Fans Match in La Rochelle (match info page 7)

Category: International
Forum Name: Away days + World Cup 2022 Accommodation and Travel
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=53204
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 11:36pm

Topic: Fans Match in La Rochelle (match info page 7)
Subject: Fans Match in La Rochelle (match info page 7)
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2016 at 9:14pm

Evening all I have been in Contact with a French friend in La Rochelle who wants to help organise a fans match in La Rochelle on Friday 17th June Time to be confirmed. He has heard of all the great work that ybig do and wants to make our time in his City enjoyable.

The game will be played in a good stadium so it will be a great occasion like the game in Torun and I will have full details posted up here when everything is finalised.

If your interested in Playing please place your name below.

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2016 at 9:28pm
I wonder would now be a good time to come out of my 5 year retirement??

Posted By: Scamper
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2016 at 9:41pm
I'll Def play. We are there from 14th - 19th

====#Everywhere you play, We'll Follow====

Posted By: Bo Jackson
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2016 at 9:47pm
Let's get the ball rolling on this one.... Thumbs Up

1. Bo Jackson

2. Scamper

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 12:15am
Sounds like a quality idea. Many going to Rochelle lads?  I hear it's absolutely beautiful spot. 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 1:10am

Evening all I have been in Contact with a French friend in La Rochelle who wants to help organise a fans match in La Rochelle on Friday 17th June Time to be confirmed. He has heard of all the great work that ybig do and wants to make our time in his City enjoyable.

The game will be played in a good stadium so it will be a great occasion like the game in Torun and I will have full details posted up here when everything is finalised.

Ive already been talking to a publican and hotelier out there about this and are they are interested in sponsoring a game, mentioned it to The Count and FW before Xmas

Can pass on the details to you next week

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 7:57am
Sure why not,there 14th-20th.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 9:03am

Ive already been talking to a publican and hotelier out there about this and are they are interested in sponsoring a game, mentioned it to The Count and FW before Xmas

Thanks GF but we already have it Squared with my friend who has it already sorted. I have been talking to the lads .

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 9:43am

Thanks GF but we already have it Squared with my friendj who has it already sorted. I have been talking to the lads .

Maybe gf will set up a compeating fans match with different sponsors...... Fight fight fight

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:02am
Stick me down to play. We are in Bordeaux but will come up for the day.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:30am
Originally posted by Bo Jackson Bo Jackson wrote:

1. Bo Jackson

2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:13am

1. Bo Jackson

2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
6. Shannonhibs (Aka The Madrid Galactico)
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard

Posted By: Bluezar
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:27am
Me and a mate would be interested. Staying in La Rochelle from 14-20th

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:42am
Unless it's an evening KO I'm out. Pity as Torun will live long in the memoryCry

Posted By: Gearoid101
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 6:24pm
We are leaving La Rochelle for Bordeaux on the Friday... Stay in Bordeaux for Friday and Match night, so will miss this Cry

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by Bluezar Bluezar wrote:

Stick yizzer names on the list.  Just to remind folks,  I'm not the Gaffer any longer but I hope to be doing some gigs out in France, La Rochelle sounds the balls. 

Drog Addict is the main man and The Count would be another organiser.  

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 7:54pm

Stick yizzer names on the list.  Just to remind folks,  I'm not the Gaffer any longer but I hope to be doing some gigs out in France, La Rochelle sounds the balls. 

What do you mean your not the gaffer????ShockedShockedCry LOL

In all seriousness, few swedes interested in a game in Paris, they're all around the true gaffer's age Wink so might be of interest to you and Sligo Hornet (he's been busting to play for years I hear LOL). The problem is they're staying in Reims until match day and can't see to many wanting to play on match day as not to sure if there's a pitch around Saint Denis that can be used either but I'll keep in contact with them if there's any interest?

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 9:24pm
Ye stick me down

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:26pm
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

1. Bo Jackson

2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89

Just add your name to the list if your interested.

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:36pm

If ye are doing a gig in La Rochelle while we are there that will rightly top off our stay there. Make it fupping happen Phelim ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:42pm
Originally posted by Scamper Scamper wrote:

If ye are doing a gig in La Rochelle while we are there that will rightly top off our stay there. Make it fupping happen Phelim ClapClapClap

As Charlton said Scamer, "we'll do wor best", it'd be massive for us to play for Irish fans this Summer so we're optimistic and we'll see what happens. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:49pm

As Charlton said Scamer, "we'll do wor best", it'd be massive for us to play for Irish fans this Summer so we're optimistic and we'll see what happens. Thumbs Up

Scamer, hahaha ive been called worse Phelim.
Ya would be some craic if ye played in La Rochelle, there is an absolute ball of Irish based there. Good man.Clap

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 10:54pm

Ya would be some craic if ye played in La Rochelle, there is an absolute ball of Irish based there. Good man.Clap

Whoops, sorry Scarper...........EmbarrassedBig smile

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:10pm
Any plans to try the same in Arcachon FW not a million miles from La Roch good few staying there also

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:17pm

Whoops, sorry Scarper...........EmbarrassedBig smile

Scarper??? haha funny f**ker

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:18pm

Any plans to try the same in Arcachon FW not a million miles from La Roch good few staying there also

Not ruling anything in or out at this stage! Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2016 at 11:48pm

Not ruling anything in or out at this stage! Thumbs Up

Be great if yous got few gigs in france I'm june FW. Based in arcachon ourselves, might travel up to la rochelle day of fans game great memories from the one we played in, in gdynia in 2012

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 4:30pm
Throw me on the list aswell. Not staying in La Rochelle either like ringerbell but will go up the day o the game hopefully.

Posted By: mallon12
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 9:55pm
me (Donal) and another lad (Aidan) would be up for playing if theres space . staying in la rochelle 14th-20th

Posted By: Skipper
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2016 at 11:53pm

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper

Stephen Irelands Superman Jocks!!

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 1:39am
Originally posted by Skipper Skipper wrote:

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13. Donegalman

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 5:32pm

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Damo Gugc
14. Mallon 12
15. Aidan

Please just keep adding your names. We will also need help Fundraising on the day for Charity (Bucket Collection etc.) so maybe open up a separate list for helpers . Cheers everyone.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 7:00pm

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
You added skippers last list but I had added to it before that. I have fixed that now.

Posted By: MarkBeaumont
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 11:52pm
Few of us would definitely be up for a kick about and a bit of craic

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3

Posted By: **FrOsTy**
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 10:44am
If a place becomes available id love to play. I'll be in La Rochelle from 14-20

Waterford United FC

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 11:07am
Just add your names lads we are working on a few Other Ideas that everyone can take part in .

Posted By: Davis81
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 1:51pm
Yes stick me down for the game, there is 6 of us going and im sure a few would play

Posted By: **FrOsTy**
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 2:04pm
1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs 
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3
21. Alan Forristal (**FROSTY**)

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 7:02pm
Shannonhibs did you get a back transplant since Glasgow 2014? Great to see you available again 👍👏🇮🇪🇪🇸

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 7:04pm

Shannonhibs did you get a back transplant since Glasgow 2014? Great to see you available again 👍👏🇮🇪🇪🇸

+1 Clap

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2016 at 7:53pm

What are you saying FW? Did Hibs lack the backbone before?! 
Let me get my popcorn....Shocked

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 1:51am

FW - what about an O/50's match. Are you up for it... played in the shade and no limit on substitutions. Have two paramedics travelling with my crew, so backbones, hamstrings, lack of oxygen and wannabies can be treated on the spot.  I'm sure we can throw in a few bangers for good luck.

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 7:27am
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

FW - what about an O/50's match. Are you up for it... played in the shade and no limit on substitutions. Have two paramedics travelling with my crew, so backbones, hamstrings, lack of oxygen and wannabies can be treated on the spot.  I'm sure we can throw in a few bangers for good luck.
Will you ever go away , I was close to having a heart attack just reading this Confused

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 3:00pm

In Paris or La Rochelle by any chance?

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 6:48pm

The Spanish lifestyle is suiting him, Phe. Siestas during the day and supporting Rayo Vallacano will do that to a fella.

Our fancy villa that Babbs booked is the far side of Bordeaux but we will have a car rented. It's about a two hour spin from there to La Rochelle but sure feic it, Torún all over again. Find a Jan Olbrecht-esque boozer and it'll be gravy.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2016 at 11:44pm
Game kicks off @ 6pm to let everyone watch the Italy Sweden game. Transport for players to the stadium is sorted directly after final whistle.

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2016 at 12:54am
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

Eh no Franco 😀😀

Posted By: Skelly
Date Posted: 14 Jan 2016 at 7:30pm
1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3
22. Skelly

We all dream of a team of Gary Breens

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 5:14pm
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10207644760471382&set=a.1092255520926.14442.1662683215&type=3&theater" rel="nofollow - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10207644760471382&set=a.1092255520926.14442.1662683215&type=3&theater
Hopefully link works .Stadium for fans Match !!!!

Posted By: AngelGabriel
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 5:25pm
Looks unreal. Great work again gufct

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:10pm
Gonna miss this, only flying in at that time 😞

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:31pm
All the gaffers falling by the wayside

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:33pm
Friday 17th at 6pm so people can watch Sweden -v- Italy Game. All proceeds to Charity ,Full bar Facilities and Shuttle buses for Fans from http://www.generalhumbert.com/en/ . Loads more events including Re enactment of the" Races of Castlebar" promises to be a great evening and Night.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:40pm
I'll play if I can make the logistics work (and there's space left in the squad). It's a bit of a spin up from Biarritz but it could be doable

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2016 at 8:52pm
That stadium looks class. Are many travelling up to La Rochelle and back to Bordeaux that night?

Posted By: E2016
Date Posted: 16 Jan 2016 at 1:10pm
Love to get involved if there are spaces left. Just 2 of us.

Date Posted: 19 Jan 2016 at 12:33am
Looks class. Can't wait

Posted By: Gallowgate 67
Date Posted: 20 Jan 2016 at 11:51am
Count me in if the body is in order...

Posted By: ROW-X
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2016 at 11:34pm
I'll play!

Posted By: david2016
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 11:07am
Me +3 other will play if spaces left. 

If no room to play do ye want supporters going to cheer on the lads playing? 

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 1:39pm
Originally posted by david2016 david2016 wrote:

Me +3 other will play if spaces left. 

If no room to play do ye want supporters going to cheer on the lads playing? 

The more the merrier! Have played 3 fans games myself and the "support" from the sidelines was always appreciated! Clap It will be a great day out and as gufct outlined there'll be help needed elsewhere during it Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 1:42pm
The proceeds of the fundraising done in the 6 days in La Rochelle culminating with the fans match will be split between a French and Irish Charity so we will be looking for your financial support as well.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 6:49pm
Guf did I see that you are staying in Biarritz? That's where I'm gonna be based so I'll travel up to La Rochelle to play if there's space and a few going from Biarritz

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 1:32am
What's the craic with gear and that. We all just wear our Irish jerseys?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:27pm
Originally posted by MarkBeaumont MarkBeaumont wrote:

What's the craic with gear and that. We all just wear our Irish jerseys?

No England jerseys

Posted By: TTony
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:32pm

lads can you come to this if you are just a johnny come lately?...ie iv never met up with any ybig lads before

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:33pm
Originally posted by TTony TTony wrote:

lads can you come to this if you are just a johnny come lately?...ie iv never met up with any ybig lads before

The more the merrier T, bring your boots and a bag of cansClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:48pm
We insist that all newcomers must also have a new badge.

Posted By: TTony
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:55pm
Originally posted by greenlad greenlad wrote:

The more the merrier T, bring your boots and a bag of cansClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

we'll bring the cans ok but the boots wouldnt be a good idea, presuming ye want to win!

Posted By: DeButleir
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 3:59pm
Is there anyone staying in Arachon before the game in Bordeaux?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 4:03pm
Lads I was on Facebook and noticed that PartyRockTravel have a package for the euros and it includes a fans match in La Rochelle. Just wondering has any ybiggers been contacted by party rock travel about this? I just assummed that they were on about this match.

Posted By: greenlad
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 4:09pm

Originally posted by greenlad greenlad wrote:

we'll bring the cans ok but the boots wouldnt be a good idea, presuming ye want to win!
I was meaning your wellies, theres a river beside the pitch and we'll need someone to fish out the ball.LOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 7:31pm
Originally posted by DeButleir DeButleir wrote:

Is there anyone staying in Arachon before the game in Bordeaux?
just replied to you in the other thread where you asked the same question

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 8:40pm
Any spots left on the team? If so can you put one on the list to play, one of the lads would love a kickabout. Also I can give a dig out with a collection bucket, water bhoy or what's needed

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2016 at 8:54pm
will be getting back to people as soon as everything is finalised.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2016 at 12:39am
And then ya wonder why everybody hates Sligo!

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2016 at 8:04am

Lads I was on Facebook and noticed that PartyRockTravel have a package for the euros and it includes a fans match in La Rochelle. Just wondering has any ybiggers been contacted by party rock travel about this? I just assummed that they were on about this match.

Nothing to do with ybig send me a pm with the link. Mark all you will need is boots gear will be supplied . We are finalising details for the full week in LaRochelle and will be posting all details of events when we have it all sorted.there will be shuttle buses to and from the stadium and full bar facilities at the stadium.

Just stick your name on the list for playing or helping out with fundraising on the day .

Posted By: Halpo
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2016 at 3:31pm
Hi, i'm new to this forum. I am staying on Ile De Re, just across the bridge from La Rochelle for 2 weeks around then, and would love to play in the fans match, if possible! cheers!

Posted By: smokeyd
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2016 at 2:11pm

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10207644760471382&set=a.1092255520926.14442.1662683215&=3&theater - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10207644760471382&set=a.1092255520926.14442.1662683215&type=3&theater
Hopefully link works .Stadium for fans Match !!!!

Great work gufct! Booked accommodation last night for La Rochelle having carried out my research on this forum! Would love to be involved in this game! 

Posted By: hoover
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 3:33pm
Is there still space for this? Myself (+3) would be interested in getting in on the act, if possible.Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 4:54pm
There will be announcement with the full details of the Fans Match, Charities Involved, Entertainment during the week most Irish are in La Rochelle and other activities in the next month.

Posted By: hoover
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 5:06pm

There will be announcement with the full details of the Fans Match, Charities Involved, Entertainment during the week most Irish are in La Rochelle and other activities in the next month.

Top man 

Posted By: OohAah...
Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 1:15pm
Originally posted by **FrOsTy** **FrOsTy** wrote:

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs 
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 1:16pm
[QUOTE=Skelly]1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3
22. Skelly
23. Oohaah....

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 1:41pm
The Kit will be a special brand new  one off one that the players get to keep after the game.There will be a an element of fundraising for the people interested in Playing to cover costs the minimum amount to be raised to ensure participation will be €70 per player.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 1:46pm

The Kit will be a special brand new  one off one that the players get to keep after the game.There will be a an element of fundraising for the people interested in Playing to cover costs the minimum amount to be raised to ensure participation will be €70 per player.

1. Bo Jackson
2. Scamper
3. Salzburg Billy
4. Daffy P.
5. Guf 10
7. Babbsballs 
8. CliffRichard
9. Bluezar +1
11.daboi89
12.Skipper
13.Donegalman
14. Damo Gugc
15. Mallon 12
16. Aiden
17. MarkBeaumont +3
22. Skelly
23. Oohaah....

Joke ofcourse

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 1:49pm
You didn't take long OohAah LOL Wink

I say some lads might think twice however. I'll try my best to make up the funds. It's for a good cause after all.

So much for celebrating the 50 euro I saved switching hotels in Amiens LOL

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:18pm
Problem is lads that ybig kit keeps going missing after games and there isn't a set left so the easiest way to arrange it for France was to source a brand new kit that we won't have to transport over and back . All players in the match get to keep the jersey, togs and socks they use.This game is in a super stadium and the main objective is to raise money for the two selected charities and to have a great social evening between French and Irish fans.

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2016 at 2:50pm

Problem is lads that ybig kit keeps going missing after games and there isn't a set left so the easiest way to arrange it for France was to source a brand new kit that we won't have to transport over and back . All players in the match get to keep the jersey, togs and socks they use.This game is in a super stadium and the main objective is to raise money for the two selected charities and to have a great social evening between French and Irish fans.

makes sense... ofcourse

TBH I doubt very much anyone would give me a euro to play football or watch me play so Im happy to sponsor myself... 

Posted By: Jimmy buttermilk
Date Posted: 09 Mar 2016 at 9:18am
Yes ill play paul devlin

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2016 at 4:30pm
12th man happy with that!!

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2016 at 4:31pm
What's 5he charity?

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2016 at 5:18pm
Lads, any plans to play the Belgians in a fans match?

I'm asking as I know they're interested to play an Ireland XI and normally play a game every time they go away.

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2016 at 5:57pm
Two Charities one french , one Irish all details will be publicised when we have everything in place for the game.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 5:28pm
Sorry I should have said do you have a charity picked....if not I would love to put one forward. My son died 2 weeks ago and I've been raising money for the charity that helped us.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 5:33pm
Sorry to hear that Skipper. That's terrible. Hope you're doing ok. 

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 5:48pm
Cheers for that...... my mum died just before Christmas so I've had a rough time of it.... looking forward to France

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 6:05pm
So sorry to hear that skipper the two charities Are picked.. The stadium has been booked ,gear is being done , shuttle buses for fans sorted , entertainment sorted and full bar facilities in place.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 6:42pm
Good stuff gufct ....fair play

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 6:52pm
Wont make this,getting an operation next month so i doubt i will be fit.