Official Euro 2016 song - Is there one?

Category: International
Forum Name: Republic Of Ireland
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=53686
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 11:53am

Topic: Official Euro 2016 song - Is there one?
Posted By: ABFC
Subject: Official Euro 2016 song - Is there one?
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2016 at 8:21pm
Every major championship we've qualified for we've had an official song whether it was Put Em Under Pressure or the Rocky Road to Poland. Does anybody know if we'll have one this year?

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2016 at 8:39pm
Read a number of times that it will be done by TodayFM but they're taking their time if thats the case.

SoccerRepublic are calling upon viewers to come up with thheir own which I can imagine will be woeful.

Unlike Euro 2012, there doesn't seem to be a huge amount of individual efforts on Youtube. Which I suppose is a blessing in disguise

Posted By: Missy
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2016 at 9:00pm
Capaltas Irish to the core is the best I have heard younger generation might like Dance in France

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 8:27am
Coming out very soon I hear

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 9:07am
Can't be any worse than that effort for 2012. Pure muck.

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 9:17am

Coming out very soon I hear

Who is doing it Ger?

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 9:19am
Not sure yet..top secret stuff

Posted By: ColG
Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 9:19am
It's out.... Heard it this morning on the way into work...
I will just leave this here and say no more!
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3588707/David-Guetta-releases-official-Euro-2016-song-titled-One-s-You.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3588707/David-Guetta-releases-official-Euro-2016-song-titled-One-s-You.html

EDIT: Obviously that's the one for the tournament.. Not the Irish one!!! Bit early another coffee needed!

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 10:25am
Keane wouldnt allow it.

Posted By: foggy.nelson
Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 12:30pm
Dermot and Dave from today fm are doing it, i was at a live thing for there show and after it they got us to film a piece for the video.

The manic street preachers released the official wales one and its pretty good

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 1:07pm
Originally posted by foggy.nelson foggy.nelson wrote:

Well it is their first.

Posted By: RoyD
Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 1:07pm

Dermot and Dave from today fm are doing it, i was at a live thing for there show and after it they got us to film a piece for the video.

You are taking the piss right? Those 2 are serious head wreckers. 

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 1:47pm
Originally posted by RoyD RoyD wrote:

You are taking the piss right? Those 2 are serious head wreckers. 

Nope, they're going to be broadcasting from the euros too I think

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 1:55pm
Never even heard of them.

Posted By: RoyD
Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 2:06pm

Lucky you. They are 2 daytime djs on Today fm(the radio station of choice in my workplace). Thankfully i have moved section recently and  dont have to listen to their rubbish anymore. Painful listening altogether.

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by RoyD RoyD wrote:

Lucky you. They are 2 daytime djs on Today fm(the radio station of choice in my workplace). Thankfully i have moved section recently and  dont have to listen to their rubbish anymore. Painful listening altogether.
I like them when i hear them, but i very rarely hear them so.. any way there doing the song, no reason why any irish bands couldnt release there own unofficial song 

Date Posted: 17 May 2016 at 2:16pm
Most radio djs are absolutely awful anyway, especially on Irish radio. What was the name of the two annoying Dublin fellas on 2fm before? Not sure if they are still on it, they would drive a rabbi to bacon though.

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 12:57pm
FAI tweeted that a preview is coming soon

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 12:59pm
We already have one 

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 1:11pm

Some Kerry lad has recorded one as well.

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 2:50pm
The  Official song is  "The  Irish Roar "   by  Seo Linn.

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 2:56pm

Posted By: Andy_Eire
Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 3:03pm

is that it? Lol

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 3:14pm
That's the preview of it

Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 4:03pm
Not sure about that , maybe the full thing will sound better

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 21 May 2016 at 4:34pm
Sounds sh*te

Posted By: daveyc
Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 12:08pm
sounds like its for the eurovision not the euros - awful stuff

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 2:29pm

I think I hear some Oro Se Do Bheatha Abhaile in there : probably no coincidence what with it being the 1916 centenary and Patrick Pearse having written the lyrics.

Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 4:48pm

We already have one 

Bump

Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 5:29pm
Wow. What a load of sh*te

Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 5:31pm
That sh*te is on a par with dustin's eurovision song

Date Posted: 22 May 2016 at 5:40pm
BohsinMunichs song on another thread here is the one Clap Very catchy

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 6:23am
Will be played live at the Aviva on Friday.

Posted By: Diego
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 5:26pm
Sounds like a Eurovision entry , don't like it at all. Catalpa Irish to the core or Shane Branigan's Euro 2016 song are miles ahead of this.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 6:58pm
Listen to all of it today , they would have been better off rolling out Damien Dempsey and changing Poland to Paris and having Rock road to Paris over that

Posted By: edthered
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:01pm
Don't like the chorus at all. They should have just left out the vocals and put in more of George Hamilton's Greatest Commentary Hits

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:14pm

They waited until a lot of tickets were sold to announce this, a wise move.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:18pm
Heard it a few minutes ago. The intro with Oro Se Do Bheatha Bhaile is good but the rest is a bit of a mess : it's too fast a tempo and has far too many words for a football anthem.....it would be nearly impossible to sing along to (most great football anthems are slower, have fewer words and are easy to remember).

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:29pm
Decent enough. Catchy tune to be fair. It'll be all over the radios for the next few & will get the hype going across the nation. 

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:47pm
Heard the full version there, quite like it.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 7:51pm
As mentioned already there are too many words, plus it is too high pitched to get people singing along.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 8:02pm
Very poor effort imo.  Saturated with commentary.

It seems every Irish song is trying to follow that same tired overused formula.  Cliche lyrics with a bit of match commentary thrown in.  Sheesh come up with something a bit original. They've been doing that since 1990. Salzburgs one was miles better than that.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 8:28pm

It seems every Irish song is trying to follow that same tired overused formula.  Cliche lyrics with a bit of match commentary thrown in.  Sheesh come up with something a bit original. They've been doing that since 1990. Salzburgs one was miles better than that.

The match commentary is actually ruining it and adds nothing whatsoever to the song.

They missed a trick here because the Oro Se Do Bheath Abhaile part is good and very anthemic sounding, the rest is a mess though.

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 8:50pm
I like it.

What a fantastic piece at the end quoting Billo. Will only be played in stadium before game.

The Euros song will be 'Shane longs on fire'

Posted By: Peter Stöger
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 10:50pm

In fairness Trap, We Are The Boys in Green from 88 has some clips of us scraping past Luxembourg LOL

Posted By: An Tiobraideach
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 11:05pm
Of course, I like the idea of having some Gaeilge in the song.

They are actually a really good band-I've heard some of their other stuff.

His last fond wish had been fulfilled to lie in his native land,and the wild waves roll in peace again on the lonely Banna Strand.

Posted By: seanw7
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 11:13pm
not a great song really but could be worst

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 11:14pm
I like it. Catchy, has a blend of traditional Irish and also a French ring to it (only those familiar with French pop music will hear the French twang in the chorus). Great touch to have Billo close it out as well.

Really gets the excitement at fever pitch. Roll on June!

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Date Posted: 23 May 2016 at 11:58pm
Originally posted by seanw7 seanw7 wrote:

not a great song really but could be worst

Surprisingly, it doesn't seem very well produced but I imagine it will sound better live - they should get rid of the constant commentary interruptions though, it sounds like 'Seo Linn featuring George Hamilton'.

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 12:07am
Not a fan of the chrous, which I suppose is the main part of the song, but really like the rest of it

Intro is class

George Hamilton commentary snippets are class

The part naming the side when it cuts into ROBBIE KEANE is deadly

Outro is brilliant, BilloCry

Posted By: An Tiobraideach
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 9:27am
Lads where did ye hear the full version?
I've only heard the 30 seconds teaser.

His last fond wish had been fulfilled to lie in his native land,and the wild waves roll in peace again on the lonely Banna Strand.

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 9:30am

It's not too bad as these type of songs go but there does seem to be far too many words crammed in, hard to catch what they're saying at times. All in all its ok, there's been a lot worse

Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 9:51am
Chorus is the only woeful bit

Posted By: ParkLife
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 9:55am
I really like it.

I think some people are forgetting it's a soccer song, which are usually awful sh*te.

The Intro, commentary and Billo at the end are all good.

And come on, it's not like we'd be chanting/singing it during the Euros anyway.
How many times was the Rocky road to Poland sang in 2012??

Posted By: daveyc
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 9:57am

They waited until a lot of tickets were sold to announce this, a wise move.

my cue for the bar

Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 10:02am
http://soundcloud.com/ilfranco91/its-time-irish-football-symphony-euro-2016-edition%20" rel="nofollow - https://soundcloud.com/ilfranco91/its-time-irish-football-symphony-euro-2016-edition

you want commentary over music, this is what you're after! Wink

Posted By: sheasy
Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 10:04am
Originally posted by ParkLife ParkLife wrote:

I really like it.

I think some people are forgetting it's a soccer song, which are usually awful sh*te.

The Intro, commentary and Billo at the end are all good.

And come on, it's not like we'd be chanting/singing it during the Euros anyway.
How many times was the Rocky road to Poland sang in 2012??

We absolutely would be singing it during the Euros though if it was good enough. People talking about there being too many words in the chorus but the main problem with Rocky Road to Poland was that there was too many words and it was just a pretty rubbish song, just ended up with people joining in at the 'You'll never beat the Irish' part.

Just listened to The Irish Roar for the first time and actually think it's a decent effort. Really like the Oro se element to it. The chorus itself would stick in your head after hearing it a few times. Definitely far better than 4 years ago for me. Great tribute to Bill at the end Clap

Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 10:56am
Poor effort in my opinion.

Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 11:12am
I like it, a lot. 

Could we get the fans to chant Oro se do bheatha bhaile during the Euros? 

As the younger generation will have heard it in Euro2016 song, I still find it extraordinary and depressing at the same time that we don't chant those 5 words particularly in this year of all years yet a group still continue to take songs away from Celtic Park.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 24 May 2016 at 12:57pm

It's not too bad as these type of songs go but there does seem to be far too many words crammed in, hard to catch what they're saying at times. All in all its ok, there's been a lot worse

The production of it is not great either, sounds like it was mixed by a couple of 16 year olds in their bedroom, that's one of the reasons you're struggling to understand the lyrics. It really needs some Swedish Eurovision type production Smile

Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 1:27pm
It's grown on me a bit. The production is cat, but the verses are pretty decent. The chorus/title/hook are still embarrassing. "The Irish Roar" is self-reverential and totally humorless. No wonder John Delaney likes it.

Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 2:17pm
I've grown to like it. It's an upgrade from "Rocky Road" and nowhere as bad as "Watch Your House" LOL

With better production behind the scenes it could sound a lot better. That and they're releasing it late enough, wonder is that why yer man rushes through the verses!

Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 2:26pm
Thai Tims have a gas number on their facebook page.

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 7:42pm
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/offbeat/you-ll-never-beat-the-irish-thai-tims-go-viral-with-euro-2016-song-1.2662059" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishtimes.com/news/offbeat/you-ll-never-beat-the-irish-thai-tims-go-viral-with-euro-2016-song-1.2662059

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 7:47pm
great lyrics, this could work from the crowd, easy to learn.

Posted By: Shhickey
Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 7:59pm
That absolutely blows my mind. Fair play to the lads. Would be incredible to get something along those lines going.

Original source below. Give them a like there

https://www.facebook.com/ThaiTims

Posted By: seaninmor
Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 10:03pm
Great work from the Thai Tims as usual. Fair play.

Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 10:12pm
Originally posted by sheasy sheasy wrote:

We absolutely would be singing it during the Euros though if it was good enough. 

It takes quite a lot for an official song to be simple enough, catchy enough, and good enough for the fans to sing it. Genuine question this, but have there been many official team songs that the fans have sung? I think the English fans sung that 'three lions' number didn't they? Pains me to admit it, but that was a good song. 

Date Posted: 26 May 2016 at 11:34pm
Thai Tims version is superb

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 1:05am
Their Rocky Road to Poland is class too

Posted By: tobymcclure
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 1:11am
Class one from the Thai Tims  Clap

Row F, bird with the viking hat- check out the size of her b**bs            

Posted By: Shhickey
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 8:21am
Probably unrealistic to turn the whole thing in to a chant but would be great to adopt some of that. Even just

Martin O'Neill leads the team he's our hero
And the man from Cork city Is Roy keano
Sweden Belgium Italy prepare for sorrow
Cos you'll never beat the Irish at the euro(s)

Could then segway into a rousing rendition of you'll never beat the Irish.

Anybody?

Posted By: forza trapp
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 9:35am
Cant get that feckin Thai Tims song out of my head !!    great stuff as usual. 

Posted By: KILCRUISE
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 7:08pm
thai tims Thumbs Up

may the road rise to meet you but make sure it does not slap you in the face

Posted By: KILCRUISE
Date Posted: 27 May 2016 at 7:16pm
best bits were the oro part and bill at the end.  otherwise take it or leave it.

we must sing oro in france

may the road rise to meet you but make sure it does not slap you in the face

Date Posted: 28 May 2016 at 9:39am
It's grand as these things go. Not as good as certain earlier efforts, like the 88 song in my opinion.

Posted By: Humpy Gussy
Date Posted: 28 May 2016 at 12:55pm
Thai Tims are excellent. Fair play to that lad. Clap It would actually sound decent belted out by the fans I reckon, in an ironic sort of way.

'Joxer Goes to Poznan' - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEjtiJ9udkM

Date Posted: 28 May 2016 at 2:04pm
Official song is terrible, dull and utterly forgettable. Thai Tims Clap

Date Posted: 28 May 2016 at 4:17pm
Originally posted by KILCRUISE KILCRUISE wrote:

best bits were the oro part and bill at the end.  otherwise take it or leave it.

we must sing oro in france

Agree with the oro bit don't mind it actually if the team are successful it could catch on