Topic: Moldova - 9th October 2016 - General Thread
Posted By: administrator
Subject: Moldova - 9th October 2016 - General Thread
Date Posted: 11 Jul 2016 at 11:14pm

Posted By: Tyronebhoy
Date Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 6:03pm
http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/country_result.jsp?country=Moldova" rel="nofollow - http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/country_result.jsp?country=Moldova
100 Moldovan = about 4.60 euro/3.80 quid

Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 9:01am
So realistically how much money would you be bringing over?

50Euro?

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 11:17am

50Euro?
Maybe start with 50 and take the rest out of the hole in the wall when needed . Also remember if you are left with too much you can always put it against your hotel bill which we often do on away trips Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 11:31am

50Euro?
Maybe start with 50 and take the rest out of the hole in the wall when needed . Also remember if you are left with too much you can always put it against your hotel bill which we often do on away trips Thumbs Up

I'm saying minus hotel bill.

basic spending money looking at prices over there I can really see 50 being more then enough

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 11:56am

50Euro?

Maybe start with 50 and take the rest out of the hole in the wall when needed .
Also remember if you are left with too much you can always put it against your hotel bill which we often do on away trips Thumbs Up

basic spending money looking at prices over there I can really see 50 being more then enough

I'd say just over the €100 mark will cover everything for my 3 day stay.

Was working it out yesterday and I reckon all in this will work out cheaper than Vienna even with it much harder to get to

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 12:40pm

50Euro?

Yer but what I am saying is that if you are left with 95euro in local money as you took far too much out to begin with you can pay off part of your hotel bill with the extra 80 euro and it leaves you 15 to play with getting to the airport and drinks . Orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr you can change it back at the airport at a naff rate .

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 1:09pm

50Euro?

Yer but what I am saying is that if you are left with 95euro in local money as you took far too much out to begin with you can pay off part of your hotel bill with the extra 80 euro and it leaves you 15 to play with getting to the airport and drinks . Orrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr you can change it back at the airport at a naff rate .

Or just give it to charity Wink which is what I usually do.

Posted By: LD96
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 1:18pm
Anyone heading over through bucharest have any idea how to book the train to moldova? Have seen them advertised online but cannot find anywhere to book. Open to any suggestions to an easier way to get there, direct flights looking expensive.

Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 1:47pm
Originally posted by LD96 LD96 wrote:

Anyone heading over through bucharest have any idea how to book the train to moldova? Have seen them advertised online but cannot find anywhere to book. Open to any suggestions to an easier way to get there, direct flights looking expensive.

Check out the other Moldova thread for travel , info there and maybe a bus being organised .

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2016 at 1:48pm
I've looked up a few "expensive" restaurants and the most you can seem to pay for a steak is around the €10 mark. Even if you splash out and have 4 courses I can't see you spending more than €20 on a dinner and then you'll be lucky to spend a tenner in the bar after. 

Posted By: Gearoid101
Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 12:05pm
When will we be able apply for tickets? I've never being to an away game? 

Same applies for Vienna

Cant go to Belgrade due to possible GAA Confused

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by Gearoid101 Gearoid101 wrote:

Same applies for Vienna

Usually about 3 Weeks in advance but depends on fixtures. I'd say Austria would be after Serbia game and same with Moldova

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 12:21pm
Originally posted by Gearoid101 Gearoid101 wrote:

Same applies for Vienna

Have you ever been to one? Sorry, I'm just being pedantic.

Posted By: Joe Stalin
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 11:25pm
Just realised the kick-off is 9.45pm over there. If the gargle is 70c a pint

Posted By: OscarDelta
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2016 at 11:34pm
Originally posted by Joe Stalin Joe Stalin wrote:

Thankfully a non drinker...................... 3000 miles in 2 weeks in France made it come in handy :)

Happy to wheel you into stadium and anybody else for that matter.............................
Long as you don't try and bore me to death when drunk about
Boyfriend / Girlfriend / Wife / Mistress or all 4 not understanding you, how work sucks etc etc.

Otherwise you will end up spending the night next to some Hairy Moldovan Ladyboy or heading on bus to Narnia.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2016 at 9:50am

This never ends well .

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 11:13am
Any interest in a fans game over there? Was thinking on the sat early evening similar to what was organised in Tbilisi as leaves match day free for the all day sightseeing sessions Tongue

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 11:23am

Any interest in a fans game over there? Was thinking on the sat early evening similar to what was organised in Tbilisi as leaves match day free for the all day sightseeing sessions Tongue

Would love to represent my nation

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 11:41am

I can ask colleague at work to search for Moldovan fans forum if anybody wants .......

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 11:58am
O/D the issue isn't getting a Moldovan team on the pitch, I have a few leads there, its getting an Irish team on the pitch. Don't want to set anything in motion until there is enough interest from Irish lads Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 12:42pm
If it was earlish Saturday so that I could still go drinking the head off myself the rest of the day Id be up for playing

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 12:43pm

This never ends well .

Be like Warsaw all over again,lads getting carried into the stadium 

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 12:51pm

O/D the issue isn't getting a Moldovan team on the pitch, I have a few leads there, its getting an Irish team on the pitch. Don't want to set anything in motion until there is enough interest from Irish lads Thumbs Up

I am at an age where the idea of taking part sounds great but its the 2 days of recovery afterwards and the muscles in use fills me with dread.

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 1:42pm
I'll play philly Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 1:45pm
Might be tempted to bring my gear if numbers were needed !

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 1:46pm
Might give 11aside a go again for this

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 2:05pm
Good stuff lads, I'll be aiming for around 5-6pm kick off as like Wallsy says, you don't want it getting in the way of your drinking the head of yourself fun then can have cans on the sideline as well just like in Tbilisi

O/D, play for 5-10mins at a time if you like, its always roll on roll off subs Thumbs Up

Will get back to you once I've a more definitive answer/details

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 2:11pm

Good stuff lads, I'll be aiming for around 5-6pm kick off as like Wallsy says, you don't want it getting in the way of your drinking the head of yourself fun then can have cans on the sideline as well just like in Tbilisi

O/D, play for 5-10mins at a time if you like, its always roll on roll off subs Thumbs Up

Will get back to you once I've a more definitive answer/details

That time is perfect. Land in at 2pm so drop the bags and the hotel and then head along. 

Posted By: jegg
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 2:56pm
I'll play Philly and I'm sure the bro will too

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 3:50pm
I can play, but I'm a brutally unfit 32 year old with no touch and no experience of eleven a side at any real level; I don't even own boots, just astro trainers, but I'd definitely play.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 3:52pm

I can play, but I'm a brutally unfit 32 year old with no touch and no experience of eleven a side at any real level; I don't even own boots, just astro trainers, but I'd definitely play.

I put myself in a similar category too

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 4:25pm
Would love to but I'll probably be on the way back from Odessa or Transnistria on the Saturday. Hopefully will be back in time for cans on the touchline

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 4:33pm
I'll play in this game aswell!

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 4:47pm
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

your too old

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 7:28pm

Would love to but I'll probably be on the way back from Odessa or Transnistria on the Saturday. Hopefully will be back in time for cans on the touchline

Good point as would like to visit Narnia as well.

Moldovan girl at work struggles to stop laughing at our recrhristening of the place.

Is there a definite coach organised ?
She says she could find us a guide if required.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 7:29pm

add 20 years for me

Might have littlie along with me who can run but then again Narnia trip is tempting.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 7:37pm

your too old

You're*

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 8:39pm
More than likely Have 3 for the game also

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 8:46pm
I'd be up for a fans game too

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 8:51pm
Anyone up for Narnia on Monday?

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 9:06pm

Transnistria the Saturday for me (home Monday). Hope to get back for the second half.Thumbs Up

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 9:19pm

Defo yeah.

I was looking into it from the link Redladdd posted.

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 9:28pm

your too old
Haha! There's no substitute for experience though!

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 9:35pm
Yes. SD has a plan to get there and back. Logistics manager. A few of us are defo up for it.

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:04pm
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

Transnistria the Saturday for me (home Monday). Hope to get back for the second half.Thumbs Up

Hope to do that trip on Saturday as well.Id presume plenty will be doing it that day.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:18pm

Hope to do that trip on Saturday as well.Id presume plenty will be doing it that day.

Glad to hear it - solo on this trip atm. Narnia won't know what hit it Beer

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:27pm
I'm 48 weeks into a 64 week body transformation and the results are not going my way so doubt I'd make the squad . I am heading on a day trip the Saturday and prob a good few others will be going . Maybe play the game v Moldovan fans in Narnia ? Losers don't get to crawl back through the closet and are stuck there forever !

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:31pm

I wonder would there be enough of us heading Saturday to get a minibus ? Arrive around noon and leave at 5/6 o'clock ?
From what i have checked out there aint a lot to do in Tiraspol,more a novelty than anything else.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:41pm

I wonder would there be enough of us heading Saturday to get a minibus ? Arrive around noon and leave at 5/6 o'clock ?
From what i have checked out there aint a lot to do in Tiraspol,more a novelty than anything else.

Sounds perfect - would be much handier.

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 10:53pm
So you're all going to travel all that way to go travel for another few hours on a bus to a place where there's nothing but a few statues to see? 

More vodka for me in Chisinau then Party 

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2016 at 11:11pm
I'll play fans game if its on the Sat.

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2016 at 6:54am
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

I'd be up for a fans game too

The brother is coming with me to Moldova so he will play in the fans match too if one is organised

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2016 at 7:50am

there's three of us. Not sure yet what the plan is. Tiraspol is the easy option but I wouldn't mind doing an overnighter in Odessa for the craic.

I'll keep a close eye on the forum for a bus thread and let ye know what's the craic then.

Posted By: brendy_éire
Date Posted: 21 Jul 2016 at 10:02am

Two of us heading. Booked for two nights there, so might head later in the afternoon.

City Till I Die

Posted By: manulike
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2016 at 6:39pm
bale-droed on the Welsh forum has posted a very interesting BBC 30 minute documentary about Transnistria. Although it was produced in 2005, it is definately worth viewing

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 12:46pm

Glad to hear it - solo on this trip atm. Narnia ONE won't know what hit it Beer
Narnia One - Transnistria

Narnia Two - Liberland

Just a thought, what about Narnia Three. Gagauzia another breakaway territory from Moldova. 
Image result for gagauzia

But unlike in Transnistria, fighting never broke out in Gagauzia. A 1994 compromise between Chisinau and the local authorities led to the creation of the Autonomous Region of Gagauzia within Moldova. With a population of 160,000 (about five percent of Moldova’s total) and occupying just five percent of Moldova’s territory, Gagauzia is not actually a contiguous region. Rather, it comprises all areas of Moldova in which the Gagauz are over half the population, as well parts of the country that have joined Gagauzia by referendum. 

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 9:18pm
Ah here what kind of a mad house is this we're going to

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 10:22pm

Well Moldovans gotta come here and we gotta explain about guys up north and the PRC in Munster and that is before they get introduced to people from Mayo.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2016 at 8:05am
Originally posted by OscarDelta OscarDelta wrote:

Well Moldovans gotta come here and we gotta explain about guys up north and the PRC in Munster and that is before they get introduced to people from Mayo.
true

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2016 at 3:32pm
Mayodolva has a good ring to it 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 5:27pm

Defo yeah.

I was looking into it from the link Redladdd posted.

What's Narnia lads? 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 7:30pm

What's Narnia lads? 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transnistria" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transnistria

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 7:46pm
Originally posted by irish_goat irish_goat wrote:

What's Narnia lads? 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transnistria" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transnistria

Why would you want to visit this place? Novelty factor

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 7:51pm

What's Narnia lads? 

Novelty, another country off the list, few Soviet sites to see. Plus it'll be dirt cheap. 

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 10:15pm

What's Narnia lads? 

Novelty, another country off the list, few Soviet sites to see. Plus it'll be dirt cheap. 

There are several daily return buses from Chişinău to Comrat (around 40 lei). From Comrat there is one daily direct bus via Bendery to  http://lonelyplanet.com/moldova/transdniestr/tiraspol" rel="nofollow - Tiraspol , and others that make frequent stops.

Two Narnia's for the price of one. 

Check this out. €10 for a 23kg bag one way from Chisnau -Dublin on Moldovan Airlines. Lots of local brandy,vodka,wine to be brought home along with a few old Soviet souvenirs. Possibly a passport stamp thrown in for good measure,there's the novelty  LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 10:17pm

Mayodolva has a good ring to it 

Can we swap Inda for their PM ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pavel_Filip" rel="nofollow - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pavel_Filip

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2016 at 10:43pm
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

What's Narnia lads? 

There are several daily return buses from Chişinău to Comrat (around 40 lei). From Comrat there is one daily direct bus via Bendery to  http://lonelyplanet.com/moldova/transdniestr/tiraspol" rel="nofollow - Tiraspol , and others that make frequent stops.

Two Narnia's for the price of one. 

Check this out. €10 for a 23kg bag one way from Chisnau -Dublin on Moldovan Airlines. Lots of local brandy,vodka,wine to be brought home along with a few old Soviet souvenirs. Possibly a passport stamp thrown in for good measure,there's the novelty  LOLLOLLOL

https://munchies.vice.com/en/articles/i-went-to-a-country-that-doesnt-exist-to-drink-its-famous-brandy

Kvint brandy from Transnistria www.kvint.md. (DIVIN) is one of their brands. Another brandy is Calarasi

www.calarasidivin.md 

Bucuria chocolate from Moldova is excellent.

Cricova and Purcari and fantastic wines. 

E10 euro one way for a 23kg  folded sports bag  inside your carry on luggage. E2 euro from Chisnau to Comrat.  Then a direct bus to LALA land. Some trip.LOL

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2016 at 2:17pm
There is a wine tour one can take, me thinks some cheeses and fine wines and a tour would be a better way to spend a day then visiting Narnia, but each to their own and all that..

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2016 at 2:22pm

There is a wine tour one can take, me thinks some cheeses and fine wines and a tour would be a better way to spend a day then visiting Narnia, but each to their own and all that..
will do both

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2016 at 2:37pm
Sounds good,wine tour in La Rochelle was well worth the trip,would love to do Narnia etc but only have 2 and half days.

Posted By: manchesterbhoy
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 10:31pm
http://dutyfree.md" rel="nofollow - http://dutyfree.md

For the airport on the way back not sure if its better to buy outside thw duty free

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 11:19pm
Originally posted by manchesterbhoy manchesterbhoy wrote:

http://dutyfree.md" rel="nofollow - http://dutyfree.md

For the airport on the way back not sure if its better to buy outside thw duty free

Could easily see a few lads taking these back to help cover cost of the trip

We flying via Romania so need to see what can bring back that way

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 4:20pm
Anyone know how much a name change is on Air Moldova ? Also anyone looking a direct flight 8th - 11th

Posted By: KevinM
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 5:03pm
Anyone know when the portal opens for this? Still has Serbia up on the fai site

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by KevinM KevinM wrote:

Anyone know when the portal opens for this? Still has Serbia up on the fai site

Probably late next week. Friday next week is four weeks to the match so it's likely to open then.

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 5:16pm

Anyone know how much a name change is on Air Moldova ? Also anyone looking a direct flight 8th - 11th
No, airlines’ policy does not allow to transfer the ticket to another person. In case of such necessity the ticket should be refunded in accordance with the rules of the applicable fare and new ticket should be purchased. 

Please note that some fares are non-refundable, therefore we strongly suggest you to check the rules of the applicable fare when purchasing tickets online or ask your agent to provide full information about the rules of the applicable fare. 

For more information, please contact us by phone +373 22 57 65 45 or at  mailto:helpdesk@airmoldova.md" rel="nofollow - helpdesk@airmoldova.md .

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2016 at 5:23pm
Cheers Sham , will give them a ring

Posted By: cathalb96
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:37am
How's everybody going about getting Moldovan money? Using ATMs over there? Banks here don't do it and the bureau de change in the airport doesn't seem to do it either

Cathal Bourke

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 7:54am
Originally posted by cathalb96 cathalb96 wrote:

How's everybody going about getting Moldovan money? Using ATMs over there? Banks here don't do it and the bureau de change in the airport doesn't seem to do it either

Panic

Posted By: daskip89
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 8:55am

Do they have ATMs in Moldova??

Posted By: deebee
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 9:17am

2 Bank Branches on the 1st floor of Airport Terminal in Chisinau.

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 10:58am
Any pickpockets over there ?

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 11:10am
Originally posted by deebee deebee wrote:

Unfortunately I'm getting a train from Bucharest!

Cathal Bourke

Posted By: ybigeejit
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 11:41am

Surely Romanian money will be handy enough to get over here. At least enough for the train and a few cans anyway

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:04pm
Originally posted by ybigeejit ybigeejit wrote:

Surely Romanian money will be handy enough to get over here. At least enough for the train and a few cans anyway

Yeah Romanian money's grand, moldovan money's the problem though

Cathal Bourke

Posted By: ybigeejit
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:25pm
Hit the ATM as soon as you arrive in Chisinau

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:33pm
Sprry lads, but cant beleve we still have lads asking about money. Have yet to travel anywhere either for football or a holiday and have a problem finding an ATM or a Bureau De Change, and most places even have electric these days to power them...

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:43pm
FYI lads I was told by someone I work with who is Moldovan that there is only two brands of ATM in the country which accepts foreign cards

Unibank being the best one, there is 2 in Airport and 1 outside the Govt building in the city centre

Originally posted by ybigeejit ybigeejit wrote:

Yeah Romanian money's grand, moldovan money's the problem though

Change the euros when you get to Chisinau will be loads of bureau de changes over there. Your taking the train I'd say be several atms in the train station so just use them

Absolutely no reason to worry/panic about it

Posted By: cm79
Will there be an airport near Chisinau for the planes to land in or will we have to do a parachute jump out of the plane?

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:52pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

Will there be an airport near Chisinau for the planes to land in or will we have to do a parachute jump out of the plane?

There's no parachute. They have a few piles of straw on the back of trailers, with donkeys pulling them around so they can catch you and give you a safe landing. It's safe as houses. The plane flies over at about 1,000ft and the drop zone is a decent size.

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:15pm

Sprry lads, but cant beleve we still have lads asking about money. Have yet to travel anywhere either for football or a holiday and have a problem finding an ATM or a Bureau De Change, and most places even have electric these days to power them...
Money is always an issue. It's never that easy

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:17pm

FYI lads I was told by someone I work with who is Moldovan that there is only two brands of ATM in the country which accepts foreign cards

Unibank being the best one, there is 2 in Airport and 1 outside the Govt building in the city centre
Yet to see any establishment in eastern europe refuse to take your euro/sterling/dollar and not exchange it for you, alright not great rate on it but if your stuck chance your hand with 50 quid till you get to an atm

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:21pm
Lads wiki says there's only 1 atm in the whole city

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:23pm

Lads wiki says there's only 1 atm in the whole city

PANIC!!

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:26pm
Some of the machines over there won't be able to read some of the chip and pin cards that are used here.

Not sure what the issue is with them.

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:28pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

bring a load of Shirley Basseys with you and sellotape

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:29pm

Money is always an issue. It's never that easy
maybe keeping it in your pocket out of the way from pickpockets is

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 1:30pm
Won't need money over there..........a pound of Kerrygold gets you a 6 pack of the local brew and a large box of Barrys T-bags is good enough for a BJ (every day should have its golden moment)..