URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=53353
Printed Date: 10 May 2024 at 4:58pm

Topic: Ryanair
Subject: Ryanair
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 11:25pm
Lads, I'm after booking flights with Ryanair. Everything went fine and I went on to book a return flight from a different airport. After booking the second flight I then realised Ryanair never sent me my confirmation email or itinerary for the first flight but they did take my money. I have no way of finding out the reservation number and you can't check in without that. Can anyone help me out or does anyone know is there another way to get my reservation number.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 11:32pm
Wait. The email will come.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 11:40pm

Wait. The email will come.

Are you sure SD? I got my email for the second booking in seconds.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 11:47pm
https://www.ryanair.com/ie/en/useful-info/help-centre/faq-overview#7-3

Try that. You should be able to check your booking using the date, the departure airport, the arrival airport and your email address.

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 12:21am
whenever i've bought flights, the flight ref no. is included in the bank statement online as a reference, least with ulster bank anyways. that might help?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 7:27am
Easy in hindsight but I usually take a photo of the screenshot but easy jet Ryanair are usually on the ball

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 7:38am
You DON'T need your reservation number when checking in.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:12am
Cheers lads, I tried everything but still no luck. Must be something up with the ryanair website because when i hit "Go" after putting in my details nothing happens. was on the live chat for the morning and the exact same thing happened, the second booking's confirmation sent straight away and i didnt receive the email for the first booking straight away. I asked him if i had a typo in my email address from when i made the first booking and he said no he could see the 2 bookings under my email address. Told me to get back to him if i don't receive the email within 2 hours then left the chat.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:18am
if your booking is confirmed what are you worrying about ?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:30am

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:39am

Flight in 2 days, can't check in without booking reference number I tried the other ways and it wont work, need to check in before i leave college this evening as have no printer at home. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:44am

Flight in 2 days, can't check in without booking reference number I tried the other ways and it wont work, need to check in before i leave college this evening as have no printer at home. 
Can you not check-in with just your name and email address ?

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:49am
I thought you could check in once you put in the departing and arriving airports and email address used to book the flight?? 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:50am
Don't think I have ever checked in with a reference number! All you need is email address and passport.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:55am
Been trying that all morning on the laptop, desktop and my mobile, I fill in all my details and then when I hit go nothing happens, must be something up with the site. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:57am
They're having a flash sale at the moment so might be having problems with traffic.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 11:07am
If you have a smart phone, download the Ryanair app and check-in using it.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 11:14am
you dont need the  reference number to check in.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 11:15am
I just checked in for a flight at the weekend, had no problems at all.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 11:20am
Me too actually.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 12:22pm

Cheers lads, I tried everything but still no luck. Must be something up with the ryanair website because when i hit "Go" after putting in my details nothing happens. was on the live chat for the morning and the exact same thing happened, the second booking's confirmation sent straight away and i didnt receive the email for the first booking straight away. I asked him if i had a typo in my email address from when i made the first booking and he said no he could see the 2 bookings under my email address. Told me to get back to him if i don't receive the email within 2 hours then left the chat.

Believe it or not you have to use Chrome.

I've had simialar issues before.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 1:44pm
Got it sorted cheers lads, creates an account and all that and could retrieve it through there. Horsebox, I tried chrome, Firefox. Internet Explorer, everything on every device still have no idea why it wouldn't work the normal way through the website though. Panic over

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 1:52pm
He's checking IN!!!!

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:39pm

If you have a smart phone, download the Ryanair app and check-in using it.
Excellent app and none of that printing sh*te.

Posted By: Colum
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:42pm
Must have happened by now but what happens when you show up with your app and phone dies?

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:49pm
Originally posted by Colum Colum wrote:

Must have happened by now but what happens when you show up with your app and phone dies?

the same thing as if you lost your printed boarding pass.

Posted By: Colum
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2016 at 10:55pm

Originally posted by Colum Colum wrote:

the same thing as if you lost your printed boarding pass.
Fair point

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 1:44pm
Havent flown with them since the new bag rules.  Going to Poznan for a wedding.  There is an option for priority and 2 carry on bags for 24 euro return. One of the bags allowed is up to 10kg.  Is there a size restriction on this 10kg bag?  Can't see it in the rules.  I have a holdall about 58cm x 33cm x 33cm at full length.  I suppose if I haven't a full bag it will squash to smaller dimensions.  The other piece I have is a suit in a cover and coathanger.

Will I be ok for the 24 euro option or do I need the 40 euro option to have a check in bag?

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 2:16pm
You will need to pay the forty Euro and, as far as I know, they only accept payment via Revolut.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 3:40pm

Havent flown with them since the new bag rules.  Going to Poznan for a wedding.  There is an option for priority and 2 carry on bags for 24 euro return. One of the bags allowed is up to 10kg.  Is there a size restriction on this 10kg bag?  Can't see it in the rules.  I have a holdall about 58cm x 33cm x 33cm at full length.  I suppose if I haven't a full bag it will squash to smaller dimensions.  The other piece I have is a suit in a cover and coathanger.

Will I be ok for the 24 euro option or do I need the 40 euro option to have a check in bag?
it actually clearly states in the email they send that the 10kg bag should be similar in size to a standard cabin wheely case yoke. Im bringing a holdall and rucksack.

If youre 5 nights like the rest of us then the €24 is perfect unless youre bringing kitchen sinks with you

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 4:17pm
ybigger getting hitched?

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 4:18pm

ybigger getting hitched?
Hans & Chester I think 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 4:23pm

ybigger getting hitched?
Hans & Chester I think 
😂

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 4:25pm
The wheelie bags almost certainly have to go in the hold. It's only something like 12 to 15 each way to check in a bag. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 4:36pm
I’d love to know how many punters travel exclusively with a “personal bag”. It can’t be many. I wasn’t much of a fan of the luggage policy, but this one doesn’t cater to anybody, but a small number.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 5:05pm

I’d love to know how many punters travel exclusively with a “personal bag”. It can’t be many. I wasn’t much of a fan of the luggage policy, but this one doesn’t cater to anybody, but a small number.

A backpack tends to fit under the seat in front. If you're travelling alone and only going for three to four days, you can usually get away with it (unless you need a suit or the likes, of course).

Another pair of runners, a few t shirts, jocks and socks, the bag of toiletries and your chargers: you don't tend to need more than that for a few days away, assuming you wear your geansai and jacket on the plane.

And given that there are a number of travellers only going for short breaks, you can definitely get away with it.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 5:11pm

A backpack tends to fit under the seat in front. If you're travelling alone and only going for three to four days, you can usually get away with it (unless you need a suit or the likes, of course).

Another pair of runners, a few t shirts, jocks and socks, the bag of toiletries and your chargers: you don't tend to need more than that for a few days away, assuming you wear your geansai and jacket on the plane.

And given that there are a number of travellers only going for short breaks, you can definitely get away with it.

I’d agree. But I still feel the moment you go over and above that specific style of traveller and travelling, you get caught. At least when you could bring a “cabin case” with you, it guaranteed that you’d be sorted for at least a week, or distribute luggage allowance.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 6:53pm

The wheelie bags almost certainly have to go in the hold. It's only something like 12 to 15 each way to check in a bag. 
When you book priority boarding, you get a personal piece of luggage and a normal 10kg on board. No pririty boarding and you just get the personal piece. 

ybigger getting hitched?
Mutual mate of mine and TJs getting hitched. Doesnt post on here but he goes most of the games. Met her at Euro 2012. One good result from that trip....

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2019 at 10:28pm

I’d agree. But I still feel the moment you go over and above that specific style of traveller and travelling, you get caught. At least when you could bring a “cabin case” with you, it guaranteed that you’d be sorted for at least a week, or distribute luggage allowance.

Ah yeah, agreed. There aren't that many who travel in that way. I suppose there are just a lot more people who *could* travel that way but don't.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 5:45am
Absolute coont nailed me at the gate for the mini holdall. Angry

Never ever had to pay for a carry on with Ryanair. 

They must be enforcing it now for non-priority passengers. A few others got hit with the 46 quid charge too. 

Posted By: inlikeflynn
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 8:13am

Absolute coont nailed me at the gate for the mini holdall. Angry

Never ever had to pay for a carry on with Ryanair. 

They must be enforcing it now for non-priority passengers. A few others got hit with the 46 quid charge too. 

It was too big? Or you had more than one. 

If you need a towel or a clean set of jocks wherever you’re going, it’s often better just to buy it there and dump it before you come home. 

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2024 at 8:45pm
What's the craic with Skyscanner? It's not displaying a lot of Ryanair flights same with Google Flights.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 16 Jan 2024 at 9:01pm

What's the craic with Skyscanner? It's not displaying a lot of Ryanair flights same with Google Flights.
They have a dispute going on with a lot of third party sites.