Topic: Vienna - November 12th 2016 - General Thread
Posted By: administrator
Subject: Vienna - November 12th 2016 - General Thread
Date Posted: 11 Jul 2016 at 11:15pm

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 6:59am
Still can't think of the name of the bar we went to after the tour with Fitz the last time , anyone remember the name ?

Something like Bar 51 , just have to go back for the ribs again Clap

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 9:10am
what was the tour with Fitz?

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 9:47am

Still can't think of the name of the bar we went to after the tour with Fitz the last time , anyone remember the name ?

The 1516 Brewing Company Thumbs Up

http://www.1516brewingcompany.com/" rel="nofollow - http://www.1516brewingcompany.com/

Posted By: Ro7
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 9:53am
has this game been confirmed as being held in Vienna?

I checked with FAI yesterday and they said venue is still to be confirmed. OEFB and FIFA websites don't list Vienna either. I've been hearing Salzburg and Klagenfurt are possibilities....

though it sounds like a lot of people have booked travel to Vienna.....

Posted By: brendy_éire
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 10:17am

If it's ribs you're after, here is a must: http://www.ribsofvienna.at" rel="nofollow - http://www.ribsofvienna.at http://www.ribsofvienna.at" rel="nofollow -
A metre for €9, IIRC. Amazing.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 11:34am

http://www.1516brewingcompany.com/" rel="nofollow - http://www.1516brewingcompany.com/

1516  is one of my favorite pubs in Vienna,steak is awesome there too,manager is from Carlow,Galway barman goes to a few of the away games,top lads.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 11:43am
Originally posted by Ro7 Ro7 wrote:

has this game been confirmed as being held in Vienna?

I checked with FAI yesterday and they said venue is still to be confirmed. OEFB and FIFA websites don't list Vienna either. I've been hearing Salzburg and Klagenfurt are possibilities....

though it sounds like a lot of people have booked travel to Vienna.....

I just spoke to a guy at the OFB(Austrian football association)he said that they are 90% sure the game will be held in Vienna,the stadium here in Salzburg would be a bit small for a game like this,they only use stadums outside of Vienna for nations with a small fan base,like Kazaksthan etc,the last time we played them the venue was not announced too early either,so go ahead and book Vienna Thumbs Up

Posted By: ybigeejit
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 12:18pm
Tickets on Viagogo for the Ernst Happel Stadion Vienna so can't see if being moved if they're already issuing tickets to the Austrians

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 2:23pm

1516  is one of my favorite pubs in Vienna,steak is awesome there too,manager is from Carlow,Galway barman goes to a few of the away games,top lads.
Thanks Hornet and SB Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 3:36pm
Charlie P's was some spot last time and easily accessible to the stadium.

Few good bars along the river too and great spot for eye candy.

Posted By: RayHoughton
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 4:28pm

George 'The Baggio brothers, of course, are not related' Hamilton

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 4:29pm
Charlies is the main Irish pub in the city,will be our base again.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 7:02pm

Say's who, plenty of Irish fans avoid the Irish pubs like the plague and with a few good reasons,

A. rip off kips

2. It is cheaper and better to drink in the real local bars and engage with the hosts for the craic

And most importantly you avoid a large group of self important coonts who think they are Ireland's greatest fans makin clown's of themselves falling over pissed  fckin high fiving and patting each other on the back for finding their way to a designated forgein "Oirish Pub" decided by the clique on here

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 7:16pm

Say's who, plenty of Irish fans avoid the Irish pubs like the plague and with a few good reasons,
<span style="line-height: 1.4;">
</span>
<span style="line-height: 1.4;">A. rip off kips</span>

2. It is cheaper and better to drink in the real local bars and engage with the hosts for the craic

And most importantly you avoid a large group of self important coonts who think they are Ireland's greatest fans makin clown's of themselves falling over pissed  fckin high fiving and patting each other on the back for finding their way to a designated forgein "Oirish Pub" decided by the clique on here

Ffs Doc. Fishing I hope. Mix it up and have a base to catch up. Best of both worlds.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 7:43pm
Charlie P's was great the last time no rip off Joint Fine Bar with good food and Drink.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 8:01pm

</span>

Well done Doc. Point A followed up by point 2.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 8:03pm
I suggest you get a repair man in Francine

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 8:05pm

I suggest you get a repair man in Francine
What?

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 8:15pm

Charlie P's was great the last time no rip off Joint Fine Bar with good food and Drink.
Hummmmmmmmm have to agree i have been a few times now over the years and they do super food the only problem it gets too busy but yer top spot . 

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 9:22pm

</span>

Your two points contradict each other

And I'm sure lily will day where his base will be? Who else would?

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 10:21pm
Originally posted by RayHoughton RayHoughton wrote:

Is this a reference to something?

This means nothing to me.

Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 10:39pm

Charlie Ps was probably the best Irish pub for an away game I was in. The steak there was fantastic , staff were very good especially that girl from Fermoy , and the march to the game from there under police escort was also a good addition.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 8:56am

A. rip off kips

Each to their own DD,you go where ever the fook you want Thumbs Up,I am sure you will engage in loads  of craic  in a little bar full of Austrian aul lads who only speak a farmer version of the German language,and yes,your 2 points contradict  each other LOL, i don't know if you did Vienna away the last time,Charlies did and a burger and pint deal for about 10€ ,the pub is big enough to hold a lot of us,staff are all friendly and English speakers,the food menu is fantastic,the cheapest pint they have on draught is GoldFassel Special for 3.90 Euro, its a local beer, you will do well to find a pint much cheaper pint  than that in Vienna,its also close to the tram stop that goes to the stadium.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 3:39pm
Will there be Christmas markets when we're there?
I told the girlfriend there would be some. I also told her there would be sun for 2 weeks in France which never happened. 

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 3:45pm

I told the girlfriend there would be some. I also told her there would be sun for 2 weeks in France which never happened. 

Don't think they start until the second half of November normally.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 3:46pm
no christmas markets :)

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 4:47pm
Oh no

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 5:00pm

Posted By: Gigibongi33
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 5:28pm

Christmas markets opening on the 14th of November apparently. Well that's according to aerlingus city breaks.

Posted By: Skelly
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 5:50pm

The Naschmarkt is well worth a visit

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 6:35pm

</span>

Each to their own DD,you go where ever the fook you want Thumbs Up,I am sure you will engage in loads  of craic  in a little bar full of Austrian aul lads who only speak a farmer version of the German language,and yes,your 2 points contradict  each other LOL, i don't know if you did Vienna away the last time,Charlies did and a burger and pint deal for about 10€ ,the pub is big enough to hold a lot of us,staff are all friendly and English speakers,the food menu is fantastic,the cheapest pint they have on draught is GoldFassel Special for 3.90 Euro, its a local beer, you will do well to find a pint much cheaper pint  than that in Vienna,its also close to the tram stop that goes to the stadium.

Sure what more could you want

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 6:53pm
Originally posted by Skelly Skelly wrote:

The Naschmarkt is well worth a visit

Sounds good, my hotel is near it.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 6:57pm
Originally posted by Gigibongi33 Gigibongi33 wrote:

Christmas markets opening on the 14th of November apparently. Well that's according to aerlingus city breaks.

I read somewhere (sorry, can't remember where, might have been one of those guide books you can get in the likes of Easons) that it opens on the 2nd weekend of November which is when we will be there so Damack won't have an irate gf to explain to.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 7:02pm
Vienna Magic of Advent & Christmas Market at Rathauspark (14 Nov - 24 Dec)
Schonbrunn Palace Cultural & Christmas Market (21 Nov - 26 Dec)
Christmas Village on Maria Theresien Platz (18 Nov - 26 Dec)

Above are the Vienna Christmas Markets . Put her out of her misery now and tell her it's not on when the football is on and she will be going to the Dublin Docklands Christmas Market which sells the same sh*te as the Vienna Christmas Market

Posted By: OscarDelta
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 8:23pm

Above are the Vienna Christmas Markets . Put her out of her misery now and tell her it's not on when the football is on and she will be going to the Dublin Docklands Christmas Market which sells the same sh*te as the Vienna Christmas Market

In Vienna visiting friends about 11 years ago just before Christmas the whole Christmas markets were great.

Every single street that has a outdoor bar will sell you Gluvine (Kinder Gluvine for non drinkers) where paid a deposit for a Mug ( Collectible) and then the Gluvine........... bring mug back if want or keep it.

May do that visit again at beginning of Dec.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 11:34pm
What type of weather can we expect?? Snow or just bitterly cold?

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 6:48am

in early November last year is was quite warm at 15c , hey it could be below 0 when we are there .

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 6:49am

unlikely to get snow at that time of year. Low teens more probable.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 6:51am
I'd say expect weather like Poland qualifier last year , Cold !

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 8:55am
Vienna is unpredictable,last year was a poor year for snow.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 9:17am
wrt Train via Munich / Salzburg to & from Vienna.

We travelled last Friday am (8 ish) and needed seat reservations as the train was busy. Changed trains at Salzburg (we had bikes we us to cycle Vienna to Budapest) and the next one was even busier as it stopped at several stations to Vienna.

Ticket checkers at all stages / countries in both directions.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 10:25am

The advice coming from the FAI is expect some weather.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 11:29am

The advice coming from the FAI is expect some weather.

LOL FAI predicting weather......

On Christmas eve afternoon last year in Poland I sat outside in a T shirt in bright sunshine drinking a cup of tea, in other years full winter gear was necessary. SWMBO's friend in Vienna indicated similar weather.

Assume its going to be wet miserable and cold, if its warm great.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 1:06pm
Originally posted by OscarDelta OscarDelta wrote:

In Vienna visiting friends about 11 years ago just before Christmas the whole Christmas markets were great.

Every single street that has a outdoor bar will sell you Gluvine (Kinder Gluvine for non drinkers) where paid a deposit for a Mug ( Collectible) and then the Gluvine........... bring mug back if want or keep it.

Gluhwein

is a tasty drop but is made up of the cheapest ingredients,rum from Aldi etc,mate of mine works at the Christmas markets,too many of them will give you a nasty hangover,the mug deposit still exists,they also sell an alcoholic fruit Punch or a hot chocolate laced with Rum that will do the job.

Posted By: St.Pauli Reloaded 2
Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 9:55pm

Originally posted by OscarDelta OscarDelta wrote:

Gluhwein

is a tasty drop but is made up of the cheapest ingredients,rum from Aldi etc,mate of mine works at the Christmas markets,too many of them will give you a nasty hangover,the mug deposit still exists,they also sell an alcoholic fruit Punch or a hot chocolate laced with Rum that will do the job.
The good aul GlÜhweinBeer

In Martin and Roy we Trust !

Posted By: Terry Mancicni
Date Posted: 27 Jul 2016 at 2:34pm
Salzburg or anyone, any chance of a fans game in Vienna. Do you have any contacts?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2016 at 6:15pm
Originally posted by Terry Mancicni Terry Mancicni wrote:

Salzburg or anyone, any chance of a fans game in Vienna. Do you have any contacts?

Know plenty in the GAA club in Vienna,i can ask a few of the lads up there to try and  sort something,or maybe Vienna Fritz who posts on here can sort something.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2016 at 8:10pm
I've a few Austrian contacts on whatsapp still from the euros from the failed game in Arcachon and also some lads met in Dublin in 2013 can ask Thumbs Up  (bit early to organising anything, will start looking into it in Sept)

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2016 at 10:11pm
Sound Philly,got a contact from an Austrian supporters club,messaged them.

Posted By: Terry Mancicni
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2016 at 9:05am
good stuff. ye prob bit early but just so the idea is there. Be great to get a game in on the saturday morning/early afternoon.

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 28 Jul 2016 at 12:35pm
Found this pub if anyone is looking for decent beer and BBQ. It's run by a fella from Cork and shows the sport too. 
http://www.brickmakers.at/" rel="nofollow - http://www.brickmakers.at/

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2016 at 2:18pm
Originally posted by irish_goat irish_goat wrote:

Found this pub if anyone is looking for decent beer and BBQ. It's run by a fella from Cork and shows the sport too. 

Reruns of Galway losing All Ireland :)

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2016 at 3:19pm
Originally posted by irish_goat irish_goat wrote:

Decent selection of craft beers,same owner as Charly P's ,Dublin chap.

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 9:59am
Does Brickmakers or Charly P's have big screen TVs?  I dare say I wouldn't be the only one looking to watch England vs. Scotland on the Friday night.

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 11:09am
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

Does Brickmakers or Charly P's have big screen TVs?  I dare say I wouldn't be the only one looking to watch England vs. Scotland on the Friday night.

Pretty postive Charly P's does watched the hurling in there last time, and pretty positive in was on a screen, or at least a decent size telly

Posted By: craiglen
Date Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 11:15am
Definitely in the decent sized telly category.

Fan's game record: 5 Caps, 1 goal, 2 assists, 140 km covered

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 12:10pm
Random but whatever happened to ViennaFritz he still on here??

Date Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 1:20pm

Random but whatever happened to ViennaFritz he still on here??
He will be back closer to the game  trust me Thumbs Up

Posted By: CatalanCelt1
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2016 at 11:56pm
hey guys, is there a limit on the number of supporter profiles (and therefore ticket applications) you can create on the FAI Away Fans Portal??

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 8:52am
Originally posted by CatalanCelt1 CatalanCelt1 wrote:

hey guys, is there a limit on the number of supporter profiles (and therefore ticket applications) you can create on the FAI Away Fans Portal??

No

Posted By: Row Z
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 12:27pm
5 of us on the 7am Aer lingus from Dublin on the Friday, looking for something to see/do during the day.
Any brewerys to visit or best hop on one of the tourist buses and see the sights?

"Just put it up there..."

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 12:57pm
Originally posted by Row Z Row Z wrote:

5 of us on the 7am Aer lingus from Dublin on the Friday, looking for something to see/do during the day.
Any brewerys to visit or best hop on one of the tourist buses and see the sights?

Head to the Prater,its an amusement park ,they have a giant wheel which stops you at the top allowing you to get amazing pictures of Vienna,the Stephanzplatz dome is worth a visit,Oattakringer is the main Vienna brewed beer and you can do a brewery  tour for 9 Euro,There is a hop on hop off tour bus, think a 24 hour ticket is about 25 Euro.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 1:05pm
Channel 4 series in which Richard Ayoade spends 48 hours in a city and what you should see and do.
Think I'll give the bike tour a go.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/travel-man-48-hours-in/on-demand/62523-001%20" rel="nofollow - http://www.channel4.com/programmes/travel-man-48-hours-in/on-demand/62523-001

Posted By: Row Z
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 2:15pm
Cheers Lads!!

"Just put it up there..."

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 6:49pm
There's also an episode of Rick Stein's Long Weekends in Vienna.
It's available on torrents.

City Till I Die

Posted By: pleamy
Date Posted: 20 Aug 2016 at 2:12am
So from what I can see it looks to be around the same price as Ireland for pints, food etc?, anyone know if that's true?. Trying to make a budget already to make sure I get going..

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2016 at 7:05am
Originally posted by pleamy pleamy wrote:

So from what I can see it looks to be around the same price as Ireland for pints, food etc?, anyone know if that's true?. Trying to make a budget already to make sure I get going..
ya pretty much.

Posted By: pleamy
Date Posted: 20 Aug 2016 at 12:58pm
Flights booked

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2016 at 12:35pm
Any idea on ticket cost ?

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2016 at 4:37pm
They cost 25 Euro 3 years ago so i reckon it will be around the  same.

Posted By: keitho77
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 2:04pm
Ive booked Vienna flights on the Thursday going from Manchester. 110 euro. Comimng back Sunday. No way Im paying what Aer Lingus are asking,

Posted By: martinfai86
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 6:16pm
Flights booked - Friday morning into Budapest train from there.
Anyone taking a night in Budapest on Sunday?
Looking forward to this campaign, I hope that Italy game has changed the mind set of the Ireland team.
Much better when we go for it and attack.

Breen for Barca

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 11:13pm
Folks anyone recommend the best area to stay in Budapest? We are gonna do a day there after Vienna?
Get the train over Sunday and fly home on Monday afternoon,so just want somewhere close to bars/clubs for the one night.

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 11:27pm

Folks anyone recommend the best area to stay in Budapest?

For one night, Pest is probably best. That's on the right (eastern) bank. It's the newer part of town, less hilly, more populated and has more stuff, including the main train stations and closer to the airport.
It's not massive city centre either way, and taxies are dirt cheap. Last time we stayed in Aboriginal Hostel. Good oul craic: they had a didgeridoo.

City Till I Die

Posted By: muscles
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 7:04am
Originally posted by martinfai86 martinfai86 wrote:

Flights booked - Friday morning into Budapest train from there.
Anyone taking a night in Budapest on Sunday?
Looking forward to this campaign, I hope that Italy game has changed the mind set of the Ireland team.
Much better when we go for it and attack.

3 of us staying there on the Wednesday and Sunday nights. Stayed there for a night on way to Bratislava in 07 but didnt really see much of it then.

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 8:29am

Folks anyone recommend the best area to stay in Budapest? We are gonna do a day there after Vienna?
Get the train over Sunday and fly home on Monday afternoon,so just want somewhere close to bars/clubs for the one night.

Stayed in it for 2 nights before the last game we played in Vienna and we stayed in wombats hostel. Was a grand spot with bars etc nearby

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 10:57pm
Is 2:40 hours enough time between flights in Gatwick ? Ryanair from Dublin and then Easyjet flight to Vienna.I think both airlines would be using the South Terminal.

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 11:50pm

Is 2:40 hours enough time between flights in Gatwick ? Ryanair from Dublin and then Easyjet flight to Vienna.

I hope so. I've around the same times between my flights in Stanstead

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 1:19am

Is 2:40 hours enough time between flights in Gatwick ? Ryanair from Dublin and then Easyjet flight to Vienna.

Gigi and Rossie, you'll both be grand.

I had 2 hours between flights at Stansted going to and from Warsaw last October and had no bother, even with a really long queue for security on the way home.

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 6:32am

Is 2:40 hours enough time between flights in Gatwick ? Ryanair from Dublin and then Easyjet flight to Vienna.I think both airlines would be using the South Terminal.

More than enough

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 7:32am
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

More than enough

Agreed even if out of different terminals

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 7:47am

More than enough

Used to work at Gatwick. Security will take you no more than 4 to 5 minutes on average. Even with different terminals you have oodles of time.

Chances are the easyjet flight will be delayed. They always are!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 9:23am

Gigi and Rossie, you'll both be grand.

I had 2 hours between flights at Stansted going to and from Warsaw last October and had no bother, even with a really long queue for security on the way home.

Flying ryanair over and they usually add 20 minutes to the flight journey so they arrive earlier! Reckon once the bag isn't taken to be put in the hold I'll be fine.
Sure if I got stuck coming back it wouldn't be then end of the world once I make it ovet

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 11:56am

More than enough

Used to work at Gatwick. Security will take you no more than 4 to 5 minutes on average. Even with different terminals you have oodles of time.

Chances are the easyjet flight will be delayed. They always are!

Thanks lads.

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2016 at 12:30pm
If you're only heading for three or four days, take a backpack or small holdall, something that will fit under the seat in front anyway. That way, there's no risk of them putting it in the hold on you.

Posted By: Gaff
Date Posted: 04 Sep 2016 at 12:12am
Living in Munich so planning on training it over to the game. How would I go about getting a ticket for the away end given I am not a season ticket holder?

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2016 at 1:20pm
Originally posted by Gaff Gaff wrote:

Living in Munich so planning on training it over to the game. How would I go about getting a ticket for the away end given I am not a season ticket holder?

Be no hassle getting a ticket,we wont bring close to our allocation.Id contact FAI and ask them .

Posted By: Derbot
Date Posted: 06 Sep 2016 at 12:04am
Hi All, brand new to this forum, Im off to Vienna on the 12th also. Flights and accommodation booked for for myself and my mate. Its been a years since i have been to an away match and its well overdue. I am an avid league of Ireland fan and get to Dublin a few times a year to see the boys. The last thing that i need to do now is get match tickets. Im at a loss as to how to get them. The fai numbers that i have been ringing are sending me around in circles and the away tickets portal won't won't let me create and account. Help.. I don't fancy trawling the pubs of vienna hunting on the day of the game...any advice? 

Date Posted: 07 Sep 2016 at 3:40pm
Ticket applications are not open yet. If you email customer.relations@fai.ie they should be able to help you set up an account on the portal, or help you apply for tickets.

The applications aren't going to open for a month or so, I'd guess.

Posted By: manulike
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:18am
Just a heads up, lads.
The Welsh FA have informed us today that they have only managed to negotiate a 5% of the capacity at 2776 tickets for our match there next month.
Tickets will cost us 26 pounds, and are in the upper tier in Sector F behind the goal - so my binoculars will come in handy for this one! 

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 10:55am
Originally posted by manulike manulike wrote:

Just a heads up, lads.
The Welsh FA have informed us today that they have only managed to negotiate a 5% of the capacity at 2776 tickets for our match there next month.
Tickets will cost us 26 pounds, and are in the upper tier in Sector F behind the goal - so my binoculars will come in handy for this one! 
I thought it was meant to be 10% for world cup qualifiers? Confused

Don't think it'll make much difference to us anyway from what's been said on this and the Vienna travel thread. Seems like we'd be barely bringing even 1k fans to this one. Most likely due to fans spending fortunes on going to the Euros and having 2 other away trips before Vienna and this trip being just 6 weeks before Christmas. Indeed, this is the only away trip I'm getting post-Euros.

Posted By: ybigeejit
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 11:47am

Just a heads up, lads.

How many would you have expected to travel?

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:03pm

Just a heads up, lads.

Yeah that's were we were put for the last game played over their in 2013 up in Upper tier besides the scoreboard. Seem to have put their prices up a bit since then as only cost us €25 for ticket for that game

Was a decent trip though roughly only 1000 travelled say be similar numbers this time again

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 2:12pm
2776 would still be at least 1500 more then we will need.

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 2:31pm
Originally posted by ybigeejit ybigeejit wrote:

Just a heads up, lads.

Wales took over 4k to Belgium, Israel and Cyprus last year ;-)

Posted By: daskip89
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 3:33pm

Just a heads up, lads.

Maybe Joe.ie are wrong we are not the best fans in the world???

Posted By: muscles
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 6:17pm
Originally posted by daskip89 daskip89 wrote:

Just a heads up, lads.

Maybe Joe.ie are wrong we are not the best fans in the world???

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 9:31pm
We were lucky last year, as all the games except Bosnia were a free-for-all, and there was no loyalty points needed. For this Austria game, the FAW have established a three-tier loyalty system:
 1/. first week applicants must have a minimum of 2 away games last campaign
 2/. in the second week, the applicants must have at least 1 away
 3/. after two full weeks, if any tickets remaining - any registered member can apply.

Obviously, when gauging the numbers intending to travel (email survey sent to all members as well as all newsletter receivers) they believe that this is the only way to guarantee a fair allocation of Austria away... 

Must admit that our attendance at our last two away friendlies (Kiev in March and Stockholm in June) was a very miserable 400-450 or so!

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 9:47pm

We were lucky last year, as all the games except Bosnia were a free-for-all, and there was no loyalty points needed. For this Austria game, the FAW have established a three-tier loyalty system:
 1/. first week applicants must have a minimum of 2 away games last campaign
 2/. in the second week, the applicants must have at least 1 away
 3/. after two full weeks, if any tickets remaining - any registered member can apply.

Obviously, when gauging the numbers intending to travel (email survey sent to all members as well as all newsletter receivers) they believe that this is the only way to guarantee a fair allocation of Austria away... 

Must admit that our attendance at our last two away friendlies (Kiev in March and Stockholm in June) was a very miserable 400-450 or so!

Ahhh, a fair and transparent system!