URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=54264
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 1:09am

Topic: Georgia - 12th Oct 2019- Travel & Acomm
Posted By: Green-Gallagher
Subject: Georgia - 12th Oct 2019- Travel & Acomm
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 8:27pm
Hey all how's things?

Firstly I know this is next September and well off but I wamt to start looking at options and which away game I'm going to pick for the campaign.

I know I've posted before about possible trips to Belgrade and Maldova etc. But I'm thinking of maybe budgeting for the game away to Georgia in September 2017. It just seems like a right old adventure. And as somebody like me who is a travel addict its another part of the world I could tick off the list.

I was just wondering if any guys who had been to Tbilisi in the last campaign or over the years could suggest weather a trip out is worth it and how does it rank in terms of away days?

I was seriously thinking about Belgrade, but would you hold out and head to Tblisi alternatively? Sadly can only do one away game as the funds are tight. Thinking the Georgia game will give me some space.

Anyway all advice and tales welcome on helping me to start looking at putting a trip together.

Cheers.

Posted By: Tyronebhoy
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 9:37pm
I was there for last game, flew solo, and will probably (almost 100%, who am I kidding!) do same again. Flew via Amsterdam and Istanbul like a fair few Ybiggers.
Not a bad spot, cheap food and drink, plenty of bars, which were always pretty empty, locals sound enough if a bit reserved. City isn't prettiest in world but interesting enough to dander round. Weather was decent so should be again as it's same time of year.

Some of the taxi drivers and shop owners may try to semi rip you off, but you'd get that in plenty of places. Few of fans made trip to Stalin's home town, which I'd be keen to do this time round.

Oh, no beer on sale in stadium (which is very central and easy to get to), only Coke, so if you can last 90 minutes without a swally you'll be fine

Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 9:39pm
Tbilisi trip last campaign was fantastic.

Positives:

We took over a bar for the weekend
Said bar had no closing time
Georgian supporters club met us off the plane and transferred us by bus to the hotel
Hotel Betsy was deadly
The way we got the result was epic!

Negatives:

Three flights home nearly killed me. Save up, book early and go direct to Istanbul and then connect for Tblisi.

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 10:14pm
I echo what trap for pope said plus...

- The weather was fantastic. Mid to high 20's.

- it's dirt cheap. a fiver for a pizza. Beer costs between one euro and two.

- accommodation is cheap. Look for somewhere close to the hangar bar and McLaren's. That's where the craic will be.

- Stalin's home town of gori is well worth a visit

- Georgian fans were good craic

Definitely go if you can. The match is a Saturday. Try and go Wednesday because it'll take about 12 hours to get there factoring in connections. Most will be on the early hour rtn flights after the match so you'll be home at some point on the Sunday.

Posted By: brendy_éire
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 11:40pm
First time in Tbilisi last campaign, second time in Georgia. It's a nice enough country, but it wouldn't have tons of stuff to do.
Tbilisi is a grand town, but we pretty much done it all in the three nights we had there.
If you're going for several days, Gori is worth a visit only for the Stalin museum, nothing else in the town. Batumi over on the west coast is really interesting. It's mostly a dump, but then there's these amazing casinos along the coast.
The food and wine are both good, people are friendly and it's cheap. I'd definitely recommend it as an away trip, but honestly wouldn't recommend someone to go just as a normal holiday.
This time round, we'll be flying to Batumi or Kutaisi, spending a night or two there, then heading to Abkhazia for a night. More than happy to do just the one night in Tbilisi.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2016 at 11:53pm
Only 2 aways in 2017 , will defo do this journey to Georgia . I think we are well over due an away friendly but doubt we have 1 in 2016 but maybe I am wrong & someone knows more Wacko

Posted By: OscarDelta
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 12:20am
Looked at flight options from Tblisi as that gives a guide to where Airlines fly to from there.

LOT (Polish Airlines) fly to Tblisi via Warsaw which must admit would much prefer transiting through than any Turkish Airport at the moment.

No direct flights to Warsaw Chopin from Dublin at the moment but there are from London.................... reckon £200 would be best price as BA to Warsaw and LOT to Tblisi may be best option.

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 7:10am
Originally posted by OscarDelta OscarDelta wrote:

Looked at flight options from Tblisi as that gives a guide to where Airlines fly to from there.

LOT (Polish Airlines) fly to Tblisi via Warsaw which must admit would much prefer transiting through than any Turkish Airport at the moment.

No direct flights to Warsaw Chopin from Dublin at the moment but there are from London.................... reckon £200 would be best price as BA to Warsaw and LOT to Tblisi may be best option.
are lingus go to Chopin. Used this route in 2014

Posted By: OscarDelta
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 10:55am

True

None came up on Skyscanner when I looked but was looking June next year to get an idea of prices.................... as turns out Aer Lingus on own website only have up to May.

Early morning flight from Dub but coming back on Sun is 11am from Warsaw..................... very doable.

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 11:17am
Wizz air fly to Georgia from about 9 European airports.

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 12:29pm
Well worth the trip.
Done this solo last time too. Worked out cheaper than the Germany trip the month later overall. Hopefully be doing it again.
Went dub-Istanbul-Tbilisi. Defo worth the few extra quid to do that rather than an extra flight. Turkish airlines from dub-ist has free booze on board as well

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 12:55pm
Thinking of taking in Azerbaijan or Armenia beforehand and turning it into a 10 day holiday. Wizz Air to Baku is an option from many destinations in Europe and then take the night train to Tbilisi after a few days in Azerbaijan.

Perfect time of the year for an away match.

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 1:06pm
Definitely doing this 1 next year as missed it last time around and along with Moldova it was a must do for me once draw was made

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 1:32pm

Thinking of taking in Azerbaijan or Armenia beforehand and turning it into a 10 day holiday. Wizz Air to Baku is an option from many destinations in Europe and then take the night train to Tbilisi after a few days in Azerbaijan.

Visa needed for Azerbaijan though, which is a pain in the arse. Think I'll combine this with a trip to Turkey as well.

City Till I Die

Posted By: bannerboy95
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 6:17pm
Think I'll be doing this too will probably book within the next few months as brendy said above a day or two in istanbul would break the journey up nicely

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2016 at 11:15pm

True

None came up on Skyscanner when I looked but was looking June next year to get an idea of prices.................... as turns out Aer Lingus on own website only have up to May.

Early morning flight from Dub but coming back on Sun is 11am from Warsaw..................... very doable.

You could alway fly to Modlin in Warsaw with Ryanair and then get modlin bus to chopin cheap as chips and only 1 hr 10 mins journey. 

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 10 Jul 2016 at 4:12pm
Originally posted by brendy_éire brendy_éire wrote:

Visa needed for Azerbaijan though, which is a pain in the arse. Think I'll combine this with a trip to Turkey as well.

And if you have an Armenian visa in your passport from 2010.  You won't get a Azerbaihjan one.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2016 at 5:45pm
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

And if you have an Armenian visa in your passport from 2010.  You won't get a Azerbaihjan one.

I don't have an Armenian visa in my passport.

I have read online about travellers who've gone from Armenia to Azerbaijan via Georgia so unless it's a new thing I don't think it matters.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2016 at 9:06pm

I have read online about travellers who've gone from Armenia to Azerbaijan via Georgia so unless it's a new thing I don't think it matters.

Aye, it's not an issue these days, unless there's evidence that you've been to Nagorno-Karabakh. Or if you have an Armenian name. Which is just racist.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2016 at 3:23pm
For anyone thinking of travelling via Kutaisi, a few words of warning:

There is only one train a day from Kutaisi to Tbilisi, and it runs at 12:15, arriving 17:40 local time (local time kick off is 20:00, so you'd want to be on the train on the Friday at the latest, to be sure). The train out from Tbilisi leaves at 08:55, arriving 14:18. These times could change, so just keep an eye closer to the time.

The trains only have a set number of seats, so you'd be well advised to book in advance, as they will not sell tickets if the train is already full. You can buy tickets online, anyway, but you will need to provide passport details. The address is railway.ge but make sure you use a virus scanner: it has been hacked a few times in the past, although it seems to be secure enough now.

That said, you could always just take a minibus, which shouldn't be too expensive, and possibly a bit quicker than the bus, albeit it is unlikely to be cheaper. It is motorway about half the way between the two, and the rest should be alright, as it is the main road in Georgia. The train is only about 3 or 4 euro, so I imagine a minibus will be more.

Posted By: Pearse1879
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2016 at 11:02pm
Can't wait to get this booked up whenever flights come out. Going tomake it my first away trip

Posted By: Darraghn92
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:50pm
Flights from Dublin to Warsaw for 54 quid on the Wednesday morning (09:45-13:25) with Ryanair, then a flight that night (30th August) for 187 quid @22.30pm, arrives in Tbilisi at 4am Thursday morning.

Anyone know any other decent routes? Cheapest direct flight from Dublin to Istanbul the same day is around 260 quid and that's not factoring in the flight from Istanbul to Tbilisi

Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 12:52pm
The match is a year away and already several hotels in Tblisi are fully booked up! LOL

Posted By: manulike
Date Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 2:21pm
KLM have a direct flight dept from AMS at 10.40am for 190 euro return, as well as another two flights transferring in Kiev. Can start from most UK airports for about 50 euro more...

You will need to wait another 2 weeks or so for September to become bookable

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2016 at 6:46pm
There are not many ways of passenger ferry travel any more, but if you are flying to kiev and then on to Georgia, there is still a twice weekly ferry going across the Black Sea.
I am not entirely sure if the Odessa to Istanbul ferry allows passenger only.
The ferry from Odessa to Batumi in Georgia takes 48 hours and costs 100 euros in a 4-berth cabin.
The fee includes 3 meals a day.
Odessa is gorgeous in early September!

There are cheaper ways of getting from Kiev to Georgia ... but I am pretty sure this will be my way ;-)

http://redirect.viglink.com?key=bbb516d91daee20498798694a42dd559&u=http%3A//www.ukrferry.com/eng/schedules/ilyichevsk-poti-batumi" rel="nofollow - www.ukrferry.com/eng/schedules/ilyichevsk-poti-batumi

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2016 at 5:24pm
Going to make a bit of a holiday out of this by going over on the Wednesday and home the Monday in time for the home game on the 5th.

Looking at flying to kutasi and spending some time there or in batumi

For those of yous that were in tiblisi last time how many days you recommend spending in it. Have hotel booked in it for nights around the game would yous recommend staying in it longer

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2016 at 6:31pm
Did 4 nights the last time and that was grand,got to see plenty of Tbilisi and do a bit of tourist stuff too,wine tasting etc.

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2016 at 7:36pm
Originally posted by manulike manulike wrote:

There are not many ways of passenger ferry travel any more, but if you
are flying to kiev and then on to Georgia, there is still a twice weekly
ferry going across the Black Sea.
I am not entirely sure if the Odessa to Istanbul ferry allows passenger only.
The ferry from Odessa to Batumi in Georgia takes 48 hours and costs 100 euros in a 4-berth cabin.
The fee includes 3 meals a day.
Odessa is gorgeous in early September!

There are cheaper ways of getting from Kiev to Georgia ... but I am pretty sure this will be my way ;-)

http://redirect.viglink.com?key=bbb516d91daee20498798694a42dd559&u=http%3A//www.ukrferry.com/eng/schedules/ilyichevsk-poti-batumi" rel="nofollow - www.ukrferry.com/eng/schedules/ilyichevsk-poti-batumi

I would have been interested in this only for the fact it's a pain in the hole to get to Odessa.

Will save the time instead to see more of Georgia and hopefully Armenia.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 7:29pm

The match is a year away and already several hotels in Tblisi are fully booked up! LOL

Thought you were having a laugh but noticed that earlier. A huge amount of central 3 and 4 star hotels are all fully booked the nights around the match. Strange. Must be something else on too?

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 7:42pm
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

Thought you were having a laugh but noticed that earlier. A huge amount of central 3 and 4 star hotels are all fully booked the nights around the match. Strange. Must be something else on too?
could be a case that hotels havent released their rooms/pricing for a year ina dvance yet.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 7:54pm

Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

could be a case that hotels havent released their rooms/pricing for a year ina dvance yet.

That's probably it.

Looks like there's some serious steep hills there too..

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 8:03pm
Yep, stayed in Betsy the last time for the pool that Imnever used once. Was on a fair hill. Booked into a digs onFreedom Sq this time

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 8:15pm
Yeah, got one earlier very close to the square. First one I booked was alot cheaper but up one serious hill...

Posted By: manchesterbhoy
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 8:41pm
Flights for this are honking too lot via Warsaw arrives 4am departs 50 mins later
Lufthansa option isn't a lot better

Don't fancy using g lies or Istanbul if anyone has better ideas

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 9:22pm
Had hotel betsy booked but just booked an apartment in freedom square for the 3 nights

Going to spend a night or 2 in either batumi or kutasi and then head to tiblisi

Is several different flight options obviously have the Istanbul and Kiev routes and then have the options through kutasi

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 10:49pm
Originally posted by manchesterbhoy manchesterbhoy wrote:

Flights for this are honking too lot via Warsaw arrives 4am departs 50 mins later
Lufthansa option isn't a lot better

Don't fancy using g lies or Istanbul if anyone has better ideas

UIA does €61 one-way Kiev-Tbilisi
Dept Kiev 11:25
Arrive Tbilisi 16:10

On the way back its:
Dept TBI 17:10
Arrive KIEV 18:15

Stayed a week in Kiev this March. Great city!

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2016 at 11:34pm
Is around Freedom Square the best area to book?

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 7:45am

not bad at all. The centre of the action is along a pedestrian strip which is full of bars and restaurants. The two bars frequented by thr Irish in large numbers the last time are at either end of the strip.. Look for the sioni cathedral near the river. It is bang in the middle of the strip.

...and re: hickster > ya it's very hilly. A bit like Sarajevo you want to be looking for a gaff close to the river.

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 10:26am
http://www.google.co.uk/maps/@41.6917173,44.8073105,17.25z" rel="nofollow - http://www.google.co.uk/maps/@41.6917173,44.8073105,17.25z

Anywhere around the above would be a decent spot to stay. We stayed on the other side of the river last time and there wasn't much life about it.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 11:33am
Some great photos and loads of reviews here
https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g294195-d2301874-Reviews-Old_Town_Altstadt_Tbilisi-Tbilisi.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g294195-d2301874-Reviews-Old_Town_Altstadt_Tbilisi-Tbilisi.html

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 12:16pm

For handiness, yes.  Taxis are dirt cheap and very plentiful, but the drivers are an absolute nightmare.  You'd honestly think they've never seen the place before, none of them know where anything is or how to get there, even if pointed out to them on a map and in three different languages.  It's not the place you want to be using any form of transport bar on foot or by metro.

City Till I Die

Posted By: Gearoid101
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 12:50pm
Just booked the Point Hotel Tbilisi

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 1:51pm
Seems the apartment we have booked is right in the middle of freedom square. Will do the job for the few days we are there and seems to be walking distance to everything

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2016 at 2:11pm

Seems the apartment we have booked is right in the middle of freedom square. Will do the job for the few days we are there and seems to be walking distance to everything

We've one there as well. 

Date Posted: 14 Sep 2016 at 4:48pm
Booked hotel I was in for last game. North of the river, 10-minute walk from ground and 20 minutes from Freedom Square, happy enough. That's simple part... now, if I could get flights that get me into Tbilisi in daylight!

Date Posted: 14 Sep 2016 at 4:55pm
Originally posted by Tyronebhoy Tyronebhoy wrote:

Booked hotel I was in for last game. North of the river, 10-minute walk from ground and 20 minutes from Freedom Square, happy enough. That's simple part... now, if I could get flights that get me into Tbilisi in daylight!
Wont happen.....

Posted By: Monaghan abu
Date Posted: 15 Sep 2016 at 10:17pm
there is a flight at 6 in morning out of Warsaw v kiev get in 15-45

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2016 at 11:10am
Originally posted by Monaghan abu Monaghan abu wrote:

there is a flight at 6 in morning out of Warsaw v kiev get in 15-45

To make that flight would require an overnight stay in Warsaw, no?  It's a bugger gettin' to Tblisi alright.

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2016 at 4:47pm
One from Gatwick just after midnight on the Wednesday via Kiev that'll get me in at 4.45pm the same day, looks like the best option. Six-hour stopover in Kiev. Return on day after match gets into Gatwick at 11.25am, with another stopover in Kiev. Handy to get me to and from Belfast. Anybody know if the bars are 24-hour in Kiev Airport? 

Date Posted: 16 Sep 2016 at 11:29pm

One from Gatwick just after midnight on the Wednesday via Kiev that'll get me in at 4.45pm the same day, looks like the best option. Six-hour stopover in Kiev. Return on day after match gets into Gatwick at 11.25am, with another stopover in Kiev. Handy to get me to and from Belfast. Anybody know if the bars are 24-hour in Kiev Airport? 

I was at Kiev airport in March.
Whatever you do, try to stay air-side, as land-side there is only a very small cafe and quite a basic restaurant (that probably sells booze, but I didn't check). Must admit that when I landed (at 1am) the place looked kind of deserted, but I wasn't on the look-out at the time for bars etc.

I stayed in a fairly decent hotel about 5km away from the airport for just 7 euro a night (single room) or 10 euro double - they had a 24 hour restaurant and bar as well ;-)

Let me know if you need their details

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2016 at 1:48am

Whatever you do, try to stay air-side, as land-side there is only a very small cafe and quite a basic restaurant (that probably sells booze, but I didn't check). Must admit that when I landed (at 1am) the place looked kind of deserted, but I wasn't on the look-out at the time for bars etc.

I stayed in a fairly decent hotel about 5km away from the airport for just 7 euro a night (single room) or 10 euro double - they had a 24 hour restaurant and bar as well ;-)

Cheers for the info, appreciate it

Posted By: wicklowrunner
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2016 at 9:29am

You can get this trip for €350 from Dublin...but 2 stopovers... Gatwick & Kiev...

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2016 at 7:20pm
Originally posted by wicklowrunner wicklowrunner wrote:

You can get this trip for €350 from Dublin...but 2 stopovers... Gatwick & Kiev...

Booked this, slightly different times. Outta Gatwick on the Tuesday night at 11pm, gets me into Tbilisi at 4.20pm on the Wednesday. Back to Gatwick on the Sunday by 11.25am. All via Kiev, 7+ hour stopover on way out but only couple hours on way back. Just over £250. Flights to Gatwick from Belfast cheap during week, so happy enough.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2016 at 7:50pm
Note that Kiev airport is a fair way out form the city centre.
Reckon on a good hour by taxi (haggle hard for 300Gv fare - 10 euro) and around 70 to 80 minutes by Sky Bus 322 also called 'Palet' (costs 60Gv - about 2 euro).
Security and passport checks at Kiev were a total breeze - but do allow 40-45 minutes prior to departure, even if you have nothing to check in.
This should give you about 3 hours net time in Kiev.
Enjoy!

Timetable - https://kbp.aero/en/transport/sky-bus/" rel="nofollow - https://kbp.aero/en/transport/sky-bus/

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2016 at 5:43pm
Probably will just try and get head down in airport after few beers rather than go into town. We had
six-hour layover in Glasgow on way to Malta for game in 1999 and very nearly missed the plane after going on rip in city... surreal experience to hear your names being announced all over an airport telling you the gate's about to close Embarrassed

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 1:26pm
Turkish Airlines Dublin - Istanbul -Tbilisi works out at €462 presently that's Thursday -Monday. Ukrainian Airlines London Gatwick - Kiev - Tbilisi return out Thursday back Sunday works out at £254 stg. Ryanair and Aerlingus fly into Gatwick cheap enough most days approx €70 return. Good times out of Dublin.

Flights back to Gatwick early morning from Tbilisi give you plenty of time to connect onward to Dublin.

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 3:01pm
Stupid question - is the Station Square metro on Freedom Square.. The map I'm looking at on booking.com doesn't actually say Freedom anywhere..

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 10:52pm
Originally posted by willmcc83 willmcc83 wrote:

Stupid question - is the Station Square metro on Freedom Square.. The map I'm looking at on booking.com doesn't actually say Freedom anywhere..

Station Square is about 4km North of Freedom Square.
It looks very handy for the Dinamo Stadium, though - less than 1km...

Pushkin Square and Freedom Sq are the two which are spitting distance from eachother

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 10:56pm
4 day trip enough ?

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 11:07pm
Plenty. If you've not been before, I'd recommend a day trip up to Gori and the Stalin museum and a day trip to the mountains. That's two days and match day is a third day, so that's perfect. I assume you mean four days and three nights. That actually might only leave one full free day but that's still fine.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 7:47am
Four full days is ideal but remember it takes the guts of a day to get there and you'll be leaving more than likely on a flight in the early hours.

The last time i went for 3 nights but in reality I was only in Georgia for little over 36 hours given the long haul (left London on Friday midday arriving at Tbilisi airport in the early hours of Saturday morning and left after the match on a 4am flight on Sunday night / Monday morning).

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 8:21am
Anyone booking this now remember we have a home game on the Tuesday night. For us culchies it might be an idea to fly back to dublin on the Monday evening and stay in Dublin that night for the game on Tuesday

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 8:26am

Originally posted by willmcc83 willmcc83 wrote:

Station Square is about 4km North of Freedom Square.
It looks very handy for the Dinamo Stadium, though - less than 1km...

Pushkin Square and Freedom Sq are the two which are spitting distance from eachother

Cheers pal

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 8:46am

Plenty. If you've not been before, I'd recommend a day trip up to Gori and the Stalin museum and a day trip to the mountains. 

I'd combine those into the one day. That's what we did anyway. Didn't feel like there's enough in Gori to last a full day anyway. 

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 9:03am
Originally posted by irish_goat irish_goat wrote:

Plenty. If you've not been before, I'd recommend a day trip up to Gori and the Stalin museum and a day trip to the mountains. 

I'd combine those into the one day. That's what we did anyway. Didn't feel like there's enough in Gori to last a full day anyway. 

Aye there's nothing in Gori apart from the Stalin museum which for those who haven't been is well worth visiting. We even failed to find a restaurant or a bar whilst there.

Anyone into hill walking / hiking would love Georgia. The Caucasus mountains are incredible and littered with walking trails. Just throwing that out there as another thing to do.

http://www.caucasus-trekking.com" rel="nofollow - http://www.caucasus-trekking.com

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 10:18am

Aye there's nothing in Gori apart from the Stalin museum which for those who haven't been is well worth visiting. We even failed to find a restaurant or a bar whilst there. 

Yeah we only found a bakery and then headed back home after the museum. 

For people wondering about how to get to Gori or go see the mountains, you can hire a taxi to take you about. I think we paid €40 and the fella drove us to 3 different places. Was about 6 hours in all so pretty good value. He had originally asked for twice the amount but we knew the going rate and he was happy to take it after a bit of haggling. 

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 10:30am
We did a trip up the Military Road to the mountains in the North not a million miles away from South Ossetia. Had  few stops on the way, mainly around old churches. Taken up to a church in jeeps because you wouldn't do it in a bus. It was an interesting day and I think it was 10.30pm or so before we got back to Tbilisi. We left about 11am so a fairly full day.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2016 at 5:35pm
Yeah, that was a good day. It wasn't expensive either, iirc, and they gave us food and some local fire water that may as well have been petrol.

Date Posted: 30 Sep 2016 at 11:50am
Just booked this one via Amsterdam and Kiev

Doing the overnight in the dam both ways due to flight times

Flight price all in £225 which includes luggage and seat res on Kim

Flights all linked up so no hassle with delays

Now for a hotel

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2016 at 7:11pm
Think I might go to this game. Have always took the safe options on away trips...be nice to go to one of the less traditional away games.

Won't be able to rubber stamp the trip until November though.

What seems to be the best route from Ireland??

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2016 at 7:56pm
There are a load of options but it depends on your priorities and whether you are prepared to pay a bit more to fly at more sociable hours, or to deal with three flights rather than two. Also, some of the potential cheaper options haven't gone on sale yet, and those that have might yet come down in price.

A lot of people flew three flights each way last time around, the second two with Pegasus through Istanbul, but they aren't up for sale yet. Most of those options involved Ryanair flights to places like Stansted, Charleroi, Amsterdam and the likes, then two flights from there via Istanbul Sabiha Gokcen.

Even the two flight options (generally with Lufthansa via Munich or Istanbul with Turkish airlines) tend to arrive and leave at mad hours, like arriving in at 3am and leaving at 4am.

If you want to leave Tbilisi at a reasonable hour of the day, rather than like 4am, you'll probably need to spend an overnight somewhere on the way back, although maybe not on the way over, flying with Ukraine International Airlines, via Kiev, with ryanair connections booked separately, whether you're flying via London, Amsterdam, Dusseldorf, or somewhere else. There are loads of options.

This all leaves aside the options that go to and from Kutaisi (rather than Tbilisi) with Wizzair and connecting Ryanair flights to those.... however, the Wizzair flights are pretty expensive at the minute. They are likely to come down in price closer to the time, in a way that some other airlines aren't, and could well end up being the cheapest way there and back, depending on the options.

That all being the case, you might well not need to book yet, but it's hard to know. If you find an option at a reasonable price that you are happy with, just go with it.

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2016 at 9:38pm
I know all the flights aren't up yet, but I can't find any way of leaving Ireland and arriving the same day at any sort of reasonable time. Best seems to be arriving around midnight, most are in the early hours of the morning.
So your choice is to spend a night on the continent or arrive at night. Some of the flights from the continent leave early in the morning, so you could get by without a hotel for the night.
If you chose to arrive at night, just make sure you can still check-in at that time, particularly if it's an apartment.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2016 at 9:44pm

I know all the flights aren't up yet, but I can't find any way of leaving Ireland and arriving the same day at any sort of reasonable time. Best seems to be arriving around midnight, most are in the early hours of the morning.
So your choice is to spend a night on the continent or arrive at night. Some of the flights from the continent leave early in the morning, so you could get by without a hotel for the night.
If you chose to arrive at night, just make sure you can still check-in at that time, particularly if it's an apartment.

Arriving the same day?

You could if you were on the same mode of transport as Captain Picard

Posted By: AidoM
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 12:05am
Flights to eastern European countries such as Georgia arrive and leave VERY early in the mornings Ermm

But what they do have and no-one can deny this now, they have the finest collection of boilers in the world! And I include Canada in that!

Posted By: de scientist
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 2:44am
Originally posted by AidoM AidoM wrote:

Flights to eastern European countries such as Georgia arrive and leave VERY early in the mornings Ermm

Fair play Aido for stating the obvious again...... 

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 9:28am
If your looking daytime flights you'll have to go via Kiev or similar

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 8:48pm
Shannon - Berlin - Kutaisi- tbilisi can be done for 100 but need a stop over in Berlin, best route I've found yet.

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 9:06pm

Shannon - Berlin - Kutaisi- tbilisi can be done for 100 but need a stop over in Berlin, best route I've found yet.

Keep your cards close to your Chest mate , when we have 5k lads looking to get here in Sept then the prices will go through the roof

Posted By: cathalb96
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 9:18pm

Keep your cards close to your Chest mate , when we have 5k lads looking to get here in Sept then the prices will go through the roof

5k? More like 500

Cathal Bourke

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 10:07pm
In fairness we're playing Georgia, will have about 500 I'd say a lot less than half will even see that post and a very miniscule amount of those will even consider booking it, with Austria in a few weeks I would be pretty shocked if them prices go up too much from people booking them, lots of cheap ways through kutaisi im sure there'll be a couple of buses being run. And I'm pretty sure Butch is joking with the 5000

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 10:20pm

In fairness we're playing Georgia, will have about 500 I'd say a lot less than half will even see that post and a very miniscule amount of those will even consider booking it, with Austria in a few weeks I would be pretty shocked if them prices go up too much from people booking them, lots of cheap ways through kutaisi im sure there'll be a couple of buses being run. And I'm pretty sure Butch is joking with the 5000

You organising the bus this time lad most likely going to go via kutasi as well

Posted By: Georgi
Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 10:46pm
So I was reading the topic and since I'm from Georgia I thought I'd register and offer a couple of tips.

Some people are getting destinations way wrong. Gori and Kutaisi aren't worth a visit imho there are much much better places in Georgia. 

Mtskheta is right next to Tbilisi, oldest town in Georgia with the best food/restaurants in the country as well as medieval temple on top of the mountain with great views if you're into sightseeing. 

Georgia is a known wine making country, and if you're interested in knowing what wine tasted like 3000 years ago you can visit Telavi or Sighnaghi, both lovely towns with huge cellars and common wine tourism.

Georgia is a huge destination for trekkers, and nature freaks. there is no shortage of amazing natural sights if you have a few days and good legs. here is a nice preview of what you might expect. https://www.reddit.com/r/europe/comments/4ywfxt/hello_europe_from_georgia/

Batumi is a nice town with casinos, a lot of music festivals are also held there, don't know if there will be any at the same time as the game but might be worth a visit. 

Also Tbilisi is known to have a vibrant nightlife, Raving is a lifestyle for the youth, if you are into that. here's a great in depth article https://www.residentadvisor.net/features/2666 whatever helps you get over losing the game. 

There's ton of other stuff that I can't recall right away. 

Also one guy mentioned visiting Abkhazia. Make sure you don't go there before going to Georgia since it's illegal and Georgians won't like it either because you're supposed to go from Russia, which means supporting legitimacy of the separatist regime.

For those that just want to go to the game, There are ton of English speaking Expats in Old town Tbilisi, many hang out in Hangar bar, and similar places. You can go up in Narikala fortress or Mtatsminda if you have time. 

If you have any questions I'll answer(if i remember to come back to this forum) 

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 10:59pm
I think I'll leave that to the experts I thought you would have realised after this weekend I'm the last person you'd want organising a bus

Date Posted: 11 Oct 2016 at 11:52pm

I think I'll leave that to the experts I thought you would have realised after this weekend I'm the last person you'd want organising a bus

Aw no bother to you lad probably could of got 1 in Moldova for what you paid that taxi

Posted By: de scientist
Date Posted: 12 Oct 2016 at 1:44am
lads there are too many lurkers on this page. i said it before and i will say it again..... this section of YBIG should be private and not open to the public. 

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2016 at 4:22pm
Do you need a visa for Georgia??

Date Posted: 12 Oct 2016 at 4:31pm

Do you need a visa for Georgia??

No

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2016 at 10:03pm
Originally posted by Georgi Georgi wrote:

So I was reading the topic and since I'm from Georgia I thought I'd register and offer a couple of tips.

Some people are getting destinations way wrong. Gori and Kutaisi aren't worth a visit imho there are much much better places in Georgia. 

Mtskheta is right next to Tbilisi, oldest town in Georgia with the best food/restaurants in the country as well as medieval temple on top of the mountain with great views if you're into sightseeing. 

Georgia is a known wine making country, and if you're interested in knowing what wine tasted like 3000 years ago you can visit Telavi or Sighnaghi, both lovely towns with huge cellars and common wine tourism.

Georgia is a huge destination for trekkers, and nature freaks. there is no shortage of amazing natural sights if you have a few days and good legs. here is a nice preview of what you might expect.  https://www.reddit.com/r/europe/comments/4ywfxt/hello_europe_from_georgia/" rel="nofollow - https://www.reddit.com/r/europe/comments/4ywfxt/hello_europe_from_georgia/

Batumi is a nice town with casinos, a lot of music festivals are also held there, don't know if there will be any at the same time as the game but might be worth a visit. 

Also Tbilisi is known to have a vibrant nightlife, Raving is a lifestyle for the youth, if you are into that. here's a great in depth article  https://www.residentadvisor.net/features/2666" rel="nofollow - https://www.residentadvisor.net/features/2666 whatever helps you get over losing the game. 

There's ton of other stuff that I can't recall right away. 

Also one guy mentioned visiting Abkhazia. Make sure you don't go there before going to Georgia since it's illegal and Georgians won't like it either because you're supposed to go from Russia, which means supporting legitimacy of the separatist regime.

For those that just want to go to the game, There are ton of English speaking Expats in Old town Tbilisi, many hang out in Hangar bar, and similar places. You can go up in Narikala fortress or Mtatsminda if you have time. 

If you have any questions I'll answer(if i remember to come back to this forum) 

A lot of the low cost (wizz) flights arrive in Kutaisi late at night so id imagine spending 1 night there might not be the worst thing in the world, thanks for the tip on Mtskheta  

Posted By: Fr Fintan Stack
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 1:35am
Kutaisi would be some shout alright! Am i right in saying its the least visited place on earth ahead of Moldova? No joke!! LOL

tumblr_o987lwB0np1vthlfbo1_500.gif

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 6:59am
Price of hotels in Kutaisi lol

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 8:11am
Will need to nail the Georgian alphabet this time (it's not Cyrillic but their own unique alphabet). Getting to Gori by Marshrutka (minibus taxi) was a struggle ...and even though I had the aid of a Russian speaking lad travelling with me it was still difficult to find the correct marshrutka in the chaotic bus station.

Looking forward to Georgia as I really enjoyed it the last time we were there but would like to see more of the country and maybe a bit of Armenia or Azerbaijan as well. Time permitting of course.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 8:46am
Anyone thinking of staying a night or 2 in Batumi?

Probably going to take a full week for this one as there's too many flights & travelling to make it a 3 night trip. Going to need at least 2/3 days travelling alone Dead

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 9:38am

Will need to nail the Georgian alphabet this time (it's not Cyrillic but their own unique alphabet). Getting to Gori by Marshrutka (minibus taxi) was a struggle ...and even though I had the aid of a Russian speaking lad travelling with me it was still difficult to find the correct marshrutka in the chaotic bus station.

Looking forward to Georgia as I really enjoyed it the last time we were there but would like to see more of the country and maybe a bit of Armenia or Azerbaijan as well. Time permitting of course.
Y2Y something in the back of my mind tells me that one of those countries and Georgia that if you had a stamp in your passport you would not be allowed into the other . Now I think it's Azerbaijan but not sure , hey well worth checking up on this first off as I do remember one lad was put back on the plane in Armenia as he had a page missing from his passport .

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 11:13am

Y2Y something in the back of my mind tells me that one of those countries and Georgia that if you had a stamp in your passport you would not be allowed into the other

Georgian stamps are fine. The Azeris won't let you in if you have a Nagorno-Karabakh stamp, and you might get some grief with an Armenian one too.

Think I'll do a night in Kutaisi for this one. There's not much to do in Tbilisi, and it seems a bit of a waste to travel that far and only stay one night. Was considering Sukhumi too, but it would involve quite a lot of travel.
Any other decent towns to visit? Been to Gori, but wouldn't recommended an overnight there.

City Till I Die

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 11:30am
You need a visa to go through Turkey right?

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 11:34am

You need a visa to go through Turkey right?

Nope

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 11:36am

Y2Y something in the back of my mind tells me that one of those countries and Georgia that if you had a stamp in your passport you would not be allowed into the other

Georgian stamps are fine. The Azeris won't let you in if you have a Nagorno-Karabakh stamp, and you might get some grief with an Armenian one too.

Think I'll do a night in Kutaisi for this one. There's not much to do in Tbilisi, and it seems a bit of a waste to travel that far and only stay one night. Was considering Sukhumi too, but it would involve quite a lot of travel.
Any other decent towns to visit? Been to Gori, but wouldn't recommended an overnight there.

Isn't it Armenia & Azerbaijan that have some bad relations relating to territory or gas pipelines?  I don't think they can be drawn together in qualifying groups. Heard it somewhere before.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 12:13pm
Did a google image search on Mtskheta looks nice, near tiblisi and cheap as chips

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 12:26pm

Isn't it Armenia & Azerbaijan that have some bad relations relating to territory or gas pipelines?  I don't think they can be drawn together in qualifying groups. Heard it somewhere before.

Bad relations is right ...they are technically at war.

I'm only considering going to one or the other. It would be too much traveling when you consider you can't travel directly between the two countries (travel via Georgia is the only way).

From what I read having a Armenian stamp is not a problem getting into Azerbaijan or vice versa but you may come a cropper trying to enter Azerbaijan with Nagorno Karabakh stamps on the passport. Anyway it won't be an issue for me. The bigger issue is trying to find a reasonably priced route to either Azerbaijan or Armenia from London (direct or indirect). From the limited research done I may have to settle for Georgia which ain't no bad thing I guess.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2016 at 12:32pm
Definitely going to Mtskheta, it's a more realistic option than Batumi which is 6 hours from Tblisi