URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=53361
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 5:06am

Topic: Dublin Gangland Attacks
Subject: Dublin Gangland Attacks
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 3:38pm
Anyone reading about this.

Crazy stuff altogether just up the road. A well planned military styled attack with one person dead.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/one-dead-as-shots-fired-at-dublin-boxing-weighin-by-gang-dressed-in-uniform-34427111.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/one-dead-as-shots-fired-at-dublin-boxing-weighin-by-gang-dressed-in-uniform-34427111.html

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 3:40pm
Gangland. Kinihan scumbags were at the weigh in so were the targets presumably

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 3:57pm
As soon as I read the headline was waiting for MGM to appear in the article...

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:04pm
A lad from my area was fighting on the bill, Sean Turner.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:04pm
Is MGM a Kinahan venture?

I never heard of it before.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:18pm
No its in Spain.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:19pm
Meant Ya Reddlad Friday evenings suck.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:35pm
Matthew Macklins gig
Jamie Kavanagh was on main event. His dad was killed in Spain last year

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:52pm
I think Kavannaghs uncle was murdered in the last few years as well.

Kinihan is managing a lot of the boxers who train at MGM.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 4:54pm
One of the Kinihans is seriously injured

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 5:01pm
Just reading about it there. Madness, well organised.

Posted By: cm79
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 5:35pm
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/video-daddy-help-me-what-was-that-shocking-moment-gunmen-open-fire-at-dublin-boxing-weighin-34427517.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/video-daddy-help-me-what-was-that-shocking-moment-gunmen-open-fire-at-dublin-boxing-weighin-34427517.html
f**king scum

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 5:44pm
Madness!

Whatever about them targeting an individual or small group. To open fire in a hotel where there are little kids present is just mind boggling

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 5:44pm
Sweet Jesus that video is horrible

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 6:33pm
Crazy stuff. It's not something we have seen in Ireland since the republican/loyalist groups during the Troubles.

I reckon they were foreign guns for hire. These groups are involved in all sorts of dealings with Cartels and other gangs. They'll skip out of the Country and never be seen again.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 6:36pm
My parents stayed in that hotel last night and just left a couple of hours beforehand.

The auld lad said he noticed there were a few lads in tracksuits waiting ourstide the place when they were leaving.

Thank feck they weren't caught up in that.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 7:04pm

My parents stayed in that hotel last night and just left a couple of hours beforehand.

The auld lad said he noticed there were a few lads in tracksuits waiting ourstide the place when they were leaving.

Facking hell. And I'm sure that if they left later they probably would have went into the weigh-in just to see what was going on.

The shooters were dressed as Gardai or had Gardai looking clothes.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 7:21pm

Crazy stuff. It's not something we have seen in Ireland since the republican/loyalist groups during the Troubles.

I reckon they were foreign guns for hire. These groups are involved in all sorts of dealings with Cartels and other gangs. They'll skip out of the Country and never be seen again.
not sure if you're being serious but these lads spoke with Dublin accents. kinihans hit man is dead and his son wounded. a certain notorious irish individual in Spain whose nephew was popped out there last year ordered the hit.

Expect this to escalate.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 7:33pm

not sure if you're being serious but these lads spoke with Dublin accents. kinihans hit man is dead and his son wounded. a certain notorious irish individual in Spain whose nephew was popped out there last year ordered the hit.

Expect this to escalate.

Cheers for clearing that up. I'm watching too many films.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:09pm
A hit at the boxing was predicted by the gardai themselves???

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-predict-retaliation-over-gary-hutch-murder-355985.html

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:27pm
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

A hit at the boxing was predicted by the gardai themselves???

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-predict-retaliation-over-gary-hutch-murder-355985.html

You expect hits in boxing, just nothing of that calibre.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:33pm
Out of hand alright..

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:44pm
They are changing the name of the hotel to the Emergency Hotel

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:53pm
No problem with these scum killing each other. You live by the sword you die by the sword it.
It's how brazen they were to do this in such a public area with so many innocent bystanders and in broad day light that gets me.

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 9:56pm
They'll regret not waiting in the carpark when the crackdown starts..

Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 11:39pm
The journalist giving the interview on the news looked badly shaken, i don't think i would have been able for it.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:08am
Originally posted by Guest Guest wrote:

The journalist giving the interview on the news looked badly shaken, i don't think i would have been able for it.

I would have needed a change of pants first.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 1:04am
You expect "shots fired" at any weigh in but this is nuts

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 10:06am
https://mobile.twitter.com/MarkMcFarlane29/status/695902932013862912/photo/1" rel="nofollow - https://mobile.twitter.com/MarkMcFarlane29/status/695902932013862912/photo/1

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:33pm
Pity the other 2 coonts are not dead also

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:39pm

Facking hell. And I'm sure that if they left later they probably would have went into the weigh-in just to see what was going on.

The shooters were dressed as Gardai or had Gardai looking clothes.

I wouldn't mind but the auld lad has a dodgy ticker (2 operations on it) and would have had a bad shock even witnessing anything like that never mind being potentially hurt. Anyway glad they were checked out by then. 

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:39pm

and the c unts that performed the hit aswell

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:41pm
Have AK-47s ever been used in gangland shootings. I know they would be in paramilitary ones but I don't think I've ever heard of them used in gangland hits tbh.

I also wouldn't be posting that picture up on my twitter or facebook with my name on it. ConfusedI'd show it anonymously to the guards. feck that  

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:52pm

👍

None of the Kinihans were hit either 👎

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:55pm

and the c unts that performed the hit aswell
They will pay the price eventually and good riddance

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 12:56pm

👍

None of the Kinihans were hit either 👎
Believe me they will be and shortly

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 1:57pm

Has your father went to the guards with this crucial information? Surely it wouldn't be hard to find the lads fitting this description around Dublin?

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 2:27pm
That could have been one of the fighters and his team in fairness.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 3:00pm

That could have been one of the fighters and his team in fairness.

Thats the problem,could very easily have been an innocent bystander.

Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 3:58pm
Just saw this on https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjc1c7rv-PKAhUDRQ8KHQfAD9cQFggiMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.reddit.com%2Fr%2Fireland%2F&usg=AFQjCNGQlQJD8SClUctCtp90I4iUwFCL-w&bvm=bv.113370389,d.ZWU" rel="nofollow - r/Ireland - Reddit

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 4:07pm
Terrifying.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 4:42pm
Who had the balls to take a pic of them!
Although maybe you would think that it is some sort of show rather than an organised hit

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:09pm

Although maybe you would think that it is some sort of show rather than an organised hit

They might've been sitting in a car when they took it and the hitmen didn't see them. Anyway they're well covered up. i don't think the picture is much use for the guards to go on really.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:16pm
fock me that looks scary.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:38pm
If you skip to 0.27 seconds on computerised voice news report there's another picture of one of the victims at the reception desk. Didn't see that photo anywhere else. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8 

It won't work when I try to hyperlink or video link it. You'll have to copy and paste the link

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:40pm

If you skip to 0.27 seconds on computerised voice news report there's another picture of one of the victims at the reception desk. Didn't see that photo anywhere else. 

Another 2 gunmen and all at it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8
thats some linking Muff well done

Working now on my post

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:41pm

Whoever took the pic probably thought they were the real Garda ERU.

I was at a fight a few years ago and Interpol and UK cops were there trying to nab a Irish lad who had a European arrest warrant out on him.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:41pm

http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8" rel="nofollow - http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8

That pic of the victim is on the front page of The Sun

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:45pm

http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8" rel="nofollow - http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8 

It won't work when I try to hyperlink or video link it. You'll have to copy and paste the link

If you're on the phone, the title of the you tube video of it is: 

News from UK: Dublin weigh in shooting 

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:48pm

That pic of the victim is on the front page of The Sun

Ah right. LOL Haven't been out of the house all day to get the paper. It's gale force pissing wet weather back here in the wesht and too many loudmouth dubs down in Westport  for the match so avoiding town tonight Wink

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:49pm

<div style="line-height: 16.8px; : rgb251, 251, 253;">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhMNOLaOYv8 
<div style="line-height: 16.8px; : rgb251, 251, 253;">
<div style="line-height: 16.8px; : rgb251, 251, 253;"><span style="line-height: 1.4;">It won't work when I try to hyperlink or video link it. You'll have to copy and paste the link</span><div style="line-height: 16.8px; : rgb251, 251, 253;"><span style="line-height: 1.4;">
</span><div style="line-height: 16.8px; : rgb251, 251, 253;"><h1 ="yt watch-title-container" style="margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 13px; margin-left: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; display: table-cell; vertical-align: top; width: 610px; color: rgb34, 34, 34; line-height: normal; word-wrap: break-word; font-family: Roboto, arial, sans-serif; : rgb255, 255, 255;"><span id="eow-title" ="watch-title " dir="ltr" title="News from UK: Dublin weigh in shooting" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; border--source: initial; border--slice: initial; border--width: initial; border--outset: initial; border--repeat: initial; -: initial; -attachment: initial; : transparent; -size: initial; -origin: initial; -clip: initial; -: initial; -repeat: initial;"><span style="font-weight: normal;">If you're on the phone, the title of the you tube video of it is: 
</span>
News from UK: Dublin weigh in shooting 
</span></h1>
it wont work bbecause you put both http:// and https:// in it. Its either one or the other. I fixed it in my post above

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:54pm
Cheers Sham Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 5:56pm

I was at a fight a few years ago and Interpol and UK cops were there trying to nab a Irish lad who had a European arrest warrant out on him.

The AK47s look out of place apart from that I could understand why someone would think that.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:19pm
Yes Id assume the Gardai ERU carry Heckler and Koch and not AK47s.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:21pm

The AK47s look out of place apart from that I could understand why someone would think that.

True ,ERU dont use AK's.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:22pm
From elsewhere:

"Ireland must be one of the very few places where you hear about gunmen in a hotel with AK-47s and the first assumption you make is that it's homegrown scumbags and not IS.

I'm fairly sure this is a good thing and actually something most 'westernised' countries would kill for. Literally. With drones."

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:23pm

They had Uzi's at one stage as well

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:27pm

They had Uzi's at one stage as well

Yes but not anymore.
H&K more reliable, German !!!

Posted By: Bitored
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:33pm

From elsewhere:

"Ireland must be one of the very few places where you hear about gunmen in a hotel with AK-47s and the first assumption you make is that it's homegrown scumbags and not IS.

I'm fairly sure this is a good thing and actually something most 'westernised' countries would kill for. Literally. With drones."

I have to admit IS was the first thing that crossed my mind when I saw the headline.
I`m not sure if "aw phew its only a few local scumbags murdering people and not a crowd of foreign scumbags" makes all that much odds.

Posted By: yapmeister
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:35pm
Scum.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:36pm
Once I heard what the event was I knew straightaway what the attack was about.This has been brewing for a long time,wasnt surprised really.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:37pm
Same here. Wasn't 100% convinced at first that it was just local scumbags

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:42pm
Seems everyone was expecting the guards except the perpetrators.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:48pm
I knew straight away when I heard it was a boxing weigh-in that it was gangland.

Boxing and organised crime have gone hand in hand since the 1890's FFS.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 6:50pm
I was there today.

My u9s played Home Farm right smack across the road.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:01pm

I was there today.

You were blessed Gaz. Only a whole day after the incident.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:17pm

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:19pm

I was there today.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:20pm
There could have been some stray bullets still flying about

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:31pm

I was there today.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:33pm

I knew straight away when I heard it was a boxing weigh-in that it was gangland.

Boxing and organised crime have gone hand in hand since the 1890's FFS.

True, anybody who thought otherwise needs to turn off sky news and cancel their subscription to the Daily Mail.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 7:51pm
😂😂😂

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 8:03pm

I was there today.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 8:07pm
Anyone who thought it was IS need to lay off the tabloid style sensationalism. As rossie said, shady figures are heavily involved in boxing here. The incident in Marbella last year and the fact that it had links to a fighter on the card hardly screams terrorist attack.

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2016 at 8:16pm

I was there today.

You never know, trigger happy cops and we've two African lads on the team

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 12:32pm
Continuity IRA have claimed responsibility

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 12:53pm
Revenge attack for the murder of Alan Ryan.

The IRA groups really know how to play the long game.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:03pm
Another step towards a United Ireland Clap

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:07pm
Why did it take them so long to claim responsibility for it? Surely they want the publicity?

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:08pm

And you wouldn't want that now would you?

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:10pm

And you wouldn't want that now would you?

I'm not sure of the economic benefits but can be convinced should the economic benefits outweigh the negatives

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:20pm
True

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:30pm
They lie in wait like wolves, the smell of blood in their nostrils.
Waiting, interminably waiting, and then.....

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:37pm

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:41pm
Fine Gael and Labour appointed a prominent disso as a senator only three months ago. 

This attack looks really bad for them. Their associates are committing murder in broad daylight in the middle of a general election campaign. 

The Gardai stood back and allowed it happen despite having intelligence. 

And it's not the first time that a Fine Gael-affiliated fascist grouping has taken the law into their own hands.

If you know your history and all that.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:42pm
This is going to be a complete nightmare scenario now for the authorities now, unfinished buisness between two of the major warring criminal fraternities in the country and now a new call to arms from republican circles to take out any drug dealing criminal scum they see fit, interesting times ahead.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:43pm
I'm calling BS on this. Why would the CIRA murder someone in supposed revenge for the slaying of the leader of a rivalry paramilitary group? It makes zero sense.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 1:58pm
What I find stranger is that an Anti-British gang released their statement to not RTE, TV3, UTv Ireland or TG4 but to the BBC.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 2:01pm

I'm calling BS on this. Why would the CIRA murder someone in supposed revenge for the slaying of the leader of a rivalry paramilitary group? It makes zero sense.
Especially since the RIRA already avenged him....  Even the way they announced this and the fact the BBC won't verify it leads me to believe its an epic trolling

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 2:02pm
Do you know how much the difference in the phone charges are

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 2:13pm
I'd bet the call was made from a freshly bought mobile phone purchased by a Fine Gael adviser.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 2:27pm
The leaks from garda suggest it was an attack on the kinihans. Would still believe that is more likely

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:06pm

They lie in wait like wolves, the smell of blood in their nostrils.
Waiting, interminably waiting, and then.....

Someones been hitting the Attenborough a bit too hard of late

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:10pm
Errr, or Father Ted?

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:15pm

Especially since the RIRA already avenged him....  Even the way they announced this and the fact the BBC won't verify it leads me to believe its an epic trolling

Have they?
One of the only names that springs to mind is Eamonn Kelly who was killed by the RIRA.

The RIRA and CIRA have always worked together.

'Mr Big' was the the main player behind the killing of Alan Ryan, and has been picking off each of Ryan's his crew one by one. Their houses and cars are being burned out and some of them are getting serious beatings, although none are being killed.
None of it is being reported either.

This attack does have the hall marks of a paramilitary style execution especially with using AK47's, gangland killings usually use glocks or other type hand guns.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:15pm
Enda Kenny's attempt to score political points against Sinn Fein over this based on no evidence at all is disgusting.

In the process, he's undermined the Gardai and he's undermined the work of the De Chastellain commission on disarmament. 

These are serious, serious issues for a sitting Taoiseach, resigning matters, and show that he's not fit to lead his country.

Anybody who deliberately spreads lies against opponents to try and achieve electoral gain is beneath contempt.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:22pm

This attack does have the hall marks of a paramilitary style execution especially with using AK47's, gangland killings usually use glocks or other type hand guns.

It was a lot more organised than your usual pub/pub carpark shooting.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 3:48pm
Sid, that's all he's got in the Kenny armoury.

He cannot argue or debate with the opposition, particularly Sinn Fein, so throws mud at them in the hope some sticks.

Can none of his colleagues inform him that he is not in the classroom anymore.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 4:04pm
It was classic misdirection. Fitzgerald getting it tight over the cops leaking that they weren't there because of budget cuts. Enda throws in a curveball that Jarry has to explain why whoever did the shooting had a similar type of gun to what the Ra used. Now bear in mind its estimated there are between 75 and 100 MILLION AK47 and AKM variants out there, one for every 60 people on earth and you see how silly this is and clever of Enda. Jarry on the back foot over a gangland hit. Clever.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Posted By: Tippbiffo
Date Posted: 08 Feb 2016 at 5:53pm

It was classic misdirection. Fitzgerald getting it tight over the cops leaking that they weren't there because of budget cuts. Enda throws in a curveball that Jarry has to explain why whoever did the shooting had a similar type of gun to what the Ra used. Now bear in mind its estimated there are between 75 and 100 MILLION AK47 and AKM variants out there, one for every 60 people on earth and you see how silly this is and clever of Enda. Jarry on the back foot over a gangland hit. Clever.

Jerry's on the back foot a long time now. It's only now he realises it. The suggestion of abolishing of the Special Criminal Court, his links with Slab Murphy and now being labeled and associated with ak47s used by cowardly terrorists has not helped him new votes. Well played enda.