Topic: Aaron Connolly
Posted By: Coleman esque
Subject: Aaron Connolly
Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 7:29pm
Mervue u17 striker Aaron Connolly has signed for Brighton

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 9:51pm
He should be called up for the Oman game. But I'm sure MON will overlook him like he does with all of our other quality young players...

Posted By: johnvonp
Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 11:18pm
Originally posted by eire77 eire77 wrote:

He should be called up for the Oman game. But I'm sure MON will overlook him like he does with all of our other quality young players...

Did you not hear? He signed for Brighton!! He should be starting against Serbia in the qualifiers!

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 11:26pm
Originally posted by johnvonp johnvonp wrote:

Did you not hear? He signed for Brighton!! He should be starting against Serbia in the qualifiers!
screaming

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 11:34pm
Originally posted by Coleman esque Coleman esque wrote:

screaming

Why? Have you seen a ghost? Or just realised you ordered a curry, have no bog roll and the corner shop is shut?

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2016 at 11:54pm

screaming

Why? Have you seen a ghost? Or just realised you ordered a curry, have no bog roll and the corner shop is shut?
stop trying to be funny

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2016 at 12:21am

screaming

stop trying to be funny

Stop writing like a 12 year old girl

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2016 at 12:22am

screaming

stop trying to be funny

ohh good one chief

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2016 at 12:35am

screaming

stop trying to be funny

ohh good one chief

Screaming

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 05 Jul 2016 at 9:08am
Saw him a few times playing for the Irish U15's, quick & very strong with a good eye for goal. Can play on the wing or up front. Best of luck to him

Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Date Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 7:49pm
Been outstanding for Brighton U23's since moving there, scoring regularly

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2017 at 7:03pm
Makes the bench for Brighton tonight. Towell starting

Posted By: 10 Box
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2017 at 8:12pm

Makes the bench for Brighton tonight. Towell starting

Jayson Molumby starts too

Posted By: DalyerRegular
Date Posted: 04 Nov 2018 at 12:35pm
12 goals in 14 games for Brighton this season. 

Quote from Chris Hughton:  "We take a great interest in the under-23s and they train with us on occasions.

"We're aware of the strengths of Aaron - he's always scored goals - at the moment he's playing in a good team - they're having a very good season."

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 10:45am
Has won PL2 player of the monthClap

Date Posted: 14 Dec 2018 at 4:27pm
CAP HIM Mick

Posted By: Missy
Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 9:05am
Connected with Celtic who would have to pay a nominal fee as they did with Fulham for Dembele.He fits the Celtic model  and with his contract situation at Brighton he would be guaranteed to get Celtic a huge profit when selling on 

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 11:05am
Leeds, man utd & man city all looking to sign him

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 11:12am
Also Hoffenheim supposed to be interested in Aaron too.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 11:27am
He would hardly get a look in with celtic. They will buy another striker no doubt in jan and you have griffiths to come back after his personal problems. He would be better of going somwwhere he is going to get decent gametime.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 11:44am

Would prefer to see this than a move in the UK. 

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2018 at 11:53am

Would prefer to see this than a move in the UK. 

Definitely. Not many clubs in Europe better for giving young players a chance than Hoffenheim.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2019 at 12:47pm
Picked up an injury last night, hopefully not serious.

https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/matches/fixtures/u23-team/201819/january/brighton-and-hove-albion-pl2-vs-arsenal-pl2-on-07-jan-19/" rel="nofollow - https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/matches/fixtures/u23-team/201819/january/brighton-and-hove-albion-pl2-vs-arsenal-pl2-on-07-jan-19/ #

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2019 at 12:53pm
In-form Irish striker Connolly stretchered off against Liverpool's second string https://the42.ie/4440542" rel="nofollow - https://the42.ie/4440542

Not good

Posted By: Howdo
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2019 at 1:10pm
Hamstring according to his twitter

Posted By: Dr. Pat
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2019 at 4:33pm
Terrible timing for Aaron. Loan move to Luton was apparently imminent.

Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 1:55pm
Signed a three and a half year deal with Brighton this morning. Let’s hope that means they play him

Posted By: Missy
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 2:06pm
A cert to go out on loan

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 2:44pm
is he still injured 

Posted By: amccarten313
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 2:57pm
hope he goes out on loan now, good to see they value him at least

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 4:18pm
Think it was a hamstring injury so he’s surely still out?

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 5:47pm

Expected to be out for 2-3 months, has probably scuppered any loan deal.

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 9:05pm
Joins Luton on loan, so much for Hoffenheim...

Posted By: giveittochristie
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 9:24pm
Top of League One is very decent for a first loan move...

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 9:26pm

Not exactly a glamorous move, but if he can prove himself at the top of League 1 at this age then we could be on to a winner. 

The injury must not be as bad as first feared. 

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 9:53pm

Not exactly a glamorous move, but if he can prove himself at the top of League 1 at this age then we could be on to a winner. 

The injury must not be as bad as first feared. 

Hoffenheim aren't glamorous either, and have no history or heritage in the game. They wanted to sign him as young player they could develop for the future, and after he signed a new deal at Brighton he was never going to join them on loan.

Lee and Collins have 26 league goals between them, plus Luton have signed Jason Cummings on loan from Forest. Game-time may be hard to come by for Connolly.

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 10:02pm
Originally posted by Dr. Pat Dr. Pat wrote:

Expected to be out for 2-3 months, has probably scuppered any loan deal.

I nailed that one. I'll take my powers of deduction elsewhere.

Posted By: belt
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2019 at 10:05pm
Don't think it's a good move for him tbh. Surely he should be going somewhere he is guaranteed to start week in, week out.

Collins scored twice the other night so doesn't look like he will be dropping out of the team anytime soon, and they also signed Jason Cummings today. I suppose even if he is coming off the bench, at least he is being exposed to senior football 

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 3:03pm
Just tweeted that he’ll be playing for Brighton under-23s tonight which is weird for a fella who’s supposedly on loan at Luton. 

Does anyone know is he allowed to play for Brighton 23s while recovering from injury and then play for Luton in a few weeks?

Or do we take it that he’s staying at Brighton? 

Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 3:08pm

Just tweeted that he’ll be playing for Brighton under-23s tonight which is weird for a fella who’s supposedly on loan at Luton. 

Does anyone know is he allowed to play for Brighton 23s while recovering from injury and then play for Luton in a few weeks?

If I remember correctly it can be done : Seem to remember Ben Woodburn playing for Liverpool Under 23's while on loan. 

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 5:16pm
looks like its a Friendly game vrs Vancouver Whitecaps

Posted By: CillDara
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 7:54pm
Half time and it's 1-0 Brighton. Aaron with the goal.

Posted By: NewtNewbie
Date Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 9:20pm

He'll join up with Luton when fully fit, I should imagine. He was only back in full training less than two weeks' ago after two months out with a hamstring injury.

Corey Whelan played for Liverpool U-23 Whilst on loan at Crewe as well, don't forget, so it's possible to play for both.

Date Posted: 13 Apr 2019 at 4:52pm
makes his luton debut off the bench today

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 6:47pm
Starts tonight in League Cup away to Bristol Rovers.

Adam Idah starts for Norwich also.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:56pm
Scores.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:57pm
Scores for Brighton in League Cup

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:57pm
lovely finish 

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:58pm
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

lovely finish 

where or how do u see this

Posted By: Nialler
Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:58pm
Stream?

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 8:59pm
Originally posted by mully_85 mully_85 wrote:

lovely finish 

I would imagine the 'how' is self-explanatory...

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 9:00pm
I'm listening to radio commentary, Connolly's been heavily involved since the start of the second half, constantly causing defenders problems.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 9:01pm
Brilliant for him to get on the scoresheet. Seems like he’s been decent so far.

Posted By: gmfc90
Goal here https://streamja.com/QNp9" rel="nofollow - https://streamja.com/QNp9

lovely finish 

Sky sports news showing a lot of goals as they go in. Obafemi was a tap in

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 9:05pm

Goal here https://streamja.com/QNp9" rel="nofollow - https://streamja.com/QNp9
Thanks for heads up.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 9:22pm
He must be close to that senior side given their lack of goals you would think.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 11:08pm

You would think so. Managers live and die by their team selections at prem level and the young players usually suffer as a result so don’t hold your breath.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 11:11pm

You would think so. Managers live and die by their team selections at prem level and the young players usually suffer as a result so don’t hold your breath.

Glenn Murray needs to fook off and retire. Have to hand it to the man. He's still banging in the goals as a pensioner. 

Posted By: eddiebro
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 2:14am
cant wait to see how him and Parrot perform in the same team. Probably gonna be til Kennys time though

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 2:26am
Originally posted by eddiebro eddiebro wrote:

cant wait to see how him and Parrot perform in the same team. Probably gonna be til Kennys time though
I presume Idah will be on the bench. 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 2:38am
Idah the big powerful man through the middle with those two playing off him as a front three ClapEmbarrassedDead

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 2:48am
delighted for him to score after finally getting his chance. seems like potter had positive things to say about him post match

Posted By: Adobolo
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 3:13am

Idah the big powerful man through the middle with those two playing off him as a front three ClapEmbarrassedDead
And what about Obefami, Cassidy and Afolabi? We may have to play with six up front😲😲

Posted By: Paul Andrew White
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 3:31am
Originally posted by Adobolo Adobolo wrote:

And what about Obefami, Cassidy and Afolabi? We may have to play with six up front😲😲
We've got Jimmy Mc and he is gettin' back under Roy

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 11:46am
Very composed finish from someone playing his first senior game. A lot of strikers would have just tried to hit is as hard as they could and hope it would go in.

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 11:51am
He’s got that finishers touch. Worked another good chance late on by getting behind the centre half under a long ball. Seems like a very handy player for teams who would spend a lot of time on the back foot.

I do wonder why he doesn’t get more chances. Potter was very measured in his praise yesterday and Houghton was very conservative with yout’. Come on! You have one striker and he’s 149 years old!

Highlights:

https://youtu.be/hqP4l1A3UQc" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/hqP4l1A3UQc

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 11:52am
It was a nice finish alright and the Brighton fans seem very excited about him. Hopefully he gets a chance in the PL at some stage this season.

Posted By: kearney304
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 12:07pm
He is absolutely flying - great to see.

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 12:15pm

Ah here LOL

Posted By: eddiebro
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 12:52pm

Ah here LOL

His goals in EPL 2 remind of a fox in the box style striker. Yesterday’s goal was a classic Inzaghi finish latching onto anything. Thankfully Connolly isn’t born offside and looks comfortable at taking on long range strikes as well.

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 12:57pm
I never have a problem with a striker who strays offside regularly, once, like Inzaghi, they are doing it the right way. He only has to get it right once.

He looks a great prospect though. A loan could do him good.

Posted By: Left foot
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 1:02pm
Would a loan deal be the best option for him or should he be looking to fight for a place in the Brighton team?

Brighton don't have the options, say a Tottenham or Arsenal have and he seems highly rated 

A loan deal would pretty much guarantee him first team football though.

Thoughts?

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 1:11pm
He's at that age now where he needs to be playing regularly at a decent level. Physically, he's well developed for his age, so that shouldn't be an issue. I don't think he has anything to gain by sitting on the bench for the season and hoping for the odd run out. 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 3:48pm
Originally posted by eddiebro eddiebro wrote:

Ah here LOL

His goals in EPL 2 remind of a fox in the box style striker. Yesterday’s goal was a classic Inzaghi finish latching onto anything. Thankfully Connolly isn’t born offside and looks comfortable at taking on long range strikes as well.

Similar to Inzaghi only with more attributes? 

Must be a good one.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 4:11pm
Jurgen Locadia joins Hoffenheim on loan. I'm aware he's a very different type of player to Connolly but it's one less forward option in the way for him now at least.

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 4:54pm

Brighton playing City this weekend, I remember City were looking at Connolly as well as United.

Be good to see Connolly handed his PL debut this weekend off the bench and impress against City, maybe after Brighton are 4-0 down

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 5:30pm

Jurgen Locadia joins Hoffenheim on loan. I'm aware he's a very different type of player to Connolly but it's one less forward option in the way for him now at least.

That's great news for Aaron. Andone suspended for next 3 games too.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 6:18pm

Ah here LOL

Ah here what? 

Banging in goals for the reserves. Makes his senior debut and scores, did I say something wrong?

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 6:30pm

Ah here LOL

Ah here what? 

Banging in goals for the reserves. Makes his senior debut and scores, did I say something wrong?

No. In true YBIG style, your error was that you just said something. 

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2019 at 6:40pm

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 2:33pm
Named on the bench v Man City. Duffy on the bench too. 

Posted By: BippityBoop
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 4:29pm
Subbed on for the last 20 mins with Brighton 3-0 down, predictable enough really. Hopefully he has a good 20 mins.

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 4:30pm
Comes on for his PL debut vs City 

Posted By: Left foot
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by Stimpy Stimpy wrote:

Comes on for his PL debut vs City 

That's what you call a baptism of fire. 

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 5:17pm
How did he do?

Posted By: theworm2345
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 5:27pm

How did he do?
Was mainly watching the Sheffield United match but turned on this one when he came on.  Unsurprisingly, he hardly had a touch.

http://www.globalsportsarchive.com/competitions/soccer/" rel="nofollow - League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI

Posted By: BippityBoop
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 10:22pm
How far is Aaron Connolly off being called into the senior squad? I've not tracked him over the years to see the progress at different levels, but there seems to be way more hype over Troy Parrott over the likes of Connolly. Is it just because Troy plays for Spurs so gets more attention on here?

Posted By: Scissors Kick
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2019 at 11:14pm
Anyone else think he was really filling the ol jersey on his debut today   ?

Lovely tits.

Posted By: Didiseyebrows
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2019 at 1:09am
The chap is built like a tank. You think he is fat? 

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2019 at 11:49pm

Andone going or gone to Galatasary now. How many more forwards do Brighton have ? Maupay & Murray the main 2, is Connolly next in line now that those lads have departed ? 

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2019 at 4:33am

Andone going or gone to Galatasary now. How many more forwards do Brighton have ? Maupay & Murray the main 2, is Connolly next in line now that those lads have departed ? 

afaik he is next in line

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2019 at 8:47am
going by his insta it seems hes fond of the odd gargle Shocked

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2019 at 4:59pm
Andone to Galatasaray confirmed

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2019 at 5:16pm

going by his insta it seems hes fond of the odd gargle Shocked

Don't say that on the Jack Byrne thread LOL

Posted By: Adobolo
Date Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 1:52pm
Brighton have confirmed Trossard is out for a month so this is a really big chance for Aaron to impress.

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 1:57pm

Date Posted: 12 Sep 2019 at 2:09pm
Originally posted by Adobolo Adobolo wrote:

Brighton have confirmed Trossard is out for a month so this is a really big chance for Aaron to impress.

Very interesting. Next three games are Burnley, Newcastle, and Villa. This could be ideal timing for him

Date Posted: 14 Sep 2019 at 4:41pm
Comes on.

Date Posted: 14 Sep 2019 at 4:48pm
misses a chance and then Hendrick scores down the other end.