URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=53823
Printed Date: 19 May 2024 at 10:13am

Topic: Eurovision 2016 Thread
Subject: Eurovision 2016 Thread
Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 6:21pm
It's that time of year again folks. Clap

First semi-final on tonight at 20:00. Tonight's line up. 

01 Finland
02 Greece
03 Moldova
04 Hungary
05 Croatia
06 Netherlands
07 Armenia
08 San Marino
09 Russia
10 Czech Republic
11 Cyprus
12 Austria
13 Estonia
14 Azerbaijan
15 Montenegro
16 Iceland
17 Bosnia and Herzegovina
18 Malta

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 6:46pm
One of the highlights of the sporting calender

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 6:54pm
I haven't heard any of the songs yet apart from our own. I see on Paddy Powers that Russia are strong favourites. Ireland are 80/1.

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 7:11pm
I youtubed a few of them earlier, Russia's is good typical Eurovision song.

I would of thought Ireland would of been a lot higher up due to Nicky Byrne doing it, his name alone would get votes!
The recent Heroes by Sweden is one of my favourite of all time, love Eurovision!

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 7:21pm
My favourite Eurovision song of all time is "I love Belarus" from 2011 but it didn't get into the final.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frhQMuyH0lg" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frhQMuyH0lg

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 8:58pm
Armenia, Cake to Bake, 2014.

They were robbed of a Final spot. So bad its a masterpiece

Living for Away days

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 9:12pm

My favourite Eurovision song of all time is "I love Belarus" from 2011 but it didn't get into the final.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frhQMuyH0lg" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frhQMuyH0lg

Originally posted by Trap for Pope Trap for Pope wrote:

FFS sake. 

This is a serious competition and we have people putting up novelty songs. 

This is genuine quality by a beautiful singer with a great voice. France's 1991 entry "Le Dernier Qui A'Parle" by Amina, shamefully beaten on a countback after finishing level with the awful Swedish entry. 25 years on and it still rankles that this effort didn't get the glory it thoroughly deserved.

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 9:14pm
LOL f**k off, I genuinely think "I love Belarus" is a quality song. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 9:35pm
Advancing to the final:
Moldova
Hungary
Armenia
Russia
Czech Rep
Iceland
Austria
Azerbaijan
Bosnia
Malta

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 9:37pm
I've picked out

Moldova
Hungary
Netherlands
Armenia
Russia
Cyprus
Austria
Azerbaijan
Bosnia
Malta

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 10:01pm

Originally posted by Trap for Pope Trap for Pope wrote:

FFS sake. 

This is a serious competition and we have people putting up novelty songs. 

This is genuine quality by a beautiful singer with a great voice. France's 1991 entry "Le Dernier Qui A'Parle" by Amina, shamefully beaten on a countback after finishing level with the awful Swedish entry. 25 years on and it still rankles that this effort didn't get the glory it thoroughly deserved.

This takes me back! Smile

I too thought Amina was robbed of victory in 1991.  Went to France on a day trip later that summer, searched specifically for that CD.  I still have it somewhere.

Date Posted: 10 May 2016 at 10:05pm

I've picked out

Moldova
Hungary
Netherlands
Armenia
Russia
Cyprus
Austria
Azerbaijan
Bosnia
Malta
I missed out on Croatia & Czech Republic. 8/10

Date Posted: 11 May 2016 at 2:41am

I'd much rather have this LOL

Genuinely believe I could drive down regent street with this blasting out of the car and fit in.

I remember Germany sent in Lena a few years back a well known german singer to win it, Sweden done it too.. England would love to do it and continue to send sh*te. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 11 May 2016 at 2:57am
I've been listening to this years collection, Frances is my favourite pretty catchy if you added a bit of David Guetta to it its a UK hit. 

This seems to be the best bunch in a while in terms of singing and appearance Icelands nominee is gorgeous closely followed by Malta, Belgium, Norway, Azerbaijan. 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:33am
Second Semi final on tonight. Best of luck to Nicky Byrne tonight. Tonight's line up. 

01 Latvia
02 Poland
03  Switzerland
04 Israel
05 Belarus
06 Serbia
07 Ireland
08 Macedonia
09 Lithuania
10 Australia
11 Slovenia
12 Bulgaria
13 Denmark
14 Ukraine
15 Norway
16 Georgia
17 Albania
18 Belgium

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:08am
Russia on stage display is very impressive. Easy win for them at 6/5

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 1:20pm
Tonight has the naked Polish guy with the wolves Clap

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 3:48pm
You're a bit too excited about that one LD

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:19pm
Well we can rule out Poland tonight. That was fairly terrible.
Add Switzerland to that too.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:32pm
First two were garbage. Switzerland were ok. I'm about 10 minutes behind.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:41pm
Our song again is pretty shoite

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:43pm
Our song is a Eurovision song, a lot better then some of the other crap.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:48pm
Great stuff Nicky. Clap

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:56pm
When will we find out that we are not in the final AGAIN ?

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 8:59pm
Results are about 21:45.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:00pm
Just to let ye know lads, Portsmouth against Plymouth is a cracker.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:02pm

No Nicky Byrne, No Party.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:05pm

No Nicky Byrne, No Party.
Bertie might pull a few strokes, i mean strings

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:06pm

Thumbs Up did not know this was even on , good shout

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:39pm
Australia are serious contenders. I think we have done enough to get to the final but sad that it has come to being happy about just getting to the final.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:47pm
Just turned this on LOL This show gets weirder every year LOL

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:54pm
My picks to go through

Switzerland
Serbia
Ireland
Australia
Slovenia
Bulgaria
Denmark 
Ukraine
Norway
Belgium

Much stronger field than Tuesday night.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 9:59pm

My picks to go through

Switzerland
Serbia
Ireland
Australia
Slovenia
Bulgaria
Denmark 
Ukraine
Norway
Belgium

Much stronger field than Tuesday night.
Not a great start LOL

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:00pm
3/3 Frank LOL

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:01pm
Oh dear

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:02pm
Jaysus. Didn't even make the final.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:03pm
"We deserve it we should have it"  fck off Marty LOL

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:04pm

When will we find out that we are not in the final AGAIN ?
Now

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Is anyone really surprised? the song was a generic piece of crap that never stood a chance.

f**kin hell. I picked 8/10 on Tuesday's show. 

Latvia, Lithuania, Israel and Poland are beyond sh*t. Some brutal songs got through.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:08pm
HaHa Australia get into the EUROvision finals and us out LOL this show really is comedy gold

Posted By: Tippbiffo
Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:08pm
"What's another year"
God Damn You To Hell You European Dumpling Eaters

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:10pm
Said it before and I'll say it again. We need to send the original J-Lo back to the Eurovision

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:12pm
not in a million years sure the betting all week told ya that he was never in it, PP were offering 7/2 for him to qualify no chance hard luck to the chap but he was a RTE cheap and easy option and ten years too late imo.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:12pm
Any of ye catch the presenters man vs machine gag LOL Saucy minx

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:13pm
He was evens tonight to get to the final.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:15pm

"We deserve it we should have it"  fck off Marty LOL

f**king Delusion 101 from RTE. There will be another inquest at Montrose featuring the same old people blaming the same old cliches of "Block Voting" and "Novelty" songs. Even though the last few winners have been fantastic tunes.

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:23pm
It was a diabolical song.
It makes no sense to argue that a few sh*te songs got through and our sh*te song didn't!

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:26pm
Originally posted by Bitored Bitored wrote:

It was a diabolical song.
It makes no sense to argue that a few sh*te songs got through and our sh*te song didn't!

We were not even the best song not to make. Denmark had a decent tune with the Gay Man-band.

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:32pm
David Hasselhoff is the only guy we should be going for to get the green back into the final. Up the Hoffman!

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:35pm
We should send over a duet next year of Daniel and Johnny, if Daniel fcks up Johhny will have him covered

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:46pm
If we're going to send someone from Westlife, send the only one who can sing. Shane Filan.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 12 May 2016 at 10:51pm

If we're going to send someone from Westlife, send the only one who can sing. Shane Filan.
Can you carry a tune SB, you could fly the flag for us Wink

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 1:02am

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 7:19am
The Israel entry in 2015, was by a performer below 17 years old at the time, therefore not an adult. Best ignored.

All female performers in 2016 are above 17 years old.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 7:21am
Ignoring last year's feeble effort by a non adult way out of their depth, we haven't qualified for the final since 2013.

Surprised we didn't make it this year. I'm not a homo, so I pay no attention to males at Eurovision, singing or otherwise. Ireland is the only exception from a music pov. Didn't notice anything particularly wrong with the song or performance, we had a professional artist there, the brits were voting along with the rest of them, so I don't know why he didn't make it. We'll see where he finished after the final.   

On the glamour front, Lidia Isac was my favourite from Moldova so far, but she didn't make it to the final either. I'm not a big fan of ballgowns and meringues, so I struggled to pick out many other favourites this year, as last year. Daniela from Australia is the best of the rest, but Australia shouldn't be in the competition.

The voting system this year is chaotic and I still can't work it out. Apparently the jury votes are going to be read out first, then the televotes after it, to prevent it being decided in the final few juries. That's my take on it, don't be surprised though if it's different to that.

The RTE Eurovision post mortem is as annual as the post mortem here from LOI results every summer in Europe. Eurovision is the biggest live music concert in the world, and there is lots of talk of what should be done, but in the end after a few days, is much ado about nothing.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 9:52am

I'm not a homo, so I pay no attention to males at Eurovision, singing or otherwise. Ireland is the only exception from a music pov.

Fairly odd thing to come out with...

Anyway that's three years in a row Ireland hasn't qualified for the finals apparently. We are the ultimate fallen giant of the Eurovision. Unless there is a fairly radical shake-up then I wouldn't expect us to be doing well again any time soon.

I'm not a fan of the show at all, however it might be worth looking into doing an X-Factor type competition with auditions set up across the country. Or just send over the winner of that 'The Voice' yoke. Sending washed up singings over is fairly clearly not working at this point but would expect more of the same from RTE next year.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 9:54am
They did that already with You're A Star

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 9:55am
Yeah great idea... Why has no one ever thought of that?!?!

Now, what could we call this new invention of yours... Why not call it...
You're a Star

EDIT: mr consistency bet me to it

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 10:07am
Oh did they?

Ah well - looks like we're just an island full of talentless dzopes these days so!

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 10:15am
Are people actually caring about this? I know I f**king hate people but they are definitely getting worse. Can quey come out of hiding for just one post, I think I would be interested on his musings on this topic.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 10:15am
We need mercenaries.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 10:23am

Are people actually caring about this? I know I f**king hate people but they are definitely getting worse. Can quey come out of hiding for just one post, I think I would be interested on his musings on this topic.

Define 'care'? I would be quite surprised if anyone is going to be losing any sleep over it in fairness.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 10:37am
Watching it is too much I think. Except go when Wogan was alive, the only thing the horrible Tory **** was any good at.

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 11:50am
Eurovision is the new cycling. We used to be class at it and it was very important. Now we're sh1te and it doesn't matter and we should just not bother with it anymore.

Date Posted: 13 May 2016 at 12:14pm
True Eire77 and like cycling you also need to be on a sh*tload of drugs to either watch or compete.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 4:59pm

Fairly odd thing to come out with...

Anyway that's three years in a row Ireland hasn't qualified for the finals apparently. We are the ultimate fallen giant of the Eurovision. Unless there is a fairly radical shake-up then I wouldn't expect us to be doing well again any time soon.

I have to watch our song every year, regardless whether it's by a man or a woman. Last year, the Ireland representative was neither, so I ignored it completely.

The inquest has already begun...albeit on Liveline. Tbh, I don't know what the answer is. We've tried all kinds of methods to get it right lately, but ultimately RTE are responsible for the entry, and arrange the selection imo in such a way that the song and singer they want goes there every year.

It's 20 years on from Eimear Quinn destroying the rest of the field in Oslo. Sweden have won 3 times since then, and are on the verge of matching our record. But they take the contest very seriously, which sadly we don't. It's seen here as a homofest, which explains why the countries that take it seriously compete for glory, while us and the brits compete for the back of the field.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 5:12pm
Seriously, who gives a sh*te. The music is f**king atrocious.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 5:59pm
From what I saw the other night on our semi final night I liked Georgia and Belgium.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 6:03pm

Seriously, who gives a sh*te. The music is f**king atrocious.
ClapClapClapClapClap
send the cheapest option possible. Better yet, make Joe Duffy earn his salary and make the **** sing.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:01pm

[QUOTE=drog addict]Seriously, who gives a sh*te. The music is f**king atrocious.

ClapClapClapClapClap
send the cheapest option possible. Better yet, make Joe Duffy earn his salary and make the **** sing.
[/QUOTE

f**k it, send over gimps like Brendan Kilkenny, June Rogers, Richie kavanagh, twink, the singing brickie and Amanda brunker. Actually send them all over as a band ta f**k. It doesn't matter.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:04pm
Don't forget the King of Karaoke himself, Nathan f**king Carter.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:23pm
Cant see past Russia and Australia. The Australian song is a cracker but not much on the stage production. The Russian song is like a Music video.

Not a fan of this new voting system. I hope it doesn't spoil the excitement.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:31pm
I fancy the Aussie to triumph also

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:51pm
Wtf!!! Australia are in it!! What the hell are they in it for? Bad enough having those Israeli f**ks but that's taking the piss.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 7:53pm
Can we send Trapped over to perform his version of 'boys that like girls ' by Blur?

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 8:06pm
Checking in to watch this, Indian on the way..If i was gay i'd be in heaven

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 8:07pm

Checking in to watch this Indian on the way..If i was gay i'd be in heaven
Shocked What kind of Indian is he?

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 8:14pm

Checking in to watch this Indian on the way..If i was gay i'd be in heaven
Shocked What kind of Indian is he?

LOL lack of commas make that sound worse

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 8:34pm
It's the best nights entertainment of the year. Beers, nachos, pizza at home. Kids allowed to stay up late as well. Fantastic night.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:03pm
I really like the Bulgarian song and the Spanish song. I put a few quid on Bulgaria to finish in the top 5 @7/2.

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:10pm
Russia-Aus-Sweden

12/1Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:15pm
Maltese wan is 4 months up the duff. I defo would.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:27pm
Justin Timberlake singing at the Eurovision feels all wrong. 

It's like Basil Fawlty appearing in Only Fools and Horses.

I don't like the idea of a US superstar trying to upstage our native, indigenous European, West Asian and Australian musical acts.

I fear this is the first step in the Superbowlisation of our unique and wonderful contest.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:28pm
I liked the Netherlands song a lot LOL

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:34pm

f**king hell, the chap is a Daniel O'Donnell wannabe. LOL

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:34pm
Serious amount of closet bennys on this forum

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:35pm

f**king hell, the chap is a Daniel O'Donnell wannabe. LOL

I like country music, probably has something to do with it LOL

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:45pm
The humour and self-deprecation from the Swedes throughout this contest has been top notch. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 10:59pm
They've butchered the voting. Far too short and more difficult to follow.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 11:05pm
Agree completely, I preferred when all you heard was I grainy phone line from Jerusalem say, Belgium 1 point.

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 11:07pm
I heard Graham Norton saying Australia have to partner with a country? Would that be a country of their choice so Ireland could get it? hypothetically 

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 11:14pm
Sydney Opera House next year please. 

If Australia win, I'm certain UK will host next year.

Posted By: Guest
E.T. in Australia LOL

Date Posted: 14 May 2016 at 11:17pm

Get this man to present it Clap

YBIG Resident Pilot