

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2016 at 9:07am
Boy in my office here at the minute talking about "barred wire" instead of barbed wire

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2016 at 11:26am

So does Willie Frazer

Posted By: Daragho
Date Posted: 19 Jul 2016 at 2:47pm

This. Fooking hell. Shocked

"I pacifically asked you to...." You mean, gently and without any threat of violence?

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2016 at 2:56pm
Originally posted by Daragho Daragho wrote:

This. Fooking hell. Shocked

"I pacifically asked you to...." You mean, gently and without any threat of violence?

I thought this was a wind up !

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 9:55am
Which is the correct phrase

Wouldn't say boo to a goose, or wouldn't say boo to a ghost?

Heard ghost for the first time, I suppose it would make more sense than saying boo to a goose.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2016 at 12:52pm
Was chatting to this one and she says she was ''as fresh as a daily''LOL
Should be 'daisy' of course.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2016 at 3:11pm

Eh the rules squire, pics or gtfo LOL

in the boozer last week with a few people and 1 of their quare wans comes out with "home is where the heart is" and dry as you like 1 of the mates say's a home is where he was first raped by a priest, don't know why but we all broke down laughing LOL

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2016 at 3:29pm

Eh the rules squire, pics or gtfo LOL

in the boozer last week with a few people and 1 of their quare wans comes out with "home is where the heart is"

No rules for you?

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2016 at 3:36pm
Ugly as sin E77 i could not afford to pay for all the screen repairs on here LOL

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2016 at 11:22am

LOL LOL LOL 

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2016 at 11:40am
In my previous company, there was a girl who used to say "It's a catch 27 situation".  

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2016 at 12:05pm
Originally posted by Bo Jackson Bo Jackson wrote:

LOL LOL LOL 
Anybody with any taste is in a panic trying to turn the radio off.
There are some good ones on here, Hendricx was well aware of this misheard lyric, so much so that he often used to kiss Noel Redding after singing it.
http://www.kissthisguy.com/" rel="nofollow - http://www.kissthisguy.com/

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2016 at 4:01pm

"Play it by year"

I must admit that I thought it was "play it by air" for years Embarrassed

All those years of air guitar...

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2016 at 9:22am
'Wet weak' it seems.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 11:42pm
Elected instead of elated

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 2:39pm
When people say 'light years away' when they are talking about weeks, months or years.

Light years is a measure of distance, not time.

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 2:54pm

When people say 'light years away' when they are talking about weeks, months or years.<div abp="1626"> <div abp="1627">Light years is a measure of distance, not time.

Is that not the very reason it is used? It is to describe a time that seems a long distance away, hence the phrase!!!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 10:07pm
'Right off'. Can't believe this one.LOL

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 10:27pm

I was waiting for you to comment on it LOL

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 10:31pm

Ha, just seeing this now. Although I've never heard of anybody getting this wrong before.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 11:45pm

LOLSpotted it earlier, was typing a response but then I observed that it was Cathalthesmart that typed it so thought I was in the wrongLOL

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 12:53am
"Play it by year" 

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 1:41am
Zenith...... Ok not a phrase obviously, but seriously it's Zenit.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 3:29am
A Zenith is qualifying and drawing a group game in St. Petersburg in 2018 during the famous white nights of June..

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 8:33am

LOLSpotted it earlier, was typing a response but then I observed that it was Cathalthesmart that typed it so thought I was in the wrongLOL
He said it twice too LOL

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 9:29am
is it peace of mind or piece of mind??

honestly have no clue

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 9:32am
Sprouting instead of spouting

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 9:40am
Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

honestly have no clue

peas

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 4:38pm
Anyway. 

Inallinanywayz 

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 4:48pm
Originally posted by d13dave d13dave wrote:

honestly have no clue
peace of mind.
piece of my mind.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 8:01pm
Mute point is more common than I thought.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 22 Oct 2016 at 1:25am
When the mutton turns out to be lamb.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."